Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 967 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

967 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

967 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
409
4 stars
242
3 stars
71
2 stars
52
1 stars
193
1-20 of 967 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 967 total reviews
1-20 of 967 reviews
So far so good.
11/30/2013

Customer review by svr46765483

4.0 stars 11/30/2013 by svr46765483
by svr46765483

Tuner input, digital HDMI out and analog composite video and R+L audio out, (No PCM or component outs). Records High Def to usb external sata drives or some of the newest/fastest usb 3.0 speed flash drives like team 16gb color brown others like adata brand could not keep up or do timeshift. Runs V3 firmware from 081713, Formatting storage device in NFTS yields one file per program, formatting in FAT32 breaks the recordings into 500mb size pieces. Smaller than iview or homeworx boxes but bigger than naxa box. Remote looks like the one used for Stellar Labs style box. USB switches off storage when box is in standby. Power supply is internal instead of AC/DC adapter so not as cool. Tuner input/output should have some nuts around the 75 ohm connectors too. Comes with a sticker mistakenly placed on top of protective packing film, sticker should have been underneath film, make sure you remove film for proper ventalation. Contacted ematic and they never heard of the model and had no firmware updates, if product was supported it would be a big seller and many people would want one. I have included a picture of the back panel for those that asked about the connectors.

Was this review helpful? (135) (70)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
svr46765483
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Instructions Make It Complicated
2/3/2014

Customer review by Scnickers

4.0 stars 2/3/2014 by Scnickers
by Scnickers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This might be considered a good buy. It has features you get with paid TV like DVR (PVR) & recording (HBPR). A show can be recorded manually or set ahead for a particular broadcast. Recording is via the usb port which I use with a flash drive. The instructions claim you have up to seven days of program scheduling but I find it ranges from a few hours to less than 12 hours. In order to see all the options for the features at the bottom of the screen I have to remember to set my TV on 'normal' screen ratio and the converter box ratio on 'auto.' Otherwise take notes so you know what to push for a particular feature if the screen ratio cuts off the feature options until you memorize them. I have a roof antenna so I do get great reception. It is complicated to set up and figure out how to use its features because the manual is severely lacking in detail. When setting the screen ratio I pushed the wrong option and got a black & white screen that rolled super fast. It took almost 24 hrs to sort it out on my own. Customer service via the 800 number - the phone was never answered in the 20 minutes I spent getting sent back to the main menu and re-selecting the tech support option. I tried another company number and spoke to a non-support person who assured me I would receive a call by the end of the day but never did. The product does not exist on the website. There is an email support option on the website somewhere which I haven't tried yet. I have managed to sort out most of my difficulties and am saving the rest of my questions to submit at one time. I hope email support is functional. The company information is missing from the manual - not so much as a company name, number, or website address. The 800 number came from some other paper that came with the ematic and the other number came from the BBB website. This product lacks adequate instructions and customer support otherwise I would have given it excellent in all 3 categories. I recommend it with reservations for those reasons.

Was this review helpful? (262) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scnickers
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EMatic AT103B Digital converter box
2/5/2014

Customer review by Donna715

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by Donna715
by Donna715
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

I bought 2 converter boxes and used the first box on an old TV and used one of those flat antennas. It did not work so I thought something was wrong with the converter box but before giving up I decided to buy just a cheap RCA antenna. It is one of those that has a base and has a round antenna with the rabbit ears. I went to the menu and went to auto search and it picked up quite a few stations. When I had followed directions like other posts said to do, it did not work for me. I set up the other converter box on a flat screen HD TV. I set it up the same exact way as I did the older TV but I received more stations. I think it has to do with what direction your TV and antenna is sitting. I was not impressed with the flat antenna I purchased. I have bought RCA several times before to help friends hook up their TV's and there are many different kinds but I found out that the ones that have a base with a round antenna and rabbit ears work the best. You can find these at Walmart also. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (600) (117)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donna715
Dinuba, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Yes, But...
12/6/2015

Customer review by issachar5

4.0 stars 12/6/2015 by issachar5
by issachar5

OK, what you want to know is, "can I use it to record digital antenna programs. Yes you can...AND you can play them back on your Digital TV ON COMPOSITE OR HDMI inputs. The one drawback is the original function of the unit...taking digital channels and converting them. NOW, you don't care about the converting...you're going to playback on your digital TV...BUT you do care about the unit accepting your channels WELL. I tried 3 antenna's, and had VERY MIXED RESULTS on the unit programming in the channels, and the channels playing WELL through the unit. Each of the antenna's used gave GOOD channels if put directly to the Digital TV. I ended up with a compromise; I used an antenna that gave me 10 channels, with 3 good, and 4 mixed good-bad channels. My 12 channel antenna I put directly to the TV and had 12 GOOD channels. The unit has a cable channel program capability, but it programmed in 101 channels...all identified as SCRAMBLED...pretty much useless. '

Was this review helpful? (15) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
issachar5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Surprising value
1/24/2016

Customer review by Mj711

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Mj711
by Mj711

Couple things real quick about this unit can and cannot do. A full review follows. This unit does not work with an encrypted signal (cable or satellite) but it does work with free over the air antenna signal and quite well. You can record to USB stick and program record. You can pause live TV. For a long time we had Windstream cable in my apartment. I had a cable box with a video out jack so it made it easy to program and record shows on my line-in (no tuner) DVD burner. Then recently our apartment complex switched over to Comcast. It sounded like a great deal at first. More channels and included in the rent. But they gave us those small digital transport boxes with no video out jacks so there was no way for me to plug into my DVD burner. Luckily my old TV in the bedroom (2005 Samsung Slimline) has a video OUT jack (I've never seen one on newer TVs) so I was still able to record shows. That is as so long as I left the TV on the channel I wanted to record. The Comcast DTA boxes don't let you program or remind shows because they want you to pay out the nose for a $20/month DVR! So I gave the Ematic converter a try. I figured for $33 what the heck. Well sadly it doesn't work with my Comcast cable signal because its encrypted (jerks) but it DOES do a LOT of other things that have made me so happy I bought it. First off let me say that I consider my self a techy but it took me a long time to figure everything out and get everything to work. It is not very user friendly and the small manual and on screen menus are very well, poor English would be the nicest way to put it. The remote is very useful however the buttons are very small and poorly located. The program guide is not pretty to look at or navigate easily but it gets the job done. One thing I don't like is that it uses army time (23:31 is 11:31 PM for example) and there is no way to change it. Like any other DVR you can program the unit to remind you when shows come on, have it switch to that channel, you can program it to record. But I actually prefer the menu where you can simply set it to record a certain channel for a certain time period. I find that menu much easier than using the program guide. Another thing I like is that you can shut the unit off and it will turn on by itself, switch to the right channel, record, turn itself off again and your recordings will be waiting for you. You can even go in and edit the channel names and your recordings. Big thing!: the default password for the unit is 000000. I had trouble finding that in the manual! Also if you buy a refurbished used unit there is a factory reset in the menu! This could save people a lot of headaches. Believe it or not I even found games in one of the menus (Tetris, BoxMan, Snakes, GoBang, Revesi, and JigSaw) The Tetris game is actually pretty fun and easy with the arrow pad on the remote. Once you figure everything out and get used to everything you'll be amazed at how much this little box can do for the price. It's actually pretty astounding. I hooked my flat digital antenna up to it and it works great. With the 13 channels I can pick up (PBS, NBC, CBS, Fox and a few others) I get the ability to program and record which is fine for me since I mostly watch sports and most sports are on network TV. The picture and sound quality of the HD channels is outstanding (1080p). There is an HDMI out jack that you can hook up to the TV. There is USB port on the front that you can plug a USB thumbdrive into and record in pure HD (you won't be able to tell the difference from live). Just like an expensive DVR you can record and pause live TV, go back, see what you missed, go back to live again, etc. I use a 32GB USB 3.0 thumbdrive and it works fantastic. The amount of recording time varies by the show you are recording. In my experience with the 32 GB stick I've found I can fit about 3.5 hrs of 1080 HD, over 6 hrs of 720 HD and over 29 hrs(!) worth of standard def. Obviously if you want more recording time then you can buy bigger USB sticks. I got the 32GB one at Walmart for like $15. I recommend making sure it's USB 3.0 though as I've heard the old USB 2.0 sticks don't handle video as well. The ones I saw at the store were all clearly marked as such. But here's the best part. In addition to the HDMI jack, it also has a video out jack so I hook it up to my DVD burner and make DVDs of everything I want to keep, wipe the USB and it works like a charm with outstanding results. So basically thanks to the Ematic I can now do whatever I want in the living room and god forbid if there's something on Comcast I need to record I can still do that with my old set up in the bedroom (although I still can't program in there obviously). But I simply love the freedom a digital antenna and this Ematic unit gives me ( basically free HD and DVR for life ) that I would recommend it to anyone even if as just a backup or a spare room. It pays for itself in no time. If anyone has any questions let me know I'll be glad to help.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mj711
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
More bang that you would expect for your buck.
12/8/2013

Customer review by grandboricua

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by grandboricua
by grandboricua
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Within the price range of most other OTA Digital converter boxes, this one really delivers. Using a USB drive one is able to utilize the device to record a live program. You can also use the port to load up your own music, video, and pictures. The one feature that really sold me was the inclusion of an HDMI port. I have a monitor that has HDMI input, was looked everywhere for a converter that allowed such connection. And the picture quality was outstanding! Also offered is a composite and coaxial (cable type) connection for older/legacy TV's. My only gripe was with the function of some of the menus, but once you get used to it, like any other electronic device, it is easy going. As a bonus, I don't recall it mentioned in the product details, but it also includes a few simple games, I only checked out Tetris and Snake, but both were fun distractions. I would recommend this product to anyone in the market for a Digital to Analog converter.

Was this review helpful? (571) (109)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grandboricua
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Saves me $120/year on High Def cable charges.
2/26/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/26/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Connected my antenna to the Ematic and connected it to the HDMI-2 input on my TV. I get all the major networks in HD and record them on an external hard drive plugged into the USB port. My cable service is plugged into the HDMI-1 input on my TV. I kept cable but cancelled the Hi-Def service, which saves me $10/mo. I just press the Input button on my TV remote to switch between cable and the Ematic. So happy with this I bought 2 more for our guest bedrooms which saves more money by not having to rent cable receivers for them. The only shows in HD that will be missed will be Monday and Thursday NFL games on ESPN and the NFL network, but most NFL games are on antenna in HD Can also plug the external hard drive into one of the other Ematics and watch previously recorded shows on a different TV. The only serious negative is it is less convenient to manage recorded shows than the DVR provided by the cable company which has a better TV guide and which is easier to use. But for me the cost savings outweigh the inconvenience.

Was this review helpful? (57) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Encinitas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Closed captioning issues
1/8/2016

Customer review by McDoodles

2.0 stars 1/8/2016 by McDoodles
by McDoodles

Closed captioning does not work on recordings. This was the deal breaker. Also I cannot use the TV's closed captioning at all - only the dtv converter's. Misc.: Very light remote. Sometimes need to press button more than once.Electronic program guide is very nice and easy to use. It is slow to display information about the show when choosing from list of shows. Recorded shows are titled. Very helpful. Uses 24 hour format - no option to chose 12 hour format. Instruction book does not explain all features, some you figure out on your own. Hook up diagram shows how to hook up with cable. Why? This is bought because of not having cable and it is an analog TV.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
McDoodles
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product does what it says.
1/5/2016

Customer review by Newuser

4.0 stars 1/5/2016 by Newuser
by Newuser

Connection is very easy. There simply isn't anywhere to go wrong. Unfortunately the operating directions are not so straight forward. First, to record, either an external hard drive or memory stick is required. I am using an inexpensive external hard drive which does a great job of very clear recording. The first time, finding the recordings is a challenge. However, after overcoming these issues, the unit, coupled with an external hard drive, makes a very workable way of watching and recording programs. It would be nice if the EPG went out further, but that is not a big problem. Finally, after recording on the hard drive, the hard drive is very light, and can be moved to any computer, or any other device with a USB input to play back the recorded programs. We have found that the Sony Blue Ray is much more user friendly for playback.

Was this review helpful? (5) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Newuser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very interesting piece of equipment, but...
1/9/2016

Customer review by Jimdays

1.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Jimdays
by Jimdays

Hi, I wrote a very detailed review of this technological wonder several weeks ago, but unfortunately the review wasn't printed. Now, I will write another very short review. I've used this product for several weeks, and it performs OK. I am sorry I am not going into detail again what "OK" means. But I have one thing more to say. There are nearly 1000 reviews on this product and I have quickly read all of them. Some people wrote that it didn't work out of the box. You can infer that maybe they didn't hook it up properly. But when someone says, it worked, ( for example 2 months), and then stopped working, you can be reasonably sure it stopped working for that person. I read the reviews, and this happened too many times. I also have a converter box from another manufacturer that has been on 24/7 for nearly 5 years and still works. So when my Ematic box quits working, I can't say I wasn't warned. When my Ematic box stops working (if after the return date) , the worst thing is that I lose about $30 and I then will go back to the VCR to record TV shows and continue to use my old 5 - year old converter box. But in the meantime, the Ematic is a very interesting piece of equipment that I use everyday to watch and record TV shows.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimdays
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for recording Over the Air TV
1/22/2016

Customer review by Claudio

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Claudio
by Claudio

Just purchase a USB (most practical way), and record away. The best thing about this is that it records manually and can also be scheduled to record a show later on in the day. It has HDMI OUT that can go in an LED TV. Overall, excellent product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Claudio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good quality
1/20/2016

Customer review by buckels

4.0 stars 1/20/2016 by buckels
by buckels
Walmart associate

It was easy to setup out of the box. There are a few drawbacks with the dvr. You cannot watch a different channel while recording. But just having the capability to record with a USB drive makes up for it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buckels
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Great little box for recording tv
1/24/2014

Customer review by dd1963

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by dd1963
by dd1963

I bought this converter because of my VCR. I wanted a way to record a couple of my favorite shows when I was not able to watch them. Well in order for a VCR to work with an HDTV, you have to have a converter box. As I was reading about this box and realized it supposedly records tv, I had to order it. This is the first day I have had it and I am impressed. With it's PVR function I will not have to miss a show or movie now. I tested it with my 2gb flash drive stick and it worked like a charm. From what I've read I should be able to get about 4 hours on a 2gb flash drive. I probably will get a larger gb flash drive though. But if you could also hook up a PC or laptop with Windows 7 or 8 and record a show onto your computer. So now I wont even take out the VCR except when I want to watch some old home movies. Prices for DVR that work with over the air tv and not cable are around $200 and up. So this saved me a seriously good chunk of change and gives me what I want. Set up was easy, instructions not A+, good enough to figure it out with though. Extremely happy!

Was this review helpful? (247) (80)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dd1963
Woodstock, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I could not understand how to set up. I am 60 year
5/11/2014

Customer review by Illimani

1.0 stars 5/11/2014 by Illimani
by Illimani
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I could not use the Manual. The product might be good, but I have to return it because I cannot make it work. By the way. Do I need cable to use this box. My TV is the new one. Not the old TVs. I am 60 years old, and the writing in the manual are absolutely minuscule . It says that it is a recorder. but does it record directly from the TV? and, do I need to have cable in order to record from the TV with this machine? I wish I do have other people who bought this, and give their opinion, and also, how to use it. I could not read the Manual at all because of the small graphics. And also, the language is too professional, for a person like me. We, old people, need something more common language to understand the instructions. We are willing to spend our money buying these gadgets, but how can we use them? However, I am very happy with my combo that I bought from Walmart. The Manual is excellent: big letters, easy language, etc. I will continue buying from Walmart, because I found out that the returning is a breeze.

Was this review helpful? (45) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Illimani
Las Vegas, Nv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheap Converter? No! Rather, Expensive Garbage!
9/28/2015

Customer review by Chris

1.0 stars 9/28/2015 by Chris
by Chris

When I read the reviews for this product, I thought people must've not been cooling the device properly. So, I ordered it anyway, and I was immediately impressed. The device came with a remote, looked sharp, and was in decent packaging. I saw that the vents were covered by a protective layer of plastic, so I thought, "Ha! I bet those morons didn't take the plastic off, and that's why it overheated." Well, I was the moron for buying the device. Though I removed the restrictive plastic, placed the device in a well ventilated area, and directed a cooling fan toward the device, it STILL performed poorly, just as the reviews stated. After about a week of having the device, it started turning off randomly. It got to the point where it would do nothing but turn on and off for hours at a time. At the end, it was in a cycle of endless rebooting. I will say that when it performed, it was a good device. It could record TV onto a flash drive, had multiple timed recording abilities, show descriptions, a program guide, excellent video quality, built in arcade games, and a remote. It's too bad it was made so cheap.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chris
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works Good
12/31/2015

Customer review by TVman

4.0 stars 12/31/2015 by TVman
by TVman

I must admit, it does work better than I thought it would. I t does an excellent job of recording programmed content. The only problem that I've come across is the time in the epg. It doesn't change with daylight savings time, throwing all of your program content out of whack. Also it takes about 4 gig for a 1 hour show. So you need a large flash drive because it partitions the flash drive and only uses part of it. Other than that, it does a good job.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TVman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I have no issues what so ever with this item.
1/27/2016

Customer review by awesomemommy0

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by awesomemommy0
by awesomemommy0

I love it. I love all the channels I get.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
awesomemommy0
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
1/25/2016

Customer review by Vick

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Vick
by Vick

I still wanted to keep my old 21 inches analog tv and I found this digital converter box online at walmart.com. It works great and I like the size of it. Great value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best purchase ever
1/20/2016

Customer review by Homealways

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Homealways
by Homealways

converter box worked perfect. beautiful picture.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Homealways
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent
1/19/2016

Customer review by jeff

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by jeff
by jeff

Excellent for replacing box from cable company !

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 967 total reviews
1-20 of 967 reviews