Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 767 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

767 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

767 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
317
4 stars
186
3 stars
54
2 stars
45
1 stars
165
1-20 of 767 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 767 total reviews
1-20 of 767 reviews
EMatic AT103B Digital converter box
2/5/2014

Customer review by Donna715

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by Donna715
by Donna715

I bought 2 converter boxes and used the first box on an old TV and used one of those flat antennas. It did not work so I thought something was wrong with the converter box but before giving up I decided to buy just a cheap RCA antenna. It is one of those that has a base and has a round antenna with the rabbit ears. I went to the menu and went to auto search and it picked up quite a few stations. When I had followed directions like other posts said to do, it did not work for me. I set up the other converter box on a flat screen HD TV. I set it up the same exact way as I did the older TV but I received more stations. I think it has to do with what direction your TV and antenna is sitting. I was not impressed with the flat antenna I purchased. I have bought RCA several times before to help friends hook up their TV's and there are many different kinds but I found out that the ones that have a base with a round antenna and rabbit ears work the best. You can find these at Walmart also. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (406) (62)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Donna715
Dinuba, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
More bang that you would expect for your buck.
12/8/2013

Customer review by grandboricua

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by grandboricua
by grandboricua

Within the price range of most other OTA Digital converter boxes, this one really delivers. Using a USB drive one is able to utilize the device to record a live program. You can also use the port to load up your own music, video, and pictures. The one feature that really sold me was the inclusion of an HDMI port. I have a monitor that has HDMI input, was looked everywhere for a converter that allowed such connection. And the picture quality was outstanding! Also offered is a composite and coaxial (cable type) connection for older/legacy TV's. My only gripe was with the function of some of the menus, but once you get used to it, like any other electronic device, it is easy going. As a bonus, I don't recall it mentioned in the product details, but it also includes a few simple games, I only checked out Tetris and Snake, but both were fun distractions. I would recommend this product to anyone in the market for a Digital to Analog converter.

Was this review helpful? (342) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandboricua
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Great
1/28/2014

Customer review by jkensing

5.0 stars 1/28/2014 by jkensing
by jkensing

I hooked this up with a $20 RCA OTA Antenna and I get 10 channels and they are all 100% clear. I love that you can hook up a thumb drive to the USB and record shows. I would recommend this to anyone looking to receive OTA programming. I cut the cord from cable and have internet only. I have netflix / hulu / amazon prime to connect the gap. I really only wanted the basic channels for live sporting events when they are available locally and for the news. Especially if there are live weather feeds from time to time. Otherwise, cable is overpriced and this box works great. If you want to know what channels you can get in your area you can get information on http://wwww.antennaweb.org. This is an accurate source to let you know what kind of antenna you will need and what you can expect to pick up.

Was this review helpful? (210) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jkensing
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Instructions Make It Complicated
2/3/2014

Customer review by Scnickers

4.0 stars 2/3/2014 by Scnickers
by Scnickers

This might be considered a good buy. It has features you get with paid TV like DVR (PVR) & recording (HBPR). A show can be recorded manually or set ahead for a particular broadcast. Recording is via the usb port which I use with a flash drive. The instructions claim you have up to seven days of program scheduling but I find it ranges from a few hours to less than 12 hours. In order to see all the options for the features at the bottom of the screen I have to remember to set my TV on 'normal' screen ratio and the converter box ratio on 'auto.' Otherwise take notes so you know what to push for a particular feature if the screen ratio cuts off the feature options until you memorize them. I have a roof antenna so I do get great reception. It is complicated to set up and figure out how to use its features because the manual is severely lacking in detail. When setting the screen ratio I pushed the wrong option and got a black & white screen that rolled super fast. It took almost 24 hrs to sort it out on my own. Customer service via the 800 number - the phone was never answered in the 20 minutes I spent getting sent back to the main menu and re-selecting the tech support option. I tried another company number and spoke to a non-support person who assured me I would receive a call by the end of the day but never did. The product does not exist on the website. There is an email support option on the website somewhere which I haven't tried yet. I have managed to sort out most of my difficulties and am saving the rest of my questions to submit at one time. I hope email support is functional. The company information is missing from the manual - not so much as a company name, number, or website address. The 800 number came from some other paper that came with the ematic and the other number came from the BBB website. This product lacks adequate instructions and customer support otherwise I would have given it excellent in all 3 categories. I recommend it with reservations for those reasons.

Was this review helpful? (176) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scnickers
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little box for recording tv
1/24/2014

Customer review by dd1963

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by dd1963
by dd1963

I bought this converter because of my VCR. I wanted a way to record a couple of my favorite shows when I was not able to watch them. Well in order for a VCR to work with an HDTV, you have to have a converter box. As I was reading about this box and realized it supposedly records tv, I had to order it. This is the first day I have had it and I am impressed. With it's PVR function I will not have to miss a show or movie now. I tested it with my 2gb flash drive stick and it worked like a charm. From what I've read I should be able to get about 4 hours on a 2gb flash drive. I probably will get a larger gb flash drive though. But if you could also hook up a PC or laptop with Windows 7 or 8 and record a show onto your computer. So now I wont even take out the VCR except when I want to watch some old home movies. Prices for DVR that work with over the air tv and not cable are around $200 and up. So this saved me a seriously good chunk of change and gives me what I want. Set up was easy, instructions not A+, good enough to figure it out with though. Extremely happy!

Was this review helpful? (185) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dd1963
Woodstock, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great program guide, plays video files!
12/27/2013

Customer review by bunnik

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by bunnik
by bunnik

I love this converter box. All i wanted was a converter box with a program guide that showed several hours rather than whats showing now and whats on next. This shows whats going to be on several hours ahead. That was my main reason for getting this box. On top of that it records to a usb. The files are large, 3 hours equals close to 16gb for me. I only have a 32 gb drive so i don't know whats the largest drive you can hook up to it. Its fine for me as i only have a few hours i need to record a week. The coolest part for me is that this little converter box has played most of the video files i have tried on it, mp4, avi, divx and even flv. super cool. it also plays jpegs and mp3s to boot. Thinking about getting another one, that's how much i like it!

Was this review helpful? (64) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bunnik
dallas, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots of info provided
1/14/2014

Customer review by RCXB

4.0 stars 1/14/2014 by RCXB
by RCXB

I couldn't find much information about this box in the description here, or by searching online, so I've put lots of info here which I've learned, that I would have wanted to know before buying this item: Boot-up and shutdown is very fast, under 5 seconds, better than any other DVRs out there, and faster than your TV turns on. The LCD display is completely useless, and best covered with black electrical tape! Channel changing, and every other task is a bit slow and laggy, but entirely tolerable if you aren't expecting a very high-end device. OTA/antenna TV reception is good, perhaps just slightly better than my TV. Signal strength/quality meter unfortunately doesn't beep at all, making it a poor choice when aiming an antenna, but it minimally works. The display size / aspect ratio selection option is extremely difficult to understand but with trial-and-error you'll figure it out, and there's no option to set it on a per-channel basis, nor a quick/easy button on the remote that will let you go through the different modes as you go from channel to channel. This is unfortunate. Cable / Clear-QaM reception minimally works, but it doesn't receive the PSIP or EPG information, unlike my TV. This makes the EPG/guide and INFO useless, and channels are randomly numbered, with stations like NBC7 actually found on channel 99-135. This is an incredible hassle, and seems impossible to keep straight with so many channels. This issue makes this box vastly less useful for cable subscribers, and I would suggest buying something else if QaM reception is what you need. You CAN still schedule recordings by manually typing in clock times and keeping track of which station maps to which 6-digit channel number, but that's no fun at all! Also, auto-programming will save all the encrypted QaM channels in the lineup as well, and you're left, stuck manually deleting several hundred blank channels, one by one. Digital and Analog pass-through/loop-through works fine, both when this box is on, and when turned-off, which is a common issue with other similar boxes from IVIEW and HomeWorx. The user interface is clumsy and horribly inconsistent. In one sub-menu, you hit 4 to delete items, in another you hit 3 instead, and in yet another you use the EPG button. Why??? You CAN record one channel, while watching any other sub-channels on the same frequency. So if you're recording channel 7-1, you can watch channel 7-2, channel 7-3, etc., without interrupting the recording. On an antenna, this may give you up to 9 channels to watch, and on cable could offer hundreds. But you can NOT enter the menu to change any options, nor EPG to see what's coming up next, without interrupting the recording. You'll either get an alert that you're in recording or timeshift mode, or it will pop-up message asking whether you want to stop recording, and you can continue or cancel. Picture quality is very good, except when using RF output (channel 3 or 4) the on-screen has nasty, blurry ghosting, though the program looks fine. This box has several outputs on the back. HDMI, composite video (yellow) and stereo audio left/right (white/red), and RF (coax/antenna) in and out. Slightly more expensive boxes like the IVIEW also provide spdif digital audio output (for a surround-sound system), and composite output (for very old HDTVs without HDMI inputs) if you want or need those. Auto-programming with OTA/air/antenna completely missed my *single strongest channel*, and "manual channel add" took a half-dozen repeated attempts before it finally picked-it up and added it (after which the channel comes in perfectly). If this going to be your only digital tuner, you may be missing several strong TV stations, and you'll never have any way to know it, unless you check the signal strength on every channel, and repeatedly try adding it to the list. This box also doesn't tell you which real/RF channel maps to which virtual channels, which can be invaluable info whenever you need to reprogram this box. A site like tvfool which provides it can be quite valuable. Playback from USB is a bit clumsy, with needing to hit the HOLD button all the time to switch the video to full-screen and other random buttons to navigate folders, and more. It's odd the way MOVIE playback won't show the DVR/recorded programs, and the DVR mode won't show the other video files. Worse is that options like RENAME and DELETE work for DVR/recorded files, but not any other ones, even though I'd love to have them. For some reason, this box doesn't play back 1080i MPEG-2 videos I dumped/recorded from OTA broadcasts via another DVR (ie. my computer), even after naming them properly so they show up under the USB/DVR playback option. Other video formats like MPEG-4 ASP and H.264 work just fine in MOVIE mode, so it's just going to require conversion. Clock is 24-hour time only (midnight is 00:00 while 11pm is 23:00), with no way to change it. This could be quite difficult to get used-to, particularly if you regularly type-in recording times manually. Often, you'll instinctively type in something like "09:00" when you really meant 9pm, which should be "21:00". Other reviewers have said the time-zones are an hour-off, but this is NOT true. Instead, the box just doesn't keep track of daylight savings time start/end dates. You just have to go in, twice a year, and toggle the DST times setting to ON or OFF as needed.

Was this review helpful? (78) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RCXB
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Easy to set up
12/19/2013

Customer review by CincinnatiMan

4.0 stars 12/19/2013 by CincinnatiMan
by CincinnatiMan

The converter box is easy to set up. You will find the buttons on the remote require you to push a little harder but it works just fine. A real plus is that the box shows a 7 day menu of what is on for each channel.

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CincinnatiMan
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Saves me $120/year on High Def cable charges.
2/26/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/26/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Connected my antenna to the Ematic and connected it to the HDMI-2 input on my TV. I get all the major networks in HD and record them on an external hard drive plugged into the USB port. My cable service is plugged into the HDMI-1 input on my TV. I kept cable but cancelled the Hi-Def service, which saves me $10/mo. I just press the Input button on my TV remote to switch between cable and the Ematic. So happy with this I bought 2 more for our guest bedrooms which saves more money by not having to rent cable receivers for them. The only shows in HD that will be missed will be Monday and Thursday NFL games on ESPN and the NFL network, but most NFL games are on antenna in HD Can also plug the external hard drive into one of the other Ematics and watch previously recorded shows on a different TV. The only serious negative is it is less convenient to manage recorded shows than the DVR provided by the cable company which has a better TV guide and which is easier to use. But for me the cost savings outweigh the inconvenience.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Encinitas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good.
11/30/2013

Customer review by svr46765483

4.0 stars 11/30/2013 by svr46765483
by svr46765483

Tuner input, digital HDMI out and analog composite video and R+L audio out, (No PCM or component outs). Records High Def to usb external sata drives or some of the newest/fastest usb 3.0 speed flash drives like team 16gb color brown others like adata brand could not keep up or do timeshift. Runs V3 firmware from 081713, Formatting storage device in NFTS yields one file per program, formatting in FAT32 breaks the recordings into 500mb size pieces. Smaller than iview or homeworx boxes but bigger than naxa box. Remote looks like the one used for Stellar Labs style box. USB switches off storage when box is in standby. Power supply is internal instead of AC/DC adapter so not as cool. Tuner input/output should have some nuts around the 75 ohm connectors too. Comes with a sticker mistakenly placed on top of protective packing film, sticker should have been underneath film, make sure you remove film for proper ventalation. Contacted ematic and they never heard of the model and had no firmware updates, if product was supported it would be a big seller and many people would want one. I have included a picture of the back panel for those that asked about the connectors.

Was this review helpful? (99) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
svr46765483
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Product
1/7/2014

Customer review by GoneRVn

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by GoneRVn
by GoneRVn

I have an older HD-TV without the digital channels. This converter fits the bill. Setup is easy. I wish it had a better TV schedule viewer, but I can work around it. Love the USB feature. I have a 2TB hard drive with old movies on it and can view the movies with no problem. Also, my other TV with digital channels is unable to pick up one local station that broadcast in VHF. The Ematic converter is able to pick up this channel with a great picture. I plan to buy another convert just to watch movies on my hard drive on my other TV. Overall, very well pleased.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoneRVn
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works well.
12/6/2013

Customer review by Bohonkus

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by Bohonkus
by Bohonkus

This Ematic Digital Box replaces my original Magnavox box I bought (from Walmart) when the government mandated digital tv services. The Magnavox lasted almost 5 years, I hope the Ematic does also. So far so good.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bohonkus
Grand Junction, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thrilled by this converter box!!!!!!!!!
8/22/2014

Customer review by Styletx

5.0 stars 8/22/2014 by Styletx
by Styletx

1) $32.00; It successfully converts an antenna signal to digital; with outputs for HDMI, or coax, or RCA video connections to an existing TV or projector or computer tuner, and it RECORDS!!!! 2) I have 63 great TV channels 40 miles outside of Dallas. HD channels are crystal clear, and better definition than the cable signal I have had for the last 25 years. I dumped my $140.00 cable bill. 3)Does it have all of the features of a cable box, TIVO, or a DVR? NO. Its $32.00. Not $450, $250. It's $32.00. It converts. It records. It schedules recordings. It pauses live TV. It Fast forwards. It rewinds. It's Amazing for - I'll say it again; $32.00. 4) Converter box setup, nearly automatic, and intuitive. I'm 60 years old, too. I consider taking off protective plastic covering from electronics intuitive. It's just something you always do. Plug it in, it works. The instruction book is; I'll call it adequate. Not good; adequate. Online, you simply get a PDF of the same adequate instruction book that came with the unit. No additional help. I had problems setting up HDMI. The problem was with the settings on my old flat-screen TV; not with the converter box. 5) Does it have 'Quinky-Dinks?' YES. It's only $32.00. a) Remember your old VCR? You can only record the TV show you are watching. OK. Most TV's and systems have alternate inputs. So watch Netflix, or HULU, or Internet while you are recording on the tuner. b) You are watching a show you paused for a while at the same time you scheduled a recording. Oops! You have to choose. Either continue your paused show and cancel the recording; or record the scheduled show, and miss the show you paused. OK. It's $32.00. I'm good with it. c) Yup, it's hot. My old cable box on 'stand-by' was hotter than this box when 'on.' When this box is on 'stand-by,' it's barely warm. d) If you schedule a show to record, then turn your box off (put it on 'stand-by,) the scheduled show will not record. OK. I'll leave the box (not TV) on when I have a scheduled recording. e) The Program guide is not like anything you are used to if you ever had cable or satalite. You will get used to it. There IS a guide. 6) One of the top 3 values in electronics I have ever purchased.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Styletx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very happy, USB port is the unsung hero....
12/18/2013

Customer review by JohnFromRaleigh

4.0 stars 12/18/2013 by JohnFromRaleigh
by JohnFromRaleigh

I was looking for a low cost, digital to analog device since I just cut the cord to cable. What I missed most about cable was the DVR. This converter was the only one which let you download over the air broadcast directly to an external hard drive. It is not as great as a true DVR but I am very happy to come home and watch things I recorded over the air earlier in the day. Long term, I think I will buy another one so I can record more shows.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnFromRaleigh
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product, Great Functions easy to operate.
10/3/2014

Customer review by ElecJunkie

5.0 stars 10/3/2014 by ElecJunkie
by ElecJunkie

I replaced an old digital box when it died. I wanted a system as an alternate to cable. With this box we get all the local broadcast stations, (ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX) and most local independent UHF channels. I could get PBS at first but after reconfiguring the setup I lost it. I really like the PVR (Program Video Recording). I had an old Windows formatted salvaged 320GB western digital Hard drive so I installed it in a USB hard drive enclosure. When I attached the drive, it worked great. I figure I have about 50 hours of recording time with this setup. Also it was plug and play, no reformatting the drive Programming is saved as a subdirectory on the drive. You have to be tuned to the channel you are recording but you can pause in real time. You cannot reverse except back to the time you paused. It would be nice to be able to back up a few seconds to catch something you missed. Picture quality of recordings is as good as the original. Only one other control box included the record function and it was more expensive. I do not know why Walmart doesn't carry this as a store item. As cable costs increase, I see more interest in cutting loose from cable.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElecJunkie
San Antonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Working good
12/7/2013

Customer review by AndyyLLL

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by AndyyLLL
by AndyyLLL

Work right away Easy to hook up Bought this with sale price , happy with it

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AndyyLLL
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceeds expectations! More Channels Than Before!
7/31/2014

Customer review by bignbad1

5.0 stars 7/31/2014 by bignbad1
by bignbad1

Dumped satellite TV about a 1 1/2 years ago and have a 7 year old HDTV; unfortunately, the internal tuner died, and it would cost more to fix the TV than (I felt) it was worth. Was about to purchase a $700 replacement, and had a thought: try a converter box. Had one that was only 480p, so decided to upgrade (back to) the full 1080p experience. Purchased this item from Walmart.com using the FREE ship to store option (awesome!). Brought it home, hooked it up very quickly, and now get more channels than I had with the internal tuner (using same over the air antenna)! I LOVE THIS CONVERTER BOX! The 1080p function works great, and now I can enjoy even more channels than before! I need to learn how to record shows with it, as that was also a selling point (I do miss my DVR capabilities, but it wasn't worth the cost (just to keep the DVR capabilities of the satellite TV service# and hopefully with this converter box, I will resolve that as well). My TV picture is crisp and clear, the channels have great reception, and I am very happy with this purchase! My only regret is I wish I had purchased two instead of just one. I have a 2nd HDTV that is working perfectly fine, but if the converter box allows me to receive more channels, it's worth the #tiny) investment to add one to my second TV.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bignbad1
Malcom IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Bad experience
12/23/2013

Customer review by Govna504

1.0 stars 12/23/2013 by Govna504
by Govna504

Ordered two boxes. One didn't even power on and the others one would work when it felt like working. It would power off and reset randomly or not respond to the remote functions or emit static type noises. I tried working with it for two days but with no success. Will be headed to Walmart to return them tomorrow. Who knows, maybe I got two lemon boxes, but mine definitely did not work as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Govna504
Fort Worth , Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Nice features, lousy quality control.
2/2/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/2/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The good news is that this box has a lot of good features. It has an excellent guide, it can play mp3s and many video formats from the usb port, and it can record video to a USB drive. The bad news is doing these things is awkward, due to poor software and bad remote design. The remote has 41 buttons crammed into a few square inches, making it very difficult to use. Both the manual and the on screen display have errors. There are no quality options for recording, which means that recording video from the higher resolution stations takes up a lot of space. If you plan on recording video, you'll need a very large USB drive. The unit I got went bad a few hours after I received it. It started rebooting itself after being plugged in for a hour or so. It would not restart until it had been unplugged for a while, so I assume it was overheating.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I could not understand how to set up. I am 60 year
5/11/2014

Customer review by Illimani

1.0 stars 5/11/2014 by Illimani
by Illimani

I could not use the Manual. The product might be good, but I have to return it because I cannot make it work. By the way. Do I need cable to use this box. My TV is the new one. Not the old TVs. I am 60 years old, and the writing in the manual are absolutely minuscule . It says that it is a recorder. but does it record directly from the TV? and, do I need to have cable in order to record from the TV with this machine? I wish I do have other people who bought this, and give their opinion, and also, how to use it. I could not read the Manual at all because of the small graphics. And also, the language is too professional, for a person like me. We, old people, need something more common language to understand the instructions. We are willing to spend our money buying these gadgets, but how can we use them? However, I am very happy with my combo that I bought from Walmart. The Manual is excellent: big letters, easy language, etc. I will continue buying from Walmart, because I found out that the returning is a breeze.

Was this review helpful? (36) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Illimani
Las Vegas, Nv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 767 total reviews
1-20 of 767 reviews