Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1290 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

1290 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

1290 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
539
4 stars
311
3 stars
101
2 stars
69
1 stars
270
1-20 of 1289 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1289 total reviews
1-20 of 1289 reviews
Really WORKS !
4/28/2016

Customer review by joville

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by joville
by joville

It works great I was able to transfer out side signals to an old 12 yr. TV

Was this review helpful? (22) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far so good.
11/30/2013

Customer review by svr46765483

4.0 stars 11/30/2013 by svr46765483
by svr46765483

Tuner input, digital HDMI out and analog composite video and R+L audio out, (No PCM or component outs). Records High Def to usb external sata drives or some of the newest/fastest usb 3.0 speed flash drives like team 16gb color brown others like adata brand could not keep up or do timeshift. Runs V3 firmware from 081713, Formatting storage device in NFTS yields one file per program, formatting in FAT32 breaks the recordings into 500mb size pieces. Smaller than iview or homeworx boxes but bigger than naxa box. Remote looks like the one used for Stellar Labs style box. USB switches off storage when box is in standby. Power supply is internal instead of AC/DC adapter so not as cool. Tuner input/output should have some nuts around the 75 ohm connectors too. Comes with a sticker mistakenly placed on top of protective packing film, sticker should have been underneath film, make sure you remove film for proper ventalation. Contacted ematic and they never heard of the model and had no firmware updates, if product was supported it would be a big seller and many people would want one. I have included a picture of the back panel for those that asked about the connectors.

Was this review helpful? (207) (127)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
svr46765483
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Instructions Make It Complicated
2/3/2014

Customer review by Scnickers

4.0 stars 2/3/2014 by Scnickers
by Scnickers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

This might be considered a good buy. It has features you get with paid TV like DVR (PVR) & recording (HBPR). A show can be recorded manually or set ahead for a particular broadcast. Recording is via the usb port which I use with a flash drive. The instructions claim you have up to seven days of program scheduling but I find it ranges from a few hours to less than 12 hours. In order to see all the options for the features at the bottom of the screen I have to remember to set my TV on 'normal' screen ratio and the converter box ratio on 'auto.' Otherwise take notes so you know what to push for a particular feature if the screen ratio cuts off the feature options until you memorize them. I have a roof antenna so I do get great reception. It is complicated to set up and figure out how to use its features because the manual is severely lacking in detail. When setting the screen ratio I pushed the wrong option and got a black & white screen that rolled super fast. It took almost 24 hrs to sort it out on my own. Customer service via the 800 number - the phone was never answered in the 20 minutes I spent getting sent back to the main menu and re-selecting the tech support option. I tried another company number and spoke to a non-support person who assured me I would receive a call by the end of the day but never did. The product does not exist on the website. There is an email support option on the website somewhere which I haven't tried yet. I have managed to sort out most of my difficulties and am saving the rest of my questions to submit at one time. I hope email support is functional. The company information is missing from the manual - not so much as a company name, number, or website address. The 800 number came from some other paper that came with the ematic and the other number came from the BBB website. This product lacks adequate instructions and customer support otherwise I would have given it excellent in all 3 categories. I recommend it with reservations for those reasons.

Was this review helpful? (337) (83)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scnickers
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Occasionally frustrating
6/28/2016

Customer review by faasok

2.0 stars 6/28/2016 by faasok
by faasok

First, this unit works but it has a few drawbacks. One is that frequently, several stations in memory are dropped for no known reason and a rescan must be done to retrieve them. This causes the need to re-delete the unwanted programs which is somewhat time consuming. Second is that the unit occasionally stops responding to commands and must be manually turned off and restarted. Third which may be advertised and I missed it when ordering but it takes an external memory (hard drive or thumb drive) to pause or record. Be sure to have a huge thumb-drive if that is the avenue you choose because smaller drives will not record an entire movie. Fourth and this has only happened once so far in about 9 months so far, the unit stopped coming on by both remote or directly pressing the power button and had to be unplugged for a few seconds then reattached. Had I to do it over, I'd go with a better unit.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
faasok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works Great, Simple to Use
3/31/2016

Customer review by DougO

5.0 stars 3/31/2016 by DougO
by DougO

I bought this for a rarely used bedroom TV that lacks an ATSC tuner, but does have an HDMI connection. I also was tired of paying for cable. Very compact and build quality was better than I expected for this price, which was about half of comparable units. People have commented that this box is difficult to set up and the manual is not very helpful. I'm no technical whiz but I had this thing up and running in about 5 minutes before I even looked at the manual. On screen interface was both responsive and intuitive. Unlike some other comments the protective plastic coating was perforated over the vent holes, so no need to remove it. It's pulling in over 40 stations using an old set of rabbit ears and the picture quality is excellent. Not all of them are HD and too many are Home Shopping, but there's still quite a bit of watchable over the air TV. My main gripe is that the standby LED is bright enough to light up a room. Overall very pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (59) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DougO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box
3/17/2016

Customer review by Chase4everAndEver

5.0 stars 3/17/2016 by Chase4everAndEver
by Chase4everAndEver

This product is one of the best purchases I've made in a long time. The features are better than similar ones at a much higher price. Replacing NON-HD VCR taping with this product and using an external hard drive brings the HD quality to life and can be watched using this device and an external hard drive (requires a separate purchase) or by plugging the external hard drive (requires a separate purchase) after recording the program(s) into a computer to view the video it processed. One thing that might help someone new using this is that the daily programming feature needs to be changed on weekends unless one wants to record daily 7 days a week. The weekly feature seems to work flawlessly--same with the one-time viewing feature. Use caution when buying a flash drive to use because some flash drives aren't set up for the speed required to record without pixelating the picture. I am very happy with this item and with the price and how easy it was to order on line and pick it up at a Walmart store close to where I live. (Chase)

Was this review helpful? (45) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chase4everAndEver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good but not great
4/14/2016

Customer review by Bouvguy

3.0 stars 4/14/2016 by Bouvguy
by Bouvguy

Unit has a coaxial output, but customer service said that it doesn't work, so you have to use yellow, white, red connector wire (included). Unit requires a USB memory stick (not included) for the record feature (like a DVR) to work, so haven't tried that yet. Unit was able to find most of the local channels with an indoor rabbit ears type antenna. Customer service also said unit was meant to be used with an outdoor antenna (not included). My previous converter box picked up more channels with the same antenna. The channels the unit does pick up come in nice and clear. Program guide worked with no problems. Remote is a little confusing. (couldn't figure out how to turn off closed captioning) Unit is good for an extra tv or for the workshop. I bought it for $19.99 and recommend it at that price, but think it would be over priced at the full price of $39.99. I wasn't happy with the companies customer service, so hopefully I won't have to call them again.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bouvguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LIke the recording capabilities
4/18/2016

Customer review by noname

4.0 stars 4/18/2016 by noname
by noname

Good product considering the price. Hard to get a digital recording device for this price. The setup instruction are sparse and general usage information is almost non-existent. Not much information on their web site either. If you are attempting to set up for channel 3 passthru for viewing on an OLD CRT TV, you may have some difficulty seeing what you are doing. I had to initially passthru a VCR to get the setting to CH3 then drop the VCR. To set a recording , it would be nice if I could highlight in the extended programming guide and select set to record. I have to go to the set recording page and enter all the data. It would be nice if I could set recording not in time order, e.g., I have to set a 7 PM recording before I set an 8 PM recording. The buttons on the remote are small and close together., not very good for a male hand. I do like the mute button, that is handy. It would be nice if I could watch a program while recording a different program. If I turn off the box, I have to reinsert the USB flash drive for the box to recognize it. Otherwise it will not record to the flash drive.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
noname
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EMatic AT103B Digital converter box
2/5/2014

Customer review by Donna715

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by Donna715
by Donna715
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor

I bought 2 converter boxes and used the first box on an old TV and used one of those flat antennas. It did not work so I thought something was wrong with the converter box but before giving up I decided to buy just a cheap RCA antenna. It is one of those that has a base and has a round antenna with the rabbit ears. I went to the menu and went to auto search and it picked up quite a few stations. When I had followed directions like other posts said to do, it did not work for me. I set up the other converter box on a flat screen HD TV. I set it up the same exact way as I did the older TV but I received more stations. I think it has to do with what direction your TV and antenna is sitting. I was not impressed with the flat antenna I purchased. I have bought RCA several times before to help friends hook up their TV's and there are many different kinds but I found out that the ones that have a base with a round antenna and rabbit ears work the best. You can find these at Walmart also. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (683) (137)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donna715
Dinuba, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
Digital Converter Box
4/26/2016

Customer review by cntrfldr

4.0 stars 4/26/2016 by cntrfldr
by cntrfldr

Had to return the 1st one as it only displayed 'boot' and then didn't respond. Walmart refunded, I picked up another there and it worked fine. I originally tried with a small "rabbit ears" antenna, but being in a basement, it was able to receive very limited stations. Hooked up instead via coax cable to the old large antenna in the attic and works fine, even without a need for booster. The instructions could be improved, and the interface is a little cryptic, but overall it's a very good value. It will soon pay for itself vs cable fees. But don't expect a large range of stations. After you ensure it's working for you, be sure to remove the tight plastic wrapping around the body of the unit so that the vents are not covered as it will heat up moderately in operation. Also, when you turn off the TV, be sure to hit the "Power" button on the remote for the converter unit as well, to put it in cooler standby mode.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cntrfldr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't waste your money
7/14/2016

Customer review by Nancy

1.0 stars 7/14/2016 by Nancy
by Nancy

I bought this for a friend that had no cable TV in the hopes that she would be able to finally have something to watch. I also bought a GE bar antenna. Spent two hours trying to get a station and wound up with just 2 or 3 that came in SNOWY!! I thought showy channels were a thing of the past after the digital age. This box renumbered the channels & the menu was not clear. It scanned very slowly and the channels it picked up came in so poorly that they were unwatchable. I spent $60 so that a friend could have some TV but it created sever disappointment to my friend and me as well. I should have put the $60 toward a new digital TV. What is so strange is that I live 2 doors down, our houses face the same direction and I use a cheap indoor antenna, but I get 13 channels that come in clear as a bell. I have a digital TV. What's the problem here??

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nancy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Greatest Product since Sliced Bread!
7/10/2016

Customer review by HowardJuneau

5.0 stars 7/10/2016 by HowardJuneau
by HowardJuneau
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's called a digital converter box, but it is also a digital video recorder. It will also play videos and music recorded in almost any digital format (e.g., mp4, avi, wmv, mp3,wma, etc.). The coaxial cable output can be either analog or just passed through to the TV. Other outputs are composite (3 RCA jacks and 1 HDMI). If your TV is digital, you can watch your TV via the passed-through coaxial cable while recording another channel with this box. It records to and plays back from a USB memory device: a flash drive, or a hard disk drive up to 3TB! I use it as a video recorder and player and, with external speakers, as my stereo music system. It is amazingly versatile! This little box gives you a HUGE bang for your buck! It does so much, I am surprised they haven't passed a law against it! Getcha one (or two) while they're still legal!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HowardJuneau
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More bang that you would expect for your buck.
12/8/2013

Customer review by grandboricua

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by grandboricua
by grandboricua
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Within the price range of most other OTA Digital converter boxes, this one really delivers. Using a USB drive one is able to utilize the device to record a live program. You can also use the port to load up your own music, video, and pictures. The one feature that really sold me was the inclusion of an HDMI port. I have a monitor that has HDMI input, was looked everywhere for a converter that allowed such connection. And the picture quality was outstanding! Also offered is a composite and coaxial (cable type) connection for older/legacy TV's. My only gripe was with the function of some of the menus, but once you get used to it, like any other electronic device, it is easy going. As a bonus, I don't recall it mentioned in the product details, but it also includes a few simple games, I only checked out Tetris and Snake, but both were fun distractions. I would recommend this product to anyone in the market for a Digital to Analog converter.

Was this review helpful? (602) (115)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grandboricua
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazed, but use a 2.0 Flash Drive
3/2/2016

Customer review by Rich

5.0 stars 3/2/2016 by Rich
by Rich

I bought because I needed a converter, and hoping but not expecting it to work as a DVD. For the price the latter just seemed too good to be true. But I'm no longer a skeptic. Quite the contrary--I bought a 2nd unit to use with my new TV as a DVR. Goodbye U verse! However with the 2nd unit I bought a 128 gb USB 3.0 flash drive. But I started getting video with glitches. So I swapped my 2.0 and 3.0 flash drives from unit to unit and the problem followed the 3.0 flash drive. Before I bought another 2.0 flash drive I looked on line to see if others could verify that would solve my problem, but didn't find anyone comparing the two. I did stumble onto a Ematic tech support line and to my amazement the call was answered right away and the tech was able to verify the unit wasn't yet upgraded to accommodate the 3.0 flash drive (as of 2/2016). Wow, all this for less than $30 and good tech support too. Amazing

Was this review helpful? (57) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Saves me $120/year on High Def cable charges.
2/26/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/26/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Connected my antenna to the Ematic and connected it to the HDMI-2 input on my TV. I get all the major networks in HD and record them on an external hard drive plugged into the USB port. My cable service is plugged into the HDMI-1 input on my TV. I kept cable but cancelled the Hi-Def service, which saves me $10/mo. I just press the Input button on my TV remote to switch between cable and the Ematic. So happy with this I bought 2 more for our guest bedrooms which saves more money by not having to rent cable receivers for them. The only shows in HD that will be missed will be Monday and Thursday NFL games on ESPN and the NFL network, but most NFL games are on antenna in HD Can also plug the external hard drive into one of the other Ematics and watch previously recorded shows on a different TV. The only serious negative is it is less convenient to manage recorded shows than the DVR provided by the cable company which has a better TV guide and which is easier to use. But for me the cost savings outweigh the inconvenience.

Was this review helpful? (73) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Encinitas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Converter box
7/14/2016

Customer review by Maria

1.0 stars 7/14/2016 by Maria
by Maria
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Didnt work with my tv will be bringingit back

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maria
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sucks
4/9/2016

Customer review by Drais13

1.0 stars 4/9/2016 by Drais13
by Drais13

So i finally decidef to do something with my spare bedrooms. I bought 2 of the boxes and 2 antennas. I'm great with all technology set up. Being that the box was simple it would be a breeze because I've setup several boxes of my own for family and friends. So I know what I'm doing. WRONG, I went for the instructions, they suck, looked for customer service number, there is none just a support email address. That sucked. So I continued the setup of boxes on the intended tvs did some troubleshooting. Nothing, menu didnt even come up and reception is not needed for that. So I set the boxes up on other TVs that I have working boxes on and still nothing not even the menu. I don't know what type of TVs these boxes are working on but they don't work on none of mine. Needless to say I'm returning both boxes and 1 anttena.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drais13
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eh
4/23/2016

Customer review by NickName

2.0 stars 4/23/2016 by NickName
by NickName

Bought it on sale for less than $20 because I was being cheap. All-in-all it's not a "bad" converter, but it has issues. 1. The remote is rather moody. It's hit and miss as to whether it will do what it's supposed to do when you push a button. And if you get frustrated with it and start pushing one or more buttons repeatedly trying to make it work, when it does start functioning, all those button pushes begin to rapidly cycle through. Replacing the batteries didn't help. 2. The sound/video begins to separate after a while. I'm not sure why. First I thought it was just one channel, but as I switched to others, it was still there, although some channels weren't as bad. I finally shut it off and rebooted it and that seemed to fix the issue. I've decided that as soon as it's cost effective, I will be replacing this with a better unit.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NickName
Would recommend to a friend? No
Maybe not for Cox cable
4/10/2016

Customer review by NotForCableTV

1.0 stars 4/10/2016 by NotForCableTV
by NotForCableTV

I was looking for a low cost way of having tv in my garage again, after cable went all digital. I could not find any material to suggest that this product did NOT work with cable. Well, as far as I can tell it does not work with cable service. I plugged this device in and went to "boot" on the box and it never changed. I did all of the unplug, push all of the buttons on the remote, make sure tv is tuned to channel 3, boot was all I got. I left the device on and plugged in all night, in the morning was my favorite logo, "boot". I looked throughout the manual and I could not find anything in this little small manual. It is going back as soon as I return home. The purchase initially said delivery would be Tuesday, I ordered it Saturday or Sunday, but what it meant was Tuesday a week out. Thanks, but it did nothing for tv viewing.

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NotForCableTV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Yes, But...
12/6/2015

Customer review by issachar5

4.0 stars 12/6/2015 by issachar5
by issachar5

OK, what you want to know is, "can I use it to record digital antenna programs. Yes you can...AND you can play them back on your Digital TV ON COMPOSITE OR HDMI inputs. The one drawback is the original function of the unit...taking digital channels and converting them. NOW, you don't care about the converting...you're going to playback on your digital TV...BUT you do care about the unit accepting your channels WELL. I tried 3 antenna's, and had VERY MIXED RESULTS on the unit programming in the channels, and the channels playing WELL through the unit. Each of the antenna's used gave GOOD channels if put directly to the Digital TV. I ended up with a compromise; I used an antenna that gave me 10 channels, with 3 good, and 4 mixed good-bad channels. My 12 channel antenna I put directly to the TV and had 12 GOOD channels. The unit has a cable channel program capability, but it programmed in 101 channels...all identified as SCRAMBLED...pretty much useless. '

Was this review helpful? (30) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
issachar5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 1289 total reviews
1-20 of 1289 reviews