Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1606 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

1606 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

1606 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
735
4 stars
348
3 stars
116
2 stars
85
1 stars
322
1-20 of 1604 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1604 total reviews
1-20 of 1604 reviews
Displays boot and never boots up.
9/20/2016

Customer review by Joanna

1.0 stars 9/20/2016 by Joanna
by Joanna

I couldn't wait to watch the season premiere of Gotham tonight on Fox, so I decided to run out to walmart and grab a converter AFTER reading several reviews about different brands. This brand was rated 4 out 5 stars and other people were raving about the extra features so I chose to buy it, even though the price was 42.49 after tax. I am a woman who likes to read instructions. There were none at all in the manual regarding setup of the equipment. The only literature in the manual spoke on seting up the menu and programing the various features. Unfortunately for me, there was no menu to set up as the box NEVER got past the booting stage. As soon as I plugged it into the power outlet, the led displayed the word "boot" and after 2 hours, it is STILL saying boot. Now I've missed my show and all I have to show for it is 40 bucks less in my bank account. Only now that this has happened to me am I seeing that it also happened to plenty of other buyers. Since the chances of getting another defective box are good, I'll just go back to walmart for a full refund and go buy something actually worth $40. I do NOT recommend this to anyone I care about and I'm shaking my head as I write this. Be warned.

Was this review helpful? (191) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joanna
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box
11/20/2016

Customer review by ElenaB02

4.0 stars 11/20/2016 by ElenaB02
by ElenaB02

Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities good if you have a TV that doesn't have Tv Turner it works well picks up channels

Was this review helpful? (28) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElenaB02
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
11/29/2016

Customer review by socko

5.0 stars 11/29/2016 by socko
by socko
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this digital converter for my over the air analog free tv antena. Works great. Recommend this highly.

Was this review helpful? (19) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
socko
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good.
11/30/2013

Customer review by svr46765483

4.0 stars 11/30/2013 by svr46765483
by svr46765483

Tuner input, digital HDMI out and analog composite video and R+L audio out, (No PCM or component outs). Records High Def to usb external sata drives or some of the newest/fastest usb 3.0 speed flash drives like team 16gb color brown others like adata brand could not keep up or do timeshift. Runs V3 firmware from 081713, Formatting storage device in NFTS yields one file per program, formatting in FAT32 breaks the recordings into 500mb size pieces. Smaller than iview or homeworx boxes but bigger than naxa box. Remote looks like the one used for Stellar Labs style box. USB switches off storage when box is in standby. Power supply is internal instead of AC/DC adapter so not as cool. Tuner input/output should have some nuts around the 75 ohm connectors too. Comes with a sticker mistakenly placed on top of protective packing film, sticker should have been underneath film, make sure you remove film for proper ventalation. Contacted ematic and they never heard of the model and had no firmware updates, if product was supported it would be a big seller and many people would want one. I have included a picture of the back panel for those that asked about the connectors.

Was this review helpful? (272) (170)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
svr46765483
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Instructions Make It Complicated
2/3/2014

Customer review by Scnickers

4.0 stars 2/3/2014 by Scnickers
by Scnickers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor

This might be considered a good buy. It has features you get with paid TV like DVR (PVR) & recording (HBPR). A show can be recorded manually or set ahead for a particular broadcast. Recording is via the usb port which I use with a flash drive. The instructions claim you have up to seven days of program scheduling but I find it ranges from a few hours to less than 12 hours. In order to see all the options for the features at the bottom of the screen I have to remember to set my TV on 'normal' screen ratio and the converter box ratio on 'auto.' Otherwise take notes so you know what to push for a particular feature if the screen ratio cuts off the feature options until you memorize them. I have a roof antenna so I do get great reception. It is complicated to set up and figure out how to use its features because the manual is severely lacking in detail. When setting the screen ratio I pushed the wrong option and got a black & white screen that rolled super fast. It took almost 24 hrs to sort it out on my own. Customer service via the 800 number - the phone was never answered in the 20 minutes I spent getting sent back to the main menu and re-selecting the tech support option. I tried another company number and spoke to a non-support person who assured me I would receive a call by the end of the day but never did. The product does not exist on the website. There is an email support option on the website somewhere which I haven't tried yet. I have managed to sort out most of my difficulties and am saving the rest of my questions to submit at one time. I hope email support is functional. The company information is missing from the manual - not so much as a company name, number, or website address. The 800 number came from some other paper that came with the ematic and the other number came from the BBB website. This product lacks adequate instructions and customer support otherwise I would have given it excellent in all 3 categories. I recommend it with reservations for those reasons.

Was this review helpful? (413) (101)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scnickers
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
Really WORKS !
4/28/2016

Customer review by joville

5.0 stars 4/28/2016 by joville
by joville

It works great I was able to transfer out side signals to an old 12 yr. TV

Was this review helpful? (72) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not happy at all
11/18/2016

Customer review by Queen6224

1.0 stars 11/18/2016 by Queen6224
by Queen6224

Unit has a coaxial output, but customer service said that it doesn't work, so you have to use yellow, white, red connector wire (included). Unit requires a USB memory stick (not included) for the record feature (like a DVR) to work, so haven't tried that yet. Unit was able to find most of the local channels with an indoor rabbit ears type antenna. Customer service also said unit was meant to be used with an outdoor antenna (not included). My previous converter box picked up more channels with the same antenna. The channels the unit does pick up come in nice and clear. Program guide worked with no problems. Remote is a little confusing. (couldn't figure out how to turn off closed captioning) Unit is good for an extra tv or for the workshop. I bought it for $19.99 and recommend it at that price, but think it would be over priced at the full price of $39.99. I wasn't happy with the companies customer service, so hopefully I won't have to call them again

Was this review helpful? (36) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Queen6224
Would recommend to a friend? No
EMatic AT103B Digital converter box
2/5/2014

Customer review by Donna715

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by Donna715
by Donna715
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor

I bought 2 converter boxes and used the first box on an old TV and used one of those flat antennas. It did not work so I thought something was wrong with the converter box but before giving up I decided to buy just a cheap RCA antenna. It is one of those that has a base and has a round antenna with the rabbit ears. I went to the menu and went to auto search and it picked up quite a few stations. When I had followed directions like other posts said to do, it did not work for me. I set up the other converter box on a flat screen HD TV. I set it up the same exact way as I did the older TV but I received more stations. I think it has to do with what direction your TV and antenna is sitting. I was not impressed with the flat antenna I purchased. I have bought RCA several times before to help friends hook up their TV's and there are many different kinds but I found out that the ones that have a base with a round antenna and rabbit ears work the best. You can find these at Walmart also. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (750) (150)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donna715
Dinuba, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
Much, Much, better than the RCA Digital Converter
9/26/2016

Customer review by Jerry

5.0 stars 9/26/2016 by Jerry
by Jerry

Since I can't change my first review of the RCA Digital Converter, I will amend it here in comparison. Unlike the 3 RCA Digital Converters that I purchased and returned, (https://www.walmart.com/ip/RCA-Digital-Converter-Box-with-DVR-Recording/46583029) this unit comes with a working remote. Not only does the remote on this unit work very well, especially in comparison to the RCA, it uses standard batteries. The menu, and it's response time to the remote, is also very superior to the RCA converter. The ease of use is intuitive, and it seems to do a very good job of tuning in channels. One note, if you buy this in the stores, make sure you either print out the online ad, or ask the store to pricematch versus the Walmart.com webpage. The store I went to had this priced $10 more than the webpage had it listed. So over-all, you have an excellent chance of having a 100% working remote with this unit, versus a 16% chance with the RCA converter.

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jerry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great, Simple to Use
3/31/2016

Customer review by DougO

5.0 stars 3/31/2016 by DougO
by DougO

I bought this for a rarely used bedroom TV that lacks an ATSC tuner, but does have an HDMI connection. I also was tired of paying for cable. Very compact and build quality was better than I expected for this price, which was about half of comparable units. People have commented that this box is difficult to set up and the manual is not very helpful. I'm no technical whiz but I had this thing up and running in about 5 minutes before I even looked at the manual. On screen interface was both responsive and intuitive. Unlike some other comments the protective plastic coating was perforated over the vent holes, so no need to remove it. It's pulling in over 40 stations using an old set of rabbit ears and the picture quality is excellent. Not all of them are HD and too many are Home Shopping, but there's still quite a bit of watchable over the air TV. My main gripe is that the standby LED is bright enough to light up a room. Overall very pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (118) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DougO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No longer tunerless!
2/27/2017

Customer review by Duane

5.0 stars 2/27/2017 by Duane
by Duane
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought a Vizio TV, or rather a "Display" that was "tuner-free" I hooked this baby up to my amplified outdoor antenna and it works great! Before I got this converter box my picture did not fill my my letter box, now not only does the picture automatically adjust to my screen size but the quality is better. What makes it even better is you can see a listing of what's currently showing on the channel and what's sHowing next, then by pressing a couple more Presses of the info button you can see what's showing for the next 5 hours! It's great for the new smart TVs that do not have any controls for channels you receive on an antenna. If you have local channels on satellite or cable you will be amazed at how much better the picture quality is using an HDTV antennae combined with this converter. If you're antenna requires power through the coaxial cable this does that as well! I am very satisfied with my purchase!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Duane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More bang that you would expect for your buck.
12/8/2013

Customer review by grandboricua

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by grandboricua
by grandboricua
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Within the price range of most other OTA Digital converter boxes, this one really delivers. Using a USB drive one is able to utilize the device to record a live program. You can also use the port to load up your own music, video, and pictures. The one feature that really sold me was the inclusion of an HDMI port. I have a monitor that has HDMI input, was looked everywhere for a converter that allowed such connection. And the picture quality was outstanding! Also offered is a composite and coaxial (cable type) connection for older/legacy TV's. My only gripe was with the function of some of the menus, but once you get used to it, like any other electronic device, it is easy going. As a bonus, I don't recall it mentioned in the product details, but it also includes a few simple games, I only checked out Tetris and Snake, but both were fun distractions. I would recommend this product to anyone in the market for a Digital to Analog converter.

Was this review helpful? (624) (122)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grandboricua
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box
3/17/2016

Customer review by Chase4everAndEver

5.0 stars 3/17/2016 by Chase4everAndEver
by Chase4everAndEver

This product is one of the best purchases I've made in a long time. The features are better than similar ones at a much higher price. Replacing NON-HD VCR taping with this product and using an external hard drive brings the HD quality to life and can be watched using this device and an external hard drive (requires a separate purchase) or by plugging the external hard drive (requires a separate purchase) after recording the program(s) into a computer to view the video it processed. One thing that might help someone new using this is that the daily programming feature needs to be changed on weekends unless one wants to record daily 7 days a week. The weekly feature seems to work flawlessly--same with the one-time viewing feature. Use caution when buying a flash drive to use because some flash drives aren't set up for the speed required to record without pixelating the picture. I am very happy with this item and with the price and how easy it was to order on line and pick it up at a Walmart store close to where I live. (Chase)

Was this review helpful? (63) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chase4everAndEver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Saves me $120/year on High Def cable charges.
2/26/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/26/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Connected my antenna to the Ematic and connected it to the HDMI-2 input on my TV. I get all the major networks in HD and record them on an external hard drive plugged into the USB port. My cable service is plugged into the HDMI-1 input on my TV. I kept cable but cancelled the Hi-Def service, which saves me $10/mo. I just press the Input button on my TV remote to switch between cable and the Ematic. So happy with this I bought 2 more for our guest bedrooms which saves more money by not having to rent cable receivers for them. The only shows in HD that will be missed will be Monday and Thursday NFL games on ESPN and the NFL network, but most NFL games are on antenna in HD Can also plug the external hard drive into one of the other Ematics and watch previously recorded shows on a different TV. The only serious negative is it is less convenient to manage recorded shows than the DVR provided by the cable company which has a better TV guide and which is easier to use. But for me the cost savings outweigh the inconvenience.

Was this review helpful? (80) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Encinitas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good but not great
4/14/2016

Customer review by Bouvguy

3.0 stars 4/14/2016 by Bouvguy
by Bouvguy

Unit has a coaxial output, but customer service said that it doesn't work, so you have to use yellow, white, red connector wire (included). Unit requires a USB memory stick (not included) for the record feature (like a DVR) to work, so haven't tried that yet. Unit was able to find most of the local channels with an indoor rabbit ears type antenna. Customer service also said unit was meant to be used with an outdoor antenna (not included). My previous converter box picked up more channels with the same antenna. The channels the unit does pick up come in nice and clear. Program guide worked with no problems. Remote is a little confusing. (couldn't figure out how to turn off closed captioning) Unit is good for an extra tv or for the workshop. I bought it for $19.99 and recommend it at that price, but think it would be over priced at the full price of $39.99. I wasn't happy with the companies customer service, so hopefully I won't have to call them again.

Was this review helpful? (37) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bouvguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best bang for your buck
11/18/2014

Customer review by antennaman2014

5.0 stars 11/18/2014 by antennaman2014
by antennaman2014

There's lots of cool features on this box like recording tv programs (6 gigs an hour roughly) so make sure you get huge hard drive, pause live tv (depending on size of hard drive), record shows once, daily or weekly, tv guide shows about 24 hours in advance, picture is crystal clear with no distortan (I recommend the high end anntena, just remember ifyou live close to tv stations get a lower quality anntena as the 150 plus mile antenna is made to grab signals long range vs short range and a cheaper antenna is only designed to get closer signals. Do your homework before you buy your antenna, also trees and mountains block signals and you must adjust most antennas like a satellite antenna pointing it towards the tv station), there is also a built in antenna amplifier in the converter box (factory default is set to off so if you want it on do so in settings.) Installation instructions are sketchy but if you do research there is lots of useful information out there to help you. Great box to get free tv and its affordable.

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
antennaman2014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I could not understand how to set up. I am 60 year
5/11/2014

Customer review by Illimani

1.0 stars 5/11/2014 by Illimani
by Illimani
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I could not use the Manual. The product might be good, but I have to return it because I cannot make it work. By the way. Do I need cable to use this box. My TV is the new one. Not the old TVs. I am 60 years old, and the writing in the manual are absolutely minuscule . It says that it is a recorder. but does it record directly from the TV? and, do I need to have cable in order to record from the TV with this machine? I wish I do have other people who bought this, and give their opinion, and also, how to use it. I could not read the Manual at all because of the small graphics. And also, the language is too professional, for a person like me. We, old people, need something more common language to understand the instructions. We are willing to spend our money buying these gadgets, but how can we use them? However, I am very happy with my combo that I bought from Walmart. The Manual is excellent: big letters, easy language, etc. I will continue buying from Walmart, because I found out that the returning is a breeze.

Was this review helpful? (64) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Illimani
Las Vegas, Nv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Used it for Six Months
10/17/2016

Customer review by Mistywaters

4.0 stars 10/17/2016 by Mistywaters
by Mistywaters
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this converter box along with an antenna to keep from having to rent another cable box from the cable company. Since it was only going to be used in the kitchen while I was cooking, I was fine with the purchase. In combination with the antenna, the color and picture image came in crisp, fine, and clear. The color was even enhanced. When my contract was up with the cable company, I switched to another provider so decided to get a cable box for the kitchen TV this time. I got only 5 channels which I don't blame the converter box for. It may have been because I had a lot of trees in my area but the antenna was suppose to pick up at least 60 stations which it did not. This is per the antenna box. Could not get that antenna close enough to the kitchen window so proximity may have been a problem too. The converter box was fine and easy to set up and program so I would give it four stars.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mistywaters
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Digital Converter Box
4/26/2016

Customer review by cntrfldr

4.0 stars 4/26/2016 by cntrfldr
by cntrfldr

Had to return the 1st one as it only displayed 'boot' and then didn't respond. Walmart refunded, I picked up another there and it worked fine. I originally tried with a small "rabbit ears" antenna, but being in a basement, it was able to receive very limited stations. Hooked up instead via coax cable to the old large antenna in the attic and works fine, even without a need for booster. The instructions could be improved, and the interface is a little cryptic, but overall it's a very good value. It will soon pay for itself vs cable fees. But don't expect a large range of stations. After you ensure it's working for you, be sure to remove the tight plastic wrapping around the body of the unit so that the vents are not covered as it will heat up moderately in operation. Also, when you turn off the TV, be sure to hit the "Power" button on the remote for the converter unit as well, to put it in cooler standby mode.

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cntrfldr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little box for recording tv
1/24/2014

Customer review by dd1963

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by dd1963
by dd1963

I bought this converter because of my VCR. I wanted a way to record a couple of my favorite shows when I was not able to watch them. Well in order for a VCR to work with an HDTV, you have to have a converter box. As I was reading about this box and realized it supposedly records tv, I had to order it. This is the first day I have had it and I am impressed. With it's PVR function I will not have to miss a show or movie now. I tested it with my 2gb flash drive stick and it worked like a charm. From what I've read I should be able to get about 4 hours on a 2gb flash drive. I probably will get a larger gb flash drive though. But if you could also hook up a PC or laptop with Windows 7 or 8 and record a show onto your computer. So now I wont even take out the VCR except when I want to watch some old home movies. Prices for DVR that work with over the air tv and not cable are around $200 and up. So this saved me a seriously good chunk of change and gives me what I want. Set up was easy, instructions not A+, good enough to figure it out with though. Extremely happy!

Was this review helpful? (259) (83)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dd1963
Woodstock, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 1604 total reviews
1-20 of 1604 reviews