Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 | 42 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 42 reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
Died in 19 months
9/17/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Lasted 19 months. Bought this in February 2015. Installed in 2004 Acura TL. No problems until July when the Acura dealer said the battery needed to be replaced, but I though it was a fluke because the battery was relatively new. A couple months later, the battery would barely crank over the ignition. The exchange process was OK. I had the battery report from the dealer saying it needed to be replaced, but Walmart wouldn't accept that and wanted to test it themselves, so I brought it in. Then they told me I'd have to wait 2+ hours because other cars were getting oil changes and I'd have to wait for someone to remove the battery and hook it up to the tester. So I removed the battery myself (it's easy). I then went back to the same person who wouldn't accept the dealer's report and gave her the Walmart finding. The battery was done. No cost to replace under the 3-year warranty. But still, I shouldn't have to go through this hassle every 17 months.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
below average
9/21/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this battery in Feb 2015 for my 2005 Hyundai Sonata and it died on Sept 20, 2017. It failed in 2 yrs and 7 mos. Since the failure is within 3 yrs, Walmart replaced it with a new one. I bought this battery because it's cheaper than most name brands and Consumer Reports rated it as "Best Buy". Hopefully this one will last longer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lasted 2.5 weeks short of 7 year warranty
11/15/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this battery on 12/02/08 for my Hyundai Elantra. It was a 7 year battery and lasted till today, 2.5 weeks shy of 7 years. I bought Diehard in the past and I had to replace them several times in several months. Very disappointing. I decided to try another brand. My first Everstart was for another car before this one and that battery lasted almost until the warranty end. I recently needed a battery for another car and I wanted only this brand. That was my third Everstart purchase. The Hyundai sits a lot and the battery lasted a long time. I certainly got my money's worth ($66.94 in 2008). Wow, the price has gone up quite a bit, but I will only buy this brand. So, when this comes back in stock it will be my fourth Ever start purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5+ Years
11/17/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased this battery in August 2011. It finally just died yesterday 11/16/2016 after 5+ years of reliable service in my 1978 Jeep CJ7. From starting in subzero weather (Minnesota) to 115+ degrees (Arizona). Cant ask for much more especially considering its one of the lowest priced batteries I have found. On my way to pick up a new one right now.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
By far the best value for the money
8/28/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As of today, this battery represents the best value money can buy. Compared to other retailers, not only is it the lowest in price, Walmart offers a full 3 year warranty and an additional 2 year prorated warranty on top of it. No other retailer around here in the Midwest (AdvancedAutoParts, AutoZone, BigR, Meijer, NAPA, O'Reily's etc.) could come even close.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's Good battery
4/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Good batterie that I had no problem with. No problem durring very cold days (-20F) It started my car like would be nothing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Consumer Report recommended
2/17/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This battery was recommended by Consumer Reports. It's been in for a week and is working well so far. I can't just its life yet; I'm hopeful.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
SORRY WALMART YOUR NOT A DIEHARD
9/7/2015
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
purchased first battery from walmart 10/11 because replacement battery was 6 years old. Almost 1 year to the date it was dead. Returned back to walmart service center and a replacement battery was given. Second replacement battery went dead after 2 1/2 years. Walmart pricing is much less and warranty is only good for 2 years. After weighing out the options I choose to go back to Sears Diehard Batteries. They have always lasted 6 plus years, but they do cost more. You get what you are paying for with batteries and getting stranded in the hot Arizona sun isn't worth the $25 savings to me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I'M HAPPY...
8/17/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My previous battery had died on me several times so I finally gave in and ordered a new EverStart on line one night. Drove to Walmart to pick up early the next morning and had it installed while I shopped. It has a 3 year warranty and was the cheapest one available. Since I purchased on line I was charged $12 for a Core Redemption Fee on my old battery but was given a $12 cash refund when they actually got my old battery when they installed the new one. I've only had the new one for a couple of weeks but have had no problems with a dead battery since the new one was installed. Easy, quick and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
4/16/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
16 months and dead. I purchased the battery to replace the OE battery in 2013 KIA Optima, that was in Nov. 2015. It died April 2017. Lucky my wife works at the Walmart where we got the battery. It was dead when she got off from work. Replacement was hassle free. I'll wait and see how long this one lasts. Most likely this will be my last Johnson Controls made battery.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
EVERSTART 124R-3
6/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased this Battery on 6/11/2011. it just died on me yesterday 6/14/14. I think it's a excellent battery numerous summers and winters here in Atlanta and four roadtrips in 3 years and it held So I will be purchasing one this Friday 6/20/14 and my next purchase will be an upgrade to Everstart Maxx 124 .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Quick N Ez
12/10/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered online and picked-up. Super easy, super quick, and has stood against 110+ degree weather.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
EverStart Maax lives up to its name
2/2/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have used this battery in severe weather of Arizona and the cold of Lake Tahoe.....never let me down. So, I bought it again on the strength of its performance over the years.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Posts too narrow
2/7/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This battery is the only one specified for a 2007 Kia Rondo, but the battery post diameters are too small, and the clamps cannot be tightened on them. Bought a pair of lead post shims, but they were too fat, so had to file them down to get a fit. A real pain ... shop elsewhere if you have a Kia, and good luck!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
EverStart Maxx Lead Acid Automotive Battery, 124R
11/18/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's easy and convenience to purchase on Wal-Mart on-line store. The deal is very good. The price is the lowest and the battery quality is among the best. In store pick-up process is smooth.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Car Battery
9/13/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This battery worked great for us and would recommend it We had a problem starting up and maintaining other functions with this battery the car is problem free
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fresh, Fresh, Fresh
12/9/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I needed but was not planning to buy a battery from Walmart but since I saw them there, I decided to take a look. They had the size I needed. When I saw how fresh the battery was (less that one month old), I decided to buy based on price. Installed it myself. Car started right up and the battery sounds strong. Only question is how long will it last.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Automobile Batteries From Walmart
1/10/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I always purchase my automobile batteries from Walmart. The EverStart brand is excellent. I definitely would recommend the brand to anyone who is looking to replace their battery. I have seven cars and they all have EverStart in them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Battery 124R
9/4/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the price of the battery, but the battery not so good. I bought this battery in 02/13 and here it is 09/13, it doesn't want to hold a charge. We all know that Walmart is good for some things but i think they need to leave other things to the pros. Hope i can exchange it for another and prey that it stay charged through the winter...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (44)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works as it should
3/2/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Other than the annoyance of having to hike through the whole giant store to pick up the battery, I like being able to buy this online and not have to wait around at the service department to get it installed. The battery itself has a good warranty and started right up as soon as my neighbor installed it for me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641750, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-