Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 169 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

169 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

169 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
55
3 stars
25
2 stars
17
1 stars
37
1-20 of 169 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 169 total reviews
1-20 of 169 reviews
Pleasantly surprised!
11/30/2013

Customer review by Ochl

4.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Ochl
by Ochl

We have a 55" 3D smart TV, but its speaker is not so good. We gave the Philips soundbar a try, not expecting much from it because it was quite cheap. But we were pleasantly surprised. The sound is clear, the bass sounds really good! However if you turn on the surround sound, the sound becomes unpleasant, lots of reverb. But turn it off, you get far better sound than that which comes from the TV speaker. People say you get what you pay for, but with this we got more than we paid for. I recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (122) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ochl
Glendale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My first soundbar
6/4/2014

Customer review by JS300

5.0 stars 6/4/2014 by JS300
by JS300

I was a little skeptical buying such an inexpensive speaker but I did a little research and found some reviews online that actually gave it a decent rating. Some other people who bought this soundbar also liked it. If it didn't pan out, I could always return the purchase regardless. I bought it over my wife's objections, since she likes to stick to big name brand items. After the simple installation (I don't like reading directions), we figured out how to work the remote and it worked like a charm. We blasted the volume up and found very little distortion. We coincidentally have a 32 inch Phillips LCD TV so I don't know if the soundbar worked better because of that or not. In any case, it worked good enough to satisfy a discriminating wife.

Was this review helpful? (57) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JS300
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Soundbar for Price!
12/4/2013

Customer review by QueenBee1234

4.0 stars 12/4/2013 by QueenBee1234
by QueenBee1234

This was our first soundbar, and I have no complaints this far. I bought this on sale on Black Friday, and for the price I could not ask for anything better. It has a surround sound button that gives that extra movie theatre sound.

Was this review helpful? (71) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QueenBee1234
Hammond, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Didn't even last 3 Months !!!
3/2/2014

Customer review by Jess4U

1.0 stars 3/2/2014 by Jess4U
by Jess4U

Wow! I don't often take my time to write reviews, but I figured I'd take the time now to save any potential buyers from falling in my trap. I purchased this soundbar because I was trying to boost my TV's sound (also a Philips) in my small living room, but to begin with that .. the sound was muffled/very poor; almost sounded like coming from a bucket or can. The 'surround sound' sounded like having an echo, but no true surround sound effect. It didn't have an optical digital audio connector either. And no, it does not have blue-tooth capability for those of you wondering if you could connect your mobile devices to it. What is worst of it all is that it lasted only 2 1/2 months !!! So PLEASE do not buy this piece of junk. Do more research and buy another brand that is more durable. I own a Philips LED TV which turned out good (has lasted 5 years so far), but the sound bars, DVDs and Blu-Ray players .. were all junk. I think after this I am definitely switching brands for all of my media equipment.

Was this review helpful? (54) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jess4U
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for a person who is slightly hard of hearing
12/7/2013

Customer review by mjscan2

5.0 stars 12/7/2013 by mjscan2
by mjscan2

I bought this for my mother who is hard slight to moderately hard of hearing. she usually has the tv blaring to where if i was in the living room I could turn the sound down and just listen to the program coming from hear room and watch on living room tv. So I bought this sound bar and it has really help. Its was a great bargin and well worth the price. A very happy customer :0).

Was this review helpful? (48) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mjscan2
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value for the Budget Minded !
2/4/2014

Customer review by Moodster54

4.0 stars 2/4/2014 by Moodster54
by Moodster54

I bought this for Super Bowl Sunday and am very pleased . The reviews here helped BUT as they stated other than a power cord there are no hookup cables to be had in the box ( I used RCA cables and it works great ) so get some with your purchase . I matched it with my " Thanksgiving Special " Funai 32in flat screen and it worked perfectly right out of the box. On surround mode it does sound a little tinny but for the money spent far exceeds what I expected . It's not for big room but works like a charm in my medium size living space and fills the room with sound ! With the money I saved I returned to Walmart and bought a Samsung Blue Ray player . I now have a very nice home system for less money than most spend on a smartphone these days . I could have spent more but .......... why ?

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moodster54
Wylie Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great for small room
11/22/2013

Customer review by EQGeek

3.0 stars 11/22/2013 by EQGeek
by EQGeek

I own a small 32" TV which I use in a bedroom. This product works well in a small area but don't buy it for your living room. I wanted to enhance the sound quality of the TV and was disappointed , it sounds better than the TV but hardly any bass difference. It does get loud however and works well in a small area.

Was this review helpful? (41) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EQGeek
Bakersfield, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A teriffic buy for my flat screen.
1/26/2014

Customer review by Karn21

4.0 stars 1/26/2014 by Karn21
by Karn21

It fits in well with my 50" plasma at home. I got it to enhance the sound from my TV. The surround sound option sounds a bit odd. Perhaps with added speakers it will blend in better. It does not come with any hook up cables, but the power cord. Depending on the type of TV you have, you may have to buy a certain type. My TV needed a digital audio cable which Wal-Mart has. Check the back outputs on your TV first to order the correct type; digital, USB, red & white end analog audio, etc.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Karn21
Corona, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value at $48
12/8/2013

Customer review by LaSabrosa

4.0 stars 12/8/2013 by LaSabrosa
by LaSabrosa

Works well in my Small living room with my 46" TV. Pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LaSabrosa
Rochester NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great sound for the price
12/16/2013

Customer review by silkscreener

4.0 stars 12/16/2013 by silkscreener
by silkscreener

Walmart had this speaker at a special price for Black Friday so I gave it a shot. I was surprised at the sound quality of this soundbar for the price. I do not know what the regular price is but it is worth that.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
silkscreener
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not very happy.
12/10/2013

Customer review by askagain

1.0 stars 12/10/2013 by askagain
by askagain

I bought this sound bar to improve the sound on an RCA 46" flat screen TV for a 22' x 23" room. It did little to improve the sound quality and the volume was still too low. Hoping to do better, I purchased a Vizio sound bar for $78.00 also at Walmart. The Vizio puts out a better quality sound and the volume is higher. Save yourself time and frustration and avoid the Philips sound bar.

Was this review helpful? (36) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
askagain
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
HDMI
12/11/2013

Customer review by Hollinsiam

2.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Hollinsiam
by Hollinsiam

Does not have HDMI. Be aware! Should be on the box.

Was this review helpful? (34) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hollinsiam
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for a beginner
12/15/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The ease of setup is great. The sound quality is mighty good for the price. The only irritating feature is having yet another remote control to keep track of.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great soundbar for the price
12/18/2013

Customer review by Rocky2014

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by Rocky2014
by Rocky2014

This soundbar was only $49 and an incredible buy. No, its not as great as surround sound, but if you have a flatscreen tv without any extra speakers, then this is for you. Well worth the money. In fact, I bought two, one for each flatscreen tv. I can actually hear the tv now without turning the volume up to 50 or 60.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rocky2014
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not buy
7/31/2014

Customer review by HanSoloFan

1.0 stars 7/31/2014 by HanSoloFan
by HanSoloFan

The sound was so low I had to turn my tv up in order to hear. The "surround sound" has an extremely prominent echo. Might be okay if you're watching tv in the bathroom. Otherwise put the extra money into a better sound bar. Am on my way to return this item.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HanSoloFan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
fine quality and the price is right too
8/10/2014

Customer review by Beverly0807

5.0 stars 8/10/2014 by Beverly0807
by Beverly0807

This is my first sound bar, which I purchased for use with a 48" flat screen TV. Since it's my first sound bar, I didn't want to spend a lot of money, so the price was right on this purchase. The sound quality is wonderful, and it even has a surround sound setting. The best part is that it connects with one connection via an optical audio output cable, which I also bought for 99 cents (the 3-foot length) at Walmart! Overall, very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beverly0807
Bushkill PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Cables not included
12/19/2013

Customer review by TxMonty

1.0 stars 12/19/2013 by TxMonty
by TxMonty

The instruction manual, if it can be called that, shows three cables necessary (recommended?) to make speaker work. BUT none of the cables is included in the package. VERY disappointed. NOW I have to go buy the cables before I can determine if the speaker is worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (11) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TxMonty
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not what i wanted
3/27/2014

Customer review by Mildman58

1.0 stars 3/27/2014 by Mildman58
by Mildman58

I got this soundbar & it was really easy to connect & set up. the only problem is that it quit working in less than a week. I took it back & got an RCA that works great, plus it has Bluetooth.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mildman58
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
1/8/2014

Customer review by GIPCPR68

1.0 stars 1/8/2014 by GIPCPR68
by GIPCPR68

Very difficult to set up..had to return twice to get correct cables...instructions we're note helpful at all. Will be returning..bought another system from different store..

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GIPCPR68
Aiken, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Never had a chance to use it.
7/25/2014

Customer review by Marriedman05

1.0 stars 7/25/2014 by Marriedman05
by Marriedman05

Never had a chance to use it because when i got it it never have anything. No cable, remote or any documentation on it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marriedman05
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 169 total reviews
1-20 of 169 reviews