Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.7out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 | 102 reviews
5 stars
85
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 102 reviews
1-20 of 102 reviews
Small Seniors Love This
8/25/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I foster medical, hospice and senior dogs for a small nonprofit. Most of my dogs are Chihuahuas or chi-mix. This food smells fresh whether kibble, canned, or roll. The salmon has smaller kibbles easy for seniors and hospice dogs to chew. The dogs have few digestive problems, stay well nourished, and even the more sick and finicky ones are eager to eat. I find this food perfect as a base for cancer diets and critical nutrition dogs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wish I had found this earlier.
4/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recently switched my two medium size dogs to Pure Balance grain free Salmon & Pea dry dog food. I wish I had found this much earlier! Both of my girls love this stuff! I had been reluctant to switch to a grain free formula because they were so expensive. WalMart was able to deliver this grain free product at a price that was reasonable, so I tried it. I'm impressed. They love it and it loves them. Their coats are shinier and they shed less. Their poop has tightened up and is less runny. Their allergies have improved. They are more active, even at 9 years old. They have slimmed down and look really great. I have always tried to feed them according to package directions, but even at less than suggested amounts the non-grain free foods seemed to make them fatter. Thank you WalMart for supplying a good grain free dog food at a sane price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Beautiful coats and happy dogs!
5/5/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My two dogs have been on this grain-free dog food for about 3 years. My golden retriever used to have thin hair with very few feathers on her legs. After about 6 months she had has lots of feathering! I noticed that they require a little more food to make up for less fillers. They have less itching and dry skin also. Think about it- it makes sense- dogs in the wild wouldn't eat the tops off of a wheat stalk! But they do eat fish, meat and and greens. Reasonably priced for comparable grain- free products.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pure Balance Kibbles a different color
8/31/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the second time I've finished one bag and opened a new one and the kibbles are a different color. I contact Ainsworth (who makes the food for Walmart) the first time and they were very responsive and said they would check into it and now the second time it happened I contacted Ainsworth and Walmart. Ainsworth never responded and Walmart told me to contact Pure Balance? Not sure why if they are using the same recipe the kibbles would be different colored and I need to be sure they are using the same ingredients because I have a dog with epilepsy and she can't have food with things like rosemary extract.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My dogs love it
7/12/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My dogs love this food, and I love giving them something that is better for them. Grain free. High protein. My dogs are in better digestive health.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great dog food
1/22/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have three dogs ranging from a 2 year old weighing 10 pounds to a 9 year old weighing 90 lbs. Pure Balance is the only food I give them, any of the grain free flavors. I have seen a huge difference since I switched 2 years ago and it's all my baby has ever eaten.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Salmon Pure Balance
6/20/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Our dog tends to have flaky skin. The salmon-based food takes care of it and she loves it
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My Cocker Spaniel gives it 5 paws
9/1/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I started on grain free when my little girl was getting a rash over her body. It is more expensive but she needs less to maintain a healthy weight and no more rash. She seems to like it but this dog would eat anything and everything if I let her. I live in a small town, 25 miles to Walmart, ShippingPass is terrific for these things I can't get locally.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pit Bull Loves This Food!
10/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I switched my 9-year-old pit bull to this food after not doing very well with Science Diet. She has itchy skin and a problem with allergies and so I thought it would be a good idea to try out a grain-free food before I take more expensive measures that the vet suggested as a last resort. I wanted to put her on Blue Buffalo or Halo but can't really afford a food that expensive right now. I saw this food at my local store and the ingredients were surprisingly good, almost as good as the premium brands and way better than any of the other options, especially at such a low price. After making the switch, my dog's fur and skin are much improved and her itching and obsessive paw licking have stopped. She absolutely loves this food and can't get enough. It has a strong salmon smell, and when I feed her I usually add a little warm water to it and she just gobbles it up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (120)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Ever!
6/9/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I've spent the past 3 months trying to find the perfect meal replacement for my very picky Lab-Pitt called Buster. And this by far has been his best take to any of the options I gave him. I started worrying when he started losing fur a lot and his appetite dwindled. I was trying to be cheap and so I bought him Bits and Kibbles and some random brand Walmart had at the time. He ate it only when he was extremely hungry and sometimes he would just spill the food around. But today I was so happy to see him go through two bowls of this brand like he just came from a desert mission! Hahaha... I'm the happiest person in the world right now and I just had to share this experience with everyone! Wow! Thanks Pure Balance and Walmart for giving us something so good at an incredible value!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dogs love it!
10/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Our Husky mix had two ear infections in a row that required him to be put under anesthesia while his ears were cleaned and drained. It was so bad that there was blood and pus coming from them! The first time (not as bad) the Vet thought maybe something had gotten in his ear. The second time we were told that it was most likely an allergy and to switch his food immediately to a grain free food. We have been on this food for over two years now and he has not had any problems with his ears or his paws since! Not only have his allergies cleared up, my pit bull has also become much less itchy. She has very sensitive skin and this food has been great for both my dogs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (78)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Yummy
9/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This stuff is delish.. snack on it all day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent healthy food and competitive pricing
10/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My dog loves the food so much even on the first time I introduced it to him. I let him try this PB salmon food in a small bowl first. Then, put 2 type of food into 2 bowls. I then placed in front of him the other brand food first (to see if he reached out to the first bowl before anything else) and then placed PB salmon bowl down. He sniffed the first bowl and went back immediately to the PB salmon bowl and cleaned it in seconds. Oh, I love it seeing him eating happily and made choice right in front of my eyes. Test it yourself!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful Grain Free Dog Food
9/15/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I only want my dogs eating grain free food and Pure Balance Dog Food meets this requirement. I have tried a number of top grain free foods for my dogs, and after a short time they don't want it anymore. Since I have been feeding Pure Balance, I have no problems with my dogs eating their meals. I also mix the wet Pure Balance with the dry food because my dogs like that best. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not premium, but the best Walmart can give you.
12/2/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had a lot of experience with many different dog foods and have done a lot of personal research on foods, after one of my dogs was discovered to have a multitude of allergies. I've learned a great deal about canine nutrition. That said, my daughter was looking for an affordable dog food that would be the best quality she could get. After much research, I've concluded that this one is the best that you can buy at Walmart. Even dogfoodadvisor dot com says it is an "above average" dog food, which isn't a statement they offer lightly. My own dogs eat Wellness Core Ocean Formula, but if I couldn't afford that (it is very expensive), I would let them eat this. The only thing that it needs is a little more fat for the coat. Not much, just a small bit. I found that a tiny amount of coconut oil as a supplement works perfectly. Their coats (my daughter's dogs) almost look as good as my dogs do, who are on the expensive food. Trust me, I wouldn't feed my dogs the expensive stuff if I didn't have to. It's just the allergy thing. It's not a perfect dog food, none of them are, but this is the best you can buy at a reasonable price, and at Walmart. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (74)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LOVE this food!
5/2/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My dog is 4 years old, shes always been very slender. This is the only food I have found that has put some healthy weight on her without overfeeding. She's also a finicky eater but there's something about this particular flavor that she goes nuts over. I VERY highly recommend this food to others struggling to find something their dog likes...or anyone for that matter! Stools are larger and more frequent but her coat looks amazing. I hope this helps someone else looking for a new brand.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome
9/16/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My 5 Japanese Chins are very picky. I have tried all types of dog food and threw out more than my share. They actually like it. Not so much the other flavors but like this Salmon and pea recipe.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good food
9/19/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My Lab LOVES it!
11/8/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My dog is allergic to just about everything: chicken, soy, grains, dairy EVERYTHING. This food is great he doesn't get itchy, he doesn't get hot, and he actually wants to eat this food. I just wish it was available online as I live in rural Nevada and have to drive 2 hours to get to a Walmart that sells it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Need a 35- 40lb bag please.
1/10/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'd recommend this dog food. My dogs love it and it does not upset their stomachs. Just wish it came in a 35-40lb. bag for $40 or under.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641759, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-