Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 88 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

88 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

88 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
76
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 88 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
Wish I had found this earlier.
4/17/2017

Customer review by Gerry

5.0 stars 4/17/2017 by Gerry
by Gerry

I recently switched my two medium size dogs to Pure Balance grain free Salmon & Pea dry dog food. I wish I had found this much earlier! Both of my girls love this stuff! I had been reluctant to switch to a grain free formula because they were so expensive. WalMart was able to deliver this grain free product at a price that was reasonable, so I tried it. I'm impressed. They love it and it loves them. Their coats are shinier and they shed less. Their poop has tightened up and is less runny. Their allergies have improved. They are more active, even at 9 years old. They have slimmed down and look really great. I have always tried to feed them according to package directions, but even at less than suggested amounts the non-grain free foods seemed to make them fatter. Thank you WalMart for supplying a good grain free dog food at a sane price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gerry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful coats and happy dogs!
5/5/2017

Customer review by GrainfreeDogs

5.0 stars 5/5/2017 by GrainfreeDogs
by GrainfreeDogs

My two dogs have been on this grain-free dog food for about 3 years. My golden retriever used to have thin hair with very few feathers on her legs. After about 6 months she had has lots of feathering! I noticed that they require a little more food to make up for less fillers. They have less itching and dry skin also. Think about it- it makes sense- dogs in the wild wouldn't eat the tops off of a wheat stalk! But they do eat fish, meat and and greens. Reasonably priced for comparable grain- free products.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrainfreeDogs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My dogs love it
7/12/2016

Customer review by LovethisFood

5.0 stars 7/12/2016 by LovethisFood
by LovethisFood
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My dogs love this food, and I love giving them something that is better for them. Grain free. High protein. My dogs are in better digestive health.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovethisFood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great dog food
1/22/2017

Customer review by Jami

5.0 stars 1/22/2017 by Jami
by Jami
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have three dogs ranging from a 2 year old weighing 10 pounds to a 9 year old weighing 90 lbs. Pure Balance is the only food I give them, any of the grain free flavors. I have seen a huge difference since I switched 2 years ago and it's all my baby has ever eaten.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Salmon Pure Balance
6/20/2016

Customer review by Mesvjs

5.0 stars 6/20/2016 by Mesvjs
by Mesvjs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our dog tends to have flaky skin. The salmon-based food takes care of it and she loves it

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mesvjs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Cocker Spaniel gives it 5 paws
9/1/2016

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 9/1/2016 by Bill
by Bill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I started on grain free when my little girl was getting a rash over her body. It is more expensive but she needs less to maintain a healthy weight and no more rash. She seems to like it but this dog would eat anything and everything if I let her. I live in a small town, 25 miles to Walmart, ShippingPass is terrific for these things I can't get locally.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pit Bull Loves This Food!
10/10/2013

Customer review by Bren223

5.0 stars 10/10/2013 by Bren223
by Bren223

I switched my 9-year-old pit bull to this food after not doing very well with Science Diet. She has itchy skin and a problem with allergies and so I thought it would be a good idea to try out a grain-free food before I take more expensive measures that the vet suggested as a last resort. I wanted to put her on Blue Buffalo or Halo but can't really afford a food that expensive right now. I saw this food at my local store and the ingredients were surprisingly good, almost as good as the premium brands and way better than any of the other options, especially at such a low price. After making the switch, my dog's fur and skin are much improved and her itching and obsessive paw licking have stopped. She absolutely loves this food and can't get enough. It has a strong salmon smell, and when I feed her I usually add a little warm water to it and she just gobbles it up.

Was this review helpful? (113) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bren223
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Allergic Dog
3/14/2017

Customer review by mmmtam

4.0 stars 3/14/2017 by mmmtam
by mmmtam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our dog was constantly gnawing at her hind end and extremely gassy. The vet said she was most likely allergic to something in her food and suggested many expensive brands. At first we decided we itch sometimes and eat generic food, why can't she. But after researching numerous "better" dog foods I found Pure Balance. It's affordable, my pooch doesn't itch anymore and the gas is extremely better. I gave it four stars only because the food itself smells awful and Abby then has bad breath.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mmmtam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Picky eaters love this dog food!
3/9/2017

Customer review by Mary

5.0 stars 3/9/2017 by Mary
by Mary
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The price is reasonable. My dogs love it and their coats are so healthy. It is delivered right to my door. What more could one want?

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect dog food
2/23/2017

Customer review by Vickik

5.0 stars 2/23/2017 by Vickik
by Vickik
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect food for dog with allergies. Much lower price then main stream brands.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vickik
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dogs love it!
10/10/2013

Customer review by KCormier

5.0 stars 10/10/2013 by KCormier
by KCormier

Our Husky mix had two ear infections in a row that required him to be put under anesthesia while his ears were cleaned and drained. It was so bad that there was blood and pus coming from them! The first time (not as bad) the Vet thought maybe something had gotten in his ear. The second time we were told that it was most likely an allergy and to switch his food immediately to a grain free food. We have been on this food for over two years now and he has not had any problems with his ears or his paws since! Not only have his allergies cleared up, my pit bull has also become much less itchy. She has very sensitive skin and this food has been great for both my dogs.

Was this review helpful? (69) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KCormier
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Not premium, but the best Walmart can give you.
12/2/2013

Customer review by magnoliasouth

4.0 stars 12/2/2013 by magnoliasouth
by magnoliasouth

I have had a lot of experience with many different dog foods and have done a lot of personal research on foods, after one of my dogs was discovered to have a multitude of allergies. I've learned a great deal about canine nutrition. That said, my daughter was looking for an affordable dog food that would be the best quality she could get. After much research, I've concluded that this one is the best that you can buy at Walmart. Even dogfoodadvisor dot com says it is an "above average" dog food, which isn't a statement they offer lightly. My own dogs eat Wellness Core Ocean Formula, but if I couldn't afford that (it is very expensive), I would let them eat this. The only thing that it needs is a little more fat for the coat. Not much, just a small bit. I found that a tiny amount of coconut oil as a supplement works perfectly. Their coats (my daughter's dogs) almost look as good as my dogs do, who are on the expensive food. Trust me, I wouldn't feed my dogs the expensive stuff if I didn't have to. It's just the allergy thing. It's not a perfect dog food, none of them are, but this is the best you can buy at a reasonable price, and at Walmart. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (67) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
magnoliasouth
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Excellent healthy food and competitive pricing
10/16/2013

Customer review by Drvery

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by Drvery
by Drvery

My dog loves the food so much even on the first time I introduced it to him. I let him try this PB salmon food in a small bowl first. Then, put 2 type of food into 2 bowls. I then placed in front of him the other brand food first (to see if he reached out to the first bowl before anything else) and then placed PB salmon bowl down. He sniffed the first bowl and went back immediately to the PB salmon bowl and cleaned it in seconds. Oh, I love it seeing him eating happily and made choice right in front of my eyes. Test it yourself!

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drvery
Princeton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
My Lab LOVES it!
11/8/2013

Customer review by NitrosMom

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by NitrosMom
by NitrosMom

My dog is allergic to just about everything: chicken, soy, grains, dairy EVERYTHING. This food is great he doesn't get itchy, he doesn't get hot, and he actually wants to eat this food. I just wish it was available online as I live in rural Nevada and have to drive 2 hours to get to a Walmart that sells it.

Was this review helpful? (44) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NitrosMom
Beatty, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
LOVE this food!
5/2/2017

Customer review by Ctiger567

5.0 stars 5/2/2017 by Ctiger567
by Ctiger567

My dog is 4 years old, shes always been very slender. This is the only food I have found that has put some healthy weight on her without overfeeding. She's also a finicky eater but there's something about this particular flavor that she goes nuts over. I VERY highly recommend this food to others struggling to find something their dog likes...or anyone for that matter! Stools are larger and more frequent but her coat looks amazing. I hope this helps someone else looking for a new brand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ctiger567
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT dog food
2/11/2016

Customer review by HappyFurBabyMommy

5.0 stars 2/11/2016 by HappyFurBabyMommy
by HappyFurBabyMommy

We switched to Pure Balance because our dog had recently become very picky at eating her normal dog food that she had been on for about 5 months. She would basically starve before eating it, and once she did, she would become very itchy, constantly scratching herself and also biting her paws. When I researched that her symptoms are very common with gluten/grain allergies, I decided to switch to Pure Balance. It was affordable, and the Salmon and Pea flavor was good for sensitive tummies. Sure glad I did! My dog is now excited to eat every morning and evening and doesn't have any odd side effects. I just wish that the Salmon and Pea flavor came in a larger, 30lb. bag. Coupons wouldn't hurt either! :)

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyFurBabyMommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Yes!
12/24/2016

Customer review by calmsw99

5.0 stars 12/24/2016 by calmsw99
by calmsw99

Earlier this year I adopted a dog from my local animal shelter and could not understand why no one else had adopted her. It turns out she had some pretty serious ongoing skin allergies, which other potential adopters may not have wanted to take on. After trying several different dog foods (some pretty expensive) I decided to try the Pure Balance brand. We have had no problems since she has been on the grain free salmon version and she loves it! I purchase the 24 pound bags and would also purchase 30 pound bags if made available in the salmon, grain free.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
calmsw99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Salmon & Pea...no grain. Excellent for the price!
1/21/2014

Customer review by Curlyqdmr

5.0 stars 1/21/2014 by Curlyqdmr
by Curlyqdmr

I have gone from buying very expensive dog food to just buying cheap dog food because of my budget. I have continued to search for an affordable dog food because I don't think all the corn and fillers are good for my dogs. I have noticed since I changed to Pure Balance that my puppy is not as hyper, my dogs don't eat as much and they don't have to go to the bathroom as much. I asked the vet about this and it seems when your dog food is more absorbable those are the results. The more protein and veggie combination is better for the dogs and more affordable with Pure Balance. I am very happy!

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Curlyqdmr
Hendersonville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Good food
3/22/2017

Customer review by Robert

5.0 stars 3/22/2017 by Robert
by Robert
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My dog was loosing hair and not doing well, but when I began using this food he cleared up and continues doing well. I started using this food last year and he continues doing well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Need a 35- 40lb bag please.
1/10/2016

Customer review by ia515

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by ia515
by ia515

I'd recommend this dog food. My dogs love it and it does not upset their stomachs. Just wish it came in a 35-40lb. bag for $40 or under.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ia515
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews