Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 70 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

70 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

70 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

52%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
12
1 stars
22
1-20 of 70 total reviews
52%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
Great vacuum for those who have pets
12/26/2013

Customer review by Shila1

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Shila1
by Shila1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this vacuum, it works great! Works great for pet hair. I tried Shark, Dyson, Bissell, Dirt Devil and a few others all claiming to be designed specifically for pet hair...they were all a big disappointment. I had actually almost given up on finding a vacuum to really work on pet hair but decided to try this last one, am I glad I did! I have an aussie and she likes to shed in the summertime, and I really hate pet hair so it was a constant battle to keep the house clean of pet hair. But no more. I am very happy! Give it a try I'm sure you will not be disappointed. I also love the attachments for stairs and the retractable cord.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shila1
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EXCELLENT VACUUM CLEANER
12/20/2013

Customer review by mikey4664

5.0 stars 12/20/2013 by mikey4664
by mikey4664

RECEIVED MY ORDER YESTERDAY. VERY EASY TO ASSEMBLE, ONLY ONE SCREW. I VACUUMED MY CARPET WITH MY OLD VAC AND THEN RE-VACUUMED WITH THIS VAC AND COULD NOT BELEIVE THE AMOUNT OF DIRT THAT CAME UP. I WOULD NOT HESATATE TO TELL ANYONE WHO IS IN THE MARKET FOR A NEW VACUUM CLEANER THAT THIS IS THE ONE THAT THEY SHOULD PURCHASE. EXCELLENT PRICE FOR A MACHINE THAT WORKS AS WELL AS THIS ONE.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mikey4664
NEW YORK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Brush Roll switch on side bad design
10/25/2015

Customer review by Rayun

2.0 stars 10/25/2015 by Rayun
by Rayun

Bought the PAWS series T model less than six months ago based on my satisfactory experience with Hoover vacuums in the past. However, the Brush Roll switch on the side for the PAWS series T model is definitely a con for bad design as this switch get stuck on the side of most bed frames. The plastic switch have already been battered and I have to literally lift the (heavy) bed frames to free up this vacuum under the bed frames, making it an incessant pain to use this vacuum. So, I do NOT use this PAWS model in the bedrooms anymore (it sucks due to its limited use); For the bedrooms, i use the old reliable vacuum that does not get stuck under the bed frames.

Comment from Kenya - 10/27/2015

Hi Rayun! We know that must be frustrating. We appreciate your feedback and will pass your comments along for consideration with future products. It sounds like you’re in need of a Hoover that has more of a low profile. Check out the WindTunnel Air. It lays completely flat to get under your beds and has a lightweight design. See it here: http://bit.ly/Lvfw41. Hope this is helpful!

Rayun
Las Vegas, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not for bare floors
12/8/2013

Customer review by BoeyB

3.0 stars 12/8/2013 by BoeyB
by BoeyB

I had purchased this vacuum 2 years ago and another as a gift soon afterwards. Unfortunately I didn't notice how poorly it picked up hair/dust off of bare floors. The exhaust just blows debris away from it. You can see it fly away! Very poorly designed and I was surprised that engineers allowed this. I tried with the roller on and off, doesn't matter and both vacuums do this. However, the long hose is great, it's light, and cleans carpets extremely well.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BoeyB
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worst vacuum and I cannot afford to replace it
10/25/2015

Customer review by ABrown

1.0 stars 10/25/2015 by ABrown
by ABrown

First of all, I have one dog and 2 cats. I need to vacuum the hair up from the carpet in the small living room only and I need the attachment to work for me also. Well, the minimal amount of hair gets snarled up everywhere inside the vacuum and I have to pick out the hair myself. I have taken the thing apart and cleaned out the hair that is supposed to go into the canister and now have stuffed into my back bedroom so I don't have look at it. I have done this numerous times checking everywhere. It still does not work and the attachment has almost no suction. I have owned hoover vacuums all my life. Now, I wish I did not have this one. All I need it to do are simple things..some hair off the carpet and for the suction to work on the attachment. Instead, I have to pick out the hair myself. I have a really bad back (disk/nerve pain) and I do not need to keep taking it apart because it is very painful. Vacuuming is painful also and I bought this because I thought it would work fine. I only use it in my small living room, everywhere else is wood flooring or tile floor. I never thought Hoover would make such a bad product, but I do now. I have no money to buy another vacuum right now either. My vacuum does not overheat but I presume that is because it does not work right and after a few minutes of vacuuming I am taking it apart every time to pick out the hair myself. Very light hair I might add. Why did Hoover make such a bad product? I need this vacuum to work and I have watched the videos and I know very well already how to clean out all the little areas. I should not need to do so, it does not work properly and I assume customer service will give me a song and dance about what I need to do to make their product work right, because of course it is something I am doing wrong. I have read alot of these reviews and I have to say I do not have anything good to share about this Hoover product.

Comment from Kenya - 10/27/2015

Hi ABrown! You shouldn’t be having any issues with the tools or suction on your T-Series P.A.W.S. We want to help. The turbo tool spins off of air pressure alone. If it is not spinning more than likely there’s a clog in your hose. Try this: remove the hose from both ends. Run a broom stick through it from one end to the other to knock out any obstructions. When using the tool be careful not to cut off air flow by laying it flat against your furniture. Hold the tool at an angle for best results. Hope this is helpful. Let us know if you still need us!

ABrown
Los Angeles County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Better than the Dyson Animal
2/15/2013

Customer review by Butch M

4.0 stars 2/15/2013 by Butch M
by Butch M

We've had ours for over 2 years now and LOVE it! We have 2 dogs and 4 cats, so we have def put it through the ringer. We normally go thru vacuums like babies go thru diapers. We bought it after our Dyson Animal died after 4 months. The Dyson didn't pick up animal hair well from the get-go, but the motor died anyway, so we brought it back. Opted for the less expensive Hoover and haven't looked back. Owners, let me give you some advice for this and ANY piece of equipment. If the instructions call for periodic maintenance, DO IT. They don't put it there cause they had excess paper laying around. This model is really easy to maintain and take apart. If you have animals, you will note white/whitish build-up, this is skin flakes and will eventually clog the wind tunnel. Take it apart from time to time and clean it, I take it our side and use a garden hose. It would have gotten 5 stars but I don't like the HEPA filter. It works like its supposed to, but to replace it, you replace the whole tray, as its glued in. Seems a waste when gaskets could have been used to sandwich it and make it seal.

Butch M
W.Spfld, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Met my ecpectations
12/15/2013

Customer review by BrownsvilleArtist

4.0 stars 12/15/2013 by BrownsvilleArtist
by BrownsvilleArtist
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wanted a lightweight vacuum that would work on hardwood, tile and carpet and this seems to fill my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrownsvilleArtist
brownsville, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
like my new vacuum!!!
1/26/2014

Customer review by fostermom2

5.0 stars 1/26/2014 by fostermom2
by fostermom2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my first upright vacuum cleaner, I have had a "Filter Queen" for 17 years. So far I really like the Hoover I just bought. It really sucks up the dirt/pet hair, etc. I have read lots of the reviews and the ones that say the vacuum only lasted a month are really bogus as I bet they didn't clean the red filter at all. After using my vacuum only 2 times I took time to take apart the filter and cleaned it. It says you don't have to do it but I had so much fine dirt in the canister I felt it warranted doing so. It doesn't weigh a ton so its easy to maneuver, easy on the wrists as I have some arthritis and that can be painful twisting your wrists to vacuum, but I didn't have any problems. Haven't used the hose attachment yet, but do like the fact it is 12 feet long...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fostermom2
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
auto shut off and clogs
10/14/2012

Customer review by Shelly

1.0 stars 10/14/2012 by Shelly
by Shelly

Bought two of these .. one for myself and one for my mom. Both vacuums clog continually. I start to vacuum and they shut off. Then I clean the filter, take apart to clear clogs. Have to wait a day b4 can ontinue to vac because won't come back on. This started right after purchase. Frustrating, tiring, and disappointing that Hoover products are made so cheaply now. My dad was in the applicance repair business and always said Hoover was the best. I've noticed with my last three Hoover purchases that they just keep getting cheaper and cheaper. I would pay a higer price if you would make a vacuum that works! This is too much work and too hard for a woman to constantly deal with. I don't have the strength to take these vacuums apart every time I use them. Very disappointed! I now have 5 Hoovers purchased in the last four years in my home and none of them work!

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 10/14/2012

Thank you for your feedback! The issue you describe can be caused by the hose being bent or crinkled. The thermo fuse will turn the unit off if air is not getting to the motor to cool it down. This is caused by a clog. Allow the unit 45-60 minutes unplugged to cool down and then check and clean. We also recommend checking the belt on your vacuum to make sure it is intact and that the brush roll and end caps are clear of any debris that could cause the brush not to spin. Empty the dirt cup, remove and clean the filter by tapping against a trash can and check unit for any clogs (lower base hose and main hose). Thank you!

Shelly
Kansas City, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Blows dirt around
8/30/2015

Customer review by Kt oregon

1.0 stars 8/30/2015 by Kt oregon
by Kt oregon

We have used this vacuum for a year and in the past two months instead of sucking up dirt it blows it around. I have cleared the filter ran a stick down the hose check for a clog and emptied the can but it still doesn't suck. Please help!

Kt oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Was great until the warranty ran out!
11/13/2014

Customer review by Trisha

2.0 stars 11/13/2014 by Trisha
by Trisha

I bought this vaccum 2.5 years ago and have had to replace parts that weren't exactly the same thing it was replacing so now if I use it on bare floors it just blows the debris to the edges of the room. It also gets clogged regardless of cleaning out before use. Then about 19 months into ownership it started over heating and shutting off. So NOW I have to wait for it too cool down (like wait 1 hour) before I can complete my vacuuming! Super frustrating. I get about 1 room done and then it turns itself off. Most of my house is carpet so this is a very time consuming task when I don't have that much time to consume by this vaccum.  I would say it's great for the 1st year but don't expect it to last. This is a great example of how companies are making products that break so you have to buy another one soon. 

Comment from John - 11/14/2014

Hi Trisha, We want to help. If your Pet Rewind shuts off like that, it's usually due to a clog. Have you tried checking your filter? You want to rinse it under warm water at least every three months and let it dry for 24 hours before putting it back in the dirt cup. we also recommend checking the main hose for clogs. Just detach the hose and run a broom handle through it. That should greatly increase the run time of your vacuum. We're sending a follow up email to make sure everything works out.

Trisha
Louisville, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Poor Design - NOT a Pet Vacuum
6/21/2014

Customer review by CPoer

1.0 stars 6/21/2014 by CPoer
by CPoer

The bagless feature is very poorly designed. The cannister is so limited by the filter, pet hair and carpet fibers simply aren't heavy enough to drop past it, so you have to unscrew the cannister every time it needs to be emptied. And it needs to be emptied frequently because it there's so little room in it. The cord in at the bottom, so you have to hold on to it the whole time to avoid running over it. The extensions are a joke. They're extremely short. And the suction hose is so tight, it's a constant struggle to vacuum small stairs, or God forbid, try to vacuum cobwebs. And I'm a strong person. I can only imagine the struggles an elderly person might have with it. The on/off button is hidden in the handle which makes it difficult for anyone with fingernails to turn it on and off. I SO wish I gone with the Dyson.

Comment from Giselle - 6/23/2014

Hi, your T-Series P.A.W.S is considered a pet vacuum due to the carbon filtration and the rubberized tools. For better use and so the cord does not get in the way when vacuuming, there is a cord clip behind the handle. There is a longer hose available here: http://bit.ly/1m8MLaB if you need one with a little more reach. As for your concerns about the power switch and the dirt cup capacity we will forward your opinion to product development team. Thanks so much!

CPoer
Anaheim, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Excellent vacuum when it worked!
1/24/2013

Customer review by Michelle in AK

2.0 stars 1/24/2013 by Michelle in AK
by Michelle in AK

We bought this about a year ago and I loved it. We are a family of 7. We have young children and pets so I really wanted a vacuum that could handle all of that. It worked fantastic up until recently. I plugged it in and it smells like burning rubber, the motor sounds like it's straining to turn and I am now not able to use it. I'm totally bummed as I recommend this to a few friends who were looking for a great vacuum without spending a months pay. I'm not sure what happened to it. It was working fine this morning. I cleaned up after arts & crafts time (I homeschool our youngest kids). It picked up mostly some sequins and kitty hair. By dinner time it went all downhill. Total bummer! A vacuum should last longer than a year before it burns out. I heard Hoovers were so fantastic and right now I'm not too impressed.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 1/24/2013

Michelle, from your description, it sounds like you may have a clog. We recommend checking and cleaning the hose and filter. Make sure your belt is intact and nothing is jammed in the brush roller end caps. Your owners manual has pictures to help you see where each of those areas are. It's available here: http://hoover.com/file/576/

Michelle in AK
Kenai, Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Belt Problem
12/22/2011

Customer review by Skip

2.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Skip
by Skip

When this vaccuum worked it was great. Picked up the dog fur like no other vaccuum we have ever had. Unfortunately, after less than 4 months, the belt broke. That was 2 months ago. We have been unable to find a new belt despite numerous attempts. One vaccuum supply store refused to take our order. Had belts on order at another vaccuum supply store but after 1 month, the belts were still on backorder and they recommended we try elsewhere. The third supplier checked with their supplier and was told they were in stock but we are now into the second week of waiting and being told the belts haven't come in yet. Could be a good vaccuum if the belt wasn't so flimsy in the first place or it could be easily replaced. Until the belt problem is rectified, I would not recommend this vaccuum.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 12/22/2011

Thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry you had difficulty finding a new belt for your vacuum. Some belts were on backorder; however, these belts are now in stock. Please call our Customer Care Department if you need help ordering a new belt. 1-800-944-9200, 8am - 7pm, M-F EST. Thank you!

Skip
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
2 years in and it has been great
1/26/2013

Customer review by kismet1113

4.0 stars 1/26/2013 by kismet1113
by kismet1113

I bought my model 2 years ago from one of the big home improvement stores. I had never had a Hoover and read they were better than the other big name department store brands. I own 3 dogs and 2 cats who produce A LOT of fur. I was wearing out other vacuums after about a year, even with constant upkeep. So far my Hoover has been great. With the upkeep, filter changes, belt replacements and regular cleaning it has been all I could ask for. It hasn't lost suction, it gets up more pet hair from the carpet then our other vacuum (not a Hoover) and has been worth every penny. My only complaint is that the little handheld pet attachment locked up on me a few months in. I've taken it apart and cleaned it but it just has never been the same. But the vacuum overall is wonderful.

kismet1113
Chambersburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality Lacking
2/13/2014

Customer review by heathermary

1.0 stars 2/13/2014 by heathermary
by heathermary

I bought this vacuum September 2012. From day one nothing but problems. The suction hose falls off the housing as I vacuum. The vacuum itself "ate" the cord within 3 days. I have to use my outdoor air compressor once a week to clean this vacuum out because it constantly clogs: (Literally everyday)Both the nozzle guard is broken as well as the cord rewind assembly. Oh yes also the "surface selector" is stuck as well. I called Hoover about the two year warranty & was told to take it in for repair but they may not cover everything. I am Very dissappointed with Hoover quality & plan to switch back to my Dyson. With three children & a pet I do not have the time nor inclination to dedicate to keeping this vacuum functioning. Definitely do not recommend!

heathermary
Grosse Ile, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
T series Wind Tunnel PAWS
2/7/2014

Customer review by country2

5.0 stars 2/7/2014 by country2
by country2

I purchased this vacuum specifically because of reviews. After putting down new berber carpet a year ago, I acquired a long haired mini aussie and a yellow lab who both shed cupfuls daily. This vacuum works very well on carpet as well as hard floor. I vacuumed with old vacuum and then immediately with this one. It picked up 3 cups just from small living room carpet. Cord is shorter than preferred however and recall pedal for the cord is on the opposite side (left) which is awkward. When dumping the canister (bagless : ) ), I always get dust back from lid. Consequently I have to clean up after cleaning. Love the Hepa filter and overall the vacuum has performed very well for the last year. Very pleased. Especially for the price.

country2
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
P.A.W.S. from Costco
10/3/2014

Customer review by Loba

5.0 stars 10/3/2014 by Loba
by Loba

I've tested three vacuums.  The Hoover Pro Windtunnel 3, the Shark Navigator Lift-Away DLX, and th Hoover PAWS Windtunnel 2.  The Hoover Pro was exceptional at cleaning and IF I had the strength to move it I would have kept it.  It has such incredible suction it exhausted me just covering 10 sq ft.    The Shark was easy to maneuver but it had very little sucking power.  I then picked up the Hoover Paws and ran a test between it and the Shark.  I chose one section of the house to sweep with the Paws, and another section to sweep using the Shark.  Then I emptied both tanks and went over the areas with the other vacuums.  The Shark picked up very little (a small ball of fur smaller than a golf ball in size.  The Hoover Paws picked up a great deal more, I'd say, larger than a softball if it were packed all together.  Yes, the Paws vacuum is noisy and the rewind cord doesn't rewind and could be a little longer but it has excellent pickup without being difficult to move (it actually glided easier than the Shark Navigator).  However if you are buying the Paws at Costco be aware that its lower price ($99) does not include all features.  It doesn't have the retractable handle for storage, and it doesn't have the light for easier visibility.  But it's the best choice for me so far.

Loba
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible issue of overheating
8/25/2013

Customer review by bwest

1.0 stars 8/25/2013 by bwest
by bwest

We were given this vacuum as a wedding present in december. It worked perfect for normal household cleaning. We actually don't have any pets, so its not used for pet clean up. About 2 months ago it started acting like junk. We can only vacuum for 5 minutes straight before it overheats and turns off. We thought it was the outlets and tried different ones in the house. It wasn't the outlet. This vacumm now only works for 5 minutes at a time then we have to leave it unplugged for about 30 minutes for it to cool down and hopefully work again. It takes hours to do a simple vacumm. My sister in law has the same exact problem with hers too. Horrible product and not worth the price even as a gift!

Comment from Ian - 8/29/2013

Hi BWest. We saw your review on our site. Your T-Series should never overheat. It sounds like you may have a clog. We put together a quick video to help you out. You can see it here: http://youtu.be/Xmmxenjb2aE Let us know if you need anything else. We're always here for you.

bwest
Beaverton, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
great deal
12/13/2013

Customer review by ASFG

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by ASFG
by ASFG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I felt that i did all the right research and this vaccum is loaded with features so much so that we frequently refer to the manual. We're pretty stoked. I was ready to spend more money and ended up not having to. Strong vaccum. Great deal! People have reviewed that its loud, who cares. Not I.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ASFG
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews