Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 182 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

182 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

182 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
138
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 181 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews
For a $20 flashlight this one is great
12/5/2013

Customer review by SurvivalSpec

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by SurvivalSpec
by SurvivalSpec

I have owned over 30 different flashlights from high end brands such as SureFire etc and this is the best bargain flashlight I have ever owned. I love that it uses AA batteries and has close to a 40 hour life. At the beginning of battery use it is extremely bright on high mode and just the right brightness on low mode. That said when the batteries run low you still get great usage out of this flashlight. My only complaint is the switch. It feels cheap but not flimsy. To access low mode you have to turn on high mode first then turn it off then on again for low mode. I wish this flashlight had a rubber or plastic end cover so it wouldn't roll when you set it down. I also recommend the smallerOzark Trail CREE LED flashlights as well. For such a low price this is a great deal. To end this review I have to say I really like the aluminum body of the flashlight because it feels high quality not cheap at all. I am really pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (34) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SurvivalSpec
Crestview, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very bright and has a good switch fucntion.
1/12/2014

Customer review by gpHunter

4.0 stars 1/12/2014 by gpHunter
by gpHunter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this for $20 on line and it is a good value. The switch function is bright-dim-off and repeat. The 'dim' is listed at 100 lumens for 38 hours and bright enough for most uses. I mark it down for durability because it uses 6 AA batteries. That is a lot of batteries that will eventually leak if you leave alkaline batteries in it. This is a generic problem with most flashlights but this one will be especially difficult to remove a swollen battery from the internal plastic battery guide. I put rechargeable NIMH batteries in mine and it is working well on these. I never have had these leak and become jammed in a flashlight. The modern NIMH have a low discharge rate an will still hold a charge after many months. Look for 2500-3000 milliamp hour cells and not the cheaper ones that have half the capacity. This is a much better solution than the typical rechargeable flashlight with a custom battery because they are easy to replace or carry spares that can be used in other devices.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gpHunter
St. Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
All the Cops Will Want This
1/15/2014

Customer review by RSBamBam

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by RSBamBam
by RSBamBam

I picked up this little beast, er, gem, at Walmart as a Christmas gift for my dad. I'd never heard of the Ozark Trail brand, but was attracted by the 500 lumen output. My little no-name penlight puts out around 7 lumens and helps me find my way around the trunk, so I figured how far wrong could I go with 500 lumens? Bought it, Mom quickly put it in her own glovebox because this thing is small as one with two or three "D" cells, but as bright as a car headlight. Or at least it seems that way to me. When I flashed it around their two-acre yard at night to test it out, I became concerned that I would disturb the neighbors 100 yards away. I'm definitely buying one of these for myself. We haven't owned it long enough to comment on durability, but the aluminum case can't hurt. It is by far the brightest flashlight I have ever seen. When they find out about it, all the cops will want one.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RSBamBam
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent light, particularly at this price!
2/4/2014

Customer review by smalltowncop1964

5.0 stars 2/4/2014 by smalltowncop1964
by smalltowncop1964

I am the chief administrator for a small police agency in Texas. About 18 months ago, I set about finding the brightest flashlight for our night officers. We purchased (5) 500 lumen rechargeable lights for about $170 each from a well known law enforcement supplier. And they are great lights. But this light, I bought a week ago, is just as bright. And at $140 cheaper, and well, that buys a heck of a lot of AA's! I know Walmart says 7.5 hours on high, but the packaging of the light said 38.5 hours burn time on high and 102 hours on low. This is now the new duty light for the rest of our department. and the commenter asking for a battery meter built in, even the best law enforcement/FD lights don't have that. I plan to buy more for neighbors/family/friends when I can find them in stock.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smalltowncop1964
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Flashlight
12/16/2013

Customer review by GGinCC

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by GGinCC
by GGinCC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had already purchased the Ozark 200 Lumens flashlight and when I saw the 500 was going to be on sale on Black Friday, I was ready. I bought 10 of them for friends and family and we were not disappointed. This flashlight lights up the entire backyard. I actually found it is too bright for close up work such as putting screws in eyeglasses, however, I'm certainly not complaining. This flashlight is my truck flashlight and gets knocked around, dropped and still works perfectly. It works great for finding addresses on houses, checking out things on the roof in the dark and spotting critters far off. We live and work by the beach and it is best flashlight I have found for all types of uses at the beach. I highly recommend this flashlight.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GGinCC
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome value solid product
11/13/2013

Customer review by Survivorman50

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by Survivorman50
by Survivorman50
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Being an avid camper, backpacker and outdoorsman I am familiar with a lot of products and normally overlook Ozark Trail as they tend to be low end for my needs. I picked up this flashlight for family camping and have to say it is an awesome piece of equipment for the price. My wife actully bought the 200 which is 2 inches shorter just a hair lighter but the battery life on this is what attracted me. A bit big for backpacking but great for the reason I bought it!

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Survivorman50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I liked them so much I couldn't buy just 1
12/28/2013

Customer review by TelevisionRepairGuy

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by TelevisionRepairGuy
by TelevisionRepairGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased my first one just curious what a 500 lumen led could do. I was surprised at the distance and clarity the light was able to reach. I was looking for my pet in the fog and the light reached out a full residential block and found my dog in the otherwise dark area. I had to be careful not to shine the light directly into a neighbors window it was so bright. I purchased 3 others as stocking stuffers and they were very popular. I always put vaseline coating on the batteries ends to prevent corroding that happens so common in flashlights before I learned that trick.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TelevisionRepairGuy
Temple Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great light
6/2/2014

Customer review by Milo3

5.0 stars 6/2/2014 by Milo3
by Milo3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I dont give good reviews often but this product amazed me . The high beam is so bright with white light, the range is incredible. At least 200 yards and still going. The feel of it reeks with quality and strength. The fact that it has two settings , high and low is a very good thing. When you are close to the target , you need to lower the light level. It stuns the cotton tails in my yard to a hypnotic state... I would give this flash light 10 stars if it were possible.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Milo3
Fort Collins Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Review of OT*500L
10/17/2014

Customer review by JollyD

1.0 stars 10/17/2014 by JollyD
by JollyD

Bought it approx 7 months ago, and kept it in my car with the expectation that I never will need to use it but if i do, at least i have it in there. Used it for other household stuff only about 3 - 4 times. I was happy with the amount of light it throws and also the brightness. Just after 4 or 5 uses, the rubber button on the flashlight today stopped working. I could hear no click sound when pressing or depressing the button, rendering this flash-lite useless. Even though I purchased it only for 25.00 USD I decided just to call CSR of Ozarktrail not really expecting much and to report the issue and the answer was they couldn't do anything about it. I do regret that I went for some cheap flashlite and should have rather spend extra greenbacks on reliable brand like maglite. Giving it just one star due to the unreliable durability factor.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JollyD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hard to beat for the price
12/18/2013

Customer review by BowtechGuy

3.0 stars 12/18/2013 by BowtechGuy
by BowtechGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this mainly out of curiosity and, for the price, it's a pretty good value. I'll use it mainly while camping so I'm sure the kids will love it. It's bright, that's for sure, but we'll see how durable it is. I took it to work with me one night and after about five minutes in 20° weather it wouldn't turn back on. After it sat in my truck for a little while it started to work again. Again, for the price, it's not bad depending on what you're planning on using it for

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BowtechGuy
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
True 500 lomens
6/2/2014

Customer review by Sandiego99

4.0 stars 6/2/2014 by Sandiego99
by Sandiego99
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It appears to be a true 500 lumens using comparisons to other flashlights. Good and sturdy, a bargain too.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandiego99
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Model 20047
11/17/2013

Customer review by LexLuthorSmallville

4.0 stars 11/17/2013 by LexLuthorSmallville
by LexLuthorSmallville

I found out that Ozark Trail Outdoor Equipment is an in house Walmart branded item. Manufacturing (as stated on the box) Is often done outside of the country. Although, I do not personally know the blogger who posted this link, (see web-site link below) I would be interested to know If anyone else has tested the flashlight so as to see If anyone else experiences the same problem. Maybe it was an isolated incident - I hope so. Visit this link: (copy & paste into your browser If needed) http://gunwatch.blogspot.com/2013/11/review-ozark-trail-500-lumen-flashlight.html I'm running the flashlight through the refrigerator test right now as we speak to see if it works at lower temperatures. Visit the site I provided, you'll understand. I hope this flashlight lasts me a long time with no problems, because I really like it & it's incredibly incredibly BRIGHT!

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LexLuthorSmallville
Smallville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Light is powerful, lights up over 1000 ft away
7/4/2014

Customer review by JeffMutt

5.0 stars 7/4/2014 by JeffMutt
by JeffMutt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

good price, works well so far, have not dropped it yet. very bright on high beam, low beam is pretty bright to. Lights up woods 1000+ feet away on high beam.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JeffMutt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Flashlight
5/16/2014

Customer review by randor

5.0 stars 5/16/2014 by randor
by randor
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Finally, a flashlight that lets you see what you need to - bright light lets me see from one end of my yard to the other from the safety of my door.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
randor
Ark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Definitely 500 lumens
12/15/2013

Customer review by ATHikerVA

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by ATHikerVA
by ATHikerVA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great light for the bucks! Out shines my Terralux 300. Uses AA batteries so you can use rechargables.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ATHikerVA
SW VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OT-500L flash light - SUPER BRIGHT 1 pound
11/30/2013

Customer review by Orgonite33

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Orgonite33
by Orgonite33

this is a super bright flash light bright enough to light the entire football field heavy enough to protect yourself or to run over or drop it it looks water proof with 2 o rings inside might wanna change to rechargeable batteries though i would recommend this to any police or fire dept for $20 you can not beat this even if it was made in china :) it is tough as nails if i had money i would buy 20 of them for all my friends this will replace a mag-lite 100% the light is yellowish though compared to some of my other WHITE beam led flashlights but its super bright you can see the beam at night pointed in the sky if your going to pay $30 for this, goto ebay & buy one that comes with a re charger plug in i bought over 20 from ebay, not the same brand... but the brightness is similar i also love my white light vs this one has a yellowish tint but for $20 on black friday, it was a steal its gonna go in my car for those days when i need to light up the sky i own 6 of these for $10 this would be a better deal, pure white light, zoom included, strobe, sos http://www.amazon.com/CREE-Rechargeable-Flashlight-lumens-switch/dp/B004VPDTOO but the quality might be cheaper i can see dropping this OZARK 500L off a 3 story roof onto concrete & it still working... have not tried it but i could see it... it is heavy duty

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Orgonite33
MOON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding !! Light & Value !!
12/21/2013

Customer review by EaglesEyeUSA

5.0 stars 12/21/2013 by EaglesEyeUSA
by EaglesEyeUSA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been looking at flashlights for over a month. Saw this one on Black Friday. Liked the stats, so what the heck, bought one. Could always return it if not happy. But, WOW, just unbeliveable for the bucks & just unbeleiveable quality and effectiveness. I just love this light. I just bought 2 more as gifts. Just can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EaglesEyeUSA
Covina, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I got it while it was on sale!
8/7/2014

Customer review by AZDave82

5.0 stars 8/7/2014 by AZDave82
by AZDave82
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First off i will say that I paid just under 11 bucks for this flash light when it was on sale and because of that I couldn't be happier! Just took it on my family camping trip and used it 5 nights in a row and the light is still going strong off the batteries provided. Light it gives off is extremely powerful but it also has a lower setting so you can turn it down when you do not need all that light. The flash light itself feels very solid and it got tossed around plenty during my trip so I am happy there as well. Like I said I got this thing for 11 bucks and recommend waiting for it to go on sale before you invest in it, if you do you will be extremely happy with your purchase!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AZDave82
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Very Well-Made Flashlight
8/30/2015

Customer review by 8mmRocket

5.0 stars 8/30/2015 by 8mmRocket
by 8mmRocket

Allow me to begin by saying that I purchased this in Phoenix, AZ. Phoenix, at least for me, is where flashlights go to die. Not this one. This one took more punishment in a year than my (now dead) Maglite took in a month. And yet it is still shining through torrential monsoons, searing heat and grueling, monstrous dust storms. It's probably out-shined its expected life-span by now, but it just keeps going. I highly and whole-heartedly recommend this to anyone and everyone from campers and fishermen to hunters, Boy Scouts (this light helped a lot during my Eagle Scout project), and more. It just needs one thing: a replaceable bulb. It'd be cheaper to replace the bulb than the entire light. As a side note, don't expect to use this as a candle like a Maglite. I've tried over and over to make it work with no success.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
8mmRocket
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Blown away
12/6/2013

Customer review by AdamBrooklyn

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by AdamBrooklyn
by AdamBrooklyn

I spend a lot of time camping, hiking, and exploring in the outdoors. There is a lot of expensive high end gear out there promising to do amazing things. I was floored when I decided to pick up this flashlight. Not only radically cheaper then most 500 lumen flashlights its seriously bright. My girlfriend and I use to keep a spot light in our trunk for those situations when you need an intense flashlight. This lights replaced that. Packing the same punch but way smaller. Its a little heavy to carry all the time but perfect for car camping or on a cabin getaway.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AdamBrooklyn
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews