Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 235 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

235 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

235 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
120
4 stars
72
3 stars
14
2 stars
9
1 stars
20
1-20 of 232 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 232 total reviews
1-20 of 232 reviews
great laptop
11/5/2013

Customer review by tigreton

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by tigreton
by tigreton

Just bought this laptop today and can't be happier. Easy to set up, touchpad is in the center (where I like it!), cd player, hdmi, webcam included. I had recently returned a Toshiba laptop and was a little discouraged about windows 8 but this one feels great, using a mouse feels almost like windows 7, I love it so far! The color is blueish, I would have preferred black but cant complain, everything else seems just right. If you need a basic laptop for web browsing, emails, etc go get it now! this , for only 249 is a steal !

Was this review helpful? (168) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tigreton
miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Deal and Great Laptop
11/6/2013

Customer review by LadyZamzuu

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by LadyZamzuu
by LadyZamzuu

Not to crazy about windows 8. But with 320GB of space and 4gb in speed is the best deal online or anywhere. You'll find tablets that cost more. I use it for my homebase business. and it works for me. I've always been a big fan of HP laptops. It is my 4th hp laptop. and they last for a long time. My laptops, have gone swimming, thrown over a moving car, spilled coffee and amazingly they all still works perfect just lots of bumps and bruises. I'm a constant blogger and traveller. This laptop is very light weight and the battery life last for up to 5 hours. Plenty to sit at coffee shops or those long bus and plane trips. Love the size of 15.6. Not too big not to small. Perfect for photo editting and layout. Buying another jsut for the heck of it.

Was this review helpful? (279) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyZamzuu
Macon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Don't let the low price fool you.
11/13/2013

Customer review by Shiawase

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by Shiawase
by Shiawase

This laptop is faster and runs better than most of the more expensive computers I've used in my life. VERY worth the money. The only reason I gave the "Ease of Use" section a 4 is because with a non-touchscreen laptop of windows 8, the touchpad(mouse) tries to do said touchscreen gestures. All it takes is a little practice with the mouse, it took me maybe 2 days to get used to it. I love this thing to death. So if you're thinking of buying a more inexpensive laptop but don't want to give up on speed and efficiency, I'd definitely recommend this one. It's well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (145) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shiawase
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AMAZING!!
11/16/2013

Customer review by redjennphd

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by redjennphd
by redjennphd

Just bought this 2 days ago. Within 10 minutes of having it home, I was hooked up to my Wi-Fi, had my social networks and so forth on & was having a wonderful, easy time on the computer. I was able to put apps in, figured out many of the ins and outs within minutes. Easy to use, attractive, lightweight & fantastic for the beginner to computer nerd on the go. SCREEN SIZE is perfect for working on word documents to watching DVD's LIGHTWEIGHT & portable but perfect for on your lap or table use at home EASE OF USE hook up & begin working or networking within minutes! COLOR the Winter Blue is beautiful & will also stand out a bit more amongst the black laptops you find everywhere - you'll know it's yours for sure! FANTASTIC DEAL!! I not only compared all the Wal-Mart laptops online but in store (Kingston NY 12401) - side by side, the value & level of speed, ease of use & set up, is by far the easiest computer I've ever gotten as well as the best deal I saw after comparing computers for several months! After showing it to my brother, who is not a big computer user, he is also getting one! He couldn't believe the price of this laptop much less the ease of use! Within a couple hours of social networking in just a few moves of my cursor, I was chatting on SKYPE with a friend of mine in the UK & the camera/sound was of the highest quality I've ever seen on a laptop. I'm not a "gamer" at all - but I'm assuming if you're a programmer or a "gamer" you may want something more, but for every day use in word, adding programs, social networking, web surfing, photo editing, watching or burning DVD's and so forth, THIS IS THE COMPUTER FOR YOU. At this amazing price, the deal also lends itself to being able to get a second one for your student, spouse, grandkids or another for yourself If you're looking for the PERFECT Christmas/Hanukah gift, the under $300 amazing laptop is the way to go for anyone on your holiday shopping list. At this price, you can get a few. This amazing laptop is the gift that keeps on giving with it's ability to add in many of photos/videos, programs, apps, add-ons, wifi & Bluetooth capabilities and the endless possibilities, make this THE BEST BUY EVER!!!!

Was this review helpful? (72) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redjennphd
Hudson Valley, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Laptop for a 12 yr old
11/22/2013

Customer review by Alexis80018

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Alexis80018
by Alexis80018

This laptop was purchased for our 12 yr old daughter and it fits her perfectly. It has the necessary features and is a good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (50) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alexis80018
Aurora, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome!
11/14/2013

Customer review by KayMarie27

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by KayMarie27
by KayMarie27

I've had this laptop for almost exactly a year now. Still runs like a champ! Great value! Don't be fooled... Cheap is better in this case! No complaints from me for this product!

Was this review helpful? (58) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KayMarie27
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great laptop for the price
11/16/2013

Customer review by Jolynn2

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by Jolynn2
by Jolynn2

This is a great laptop from HP. I got this for my sister who labels herself "computer challenged". It is very easy to use and she was able to pick right up on Windows 8. Now that she is set up with a wireless router(her other laptop was over 10 years old and didn't have built in wireless), she takes this computer with her all over the house! She absolutely loves this laptop!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jolynn2
Cape May, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
11/8/2013

Customer review by DLPATT

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by DLPATT
by DLPATT

This computer has everything I need. It's lightweight and the screen is plenty big enough for me. I rated the 'ease of use' lower because it has the new Windows 8 and that took some time to figure out. I highly recommend this computer and the low cost Walmart extended warranty for an extra two year coverage.

Was this review helpful? (47) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DLPATT
toccoa, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good
11/15/2013

Customer review by 192906

4.0 stars 11/15/2013 by 192906
by 192906

Okay if you don't know how to use windows 8, it will drive you up the wall and back. This was a new laptop for me.. My old one was windows 7. Once you get the windows down, it's okay. Just hate all the pop ups etc.

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
192906
Knoxville,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Windows 8
11/22/2013

Customer review by budesheim

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by budesheim
by budesheim

The computer is exactly what I wanted, expected, and a great price. Windows 8 really was a challenge for me and continues. It's like learning a new language. Finding things requires a lot of patient time.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
budesheim
Wiscasset, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great excpt for Windows 8 Hate It !!!!
11/15/2013

Customer review by Manakiki

4.0 stars 11/15/2013 by Manakiki
by Manakiki

The computer is just fine but I can't say enough negitive things about Windows 8 I just hate it..

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Manakiki
Northern Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Crashed on Day 6
11/12/2013

Customer review by JC7233

1.0 stars 11/12/2013 by JC7233
by JC7233

I bought this laptop for the most basic of applications - email, internet, and music but no gaming or office applications. Unfortunately it didn't act right from day 1. It "froze" alot and then I got the blue screen of death on day 6. Not sure if it was hardware or software but I couldn't care less, it was not my problem to fix so I returned it. As I was waiting in line to return it two others ahead and me mentioned they had they same problem and returned theirs as well. Kinda disappointed but I had a feeling it was too good to be true....

Was this review helpful? (34) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JC7233
Would recommend to a friend? No
Windows 8.1 is awful so far
11/16/2013

Customer review by honukane

2.0 stars 11/16/2013 by honukane
by honukane

Everything about this laptop is great except windows 8.1. It is a major change in operator interface and is has been totally awful so far, have been thining about taking it back and seeing if I can find a laptop with windows 7. The reason for the low rating is because of the operating system, would have rated everything a excellent if it wasn't for that.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
honukane
Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This review is written by a Mac lover
11/16/2013

Customer review by shmamy

3.0 stars 11/16/2013 by shmamy
by shmamy

I am a Mac user who needed a PC with a Windows platform to do some contract work. I say this upfront to show that I was already predisposed to not love this machine. I converted to a Mac six years ago, but I still use PCs occasionally at work. So I am not totally ignorant about how they work, but I am new to Windows 8. And part of the low rating is for Windows 8, which I find awkward. Prior to this, the latest version I've been using is XP or Vista. If you're not used to this software and this is going to be your main computer, you'll probably have to spend more time getting acquainted with it than I want or need to do to understand its unique personality. (I have found, for instance, that having my right hand hovering anywhere near the laptop brings into view an alternate --and unwanted-- screen.) Before starting my work, I had to download a bunch of software and verify the versions of programs preloaded on the machine. I had a really difficult finding Windows Media Player, for instance. I cannot find it under the listing of programs from Control Panel, but apparently it is there. Why is this? Also, you cannot find the start button from the main desktop screen (I'll guess I'll have to experiment with the strange screen or screens, but I'm just not that interested.) The user manual lists four different ways to turn off the computer, two of which include the caveat "(select models only)," and mine isn't a select model. The other two require some sort of magic hand wave across the touch screen that will bring into view the necessary symbol that will allow you to turn the computer off correctly, but I don't seem to have the magic touch. Try as I might, I cannot make the symbols appear. I can only make things appear on my screen when I don't want them there or when I wasn't expecting them to appear. So the first time I shut down the computer I did so by holding down the power button, and for now I'm just leaving it on. For my purpose, which is to do Internet Explorer-based contract work, it is fine. I haven't tried to do anything else. I cannot say if this has any of the Microsoft Office Suite programs. I don't see them listed, but they could be hiding out with the Windows Media Player in their secret cave. I have, however, tried to download Word documents from email, and it says I don't have the proper software. So if you need all that, you might want to make sure you get a computer that is loaded with the software you need. The computer itself feels lighter than my MacBook Pro (14" screen), even though it has a bigger screen (15 or 15.6"?). So that's nice, but at the same time it doesn't feel really solid or durable -- a bit flimsier than I would like. But I don't expect to leave home with it or do anything other than run Internet Explorer. I've used it intensely for that during the past week that I've had it, and for that so far it's been fine.

Was this review helpful? (19) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shmamy
Durango, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great All Round Laptop
12/28/2013

Customer review by Gatoweem

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Gatoweem
by Gatoweem

Bought this unit as a replacement for a 10 year old HP Presario and it amazes us how far laptops have come in that time period. The new machine is everything promised and more with great speed and plenty of capacity disc wise for what our requirements are. My spouse is not a gamer therefore have no idea how it would operate under that type of environment but certainly this laptop is everything we need for an every day workhorse. We updated free to Windows 8.1 and the ease of working between the desktop and windows frames is ridiculously simple. E mail was easy to automatically set up and with the addition of Apache Office Suite (also free) no need to purchase Office or other expensive software. Hooked up our old hard drive using a USB enclosure and simply copied over all our files and contacts in about 15 minutes and the packet was large. Speed of this laptop is accelerated so all was a breeze. A real steal at the Black Friday price of $248!! Can't believe you can get this kind of quality for that price!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gatoweem
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great laptop for the price
11/27/2013

Customer review by wildcatsmomoftwo

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by wildcatsmomoftwo
by wildcatsmomoftwo

This laptop is a great deal for the price. I'm impressed with it's speed and memory. It is lightweight. Not the biggest fan of Windows 8, but like that I can switch to the "old" Windows home page.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wildcatsmomoftwo
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great computer for the price
12/2/2013

Customer review by sweetmaryd

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by sweetmaryd
by sweetmaryd

This is the best investment I have made this year. Took me a little while to figure out how to use it,but I love this laptop..very easy to connect accounts like messaging and social networks. I love the camera. everything about this computer is absolutely great. best of all I love windows 8 and the technology is absolutely wonderful.. HP I give you five stars for this one good job.. iam a very satisfied customer!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sweetmaryd
Decatur ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected
11/26/2013

Customer review by Leftymorgan

2.0 stars 11/26/2013 by Leftymorgan
by Leftymorgan

It runs new windows, but the keyboard and stiff and I believe my windows 7 machine ran quicker and better. It is okay, but not real happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leftymorgan
Kelley, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect Home Laptop
11/24/2013

Customer review by gemlvr

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by gemlvr
by gemlvr

I wanted a laptop for general use such as surfing the Internet, mail, games, etc. I was a little concerned to purchase a laptop with Windows 8. But it's really been fun learning the new operating system. It's actually much more efficient than Windows 7. The computer is very fast. The screen is huge and is so clear. I really love this laptop and would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gemlvr
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It works quite well and is what I expected
11/24/2013

Customer review by framblotz

4.0 stars 11/24/2013 by framblotz
by framblotz

I have used computers for quite awhile, 1967 to be precise and am glad to see MS move out of the familiar and I am enjoying the features on the new system. HP has done a good job of putting a easy to use system together.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
framblotz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 232 total reviews
1-20 of 232 reviews