Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 235 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

235 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

235 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
120
4 stars
72
3 stars
14
2 stars
9
1 stars
20
1-20 of 232 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 232 total reviews
1-20 of 232 reviews
Great All Round Laptop
12/28/2013

Customer review by Gatoweem

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Gatoweem
by Gatoweem
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this unit as a replacement for a 10 year old HP Presario and it amazes us how far laptops have come in that time period. The new machine is everything promised and more with great speed and plenty of capacity disc wise for what our requirements are. My spouse is not a gamer therefore have no idea how it would operate under that type of environment but certainly this laptop is everything we need for an every day workhorse. We updated free to Windows 8.1 and the ease of working between the desktop and windows frames is ridiculously simple. E mail was easy to automatically set up and with the addition of Apache Office Suite (also free) no need to purchase Office or other expensive software. Hooked up our old hard drive using a USB enclosure and simply copied over all our files and contacts in about 15 minutes and the packet was large. Speed of this laptop is accelerated so all was a breeze. A real steal at the Black Friday price of $248!! Can't believe you can get this kind of quality for that price!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gatoweem
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Deal and Great Laptop
11/6/2013

Customer review by LadyZamzuu

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by LadyZamzuu
by LadyZamzuu
Top 1000 contributor

Not to crazy about windows 8. But with 320GB of space and 4gb in speed is the best deal online or anywhere. You'll find tablets that cost more. I use it for my homebase business. and it works for me. I've always been a big fan of HP laptops. It is my 4th hp laptop. and they last for a long time. My laptops, have gone swimming, thrown over a moving car, spilled coffee and amazingly they all still works perfect just lots of bumps and bruises. I'm a constant blogger and traveller. This laptop is very light weight and the battery life last for up to 5 hours. Plenty to sit at coffee shops or those long bus and plane trips. Love the size of 15.6. Not too big not to small. Perfect for photo editting and layout. Buying another jsut for the heck of it.

Was this review helpful? (279) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyZamzuu
Macon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Don't let the low price fool you.
11/13/2013

Customer review by Shiawase

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by Shiawase
by Shiawase

This laptop is faster and runs better than most of the more expensive computers I've used in my life. VERY worth the money. The only reason I gave the "Ease of Use" section a 4 is because with a non-touchscreen laptop of windows 8, the touchpad(mouse) tries to do said touchscreen gestures. All it takes is a little practice with the mouse, it took me maybe 2 days to get used to it. I love this thing to death. So if you're thinking of buying a more inexpensive laptop but don't want to give up on speed and efficiency, I'd definitely recommend this one. It's well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (145) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shiawase
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great laptop
11/5/2013

Customer review by tigreton

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by tigreton
by tigreton

Just bought this laptop today and can't be happier. Easy to set up, touchpad is in the center (where I like it!), cd player, hdmi, webcam included. I had recently returned a Toshiba laptop and was a little discouraged about windows 8 but this one feels great, using a mouse feels almost like windows 7, I love it so far! The color is blueish, I would have preferred black but cant complain, everything else seems just right. If you need a basic laptop for web browsing, emails, etc go get it now! this , for only 249 is a steal !

Was this review helpful? (168) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tigreton
miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great laptop for the price
11/16/2013

Customer review by Jolynn2

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by Jolynn2
by Jolynn2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great laptop from HP. I got this for my sister who labels herself "computer challenged". It is very easy to use and she was able to pick right up on Windows 8. Now that she is set up with a wireless router(her other laptop was over 10 years old and didn't have built in wireless), she takes this computer with her all over the house! She absolutely loves this laptop!!

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jolynn2
Cape May, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AMAZING!!
11/16/2013

Customer review by redjennphd

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by redjennphd
by redjennphd

Just bought this 2 days ago. Within 10 minutes of having it home, I was hooked up to my Wi-Fi, had my social networks and so forth on & was having a wonderful, easy time on the computer. I was able to put apps in, figured out many of the ins and outs within minutes. Easy to use, attractive, lightweight & fantastic for the beginner to computer nerd on the go. SCREEN SIZE is perfect for working on word documents to watching DVD's LIGHTWEIGHT & portable but perfect for on your lap or table use at home EASE OF USE hook up & begin working or networking within minutes! COLOR the Winter Blue is beautiful & will also stand out a bit more amongst the black laptops you find everywhere - you'll know it's yours for sure! FANTASTIC DEAL!! I not only compared all the Wal-Mart laptops online but in store (Kingston NY 12401) - side by side, the value & level of speed, ease of use & set up, is by far the easiest computer I've ever gotten as well as the best deal I saw after comparing computers for several months! After showing it to my brother, who is not a big computer user, he is also getting one! He couldn't believe the price of this laptop much less the ease of use! Within a couple hours of social networking in just a few moves of my cursor, I was chatting on SKYPE with a friend of mine in the UK & the camera/sound was of the highest quality I've ever seen on a laptop. I'm not a "gamer" at all - but I'm assuming if you're a programmer or a "gamer" you may want something more, but for every day use in word, adding programs, social networking, web surfing, photo editing, watching or burning DVD's and so forth, THIS IS THE COMPUTER FOR YOU. At this amazing price, the deal also lends itself to being able to get a second one for your student, spouse, grandkids or another for yourself If you're looking for the PERFECT Christmas/Hanukah gift, the under $300 amazing laptop is the way to go for anyone on your holiday shopping list. At this price, you can get a few. This amazing laptop is the gift that keeps on giving with it's ability to add in many of photos/videos, programs, apps, add-ons, wifi & Bluetooth capabilities and the endless possibilities, make this THE BEST BUY EVER!!!!

Was this review helpful? (72) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redjennphd
Hudson Valley, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Laptop for a 12 yr old
11/22/2013

Customer review by Alexis80018

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Alexis80018
by Alexis80018
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This laptop was purchased for our 12 yr old daughter and it fits her perfectly. It has the necessary features and is a good value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (50) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alexis80018
Aurora, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Windows 8
11/22/2013

Customer review by budesheim

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by budesheim
by budesheim
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The computer is exactly what I wanted, expected, and a great price. Windows 8 really was a challenge for me and continues. It's like learning a new language. Finding things requires a lot of patient time.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
budesheim
Wiscasset, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome!
11/14/2013

Customer review by KayMarie27

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by KayMarie27
by KayMarie27

I've had this laptop for almost exactly a year now. Still runs like a champ! Great value! Don't be fooled... Cheap is better in this case! No complaints from me for this product!

Was this review helpful? (58) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KayMarie27
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good
11/15/2013

Customer review by 192906

4.0 stars 11/15/2013 by 192906
by 192906
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Okay if you don't know how to use windows 8, it will drive you up the wall and back. This was a new laptop for me.. My old one was windows 7. Once you get the windows down, it's okay. Just hate all the pop ups etc.

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
192906
Knoxville,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
11/8/2013

Customer review by DLPATT

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by DLPATT
by DLPATT

This computer has everything I need. It's lightweight and the screen is plenty big enough for me. I rated the 'ease of use' lower because it has the new Windows 8 and that took some time to figure out. I highly recommend this computer and the low cost Walmart extended warranty for an extra two year coverage.

Was this review helpful? (47) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DLPATT
toccoa, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works, but slow and cumbersome
12/21/2013

Customer review by oldbutnerdy

1.0 stars 12/21/2013 by oldbutnerdy
by oldbutnerdy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As a long time Mac user, but with much PC experience at my work, I needed a simple Windows machine for one program that doesn't have a Mac version. As a bottom of the line PC, I didn't expect much, and this PC didn't deliver much. I does work however. But, it is extremely slow. Windows 8 is bloated with many programs that clutter the interface, but provide no real functionality (there is an Office icon that only links to buying Office 365 for 90$/yr). Setup took some noodling around to turn off al the unnecessary programs. Installing a USB driver took 25 minutes with Norton warning the CPU was at 100% the whole time. The trackpad works as a selection interface, but the multi-touch is very imprecise and can not detect a 2 finger input if they are closer than 1 ½ inches. Switching between applications is slow, you are never sure if it is actually working. The effective viewing angle of the screen is about 15 degrees and always looks washed out and is very low resolution. For one simple app that I seldom use for only short time, it works. For daily use with multiple applications or viewing photos/videos, get a faster machine with more robust hardware.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldbutnerdy
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great excpt for Windows 8 Hate It !!!!
11/15/2013

Customer review by Manakiki

4.0 stars 11/15/2013 by Manakiki
by Manakiki
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The computer is just fine but I can't say enough negitive things about Windows 8 I just hate it..

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Manakiki
Northern Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great laptop. Great bargain
12/30/2013

Customer review by Mbj5

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by Mbj5
by Mbj5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought two for kids for Christmas. Wonderful bargain. Fantastic price. So easy to order. Ordered online for site to store. Got email in less than four hours that product was available for pickup. Can't beat that anywhere. Went to supercenter in Mt Sterling in wee hours of night. Thought would try to go ahead and pick up laptops even though law away center had been closed for hours. The sales associates there were so accommodating. They did not hesitate to help us out and save us a return trip. They were outstanding and with a smile on their face. I was very impressed with Will and the other lady. What great attitudes and service. The HP laptops are great. I have always been an HP customer because of the quality of their products. And this is just another example of that great product and this time from a store that is just as great. Very happy customer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mbj5
Carlisle, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great laptop for the price
11/27/2013

Customer review by wildcatsmomoftwo

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by wildcatsmomoftwo
by wildcatsmomoftwo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This laptop is a great deal for the price. I'm impressed with it's speed and memory. It is lightweight. Not the biggest fan of Windows 8, but like that I can switch to the "old" Windows home page.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wildcatsmomoftwo
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great computer for the price
12/2/2013

Customer review by sweetmaryd

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by sweetmaryd
by sweetmaryd

This is the best investment I have made this year. Took me a little while to figure out how to use it,but I love this laptop..very easy to connect accounts like messaging and social networks. I love the camera. everything about this computer is absolutely great. best of all I love windows 8 and the technology is absolutely wonderful.. HP I give you five stars for this one good job.. iam a very satisfied customer!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sweetmaryd
Decatur ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Crashed on Day 6
11/12/2013

Customer review by JC7233

1.0 stars 11/12/2013 by JC7233
by JC7233

I bought this laptop for the most basic of applications - email, internet, and music but no gaming or office applications. Unfortunately it didn't act right from day 1. It "froze" alot and then I got the blue screen of death on day 6. Not sure if it was hardware or software but I couldn't care less, it was not my problem to fix so I returned it. As I was waiting in line to return it two others ahead and me mentioned they had they same problem and returned theirs as well. Kinda disappointed but I had a feeling it was too good to be true....

Was this review helpful? (34) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JC7233
Would recommend to a friend? No
Windows 8.1 is awful so far
11/16/2013

Customer review by honukane

2.0 stars 11/16/2013 by honukane
by honukane
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Everything about this laptop is great except windows 8.1. It is a major change in operator interface and is has been totally awful so far, have been thining about taking it back and seeing if I can find a laptop with windows 7. The reason for the low rating is because of the operating system, would have rated everything a excellent if it wasn't for that.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
honukane
Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hardware good, windows 8 not
12/16/2013

Customer review by Jularro

2.0 stars 12/16/2013 by Jularro
by Jularro
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If windows 8.1 is available as a free upgrade, it should already be installed. Windows 8 is so frustrating and not at all user-friendly. I have not yet been able to upgrade the operating system because I have to download and install "other" updates before doing so, and it's not really easy to understand how to find stuff in the windows store when there is no search function. I have always used windows and preferred it to apple, but after this experience, Apple may be the better, although more expensive, choice. I was merely looking for a basic computer with a DVD drive to make basic photo CDs. This may turn out to be adequate for that purpose, but I bet my next computer will have a different operating system than anything related to this junk. Revamp, Microsoft!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jularro
East Temnessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
1/10/2014

Customer review by ItsSarahWithaH

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by ItsSarahWithaH
by ItsSarahWithaH
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this laptop for my family of five to use for surfing the web, doing homework, and playing games on. It works great. My only complaint is windows 8 takes some getting use to. Windows wouldn't install updates at first, but I googled the problem and found a fix. The nice thing about this laptop is it has a "desktop" option and it makes windows look just like the old windows, with shortcuts and a start menu. You can easily switch between the two with one click, which is good because my kids prefer the new look. You can monitor the kids usage and put restrictions on the web and downloads. Normally I don't like the touch pad and prefer to use a mouse, but this one is textured and has a totally different feel than most. The web can has a light that adjusts itself according to the lighting in the room you are in. My kids play minecraft on it and it is not slow at all. I have even streamed a few movies and it worked perfectly. I can lugged it into my TV with the HDMI output and watched the movie on there, very handy. It charges quickly and the battery lasts a long time. All in all, we are very happy with this laptop and recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ItsSarahWithaH
Brockton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 232 total reviews
1-20 of 232 reviews