Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 44 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
Probably a Good Product but Walmart Online <par
1/1/2014

Customer review by roseville95661

3.0 stars 1/1/2014 by roseville95661
by roseville95661
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The use of the device is very user-friendly so is the installation. I was able to backup files in just a few minutes. Based on experience with other portable drive, the product needs to be reviewed at least after a few months or a year to get an idea of longevity. I bought the device online which gave me an option to pickup at a nearby store the same day. I went to the store but the store folks said the order was not ready yet. I walked to the electronics section, same item was in stock, picked it up. Requested for cancellation of online order and I am yet to get the credit back. This may be a one-in-million case but in the past I have always been very happy with online purchase and in-store pickup service offered by Walmart

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
roseville95661
Roseville, CA 95661
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not usable
4/22/2014

Customer review by etendeder

1.0 stars 4/22/2014 by etendeder
by etendeder

I recently needed to switch from Windows XP to Windows 7. I bought this external hard drive to back up my photos and documents. I went to retrieve the files from the "retrieved contents folder" in documents on my new Windows 7 computer after I had saved them to the WD Passport Ultra. It keeps telling me that I "don't have the correct permissions to access the file location". I went to WD's support website and they give you a fairly long series of instructions on how to change your permission to access your files. I tried it and it did not work. Why do I need permission to access files that were mine in the first place? Here is my advice: If you are changing computers, just use a jump drive/ usb drive to save your pictures and documents. Use of this device is not at all intuitive and quite convoluted. For me it was totally useless and a waste of money because I was not able to retrieve any of the files that I had backed up to it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
etendeder
Would recommend to a friend? No
Freat product
6/17/2016

Customer review by PamWB

5.0 stars 6/17/2016 by PamWB
by PamWB
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very positive experience with a great product, Does everything I want it to with lots of room for more and quick delivery!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PamWB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WD Passport Takes the Worry Out of PC Backup
2/17/2014

Customer review by Habladora

5.0 stars 2/17/2014 by Habladora
by Habladora
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We all know the importance and value of backing up all files on our PCs. But it is such a pain. Now my WD Passport automatically backs up single thing I have on my computer - pictures, documents, QuickBook files, art work, brochures, emails - anything! I save locally, not in the cloud, because there are times I can't get on the Internet. It's so labor-free once the passport is set up.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Habladora
Uvalde, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Great
7/11/2014

Customer review by murryloveswalmart

5.0 stars 7/11/2014 by murryloveswalmart
by murryloveswalmart

I bought a My Passport about 5 years ago and I have never has a problem with it. Love it so much I am now buying one for my Church, only a 1TB for less than what I paid for mine 5 years ago. Perfect.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
murryloveswalmart
Orangeburg, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Good quality at best price
4/29/2014

Customer review by dhgia

5.0 stars 4/29/2014 by dhgia
by dhgia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for an external HDD that is reasonable and of good quality. This WD HDD is fine to me with enough feature for a student. Good product!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dhgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WD Passport portable drive easy to set up and use
5/3/2014

Customer review by 1621Lancaster

4.0 stars 5/3/2014 by 1621Lancaster
by 1621Lancaster
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The drive sets up very easily and you can back up your computer within minutes. Incremental backups are also just as easy as plugging the unit in when you want to save data. Easy for someone with little or no experience.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1621Lancaster
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Seems to Have Compatibility Issues with Windows 7
7/27/2014

Customer review by DocZ78

1.0 stars 7/27/2014 by DocZ78
by DocZ78
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

In short, I haven't been able to get this unit to work. I attempted to use it with my work computer, but I believe my company's encryption program is not a good match for the Passport. I also attempted to get it to work with my wife's Apple work computer, but was again unsuccessful. One first attempt with our home computer (no encryption), it was superb. Just like I expected. But on the second attempt, it hung, just as with the other computers. So I'm 0 / 3 in attempts so far. I am hoping WD has great tech support and that I can still salvage the unit to use with something. Jury's out at this point, though.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DocZ78
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Portable Drive
12/3/2013

Customer review by BLUTHUNDER

4.0 stars 12/3/2013 by BLUTHUNDER
by BLUTHUNDER
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had many Passport Drives before and have found them to be nice to have around. The only problem that I had with this purchase was the "Ship to Store". I am thinking that it took a week and a half to get it and it went to the wrong store. Second time I have used it and it just doesn't work. I ordered another 3tb drive from a Florida based company and got Free Shipping in 3 work days. What does that tell you.......?

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BLUTHUNDER
NORMAN, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Totally user unfriendly software
10/13/2014

Customer review by sdfsafasfasd

2.0 stars 10/13/2014 by sdfsafasfasd
by sdfsafasfasd

Strictely technically, it works fine, but the software that suposedly help one to do back-ups is completely user unfriendly. I'm relatively good with computers, and I've never seen a software that is so bad. I spent a lot of time to try to figure out what and how to manage it, but it's just impossible (and again, I'm good with computers). Not only is it difficult to understand the configuration of the back-ups, but also when one does the back-up, the program shows that it's being done, but when looking for the back-up, it's not there, nor does it show where it is being backed-up. Also, the software allow you to make weekly back-ups at certain time ( like 2.00 pm, every Monday), but if you don't have it conected with the cable, it don't remind you, nor does it do the back-up automatically when you hook it up (it should, since the last back-up time was "Missed", but it doesn't. The cable used to conect it to the computer, is not a "normal' USB cable, so if you loose it ( or don't remember where you left it), there is no way for you to get to your backed-up files. I bought it while I was travelling, so I'm not sure if I can return it anymore, but I'll buy a different one, because this one is terrible. Every time I try to use it, it's a frustration, and I'm afraid that I won't be able to recover my backed up files. I used serveral other brands, and not problem, so I reccomend you buy another brand.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sdfsafasfasd
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great portable storage
8/16/2014

Customer review by redbeard970

5.0 stars 8/16/2014 by redbeard970
by redbeard970
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Little drive is fast and doesn't need a separate power supply. We have a few external power supplies and this one is the most convenient.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redbeard970
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product bad process
4/4/2016

Customer review by InTX

3.0 stars 4/4/2016 by InTX
by InTX

I like the WD drive but Walmart should copy Amazon and give user the flexibility to edit order. I wanted to send to Walmart store but pressed buy too soon. The Walmart system is bad in that unable to change after submission. This is 2016.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InTX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sorry I bought this
1/13/2014

Customer review by MerchantMariner

1.0 stars 1/13/2014 by MerchantMariner
by MerchantMariner

I used this as my main drive as it is easier when when doing the back and forth between home desktop and laptop. I treated this like a baby, didnt bounce it around or jostle it. Less than a year and not even a third full it decided to stop working. A data recovery place wants to charge me $500 to $1600 to recover the data and give me a new drive!! Now I am out my data and have to start all over again. Dont walk but RUN away from this HD. I found that they seem to have had a lot of problems with fried circuit boards and such. I truly wish I had never bought this thing.

Was this review helpful? (12) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MerchantMariner
Kaufman, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wow!!!
5/13/2015

Customer review by BorisFromBarnegat

5.0 stars 5/13/2015 by BorisFromBarnegat
by BorisFromBarnegat

What a great tool. Small and compact, yet 1 TB of space. It only gets a slightly warm and you can hear the drive turning inside if you listen closely. I've used it as an extra back-up in case my normal external drive craps out. Also, I can put it in my pocket and bring it to swap stuff with someone else. No complaints.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BorisFromBarnegat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use
6/3/2015

Customer review by PastorZeb

5.0 stars 6/3/2015 by PastorZeb
by PastorZeb

Very little learning curve required to get backup started. Would like a more advanced interface to select files to back up, but it's adequate for my wife's use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PastorZeb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does what it's intended for
7/8/2014

Customer review by RonG1952

5.0 stars 7/8/2014 by RonG1952
by RonG1952
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

I use this drive as a backup and also as a portable when transporting data with me. Small lightweight have a couple of them.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RonG1952
New York area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Portable Drive
5/21/2014

Customer review by robo1957

5.0 stars 5/21/2014 by robo1957
by robo1957
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wish I found this a few years ago. Small and compact.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
robo1957
Coventry RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
powerful for being so small
9/16/2015

Customer review by GaGirlie

4.0 stars 9/16/2015 by GaGirlie
by GaGirlie
Top 100 contributor

Was surprised at compact size, but once connected to USB, it noted that software update available. I did. Then walked myself through the steps to install fully. From my admitted ignorance, on first time flying this little machine, everything seemed to have gone very smoothly in back-up. I chose category which indicated files, music, pictures etc. My Windows 7 machine system cooperated and the back-up didn't take very long. I went online to read the manual which was not included in written form. My interest was in retrieval. I believe I shall be able to do. Also of interest, I read that more than one drive can be backed up which makes me think I can use it on two computers operating from Windows 7. To see. Silly me. I honestly thought when I first saw this product it offered a carrying case. Nope. None.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GaGirlie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 100 contributor
WD Passport Ultra Dud
5/13/2015

Customer review by ggdad

1.0 stars 5/13/2015 by ggdad
by ggdad

The is the second and last WD device I have owned. Both failed in the same way. After loading with my precious pictures and documents, it fails to be recognized by the computer when plugged in to it. Online support has been useless. I took the first to repair shops but they could not get it to work. The Ultra device is still under warrenty and I will send it to the manufacturer. I do not trust WD products. I have now purchased a Toshiba external hard drive.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ggdad
Would recommend to a friend? No
Western Product Works in the South
2/21/2015

Customer review by Pretzel

5.0 stars 2/21/2015 by Pretzel
by Pretzel

This is the third Western Digital product I have purchased. I would buy them again. I would like to see the setup folders combined into one folder so that when additional folders are added, the setup folders don't become interspersed with the ones you add in your file explorer. I'm using this drive for more than a backup unit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pretzel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews