Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

99 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

99 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
26
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 99 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews
Ruger Black Hawk Elite
1/30/2016

Customer review by wolf

4.0 stars 1/30/2016 by wolf
by wolf

I purchased this rifle for under $100. The first thing I did was give the rifle good cleaning . Then I mounted the scope per instructions. I shot about 30 pellets (Gamo lead master points through it. It was fairly loud but quietened down quite a bit the more I shot it. The pellets were a bit erratic. I switched to Gamo PBA Raptor and shot three round shot groups about the size of a pop can top. Then I switched to Gamo Red Fire and started shooting shot groups about the size of a quarter at 75 feet. All the pellets went through a one inch pine board. I then shot six groups of three pellets with adjustments after each group and was dead on target. I find the rifle to be well balanced for me and very comfortable shooting. Although the scope may not be top of the line I find it quite adequate. I would have rated this rifle 5-stars but I realize there are better air rifles to be found however you will pay considerably more.

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wolf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Rifle & Excellent Value
7/22/2016

Customer review by MrSafety

5.0 stars 7/22/2016 by MrSafety
by MrSafety

Mr. Safety here, Although this is not a firearm, it IS the equivalent to one so if your buying this for your son or daughter I suggest they go through a firearms training course first. At close range, the rifles .177 pellet is as deadly as a .22 long rifle bullet. The rifle is as heavy as the high power rifles I use for big game hunting (actually heavier) but the weight helps the shooter place more consistent shot groups and a good sign it's well built. Because of the weight, Ruger could have had sling mounts molded into the composite stock but then hindsight is always 20/20 and not a big deal for me. If your looking for open sights, be aware this rifle does not have them and the reason for the scope. The scope.... I got lucky and got a good one but I would agree with the other reviews that the scope is at the bottom of the barrel when it comes to functionality and reliability. This doesn't surprise me for if the rifle came with a better scope, the price would be at least double. Even with the possibility of getting a bad scope and no sling mounts, it shouldn't reflect the quality craftsmanship and great value of the rifle itself. Hope this helps and be safe out there! :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrSafety
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Uh... WOW!!! :D
1/14/2016

Customer review by guamengineer1992

4.0 stars 1/14/2016 by guamengineer1992
by guamengineer1992

I bought this rifle at my local store to teach my wife how to shoot and hunt. This rifle has exceeded all expectations in terms of power, accuracy, and consistency. First off, the rifle is very accurate, putting groups inside of one inch at 25 yards. For a break barrel, that is really good. The power of the gun is high, but with a lead pellet (I recommend the crosman premier hollow point, 9.5 grn), the speed is brought down to where it is very stable, and still hits with about 20 ft-lbs out of the muzzle. The gun has no sling, or points to attach it, but I'm sure I can figure out a way to give it one. Now, the reason I didn't give the gun a 5 star rating, is because the 4 x 32 scope it came with is worthless. In my case, the scope refused to focus outside of 10-15 yards, so at 25, the picture was warped and fuzzy. Get this thing better glass, you'll be glad you did. I would strongly recommend the Tasco Varmint 2.5-10 x 42, and a high ring mount. This rifle with that scope is devastatingly accurate. Buy it! This gun should be 3 times its price!

Was this review helpful? (64) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guamengineer1992
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don Ballou Sr.
8/21/2016

Customer review by 4444444444444444444444

3.0 stars 8/21/2016 by 4444444444444444444444
by 4444444444444444444444

I was looking for a hi powered Air Rifle, first one in 40 years. I bought the Ruger Blackhawk Elite .177 Cal. The rifle is a bit heavy, but that is good. It shoots hard powered, which is good. The price was very good. NOW here are the reasons why I will not recommend this to anyone. The Break open is extremely hard to do.(Kids and wives will not be able to use this gun). Unless they are extremely strong. Also the Scope is total junk. after 2 different sets of pellets and numerous Scope adjustments it is still unable to be sighted in. Why put out an obviously well built rifle, and top it off with a complete piece of junk scope?. For those reasons this item only garners a 3 star rating, Only because the gun is better than a 2 star. I will keep the gun ,and have to spend $60 or more for an appropriate scope.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4444444444444444444444
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fantastic pellet rifle but not for a 1st. timer...
4/27/2014

Customer review by graphic23

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by graphic23
by graphic23
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A strong, accurate and powerful 177 caliber pellet rifle delivering near Mach 2 speeds with a single stroke of it's barrel cocking mechanism. Because only 1 stroke is allowed for each shot to deliver full power the accuracy remains constant between shots and is now only human error to over come. BB's could be used but not recommended for they will erode the rifling in the barrel that much quicker. The 4x scope is nice but a 3x9x40 would have been nicer, however the mounting of a scope to the rifles receiver is rather common and straight forward and a gazillion other scopes and aiming device's can be used (red dot, laser, infrared, thermal, etc..). The rifle in the box is not the one ordered. The rifle sent is more powerful, 1200fps, thumbhole stock, right OR left handed shooters, stock cheek rest, etc.. The 4x38 is very bright but a 3x9x40 would have been nicer.. Some how, some way, the rifle of the box was switched around to a different model.

Was this review helpful? (58) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
graphic23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
throw your Gamo away!
2/26/2014

Customer review by Iceman279

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by Iceman279
by Iceman279

Value: Unsurpassed.. they should charge more for this gun! Quality: Amazing, simply amazing Accuracy: this gun has the kind of accuracy Gamo dreams of! Dependability: 250 shots in and still performing perfectly. Now on to the need-to-knows: Yes this rifle is loud the first few shots (sounds like a .22lr) after the break-in is complete, it quiets down nicely.. approximately 30 shots is what mine took to tone down. I suspect this is due to a seal-coat protectant within the barrel that needs to wear off. This rifle is heavier than most, but like all quality items, weight is a sign of quality. The factory scope is crystal clear, not adjustable tho but works just fine (sighted mine in dead on in 3 shots) The break barrel cocking effort is surprisingly easy for the power this gun has. Accuracy.. I measured off 30yds, with 5 shot groups I am consistently producing 1/4"-1/2" groups with no strays using Gamo tomahawk pellets. More than satisfied by this, I measured off 75yds and set a pepsi can filled with small stones on top of a cinder block: out of 5 shots at 75yds, EVERY SHOT HIT.. this gun is insane, and now is my favorite.. WELL DONE UMAREX/STURM RUGER!! note: the current model sold in WalMart stores differs from the picture above, the new model looks better and feels great.

Was this review helpful? (216) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iceman279
Spartanburg SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bang/Buck Rifle!
10/29/2015

Customer review by BlackhawkBuck

5.0 stars 10/29/2015 by BlackhawkBuck
by BlackhawkBuck

This is a great product at a great price. Looks awesome. Sounds sweet, especially with supersonic pellets. Performs well. Shortly after installing the scope, before I could even zero it, a squirrel presented itself. My instincts kicked in and so I fired. Took the squirrel from 15 yards easily with my very first shot of this rifle! I was using crossman gold powershot 8 grain alloy pellets. They go supersonic from this gun and are loud. It was difficult to zero the scope with these pellets (supersonic pellets are unstable and inaccurate by nature). Also, the gun requires about 250 shots to settle in and be consistent. With crossman lead hunting pellets, the speed is slightly reduced (subsonic) and accuracy is nicely enhanced. Also quiet. Can repeatedly send these lead pellets through the same hole from 20 yards. Powerful, accurate and quiet with the right pellets. Cons? All bolts need to be loctited. Scope mounts to the rifle very poorly. Scope mount is just barely adequate. Scope is adequate. But all of this can be upgraded if long distance shooting is your thing. As is, you can reliably take small animals from 20 yards all day long.

Was this review helpful? (42) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlackhawkBuck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rifle is awesome. Scope is not.
10/5/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/5/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Don't even waste your time mounting and zeroing the rifle with the included scope. It's a cheap piece of trash. Do yourself a favor and buy a decent rimfire rifle scope and a better scope mount. I bought a Winchester 811 scope for $35 and an Accushot one-piece dovetail scope mount for $15 online. The only thing this rifle needed was a set of backup iron sights. I can consistently kill prairie dogs out to 100 yards with the rifle using Crosman Destroyer EX pellets. The rifle is heavy, stout and solid with no rattle unlike the cheaper airguns. The balance is almost perfect when I mount the rifle, a little front heavy for me. And the recoil wants to push it forward as opposed to back into your shoulder like a traditional rifle. I really like the automatic safety and the skeleton stock allowing me to easily shoot right or left handed

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Velocity - Poor Scope
5/14/2014

Customer review by SailorChef

4.0 stars 5/14/2014 by SailorChef
by SailorChef
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This air rifle has excellent power. I use it for target practice and small game. Clean the gun before you shoot it the first time, and it will perform well. I worked a long time on scope adjustment, shot at targets, and still had difficulty with the functionality of the scope. I'm a patient person, and I follow instructions carefully. I also read the advice regarding the scope issues that I'd read in other reviews on this air rifle. But, I never could adjust the scope so it would perform satisfactorily, for me. Rather than purchasing a replacement scope, I removed the scope and fabricated a front and rear sight, attached them to the barrel, aligned them and began shooting without the scope. That modification provided me with markedly improved accuracy. Overall, this is a great air rifle. It's quite powerful. And, it's a great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SailorChef
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
powerful and accurate
10/14/2013

Customer review by oldhunter1

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by oldhunter1
by oldhunter1

This rifle has to be broke in before it shoots it's best. Be sure to clean the barrel first. You must have a good backstop because mine shot through 1/2" plywood at 20 yards.

Was this review helpful? (87) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldhunter1
winters,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good For Squirrel And Dove
10/17/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/17/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Pretty cool gun for $98. Killes squirrel and doves on the irst shot, and is real accurate. I noticed in the description above for this that it sais 120fps.... it's 1200 fps soo someone should fix that lol.

Was this review helpful? (97) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Vero Beach FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
New design is not what is shown in picture
5/21/2014

Customer review by aksleepy

5.0 stars 5/21/2014 by aksleepy
by aksleepy

They have redesigned this and remarketed it under the same name. It is a kick but little rifle now!! The only "flaw" if you can even call it that is that I'd upgrade the scope as the one that comes with it struggles to stay on over 60 ft range.. I've had this 2 weeks and poured over 250 rounds out the barrel, only stopping to clean it about halfway through that amount, once dialed in it's lethal at 50 ft easily!! Like I stated if I wanted to be consistent I'd upgrade the scope to reach past 50 ft and I think this rifle could reach out to 70ft with no problem. For the money I'd say it was a win/win purchase for me. Bummer that it doesn't have a sling mount system, but I made my own in about 4 hours. 13 year marine veteran and I have as much fun plinking with this as I do my AR15 :)

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aksleepy
mendota, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Needed a home
7/5/2016

Customer review by oldgeezer61

5.0 stars 7/5/2016 by oldgeezer61
by oldgeezer61

Ok, here's the deal. I stopped by my local gun store and range just to see what they had in and ran across this rifle sitting in the rack all alone. I thought to myself what a nice addiction it would make, just to toy around with, so I asked the guy how much, paid for it and headed home. Once I got it home, I eyeballed from front to back. I didn't think about buying any pellets for it while I was out, so no shooting it. I called my buddy who lives behind me, and he said bring it on over and we'd do some shooting, so I did, and we did, and let me tell you something, this thing shot like "the back side of a horse". Couldn't zero the scope cause of it being "CLOUDY" and couldn't get in enough windage.. My buddy asked how much I paid for it and I lied a little, think he knew that and he told me I needed a better scope. I ordered a new tasco 22 mag. scope for 35 buck, well really two cause I ordered twice by mistake and couldn't cancel in time, gave him one, I kept the other. Anyway, I tooked the rifle home and cleaned it, and MAN O Man was it dirty ! The guy before me musta never EVER cleaned it, or oiled it, NOTHING.. I finally got the barrel shinny and then I lubed it, being careful not to get any of the oil on the seals, wiped it down til I got time to zero in my new scope. Next free day I had, I mounted my new scope, set zero and shot gamo rockets 9g through it and MAN O MAN, what a difference ! I got this for "RANGE CHICKENS" .. It's not broke in as of yet, but getting there. When I was 14, back in the late 60's, I had a crosman 760 that I though was the beast, wasn't like that sorry version they got now, but I'd loved to of had this one back then.. Overall, this is a good rifle !

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldgeezer61
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ruger Blackhawk Elite
12/31/2015

Customer review by Tmjred

4.0 stars 12/31/2015 by Tmjred
by Tmjred

I have used several different bb/pellet rifles in my 48yrs..And for the cost, power, and durability of this rifle is great. Is a very accurate rifle once sighted in, Mine, I sighted for about 20 yards. I use the Crossman Destroyer pellets, and they do well in this rifle. The rifle itself is alittle on the heavy end at 8lbs. But, like an OLD SCHOOL Tonka truck was built to last. I say you won't go wrong on this purchase if your an avid plunker, or small game hunter.....

Was this review helpful? (18) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tmjred
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very disappointed
7/7/2016

Customer review by zilla

1.0 stars 7/7/2016 by zilla
by zilla

Bought this because of the Ruger name. Long story short, one of the scope rings is missing the dove tail clamp... Pretty lame for a brand new unopened item.. No more Ruger for me..

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zilla
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice and strong, good fit n finish
12/25/2013

Customer review by Notgrownup

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by Notgrownup
by Notgrownup

The first 3 shots were loud like a real rifle but the more i shot it to sight my scope the quieter it got...This little gun is very accurate at 75 feet once tweaked...I bought some targets and shot about 30 shots while sighting it...the last 5 shots were dead on at 75 feet. I am very inmpressed with the finish of this gun to be a $98.00 gun...It looks a little different than the picture with the stock having a hole in it which i like better than the picture shown. I am glad it is as heavy as it is because it's easier to steady. This is a very strong gun to be a .177..I was very impressed.

Was this review helpful? (79) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Notgrownup
Snow Hill NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Pinpoint Right Out Of The Box
7/1/2016

Customer review by FlaSurfFishing

5.0 stars 7/1/2016 by FlaSurfFishing
by FlaSurfFishing

WOW ... impressed ... mounted scope and nailed a varmint 20 yards at 30' in the tree canopy right off the bat. It does what I wanted for about $100.00 and $6.00 for good quality pellets. Have a regular .22 and this gun is nowhere near as loud.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FlaSurfFishing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Incredible Rifle
9/3/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/3/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This pellet gun exceeded my expectations on every level. When someone says something is great for the price, I always feel like I am settling for a poor man's version. This is not the case with this Rifle, for the $99. it is a steal. It is absolutely comparable to the $250. / $300. models, it truly is that good. So incredibly Accurate, I hit a bullseye at 100yds, right out of the box. My experience out of the box was and after 500 shots later is the same. The scope is adequate, does the job. The gun itself is very powerful as it is accurate, great clusters consistently. The gun could be described as heavy I guess, but I don't think 9lbs. is heavy, I see this as well built, if heavy is well built, I'll take it. I Highly recommend if you want a strong pellet gun that just works and works well.

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great gun at an unbelievable price
1/25/2016

Customer review by Berthabb

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Berthabb
by Berthabb

Bought this gun mostly for pest control. First few shots were loud but quieted down considerably after a dozen shots. Scope seems to be fine despite many negative comments on other reviews. I made sure to lock everything down with loctite. Still working on the accuracy. I have definitely noticed that it shoots different pellets differently. Tried 3 types so far, still working to find the best. Holding the gun loosely seems to be the most critical element to improving the accuracy.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Berthabb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good so far!
11/4/2013

Customer review by jdpuck01

4.0 stars 11/4/2013 by jdpuck01
by jdpuck01

I bought this gun to kill small animals in my back yard. It seems to work well and shoot very accurate but is somewhat loud which I hope will be okay in the city. The picture online is not at all of the actual gun, check it out on Google images.

Was this review helpful? (61) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jdpuck01
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews