Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 88 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

88 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

88 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 88 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
Uh... WOW!!! :D
1/14/2016

Customer review by guamengineer1992

4.0 stars 1/14/2016 by guamengineer1992
by guamengineer1992

I bought this rifle at my local store to teach my wife how to shoot and hunt. This rifle has exceeded all expectations in terms of power, accuracy, and consistency. First off, the rifle is very accurate, putting groups inside of one inch at 25 yards. For a break barrel, that is really good. The power of the gun is high, but with a lead pellet (I recommend the crosman premier hollow point, 9.5 grn), the speed is brought down to where it is very stable, and still hits with about 20 ft-lbs out of the muzzle. The gun has no sling, or points to attach it, but I'm sure I can figure out a way to give it one. Now, the reason I didn't give the gun a 5 star rating, is because the 4 x 32 scope it came with is worthless. In my case, the scope refused to focus outside of 10-15 yards, so at 25, the picture was warped and fuzzy. Get this thing better glass, you'll be glad you did. I would strongly recommend the Tasco Varmint 2.5-10 x 42, and a high ring mount. This rifle with that scope is devastatingly accurate. Buy it! This gun should be 3 times its price!

Was this review helpful? (35) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guamengineer1992
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ruger Black Hawk Elite
1/30/2016

Customer review by wolf

4.0 stars 1/30/2016 by wolf
by wolf

I purchased this rifle for under $100. The first thing I did was give the rifle good cleaning . Then I mounted the scope per instructions. I shot about 30 pellets (Gamo lead master points through it. It was fairly loud but quietened down quite a bit the more I shot it. The pellets were a bit erratic. I switched to Gamo PBA Raptor and shot three round shot groups about the size of a pop can top. Then I switched to Gamo Red Fire and started shooting shot groups about the size of a quarter at 75 feet. All the pellets went through a one inch pine board. I then shot six groups of three pellets with adjustments after each group and was dead on target. I find the rifle to be well balanced for me and very comfortable shooting. Although the scope may not be top of the line I find it quite adequate. I would have rated this rifle 5-stars but I realize there are better air rifles to be found however you will pay considerably more.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wolf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ruger Blackhawk Elite
12/31/2015

Customer review by Tmjred

4.0 stars 12/31/2015 by Tmjred
by Tmjred

I have used several different bb/pellet rifles in my 48yrs..And for the cost, power, and durability of this rifle is great. Is a very accurate rifle once sighted in, Mine, I sighted for about 20 yards. I use the Crossman Destroyer pellets, and they do well in this rifle. The rifle itself is alittle on the heavy end at 8lbs. But, like an OLD SCHOOL Tonka truck was built to last. I say you won't go wrong on this purchase if your an avid plunker, or small game hunter.....

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tmjred
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bang/Buck Rifle!
10/29/2015

Customer review by BlackhawkBuck

5.0 stars 10/29/2015 by BlackhawkBuck
by BlackhawkBuck

This is a great product at a great price. Looks awesome. Sounds sweet, especially with supersonic pellets. Performs well. Shortly after installing the scope, before I could even zero it, a squirrel presented itself. My instincts kicked in and so I fired. Took the squirrel from 15 yards easily with my very first shot of this rifle! I was using crossman gold powershot 8 grain alloy pellets. They go supersonic from this gun and are loud. It was difficult to zero the scope with these pellets (supersonic pellets are unstable and inaccurate by nature). Also, the gun requires about 250 shots to settle in and be consistent. With crossman lead hunting pellets, the speed is slightly reduced (subsonic) and accuracy is nicely enhanced. Also quiet. Can repeatedly send these lead pellets through the same hole from 20 yards. Powerful, accurate and quiet with the right pellets. Cons? All bolts need to be loctited. Scope mounts to the rifle very poorly. Scope mount is just barely adequate. Scope is adequate. But all of this can be upgraded if long distance shooting is your thing. As is, you can reliably take small animals from 20 yards all day long.

Was this review helpful? (25) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlackhawkBuck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great gun at an unbelievable price
1/25/2016

Customer review by Berthabb

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Berthabb
by Berthabb

Bought this gun mostly for pest control. First few shots were loud but quieted down considerably after a dozen shots. Scope seems to be fine despite many negative comments on other reviews. I made sure to lock everything down with loctite. Still working on the accuracy. I have definitely noticed that it shoots different pellets differently. Tried 3 types so far, still working to find the best. Holding the gun loosely seems to be the most critical element to improving the accuracy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Berthabb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic pellet rifle but not for a 1st. timer...
4/27/2014

Customer review by graphic23

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by graphic23
by graphic23
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A strong, accurate and powerful 177 caliber pellet rifle delivering near Mach 2 speeds with a single stroke of it's barrel cocking mechanism. Because only 1 stroke is allowed for each shot to deliver full power the accuracy remains constant between shots and is now only human error to over come. BB's could be used but not recommended for they will erode the rifling in the barrel that much quicker. The 4x scope is nice but a 3x9x40 would have been nicer, however the mounting of a scope to the rifles receiver is rather common and straight forward and a gazillion other scopes and aiming device's can be used (red dot, laser, infrared, thermal, etc..). The rifle in the box is not the one ordered. The rifle sent is more powerful, 1200fps, thumbhole stock, right OR left handed shooters, stock cheek rest, etc.. The 4x38 is very bright but a 3x9x40 would have been nicer.. Some how, some way, the rifle of the box was switched around to a different model.

Was this review helpful? (45) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
graphic23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Power & Price
1/3/2016

Customer review by ArkansasHillbilly

5.0 stars 1/3/2016 by ArkansasHillbilly
by ArkansasHillbilly

This rifle is great! Very powerful & well built. The price cant be beat. I got it in & went out & sighted it in only took about 5min. The scope isnt the best but works. I will prob add a better scope to it. The only real prob i see with the rifle is placement of a sling. It doesnt offer much on that. But i will take it to a shop & see what can happen. If your looking for a powerful air rifle for a great price this is the 1!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArkansasHillbilly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great deal
1/25/2016

Customer review by Timber

4.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Timber
by Timber

Great gun took two shots to sight in the scope. It has lots of power I use it to hunt squirrels and rabbits. The scope is cheap but it works and for the money you can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Timber
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ruger Blackhawk Elite 177
1/16/2016

Customer review by Kent57Yearsold

1.0 stars 1/16/2016 by Kent57Yearsold
by Kent57Yearsold

This is the 1st pellet rifle I have shot in a long time. I choose this rifle because of the Ruger Name and the 75.00 price seemed to be a great deal. I got it home cleaned & mounted the scope. Note: All of the shots took place in my basement on a dead rest. Out of the box without any adjustments it shot 5" low & 4" to the right. I adjusted the scope all the way both elevation and windage or to the left as far as they would go. The closest it would come to hitting the bulls-eye was 3/4 low & just a little to the left. After approximately 200 rounds I tried a new scope (Nikon caliber specific for a 22; 3 X 9) The results were identical. I tried 3 different pellets. All with the same results low and to the right. Irritation set in & I returned & traded the gun in for a replacement. With the 2nd gun I mounted the scope and shot 5-shots the results were identical to the 1st gun 5" low & 4 to the left. I emailed Ruger they said I had to contact Umerex (the manufacture). I forwarded my comments and Ruger's comments to Umerex. Mark from Umerex emailed back saying to send the scope in. I emailed explaining everything to him (Mark) again letting him know that with 2 different scopes the gun shoots the same way. He didn't respond back I've tried calling but just get a the opportunity to leave a message. I leave the message of the email case number but after 8-business days they have failed to return my call. Frustrated I returned the 2nd gun. I am now in the market for a pellet air rifle that will shoot where and what it is aimed at.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kent57Yearsold
Would recommend to a friend? No
Powerful, Accurate, The Best!
1/30/2016

Customer review by ActiveSenior

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by ActiveSenior
by ActiveSenior

After using co2 bb guns and cross bows to get rid of pesky squirrels to no avail, I got this pellet rifle from Walmart. It took me 15 minutes to adjust the scope and ever since, I've hit each and every squirrel in one shot at 60 feet. It is powerful and accurate. Care is very important here to ensure that there is a backdrop to the shooting area. This is as fast as a 22 bullet when it shoots out of the barrel. I recommend it for precision, power and also saving on bb's and arrows that never reach their target.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ActiveSenior
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
throw your Gamo away!
2/26/2014

Customer review by Iceman279

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by Iceman279
by Iceman279

Value: Unsurpassed.. they should charge more for this gun! Quality: Amazing, simply amazing Accuracy: this gun has the kind of accuracy Gamo dreams of! Dependability: 250 shots in and still performing perfectly. Now on to the need-to-knows: Yes this rifle is loud the first few shots (sounds like a .22lr) after the break-in is complete, it quiets down nicely.. approximately 30 shots is what mine took to tone down. I suspect this is due to a seal-coat protectant within the barrel that needs to wear off. This rifle is heavier than most, but like all quality items, weight is a sign of quality. The factory scope is crystal clear, not adjustable tho but works just fine (sighted mine in dead on in 3 shots) The break barrel cocking effort is surprisingly easy for the power this gun has. Accuracy.. I measured off 30yds, with 5 shot groups I am consistently producing 1/4"-1/2" groups with no strays using Gamo tomahawk pellets. More than satisfied by this, I measured off 75yds and set a pepsi can filled with small stones on top of a cinder block: out of 5 shots at 75yds, EVERY SHOT HIT.. this gun is insane, and now is my favorite.. WELL DONE UMAREX/STURM RUGER!! note: the current model sold in WalMart stores differs from the picture above, the new model looks better and feels great.

Was this review helpful? (195) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iceman279
Spartanburg SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best gun on the market!!!!
1/18/2016

Customer review by SkyChimp

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by SkyChimp
by SkyChimp

Easy to shoot and sniper accurate.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkyChimp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Air rifle
2/4/2016

Customer review by DeerSlayer

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by DeerSlayer
by DeerSlayer

Online price better than in the store. For $78 great air rifle. You need to clean the oil out of the barrel before you Shoot. Very loud when you first shoot. After ten rounds it gets better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeerSlayer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too loud
1/25/2016

Customer review by Goodface

3.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Goodface
by Goodface

For being a pellet rifle it's pretty loud and heavy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goodface
Would recommend to a friend? No
rugged
12/24/2015

Customer review by matt

5.0 stars 12/24/2015 by matt
by matt

Very strong and heavy this gun will last a long while this is no toy! It has a strong kick to it very sturdy construction and the scope is very tough the scope is no nonsense straight forward easy to zero at any distance and the scope is made by ruger to so u know it's well made...... over all a very nice gun

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
matt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rifle is awesome. Scope is not.
10/5/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/5/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Don't even waste your time mounting and zeroing the rifle with the included scope. It's a cheap piece of trash. Do yourself a favor and buy a decent rimfire rifle scope and a better scope mount. I bought a Winchester 811 scope for $35 and an Accushot one-piece dovetail scope mount for $15 online. The only thing this rifle needed was a set of backup iron sights. I can consistently kill prairie dogs out to 100 yards with the rifle using Crosman Destroyer EX pellets. The rifle is heavy, stout and solid with no rattle unlike the cheaper airguns. The balance is almost perfect when I mount the rifle, a little front heavy for me. And the recoil wants to push it forward as opposed to back into your shoulder like a traditional rifle. I really like the automatic safety and the skeleton stock allowing me to easily shoot right or left handed

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Velocity - Poor Scope
5/14/2014

Customer review by SailorChef

4.0 stars 5/14/2014 by SailorChef
by SailorChef
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This air rifle has excellent power. I use it for target practice and small game. Clean the gun before you shoot it the first time, and it will perform well. I worked a long time on scope adjustment, shot at targets, and still had difficulty with the functionality of the scope. I'm a patient person, and I follow instructions carefully. I also read the advice regarding the scope issues that I'd read in other reviews on this air rifle. But, I never could adjust the scope so it would perform satisfactorily, for me. Rather than purchasing a replacement scope, I removed the scope and fabricated a front and rear sight, attached them to the barrel, aligned them and began shooting without the scope. That modification provided me with markedly improved accuracy. Overall, this is a great air rifle. It's quite powerful. And, it's a great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SailorChef
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ruger Blackhawk Elite
1/24/2016

Customer review by ShannonJ

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by ShannonJ
by ShannonJ

Great gun, very accurate & seems to get better with use. Great quality for the price, would recommend to anyone looking for a pellet rifle for pleasure or small game hunting.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShannonJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Rifle
1/19/2016

Customer review by kubi11

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by kubi11
by kubi11

Rifle is accurate out of box but it is Diana 34 clone so be sure to use droop compensating mount on it

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kubi11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ruger Blackhawk elite 177 pellet rifle
1/16/2016

Customer review by Mark

4.0 stars 1/16/2016 by Mark
by Mark

I should have bought it sooner, instead of wasting time shopping around. Looks/feels like a much more expensive gun. Dead on in accuracy. Be prepared to clean the barrel if you use lead pellets, it gets build up and accuracy starts dropping off.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews