Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 61 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

61 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

61 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 61 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
throw your Gamo away!
2/26/2014

Customer review by Iceman279

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by Iceman279
by Iceman279

Value: Unsurpassed.. they should charge more for this gun! Quality: Amazing, simply amazing Accuracy: this gun has the kind of accuracy Gamo dreams of! Dependability: 250 shots in and still performing perfectly. Now on to the need-to-knows: Yes this rifle is loud the first few shots (sounds like a .22lr) after the break-in is complete, it quiets down nicely.. approximately 30 shots is what mine took to tone down. I suspect this is due to a seal-coat protectant within the barrel that needs to wear off. This rifle is heavier than most, but like all quality items, weight is a sign of quality. The factory scope is crystal clear, not adjustable tho but works just fine (sighted mine in dead on in 3 shots) The break barrel cocking effort is surprisingly easy for the power this gun has. Accuracy.. I measured off 30yds, with 5 shot groups I am consistently producing 1/4"-1/2" groups with no strays using Gamo tomahawk pellets. More than satisfied by this, I measured off 75yds and set a pepsi can filled with small stones on top of a cinder block: out of 5 shots at 75yds, EVERY SHOT HIT.. this gun is insane, and now is my favorite.. WELL DONE UMAREX/STURM RUGER!! note: the current model sold in WalMart stores differs from the picture above, the new model looks better and feels great.

Was this review helpful? (87) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Iceman279
Spartanburg SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good For Squirrel And Dove
10/17/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/17/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Pretty cool gun for $98. Killes squirrel and doves on the irst shot, and is real accurate. I noticed in the description above for this that it sais 120fps.... it's 1200 fps soo someone should fix that lol.

Was this review helpful? (60) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Vero Beach FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
powerful and accurate
10/14/2013

Customer review by oldhunter1

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by oldhunter1
by oldhunter1

This rifle has to be broke in before it shoots it's best. Be sure to clean the barrel first. You must have a good backstop because mine shot through 1/2" plywood at 20 yards.

Was this review helpful? (44) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldhunter1
winters,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good so far!
11/4/2013

Customer review by jdpuck01

4.0 stars 11/4/2013 by jdpuck01
by jdpuck01

I bought this gun to kill small animals in my back yard. It seems to work well and shoot very accurate but is somewhat loud which I hope will be okay in the city. The picture online is not at all of the actual gun, check it out on Google images.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jdpuck01
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Very Accurate
2/12/2014

Customer review by riflemstr

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by riflemstr
by riflemstr

For a 100 dollar gun, this is hard to beat. I shoot oranges off our trees from 40 yards away consistently. Definitely recommend getting a 3-9x scope. The range of the gun surpasses the scope it comes with. I bought mine because of the .22 ammo shortage. WORD OF WARNING: My gun did not truly hit its sweet spot or maximum accuracy until i ran 500 rounds through it. At the current price of pellets and this much power, i don't think i'll ever go back to .22lr. I really wish they made this brand in .22 caliber, as this cannot humanely take an opossum or raccoon.

Was this review helpful? (42) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
riflemstr
Lutz, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice and strong, good fit n finish
12/25/2013

Customer review by Notgrownup

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by Notgrownup
by Notgrownup

The first 3 shots were loud like a real rifle but the more i shot it to sight my scope the quieter it got...This little gun is very accurate at 75 feet once tweaked...I bought some targets and shot about 30 shots while sighting it...the last 5 shots were dead on at 75 feet. I am very inmpressed with the finish of this gun to be a $98.00 gun...It looks a little different than the picture with the stock having a hole in it which i like better than the picture shown. I am glad it is as heavy as it is because it's easier to steady. This is a very strong gun to be a .177..I was very impressed.

Was this review helpful? (47) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Notgrownup
Snow Hill NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Fantastic pellet rifle but not for a 1st. timer...
4/27/2014

Customer review by graphic23

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by graphic23
by graphic23

A strong, accurate and powerful 177 caliber pellet rifle delivering near Mach 2 speeds with a single stroke of it's barrel cocking mechanism. Because only 1 stroke is allowed for each shot to deliver full power the accuracy remains constant between shots and is now only human error to over come. BB's could be used but not recommended for they will erode the rifling in the barrel that much quicker. The 4x scope is nice but a 3x9x40 would have been nicer, however the mounting of a scope to the rifles receiver is rather common and straight forward and a gazillion other scopes and aiming device's can be used (red dot, laser, infrared, thermal, etc..). The rifle in the box is not the one ordered. The rifle sent is more powerful, 1200fps, thumbhole stock, right OR left handed shooters, stock cheek rest, etc.. The 4x38 is very bright but a 3x9x40 would have been nicer.. Some how, some way, the rifle of the box was switched around to a different model.

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
graphic23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent pellet rifle for the price
5/4/2014

Customer review by Jaa999Pa

5.0 stars 5/4/2014 by Jaa999Pa
by Jaa999Pa

I have an old pump BB/pellet gun, so decided to get something new. Saw some reviews that were basically all positive, so picked one up. This gun has some power! We used a target in a friends basement to sight in the scope, but could never get it right. Our groupings were tight, but off. Didn't seem to matter how many clicks we gave it, it just stayed at that point. I had them exchange the scope for me, and this one is much better, although it takes lots of clicks. But for the price, it's hard to fault it. If you are looking for a fun and powerful pellet rifle, i think you'll be happy with this one.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaa999Pa
Havertown, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Right "tool" for the job.
4/4/2014

Customer review by jv072910

4.0 stars 4/4/2014 by jv072910
by jv072910

Effectively eliminates pests at relatively close range without making excessive noise.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jv072910
marengo county, alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this rifle!!
7/4/2014

Customer review by Yellowjohn

5.0 stars 7/4/2014 by Yellowjohn
by Yellowjohn

The item shown is the regular Blackhawk not the Elite, the Elite is pretty much made like the Umarex Surge. This rifle is awesome! It's very powerful and accurate too, I love the feel of this rifle. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yellowjohn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Item picture and description is not accurate
4/8/2014

Customer review by johboy

1.0 stars 4/8/2014 by johboy
by johboy

The picture and some of the written description for this rifle is not accurate. The picture shown is the picture of a Ruger Blackhawk rifle, not the Ruger Blackhawk Elite rifle. (These are 2 different rifles.) The item description says that this rifle has open sights, but it doesn't have open sights. The Ruger Blackhawk Elite has no sights and is made for a scope only. The Ruger Blackhawk Elite might be a descent rifle, but because I was wanting the Ruger Blackhawk, I returned it to Walmart. Walmart should change the item picture and correct the item description for future customers.

Was this review helpful? (18) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johboy
Modesto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Velocity - Poor Scope
5/14/2014

Customer review by SailorChef

4.0 stars 5/14/2014 by SailorChef
by SailorChef

This air rifle has excellent power. I use it for target practice and small game. Clean the gun before you shoot it the first time, and it will perform well. I worked a long time on scope adjustment, shot at targets, and still had difficulty with the functionality of the scope. I'm a patient person, and I follow instructions carefully. I also read the advice regarding the scope issues that I'd read in other reviews on this air rifle. But, I never could adjust the scope so it would perform satisfactorily, for me. Rather than purchasing a replacement scope, I removed the scope and fabricated a front and rear sight, attached them to the barrel, aligned them and began shooting without the scope. That modification provided me with markedly improved accuracy. Overall, this is a great air rifle. It's quite powerful. And, it's a great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SailorChef
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rifle is awesome. Scope is not.
10/5/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/5/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Don't even waste your time mounting and zeroing the rifle with the included scope. It's a cheap piece of trash. Do yourself a favor and buy a decent rimfire rifle scope and a better scope mount. I bought a Winchester 811 scope for $35 and an Accushot one-piece dovetail scope mount for $15 online. The only thing this rifle needed was a set of backup iron sights. I can consistently kill prairie dogs out to 100 yards with the rifle using Crosman Destroyer EX pellets. The rifle is heavy, stout and solid with no rattle unlike the cheaper airguns. The balance is almost perfect when I mount the rifle, a little front heavy for me. And the recoil wants to push it forward as opposed to back into your shoulder like a traditional rifle. I really like the automatic safety and the skeleton stock allowing me to easily shoot right or left handed

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
New design is not what is shown in picture
5/21/2014

Customer review by aksleepy

5.0 stars 5/21/2014 by aksleepy
by aksleepy

They have redesigned this and remarketed it under the same name. It is a kick but little rifle now!! The only "flaw" if you can even call it that is that I'd upgrade the scope as the one that comes with it struggles to stay on over 60 ft range.. I've had this 2 weeks and poured over 250 rounds out the barrel, only stopping to clean it about halfway through that amount, once dialed in it's lethal at 50 ft easily!! Like I stated if I wanted to be consistent I'd upgrade the scope to reach past 50 ft and I think this rifle could reach out to 70ft with no problem. For the money I'd say it was a win/win purchase for me. Bummer that it doesn't have a sling mount system, but I made my own in about 4 hours. 13 year marine veteran and I have as much fun plinking with this as I do my AR15 :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aksleepy
mendota, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Exxxcellent Pellet Rifle
5/7/2014

Customer review by CarlWY

5.0 stars 5/7/2014 by CarlWY
by CarlWY

The Ruger Blackhawk Elite .177 Pellet Rifle is an excellent pellet rifle. (Or, at least the one I bought is/was.) Researched on-line, then purchased at my local Walmart store, the rifle, make no mistake, is NOT your Daisy Red Rider::: it is heavy, it requires that you mount and zero the scope, does not come with open sights, and yes fires at a screaming 1000fps with lead pellets. NOT for children, again, not for children. I have found mine very accurate, firing Gamo .177 red-point pellets which fit snugly into the breech. I expect fine results from mine, Thank=You=Walmart, and Thank-You-Ruger. .... Make no mistake, again, this is not your "daddy's" pellet rifle... Great value for the price..... Great Ruger Quality.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarlWY
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
presant
6/3/2015

Customer review by GrandpaChuck

5.0 stars 6/3/2015 by GrandpaChuck
by GrandpaChuck

I bought this for my Grandson , as a gift, This is his 3rd pellet gun and he said he can throw the other 2 away, this one is his favorite.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandpaChuck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Incredible Rifle
9/3/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/3/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This pellet gun exceeded my expectations on every level. When someone says something is great for the price, I always feel like I am settling for a poor man's version. This is not the case with this Rifle, for the $99. it is a steal. It is absolutely comparable to the $250. / $300. models, it truly is that good. So incredibly Accurate, I hit a bullseye at 100yds, right out of the box. My experience out of the box was and after 500 shots later is the same. The scope is adequate, does the job. The gun itself is very powerful as it is accurate, great clusters consistently. The gun could be described as heavy I guess, but I don't think 9lbs. is heavy, I see this as well built, if heavy is well built, I'll take it. I Highly recommend if you want a strong pellet gun that just works and works well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Rifle
1/29/2014

Customer review by werewoolf1

5.0 stars 1/29/2014 by werewoolf1
by werewoolf1

First Few shots were loud. looks different than the picture,I like it better.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
werewoolf1
Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well made, heavier than expected but manageable.
4/16/2014

Customer review by Muddhead

4.0 stars 4/16/2014 by Muddhead
by Muddhead

Only shot about 40 rounds so far, but I really like the gun. Well made and the scope is very accurate once you get it adjusted correctly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Muddhead
Jonesborough,Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy
1/6/2015

Customer review by Melbel914

5.0 stars 1/6/2015 by Melbel914
by Melbel914

Bought this for my husband for Christmas. It looks awesome, has the ability to shoot fast and far. He absolutely loves it. Great price too. No problems with shipping or anything. Any man who loves guns in General would love this rifle.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Melbel914
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews