Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 3513 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

3513 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

3513 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1983
4 stars
895
3 stars
157
2 stars
91
1 stars
387
1-20 of 3508 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 3508 total reviews
1-20 of 3508 reviews
Just what I wanted
1/24/2014

Customer review by Bobblesworth

4.0 stars 1/24/2014 by Bobblesworth
by Bobblesworth

I bought this for gaming in my living room. I do mostly PC gaming so it was important that the TV could keep up. So far it does. I had to mess about a bit with my video card resolution settings. Using HDMI the NVIDIA control will accept it as a PC monitor up to 1680x1050 resolution, or as an HD Monitor at the 1080P, 1920x1080. Using it as an HD Monitor takes a bit of mucking about with some settings, but looks amazing when it's all set! As for the speaker.. you can forget it. Even a decent pair of earbuds would sound better (tested it!). If you're going with something like a sound bar or wireless gaming headset like I do, keep in mind that the TV does NOT have connections for digital optical. but it DOES have digital Coax, and of course, HDMI or standard 3.5mm analog. Also, it can mount flush against a wall without worrying about losing access to input/output connections. All in all, if it lasts at least decade I would say it's more than a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (351) (141)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobblesworth
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the price
8/14/2014

Customer review by SouthernNovice

3.0 stars 8/14/2014 by SouthernNovice
by SouthernNovice
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you're not super picky about your entertainment, It's cheaper than the rest. The size is large, the visual quality is pretty good. But the way it's made is only ok. The foam around the edges of the screen is inconsistent so there are places where you can see the light coming through from the inside of the tv.

Was this review helpful? (447) (106)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SouthernNovice
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall it's a great buy!
2/20/2014

Customer review by JabrielsMom

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by JabrielsMom
by JabrielsMom
Top 500 contributor

The picture quality is great. Nice and vivid. It also has settings so you can change the sound quality as well as picture quality... That's a great option. It's big and easy to assemble. I will be purchasing a sound bar just because the sound quality to me isn't as great as I wanted as I am a big movie person. But other then that its everything I wanted. Great price

Was this review helpful? (494) (194)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JabrielsMom
Lynnwood, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Top 500 contributor
TV was returned for malfuction to Sceptre
10/8/2014

Customer review by Tobasco71

1.0 stars 10/8/2014 by Tobasco71
by Tobasco71

TV was replaced due to warranty and 2nd TV needs replaced due to bad picture with multicolor lines across screen.

Was this review helpful? (53) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tobasco71
Would recommend to a friend? No
You get what you pay for! Beware!
12/13/2014

Customer review by TechnoRick

2.0 stars 12/13/2014 by TechnoRick
by TechnoRick

Have had TV for less than one year and lines of pixels are disappearing! Sceptre customer service will only help if I can provide information found only under wall mount! MAYBE. Don't waste your money! Buy from reputable manufacturer!

Was this review helpful? (44) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechnoRick
Rockford, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice TV....questionable shipment method
5/24/2014

Customer review by SeptreTV50inch

1.0 stars 5/24/2014 by SeptreTV50inch
by SeptreTV50inch
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I think we would have loved this television.....had it been delivered undamaged....TWICE!!!

Was this review helpful? (88) (76)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeptreTV50inch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
MY BEST PURCHASE EVER "THANKS SCEPTRE"
7/17/2014

Customer review by MALEMASTERUS

5.0 stars 7/17/2014 by MALEMASTERUS
by MALEMASTERUS

OMG...I just order this 2 days ago and it's already here!!! It wasn't suppose to arrive until tomorrow, of course I couldn't wait to unwrap it. To my surprise, people were right on point with the reviews, my only concern was that I didn't want to be disappointed with it being damaged from the delivery, but again to my surprise, it came perfectly intact. Bigger than what I imagined. If you're looking for a great TV at a unbelievable price...look no further...THIS PRODUCT WILL AMAZE YOU. I am so happy I can scream!!! PS: Most TV's don't come equipped with a headphone jack, but this one does. So I decided to do to increase my sound by connecting my computer speakers with woofer to the TV and WOW!!! the sound is amazing, it beats paying too much for unnecessary components, such as audio bars and Theater systems....a good computer speaker system does the trick...the key is the woofer. I recommend Gateway...the sound quality is better. Any one will do. Thanks to the Sceptre Company for such a great product, keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? (903) (321)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MALEMASTERUS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SERVICE IS HORRIBLE! It took over 6-months!!!
1/18/2014

Customer review by ussmarshal

1.0 stars 1/18/2014 by ussmarshal
by ussmarshal

My SCEPTRE TV was working fine, good sale price and I bought the extra service plan. That's where the fun begins! At almost 1-year half my picture went out, it took over 6-months for SCEPTRE to get a new TV to me. Here's the rest of the story. Their service center is in California and YOU have to get it there. Even when I got the TV back to them they sent one, 6-months later that was broken- the screen looked like a baseball went through it. All this time, I'm without my BIG SCREEN TV. SCEPTRE finally agreed because the UPS driver was a friend of mine and noted the box was damaged and charted the damage back to the drop-off point in California, they sent me another TV - hey this only took 2 more months. Now I'm without my BIG SCREEN TV for almost 8-months - totally unbelievable! When they finally sent me a new TV to replace my original broken SCEPTRE JUNK, they sent me a replacement that looked the same, but it was a cheaper model that didn't have all the features like Picture-IN-A-Picture, etc. I seriously would not recommend a SCEPTRE, spend a couple bucks extra and get something else.

Was this review helpful? (1787) (241)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ussmarshal
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What a Let Down
4/24/2014

Customer review by Sadcustomerrrr12345

1.0 stars 4/24/2014 by Sadcustomerrrr12345
by Sadcustomerrrr12345

My Boyfriend bought this TV online and had it shipped to the store. As soon as it arrived we went to Walmart and picked it up. There was a decent size scratch on the box but nothing that would of damaged the TV. We opened it up and set it up and everything was perfect until we turned it on. The entire screen was broken. The actual physical screen wasn't broken but the image part right behind it was cracked entirely and the screen was destroyed to where it look like someone kicked it or dropped it or something. Sadly they do not carry this item in store just online. It is not something we will order again just because of the awful experience. Other than that the TV stand didn't seem that sturdy. It was meant to have a swivel aspect to it but it made the TV shake if you were walking near it and it just seemed as if it would fall over.

Was this review helpful? (257) (119)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sadcustomerrrr12345
Would recommend to a friend? No
Images with similar colors are muddy
1/7/2014

Customer review by MacQued

2.0 stars 1/7/2014 by MacQued
by MacQued
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First... the package was brutally damaged during shipping. I know this is an issue with FedEx, but believe it should be noted in case anyone else has a similar experience. The TV itself is OK but the picture quality leaves much to be desired. Even when viewing HD content, any image with similar colors or colors in the background appear to be a glob. Watching a basketball game, a player's jersey wouldn't show any detail and you could hardly make out the team logo on the shirt. Not talking about high action plays either, even the players on the bench seemed to appear muddy. The color does not seem as rich as other LED TVs and the blacks need to be much darker for better depth with the images. If I had it to do over again, I would've bought a used Samsung I found on Amazon.

Was this review helpful? (169) (76)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MacQued
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i'm just a gal who watches tv....and occasional dv
1/5/2014

Customer review by spolice

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by spolice
by spolice

I was looking for a 40-45" tv to replace my big tube TV which is dying. but when i stumbled upon this 50" for the price (at the time $349) I knew I had to jump on it. I got the warranty to be safe b/c i was not familiar with the brand. Had it shipped to store and it was in good condition when i picked it up. It's really light weight. I could've gotten up my 2 flight of stairs by myself! All the parts/tools were in the box accordingly, even a screwdriver. It was pretty easy to hook up. I got my dvd player hooked up, my att UVERSE hooked up to it fine. Probably took me all of 20mins from box to watching. The picture is good. You can have cinema, wide, standard, zoom and some other type of screens. it was easy to get my dvd's showing. so i'm all set. I knew the volume was a common problem in some of the other reviews so i was prepared. but at the same time, i have a very small living room. the volume does not seem to be a problem for me. in fact, the boys are watching it in the living room now, and i'm in the next room and can hear what they are watching so....the picture seems good enough for me. no cracks or pixel problems as far as i can see either. of course, this is DAY 1...let's hope i'm still just as happy in 6-12mos...

Was this review helpful? (469) (246)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spolice
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best TV for the money.
9/17/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/17/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm a single girl living on my own and I knew I had to be smart with my budget when I was TV shopping but then again I didn't want something that wouldn't hold up leaving me miserable. I own an Xbox One so I had no need for a Smart TV I just wanted something at least 50" and great quality. I was questionable from the price if this would be a good buy and I now can honestly say I'm am extremely satisfied! It's perfect for watching blue rays or regular tv I can't wait to order another for my bedroom!

Was this review helpful? (45) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
TV Damaged when Arrived, Box and Exterior Fine
6/12/2014

Customer review by StephieG

3.0 stars 6/12/2014 by StephieG
by StephieG

I would highly recommend that BEFORE you spend 1/2 an hour installing the BASE on this TV that you plug it in and see if it is damaged. I wasted a morning getting it setup and carried to my bedroom. Turned it on and the screen is all busted. Not anything you can see on the exterior. The TV when turned off looks excellent, not a scratch, the box I received it in (thru FedEx) has no damage. I turned the TV on and the plasma screen is all busted. (see pic) How will I ever get this back into the box and hauled to Walmart? Wasted my morning.... now waste afternoon trying to dismantle the base and get it all back into the box.. The TV looks nice and it is lighter than my 40" Sony. I can carry it from one room to the next easier than my heavier Sony.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StephieG
MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Good Buy for a great price
4/21/2014

Customer review by KristaK1981

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by KristaK1981
by KristaK1981
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was super happy with this find, the TV is working out great for our living room. Shipping was quick it arrived in 48 hours with standard shipping to the home and it made a nice upgrade to our 42inch plasma 720 HD that we had before. The picture and sound are great and the MHL throw cast works well with our Sony XperiaZ1s cell phones.

Was this review helpful? (62) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KristaK1981
Lansdowne, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great TV - Pros & Cons:
10/9/2014

Customer review by BlueSkiesAbove

4.0 stars 10/9/2014 by BlueSkiesAbove
by BlueSkiesAbove

I really like this TV, especially with all the analog inputs (for PC's and game consoles without HDMI, which is just one generation ago). Of course even an old DVD player or camcorder could be hooked up to this TV. It can handle most devices from say 1985 to 2015+. A LOT of new TV's have gotten rid of the analog inputs and ONLY have HDMI, so be aware of this when you are shopping. Cable TV note: This TV does not have a QAM tuner, so you will have to use your cable company's converter box if your cable provider has switched to all digital/encrypted/protected programming. A lot of other TV's are like this now too. You probably won't even be using the TV's built in coax tuner. So figure on one of your HDMI ports being taken up by your cable box all the time (another reason not to get a TV with only 1 or 2 HDMI ports). This TV has 3 HDMI ports. Initial Failure: What I didn't like was the first TV I ordered arrived defective, so I had to take it back to Walmart, get my money back, and re-order it. It wasn't shipping damage, it actually arrived not working (IR receiver dead). So I took an overall rating star off for that bit of hassle. Fortunately, the second TV arrived working. PROS (for my particular setup): Has PC (VGA) input so you can hook an older computer to it and run it at up to 1920 x 1080. The swivel base is very useful for both TV/room positioning and for reaching behind the TV. Three (3) HDMI inputs is very useful, especially for hooking up future gadgets. The brightness and color depth are very good, very vivid, impressive display. LED backlit so it uses a small fraction of the energy (electricity) that my previous LCD TV used. 50" is a great size for the average living room and it can be moved around by one person. I paid less than $350 after a coupon which is a great price for a 50" TV with so many features. This TV allows component or composite input so you can easily hook up an older AV device. The remote has dedicated source buttons so you don't always have to scroll through inputs. Can easily be "upgraded" into a Smart TV if needed (Roku). Has Dolby digital output for home theater sound system (optical Toslink). You can set it to turn itself off if it detects "NO SIGNAL" (auto off). Has MHL so a supported phone / tablet can be displayed on the TV. Computers with an HDMI port can easily hook up and stream/display 1080p to the TV. Very nice quality picture looks good whether streaming, watching live TV, or using a computer (I played with the Sharpness setting to get a good compromise between computer text clarity and TV motion video). CONS: The first one I ordered arrived defective out of the box. So obviously quality control is an issue. Consider it's way too expensive to ship back, and will it fit in your car to drive it to a Walmart store? That's a real concern with a TV this large! Consider the size of the box, not just the TV. The manufacturer's warranty (after Walmart's 90 day TV return policy expires) REQUIRES you to ship the TV back to Sceptre for any warranty service. REMEMBER to keep your TV box and all packing material, just in case. At some future point you may have to decide if it's worth repairing it vs. replacing it, even if it's under warranty. When viewing very dark scenes (or black/blank screen) white patches that look like "clouds" are visible on the screen. Decreasing brightness makes it worse. While raising the brightness makes them less obvious, that approach also leads to the entire picture being too washed out. Fortunately you only see the white patches when the picture is close to solid black. With even a little bit of color on the screen you don't notice it at all. At the price of this TV compared to others, I think it is to be expected. I took one star off the picture quality review due to it, but I do still really like the TV and it's more of a nit-picky thing for me that you may not even notice. The internal speakers are pretty terrible, although tweaking the settings does help a little (especially EQ). Just use a home theater sound system or at least a sound bar instead of the internal speakers and it'll be fine. I think everyone with a TV this large should be using a home theater sound system if you're at all interested in movies. Playing movies with only the internal speakers would be a real shame. I rated the sound quality "Average" but really you need external speakers to appreciate this TV. Final Thoughts: Overall I am very pleased with this TV. It's exactly what I wanted and has all the inputs I could ever want or need. Even with the patchy spots on dark scenes, had the first one I received worked properly I would have given an overall rating of 5 stars at this price level.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueSkiesAbove
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome First Man Cave TV!!
3/1/2014

Customer review by TIG3R

4.0 stars 3/1/2014 by TIG3R
by TIG3R

Tv Looks Great. Its Thinner Than I Thought. picture Quality isn't Great if you're Watching a 480i channel (Probably Due To The 60hz) But otherwise 720p, 1080p and HD ARE Amazing. sound Quality Could Be Better But Its A New 50" LED So Im Not Complaining I Just Bought A Sound Bar. I Don't Have Much Faith In The TV Stand... It Seems A little Flimsy BUT Mounting Is The Best Option.

Was this review helpful? (42) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TIG3R
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV, I have 3
9/25/2014

Customer review by msethel23

5.0 stars 9/25/2014 by msethel23
by msethel23
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love these TV's !!! My picture is soooooo clear you can't believe a TV of the Brand would be sooooooo good. Easy to set up and channels were easy to install.....!!!!

Was this review helpful? (145) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msethel23
Inglewood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great TV.
6/7/2014

Customer review by ArtinSgtn

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by ArtinSgtn
by ArtinSgtn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My first HDTV. I upgraded my cable contract and this TV was the perfect match. Easy to assemble and set up. The picture is just great. 50" is just right size for our living room. I couldn't have made a better choice, especially for the price. Delivery was quick and the store personnel were very helpful loading it into my car.

Was this review helpful? (62) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArtinSgtn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
50" TV
6/7/2014

Customer review by sgenseke

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by sgenseke
by sgenseke
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is NOT a smart tv. This is a black, 50", LED tv 1080p/ 60htz. It is great for cable, satellite, DVD/blu ray. You can also hook it up as a monitor to your pc. It is Ryobi-stick ready --if you want a smart tv without the price tag. I got this tv for $400, which is an amazing price. I'm very pleased with it, I have never bought the sceptre brand before as of: 6/6/14, I have no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (219) (116)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sgenseke
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Never again
8/2/2014

Customer review by HorribleBuy

1.0 stars 8/2/2014 by HorribleBuy
by HorribleBuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The worse tv purchase ever! Got it home and the whole top of the screen was blacked out and a purple and green vertical line down the center of the screen. Horrible sound and cheap stand.

Was this review helpful? (23) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HorribleBuy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 3508 total reviews
1-20 of 3508 reviews