Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 5055 reviews
5 stars
2980
4 stars
1211
3 stars
241
2 stars
122
1 stars
501
Sort by: 
1-20 of 5045 reviews
1-20 of 5045 reviews
Just what I wanted
1/24/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
I bought this for gaming in my living room. I do mostly PC gaming so it was important that the TV could keep up. So far it does. I had to mess about a bit with my video card resolution settings. Using HDMI the NVIDIA control will accept it as a PC monitor up to 1680x1050 resolution, or as an HD Monitor at the 1080P, 1920x1080. Using it as an HD Monitor takes a bit of mucking about with some settings, but looks amazing when it's all set! As for the speaker.. you can forget it. Even a decent pair of earbuds would sound better (tested it!). If you're going with something like a sound bar or wireless gaming headset like I do, keep in mind that the TV does NOT have connections for digital optical. but it DOES have digital Coax, and of course, HDMI or standard 3.5mm analog. Also, it can mount flush against a wall without worrying about losing access to input/output connections. All in all, if it lasts at least decade I would say it's more than a great deal.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (924)No (474)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for the price
8/14/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
 Top 1000 contributer
If you're not super picky about your entertainment, It's cheaper than the rest. The size is large, the visual quality is pretty good. But the way it's made is only ok. The foam around the edges of the screen is inconsistent so there are places where you can see the light coming through from the inside of the tv.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (903)No (285)
Report
Was this review helpful?
TV was returned for malfuction to Sceptre
10/8/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
TV was replaced due to warranty and 2nd TV needs replaced due to bad picture with multicolor lines across screen.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (542)No (156)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Overall it's a great buy!
2/20/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 250 contributer
The picture quality is great. Nice and vivid. It also has settings so you can change the sound quality as well as picture quality... That's a great option. It's big and easy to assemble. I will be purchasing a sound bar just because the sound quality to me isn't as great as I wanted as I am a big movie person. But other then that its everything I wanted. Great price
Was this review helpful?
Yes (870)No (343)
Report
Was this review helpful?
You get what you pay for! Beware!
12/13/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have had TV for less than one year and lines of pixels are disappearing! Sceptre customer service will only help if I can provide information found only under wall mount! MAYBE. Don't waste your money! Buy from reputable manufacturer!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (326)No (172)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice TV....questionable shipment method
5/24/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I think we would have loved this television.....had it been delivered undamaged....TWICE!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (303)No (208)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent product & Excellent
11/22/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had this Television for only four days now and found everything exceptionaly easy to set up without reading the manual. Sound quality is great. I cannot wait until it's connected to My home theater system and watch a movie or a concert from one of My favorite Artists. So in closing Thank You for a solution fat so good product! Yours truly Robert E. Dillon the Third
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My second Sceptre!
9/1/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought our first about 3 years ago... A 32'' and it's still hanging in there!.. Here recently I bought our second an 50"and my husband can't stay away! We're believers lol and once we get our home, we'll be back for the third!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
MY BEST PURCHASE EVER "THANKS SCEPTRE"
7/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
OMG...I just order this 2 days ago and it's already here!!! It wasn't suppose to arrive until tomorrow, of course I couldn't wait to unwrap it. To my surprise, people were right on point with the reviews, my only concern was that I didn't want to be disappointed with it being damaged from the delivery, but again to my surprise, it came perfectly intact. Bigger than what I imagined. If you're looking for a great TV at a unbelievable price...look no further...THIS PRODUCT WILL AMAZE YOU. I am so happy I can scream!!! PS: Most TV's don't come equipped with a headphone jack, but this one does. So I decided to do to increase my sound by connecting my computer speakers with woofer to the TV and WOW!!! the sound is amazing, it beats paying too much for unnecessary components, such as audio bars and Theater systems....a good computer speaker system does the trick...the key is the woofer. I recommend Gateway...the sound quality is better. Any one will do. Thanks to the Sceptre Company for such a great product, keep up the good work.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1193)No (410)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Two For The ManCave ( two different models)
9/24/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought two of these TV's three weeks apart and they are different models. The first 50' Sceptre I hung over the mancave/garage bar. The picture is stunning for a sub $300 TV so I bought another (few weeks later) to hang in the other corner for multiple Nascar and football games. The first 50" was model X505BV-FMQC and has a very slim bezel, power LED on the left side and a 200 X 400 VESA pattern. The second 50" model X505BV-FMQR has a thicker bezel, power led in the center and a 200 X 200 VESA pattern. Both have a great picture but It would have been nice to have a matching pair. I like the FMQC a little better because of the slim bezel. On Walmart's site the model number ends at the letter F so you may receive either the FMQR or the FMQC. I have both TV's on Directv and also wired to my HTPC computer via HDMI from a NVIDIA Gforce GTX 750 TI along with a QNIX 27" 1440P monitor with sound from a DENON AVR E-400 receiver.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (105)No (25)
Report
Was this review helpful?
SERVICE IS HORRIBLE! It took over 6-months!!!
1/18/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 100 contributer
My SCEPTRE TV was working fine, good sale price and I bought the extra service plan. That's where the fun begins! At almost 1-year half my picture went out, it took over 6-months for SCEPTRE to get a new TV to me. Here's the rest of the story. Their service center is in California and YOU have to get it there. Even when I got the TV back to them they sent one, 6-months later that was broken- the screen looked like a baseball went through it. All this time, I'm without my BIG SCREEN TV. SCEPTRE finally agreed because the UPS driver was a friend of mine and noted the box was damaged and charted the damage back to the drop-off point in California, they sent me another TV - hey this only took 2 more months. Now I'm without my BIG SCREEN TV for almost 8-months - totally unbelievable! When they finally sent me a new TV to replace my original broken SCEPTRE JUNK, they sent me a replacement that looked the same, but it was a cheaper model that didn't have all the features like Picture-IN-A-Picture, etc. I seriously would not recommend a SCEPTRE, spend a couple bucks extra and get something else.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2354)No (291)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Value
8/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I read a lot of reviews while I was waiting for this tv to arrive. Some really bothered me. It came, and I love it! As an 11 year package delivery person, I was impressed with the packaging. Very sturdy. The stand, when correctly assembled, doesn't tilt forward. I bought a flat OTA antenna, stuck it on the wall...and receive 44 free channels. The speakers are on the back...but there is no problem with the sound EXCEPT when listening to your music. A sound bar took care of that. This really is a great buy!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I took a chance, so far, so good
12/15/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I got an email about a great deal on a 50" flat screen HDTV. I did some online research on the product and it came up as a decent deal for the price. The biggest complaint was about product damage during shipping and the near-impossible attempts to get repairs performed during the warranty period. So I took a chance. My TV finally arrived (Walmart lost the first one in transit, so gave me another $20 off for my trouble), was all in one piece, was a very simple setup and has been working quite well for four days. Picture quality is just fine. The audio could be better but is passable. Can't exactly expect Bose-like audio quality at that price. If I get a few years (maybe even 5) of trouble-free viewing, I will be extremely happy with my purchase. My old TV (a 42" Insignia from Best Buy for a little more money) was good for 5 years before the picture quality began to degrade.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What a Let Down
4/24/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My Boyfriend bought this TV online and had it shipped to the store. As soon as it arrived we went to Walmart and picked it up. There was a decent size scratch on the box but nothing that would of damaged the TV. We opened it up and set it up and everything was perfect until we turned it on. The entire screen was broken. The actual physical screen wasn't broken but the image part right behind it was cracked entirely and the screen was destroyed to where it look like someone kicked it or dropped it or something. Sadly they do not carry this item in store just online. It is not something we will order again just because of the awful experience. Other than that the TV stand didn't seem that sturdy. It was meant to have a swivel aspect to it but it made the TV shake if you were walking near it and it just seemed as if it would fall over.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (379)No (151)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Under $300 no brainer
9/3/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I mean come on, you pay around $280 after tax! TV arrived in 4 days and I have to say for being brand new and not refurbished this is the deal of the century! The best thing about the Sceptre is I had lower expectations for the brand and price and was utterly blown away by the picture quality and features! It's no smart TV , but it looks as good as my Vizio 50" and you can buy 2 of these for the price of a mid grade name brand! Totally worth a shot for the money!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (171)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
. Worst experience ever. .
10/9/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ordered a 50 inch online because i can't leave my house with disabled bed bound child. It was delivered on time only to Set it up and find out it was damaged. Lines was across half of the screen. Worst experience ever. Took it back to Walmart. Still trying to find another TV.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good basic 50 inch TV.
8/26/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Sound is not fantastic but for the price it is good. Channels are all brought in well so the tuner is good. Free delivery to my neighborhood Walmart is excellent, the smaller store has no line at the service counter and it's at the front of the store instead of the rear. Just don't tell everyone or it will ruin it so this is just our secret. Mounting to a wall with an articulated mount makes it even better ( don't forget to cover the cords or at least bundle them together).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best TV for the money.
9/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm a single girl living on my own and I knew I had to be smart with my budget when I was TV shopping but then again I didn't want something that wouldn't hold up leaving me miserable. I own an Xbox One so I had no need for a Smart TV I just wanted something at least 50" and great quality. I was questionable from the price if this would be a good buy and I now can honestly say I'm am extremely satisfied! It's perfect for watching blue rays or regular tv I can't wait to order another for my bedroom!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (116)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
wonderful
7/7/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Sorry folks I so messed up the review, I bought two Sceptre TV's a 32 and 50 inch. I am pretty sure I have them twisted. This is a great tv easy to assemble and setup with good clarity. Great for tv or gaming. The smaller one is great for gaming, the bigger one replace an old projector TV and given as a gift to my father. You can't go wrong. Of course as with all larger purchases I make sure I get an extended warranty. The swivel has stopped complaints of TV glare from any lights in the room or the sun through the windows. I hope you enjoy the picture.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (88)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
TV Damaged when Arrived, Box and Exterior Fine
6/12/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I would highly recommend that BEFORE you spend 1/2 an hour installing the BASE on this TV that you plug it in and see if it is damaged. I wasted a morning getting it setup and carried to my bedroom. Turned it on and the screen is all busted. Not anything you can see on the exterior. The TV when turned off looks excellent, not a scratch, the box I received it in (thru FedEx) has no damage. I turned the TV on and the plasma screen is all busted. (see pic) How will I ever get this back into the box and hauled to Walmart? Wasted my morning.... now waste afternoon trying to dismantle the base and get it all back into the box.. The TV looks nice and it is lighter than my 40" Sony. I can carry it from one room to the next easier than my heavier Sony.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640679, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-