Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 4978 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

4978 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

4978 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2926
4 stars
1201
3 stars
236
2 stars
120
1 stars
495
1-20 of 4969 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 4969 total reviews
1-20 of 4969 reviews
TV was returned for malfuction to Sceptre
10/8/2014

Customer review by Tobasco71

1.0 stars 10/8/2014 by Tobasco71
by Tobasco71

TV was replaced due to warranty and 2nd TV needs replaced due to bad picture with multicolor lines across screen.

Was this review helpful? (415) (81)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tobasco71
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just what I wanted
1/24/2014

Customer review by Bobblesworth

4.0 stars 1/24/2014 by Bobblesworth
by Bobblesworth
Top 1000 contributor

I bought this for gaming in my living room. I do mostly PC gaming so it was important that the TV could keep up. So far it does. I had to mess about a bit with my video card resolution settings. Using HDMI the NVIDIA control will accept it as a PC monitor up to 1680x1050 resolution, or as an HD Monitor at the 1080P, 1920x1080. Using it as an HD Monitor takes a bit of mucking about with some settings, but looks amazing when it's all set! As for the speaker.. you can forget it. Even a decent pair of earbuds would sound better (tested it!). If you're going with something like a sound bar or wireless gaming headset like I do, keep in mind that the TV does NOT have connections for digital optical. but it DOES have digital Coax, and of course, HDMI or standard 3.5mm analog. Also, it can mount flush against a wall without worrying about losing access to input/output connections. All in all, if it lasts at least decade I would say it's more than a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (752) (281)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bobblesworth
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Top 1000 contributor
Overall it's a great buy!
2/20/2014

Customer review by JabrielsMom

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by JabrielsMom
by JabrielsMom
Top 250 contributor

The picture quality is great. Nice and vivid. It also has settings so you can change the sound quality as well as picture quality... That's a great option. It's big and easy to assemble. I will be purchasing a sound bar just because the sound quality to me isn't as great as I wanted as I am a big movie person. But other then that its everything I wanted. Great price

Was this review helpful? (769) (262)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JabrielsMom
Lynnwood, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Top 250 contributor
You get what you pay for! Beware!
12/13/2014

Customer review by TechnoRick

2.0 stars 12/13/2014 by TechnoRick
by TechnoRick

Have had TV for less than one year and lines of pixels are disappearing! Sceptre customer service will only help if I can provide information found only under wall mount! MAYBE. Don't waste your money! Buy from reputable manufacturer!

Was this review helpful? (247) (106)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechnoRick
Rockford, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Nice TV....questionable shipment method
5/24/2014

Customer review by SeptreTV50inch

1.0 stars 5/24/2014 by SeptreTV50inch
by SeptreTV50inch
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I think we would have loved this television.....had it been delivered undamaged....TWICE!!!

Was this review helpful? (234) (148)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeptreTV50inch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the price
8/14/2014

Customer review by SouthernNovice

3.0 stars 8/14/2014 by SouthernNovice
by SouthernNovice
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

If you're not super picky about your entertainment, It's cheaper than the rest. The size is large, the visual quality is pretty good. But the way it's made is only ok. The foam around the edges of the screen is inconsistent so there are places where you can see the light coming through from the inside of the tv.

Was this review helpful? (788) (181)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SouthernNovice
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Two For The ManCave ( two different models)
9/24/2016

Customer review by TheWrench

5.0 stars 9/24/2016 by TheWrench
by TheWrench

I bought two of these TV's three weeks apart and they are different models. The first 50' Sceptre I hung over the mancave/garage bar. The picture is stunning for a sub $300 TV so I bought another (few weeks later) to hang in the other corner for multiple Nascar and football games. The first 50" was model X505BV-FMQC and has a very slim bezel, power LED on the left side and a 200 X 400 VESA pattern. The second 50" model X505BV-FMQR has a thicker bezel, power led in the center and a 200 X 200 VESA pattern. Both have a great picture but It would have been nice to have a matching pair. I like the FMQC a little better because of the slim bezel. On Walmart's site the model number ends at the letter F so you may receive either the FMQR or the FMQC. I have both TV's on Directv and also wired to my HTPC computer via HDMI from a NVIDIA Gforce GTX 750 TI along with a QNIX 27" 1440P monitor with sound from a DENON AVR E-400 receiver.

Was this review helpful? (62) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheWrench
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product & Excellent
11/22/2016

Customer review by Dillon

5.0 stars 11/22/2016 by Dillon
by Dillon

I've had this Television for only four days now and found everything exceptionaly easy to set up without reading the manual. Sound quality is great. I cannot wait until it's connected to My home theater system and watch a movie or a concert from one of My favorite Artists. So in closing Thank You for a solution fat so good product! Yours truly Robert E. Dillon the Third

Dillon
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My second Sceptre!
9/1/2016

Customer review by whitwhit87

5.0 stars 9/1/2016 by whitwhit87
by whitwhit87

I bought our first about 3 years ago... A 32'' and it's still hanging in there!.. Here recently I bought our second an 50"and my husband can't stay away! We're believers lol and once we get our home, we'll be back for the third!

whitwhit87
Dallas, Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Under $300 no brainer
9/3/2016

Customer review by Chunkydunk

5.0 stars 9/3/2016 by Chunkydunk
by Chunkydunk

I mean come on, you pay around $280 after tax! TV arrived in 4 days and I have to say for being brand new and not refurbished this is the deal of the century! The best thing about the Sceptre is I had lower expectations for the brand and price and was utterly blown away by the picture quality and features! It's no smart TV , but it looks as good as my Vizio 50" and you can buy 2 of these for the price of a mid grade name brand! Totally worth a shot for the money!

Was this review helpful? (125) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chunkydunk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Images with similar colors are muddy
1/7/2014

Customer review by MacQued

2.0 stars 1/7/2014 by MacQued
by MacQued
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First... the package was brutally damaged during shipping. I know this is an issue with FedEx, but believe it should be noted in case anyone else has a similar experience. The TV itself is OK but the picture quality leaves much to be desired. Even when viewing HD content, any image with similar colors or colors in the background appear to be a glob. Watching a basketball game, a player's jersey wouldn't show any detail and you could hardly make out the team logo on the shirt. Not talking about high action plays either, even the players on the bench seemed to appear muddy. The color does not seem as rich as other LED TVs and the blacks need to be much darker for better depth with the images. If I had it to do over again, I would've bought a used Samsung I found on Amazon.

Was this review helpful? (212) (93)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MacQued
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I took a chance, so far, so good
12/15/2016

Customer review by Wessid

4.0 stars 12/15/2016 by Wessid
by Wessid
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got an email about a great deal on a 50" flat screen HDTV. I did some online research on the product and it came up as a decent deal for the price. The biggest complaint was about product damage during shipping and the near-impossible attempts to get repairs performed during the warranty period. So I took a chance. My TV finally arrived (Walmart lost the first one in transit, so gave me another $20 off for my trouble), was all in one piece, was a very simple setup and has been working quite well for four days. Picture quality is just fine. The audio could be better but is passable. Can't exactly expect Bose-like audio quality at that price. If I get a few years (maybe even 5) of trouble-free viewing, I will be extremely happy with my purchase. My old TV (a 42" Insignia from Best Buy for a little more money) was good for 5 years before the picture quality began to degrade.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wessid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
MY BEST PURCHASE EVER "THANKS SCEPTRE"
7/17/2014

Customer review by MALEMASTERUS

5.0 stars 7/17/2014 by MALEMASTERUS
by MALEMASTERUS

OMG...I just order this 2 days ago and it's already here!!! It wasn't suppose to arrive until tomorrow, of course I couldn't wait to unwrap it. To my surprise, people were right on point with the reviews, my only concern was that I didn't want to be disappointed with it being damaged from the delivery, but again to my surprise, it came perfectly intact. Bigger than what I imagined. If you're looking for a great TV at a unbelievable price...look no further...THIS PRODUCT WILL AMAZE YOU. I am so happy I can scream!!! PS: Most TV's don't come equipped with a headphone jack, but this one does. So I decided to do to increase my sound by connecting my computer speakers with woofer to the TV and WOW!!! the sound is amazing, it beats paying too much for unnecessary components, such as audio bars and Theater systems....a good computer speaker system does the trick...the key is the woofer. I recommend Gateway...the sound quality is better. Any one will do. Thanks to the Sceptre Company for such a great product, keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? (1141) (379)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MALEMASTERUS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
TV Damaged when Arrived, Box and Exterior Fine
6/12/2014

Customer review by StephieG

3.0 stars 6/12/2014 by StephieG
by StephieG

I would highly recommend that BEFORE you spend 1/2 an hour installing the BASE on this TV that you plug it in and see if it is damaged. I wasted a morning getting it setup and carried to my bedroom. Turned it on and the screen is all busted. Not anything you can see on the exterior. The TV when turned off looks excellent, not a scratch, the box I received it in (thru FedEx) has no damage. I turned the TV on and the plasma screen is all busted. (see pic) How will I ever get this back into the box and hauled to Walmart? Wasted my morning.... now waste afternoon trying to dismantle the base and get it all back into the box.. The TV looks nice and it is lighter than my 40" Sony. I can carry it from one room to the next easier than my heavier Sony.

Was this review helpful? (36) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StephieG
MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
SERVICE IS HORRIBLE! It took over 6-months!!!
1/18/2014

Customer review by ussmarshal

1.0 stars 1/18/2014 by ussmarshal
by ussmarshal
Top 100 contributor

My SCEPTRE TV was working fine, good sale price and I bought the extra service plan. That's where the fun begins! At almost 1-year half my picture went out, it took over 6-months for SCEPTRE to get a new TV to me. Here's the rest of the story. Their service center is in California and YOU have to get it there. Even when I got the TV back to them they sent one, 6-months later that was broken- the screen looked like a baseball went through it. All this time, I'm without my BIG SCREEN TV. SCEPTRE finally agreed because the UPS driver was a friend of mine and noted the box was damaged and charted the damage back to the drop-off point in California, they sent me another TV - hey this only took 2 more months. Now I'm without my BIG SCREEN TV for almost 8-months - totally unbelievable! When they finally sent me a new TV to replace my original broken SCEPTRE JUNK, they sent me a replacement that looked the same, but it was a cheaper model that didn't have all the features like Picture-IN-A-Picture, etc. I seriously would not recommend a SCEPTRE, spend a couple bucks extra and get something else.

Was this review helpful? (2295) (285)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ussmarshal
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Top 100 contributor
Broken from shipping
8/29/2014

Customer review by jennir70

1.0 stars 8/29/2014 by jennir70
by jennir70

Bought this online and shipped to store. When i plugged it in the screen was smashed. Poor quality.

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jennir70
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great TV, I have 3
9/25/2014

Customer review by msethel23

5.0 stars 9/25/2014 by msethel23
by msethel23
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love these TV's !!! My picture is soooooo clear you can't believe a TV of the Brand would be sooooooo good. Easy to set up and channels were easy to install.....!!!!

Was this review helpful? (161) (61)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msethel23
Inglewood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT DEAL
1/5/2017

Customer review by Television

5.0 stars 1/5/2017 by Television
by Television
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Resolution is awesome! Sound is great and is a very light TV. I PAID 267 dollars for it which seemed like a steal. Thank you wal mart. Love you lol

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Television
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
50" TV
6/7/2014

Customer review by sgenseke

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by sgenseke
by sgenseke
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is NOT a smart tv. This is a black, 50", LED tv 1080p/ 60htz. It is great for cable, satellite, DVD/blu ray. You can also hook it up as a monitor to your pc. It is Ryobi-stick ready --if you want a smart tv without the price tag. I got this tv for $400, which is an amazing price. I'm very pleased with it, I have never bought the sceptre brand before as of: 6/6/14, I have no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (232) (119)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sgenseke
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent purchase
10/31/2016

Customer review by Curt

5.0 stars 10/31/2016 by Curt
by Curt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Can't imagine a better deal or higher quality for the money. Nothing but praise all around. Good job Walmart and Sceptre.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Curt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 4969 total reviews
1-20 of 4969 reviews