Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 3005 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

3005 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

3005 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1698
4 stars
767
3 stars
134
2 stars
77
1 stars
329
1-20 of 3001 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 3001 total reviews
1-20 of 3001 reviews
SERVICE IS HORRIBLE! It took over 6-months!!!
1/18/2014

Customer review by ussmarshal

1.0 stars 1/18/2014 by ussmarshal
by ussmarshal

My SCEPTRE TV was working fine, good sale price and I bought the extra service plan. That's where the fun begins! At almost 1-year half my picture went out, it took over 6-months for SCEPTRE to get a new TV to me. Here's the rest of the story. Their service center is in California and YOU have to get it there. Even when I got the TV back to them they sent one, 6-months later that was broken- the screen looked like a baseball went through it. All this time, I'm without my BIG SCREEN TV. SCEPTRE finally agreed because the UPS driver was a friend of mine and noted the box was damaged and charted the damage back to the drop-off point in California, they sent me another TV - hey this only took 2 more months. Now I'm without my BIG SCREEN TV for almost 8-months - totally unbelievable! When they finally sent me a new TV to replace my original broken SCEPTRE JUNK, they sent me a replacement that looked the same, but it was a cheaper model that didn't have all the features like Picture-IN-A-Picture, etc. I seriously would not recommend a SCEPTRE, spend a couple bucks extra and get something else.

Was this review helpful? (1103) (144)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ussmarshal
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Big tv for a low price.
12/12/2013

Customer review by OrDucks

4.0 stars 12/12/2013 by OrDucks
by OrDucks

picture quality is not bad at all. sound quality is fair. treble is good but there's just no bass there. tv was very well packaged in a large box that says the warranty is voided if tv is shipped in any other box. so you need to keep the original box and foam otherwise no warranty.

Was this review helpful? (133) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OrDucks
Portland Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the price
8/14/2014

Customer review by SouthernNovice

3.0 stars 8/14/2014 by SouthernNovice
by SouthernNovice

If you're not super picky about your entertainment, It's cheaper than the rest. The size is large, the visual quality is pretty good. But the way it's made is only ok. The foam around the edges of the screen is inconsistent so there are places where you can see the light coming through from the inside of the tv.

Was this review helpful? (184) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthernNovice
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
MY BEST PURCHASE EVER "THANKS SCEPTRE"
7/17/2014

Customer review by MALEMASTERUS

5.0 stars 7/17/2014 by MALEMASTERUS
by MALEMASTERUS

OMG...I just order this 2 days ago and it's already here!!! It wasn't suppose to arrive until tomorrow, of course I couldn't wait to unwrap it. To my surprise, people were right on point with the reviews, my only concern was that I didn't want to be disappointed with it being damaged from the delivery, but again to my surprise, it came perfectly intact. Bigger than what I imagined. If you're looking for a great TV at a unbelievable price...look no further...THIS PRODUCT WILL AMAZE YOU. I am so happy I can scream!!! PS: Most TV's don't come equipped with a headphone jack, but this one does. So I decided to do to increase my sound by connecting my computer speakers with woofer to the TV and WOW!!! the sound is amazing, it beats paying too much for unnecessary components, such as audio bars and Theater systems....a good computer speaker system does the trick...the key is the woofer. I recommend Gateway...the sound quality is better. Any one will do. Thanks to the Sceptre Company for such a great product, keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? (652) (239)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MALEMASTERUS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I wanted
1/24/2014

Customer review by Bobblesworth

4.0 stars 1/24/2014 by Bobblesworth
by Bobblesworth

I bought this for gaming in my living room. I do mostly PC gaming so it was important that the TV could keep up. So far it does. I had to mess about a bit with my video card resolution settings. Using HDMI the NVIDIA control will accept it as a PC monitor up to 1680x1050 resolution, or as an HD Monitor at the 1080P, 1920x1080. Using it as an HD Monitor takes a bit of mucking about with some settings, but looks amazing when it's all set! As for the speaker.. you can forget it. Even a decent pair of earbuds would sound better (tested it!). If you're going with something like a sound bar or wireless gaming headset like I do, keep in mind that the TV does NOT have connections for digital optical. but it DOES have digital Coax, and of course, HDMI or standard 3.5mm analog. Also, it can mount flush against a wall without worrying about losing access to input/output connections. All in all, if it lasts at least decade I would say it's more than a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (213) (69)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobblesworth
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT VALUE FOR THE PRICE
1/8/2014

Customer review by BASSMD

4.0 stars 1/8/2014 by BASSMD
by BASSMD

I bought this TV for $399 and honestly was a little skeptical about the possible lack of quality and features. I am extremely happy now that I did make the purchase. The picture quality is very good, I didn't check "excellent" because it is just that, "very good". If you're looking for an excellent picture, then you will have to spend more money. The sound quality is lacking.I have it connected to my home theater surround system so when just the TV sound is on, there is a huge difference. Other than those two issues, THIS IS A GREAT TV. As I mentioned the picture is very nice, great color, has a lot of options & features. If you have, or can purchase & connect this TV to a surround sound system, then you are set with a nice entertainment center. I have only had it for a week so I have not had a chance to explore all the features it has to offer, but I have this TV set up in our family room & WE LOVE IT!!! EXCELLENT 50" TV FOR THE PRICE.

Was this review helpful? (113) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BASSMD
ANAHEIM, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall it's a great buy!
2/20/2014

Customer review by JabrielsMom

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by JabrielsMom
by JabrielsMom

The picture quality is great. Nice and vivid. It also has settings so you can change the sound quality as well as picture quality... That's a great option. It's big and easy to assemble. I will be purchasing a sound bar just because the sound quality to me isn't as great as I wanted as I am a big movie person. But other then that its everything I wanted. Great price

Was this review helpful? (361) (151)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JabrielsMom
Lynnwood, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Top 500 contributor
Great TV, I have 3
9/25/2014

Customer review by msethel23

5.0 stars 9/25/2014 by msethel23
by msethel23

I love these TV's !!! My picture is soooooo clear you can't believe a TV of the Brand would be sooooooo good. Easy to set up and channels were easy to install.....!!!!

Was this review helpful? (67) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msethel23
Inglewood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth the Price
12/22/2013

Customer review by jdmattin

4.0 stars 12/22/2013 by jdmattin
by jdmattin

Bought this based on the price and the overall good reviews. 50 inch tv for $370 at the time, i had to take a shot. I had never heard of the brand before, but like i said the previous reviews was enough for me. TV is very light and sharp looking. The sound is not great, but if you are going to buy a 50 inch tv, your probably not planning on using the normal sound. I myself have a Sony surround sound so the lack of sound on the TV was not an issue. The picture out of the box was way too bright. After playing around with it, i got it to look much better with the setting options. The picture is crisp and clear, though its not as big of an upgrade on the 42 inch lcd we had before. Still considering the cost, size and LED feature, it was worth the cost. Don't let the lack of a big name fool you, this TV is for real and is worth the price. Buy it. You wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (80) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jdmattin
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Images with similar colors are muddy
1/7/2014

Customer review by MacQued

2.0 stars 1/7/2014 by MacQued
by MacQued

First... the package was brutally damaged during shipping. I know this is an issue with FedEx, but believe it should be noted in case anyone else has a similar experience. The TV itself is OK but the picture quality leaves much to be desired. Even when viewing HD content, any image with similar colors or colors in the background appear to be a glob. Watching a basketball game, a player's jersey wouldn't show any detail and you could hardly make out the team logo on the shirt. Not talking about high action plays either, even the players on the bench seemed to appear muddy. The color does not seem as rich as other LED TVs and the blacks need to be much darker for better depth with the images. If I had it to do over again, I would've bought a used Samsung I found on Amazon.

Was this review helpful? (137) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MacQued
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a Let Down
4/24/2014

Customer review by Sadcustomerrrr12345

1.0 stars 4/24/2014 by Sadcustomerrrr12345
by Sadcustomerrrr12345

My Boyfriend bought this TV online and had it shipped to the store. As soon as it arrived we went to Walmart and picked it up. There was a decent size scratch on the box but nothing that would of damaged the TV. We opened it up and set it up and everything was perfect until we turned it on. The entire screen was broken. The actual physical screen wasn't broken but the image part right behind it was cracked entirely and the screen was destroyed to where it look like someone kicked it or dropped it or something. Sadly they do not carry this item in store just online. It is not something we will order again just because of the awful experience. Other than that the TV stand didn't seem that sturdy. It was meant to have a swivel aspect to it but it made the TV shake if you were walking near it and it just seemed as if it would fall over.

Was this review helpful? (211) (88)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sadcustomerrrr12345
Would recommend to a friend? No
Seriously Impressed!
12/14/2013

Customer review by TheSuperlobo

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by TheSuperlobo
by TheSuperlobo

don't let the negative reviews of others keep you from buying this amazing TV. True the sound is a little off, the volume tends to be a little loud. I usually keep the volume at 5 or so. That being said, the sound quality is great! Plus I don't mind turning down the volume a bit if it saves me hundeds compared to a bigger name brand like this one did.

Was this review helpful? (82) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheSuperlobo
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i'm just a gal who watches tv....and occasional dv
1/5/2014

Customer review by spolice

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by spolice
by spolice

I was looking for a 40-45" tv to replace my big tube TV which is dying. but when i stumbled upon this 50" for the price (at the time $349) I knew I had to jump on it. I got the warranty to be safe b/c i was not familiar with the brand. Had it shipped to store and it was in good condition when i picked it up. It's really light weight. I could've gotten up my 2 flight of stairs by myself! All the parts/tools were in the box accordingly, even a screwdriver. It was pretty easy to hook up. I got my dvd player hooked up, my att UVERSE hooked up to it fine. Probably took me all of 20mins from box to watching. The picture is good. You can have cinema, wide, standard, zoom and some other type of screens. it was easy to get my dvd's showing. so i'm all set. I knew the volume was a common problem in some of the other reviews so i was prepared. but at the same time, i have a very small living room. the volume does not seem to be a problem for me. in fact, the boys are watching it in the living room now, and i'm in the next room and can hear what they are watching so....the picture seems good enough for me. no cracks or pixel problems as far as i can see either. of course, this is DAY 1...let's hope i'm still just as happy in 6-12mos...

Was this review helpful? (436) (236)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spolice
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
no sound!
1/9/2014

Customer review by nic922

1.0 stars 1/9/2014 by nic922
by nic922

I bought my husband a tv for Christmas. The box was a little damaged, but it was last minute so I took it anyway. He took it out of the box and the screen was cracked. So we took it back and this time bought the sceptre. The tv was wobbly on its base and then when we turned it on there was no sound! I tried to call the helpline and had the option to leave a message or go online. So, I went online. When I entered the serial number it was already registered! This will be my first AND LAST Sceptre purchase. Not only a horrible product, horrible service!

Was this review helpful? (46) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nic922
summerville sc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Long time Sceptre owner of servial TVs
12/10/2013

Customer review by blazingbolt

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by blazingbolt
by blazingbolt

I have used Sceptre TVs in the past. I bought my first 1 a 32" model about 4 years ago. Spectre makes all of Sony TVs. So the quality should be on par with similar sets. First off this thing is huge. The mounting pattern for the Vesa is 200mm and the screw size is m6. I was actually able to wall mount it with a 37" mount with a weight rating of 50lbs and that has a vesa pattern of 200mm. It wont stay on that mount because I have a bigger mount coming, but I just though I would let you know you could. I am using this tv in my bedroom / home office. I have my computer connected to it through HDMI and using it as a third monitor when needed. The picture is great. But the auto contrast feature makes the picture change brightness regularly when watching movies so I suggest turning it off. Set is a great buy and good for everyday use. I have dealt with Sceptre customer service in the past, and I was very satisfied when they repaired a tv that was out of warranty at no cost to me. Get this set, you will love it.

Was this review helpful? (676) (384)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blazingbolt
Porter, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Buy for a great price
4/21/2014

Customer review by KristaK1981

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by KristaK1981
by KristaK1981

I was super happy with this find, the TV is working out great for our living room. Shipping was quick it arrived in 48 hours with standard shipping to the home and it made a nice upgrade to our 42inch plasma 720 HD that we had before. The picture and sound are great and the MHL throw cast works well with our Sony XperiaZ1s cell phones.

Was this review helpful? (38) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KristaK1981
Lansdowne, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great TV.
6/7/2014

Customer review by ArtinSgtn

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by ArtinSgtn
by ArtinSgtn

My first HDTV. I upgraded my cable contract and this TV was the perfect match. Easy to assemble and set up. The picture is just great. 50" is just right size for our living room. I couldn't have made a better choice, especially for the price. Delivery was quick and the store personnel were very helpful loading it into my car.

Was this review helpful? (48) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArtinSgtn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV for the price.
2/22/2014

Customer review by grumpybear1031

5.0 stars 2/22/2014 by grumpybear1031
by grumpybear1031

Delivered by FedEx in perfect condition two days after I ordered it. Stand was easily put together and I had it up and working in under ten minutes. Picture quality is fantastic. I've got my Roku stick as well as my PS3 connected and it works wonderfully with both. I didn't need a TV with all the smart features so this was a perfect choice. While I can see where some people using the TV in a large room might have issues with the sound, for the smaller den I'm using it it it's perfectly fine. I already had a sound bar for my 32" Vizio, which got moved to the bedroom, so I hooked that up to it too and am perfectly happy. If you're looking for a lower cost 50" TV that performs like a more expensive model this is definitely the way to go. No, it doesn't have all of the bells and whistles some of the newer TV's have but I didn't need them anyway. My favorite non tech related feature of the TV is actually the swivel base it's nice to be able to easily turn the TV for a better viewing angle.

Was this review helpful? (58) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grumpybear1031
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price, Good picture!!! I'm happy w/ it!
12/9/2013

Customer review by 94sam126

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by 94sam126
by 94sam126

Set up was easy! I hooked up a Sony surround sound system to it and that set up was even easier. You will need a sound system as the speakers w/ in the TV are less than fantastic. The picture is great but you must have HDTV box or provider to get the full expierence. The price was great and this TV compares to other mid to higher end sets.read the instruction. If needed get HDMI cords and use them, they enhance the expierence and make it easy for set up of other applications. GET ONE!!!!

Was this review helpful? (74) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
94sam126
West Chester,Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Purchase
12/17/2013

Customer review by LBCOP

5.0 stars 12/17/2013 by LBCOP
by LBCOP

I really wanted a 50" Vizio smart TV, I just didn't have the Money. I found the scepter and thought what the ____! Bought it for $399. and got a 3 year warranty for $39. Also bought a Chomecast dew-hicky for $35.. Now I got a smart TV. Great Pic. Sound needed some adjusting but its great. Beats the heck out of my Samsung and Sony Bravia. Those were great TV's too now they r both boat anchors. Lousey quality on both. They both broke down 6 months after the warranty expired and the companies/stores wouldn't help me at all. I am guaranteed to be happy for 3 years and have Netflix for $7. a month. Great TV. Get one.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LBCOP
Los Angeles, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 3001 total reviews
1-20 of 3001 reviews