Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 1.8 out of 5

2.0 stars

12 reviews | 1.8 out of 5

2.0 stars

12 reviews | 1.8 out of 5

25%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
9
1-12 of 12 total reviews
25%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

for fair to medium skin
2/26/2014

Customer review by TAMELA1964

4.0 stars 2/26/2014 by TAMELA1964
by TAMELA1964

When you use this make sure you rub it on not rub it in alot or you lose color. This product is best for fair to med skin tones. It gives a light golden brown color and lasts several days. It smells like hairspray and not like a self tanner and the smell goes away after about an hour. Does not rub off on clothes. Make sure you wear gloves or use a sponge because it will stain your palms. I have the equate mousse, the bronzing spray and the bronzing lotion all. Out of all of them I like the spray the best. All of these products covers spider veins and age spots. I love them. I think the mousse gives the lightest color of the three but is still very pretty.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TAMELA1964
bradfordsville ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I've never been tanner
3/14/2014

Customer review by Lizxoxo

5.0 stars 3/14/2014 by Lizxoxo
by Lizxoxo

I have very fair skin and freckles, so as you would assume I won't tan, I BURN! With this it leaves a nice non streaky nor orange tan. I get so excited when I wake up the next morning to go wash it off. I use this product 2 times a week. However, if you do put this on at night and leave it on while you sleep and have light colored sheets I would recommend putting a towel down or an old sheet because it did leave a stain on my sheets(my sheets are white). The night I put it on it does have the typical fake tan smell with a hint of flowers, but the next day when I wash it off it's gone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lizxoxo
Salisbury, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for fair to light skin.
6/18/2014

Customer review by missytexas

4.0 stars 6/18/2014 by missytexas
by missytexas

If you're looking for a deep tan after the first application, you better look elsewhere. But if you're very fair skinned, say a MAC NC20, this works very well in giving you a healthy sun-kissed glow that can be built up to a nice light to medium bronze. It is therefore a 'believable' tan for us pale gals. With the mitt (sold separately) it is almost foolproof to apply. The mousse is a very dark (quite scary) grayish brown right out of the can, making it very easy to see where and how evenly you've applied the product, thus eliminating unwanted streaking. This "color guard" is rather dark and gray on the skin, until you wash it off, leaving you with a much lighter, yet still definitely more bronzed color than what you started with before using the product. Which is perhaps why so many reviewers seem to be disappointed with the color pay-off. For an instantly darker tan, try the spray from the same line. Again, it IS a comparatively gentle bronze. But it definitely works very well. If you're fair to light, I recommend giving it a try.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missytexas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Such a disappointment :(
4/24/2014

Customer review by FaShionMEe

1.0 stars 4/24/2014 by FaShionMEe
by FaShionMEe

I purchased this product (the foaming mousse) because the bottle says compare to ST. TROPEZ. I was very excited to try this out. I followed the directions; I showered and exfoliated, then moisturized and waited for that to air dry. Once that was dry I applied the mousse with a mitt (so glad I did bc it would have dyed my hands). I waited for it to dry, which was very quickly, before getting dressed and going to bed. Since it was dry it didn't rub off on my sheets or clothing. The next part of the directions say to "shower in order to get the golden tan you desire", well all that did was completely wash off what I put on and left me with my normal, pale skin. This is pointless. I even tried to wear it the way it was before I washed it off and the second anything wet drips on your skin, game over because now there is a huge wet splotch on your arm. Ugh VERY DISAPPOINTED

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FaShionMEe
Altoona, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A waste of money.
1/19/2014

Customer review by BRLokey

1.0 stars 1/19/2014 by BRLokey
by BRLokey

I had high hopes for this product because I usually and fairly pleased with Equate products. Unfortunately this one let me down. It was a very dark foam, that I liked because I could see exactly where it was and if there were missed spots. But it went down hill from there. The mousse was very sticky and dry with an unpleasant odor. After application, it took over ten minutes for it to feel "almost" dry enough to get dressed. I left it on over night (longer than the minimum of four hours recommended in the directions) and showered. EVERYTHING washed off with the black "bronze" coloring from the application. I was absolutely as pale as I was before applying the product the day before. No "Golden" color as promised on the bottle. Absolutely no color at all! I was very disappointed. Unfortunately I will stick with my original theory when it comes to self tanners and that is "DO NOT VALUE SHOP!". In Equates defense, I have not found any inexpensive self tanners that meet my expectations. From now on, I will either pay to have a salon spray me or pay for the more expensive brands. On the plus side, I also bought the application mitt from Equate and I will be keeping it. It will be perfect for applying sunscreen on my 4 year old in the summer.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BRLokey
VA Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
washes right off
2/4/2014

Customer review by saursmom9

1.0 stars 2/4/2014 by saursmom9
by saursmom9

I put the product on and let it sit for four hours like the directions say then showered and ALL of the product washed off there wasn't any color left on me .

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saursmom9
Chambersburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Seriously?
9/15/2014

Customer review by Kjsa14

1.0 stars 9/15/2014 by Kjsa14
by Kjsa14

I have been using self tanners for 10+ years and have perfected the art of applying it to my body. I loved the foaming mousse self tanners when they first came out and was upset when they were off the market for a brief time and stopped looking for them. When I saw they had them at WalMart this week I was really excited and even more so when I saw the Equate version as I usually don't mind getting Equate brand. When I first started to apply the mousse I noticed it seemed very dark but most of them are and fade after drying but it literally made my hands black but I continued as I liked how it was looking after applying it on the rest of my skin. Stopping to wash my hands frequently I noticed if water dripped on an applied area there was a streak but I would just rub in with some more mousse to blend it in and that seemed to do the trick. When I was done I really, really liked the overall color (not orange at all, very natural brown color one would get from being at the beach) and how it seemed to cover/blend in areas that had a lot of freckles. I made sure I was completely dry before putting my pajamas on and went to bed. When I awoke, I had the same great color and was overjoyed at my results. I needed to take a shower due to the smell (as most self tanners do) but ate breakfast first. I spilled a little of my tea down my chin when I was drinking and then some dripped on my arm. Everywhere it got wet (mind you it has been 12 hours after application) the tan was completely gone! Streaks exactly where my tea dripped. I was really worried so I just jumped in the shower to see if I couldn't blend it in or something and it all just literally came off!!! All of it! Brown water just ran off my body and I was the same color as when I started. I have had spray tans, mystic booth tans, used lotions and foams for over 10 years (even with the orange stuff) and have never had this happen! I've had it streak shortly after applying if it got wet but never after it dried overnight and then got wet. Yes it really looks great after applying and if you plan to go out after applying you might look great as long as you don't get wet at all anywhere (don't sweat either). You would also smell funny. I also have had little red bumps all over my body (it's been 2 days now since application) and I've never had an allergic reaction to anything before (except pollen and I only sneeze). Again, I really like most of the equate stuff (I use their "compare to jergens" lotion, their face wash, fem products, etc...) so I was just disappointed at this product. I don't know why it would streak when it gets wet and come completely off with showering. It makes the product useless...I'm assuming the people with positive reviews wrote them before getting wet or showering as I'm not the only one this has happened to. If you still want to try it I would suggest applying a small area on your hip or back side and then splash it with one drop of water the next morning and see what I'm talking about...and if you see a streak then go get your money back. I like that WalMart accepted my return. Oh and having done this for so long I knew to shower and exfoliate before applying and you DON'T put regular lotion on either...you should put self tanning foam, spray, or lotion on clean, exfoliated, dry skin as some lotions might create a barrier to it sticking...so I did this routine and it still washed all off. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kjsa14
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Washes right off, streaks
5/1/2014

Customer review by purpleorangeturtle

1.0 stars 5/1/2014 by purpleorangeturtle
by purpleorangeturtle

Unfortunately this is more like the tanning mousse from the old days. It streaks really bad and after you wait the 4 hours and rinse off it all comes off in the shower. Yes it is cheap but it is worthless, a waste of $8.00. There is a reason St Tropez is $40, it actually works and there are no extra steps involved, you just put it on and you are done. I even used the St Tropez applicator with the equate and it still streaked like crazy. Terrible quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
purpleorangeturtle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't get Excited - Not Even Close to St. Tropez
9/4/2014

Customer review by WalmartShopper753

1.0 stars 9/4/2014 by WalmartShopper753
by WalmartShopper753

I have used St. Tropez for a couple years now and love it! I saw this and thought, well let's try the Equate version of the bronzing mousse. If it works, I will be so excited to save a lot of money! The Equate kind was very runny and dripped everywhere when I dispensed the mousse. I used St. Tropez on one leg and Equate on the other. I used double the amount of product on the "Equate leg" because I could see that it didn't appear to cover as well. When I washed the tanners off in the morning, the Equate version completely washed away and barely left any kind of color at all on my leg. The "St. Tropez leg" had a nice bronze tint like always and I had used half as much mousse as I had with the Equate product. I ended up throwing the bottle of Equate foam away. I am sticking with St. Tropez. It is worth the extra money!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartShopper753
Would recommend to a friend? No
Formula is too dry, causes MANY streaks
12/23/2013

Customer review by Hayley2323

1.0 stars 12/23/2013 by Hayley2323
by Hayley2323

The mousse was sticky and dry feeling, in fact WAY too dry. It dried within 5 seconds which gave me no time to rub it completely into my skin. I ended up with splotches all over my skin that were visible immediately. I wanted to test out the color without making myself look like a leopard, so I just used it on a few inches of my arm and left it on for 4 hours before showering, like the directions recommend. When I rinsed off my arm, there was no visible color. Hoping they will reformulate this since it is fairly new to the market. I will be throwing out my full bottle and will NOT repurchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hayley2323
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
THIS STUFF IS HORRIBLE
2/6/2014

Customer review by petunia7900002

1.0 stars 2/6/2014 by petunia7900002
by petunia7900002

Please do not even waste your money. I got this because I didn't want to pay a lot more for the st. tropez tanning mousse. This stuff turns your skin GRAY and it is super dry. I don't have any time so spread it out because it dries almost immediately. I have gray streaks all over my body now. Thankfully it's still winter so I have time for this stuff to all wash off. I think I'm just going to splurge on the St. Tropez when summer comes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
petunia7900002
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't Bother!
7/2/2014

Customer review by mem0527

1.0 stars 7/2/2014 by mem0527
by mem0527

It's a drippy mess that will stain your hands and leave you with ... nothing! The tint is the color of sheer dirt and the "tan" never appeared. Into the trash it went!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mem0527
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female