Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 462 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

462 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

462 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
361
4 stars
66
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 stars
22
1-20 of 457 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 457 total reviews
1-20 of 457 reviews
Simple and easy to use
11/2/2014

Customer review by Rustybuckett

5.0 stars 11/2/2014 by Rustybuckett
by Rustybuckett
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First test turkey done. 11 pound 44 minutes cooking time. Best one I've ever cooked. I'm thawing my second bird a 17 pounder. I will try the injection of butter this time.

Was this review helpful? (65) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rustybuckett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Questionable, whether to recommend to a friend
12/7/2016

Customer review by candymanal

3.0 stars 12/7/2016 by candymanal
by candymanal

I bought this fryer, in the hopes of frying a turkey, in my kitchen. When I received it and removed it from the box. I was initially impressed, with it. However. Once cleaned and ready to plug in? I found the cord, was only 30 inches long. Add to that, it connects, in the front of the fryer. This made it impossible to plug in, on any kitchen counter. After placing it on the floor near an outlet, Its size, made it dangerous, for pedestrian traffic. As it needed to be placed, away from the wall. After adding the oil and turning it on. The preheat cycle, took 45 minutes. Once this was all done. The frying portion, of the preparation, was exactly what they say. 10 pound turkey= 40 minutes. In my estimation. The cord, could have either plugged in from the back, or made longer. Never the less. The turkey was crisp on the outside and happily, very juicy, on the inside.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
candymanal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A deep-fat fryers DREAM!
11/7/2016

Customer review by FryDaddy

5.0 stars 11/7/2016 by FryDaddy
by FryDaddy

After much research into several different styles and models of Turkey Fryer, we settled on the Butterball unit by Masterbuilt. We went with an indoor unit as we figured we’d get much more utility out of it during the rough Midwestern winters. Also this brand has a vaunted reputation from consumers online, real average folks who will put appliances through real-world conditions, not some manufacturer-sponsored lab environment. The fryer was already pretty well set up and with a quick wash of all the major parts and a gander through the instruction manual to ensure safety, I filled it with oil and fired it up. I’ve never used anything larger than a fry daddy or large pot so this thing seemed gargantuan by comparison. Nonetheless, thanks to the numerous Youtube videos watched, I had a good idea about a few things. For my maiden fryer voyage I did a 7 pound whole chicken. For seasoning I simply used the same as I always do except I made a rub and put it all over the chicken. Also, I injected the breasts and thighs for flavor. Using 2 gallons of oil for my 7 pound bird it took the fyer about 40 minutes to heat up. I cooked the chicken for 40 minutes using the 5 minutes/pound + 5 minutes formula, in vegetable oil. The internal temp was a scorching 185 degrees upon lifting the bird out. The chicken was absolutely beautiful and tasted as good as it looked. The entire skin of the chicken was a crispy golden brown and accented by the seasoning adorned upon the entire outside of the chicken. The legs and wings came right off the chicken by hand and the breast meat was juicy and flavorful through and through. Huge surprise for me was that the chicken was just as juicy the next day when heated up in the….Microwave! That never happens with fried food. We let the unit cool down overnight and then drained the oil out the next day. The tub that cooks the chicken is coated with a non-stick material and it lifts completely out of the unit. This allowed me to close the drain valve and fill the tub with soapy water and clean. The small amount of grease and sediments on the bottom came right out. No ‘elbow grease’ needed to scrub! I was extremely satisfied with this experience. A few thoughts to consider: First, if you plan to do fried turkey for thanksgiving and are planning to get an inside unit, this one is hard to beat. However, consider the size of this unit. It can fry up to an 18-20l pound bird so it will need plenty of counter space. If all of your counters are covered by your cabinets this means you will have to find something like a small table or other surface as you won’t be able to open the lid on this. As well, you will need a place to store it when not in use and again, if you have very limited storage space you might be mindful of this going in. They do make smaller units by the same manufacturer and many people can get by with the smaller one as it can still fry up 10-plus pond birds. Also, the technology employed in this is sufficient that you can use any type of cooking oil, not just the highly expensive peanut oil. Another reason we went with this unit is that it steams and boils as well. My wife, mother and mother-in-law are big fans of steamed crab legs and we all love steam pots with vegetables and potatoes. We have family gatherings at least once every couple of months and we can do fish fries, wing parties and not have to worry with going outside if the weather isn’t permissible. Online reviews drove our purchase and please avail yourself of all the wonderful ‘how-to’ vidoes on youtube; it has given us so MANY ideas! All told, we are pleased with this fryer’s performance, and promises of many delicious meals to come.

Was this review helpful? (83) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FryDaddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A good Thanksgiving Feast
12/4/2016

Customer review by Butterball

5.0 stars 12/4/2016 by Butterball
by Butterball
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was hesitant when my husband said he wanted to fry the turkey this year! I was so pleasantly surprised with a moist dinner for my guest! The photo is here! It was easy to set up and clean afterwards too!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Butterball
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Turkey fryer
12/5/2016

Customer review by Niesha

5.0 stars 12/5/2016 by Niesha
by Niesha
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Item is great!!!!! Turkey was great for thanksgiving!!!!! Chicken was great! This was just the best investment ever. Me and my family was happy for sure.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Niesha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Butterball Turkey Fryer.
12/22/2016

Customer review by JP1982

5.0 stars 12/22/2016 by JP1982
by JP1982
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've only got to use this fryer one time but have been completely satisfied with it. The best part of the fryer (except for the delicious turkey) is the VERY easy cleanup. Everything can go in the dishwasher (other than the heating element). I'm looking forward to using this fryer for Christmas.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JP1982
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Fryer
12/29/2015

Customer review by Jeff

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Jeff
by Jeff

The Butterball XL Turkey Fryer is a great product. I researched this fryer using internet reviews, and watched numerous Youtube videos before purchasing. It is safe, convenient, and easy to use. So far, I have fried two turkeys, and fried chicken wings, all while the fryer sits on our contertop. We bought this a couple of weeks before Thanksgiving. It will cook a turkey in 4 minutes per pound. The turkey comes out tender, juicy, and not greasy at all. For extra juciness and taste, we injected the turkey with seasoning juice before frying. We used Peanut oil, and made sure the oil was fresh and clean. I could not get the outside skin to crisp, as I had seen on the video demonstration, but I believe I will have to adjust my turkey preparation. You will not be disappointed with this purchase. Watch the YouTube videos by the maker, Masterbilt, or carefully follow the supplied instructions which will make your frying process simple, safe, and a success.

Was this review helpful? (52) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeff
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tender & Juicy
12/4/2014

Customer review by MsAlwaysCold

5.0 stars 12/4/2014 by MsAlwaysCold
by MsAlwaysCold

It's a wonderful thing and I love it. For those whom like turkey during the winter holidays, this fryer is a must buy. I promise you won't regret it. FYI, there's packing material underneath the bottom of the oil pan at the base of the unit. I didn't know this until the day after I fried the turkey. I found cardboard and bubble wrap and needless to say, some of the bubble wrap melted. I noticed it when I started to dismantle the turkey fryer to drain the oil. After you remove the control panel, push up on the oil pan from the bottom to remove it with ease, then you will have access to the packing materials. The turkey cooks 3-4 minutes per pound. My ten pound turkey cooked for 35 minutes. Be sure to inject it with a marinade before you fry it. I used a store bought marinade. I also melted a half a stick of butter and added it to the marinade. I also seasoned the skin with olive oil and McCormick's Grill Masters chicken seasoning before the frying process. My fried turkey was tender and juicy. Good Luck!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsAlwaysCold
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome!
12/16/2015

Customer review by Kflo37

5.0 stars 12/16/2015 by Kflo37
by Kflo37

My family has fried turkey's for Thanksgiving and Christmas every year since 1999 with the traditional propane fryer. My dad or brother were the ones that always did the frying since I was afraid to use the propane. This year I seen the Butterball XL Turkey Fryer at the Walmart store I shop at regularly. I wasn't sure if it would be as good as the propane fryer but I was excited to be able to fry the turkey myself this year. I felt so much safer using the electric fryer and loved that fact that I could do it inside my house instead of out in the driveway. I can say it fries the turkey just as well if not better than the propane fryer. It seemed like it took less time as well. Clean up for the fryer was quick and easy, I love the little spout you attach to drain the oil. Once everything is cooled it only takes a few minutes to clean everything up! I definitely recommend this fryer!

Was this review helpful? (49) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kflo37
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good but leaked
11/16/2014

Customer review by ScottyG454

4.0 stars 11/16/2014 by ScottyG454
by ScottyG454

We cooked a whole chicken at 350 degrees to test our new fryer before Thanksgiving. The unit heated up in about 40 minutes and maintained the temparature throughout. From a Youtube video (and since the instuctions didn't have cooking time for a whole chicken), we cooked the bird for 5 minutes per pound plus 5 at 350 and it came out to a little over 165 degrees. Chicken was deliciious - crispy outside and juicy inside. We had oil coming out all over the kitchen counter during cooking. After it cooled down, we found that the drainage spout (not the attachment) was lealing. We tightened it up and tested it with water which seemed to fix the problem. I hope it doesn't happen again on Turkey Day! Overall it's a very good product. Cord is short. Instructions do NOT have much in the way of recipes. DON"T waste your money buying the "Dad-Gum" healthy book as it doesn;t have much in frying recipes at all.

Was this review helpful? (40) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScottyG454
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I swear I will never bake another turkey!!!!!!
12/5/2016

Customer review by SassyVal

5.0 stars 12/5/2016 by SassyVal
by SassyVal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got a recipe off youtube that consisted of injecting the turkey with cajun butter, putting a garlic herb butter under the skin and a cajun dry rub. I cooked a 14 lb turkey in 56 minutes! Set up/clean up was a breeze. The turkey was moist inside and golden brown and crispy outside. It was delicious and there was only a carcas left in the end!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SassyVal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Turkey Fried Easy
11/21/2016

Customer review by RocSolid31

5.0 stars 11/21/2016 by RocSolid31
by RocSolid31
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

makes frying a turkey so much easier!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RocSolid31
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Only way to "Fry"
12/19/2015

Customer review by Silvercliff46

5.0 stars 12/19/2015 by Silvercliff46
by Silvercliff46

I have had my regular size fryer for a couple of years now. My fryer is limited to a 14 pound bird. I have more then enough turkey for 8 people. Larger might be even better, as when we are done there are no leftovers. It takes maybe a half hour to get to the temp. (you are heating a lot of oil). I get my turkey done in well under an hour (50-55 min). We have fried donuts, sweet potato and regular fries, many different veggies, corn dogs and more. My son-in-law loves it so much he would call and ask me to fry him one. I always complied, but this year he is getting one for Christmas. I still have my outdoor fryer, and occasionally when I want to spend 5 hours of my life roasting a turkey I will, but not to often any more. Figure it out, I could fry 5 turkeys in the time it takes for one, and still have and hour left over to carve and make my presentation.

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Silvercliff46
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bring on the Feast
11/15/2014

Customer review by Onlinepurshaser

5.0 stars 11/15/2014 by Onlinepurshaser
by Onlinepurshaser

This fryer can do the job. It is huge! Our last meal in it consisted of 6 chicken breast and a dozen chicken legs. It cooked all of these evenly and crisp in a matter of 20 minutes. Everything turned out golden brown. There weren't any hot or cold spots in the fryer; everything cooked evenly. It does take about 45 minutes to warm up so you have to plan ahead. Storage could be a problem, but we just sit it on top of upright freezer in garage. If you want to cook in kitchen you need a low table or a bottom cabinet without top cabinet because it does take a lot of space to open the lid. It plugs into regular wall outlet. I am looking forward to cooking that perfect turkey dinner in it!

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Onlinepurshaser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works flawlessly. Follow the Manual.
12/25/2016

Customer review by BB11MN

5.0 stars 12/25/2016 by BB11MN
by BB11MN

I read a lot of reviews even though there was not much bad reviews but I will put in my two cents. Read the manual. The manual is your best friend on this fryer. I fried a 19lb turkey and cooked flawless. When people see their temps drop this is normal because you are frying with new oil. I fixed this issue by letting it set on ready for an extra 15 minutes so the oil has perfect temp. After 15 minutes, I slowly put in fryer and temp dropped to 325 degrees and stayed there for 1 1/2 hours. If you put new oil in it will take up to 45 minutes to warm up. Came out perfect. Do not use an extension cord. Plug directly into an outlet that is good and not loose. Peanut oil works best and manual says to use only Peanut oil due to burn/smoke temps. The peanut oil was perfect and made my turkey very tasty. I am now sold. I hope it works next year.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BB11MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
XL Butterball Turkey Fryer
12/5/2016

Customer review by Phillip

5.0 stars 12/5/2016 by Phillip
by Phillip
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The turkey is all that is advertised. Cooks the turkey at about 4 mins/lb. and the turkey is golden and lightly crisp, succulent and tasty. If you're thinking about it for the upcoming holidays - pull the trigger and get it! It's an investment that is worth is weight, compared to homemade fryers or less agile models. I definitely recommend it. It is dummy proof and user friendly!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phillip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good purchase
12/2/2013

Customer review by kteescar

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by kteescar
by kteescar

I liked the fact that my turkey would be done in a short amount of time, and that the heating of the oil was much faster. It's convenient to have it inside because the outdoors cooking means you have to go in and out. We dropped the turkey in the hot oil, set the timer, and relaxed. Once it cooked, the timer alerted us it was ready. Couldn't have asked for anything less than that. I will continue to use it for other frying and recipes that can be used with the cooker. Also, the turkey was very good!!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kteescar
columbus ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Excellent product...
2/1/2012

Customer review by NoBugMe

5.0 stars 2/1/2012 by NoBugMe
by NoBugMe

I have used many different fryers, from small home fryers to restaurant fryers. This fryer is great! I’ve done French fries, chicken legs & thighs, whole chickens. It works great. Just be sure to remember it takes 1 hour to heat up the 2 ¾ gallons of oil. Peanut is best, but I have been using regular vegetable oil & it works just fine. Can’t wait to do a turkey with it. It does pull a lot of electric; so don’t try to use the microwave on the same circuit, like I did. You will pop the breaker, LOL. I give it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (266) (63)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoBugMe
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Created the perfect turkey
11/30/2013

Customer review by Joelick

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Joelick
by Joelick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this specifically to fry the. Thanksgiving turkey and it turned out exactly how directions said it would. We had a 19.81 lb turkey and although they say it holds a 20lb it would have been more perfect had we used an 18.5 lb turkey only because the top side of the bird wasn't totally emersed in oil even when filled to bottom of max fill line. It takes about 45 min to heat oil so allow for heating time. We gave the fryer a test run prior to cooking the turkey a week earlier by boiling water and cooking potatoes, corn and shrimp using the recipe that comes with the fryer. That turned out fabulous as well. Clean up is minimal too. Would definitely recommend to everyone!!

Was this review helpful? (44) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joelick
San Angelo, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Thanksgiving Turkey
12/3/2016

Customer review by Robert

5.0 stars 12/3/2016 by Robert
by Robert
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased one just in time to use it for Thanksgiving. The delivery came a day ahead of schedule which was a pleasant surprise. I was a bit apprehensive about using it and for the first time I elected to use it in the garage. I followed all directions and also used a fresh turkey to avoid and hidden frozen spots that could create problems. I used peanut oil as recommended filling it to the marked fill spot. ( tip for first timers) fill fryer with water and immerse turkey while still wrapped in plastic to see how far the oil will rise once turkey and fry basket are inserted into fryer. Also place cardboard under fryer to help with any splatter that might occur during turkey insertion. Once the oil reached temperature in about 40 minutes. I patted dry the turkey with paper towel placed it into fry basket and then using the tool to hold handle, inserted into fryer and then closed the lid. My turkey instructions called for 80 minutes for a 20lb. Turkey. I set the timer and left it to cook checking on it periodically. After 80 minutes I opened lid and using lifting tool pulled basket out of oil and hung it to the side of fryer so it dripped excess oil from turkey (5) minutes. Turkey was freed perfectly. Everyone really enjoyed it. Clean up was a snap. I used a heavy duty garbage bag in a Home Depot 5 gallon Bucket and poured the oil into it. Then cleaned all of the fryer parts and had it clean and dry in 15 minutes. Butterball you have a great product for a great way to prepare fried dinners. I'm tying chicken and chicken wings next.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 457 total reviews
1-20 of 457 reviews