Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 210 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

210 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

210 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
162
4 stars
32
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
12
1-20 of 205 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 205 total reviews
1-20 of 205 reviews
Love the XL electric turkey fryer
11/9/2012

Customer review by xxKixx

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by xxKixx
by xxKixx

After moving into an apartment several years ago, I've longed for a fried turkey. I use to fry a turkey for Thanksgiving and Christmas for friends and family. Sometimes frying up to four in a outdoor propane fryer. I looked online and found the electric turkey fryer and I must admit I was a little bit of a skeptic. I went from site to site reading as many reviews as I could. After reading many positive reviews I decided to order one for my mother and one for myself. I fried several one pound Cornish Hens and battered chicken wings that took less than 10 minutes to cook. Then as a trial I bought a 12.20 pound turkey fried it and had co-workers as my testers before I cooked the final product for thanksgiving diner at a friend's house. The turkey fit perfectly in the basket, dropped right in. The 2 1/2 gallons of peanut oil took about 40 minutes to heat and the turkey took 51 minutes took cook. I just flipped the turkey out of the pan (it didn't stick to the bottom at all), and the skin was nice and crispy every one loved it. The only problem I see is, because this is an Extra Large unit make sure you look at the dimensions and take measurements to make sure you have adequate counter space. Unlike the regular size electric turkey fryer that fries up to 14 pounds the top doesn't fold in half so with low hanging cabinets, usage can be a problem. I had to purchase a small table to sit out from the counter, and because of the short cord I needed a 10 gauge extension cord (which isn't recommended) but I didn't have a choice with the small space of an apartment kitchen. Plus I wish it had the inset handles on the side like the regular version for easy pick up, but I was able to slide my hands under the bottom and move it with ease. Also, the XL fryer advertises that you can fry a 20 pound turkey but the directions recommend no more than an 18 pound turkey. Also if you are like me and usually scan usage instructions, DON'T! Read the instructions carefully on set up, use and cleaning before you use this product. Plus Masterbuilt posted many instructional videos on their website and on YouTube that I found helpful while waiting for my product to be delivered. Otherwise, I highly recommend the product and look forward to using it many more times.

Was this review helpful? (253) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xxKixx
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product...
2/1/2012

Customer review by NoBugMe

5.0 stars 2/1/2012 by NoBugMe
by NoBugMe

I have used many different fryers, from small home fryers to restaurant fryers. This fryer is great! I’ve done French fries, chicken legs & thighs, whole chickens. It works great. Just be sure to remember it takes 1 hour to heat up the 2 ¾ gallons of oil. Peanut is best, but I have been using regular vegetable oil & it works just fine. Can’t wait to do a turkey with it. It does pull a lot of electric; so don’t try to use the microwave on the same circuit, like I did. You will pop the breaker, LOL. I give it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (161) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoBugMe
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
One of the better turkey fryers
11/4/2013

Customer review by Turkeydad

4.0 stars 11/4/2013 by Turkeydad
by Turkeydad

After 15 years of frying a turkey with propane, I went electric. What can I say, it's a lot safer and I can fry inside the house or garage. My only complaint is that the electric cord is too small..

Was this review helpful? (54) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Turkeydad
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
overall was what ai expected.
11/14/2013

Customer review by sal654

3.0 stars 11/14/2013 by sal654
by sal654

This is an item U would use occasionally in most households. Tried it with a large chicken first and turned out great. Excellent taste and very moist. Make sure you wait till it comes up to temp. before inserting food and fryer has correct amount of oil in it. Electric cord is very short and disconnects easily (for safety purposes) and make sure you have the space to set fryer close to outlet. Enjoy!!!

Was this review helpful? (80) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sal654
Schnecksville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/14/2013

Customer review by KAlexsia

4.0 stars 5/14/2013 by KAlexsia
by KAlexsia

I purchased this item to use as a multifunctional small kitchen appliance. Not only does it deep fry turkeys but you can fry large batches of food such as fish, french fries or chicken. With this item you can also use for steaming crabs, etc. Thanks Butterbal!!

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KAlexsia
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best turkey fryer available!
2/6/2012

Customer review by tallerpaul

5.0 stars 2/6/2012 by tallerpaul
by tallerpaul

The fryer exceeded my expectations. It will fry a BIG bird and does it par excellance! The price was unbelievable. A real bargain for a great fryer.

Was this review helpful? (68) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tallerpaul
Copperas Cove, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
2/19/2012

Customer review by liveeveryday

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by liveeveryday
by liveeveryday

Bought this for my son's, and they both love it. They love deep fried turkey, and they are glad they don't have to go outside to fry it any more. It is good for a big gathering when making fried foods. I bought the Turkey frier XL, can fry a 20 lb. turkey.

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
liveeveryday
West Wyoming, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Love this fryer!
4/4/2013

Customer review by FryingMike

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by FryingMike
by FryingMike

I would recommend this product to anyone looking for an electric fryer. We bought it more for appitizers than for frying turkeys as the normal fryers cant cook enough for more than one person at a time. We can cook for a group of people and nobody has to wait. It does however take some time to heat up. Once it is hot you are good to go. Love it!!

Was this review helpful? (43) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FryingMike
Central US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome!!!
12/18/2012

Customer review by Firish57

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by Firish57
by Firish57

This is the most awesome appliance, bar none! Cooking is my passion, and have gotten many "gadgets" through the years. This is beyond wonderful! And the clean-up really IS so easy!! I am amazed! And the turkey is DELICIOUS.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Firish57
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great fryer for the winter
1/25/2012

Customer review by PlowKing

5.0 stars 1/25/2012 by PlowKing
by PlowKing

great fryer for the winter time.. too cold to be outside and cook. i use it with my buddies and my wife uses it sometimes for dinners. food turns out great. haven't had any problems. got it last year and still going strong. can't wait to use it for the SUPERBOWL!!! great fryer!

Was this review helpful? (26) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PlowKing
Keystone, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
So far so good
11/14/2013

Customer review by Celiboy

4.0 stars 11/14/2013 by Celiboy
by Celiboy

I purchased this fryer for frying turkeys for Christmas dinner. So far I've used it for deep frying shrimp, fries and chicken wings and it has been excellent. The oil heated relatively quickly and the built in timer is great. Im looking forward to frying the turkeys next month.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Celiboy
Clovis, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great fryer
12/29/2012

Customer review by MsDgc

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by MsDgc
by MsDgc

Purchased for my husband who normally uses outdoor fryer, he loved it. He said it was easy to use and clean. Turkey came out beautiful and tasted great.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsDgc
Clinton, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/4/2013

Customer review by dan2talk2

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by dan2talk2
by dan2talk2

Fried 15 lbs. of chicken for a family get together over the weekend. Turned out great and having all the chicken cooked all at once made the meal prefect. Best fryer ever owned.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dan2talk2
Bloomfield, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better and safer Turkey fryer!
11/19/2013

Customer review by ThomasSr

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by ThomasSr
by ThomasSr

I have always used a propane fryer but no more. The Butterball fryer is so much easier for frying Turkeys or anything else you want to fry or even steam. Easier to clean and you can use it inside with no problems and you do not have to baby sit the fryer to make sure it doesn't overheat.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThomasSr
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use
11/16/2013

Customer review by Frogg71

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by Frogg71
by Frogg71

Bought this as a gift for family. Have had one for a few years now and love it. I will never go back to deep frying outside with the gas burner style ones.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frogg71
Leesburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great overall fryer
11/14/2013

Customer review by snoopythepi

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by snoopythepi
by snoopythepi

Great value for the price. The large capacity allows for frying a large quantity of the same or assorted foods at one time. Draining the oil and cleaning the unit is very easy. If you allow time for the unit to reach the proper cooking temperature the food will turn out great.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snoopythepi
KAPLAN, LOUISIANA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simple and easy to use
11/2/2014

Customer review by Rustybuckett

5.0 stars 11/2/2014 by Rustybuckett
by Rustybuckett

First test turkey done. 11 pound 44 minutes cooking time. Best one I've ever cooked. I'm thawing my second bird a 17 pounder. I will try the injection of butter this time.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rustybuckett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use
12/2/2013

Customer review by Coraopolismom

4.0 stars 12/2/2013 by Coraopolismom
by Coraopolismom

Ease of use is great however the cleanup proved more difficult. Without adequate space the cleanup phase can get cumbersome and messy.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coraopolismom
Manhattan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by cairnlady

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by cairnlady
by cairnlady

This will take care of all your deep frying needs, whether for a few people or large. Makes terriffic fried chicken. Very user friendly too. I would recommend anyone looking for a top quality fryer, than this is definitely the one for you.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cairnlady
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Created the perfect turkey
11/30/2013

Customer review by Joelick

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Joelick
by Joelick

We bought this specifically to fry the. Thanksgiving turkey and it turned out exactly how directions said it would. We had a 19.81 lb turkey and although they say it holds a 20lb it would have been more perfect had we used an 18.5 lb turkey only because the top side of the bird wasn't totally emersed in oil even when filled to bottom of max fill line. It takes about 45 min to heat oil so allow for heating time. We gave the fryer a test run prior to cooking the turkey a week earlier by boiling water and cooking potatoes, corn and shrimp using the recipe that comes with the fryer. That turned out fabulous as well. Clean up is minimal too. Would definitely recommend to everyone!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joelick
San Angelo, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 205 total reviews
1-20 of 205 reviews