Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 357 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

357 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

357 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
281
4 stars
48
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
18
1-20 of 352 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 352 total reviews
1-20 of 352 reviews
Simple and easy to use
11/2/2014

Customer review by Rustybuckett

5.0 stars 11/2/2014 by Rustybuckett
by Rustybuckett
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First test turkey done. 11 pound 44 minutes cooking time. Best one I've ever cooked. I'm thawing my second bird a 17 pounder. I will try the injection of butter this time.

Was this review helpful? (27) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rustybuckett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Fryer
12/29/2015

Customer review by Jeff

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Jeff
by Jeff

The Butterball XL Turkey Fryer is a great product. I researched this fryer using internet reviews, and watched numerous Youtube videos before purchasing. It is safe, convenient, and easy to use. So far, I have fried two turkeys, and fried chicken wings, all while the fryer sits on our contertop. We bought this a couple of weeks before Thanksgiving. It will cook a turkey in 4 minutes per pound. The turkey comes out tender, juicy, and not greasy at all. For extra juciness and taste, we injected the turkey with seasoning juice before frying. We used Peanut oil, and made sure the oil was fresh and clean. I could not get the outside skin to crisp, as I had seen on the video demonstration, but I believe I will have to adjust my turkey preparation. You will not be disappointed with this purchase. Watch the YouTube videos by the maker, Masterbilt, or carefully follow the supplied instructions which will make your frying process simple, safe, and a success.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeff
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome!
12/16/2015

Customer review by Kflo37

5.0 stars 12/16/2015 by Kflo37
by Kflo37

My family has fried turkey's for Thanksgiving and Christmas every year since 1999 with the traditional propane fryer. My dad or brother were the ones that always did the frying since I was afraid to use the propane. This year I seen the Butterball XL Turkey Fryer at the Walmart store I shop at regularly. I wasn't sure if it would be as good as the propane fryer but I was excited to be able to fry the turkey myself this year. I felt so much safer using the electric fryer and loved that fact that I could do it inside my house instead of out in the driveway. I can say it fries the turkey just as well if not better than the propane fryer. It seemed like it took less time as well. Clean up for the fryer was quick and easy, I love the little spout you attach to drain the oil. Once everything is cooled it only takes a few minutes to clean everything up! I definitely recommend this fryer!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kflo37
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only way to "Fry"
12/19/2015

Customer review by Silvercliff46

5.0 stars 12/19/2015 by Silvercliff46
by Silvercliff46

I have had my regular size fryer for a couple of years now. My fryer is limited to a 14 pound bird. I have more then enough turkey for 8 people. Larger might be even better, as when we are done there are no leftovers. It takes maybe a half hour to get to the temp. (you are heating a lot of oil). I get my turkey done in well under an hour (50-55 min). We have fried donuts, sweet potato and regular fries, many different veggies, corn dogs and more. My son-in-law loves it so much he would call and ask me to fry him one. I always complied, but this year he is getting one for Christmas. I still have my outdoor fryer, and occasionally when I want to spend 5 hours of my life roasting a turkey I will, but not to often any more. Figure it out, I could fry 5 turkeys in the time it takes for one, and still have and hour left over to carve and make my presentation.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Silvercliff46
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good but leaked
11/16/2014

Customer review by ScottyG454

4.0 stars 11/16/2014 by ScottyG454
by ScottyG454

We cooked a whole chicken at 350 degrees to test our new fryer before Thanksgiving. The unit heated up in about 40 minutes and maintained the temparature throughout. From a Youtube video (and since the instuctions didn't have cooking time for a whole chicken), we cooked the bird for 5 minutes per pound plus 5 at 350 and it came out to a little over 165 degrees. Chicken was deliciious - crispy outside and juicy inside. We had oil coming out all over the kitchen counter during cooking. After it cooled down, we found that the drainage spout (not the attachment) was lealing. We tightened it up and tested it with water which seemed to fix the problem. I hope it doesn't happen again on Turkey Day! Overall it's a very good product. Cord is short. Instructions do NOT have much in the way of recipes. DON"T waste your money buying the "Dad-Gum" healthy book as it doesn;t have much in frying recipes at all.

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScottyG454
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best turkey fryer EVER!!!!!!!!!
8/23/2016

Customer review by WPFloridaRandi

5.0 stars 8/23/2016 by WPFloridaRandi
by WPFloridaRandi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was a little apprehensive about the purchase but I'm glad I took the plug (purchase). Turkey was juicy and tasteful. I've fried 2 turkeys in a weeks time. Ready for Labor Day

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WPFloridaRandi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bring on the Feast
11/15/2014

Customer review by Onlinepurshaser

5.0 stars 11/15/2014 by Onlinepurshaser
by Onlinepurshaser

This fryer can do the job. It is huge! Our last meal in it consisted of 6 chicken breast and a dozen chicken legs. It cooked all of these evenly and crisp in a matter of 20 minutes. Everything turned out golden brown. There weren't any hot or cold spots in the fryer; everything cooked evenly. It does take about 45 minutes to warm up so you have to plan ahead. Storage could be a problem, but we just sit it on top of upright freezer in garage. If you want to cook in kitchen you need a low table or a bottom cabinet without top cabinet because it does take a lot of space to open the lid. It plugs into regular wall outlet. I am looking forward to cooking that perfect turkey dinner in it!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Onlinepurshaser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Created the perfect turkey
11/30/2013

Customer review by Joelick

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Joelick
by Joelick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this specifically to fry the. Thanksgiving turkey and it turned out exactly how directions said it would. We had a 19.81 lb turkey and although they say it holds a 20lb it would have been more perfect had we used an 18.5 lb turkey only because the top side of the bird wasn't totally emersed in oil even when filled to bottom of max fill line. It takes about 45 min to heat oil so allow for heating time. We gave the fryer a test run prior to cooking the turkey a week earlier by boiling water and cooking potatoes, corn and shrimp using the recipe that comes with the fryer. That turned out fabulous as well. Clean up is minimal too. Would definitely recommend to everyone!!

Was this review helpful? (35) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joelick
San Angelo, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product...
2/1/2012

Customer review by NoBugMe

5.0 stars 2/1/2012 by NoBugMe
by NoBugMe

I have used many different fryers, from small home fryers to restaurant fryers. This fryer is great! I’ve done French fries, chicken legs & thighs, whole chickens. It works great. Just be sure to remember it takes 1 hour to heat up the 2 ¾ gallons of oil. Peanut is best, but I have been using regular vegetable oil & it works just fine. Can’t wait to do a turkey with it. It does pull a lot of electric; so don’t try to use the microwave on the same circuit, like I did. You will pop the breaker, LOL. I give it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (247) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoBugMe
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/14/2013

Customer review by KAlexsia

4.0 stars 5/14/2013 by KAlexsia
by KAlexsia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this item to use as a multifunctional small kitchen appliance. Not only does it deep fry turkeys but you can fry large batches of food such as fish, french fries or chicken. With this item you can also use for steaming crabs, etc. Thanks Butterbal!!

Was this review helpful? (100) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KAlexsia
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One of the better turkey fryers
11/4/2013

Customer review by Turkeydad

4.0 stars 11/4/2013 by Turkeydad
by Turkeydad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After 15 years of frying a turkey with propane, I went electric. What can I say, it's a lot safer and I can fry inside the house or garage. My only complaint is that the electric cord is too small..

Was this review helpful? (128) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Turkeydad
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better and safer Turkey fryer!
11/19/2013

Customer review by ThomasSr

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by ThomasSr
by ThomasSr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have always used a propane fryer but no more. The Butterball fryer is so much easier for frying Turkeys or anything else you want to fry or even steam. Easier to clean and you can use it inside with no problems and you do not have to baby sit the fryer to make sure it doesn't overheat.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThomasSr
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the XL electric turkey fryer
11/9/2012

Customer review by xxKixx

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by xxKixx
by xxKixx
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After moving into an apartment several years ago, I've longed for a fried turkey. I use to fry a turkey for Thanksgiving and Christmas for friends and family. Sometimes frying up to four in a outdoor propane fryer. I looked online and found the electric turkey fryer and I must admit I was a little bit of a skeptic. I went from site to site reading as many reviews as I could. After reading many positive reviews I decided to order one for my mother and one for myself. I fried several one pound Cornish Hens and battered chicken wings that took less than 10 minutes to cook. Then as a trial I bought a 12.20 pound turkey fried it and had co-workers as my testers before I cooked the final product for thanksgiving diner at a friend's house. The turkey fit perfectly in the basket, dropped right in. The 2 1/2 gallons of peanut oil took about 40 minutes to heat and the turkey took 51 minutes took cook. I just flipped the turkey out of the pan (it didn't stick to the bottom at all), and the skin was nice and crispy every one loved it. The only problem I see is, because this is an Extra Large unit make sure you look at the dimensions and take measurements to make sure you have adequate counter space. Unlike the regular size electric turkey fryer that fries up to 14 pounds the top doesn't fold in half so with low hanging cabinets, usage can be a problem. I had to purchase a small table to sit out from the counter, and because of the short cord I needed a 10 gauge extension cord (which isn't recommended) but I didn't have a choice with the small space of an apartment kitchen. Plus I wish it had the inset handles on the side like the regular version for easy pick up, but I was able to slide my hands under the bottom and move it with ease. Also, the XL fryer advertises that you can fry a 20 pound turkey but the directions recommend no more than an 18 pound turkey. Also if you are like me and usually scan usage instructions, DON'T! Read the instructions carefully on set up, use and cleaning before you use this product. Plus Masterbuilt posted many instructional videos on their website and on YouTube that I found helpful while waiting for my product to be delivered. Otherwise, I highly recommend the product and look forward to using it many more times.

Was this review helpful? (456) (86)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xxKixx
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good purchase
12/2/2013

Customer review by kteescar

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by kteescar
by kteescar

I liked the fact that my turkey would be done in a short amount of time, and that the heating of the oil was much faster. It's convenient to have it inside because the outdoors cooking means you have to go in and out. We dropped the turkey in the hot oil, set the timer, and relaxed. Once it cooked, the timer alerted us it was ready. Couldn't have asked for anything less than that. I will continue to use it for other frying and recipes that can be used with the cooker. Also, the turkey was very good!!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kteescar
columbus ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Awesome!!!
12/18/2012

Customer review by Firish57

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by Firish57
by Firish57

This is the most awesome appliance, bar none! Cooking is my passion, and have gotten many "gadgets" through the years. This is beyond wonderful! And the clean-up really IS so easy!! I am amazed! And the turkey is DELICIOUS.

Was this review helpful? (47) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Firish57
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to use
12/2/2013

Customer review by Coraopolismom

4.0 stars 12/2/2013 by Coraopolismom
by Coraopolismom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ease of use is great however the cleanup proved more difficult. Without adequate space the cleanup phase can get cumbersome and messy.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coraopolismom
Manhattan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Leaks Oil
11/30/2014

Customer review by swbartss

1.0 stars 11/30/2014 by swbartss
by swbartss

First time I tried it there was a gathering pool of oil underneath the unit. Couldn't see where it was dripping from. Shut down the unit and drained the oil. Never used it. Requested refund/return from Walmart. Bad experience.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
swbartss
Would recommend to a friend? No
So far so good
11/14/2013

Customer review by Celiboy

4.0 stars 11/14/2013 by Celiboy
by Celiboy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this fryer for frying turkeys for Christmas dinner. So far I've used it for deep frying shrimp, fries and chicken wings and it has been excellent. The oil heated relatively quickly and the built in timer is great. Im looking forward to frying the turkeys next month.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Celiboy
Clovis, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great fryer
12/29/2012

Customer review by MsDgc

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by MsDgc
by MsDgc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased for my husband who normally uses outdoor fryer, he loved it. He said it was easy to use and clean. Turkey came out beautiful and tasted great.

Was this review helpful? (56) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsDgc
Clinton, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tender & Juicy
12/4/2014

Customer review by MsAlwaysCold

5.0 stars 12/4/2014 by MsAlwaysCold
by MsAlwaysCold

It's a wonderful thing and I love it. For those whom like turkey during the winter holidays, this fryer is a must buy. I promise you won't regret it. FYI, there's packing material underneath the bottom of the oil pan at the base of the unit. I didn't know this until the day after I fried the turkey. I found cardboard and bubble wrap and needless to say, some of the bubble wrap melted. I noticed it when I started to dismantle the turkey fryer to drain the oil. After you remove the control panel, push up on the oil pan from the bottom to remove it with ease, then you will have access to the packing materials. The turkey cooks 3-4 minutes per pound. My ten pound turkey cooked for 35 minutes. Be sure to inject it with a marinade before you fry it. I used a store bought marinade. I also melted a half a stick of butter and added it to the marinade. I also seasoned the skin with olive oil and McCormick's Grill Masters chicken seasoning before the frying process. My fried turkey was tender and juicy. Good Luck!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsAlwaysCold
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 352 total reviews
1-20 of 352 reviews