Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 464 reviews
5 stars
362
4 stars
67
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 stars
22
Sort by: 
1-20 of 459 reviews
1-20 of 459 reviews
Simple and easy to use
11/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
First test turkey done. 11 pound 44 minutes cooking time. Best one I've ever cooked. I'm thawing my second bird a 17 pounder. I will try the injection of butter this time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (66)No (22)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Questionable, whether to recommend to a friend
12/7/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this fryer, in the hopes of frying a turkey, in my kitchen. When I received it and removed it from the box. I was initially impressed, with it. However. Once cleaned and ready to plug in? I found the cord, was only 30 inches long. Add to that, it connects, in the front of the fryer. This made it impossible to plug in, on any kitchen counter. After placing it on the floor near an outlet, Its size, made it dangerous, for pedestrian traffic. As it needed to be placed, away from the wall. After adding the oil and turning it on. The preheat cycle, took 45 minutes. Once this was all done. The frying portion, of the preparation, was exactly what they say. 10 pound turkey= 40 minutes. In my estimation. The cord, could have either plugged in from the back, or made longer. Never the less. The turkey was crisp on the outside and happily, very juicy, on the inside.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A deep-fat fryers DREAM!
11/7/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After much research into several different styles and models of Turkey Fryer, we settled on the Butterball unit by Masterbuilt. We went with an indoor unit as we figured we’d get much more utility out of it during the rough Midwestern winters. Also this brand has a vaunted reputation from consumers online, real average folks who will put appliances through real-world conditions, not some manufacturer-sponsored lab environment. The fryer was already pretty well set up and with a quick wash of all the major parts and a gander through the instruction manual to ensure safety, I filled it with oil and fired it up. I’ve never used anything larger than a fry daddy or large pot so this thing seemed gargantuan by comparison. Nonetheless, thanks to the numerous Youtube videos watched, I had a good idea about a few things. For my maiden fryer voyage I did a 7 pound whole chicken. For seasoning I simply used the same as I always do except I made a rub and put it all over the chicken. Also, I injected the breasts and thighs for flavor. Using 2 gallons of oil for my 7 pound bird it took the fyer about 40 minutes to heat up. I cooked the chicken for 40 minutes using the 5 minutes/pound + 5 minutes formula, in vegetable oil. The internal temp was a scorching 185 degrees upon lifting the bird out. The chicken was absolutely beautiful and tasted as good as it looked. The entire skin of the chicken was a crispy golden brown and accented by the seasoning adorned upon the entire outside of the chicken. The legs and wings came right off the chicken by hand and the breast meat was juicy and flavorful through and through. Huge surprise for me was that the chicken was just as juicy the next day when heated up in the….Microwave! That never happens with fried food. We let the unit cool down overnight and then drained the oil out the next day. The tub that cooks the chicken is coated with a non-stick material and it lifts completely out of the unit. This allowed me to close the drain valve and fill the tub with soapy water and clean. The small amount of grease and sediments on the bottom came right out. No ‘elbow grease’ needed to scrub! I was extremely satisfied with this experience. A few thoughts to consider: First, if you plan to do fried turkey for thanksgiving and are planning to get an inside unit, this one is hard to beat. However, consider the size of this unit. It can fry up to an 18-20l pound bird so it will need plenty of counter space. If all of your counters are covered by your cabinets this means you will have to find something like a small table or other surface as you won’t be able to open the lid on this. As well, you will need a place to store it when not in use and again, if you have very limited storage space you might be mindful of this going in. They do make smaller units by the same manufacturer and many people can get by with the smaller one as it can still fry up 10-plus pond birds. Also, the technology employed in this is sufficient that you can use any type of cooking oil, not just the highly expensive peanut oil. Another reason we went with this unit is that it steams and boils as well. My wife, mother and mother-in-law are big fans of steamed crab legs and we all love steam pots with vegetables and potatoes. We have family gatherings at least once every couple of months and we can do fish fries, wing parties and not have to worry with going outside if the weather isn’t permissible. Online reviews drove our purchase and please avail yourself of all the wonderful ‘how-to’ vidoes on youtube; it has given us so MANY ideas! All told, we are pleased with this fryer’s performance, and promises of many delicious meals to come.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (88)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A good Thanksgiving Feast
12/4/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was hesitant when my husband said he wanted to fry the turkey this year! I was so pleasantly surprised with a moist dinner for my guest! The photo is here! It was easy to set up and clean afterwards too!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Turkey fryer
12/5/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Item is great!!!!! Turkey was great for thanksgiving!!!!! Chicken was great! This was just the best investment ever. Me and my family was happy for sure.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Butterball Turkey Fryer.
12/22/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've only got to use this fryer one time but have been completely satisfied with it. The best part of the fryer (except for the delicious turkey) is the VERY easy cleanup. Everything can go in the dishwasher (other than the heating element). I'm looking forward to using this fryer for Christmas.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Fryer
12/29/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Butterball XL Turkey Fryer is a great product. I researched this fryer using internet reviews, and watched numerous Youtube videos before purchasing. It is safe, convenient, and easy to use. So far, I have fried two turkeys, and fried chicken wings, all while the fryer sits on our contertop. We bought this a couple of weeks before Thanksgiving. It will cook a turkey in 4 minutes per pound. The turkey comes out tender, juicy, and not greasy at all. For extra juciness and taste, we injected the turkey with seasoning juice before frying. We used Peanut oil, and made sure the oil was fresh and clean. I could not get the outside skin to crisp, as I had seen on the video demonstration, but I believe I will have to adjust my turkey preparation. You will not be disappointed with this purchase. Watch the YouTube videos by the maker, Masterbilt, or carefully follow the supplied instructions which will make your frying process simple, safe, and a success.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (52)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Tender & Juicy
12/4/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's a wonderful thing and I love it. For those whom like turkey during the winter holidays, this fryer is a must buy. I promise you won't regret it. FYI, there's packing material underneath the bottom of the oil pan at the base of the unit. I didn't know this until the day after I fried the turkey. I found cardboard and bubble wrap and needless to say, some of the bubble wrap melted. I noticed it when I started to dismantle the turkey fryer to drain the oil. After you remove the control panel, push up on the oil pan from the bottom to remove it with ease, then you will have access to the packing materials. The turkey cooks 3-4 minutes per pound. My ten pound turkey cooked for 35 minutes. Be sure to inject it with a marinade before you fry it. I used a store bought marinade. I also melted a half a stick of butter and added it to the marinade. I also seasoned the skin with olive oil and McCormick's Grill Masters chicken seasoning before the frying process. My fried turkey was tender and juicy. Good Luck!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome!
12/16/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My family has fried turkey's for Thanksgiving and Christmas every year since 1999 with the traditional propane fryer. My dad or brother were the ones that always did the frying since I was afraid to use the propane. This year I seen the Butterball XL Turkey Fryer at the Walmart store I shop at regularly. I wasn't sure if it would be as good as the propane fryer but I was excited to be able to fry the turkey myself this year. I felt so much safer using the electric fryer and loved that fact that I could do it inside my house instead of out in the driveway. I can say it fries the turkey just as well if not better than the propane fryer. It seemed like it took less time as well. Clean up for the fryer was quick and easy, I love the little spout you attach to drain the oil. Once everything is cooled it only takes a few minutes to clean everything up! I definitely recommend this fryer!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good but leaked
11/16/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We cooked a whole chicken at 350 degrees to test our new fryer before Thanksgiving. The unit heated up in about 40 minutes and maintained the temparature throughout. From a Youtube video (and since the instuctions didn't have cooking time for a whole chicken), we cooked the bird for 5 minutes per pound plus 5 at 350 and it came out to a little over 165 degrees. Chicken was deliciious - crispy outside and juicy inside. We had oil coming out all over the kitchen counter during cooking. After it cooled down, we found that the drainage spout (not the attachment) was lealing. We tightened it up and tested it with water which seemed to fix the problem. I hope it doesn't happen again on Turkey Day! Overall it's a very good product. Cord is short. Instructions do NOT have much in the way of recipes. DON"T waste your money buying the "Dad-Gum" healthy book as it doesn;t have much in frying recipes at all.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Only way to "Fry"
12/19/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had my regular size fryer for a couple of years now. My fryer is limited to a 14 pound bird. I have more then enough turkey for 8 people. Larger might be even better, as when we are done there are no leftovers. It takes maybe a half hour to get to the temp. (you are heating a lot of oil). I get my turkey done in well under an hour (50-55 min). We have fried donuts, sweet potato and regular fries, many different veggies, corn dogs and more. My son-in-law loves it so much he would call and ask me to fry him one. I always complied, but this year he is getting one for Christmas. I still have my outdoor fryer, and occasionally when I want to spend 5 hours of my life roasting a turkey I will, but not to often any more. Figure it out, I could fry 5 turkeys in the time it takes for one, and still have and hour left over to carve and make my presentation.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bring on the Feast
11/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This fryer can do the job. It is huge! Our last meal in it consisted of 6 chicken breast and a dozen chicken legs. It cooked all of these evenly and crisp in a matter of 20 minutes. Everything turned out golden brown. There weren't any hot or cold spots in the fryer; everything cooked evenly. It does take about 45 minutes to warm up so you have to plan ahead. Storage could be a problem, but we just sit it on top of upright freezer in garage. If you want to cook in kitchen you need a low table or a bottom cabinet without top cabinet because it does take a lot of space to open the lid. It plugs into regular wall outlet. I am looking forward to cooking that perfect turkey dinner in it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good purchase
12/2/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I liked the fact that my turkey would be done in a short amount of time, and that the heating of the oil was much faster. It's convenient to have it inside because the outdoors cooking means you have to go in and out. We dropped the turkey in the hot oil, set the timer, and relaxed. Once it cooked, the timer alerted us it was ready. Couldn't have asked for anything less than that. I will continue to use it for other frying and recipes that can be used with the cooker. Also, the turkey was very good!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent product...
2/1/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used many different fryers, from small home fryers to restaurant fryers. This fryer is great! I’ve done French fries, chicken legs & thighs, whole chickens. It works great. Just be sure to remember it takes 1 hour to heat up the 2 ¾ gallons of oil. Peanut is best, but I have been using regular vegetable oil & it works just fine. Can’t wait to do a turkey with it. It does pull a lot of electric; so don’t try to use the microwave on the same circuit, like I did. You will pop the breaker, LOL. I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (266)No (63)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Created the perfect turkey
11/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We bought this specifically to fry the. Thanksgiving turkey and it turned out exactly how directions said it would. We had a 19.81 lb turkey and although they say it holds a 20lb it would have been more perfect had we used an 18.5 lb turkey only because the top side of the bird wasn't totally emersed in oil even when filled to bottom of max fill line. It takes about 45 min to heat oil so allow for heating time. We gave the fryer a test run prior to cooking the turkey a week earlier by boiling water and cooking potatoes, corn and shrimp using the recipe that comes with the fryer. That turned out fabulous as well. Clean up is minimal too. Would definitely recommend to everyone!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (44)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I swear I will never bake another turkey!!!!!!
12/5/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I got a recipe off youtube that consisted of injecting the turkey with cajun butter, putting a garlic herb butter under the skin and a cajun dry rub. I cooked a 14 lb turkey in 56 minutes! Set up/clean up was a breeze. The turkey was moist inside and golden brown and crispy outside. It was delicious and there was only a carcas left in the end!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better and safer Turkey fryer!
11/19/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have always used a propane fryer but no more. The Butterball fryer is so much easier for frying Turkeys or anything else you want to fry or even steam. Easier to clean and you can use it inside with no problems and you do not have to baby sit the fryer to make sure it doesn't overheat.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/14/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this item to use as a multifunctional small kitchen appliance. Not only does it deep fry turkeys but you can fry large batches of food such as fish, french fries or chicken. With this item you can also use for steaming crabs, etc. Thanks Butterbal!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (111)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
One of the better turkey fryers
11/4/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
After 15 years of frying a turkey with propane, I went electric. What can I say, it's a lot safer and I can fry inside the house or garage. My only complaint is that the electric cord is too small..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (135)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Turkey Fried Easy
11/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
makes frying a turkey so much easier!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643946, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-