Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 343 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

343 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

343 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
270
4 stars
46
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
17
1-20 of 338 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 338 total reviews
1-20 of 338 reviews
Simple and easy to use
11/2/2014

Customer review by Rustybuckett

5.0 stars 11/2/2014 by Rustybuckett
by Rustybuckett
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First test turkey done. 11 pound 44 minutes cooking time. Best one I've ever cooked. I'm thawing my second bird a 17 pounder. I will try the injection of butter this time.

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rustybuckett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Fryer
12/29/2015

Customer review by Jeff

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Jeff
by Jeff

The Butterball XL Turkey Fryer is a great product. I researched this fryer using internet reviews, and watched numerous Youtube videos before purchasing. It is safe, convenient, and easy to use. So far, I have fried two turkeys, and fried chicken wings, all while the fryer sits on our contertop. We bought this a couple of weeks before Thanksgiving. It will cook a turkey in 4 minutes per pound. The turkey comes out tender, juicy, and not greasy at all. For extra juciness and taste, we injected the turkey with seasoning juice before frying. We used Peanut oil, and made sure the oil was fresh and clean. I could not get the outside skin to crisp, as I had seen on the video demonstration, but I believe I will have to adjust my turkey preparation. You will not be disappointed with this purchase. Watch the YouTube videos by the maker, Masterbilt, or carefully follow the supplied instructions which will make your frying process simple, safe, and a success.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeff
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome!
12/16/2015

Customer review by Kflo37

5.0 stars 12/16/2015 by Kflo37
by Kflo37

My family has fried turkey's for Thanksgiving and Christmas every year since 1999 with the traditional propane fryer. My dad or brother were the ones that always did the frying since I was afraid to use the propane. This year I seen the Butterball XL Turkey Fryer at the Walmart store I shop at regularly. I wasn't sure if it would be as good as the propane fryer but I was excited to be able to fry the turkey myself this year. I felt so much safer using the electric fryer and loved that fact that I could do it inside my house instead of out in the driveway. I can say it fries the turkey just as well if not better than the propane fryer. It seemed like it took less time as well. Clean up for the fryer was quick and easy, I love the little spout you attach to drain the oil. Once everything is cooled it only takes a few minutes to clean everything up! I definitely recommend this fryer!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kflo37
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor Quality
1/23/2016

Customer review by LnBeBe

1.0 stars 1/23/2016 by LnBeBe
by LnBeBe

The first time it was used, it was wonderful – best turkey ever. The second time it was used, it didn’t want to start, and the power light wouldn’t come on. We plugged and replugged it in, turned it off then on again and it eventually did start. The third time we used this, it would not start at all. I called customer service at Masterbuilt 1-800-489-1581. Keep this number, you’ll need it. I was told that it was out of warranty, but for $49.99, I could buy another control panel and cord. I was told to use the reset button on the back of the controller but it was in a “stuck in” position and was unusable. Anytime a product has only a three month warranty should be a warning to the customer. This is not a quality made product so be aware if you buy it. Other observations, when you put a turkey in, the oil temperature goes down and is difficult to bring it back up to 375 degrees. The cord is very short. It is not recommended to use an extension cord. I definitely would not recommend this product to anyone unless you use it extensively during the three months covered by warranty. Otherwise, after the warranty expires, just toss it out. This was a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LnBeBe
Would recommend to a friend? No
Only way to "Fry"
12/19/2015

Customer review by Silvercliff46

5.0 stars 12/19/2015 by Silvercliff46
by Silvercliff46

I have had my regular size fryer for a couple of years now. My fryer is limited to a 14 pound bird. I have more then enough turkey for 8 people. Larger might be even better, as when we are done there are no leftovers. It takes maybe a half hour to get to the temp. (you are heating a lot of oil). I get my turkey done in well under an hour (50-55 min). We have fried donuts, sweet potato and regular fries, many different veggies, corn dogs and more. My son-in-law loves it so much he would call and ask me to fry him one. I always complied, but this year he is getting one for Christmas. I still have my outdoor fryer, and occasionally when I want to spend 5 hours of my life roasting a turkey I will, but not to often any more. Figure it out, I could fry 5 turkeys in the time it takes for one, and still have and hour left over to carve and make my presentation.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Silvercliff46
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerless
1/10/2016

Customer review by DeVasworld

1.0 stars 1/10/2016 by DeVasworld
by DeVasworld

Just took the fryer out of the box. .. was ready to fry 10 lbs of chicken. Poured in the oil and plugged in the unit. Boom no power. It was my girls night out and we're ready to eat some fried chicken and the fryer was POWERLESS! ! What a waste off tin..it's going back.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeVasworld
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very good but leaked
11/16/2014

Customer review by ScottyG454

4.0 stars 11/16/2014 by ScottyG454
by ScottyG454

We cooked a whole chicken at 350 degrees to test our new fryer before Thanksgiving. The unit heated up in about 40 minutes and maintained the temparature throughout. From a Youtube video (and since the instuctions didn't have cooking time for a whole chicken), we cooked the bird for 5 minutes per pound plus 5 at 350 and it came out to a little over 165 degrees. Chicken was deliciious - crispy outside and juicy inside. We had oil coming out all over the kitchen counter during cooking. After it cooled down, we found that the drainage spout (not the attachment) was lealing. We tightened it up and tested it with water which seemed to fix the problem. I hope it doesn't happen again on Turkey Day! Overall it's a very good product. Cord is short. Instructions do NOT have much in the way of recipes. DON"T waste your money buying the "Dad-Gum" healthy book as it doesn;t have much in frying recipes at all.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScottyG454
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Highly Disappointed
1/14/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

2.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

I purchased the Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer in early Dec. with the intention to fry a turkey for our family Christmas Dinner. Boy, what a shocker! Specifications say basket holds up to 20 LBS turkey. I purchased a 17+ pounds turkey the day before Christmas. On Christmas morning when I went to place the turkey in the basket, Low and Behold the 17+ pounder would not fit into the basket. From the looks of the turkey sitting on top of the basket, this basket which is SUPPOSED to hold up to 20 lbs, barely can hold a 14 pounder. I was highly disappointed, and unluckily I still have my out door gas fryer to fall back on... Would not recommend depending on specifications for size of turkey. Basket is way too small!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
I'll never bake a turkey again!
11/27/2015

Customer review by OneBusyChick

5.0 stars 11/27/2015 by OneBusyChick
by OneBusyChick

I'm pretty new at cooking, so I don't have a lot of experience with baking or roasting turkeys anyway. However, after using the Butterball XL Turkey Fryer, I'll start cooking them more often. It was so easy to set up and the recommended cooking time (3.5-4 minutes per pound) was spot on! The turkey was perfectly cooked; it was moist and the skin was perfectly browned. There was only one drawback...it was so good, everyone ate seconds, so there weren't enough leftovers. ;)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneBusyChick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bring on the Feast
11/15/2014

Customer review by Onlinepurshaser

5.0 stars 11/15/2014 by Onlinepurshaser
by Onlinepurshaser

This fryer can do the job. It is huge! Our last meal in it consisted of 6 chicken breast and a dozen chicken legs. It cooked all of these evenly and crisp in a matter of 20 minutes. Everything turned out golden brown. There weren't any hot or cold spots in the fryer; everything cooked evenly. It does take about 45 minutes to warm up so you have to plan ahead. Storage could be a problem, but we just sit it on top of upright freezer in garage. If you want to cook in kitchen you need a low table or a bottom cabinet without top cabinet because it does take a lot of space to open the lid. It plugs into regular wall outlet. I am looking forward to cooking that perfect turkey dinner in it!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Onlinepurshaser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ele. turkey and deep fryer
1/24/2016

Customer review by LEMS

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by LEMS
by LEMS

both item is very nice I have used my deep fryer and I just love it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LEMS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very impressed with the service
1/24/2016

Customer review by Bopete

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Bopete
by Bopete

and the merchandise

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bopete
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product...
2/1/2012

Customer review by NoBugMe

5.0 stars 2/1/2012 by NoBugMe
by NoBugMe

I have used many different fryers, from small home fryers to restaurant fryers. This fryer is great! I’ve done French fries, chicken legs & thighs, whole chickens. It works great. Just be sure to remember it takes 1 hour to heat up the 2 ¾ gallons of oil. Peanut is best, but I have been using regular vegetable oil & it works just fine. Can’t wait to do a turkey with it. It does pull a lot of electric; so don’t try to use the microwave on the same circuit, like I did. You will pop the breaker, LOL. I give it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (244) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoBugMe
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Created the perfect turkey
11/30/2013

Customer review by Joelick

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Joelick
by Joelick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this specifically to fry the. Thanksgiving turkey and it turned out exactly how directions said it would. We had a 19.81 lb turkey and although they say it holds a 20lb it would have been more perfect had we used an 18.5 lb turkey only because the top side of the bird wasn't totally emersed in oil even when filled to bottom of max fill line. It takes about 45 min to heat oil so allow for heating time. We gave the fryer a test run prior to cooking the turkey a week earlier by boiling water and cooking potatoes, corn and shrimp using the recipe that comes with the fryer. That turned out fabulous as well. Clean up is minimal too. Would definitely recommend to everyone!!

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joelick
San Angelo, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/14/2013

Customer review by KAlexsia

4.0 stars 5/14/2013 by KAlexsia
by KAlexsia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this item to use as a multifunctional small kitchen appliance. Not only does it deep fry turkeys but you can fry large batches of food such as fish, french fries or chicken. With this item you can also use for steaming crabs, etc. Thanks Butterbal!!

Was this review helpful? (98) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KAlexsia
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One of the better turkey fryers
11/4/2013

Customer review by Turkeydad

4.0 stars 11/4/2013 by Turkeydad
by Turkeydad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After 15 years of frying a turkey with propane, I went electric. What can I say, it's a lot safer and I can fry inside the house or garage. My only complaint is that the electric cord is too small..

Was this review helpful? (127) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Turkeydad
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very easy to use and easy clean up
11/30/2015

Customer review by angela18

5.0 stars 11/30/2015 by angela18
by angela18

This year was my first time to ever fry a turkey. I have seen so many of my friends start small fires and I did not want to be "that" person. I really wanted to try something different so I figured I would give this a shot. It worked awesome! The turkey was juicy and delicious. I highly recommend this fryer to anyone. I did use it outside on a picnic table because I was not sure how it would work and I did not want to be responsible for burning down my parent's house if something went wrong. If you have a good vent fan, you can easily use it inside if you want. Clean up was very simple. Once the oil is cool, the fryer comes with a drain spout (another reason why I did this outside so I did not spill oil in my parent's house) that you connect. Open the valve and the oil drains out effortlessly into the container. Reading all of the reviews and doing some research, I used peanut oil. For turkey, it will use almost 3 gallons so if you can get a 3 gallon container, it works best. If you live in Texas, I recommend going to HEB and purchasing their frying turkey. The turkey is already injected with seasonings and ready to go into the fryer. I am looking forward to getting many more uses out of this fryer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
angela18
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent turkey
1/9/2016

Customer review by Japes

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Japes
by Japes

Turkey comes out moist. Crab legs are easily steamed. Fryer can be used indoors or outdoors.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Japes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Turkey Fryer Ever!!!
1/7/2016

Customer review by David

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by David
by David

I ordered the XL and it had no problem cooking the 20 lb. bird, I followed the instruction, and it came out better than expected, it was juicy and well seasoned. cant wait till the next time to use it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
David
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaks Oil
11/30/2014

Customer review by swbartss

1.0 stars 11/30/2014 by swbartss
by swbartss

First time I tried it there was a gathering pool of oil underneath the unit. Couldn't see where it was dripping from. Shut down the unit and drained the oil. Never used it. Requested refund/return from Walmart. Bad experience.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
swbartss
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 338 total reviews
1-20 of 338 reviews