Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 187 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

187 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

187 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
112
4 stars
43
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 stars
17
1-20 of 187 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 187 total reviews
1-20 of 187 reviews
Unacceptable Condition
2/22/2014

Customer review by kingofthesubterraneanmole

1.0 stars 2/22/2014 by kingofthesubterraneanmole
by kingofthesubterraneanmole
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The item will not be rated until it is assembled - and who knows when that will be. The plastic casing surrounding the wheel is completely broken in at least 4 places. When I found the first break, I thought that doesn't look too bad... I can probably super glue and clamp it and it will be okay. But then I started looking closer and found four more major breaks: a piece completely broken off; parts broken and separated at the fasteners; and a a 6" jagged crack along the circumference of the wheel casing. Way too much to be repaired - it has to be replaced. So now I have the parts to a 200 pound machine laid out on my garage floor. I'm going to contact Walmart and Schwinn and see how they respond. But so far I'm very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (28) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kingofthesubterraneanmole
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great quality considering the price!
12/18/2015

Customer review by General

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by General
by General

The trainer is very solid and operates smoothly. First elliptical so I am slowly feeling my way. Tried it out yesterday after assembly (easy to do - will take some time if you want a good stable machine). Love the features and the large screen display. Only draw back is I now realize I will have to dissemble it if I want to move it to another room- total length is approx. 5 3/4 ' and height 5 1/3 '

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
General
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointing
2/16/2015

Customer review by youngbreezy

1.0 stars 2/16/2015 by youngbreezy
by youngbreezy

I was so disappointed with this elliptical I had to return it. I purchased it after reading many reviews that all seemed very positive. However, once we put mine together, it was not what I expected. First, I did not like the pedals. They are so slopped downward that my toes were constantly forced to the front making my feet sore by the time I got off. Second, I did not like the shape of the handles because every time I would let go of one to change a page in a book or on my phone, the bar would hit me on the elbow. So basically you can never let go. Third, my console was never correct on my distance or calories. I could go 30 min and it said I never even made a mile which I know is not accurate because the one at my gym shows 1.5 miles. The company offered to send me a new console but it would take two months! So I returned it and went to academy and tried out an xterra and I love it! It's just like one at the gym for the same price!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
youngbreezy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Schwinn 430
7/31/2015

Customer review by JustWait

5.0 stars 7/31/2015 by JustWait
by JustWait

Took an hour to assemble, very quiet. The only problem I had with this purchase was the shipping company (EFW) Walmart contracted out. This company emailed me that my product was here a few day before Walmart's estimate date. Great, so I setup a drop off time and planned to take half a day home to wait for them ( an adult must be home for the drop off). The night before they called, they can't find my Schwinn. Then problem started. Their system email me again that my product was ready and needed to schedule a dropoff. Eventually their operator told me to just ignore their system. But they were clueless as to where in the USA my shipment was at the time, the operator told me they'd only know when they go to their pickup point. Eventually, they found it, drop it off. Again, very good elliptical, but bad shipping experience. Walmart should contact with shipping company that can track any where in the USA (FEDEX, UPS...). What Walmart has right now is: Shipped-then wait for shipping company to contact you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustWait
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid performer
1/23/2015

Customer review by BillN

4.0 stars 1/23/2015 by BillN
by BillN

The unit arrived quickly in perfect shape. Assembly was easy - I did it in 90 minutes following the instructions. The machine itself is a solid performer as an elliptical. It is pretty quiet in operation. I enjoy the fan and the speakers. I took some time to customize the display so it only shows elapsed time, RPM and heart rate. This machine would be great if the computer tracked distance and calories correctly. Distance should be based on the number of revolutions of the wheel, not on the resistance level. Calories are way off as well. You have to crank up the resistance to see noticeable changes in distance and calories. I just ignore those figures (turned them off on the display) and use my Fitbit instead. One other gripe - the way the handles are laid out it is not possible to use the book holder with a large book. I can use the book holder with an iPad or magazine only. I would recommend this to anyone despite the computer and book holder issues.

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BillN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Schwinn 430 Elliptical BEST BUY
12/29/2014

Customer review by Working4Fun

5.0 stars 12/29/2014 by Working4Fun
by Working4Fun

I tried several Ellipticals at different stores and reviewed on-line before I purchased this machine. This machine felt great when I stepped on it. Shipment was easy and the shipment company's communication was great and friendly. It took 1 1/2 hours to set up. The bolts and screws were already on it. The speakers work fine. I use my headsphones instead and it works great! The fan has 3 speeds and is placed in the right place for me. I am 50 years old and over weight and this machine kicks my butt. I feel comfortable and safe on the machine. I really love using it and started with 5 minutes and now at 20. I look forward to using more options as I get stronger and thinner. I highly recommend this product. If you are looking for something good without spending a lot of money, this is the machine to seriously think about.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Working4Fun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth the Money
5/27/2014

Customer review by MarltonDad

5.0 stars 5/27/2014 by MarltonDad
by MarltonDad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading review after review, we ended up purchasing the Schwinn 430 from Wal-Mart because it was immediately available for free in-store pick up. Many reviews referenced assembly time, which I found to be totally reasonable at just under 2 hours working by myself. I took my time, followed the well-labeled instructions and had no problems whatsoever. The packaging was very robust (almost too well-packed) and all parts were included. The elliptical itself is fantastic. It's quiet, sturdy and smooth. The build quality is actually quite impressive. I expect this to last for many years. Our 3 1/2 year old son is also fascinated by it. Would highly recommend this elliptical. My wife says it's actually way better than any of the units at her gym.

Was this review helpful? (84) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarltonDad
Marlton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First not so good but the second one good
12/26/2015

Customer review by llittlemac51

3.0 stars 12/26/2015 by llittlemac51
by llittlemac51

I received the first one, and it came damaged from a Third Party Freight Company, but they stated it was damaged when they received. it. It looked as if who picked the order they rand the Forklift right throught it, andthen tried to repack it very badly. I called custoerm service and they replaced the order in a very courteous way. They even gave a a better price. The second one came in a lot of better shape. I msut say the customer service person took care of me very well..

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
llittlemac51
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
schwinn 430 is one of my better choices
1/26/2014

Customer review by Meeaugie

4.0 stars 1/26/2014 by Meeaugie
by Meeaugie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It took me about 2 hours to put together and it was easy. All the screws and bolts were pre-attached to the location and holes so all you had to do was unscrew and re-screw this machine runs so quiet and so smooth I was seriously impressed and I am very happy I made this purchase and I did so knowing that this was an investment on my health and this elliptical was going to help me reach my goals. It is very sturdy and does "NOT" give you a cheap feel * I do have one complaint and that is I need to return the console I can tell it is getting power but I am not getting the display that I should. I will add to this after I get my console exchanged with an update I am not worried about the return cause Schwinn has always given me good product and service throughout my years. I'm 54.

Was this review helpful? (70) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meeaugie
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GReat elliptical for the price
12/11/2013

Customer review by mikey13126

4.0 stars 12/11/2013 by mikey13126
by mikey13126
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Took 2 hours to put together outer wheel cover rubs a little because it is out of round waiting on replacement cover. Very heavy so if you are shipping to store make sure you have a couple of people and a truck

Was this review helpful? (72) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mikey13126
Oswego,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Happy So Far
2/12/2015

Customer review by jesmelric

5.0 stars 2/12/2015 by jesmelric
by jesmelric

I did a lot of research before purchasing this and I am very happy so far, however I've only used it twice. I've been doing a treadmill for over 20 years, but have plantar fasciitis in my heel and the treadmill was making it worse. The elliptical is a completely different beast! It works your legs much more and it takes a lot more effort, so I have a big learning curve in getting used to it. But this is nice and quiet, I like the MP3 feature, the speakers work just fine and are perfectly adequate. Assembly was a bit of a pain, but no more than typically when assembling a piece of exercise equipment. I wish the booklet was more helpful for instructions. It doesn't clearly state how to use the programs as opposed to manual quick start. Still not sure what all the buttons down each side of the console are for? I need to look online and see if I can find more information. For the cost I am very pleased with this piece of equipment.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jesmelric
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product!
8/25/2015

Customer review by Lurzy

5.0 stars 8/25/2015 by Lurzy
by Lurzy

Assembly was easy. Took about 2 hours to assemble. A couple of minor concerns is it weighs 188 pounds so had to deliver via LTL. We assembled in our garage and then attempted to move it into an extra bedroom and had to remove the handles and console to make it through the door. Definitely requires 2 people to assemble and move. It came with assembly instructions but not the users manual that you had to get from the website and print. I've used the elliptical twice and I am extremely pleased with the quality of the product and ease of use. Provides a great workout!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lurzy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far so good
1/22/2014

Customer review by newtoellitpticals

4.0 stars 1/22/2014 by newtoellitpticals
by newtoellitpticals
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The machine was not difficult to build. A little strength is required to torque the bolts, but nothing crazy. I did it by myself (28 year old, 160 lbs, fit male) in about 2 hours (leisurely). I used Wal-mart's site to store option and grossly underestimated the size of the packaging box, so the Wal-mart employee and I had to take every piece of the elliptical out of the box to transport it in my vehicle. The machine feels sturdy. Runs quiet and smooth. I was missing one bolt that was supposed to be one of the pre-installed bolts, but the washers and nut were in the plastic, so maybe it fell out when we opened the box in the parking lot. I was able to find a replacement bolt easily at the local hardware store. This and the fact that I've only used it once so far is the only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars. I've done a lot of research and this seems like the best value.

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newtoellitpticals
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Value, Durable Equipment
7/3/2014

Customer review by JustAnotherAnimal

5.0 stars 7/3/2014 by JustAnotherAnimal
by JustAnotherAnimal

just picked up the Schwinn 430 Ellipitical from my local store inventory. Was worried about broken parts, missing parts, and missing hardware. Box from their inventory was in immaculate condition. Sports Dept. Manager and an Associate put the box in my SUV. When I got it home I took it out of the carton in pieces and assembled in my spare room, leaving the box in the SUV which later went straight to the dumpster. All parts and hardware were included and everything was in pristine condition. The machine went together in about an hour and works perfect. The motion is solid and very, very smooth. The action of the pedals, wheel, and arms is effectively noise-free. The console works perfectly and the speakers aren't as bad as I'd imagined they'd be based on prior user reviews. In all, a very, very solid machine that I'd highly recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustAnotherAnimal
Shreveport, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Very Happy!
8/31/2015

Customer review by GrindItOut

5.0 stars 8/31/2015 by GrindItOut
by GrindItOut

Love this machine! I had two less expensive elipticals (not Schwinn!) before, and both of them were squeaky, kind of rickety, and ended up breaking after a couple years of use. So I was fed up, and this time I decided to upgrade (spent about $300 more) and this machine is WAAAAY better. It is very quiet and stable. It was easy to assemble (about two hours with a partner, the tools are all included). I love that it has a fan built into the console. The resistance is very good -- I will probably never be able to max out it's potential. It is a pretty heavy machine, so I was very glad that I had it shipped to my house and the delivery guys carried the box in for me. The box would not have fit in my car, and it would have been very difficult to get up the stairs to my apartment without the pro guys to do it for me. There is only one drawback for me, but it's not really a big deal -- my old elipticals were lighter and easy to move against the wall when I finished working out. My apartment is small, so being able to move the machine out and then back when I'm done is really helpful. But this one is really heavy (probably why it is so stable and quiet)! I just leave the front end sticking out and slide the back end back and forth against the wall when I use it. So if you're looking for a space-saver model, that is something to think about.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrindItOut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
schwinn 430
11/29/2015

Customer review by ggreen

4.0 stars 11/29/2015 by ggreen
by ggreen

The items are shipped in manufacturer which is very well package. There are no parts which are damaged by shipping. Most of the bolts, washer and attached to part items so very little sorting that require except for the few which are properly label in one package and the part sequence are very well illustrated in the assembling manual. Assembling is easy and required very little skill. The machine is performed well with almost no noise. This machine is very well made and worthy exercise machine. It has a very short glide so if someone need a longer glide may need to research on something else. Manual adjustable slope is an bonus for this price range. Motorize adjustable slope would cost more if someone can afford it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ggreen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value for a terrific workout at home
10/30/2013

Customer review by Flweich

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by Flweich
by Flweich
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've only had this elliptical for 5 days, but my initial impressions are very favorable. I bought it based on the great reviews for previous generations of Schwinn ellipticals, plus I did have an opportunity to try one of the older models in a store so that I knew it would be comfortable for me to use. Assembly was straight forward and I was pleased with how well everything went together to form a very solid unit that seems like it will last at least as long as the 10 year warranty on the frame. The instructions were easy to follow and the whole thing was done in a couple of hours with short breaks. I'm not taking advantage of the console since I basically get on and go for 30 minutes plus warm up and warm down. The resistance levels are pretty tough for me even though I'm used to doing cardio every day. I keep the resistance pretty low for now so that I can get in the full amount of time. I hope to build myself up to being able to handle more resistance over time. The fan and speakers must have been improved over the useless appendages they were reviewed as on older versions. The fan actually does move air decently, although I don't typically use it. The speakers are loud enough to hear over the little bit of noise that the machine makes, but their sound quality is not the best. If you have decent speakers near by and you prefer to listen while you work out, you would get better sound quality out of almost any other speakers and they don't have to be blaring to be heard over the sound of the elliptical. So after 5 days of daily use, I am very happy with this purchase and I anticipate that I will enjoy it and benefit from it for many years to come. It replaces a Nordic Track ski machine that I used almost every day for 18 years that finally gave out beyond repair. That is the one thing that remains a mystery to me about these Schwinn ellipticals: reviewers, like myself, provide reviews soon after they have acquired the product. I've not seen any reviews that indicate how well they actually hold up after daily use over several years.

Was this review helpful? (142) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flweich
Suburban Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lives up to its name "Schwinn"
1/28/2015

Customer review by user

5.0 stars 1/28/2015 by user
by user

The Elliptical was ready to be delivered a few days earlier than quoted, which was fine. I had the delivery person place the box in my garage as he stated he could not enter my home. The box was heavy, so two of us placed it on a rolling dolly and we rolled it into the exercise room. The elliptical was packaged well and there was a lot of Styrofoam packaging included. It took at least a half an hour or more to un-package and organize each part. The elliptical was easy to assemble around 2 hours of taking your time and the directions were easy to follow. On page 9, you will need to make sure you place the bottom of the #1 piece through the #12 piece hole and make sure each piece is facing the proper direction. Also make sure you plug in the electrical plug before snapping #12 into place. It is possible to open the box in the garage or outside and carry each part to the proper location, as the box is too heavy to carry whole. Very nice piece of equipment, runs smooth and gives you a good workout even at the lowest setting. I've only had it for a week, but I would recommend purchasing this Elliptical.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
user
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great machine for the price
7/7/2014

Customer review by 1Turkster1

5.0 stars 7/7/2014 by 1Turkster1
by 1Turkster1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I didn't have $1000 to spend on a elliptical so I put in my time trying to find the best machine to fit my budget. I went to the stores & got on the machines & read online reviews. I tried the schwinn 430 at a Walmart & even got a employee to plug it in so I could really see how the it felt. I bought the machine that same day. I was use to the $3000 Precor machines at the gym, & while I'm not saying the schwinn is at that level, the resistance was. And that was the most important feature I was looking for in a elliptical. When you change resistance levels its very smooth & strong. It has a nice long stride & the foot pads glide along nicely. Everything was packaged & labeled nicely. Took about a hour and one half to put together by myself. I have not tried all the programs yet, but the ones i used work fine & give a good workout. The charging dock is a nice feature & the speakers work ok. The only negative so far is that when the footpads are coming forward, your foot in a slight decline position & i find my toes sometimes getting pushed up into the front of my sneakers. Also the fan is useless. But for under $600 I am very pleased with it. It's a smooth running well made machine

Was this review helpful? (30) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1Turkster1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great performer, great value
11/13/2014

Customer review by Jimbo1001

5.0 stars 11/13/2014 by Jimbo1001
by Jimbo1001

We've only had it for a week. Assembling it was not as difficult as other reviewers have said, because it was logical, and all the parts are high quality, made to fit together easily. Both my wife and I have gotten into it, we enjoy it, and plan to use it all winter in the cold, snowy environment here in NW Wisconsin. I was surprised at the robustness and high quality of the construction. Lots of extra features such as built in speakers for your iPod, USB port, and even a cooling fan were a pleasant surprise. It seems to have the same level of quality and endurance of elliptical trainers I have seen at health clubs, and I would have expected it to cost a few thousand dollars instead of $600.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimbo1001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 187 total reviews
1-20 of 187 reviews