Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 543 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

543 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

543 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
416
4 stars
81
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 stars
32
1-20 of 488 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 488 total reviews
1-20 of 488 reviews
Every day can be fry-day!
11/15/2009

Customer review by RayLinStephens

5.0 stars 11/15/2009 by RayLinStephens
by RayLinStephens

My fryer came on Tuesday and my Wednesday became fry-day! I did turkey wings, catfish and a whole chicken. Unbelievably good! The catfish was the best we’ve ever eaten, anywhere! The whole chicken was juicy and very tender! Should have fried at 375* and not the 350* found in an online recipe (not from Masterbuilt). The wings needed to be done at 375* and not the 350* I had used previously in another smaller fryer following another online recipe. The oil drains out clean enough to put directly into the oil jugs. This machine breaks down easily for cleaning. A joy to use! I am thrilled with my new Electric Indoor Butterball Turkey Fryer and recommend it heartily to anyone interested.

Was this review helpful? (359) (72)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RayLinStephens
Sumrall, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
Great Cooker
11/29/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/29/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have been wanting to deep fry a turkey for years and was happy to see this indoor cooker available. It has an automatic temperture control and a built in timer. Although not for turkeys over 14lbs, we cooked an 11lb turkey completely in about 45 mins. We did not add any spices or marinade -- best turkey ever. The clean up is very easy with a valve provided to drain the oil when you finished. All parts are removable and easily washed with a sponge and warm soapy water. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (277) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Ogden, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Excellent
12/30/2010

Customer review by Michaelnwatuga

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by Michaelnwatuga
by Michaelnwatuga

Fries an excellent turkey althought the largest turkey that will fit the basket is 12 lbs. What is not said in the info-mercial is that it take 30 minutes to perpare the turkey to fry. This includes warming the turkey to room temperature and drying the inside and outside with paper towels. If you don't follow the prep, the turkey will not cook correctly. You can still inject marinade into the turkey so long as it is in the meat and below the skin. Otherwise the dripping will cause the oil to flash. One thing I used to help blot up the juices are new/clean puppy pads. You can sit the turkey on the puppy pads while you blot the turkey dry and any extra moisture you miss is captured by the pad. Wal-mart purchase online and pick up in the store is excellent, no lines and no hassles.

Was this review helpful? (102) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Michaelnwatuga
Watauga, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Just as good as the say it is
8/15/2010

Customer review by JimInWichita

5.0 stars 8/15/2010 by JimInWichita
by JimInWichita

This is one of the few products I've ever purchased that actually works as well as they claim it will. I use mine at least monthly to fry chicken wings and french fries. It fries 5 pounds of wings just beautifully. We also use it to fry whole chickens, yum yum. Cleans up with minimal mess, has a handy drain value on the back that lets you put the oil back into the jug. Most of the parts that get dirty can be washed in the dishwasher, cleanup really isn't bad at all. This is the first time I've ever bothered to write a review on this site, that's how much I like this thing.

Was this review helpful? (88) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimInWichita
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Butterball Turkey Fryer very Versitale
12/4/2009

Customer review by AthleticDirector

5.0 stars 12/4/2009 by AthleticDirector
by AthleticDirector

Our schools Athletic Depat. bought 3 Turkey Fryers. We have used them to Fry Turkey Breasts, Chicken Fingers, and Mozzarella Sticks for our Concession Stand. We also Boil Hot Dogs and Polish Sausages. Clean up is fast and easy. The Turkey Fryer has made our concession stand the talk of the Conference.

Was this review helpful? (112) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AthleticDirector
Maywood, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Fabulous Fryer!!
11/28/2011

Customer review by brooklyn10thave

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by brooklyn10thave
by brooklyn10thave

This fryer was worth every penny. This was the first time making a fried Turkey and using an indoor fryer. I love love love this thing. I fried a 13.5 lb turkey and it was done in 1-hour. Yes, you read it right 1-HOUR. It was thoroughly done and very juicy. I seasoned it with dry rub and dipped right into the fryer. Spent no time marinating and the flavor was fantastic. Another great thing is that the clean up was easy and fast. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brooklyn10thave
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
I may never roast turkey again!
12/23/2009

Customer review by jyhunt

5.0 stars 12/23/2009 by jyhunt
by jyhunt

I deep fried my first turkey for Thanksgiving last year using a propane cooker. It was the best turkey I'd ever eaten in my 42 years on this planet, but it was cumbersome, required 4+ gallons of costly oil, and the whole prospect was dependent on good weather -- a dicey gamble for late fall in northern New England. With the electric fryer, this year's bird was just as excellent, but required only 2 gallons of oil, was far less hands-on, AND I could do it indoors! We've done two birds since Thanksgiving, and we'll be frying another for Christmas. Also, the manufacturer's website (Masterbuilt.com) is loaded with great how-to videos. I can't praise this product enough!

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jyhunt
South Berwick, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A Very Cool Tool Indeed
9/16/2010

Customer review by therealkevster

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by therealkevster
by therealkevster

Just did my 1st deep-fried turkey breast with this unit (have done many with the older style propane burner & deep stainless stockpot). Must say this met all of my expectations, worked just like directions promised and produced a delicious turkey breast! Much easier to clean up afterward than the older method. Very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
therealkevster
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very Tasty
12/2/2009

Customer review by AceHighDrummer

5.0 stars 12/2/2009 by AceHighDrummer
by AceHighDrummer

The Butterball Turkey Fryer surpassed everything I was hoping for.The turkey was done cooking in 50 minutes and was very moist.Even the white meat.I would say it was the best turkey I have ever eaten.No lie!!!!

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AceHighDrummer
Valparaiso,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome Fryer
12/9/2009

Customer review by fryinginva

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by fryinginva
by fryinginva

We looked around for a fryer and did not want to use butane, we found this one that could be used indoor and boy let me tell u this is the BEST turkey fryer i have ever seen, Very very safe and very easy to use and clean up. we placed in on the island in our kitchen and turkey was done in about 45 mins. it was soooo juicy and brown so beautifully. You have got to get one of these. I gave one to my brother for xmas because he was so impressed with it and wanted one.

Was this review helpful? (251) (125)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fryinginva
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
I'm loving this fryer!
11/6/2011

Customer review by APrairieGirl

5.0 stars 11/6/2011 by APrairieGirl
by APrairieGirl

I put "owned for" at 2-3 months because, I got this fryer for Christmas 2010 BUT I only Opened it and used it for the first time September 2011. I think I was intimidated by the size of the box, it was HUGE! When I opened it, the fryer was HUGE too! Stands about 18" tall by 12"x12" square. Don't let this scare you! I didn't really need the instructions, it was all very simple. My first try was chicken wings. I used the minimum amount of oil (1 gal), I did look in the recipe guide to see where to set the temp, but other than that, again very simple. You wait for the light to turn green, this can take 30 minutes or more if your oil has been refrigerated. Drop in your meat, wait till the frying noise gets quieter and the pieces float, use the hooking grabber to lift the basket. Done. NOW I'm fairly short 5'3", and having this sitting on my counter and trying to lift the basket out of the oil with the hooking grabber they provide means I'm lifting way over my head to remove the basket. I had a pan lined with paper towels by the fryer to catch the dripping oil. It was kind of a mess. The 2nd time I used it, I did not take the basket out at all. I CAREFULLY dropped my pieces of chicken in the hot oil and removed them with a fat straining spoon (I have no idea what to call that tool). This fryer makes the BEST fried chicken and wings. I brined my chicken in salt water before flouring and frying and I had not problems with it drying out. I have not fried an entire bird (chicken or turkey) but I'm looking forward to trying one. I think when I do, I will drag my fryer outside just to be safe and I won't push the size limit, keep it small no bigger than 10 lbs. Cleaning is very easy, even for somone like me who dreads it! I like that the spigot is high enough that it siphons off the oil without any crumbles that are on the bottom of the pot. Here's my handy tips: #1 When you're draining the oil through the spigot, drain it back into the original gallon jug, you can refrigerate and use the oil several times. #2 When you've filled your jug and turn the shut-off, flip the spigot 1/2 a turn so the hole faces up, this keeps the residual oil in the spigot from dripping on the floor. #3 Rinse the rest of the oil with hot water, spray the pot, basket and heating element with Simple Green, let it set a few minutes and it cleans right up, no scrubbing! (You can get Simple Green in the automotive section of Walmart.) If I had a con, it would be that the lid doesn't detach. I would like for it to detach to make it a little easier to clean, but wish in one hand... Still pretty easy to clean. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (37) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
APrairieGirl
Cleveland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Wow!
12/2/2009

Customer review by RVolley

4.0 stars 12/2/2009 by RVolley
by RVolley

I contemplated purchasing a Fryer that requires an open flame. My friends used one to deep fry a turkey and I just loved the taste. I looked at reviews on them and watched video about them. I decided, for safety reasons, not to get one. I just happened to be on the WalMart website and saw they had electric ones. I looked at reviews and videos and ordered one. Well... it arrived very quickly, thank you WalMart, the setup was very simple, I used it in the house (Peanut oil will not smoke much at all) and the Turkey was worth it. There was not much left after Thanksgiving. I highly recommend this product. Oh, and the cleaning was very simple.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RVolley
Maineville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Butterball Electric Fryer
1/12/2011

Customer review by MsStylynn

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by MsStylynn
by MsStylynn

After seeing the Butterball Electric Fryer advertised on a Paid Commercial channel for upwards of $150, I immediately went to Walmart.com and found the same product for barely over $100. I ordered it and am so-o-o-o glad that I did. I received it within three days and fried a turkey in 36 minutes without any problems. It is so easy to use. Add the oil, plug it in an electrical socket, allow oil to heat, add food, set the timer, close the lid and when the turkey was done frying, a timer alerted me. The turkey was done and it was so delicious. I've also fried fish and it comes out so crisp. Food can also be steamed. Dessert pies fried and many other uses. Cleans in a snap and many parts are dishwasher safe. Believe me, this is the way to go for frying and steaming. I highly recommend the Butterball Electric Fryer. So safe, so easy, so grand!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsStylynn
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent Taste and Time Saving
11/26/2010

Customer review by KofCcook

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by KofCcook
by KofCcook

Cooked 5 turkeys in this fryer and 5 larger turkeys in the XL model in the same amount of time as it took to cook 2 turkeys at once in a conventional oven. The quality of the finished product was extraordinary! The deep fried turkeys were by far the best of 25 turkeys we prepared for serving and distributing by our organization on Turkey Day.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KofCcook
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A Must Have in EVERY Household!
1/4/2011

Customer review by Kenniya

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by Kenniya
by Kenniya

This Butterball fryer was the talk of my Christmas party! It fryed the turkey to perfection and juiciness in a matter of an hour. It was easy to use, safe, and saved on peanut oil. I can't wait until craw fish come back in season so I can try out the steam and boil features too!

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kenniya
Corona, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Easy to use
12/14/2010

Customer review by Skye23

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by Skye23
by Skye23

We saw this product on a cable tv news program and couldn't resist getting it. After checking around for a good price we ordered it from Walmart and had it shipped to our local store. About a week later we had our fryer and were ready to go. Ease of Use - this machine is pretty easy to use, you should read the manual of course but overall its simple to operate. The 2 biggest problem we had was finding reasonably priced peanut oil that was still in stock the week before Thanksgiving and figuring out where to plug the fryer in. As other reviews have stated its got about a 3 foot cord, and due to its height you do not want to use it anywhere on your counter where you have cabinets hanging over it. This left us with a shortage of options and we ended up having to ignore the manufacturers warning to not use any sort of extention cord. We ended up using a very short corded "squid" type extention cord that had a surge protector built in. I don't think it extended the cooking time any but I agree with the manufacturer that you wouldn't want to use a really long extension cord or anything that wasn't heavy duty. The one we used was designed for computers and electronics. The first night we did a test run with a chicken, we were surprised to find out it actually takes longer per pound to cook one of them then it does a turkey. Probably because it was an oven-stuffer type chicken and there's a higher meat to bone ration. At any rate we put it in for 4 minutes a pound, tested it, put it back in for a little while and we were good to go. Everyone agreed it was the best, juiciest chicken we'd ever had. We played around with the injection marinade a bit and fried up a turkey a day later for Thanksgiving (we left the oil in the machine overnight to no ill effect). Again, rave reviews although next time I'll test the turkey after 3 - 3.5 minutes per pound instead of 3.5-4 mins. Due to some food allergies we made our own marinade of apple cider, melted butter, ground black pepper, salt, worcestershire sauce and soy sauce along with a dash of balsamic vinegar and some shallot (onion) salt. It was really good although we're still tweaking the recipe. One note - you do need a silicon heat-proof glove with this thing. Because you're slowly dropping the turkey/chicken in the oil in stages it will splatter a little, there's no way around it. We already owned one and I was glad we did. If you don't own one buy the combo pack that has one.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skye23
Wilmington, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Dont get discouraged!!!...........................
11/8/2011

Customer review by CookingMom4865

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by CookingMom4865
by CookingMom4865

Me and my fiance bought one of these at Walmart, brought it home and spent two hours trying to get it to come on. The lights would barely come on when we plugged it up, and it wouldn't get hot... it pretty much wouldn't work. We thought that WE were doing something wrong. We thought maybe we should take it back, but it was so big, it was a hassle to deal with taking it back but we took a chance and took it back to Walmart to exchange it for another one. I simply went to the customer service desk and said I wanted to exchange it for another one because this one wouldn't work. Since I had my receipt they just gave me my money back and I went and got another one hoping that this one would be different. We were willing to try again because we had heard and seen such great reviews on this product and we really wanted one! So I brought the new one home and as soon as we plugged it up, LIGHTS ON!!! It worked amazingly!!!!!!!!!!!! WE LOVE OUR FRYER, and I wouldn't change a thing. Sometimes things aren't perfect and a lot of times when people get something bad they take it back, give up and write a horrible review on it. My advise would be that it's ok to have to do a little extra work to make things right.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CookingMom4865
Richmond, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product.
1/9/2012

Customer review by BbunsN

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by BbunsN
by BbunsN

Did what it was designed to do.. and safe when following directions to the T. Excellent results and perfect cooked item every time.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BbunsN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Indoor Turkey Fryer
11/27/2010

Customer review by Sealions

4.0 stars 11/27/2010 by Sealions
by Sealions

I bought this for Thanksgiving after seeing on the Huckabee Show on FOX News. First of all Wal-Mart is the cheapest place to purchase this fryer. Some places that I looked at were $90 more for the same unit. I cooked a 12 pound turkey in just 44 minutes and it was very good. My guests were very surprised that the turkey was moist and not greasy. The fryer is very easy to clean up. I moved it out to the garage after it cooled down and came back to it 2 days later. Drained the oil, took it apart and the total job was done in about 20 minutes. This will not fit in most cabinets so you will need to find a place to store it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sealions
Dundee Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Butterball Indoor Turkey Fryer
12/29/2009

Customer review by MrHP

3.0 stars 12/29/2009 by MrHP
by MrHP

You will be able to fry your turkey indoors with little issue and little grease. I have owened better indoor turkey fryers also made by masterbuilt. This one uses a basket and you lay the turkey on its back. That is why it uses less grease. Unfortunately, portions of the turkey will get stuck to the basket on removal. That is another issue, removal, you will have to pry the turkey out of the basket when done. Not like other upright fryers where you simply remove the rod from the center. Again, it will get the job done with less grease. I prefer the upright style better for overall results. I am returning this one and getting the other indoor fryer made by masterbuilt. (My best friend used and kept the one I had originally paying me to purchase another).

Was this review helpful? (18) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrHP
Lansing, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 488 total reviews
1-20 of 488 reviews