Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 324 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

324 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

324 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
178
4 stars
80
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 stars
32
1-20 of 318 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 318 total reviews
1-20 of 318 reviews
Wonderful!
4/21/2014

Customer review by T101Slicer

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by T101Slicer
by T101Slicer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's an absolutely great phone, and it has just about anything anyone would need. I've used an iPhone and and Android phone, and this is better than both by far, in my opinion. It has a very powerful speaker, it's how I wake up most mornings. A 5MP camera, I know to some people it may not sound like much, but it takes VERY clear pictures (SEE ATTACHED PHOTOS). Great call quality. I would recommend this phone to anyone in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? (342) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
T101Slicer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love this phone anyone can use very easy .
4/22/2014

Customer review by enopaddle

5.0 stars 4/22/2014 by enopaddle
by enopaddle

this phone works very fast no hunting for feathers huge print super fast to get to anything. one touch gets u where you want to be . supper clear pics.

Was this review helpful? (242) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
enopaddle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it is the best phone
2/12/2014

Customer review by PROSESS

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by PROSESS
by PROSESS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nokia Lumia 520 is an EXCELLENT DEVICE, I'm happy for that

Was this review helpful? (176) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PROSESS
BURLESON TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Starter Smart Phone
2/16/2014

Customer review by 4pawsx4

5.0 stars 2/16/2014 by 4pawsx4
by 4pawsx4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

I suggest that you download (to your computer) the PDF file on this phone. It is most helpful. Overall I would say that the 520 is very easy to use. I imagine that some people might be put off by it running Windows 8. It's not hard, in fact it is straight forward. It doesn't look like a cheaper phone and it has a lot of the same functions that the higher end phones have. I wanted it because it would be easier to see and it is. I was using a small flip phone for years and the 520 is so much easier to use. I called AT&T to have them help me switch my minutes and my phone number to the new phone. It was painless and done quickly. I am not a heavy user of a cell phone, I mainly use it when traveling and for emergencies or a quick call, just what I need. You can add more memory if you want, especially if you like to use your phone for music. The wifi works very well...you can surf, get email etc without it costing anything IF you are using wifi. You cannot call or text with wifi. I am very happy with this phone.

Was this review helpful? (267) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4pawsx4
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Great phone
12/28/2013

Customer review by Austinbiggirl

4.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Austinbiggirl
by Austinbiggirl
Top 500 contributor

I had intended to buy this phone from Walmart but it was sold out online and in my local stores. I happened to see an ad from Radio Shack for $69 including a $10 gift card for future use and free 8MG SD card. I picked it up at the local store, they replaced my current Go Phone with the Lumira on the ATT system, put in the new micro sim card and I was ready to go. I am using it on the .10 minute pay as you go plan and use WIFI for data - it works great. The only issue was all the "tiles" on the main screen, but it was simple to delete the ones I don't use. I added my email account, etc. and I was ready to go. The People tile/function took some getting used to, but by the time I updated my contact list it was a breeze. Review the manual for this phone on the ATT website AND you will be amazed what it can do. In the future if I find I need 4G I will switch to T-Mobile cheaper 4G and this phone can be used as a "hot spot" so I could dump my current WIFI connection.

Was this review helpful? (126) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Austinbiggirl
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Great Smartphone for the money
8/22/2014

Customer review by Funnyfish

5.0 stars 8/22/2014 by Funnyfish
by Funnyfish
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This phone is an excellent first-time Smartphone. For $50., I don't think there is any other Smartphone even close to this quality. It utilizes my $45./monthly ATT plan better than my old dumb phone which couldn't do any internet. I also have an ATT mobile hotspot with 5G of data ($50./mo). The phone incl. 1G. A total of 6G is plenty for my needs. I also can use the hot spot with my laptop and tablet. Windows 8 is a very nice, efficient OS, and user-friendly. The Wal-Mart Tech. was wonderful in getting everything set-up. I had to go to the ATT store to transfer my contacts (no cost) on their special computer. All is well. There are numerous Apps. available if you want them. Voice quality and volume are excellent. Battery life is also excellent - not so for most Smartphones. I purchased a Nokia dual protection impact hybrid cover, item #92113-38 from Amazon. This has a built-in stand, is not bulky and provides exc. protection. $4.17 icl. shipping

Was this review helpful? (85) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Funnyfish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the price!
12/20/2013

Customer review by cho213

5.0 stars 12/20/2013 by cho213
by cho213
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is a basic phone, but I am very pleased with it so far! My old phone would drain batteries, so instead of buying a new battery every couple of months, I decided to give this phone a try. My old battery was terrible so I can't compare this phone to that but it does last all day even with heavy use. Windows phone is a nice mix up from android and ios, and I actually like the operating system even though it is rather basic. Windows store (apps, games, etc.) is limited, but does have most of the popular stuff and Nokia has their own line of programs that can be downloaded, which helps quite a bit. If you buy it to replace a contracted phone it does work. My old phone used the regular SIM card, but this one uses a micro SIM. I had to take it to AT&T to get a micro SIM card. They swapped everything over with no problem and it was free to change SIM cards. So yes, it does work with an already existing contract! Worth the money considering the price of other contract smart phones. Windows phone has a new fan thanks to this affordable phone!

Was this review helpful? (111) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cho213
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Even great for Seniors.
10/4/2014

Customer review by 66hj

5.0 stars 10/4/2014 by 66hj
by 66hj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have this phone. Bought it from Walmart last Spring and am very pleased with the ease of use. I liked it so much that I purchased another one for my Mother as a birthday gift. She needed a phone that had a bigger screen and larger font which this one has both. She had some trouble with the movement of the screen, being able to slide it up and down, back and forth, but she got the hang of it. The ringtone is loud enough for her to hear in her purse, with many options to change and she likes the feature of the speaker phone. This was a problem with her other phone, not being able to hear it ring. She was also very pleased with the option to change the color of the theme. Every day she discovers a new function. Yesterday I received a text from her. She was so excited! Her first one. She never thought she would be able to use a smartphone. Way to go Mom! I guess it's true ...you are never too old to learn something new. My Mom is 87 yrs. old.

Was this review helpful? (60) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
66hj
Broken Arrow.OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome!
3/29/2014

Customer review by BishopII

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by BishopII
by BishopII
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Nokia Lumia 520 is a great phone. As a matter of fact, at $59.00 this phone is a fantastic phone, one that really surprised us coming from the Samsung Focus i917. While we managed to get the Focus onto Straight Talk, we had to do so without working MMS. For those individuals that are still interested in that particular model, you can use email for your incoming and outgoing photos... but boy what a bummer. But the Nokia Lumia 520 does away with all of that, MMS is up and running on Straight Talk, plus the Windows 8 OS is off the chain. The Nokia Lumia 520 is missing a front facing camera and camera flash, but for us, this wasn't a deal breaker. As for the phones performance, It runs smooth with no problems and at the price of $59.00, it is the best phone for you're money without a doubt. Side Note: We bought this phone as an inexpensive way to upgrade to Windows Phone 8, so with that said, you can't go wrong!

Was this review helpful? (97) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BishopII
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great phone at a great price!
6/4/2014

Customer review by Adr3nalin3Junki1

4.0 stars 6/4/2014 by Adr3nalin3Junki1
by Adr3nalin3Junki1

recently dropped my iphone 5 in the water and couldnt get it replaced. so cancelled my contract with verizon (in which i didnt receive good cell service anyways) and decided to go a lot cheaper rout. was a little skeptic at first with this being a new company and a very cheap phone but decided to give it a try. i have to say im LOVING this phone. i actually prefer it over my iphone. and with at&t i get excellent service almost everywhere, even in places i had no service with verizon. i am currently running the $45/plan unlimited talk,text,data and all seems great. This phone is very easy to use, im able to download apps for just about anything and can pin them to my homescreen with ease. the 5mp camera takes very clear photos which also surprised me. and the speaker inside is very loud and clear. i would definatly recomment this phone to anyone looking for a new phone OR a new company

Was this review helpful? (93) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adr3nalin3Junki1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
FANTASTIC CHANGE
2/14/2014

Customer review by TCH2406

5.0 stars 2/14/2014 by TCH2406
by TCH2406

OMG, I am so impressed with this phone. First let me express that I am totally Android. However, I've been with a large wireless carrier for over 13 years. I've had no problems with them , but wanted to simplify some things in my life. So I decided to break from a contract, early termination fees, taxes, etc. etc. Now I was going to bring my phone over to a popular pre-paid plan, but couldn't because of my phones features so I went looking for another option. I noticed that this phone was on a pretty decent rollback and decided to review them. I've heard mixed opinions about Windows phones. Let me say activation was a breeze, and while the phone had some small cons, the pros are much better. It's fast, loud, clean, and once customized, very user friendly. The best part is I'm doing the same exact thing on this phone I was doing on my Android for less. So I went back and ordered another one for the the hubby. This is a GREAT budget phone, and the price is almost a steal. If if you don't want to simplify yet, I would get it while on sale and hold on to it for a rainy day.

Was this review helpful? (109) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TCH2406
VIRGINIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice phone really like windows 8 interface.
10/1/2013

Customer review by Johuff32

4.0 stars 10/1/2013 by Johuff32
by Johuff32

Well after having so Manny android phones and getting tired of the lag and apps crashing etc. I finally decided to try something different a windows 8 phone. Man is it way smoother and less glitchy than android unbelievable. The windows 8 OS is nice and smooth. The internet is 4g and works well on this phone. Pretty fast smoother than the 4g on android phones. The internet explorer browser is nice minus the ability to pick yahoo as a default search engine. The camera takes decent pictures. The internal speaker is pretty loud but the speaker phone could be louder and a bit cleaner in my opinion but tolerable. The screen clarity is nice and clear with good colors. Battery life not sure yet first day of use. Also Nokia was nice enough to offer a free navigation that looks real good when i turned it on and installed it from the Microsoft market. As far as apps there could be more but it looks like Microsoft is on there way to building up there app store. overall i think this is a pretty nice phone. Especially for 100 bucks. Just wish i would have ditched android sooner because windows 8 is pretty cool.

Was this review helpful? (97) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johuff32
Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Great smartphone for price
8/25/2014

Customer review by WhyArgue

5.0 stars 8/25/2014 by WhyArgue
by WhyArgue

A smartphone for under $100! Has some limits. Only has one camera facing out, so when I did a Skype call the other person saw the dashboard of my car instead of my face (of course I was not driving). Some of the apps you might be used to on Android or iphone may be lacking. The big ones like Twitter, Facebook Waze, and Uber (but not Lyft) are there. You just may not have as many choices. The phone incorporates all your social media accounts incredibly well marrying contacts from Facebook and Twitter. The ability to pin apps to the home screen and see the latest updates is really cool. And I think Cortana has it all over Siri and Galaxy. My navigation application doesn't get the information passed correctly, but imagine that will get fixed eventually as Cortana is new. And for kids, you can control the phone through parental controls. Oh... and the find my phone feature kicks. But I do MISS iTunes!!!

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhyArgue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
First time having a Windows Phone, not bad!
11/18/2013

Customer review by cmprince

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by cmprince
by cmprince

I broke my iPhone so I bought this as a temporary replacement until I can receive my upgrade. After I opened it and played around with it, I decided to keep it as my permanent phone! No, I don't think this phone is better than the iPhone but for my first time having a Windows Phone, I was impressed! I've had it for quite some time now and it hasn't slowed down, no bugs, the internal memory isn't bad and you can add memory. It also plays my iTunes music without downloading a special app (like you have to with the Android). It take some getting used to, even if you have Windows 8 (or 8.1) on your computer but after you get used to it, it's an awesome phone. I dropped AT&T and put this phone with Straight Talk with their AT&T Compatible Micro Sim Card, it works just as fast with ST and I still get 4G coverage and speed!

Was this review helpful? (177) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmprince
Germantown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Each family member has one! Love it!
1/22/2014

Customer review by Nyrr2007

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by Nyrr2007
by Nyrr2007

We initially bought them for our children because they had repeatedly broken their very expensive smartphones - in contract with Verizon. So, when the contracts were up - we switched them to AT&T prepaid. No extra taxes, fees, and no contracts! We realized that WE (the adults) were being nickeled & dimed to DEATH and decided that prepaid is the way to go for the adults! We let go of our need for i phones and sold them on Gazelle! Now.. everyone has one. Unlimited texts, calls with 2GB of data on 4G! Even under contract with verizon my iPhone 4s was operating on 3g. I use the apps I want, I love the Nokia radio when I exercise (say goodbye to i tunes) & your boys love the xbox capability. IT'S THE BEST DEAL EVER.

Was this review helpful? (68) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nyrr2007
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great phone! Excellent Price!
1/10/2014

Customer review by CROSSN2THEBLUE

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by CROSSN2THEBLUE
by CROSSN2THEBLUE

Let me start by saying that I am very skeptical about anything with Windows on it. Having said that, I purchased this phone after reading the good customer reviews. I have historically stuck with Android and iOS phones but I wanted to replace my old phone without having to sign a contract. I started by looking on eBay and Craigslist. Could not find anything local anywhere close to how cheap this phone is. And let me say, I am VERY pleased. This phone does all I want. Some of the reviews I read complained about the lack of apps in the store. I personally have found all but one of the apps (MapMyRun)m that I used on my iOS and Android phones. I use apps like Fandango, Facebook, Holy Bible, ESPN Hub, Hulu Plus, just to name a few. The only fault I have found so far; my wife pointed out that the camera does not have a flash. Not a problem for me...not much of a photographer. For the price, you can not beat this phone. And NO CONTRACT. (I am an AT&T customer. I just put my SIM in and I was ready). It took me about an hour to familiarize myself with Windows 8 but that has not been hard as it is very similar to the other operating systems in function. The biggest difference to me is in the look. Hope this helps someone.

Was this review helpful? (110) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CROSSN2THEBLUE
Meridian, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love the phone
4/26/2014

Customer review by ArizonaJarhead

5.0 stars 4/26/2014 by ArizonaJarhead
by ArizonaJarhead

This is my first smart phone and for the price, you can't beat it. I am geetting talk, text and Internet cheaper than Verison was charging me a month for basic talk, through Consumer Cellular, which is hooked up with AT&T, but cheaper. I love the fact I can use voice command to text and get on the Internet, as my fingers always seem to press the wrong numbers on the key board. It's a little light on some aps, but I understand Windows is coming out with a program called (Cortana) it's like your own personal assistant. Something like Apple has and they are going to put it on all their Windows 8 phones, even the the cheaper Nokia 520. As a matter of fact I like this phone so much, I bought a second one, in case this one breaks. how can you beat the price and with Consumer Cellular, it's just that much better and cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArizonaJarhead
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Not a bad phone
9/12/2013

Customer review by yothere

5.0 stars 9/12/2013 by yothere
by yothere

Moved over from Virgin Mobile (sprint) 3G when my LG phone started to act strange. Was wondering about the whole Windows operating system, but at $99 for a 4G phone, and the fact that I'm not a heavy app user, figured I give it a try. Here are some observations: The phone itself is pretty good, if not a bit odd-sized (it's just a hair too big to fit in the 95% of phone cases that are already out there). Operating system is OK - Microsoft needs to work a bit on convenience features. I need faster access to airplane mode (android lets you just push and hold the power button). Widgets need work but there are a few apps to help out. Power button (wake up) on the side is a bit strange. "LIVE" tiles are not really live. Fastest you can have them update is 15 minutes - that is, it checks for email from your server every 15 minutes - it's not a "live" push. Background and text display is nice and crisp, but a little plain. Phone manages power very well. If you don't do anything with it, it uses only 5-7% battery over a day in standby. The 4G is wow-fast and is worth the upgrade if your area has 4G service. All in all, good phone. The big knock on Windows phones is the app store is not near as big as Apple or Android. That's true, but there's also not 3,492 flashlight apps either. Not as big, but there's more than likely an app that will fit your needs. The Windows OS takes a little getting used to, but I'm happy with the phone so far.

Was this review helpful? (94) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yothere
eastern shore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Deal out there for me
10/13/2013

Customer review by GDaver

5.0 stars 10/13/2013 by GDaver
by GDaver

I have searched for months for a decent, low monthly cost smart phone 'THAT WILL WORK WELL INSIDE MY HOUSE'. We Have used several carriers and have finally ended up with the ATT Go Phone $40 plan. For some reason in Canal Winchester #covered bridge area# service was weak - until I got AT&T. I can now use my phone 'inside' the house. I also have had the AT&T wireless home phone for a year #which I can soon eliminate# and also have ATT uverse and internet, and Wi-Fi works great with my new Nokia 520 phone. At first, I was leary about getting a windows phone, but I am now glad I did. The Windows 8 Nokia Lumina 520 does everything that I can imagine I will ever need. I don't think it was any harder to learn and setup than other operating system would have been. There appears to be enough Apps out there already and should also grow over time.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GDaver
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
great phone for straight talk replacement.
12/12/2013

Customer review by badboy19

4.0 stars 12/12/2013 by badboy19
by badboy19

i got this from my local walmart for just under $70 bucks. I wanted to see if it would work with straight talk...guess what it does!!! Ordered a att compatible sim card,changed the APN settings so i would have internet and mms messages..100% working with straight talk

Was this review helpful? (69) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
badboy19
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 318 total reviews
1-20 of 318 reviews