Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.8out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 | 284 reviews
5 stars
142
4 stars
63
3 stars
16
2 stars
18
1 stars
45
Sort by: 
1-20 of 283 reviews
1-20 of 283 reviews
Doesn't Clean Well!!
1/21/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My husband received this griddle for Christmas. The first two times he used it - the clean up was simple - wipe down with a rag and voila - good as new. The last time it was used - no ability to just wipe it down. It took a scrubbing sponge, comet, glass stovetop cleaner, and finally coconut oil and MAJOR MUSCLE power to get the brownish debris off the surface. Then, when he fixed pancakes after getting it clean, it was full of caked on pancake, etc. It doesn't look like this will be easy to clean at all!!! :-( He is seriously considering returning it. My husband lives to cook on a griddle and this has become a major disappointment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (67)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Isn't really Non-stick!
7/2/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wish I had read the bad reviews closer. The surface doesn't seem to heat very even at all. Pancakes stuck, and debre was left where the heating element outlines that I have not been able to get off with the "suggesting cleaning" methods. I have used the product a total of three times using the same non-stick utensils I had been using on the Oster griddle this replaced; which was over 15 years old and a broken leg required it to be retired. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not pleased
5/2/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased this product about a month ago excited to use it. Followed all manufacturers suggested temps and ended up with sticking food from first use. Bacon was the first item cooked. Every piece stuck above the heating element. Second came the eggs. Stuck where they touched the elements. Clean up was relatively easy ( the first time ). Since then not so much. Tried various methods and temperatures on bacon. Sticks every time. If eggs are kept within the elements it works fine. Griddle works great for things like pancakes and grilled cheese sandwichs. Read reviews prior to purchasing and it seemed to be a hit or miss kind of a deal. Unfortunately mine seemed to be a big miss. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
lighter surface a bad idea
7/21/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This griddle is used exclusively for pancakes and french toast. After the third use the griddle started to stain despite using utensils for non-stick surfaces and the recommended baking soda for cleaning. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Cooking Surface
12/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased two of these griddles for a big family get together. I first cooked up a huge batch of bacon on both. The grease container just about filled up to overflow. It was a good test because this was the thick cut, full of fat, bacon. After wiping down both we started on the eggs as pancakes. We used a bit of butter for the pancakes. However, we soon found out that the pancakes looked better using nothing. The ceramic top is truly non-stick. The controls worked great, and it was easy to find the correct temperature for cooking. I didn't use the warming tray, but I think they should work fine. The griddles are easy to clean as well. The warming tray and grease trap container are not dishwasher safe. The griddle top is not removeable for cleaning. My son-in-law makes Sunday breakfast for the family. He uses a griddle every week. The coating on his old griddle is just about gone in places. The ceramic surface should be a plus because it does not wear away. The manual included with the griddle explains how to keep them like new. I just purchased one for him.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (110)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Design Needs Improvement, Not User Friendly
7/14/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The cook surface isn't the same color as the pictures but it is definitely non-stick and cleans easily. There is a thin but deep groove that runs around the perimeter of the unit between the cook surface and the plastic edge that food gets stuck in. It's really hard to clean that properly. Also the booklet that comes with the unit has suggested temperatures for cooking different food items but the suggested temperatures are all Fahrenheit and the temperature dial doesn't show you those temperatures. It shows temperatures you would never use, like 160 and 185. That's not much help. I have had to adjust the suggested temperatures down at least 25 degrees or things burn. It would be nice if the cord would fit into the warming tray for storage, and it does if you ram it in but really, it doesn't fit. All in all I am sorry I spent so much on this product. I think I could have found something better for less money. ...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First Griddle
5/17/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the first griddle I have owned and when I took it out of the box I was a little put off by the size of it, but after I used it a few times I began to appreciate the large cooking surface. I have been cooking pancakes and sausage links on it and I cannot seem to get the sausages to cook evenly and I can't tell if it's me or the griddle. I barely have to use any oil at all, if any, and the pancakes slide right off! Cleanup is very easy - just wipe off the surface and you're done. I will say that the outer casing is a little flimsier than I would have hoped - the warming tray and grease reservoir slide right out - but I think they probably slide out too easily. The whole thing just doesn't seem very sturdy. It's definitely cheaper looking in person than it appears on the website. Overall, I suppose it's a decent griddle for the price point but don't expect it to be foolproof. It takes some trial and error to get things to cook evenly. I received this product as a sample for review. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The ceramic coating came off on first use.
7/24/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased this griddle and the ceramic coating started coming off after the very first use. I followed the instructions about washing with soap and warm water before first use and let it dry, completely. We made some french toast and allowed the griddle to completely cool. The instructions say not to use cold water to clean the griddle while it's still hot. So, we let it cool off completely and then wiped it down with a warm paper towel. It did come clean easily. When I went to dry the griddle with a kitchen towel it look like there was a dirt spot still on it. After closer examination it was a hole in the ceramic coating!!! I should have listen to the many complaints in the reviews here about this griddle. It's really not a good product
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Everything sticks
1/25/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Not only does the non-stick wear off, it becomes a bear to clean.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Griddle
12/16/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This griddle was put to the test right out of the box. Used it at a pancake breakfast at my grandsons school. I cooked well over a hundred pancakes the first time I used this griddle. It cooked great. Love the ceramic top - very smooth - no stick - no need for any spray oil. Yes you can see that sometimes the pancakes had streaks on them indicating some places were a little hotter than others, but all griddles do this and it did not cause problems cooking the cakes. The next day at home I cooked bacon and it was the best I have cooked in a long time. After the bacon, I wiped the grill and cooked eggs. The only problem with the eggs was they wanted to go down the drain hole! If you are expecting this, it is no problem. Someone indicated you couldn't cook all the items that was in the picture on the box at the same time. Of course not, this is just to show what items can be cooked. Love this griddle.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Oster DuraCeramic Griddle
9/29/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The griddle shows multiple items being cooked at one time. I found this impossible. It will cook one of the items but not all at once. The reason I purchased this griddle in particular was because of the warming tray. I would not recommend this product because the warming tray does not keep the food warm.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
disappointed
9/19/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have tried to use this griddle a few times but keep having problems with food sticking. So far it is okay with bacon and sausages but the eggs and pancakes are sticking to the surface. We are following the instructions but can't stop the sticking. We tried spraying oil onto the surface but doesn't help. The eggs are the worse problem. The griddle looks really nice and the cooking surface is smooth so we can't figure out what is wrong. I tried calling customer service today but can't get them to answer because they said they are too busy with high call volume. I will try again later to see if they can help us. We will have to take it back if they can't.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My husband LOVES this griddle!
12/9/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this griddle for my husband, who loves to cook, as a Christmas gift a few days ago. We already had a different brand griddle but it's junk. I ended up giving it to him early because I knew he'd love it and save him the trouble of scrubbing the other griddle and using tons of Pam to prevent sticking. This griddle is AWESOME!! He has used it many times just in the past few days and hasn't needed any butter/oil of any kind for any of the things he has made on it. He said the food "runs away" when he's trying to flip/pick it up. Just use a second spatula and put it on the other side to hold it in place. The only thing we dislike about this is that we can't put it in water to wash, as we can with our other one, but it's not really a big deal since nothing sticks to it. Affordable, easy to clean, and by far the best griddle we have owned.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/28/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Love, Love, Love this product. Finally something that really is non stick. Don't have to spray it with Pam. The pancakes slid right off and they were nice and fluffy. Easy clean up too. Hopefully it will stay non stick for the life of the product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (70)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The World's Best Griddle!
3/8/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My Wife and I bought this griddle about a month ago and I must confess, I really wanted the Presto model electric griddle. However, My wife wanted to buy the Oster griddle because it had the Teflon free Dura-ceramic non-stick coating. I will tell anyone out there that this griddle is hands down! the best griddle for the money out there! We love it! It makes the best pancakes, bacon, ham and much more. Although the suggested temperature for pancakes was 375 degrees I have found that 350 is the optimal temp for golden brown delicious pancakes. Clean up with this griddle is as easy as the product advertises. If You buy this product and it doesn't quite work for You it is because Your not using the product properly. Always follow manufactures advice and some common sense and You will find this product to be the best! Thanks Oster for a great product! My Wife and I plan on buying the waffle maker next. Wow! Can't say enough...buy this griddle. You will not be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Didn't Meet Expectations
11/25/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was very excited to get this griddle. The ceramic top is indeed non stick. In fact it is so not stick that it is harder to get under a pancake to flip it than other models. I imagine I will get use to this. My positive thoughts are: The price is great for a griddle this size. The size is great. The DuraCeramic is very pretty and easy to clean. I have only used it once so far (for pancakes) and was disappointed with a few things including: The power cord is too short and using an extension cord on kitchen appliances doesn't seem safe to me. After flipping a couple pancakes with a polymer spatula some of the DuraCeramic finish seems to have come off leaving black spots. The heat distribution is terrible, leaving brown lines through the pancakes where the heating element was below the surface; this is not something I have had with past griddles. The pancake warming drawer is a great idea, but poorly designed. the drawer slides are awkward to put the drawer into. With this drawer in the front and the grease-catch drawer in the back you are almost sure to have at least one drawer falling out when you are putting the unit away. The heat setting chart in the manual seems to be off. I set the heat according to the manual and it was so hot that the pancakes were cooked in a strange way. I turned it down several degrees and they looked more like a pancake should.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent griddle for one who cooks
10/6/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Love the ceramic surface, eazy to clean and the warming tray awesome addition.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent griddle
5/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am reviewing the griddle with the cream colored surface and black trim. We have had this griddle for about a month. It truly is non stick!! We do use olive or grape seed oil when we cook eggs on it. It heats evenly and quickly and is quick and easy to clean! We use it daily...sometimes more than once per day. It is the best griddle we have owned. Our previous griddle was a George Foreman that cost twice as much and wasn't as nice. Pancakes cook very quickly....flip carefully as the surface is so slick it is easy to slide one right off! Buy this griddle! You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy to clean!
12/2/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We didn't realize when we purchased this griddle that it wasnt dishwasher safe. None of its components can go in tue dishwasher. But the whole thing can be cleaned by just wiping it down. There isn't even a need to use the nonstick sprays. We love it far better than our old dishwasher safe griddle.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love this Griddle!
10/9/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The ceramic top has a wonderful nonstick surface. It does just want ti says no butter, spray or oil needed. Food really does not stick and will slide right off the griddle. Very quick heat up time. Much quicker then older griddle. Over all I great product. Would definitely buy another one and would recommend one to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642864, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-