Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 708 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

708 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

708 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
369
4 stars
165
3 stars
69
2 stars
48
1 stars
57
1-20 of 708 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 708 total reviews
1-20 of 708 reviews
You get what you pay for Great Printer
12/23/2015

Customer review by netman

5.0 stars 12/23/2015 by netman
by netman

Both my wife and I own a Brother mfc-j870dw printer. Mine was mostly for general printing She use to own a craft shop so there were many things she printed for embellishing craft projects and making personal cards for holidays and other special days. Will say for years we both had hp printers but last hers broke down and when we went to replace it this printer was on sale and we bought it. Brought it home and hook up was a snap just followed the directions and in no time it was ready to print. Did take a little time to figure how to load the paper and find out different set ups for different types of printing for her crafts but nothing that a couple of old computer dummies could not figure out. This printer does every thing we need it for. Prints crystal clear photo's and text for any craft for transfer etc. You will pay more for it than a average cheap printer but believe me it is worth every cent. Like I said in the title "You get what you pay for" Could not be happier with this choice.

netman
Chidester Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value but...
7/12/2016

Customer review by spilot

4.0 stars 7/12/2016 by spilot
by spilot

This printer is a good value with many features and good print quality. It has some issues, though. 1) The ADF doesn't support 2-sided to 2-sided copying, something I didn't realize when I bought it. 2) Third party ink didn't work at all. The output was smeared and the printer was flooded with ink. Must use Brother ink. Even then, when I bought a genuine cartridge online it didn't work properly. Had to get Brother to send a replacement. Age maybe? 3) Photo quality is incredible, but the prints are much darker than the original image. So, each one has to be adjusted in a photo editing program before printing...a real pain.

spilot
China, ME, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great printer
7/20/2016

Customer review by Bobby J

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by Bobby J
by Bobby J

Works great! Especially like the wireless printing feature.

Bobby J
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
MFC-J870DW - Worst Printer Ever!
2/15/2016

Customer review by JudithA

1.0 stars 2/15/2016 by JudithA
by JudithA

Printer was only 2 months old when had to change black cartridge. It would only print 1 page then indicate that the cartridge was not inserted right & that it was out of black. After 2+ mo. of dealing with Brother Customer Service, the solution of Customer Serv. was that I needed to change the cartridge. This was insulting! Did they really think that this was not tried (actually multiple times before and after contacting Customer Service!) The Black Brother cartridge that was received, did the same thing!!! It still prints 1 page & indicates there is no ink! It is now approximately 5 months that we have not had a functional printer that was purchased on 8/23/15. I have purchased multiple Brother printers for personal home and other family members. In addition, we have routinely recommended Brother machines to others. This is by far the worst printer we have purchased (since it does not work) and the least helpful Customer Service I have worked with!

JudithA
Indianapolis area, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works as advertised!!
7/15/2016

Customer review by Mush1964

5.0 stars 7/15/2016 by Mush1964
by Mush1964

Would definitely recommend fax machine. Works as advertised. I use in my restaurant and it is near by fryer and grill and it works like a charm. Highly recommend and price was right as well.

Mush1964
Wayne, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Quality Printing
7/12/2016

Customer review by TimES

4.0 stars 7/12/2016 by TimES
by TimES

Very good printer for the money. Doesn't take up much space. It is a bit difficult to set up with a wireless network though. I had to call customer support. I didn't wait long and the support was super. All in all, I'd recommend this product.

TimES
Springboro, OH, United States
Brother - MFC-J870DW
7/12/2016

Customer review by JimD

5.0 stars 7/12/2016 by JimD
by JimD

Very nice unit, have used the scan, copy and print functions. All work very well. Have had to run repeated print cleaning cycles after about a week of use to get all the nozzles running as they should be but after that, no problems.

JimD
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Last of a dying breed
7/9/2016

Customer review by Frustrated123

4.0 stars 7/9/2016 by Frustrated123
by Frustrated123

This unit is one of the last to work with old operating systems like mine, Mac osx 10.6 Snow Leopard. Newer printers will not work with most systems that old. Since I do not want to upgrade the Mac os now, it saved me money and headache. Simple to install, decent printing. Cons: expensive Brother inks. Have had bad luck with generics.

Frustrated123
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for easy ipad iphone printing!
9/8/2014

Customer review by eyesee

5.0 stars 9/8/2014 by eyesee
by eyesee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I mainly got this to print quick items from my ipad and iphone so that I wouldn't have to turn my PC on. If I need real important documents printed I would just use my laser brother printer hooked to my PC (not ipad compatible!)...but this inkjet serves the purpose more for dealing with everyday stuff for the kids worksheets, boarding passes, etc. It literally synced to the ipad without needing to be hooked up via USB or anything--just asked for my router password under wireless connection setting and presto! One thing I did have to do was turn my router off for a few seconds and then turn it back on as it initially said incorrect error or something...but I didnt read the directions properly as it advises you to turn your router off and then on before putting in the password.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eyesee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a little upsetting that if u dont use it every day
6/20/2016

Customer review by Lurdibina

3.0 stars 6/20/2016 by Lurdibina
by Lurdibina

so i bought new ink for it about a month ago and use it maybe 2 times and not on color and now says im low on ink wish the ink didnt dry up that easy it's not cheap and another thing i go and buy photo paper tried it today and the ink dont stick to just any photo paper? which was a waste of my money ughhh not my day

Lurdibina
Enid, OK, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
does it all printer
5/6/2015

Customer review by shasha31631

5.0 stars 5/6/2015 by shasha31631
by shasha31631

I love this printer. I have owned many over the years , and This is by far the best printer I have ever owned. It prints very fast, both sides a big plus. The quality is very professional looking. I highly recommend this printer, for personal or business use. It is fairly all enclosed so no problems with dust and dirt getting into the main workings. Fluff the paper before you put it into the tray, and no hang ups on the paper. And the ink cartridges fit in, and no circuit boards are subject to sitting there and leaking ink to mess up and cause failures. Ink replacements are economical to replace, and if any of the color ones run out, you can still print black and white. For the money , this printer has been a blessing on my fixed income. I have printed quite a few pages , and the ink that came with it are still going strong. I love this printer. If you don't print for a while the ink doesn't dry up. Another big plus. No wasted money there. Printing on both sides of paper there is no seepage through the paper.

shasha31631
Stover, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great inkjet printer for home office
6/28/2014

Customer review by ReefCaptain

5.0 stars 6/28/2014 by ReefCaptain
by ReefCaptain
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I haven't had much luck with inkjet printers but I can't afford a lazer printer. The Brother MFC-J870DW came highly recommended by a friend so I decided to give it a try. Wow was I surprised on how easy it was to set up and connect with my WiFi. Brother provides easy to understand instructions (with pictures). The best thing is the quality of print. What a fantastic job for an inkjet. You can also connect it with other devices...for me I can now print from my wireless iphone and ipad. Brother has thought of everything and I am extremely pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReefCaptain
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mediocore color
6/14/2016

Customer review by Mel847

3.0 stars 6/14/2016 by Mel847
by Mel847

Printer works perfectly except for the color. It's no where near the quality of the HP Photosmart it replaced. It was also extremely difficult to set up the wireless connection. I had to call brothers tech staff and they also had difficulty. There have been no issues with the wireless since.

Mel847
Gilberts, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor CD Printing Feature and Poor Color Copies
6/15/2016

Customer review by Zafar

2.0 stars 6/15/2016 by Zafar
by Zafar

The Copying from CD has defects. It copies eccentric with outer Rim circle being eccentric by about 3 to 4mm leaving unequal gap on sides for outer diameter. Also the quality of color copies is very poor. Colors are subdued and lighter than original.

Zafar
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product
6/28/2015

Customer review by Vetteman18361

4.0 stars 6/28/2015 by Vetteman18361
by Vetteman18361

We bought this unit to upgrade our old Brother MFC unit because of the wifi. Our old one still works perfectly, but did not have wifi. With this model, we are able to send photos or anything else, from our cell phones or tablets from another room, thanks to their app. You could also send a photo to the unit by placing your phone or tablet, in front of the unit, push a button on your phone or tablet, and it sends it to the printer. That sometimes works, sometimes don't. That's why I gave the unit a 4 instead of a 5. The printer indicates it receives your photo, but nothing prints out in some cases. But we rarely ever use that function anyway because of the wifi app that allows you to send whatever it is, from the other room. Of course, all of our copies print out very well and like the last Brother printer I had, photos look like photos. Great quality. You can't ask for a better printer for the price. The fax works well and the printer is fast when printing.

Vetteman18361
Visalia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No problems ahead
6/15/2016

Customer review by cosmo433

5.0 stars 6/15/2016 by cosmo433
by cosmo433

My wife and I each have a MFC-J870DW. Very satisfied with the print quality, ease of use and duplex printing capability. Buy this printer and you will have no problems ahead.

cosmo433
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GOOD MACHINE FOR HOME USE
6/15/2016

Customer review by JDoffice

4.0 stars 6/15/2016 by JDoffice
by JDoffice

Good all in one machine for use at home or small office. It very slow at scanning on the glass for pictures and if this is not a problem for you I would recommend this machine.

JDoffice
Colorado, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looling for another printer
6/13/2016

Customer review by Mike Y

1.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Mike Y
by Mike Y

Goes off line often and has to be restarted at least once a day. Jams frequently. Had to use USB connection because wireless is too unreliable.

Mike Y
Would recommend to a friend? No
I Love This Printer
1/10/2016

Customer review by LuckyLady

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by LuckyLady
by LuckyLady

I researched dozens of printers before deciding on the Brother MFC-J870DW, and I'm convinced that I chose the best printer. It was easy to set up, and within minutes I had it connected wirelessly to my Macbook Pro. I can sit in my recliner with my laptop on my lap and easily send anything to the printer. I love the double-sided feature, which I use all the time. The speed and quality of this printer are excellent. Printing photos, envelopes, and anything different is easy. This printer also allows you to make copies from the document feed or by placing the original directly on the glass, which is great for copying from a book or magazine. Some reviewers complained that it doesn't hold enough paper and has to be refilled often. It would be nice if it held more, but refilling takes two seconds, and it's not a problem. I don't use the fax feature because I don't have a landline. Some other printers that I considered were huge. This one isn't small, but it's much smaller than most others, so it takes up less room on my desk. I'm really glad I chose this printer.

LuckyLady
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value, quality & performance
8/28/2014

Customer review by Raytriarch

5.0 stars 8/28/2014 by Raytriarch
by Raytriarch
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love two sided print capability, easy setup, and quality of printer and printing. Am curious to see how long ink cartridges will last. Paper magazine/holder is cumbersome for frequent changes in paper type/quality and envelopes, but I knew that when I decided to buy this printer. Every thing else I have used (features) have exceeded expectations.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raytriarch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 708 total reviews
1-20 of 708 reviews