Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 708 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

708 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

708 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
369
4 stars
165
3 stars
69
2 stars
48
1 stars
57
1-20 of 708 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 708 total reviews
1-20 of 708 reviews
You get what you pay for Great Printer
12/23/2015

Customer review by netman

5.0 stars 12/23/2015 by netman
by netman

Both my wife and I own a Brother mfc-j870dw printer. Mine was mostly for general printing She use to own a craft shop so there were many things she printed for embellishing craft projects and making personal cards for holidays and other special days. Will say for years we both had hp printers but last hers broke down and when we went to replace it this printer was on sale and we bought it. Brought it home and hook up was a snap just followed the directions and in no time it was ready to print. Did take a little time to figure how to load the paper and find out different set ups for different types of printing for her crafts but nothing that a couple of old computer dummies could not figure out. This printer does every thing we need it for. Prints crystal clear photo's and text for any craft for transfer etc. You will pay more for it than a average cheap printer but believe me it is worth every cent. Like I said in the title "You get what you pay for" Could not be happier with this choice.

netman
Chidester Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for easy ipad iphone printing!
9/8/2014

Customer review by eyesee

5.0 stars 9/8/2014 by eyesee
by eyesee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I mainly got this to print quick items from my ipad and iphone so that I wouldn't have to turn my PC on. If I need real important documents printed I would just use my laser brother printer hooked to my PC (not ipad compatible!)...but this inkjet serves the purpose more for dealing with everyday stuff for the kids worksheets, boarding passes, etc. It literally synced to the ipad without needing to be hooked up via USB or anything--just asked for my router password under wireless connection setting and presto! One thing I did have to do was turn my router off for a few seconds and then turn it back on as it initially said incorrect error or something...but I didnt read the directions properly as it advises you to turn your router off and then on before putting in the password.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eyesee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great inkjet printer for home office
6/28/2014

Customer review by ReefCaptain

5.0 stars 6/28/2014 by ReefCaptain
by ReefCaptain
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I haven't had much luck with inkjet printers but I can't afford a lazer printer. The Brother MFC-J870DW came highly recommended by a friend so I decided to give it a try. Wow was I surprised on how easy it was to set up and connect with my WiFi. Brother provides easy to understand instructions (with pictures). The best thing is the quality of print. What a fantastic job for an inkjet. You can also connect it with other devices...for me I can now print from my wireless iphone and ipad. Brother has thought of everything and I am extremely pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReefCaptain
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value, quality & performance
8/28/2014

Customer review by Raytriarch

5.0 stars 8/28/2014 by Raytriarch
by Raytriarch
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love two sided print capability, easy setup, and quality of printer and printing. Am curious to see how long ink cartridges will last. Paper magazine/holder is cumbersome for frequent changes in paper type/quality and envelopes, but I knew that when I decided to buy this printer. Every thing else I have used (features) have exceeded expectations.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raytriarch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
does it all printer
5/6/2015

Customer review by shasha31631

5.0 stars 5/6/2015 by shasha31631
by shasha31631

I love this printer. I have owned many over the years , and This is by far the best printer I have ever owned. It prints very fast, both sides a big plus. The quality is very professional looking. I highly recommend this printer, for personal or business use. It is fairly all enclosed so no problems with dust and dirt getting into the main workings. Fluff the paper before you put it into the tray, and no hang ups on the paper. And the ink cartridges fit in, and no circuit boards are subject to sitting there and leaking ink to mess up and cause failures. Ink replacements are economical to replace, and if any of the color ones run out, you can still print black and white. For the money , this printer has been a blessing on my fixed income. I have printed quite a few pages , and the ink that came with it are still going strong. I love this printer. If you don't print for a while the ink doesn't dry up. Another big plus. No wasted money there. Printing on both sides of paper there is no seepage through the paper.

shasha31631
Stover, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
6/28/2015

Customer review by Vetteman18361

4.0 stars 6/28/2015 by Vetteman18361
by Vetteman18361

We bought this unit to upgrade our old Brother MFC unit because of the wifi. Our old one still works perfectly, but did not have wifi. With this model, we are able to send photos or anything else, from our cell phones or tablets from another room, thanks to their app. You could also send a photo to the unit by placing your phone or tablet, in front of the unit, push a button on your phone or tablet, and it sends it to the printer. That sometimes works, sometimes don't. That's why I gave the unit a 4 instead of a 5. The printer indicates it receives your photo, but nothing prints out in some cases. But we rarely ever use that function anyway because of the wifi app that allows you to send whatever it is, from the other room. Of course, all of our copies print out very well and like the last Brother printer I had, photos look like photos. Great quality. You can't ask for a better printer for the price. The fax works well and the printer is fast when printing.

Vetteman18361
Visalia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
MFC-J870DW - Worst Printer Ever!
2/15/2016

Customer review by JudithA

1.0 stars 2/15/2016 by JudithA
by JudithA

Printer was only 2 months old when had to change black cartridge. It would only print 1 page then indicate that the cartridge was not inserted right & that it was out of black. After 2+ mo. of dealing with Brother Customer Service, the solution of Customer Serv. was that I needed to change the cartridge. This was insulting! Did they really think that this was not tried (actually multiple times before and after contacting Customer Service!) The Black Brother cartridge that was received, did the same thing!!! It still prints 1 page & indicates there is no ink! It is now approximately 5 months that we have not had a functional printer that was purchased on 8/23/15. I have purchased multiple Brother printers for personal home and other family members. In addition, we have routinely recommended Brother machines to others. This is by far the worst printer we have purchased (since it does not work) and the least helpful Customer Service I have worked with!

JudithA
Indianapolis area, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very impressed
11/4/2013

Customer review by Zkissed1

4.0 stars 11/4/2013 by Zkissed1
by Zkissed1

While I know it is not a really expensive printer, it is perfect for me. Thanks Amazon reviewers for answering my ink questions. This little printer is amazing. I was worried about the display being on the front, thinking I would always need to be ducking up and down, but surprise! It tilts up in several positions. My 5 year old niece, Emma, could do the set up. Once it is set up, get ready to print and it just starts by itself, without touching it. Wi-Fi works seamlessly. You can print to printable disks, which would be a terrific gift for friends and family. (Think photos on the front of cd's, dvd's, instead of labels). My daughter and her wife (yes) had purchased a Brother printer, over a year ago, off Amazon.com, that I was very impressed with over, and so...... And that little printer is still going strong. Of course it will print labels, You need to download the FREE template to your computer for that purpose and there are many. Go to Avery.com

Zkissed1
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to set up and WiFi a snap to connect!
11/9/2014

Customer review by DenGal

5.0 stars 11/9/2014 by DenGal
by DenGal

Great product!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DenGal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good and Bad
8/11/2015

Customer review by ArizonaSenior

3.0 stars 8/11/2015 by ArizonaSenior
by ArizonaSenior

First of all, it was an inexpensively priced purchase. I was able to install it quite easily, even though the instructions are for the pits. As for quality......the paper tray is the biggest piece of junk I've ever seen. Every time I have to take it in or out, I think that it won't survive the handling. I wanted to be able to print on printable CDs, but the program that has to be used with it, won't work for my purpose. I have a very nice disk printing program (an old Roxio program) and it won't work with this printer. WISH THAT IT DID, SO I CAN FINALLY TRY OUT THAT FUNCTION. I print labels for opera recordings, and there is no proper style to use in your program, that will allow me a place for name of opera, composer, company that is performing and the entire cast. The colors that it prints are a bit "odd". They look slightly washed out. The fact that you have to take out the regular paper to use the photo paper, is totally silly. It should be interchangeable, and not have to go to all that trouble, every time you want to print a photo.

ArizonaSenior
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great machine for price
7/14/2014

Customer review by Mare2014

5.0 stars 7/14/2014 by Mare2014
by Mare2014
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very happy with this purchase. Old printer died after 7 years and I purchased this all in one. Set up was simple and had no problems. Print quality is excellent for photos and very good for everything else.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mare2014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I Love This Printer
1/10/2016

Customer review by LuckyLady

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by LuckyLady
by LuckyLady

I researched dozens of printers before deciding on the Brother MFC-J870DW, and I'm convinced that I chose the best printer. It was easy to set up, and within minutes I had it connected wirelessly to my Macbook Pro. I can sit in my recliner with my laptop on my lap and easily send anything to the printer. I love the double-sided feature, which I use all the time. The speed and quality of this printer are excellent. Printing photos, envelopes, and anything different is easy. This printer also allows you to make copies from the document feed or by placing the original directly on the glass, which is great for copying from a book or magazine. Some reviewers complained that it doesn't hold enough paper and has to be refilled often. It would be nice if it held more, but refilling takes two seconds, and it's not a problem. I don't use the fax feature because I don't have a landline. Some other printers that I considered were huge. This one isn't small, but it's much smaller than most others, so it takes up less room on my desk. I'm really glad I chose this printer.

LuckyLady
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THIS PRINTER IS A REAL PAIN IN THE A**
7/26/2015

Customer review by oldmngo4

1.0 stars 7/26/2015 by oldmngo4
by oldmngo4

I purchased this about 90 days ago from Staples who did an incredible job of delivering it overnight. It replaced an HP printer that I had for about 8 years. The HP printer performed essentially flawlessly until it just died one day. That is in stark contrast to the Brother printer which performs well for a couple weeks at a time and then decides to take some time off. I can attempt to print a document and that will be accomplished somewhere between immediately and 2 to 3 days later. And you never know which it will be. Then it's time to spend an hour or two with Brother's tech support to get the machine to function properly. Another source of irritation is the fact that to print an envelope you have to take all of the paper out of the tray, put the envelope in the proper position in the tray and hope that it will print in the near future. If I had to do all over again, I'd purchase another HP printer.

oldmngo4
Door County, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
I should have done more research before buying!
11/20/2014

Customer review by DroidFan

1.0 stars 11/20/2014 by DroidFan
by DroidFan

Most people gave this machine rave reviews but I had a major problem with it going "Offline" and not wanting to come back inline to print. I tried numerous times to no avail and after talking to Brother Support for 45 minutes, we could not get it to work properly. So, I boxed it back up and took it back for a refund. I will not buy Brother again because, if you Google "problems with Brother Printers" you will see that this happens to a lot of people. Maybe I was just unlucky? Maybe you will be luckier than me. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DroidFan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth the headache!
11/21/2014

Customer review by Fred54

1.0 stars 11/21/2014 by Fred54
by Fred54

I am a pretty experienced computer user and have installed/uninstalled many different devices over the years but, I finally met a device that would NOT work! I even tried tech support at Brother and still could set it up and the "Techie" suggested it was security software on my computer that was to blame? I have a brand new laptop! I bought this printer because of the reviews but I did not do my research thorough enough. If I would have, I would have found an inherent flaw with "Brother" products and going "Offline" rendering the machine useless. So, I was never able to make it work despite an hour on the phone with a tech who walked me through the same steps I had already tried numerous times. It appears that this wireless printer continually goes offline and connecting it to a cable does not solve the problem. Any attempt at printing will be met with no activity from the machine despite all my best efforts. So, after wasting 5 hours of my life, which I will never get back, I repacked it and took it back for a full refund. I will never buy Brother again. Buyer beware!

Fred54
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
very bad customer service
1/12/2014

Customer review by vidarc

1.0 stars 1/12/2014 by vidarc
by vidarc

When I called you and explained about my defective printer you would not replace the product with a new one (you offered to replace with a refurbished one) I called XXXXX (where I originally bought the product) and explained my situation. The product was still under warranty but the return time had passed. I explained that it was opened and tested only two days before (holiday gift item) and what the manufacturers customer service had told me. XXXXXX Customer Service listened and brought my problem up to a supervisor who understood what happened. XXXXXX customer service replaced my defective product with a new product. If that can be done by the reseller then you should have also listened like XXXXXX did and replace with a new product as well. I am disappointed with your return policies and your customer service but not with the printer but you still have lost me as a customer.

vidarc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wireless Home Office Printer
12/22/2014

Customer review by sunnyoregon

5.0 stars 12/22/2014 by sunnyoregon
by sunnyoregon

I bought this printer because my other wireless printer broke. I wanted a printer that was wireless and would scan, fax and copy with affordable replacement cartridges. This printer fits all my needs. My only problem was setting up the printer with one of my older laptops but finally got it to work.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sunnyoregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Brother MFC-J870DW-
11/10/2013

Customer review by woly

5.0 stars 11/10/2013 by woly
by woly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy wireless connect, intuitive control, works well in all features. Windows 8 Pro and XP OS used and works fine wireless with both (home network thru router). When using "Ink Saver mode", pictures and graphics do not appear usable but text is still OK. That feature will save ink for your normal quick print needs. I used two of the MFC-480CN for 5 years now and it appears that Brother does have some of the most inexpensive ink replacement cartridges available on the market. I have been able to use replacement (non-Brother) cartridges in the MFC-480CNs for the last 4 years now and purchasing them at less than $4 and sometimes $3 a color. Hoping to be able to do the same with this printer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
woly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worst printer/scanner EVER!
5/8/2015

Customer review by UnhappyCustomer99

1.0 stars 5/8/2015 by UnhappyCustomer99
by UnhappyCustomer99

I have had this product about 1 month and a half. Have had to call Brother 3-4 times (2 of the times I spent almost 2 hours on the phone) and they can't seem to help me. I had a perfectly good Epson for YEARS, but when Apple did the last upgrade the scanner stopped working properly so I decided to treat myself to a new printer with the latest technology (although I believe the epson software may now have been upgraded so I should probably just have waited for that). BIG MISTAKE!!! First the scanner didn't work correctly, but the printer worked reliably well. Now after over 2 hours on the phone with them (they said something had been corrupted) they got the scanner working (at least for now- has been fixed in the past and stopped working again for no reason) but now the printer stopped working. Spent hours on the phone with them this morning only to be told that I should just stop using the wireless if I want it to work well. SERIOUSLY??!! I am so disappointed in this product. I will never buy another Brother printer. And I intend to return to Staples and complain to them for suggesting I buy this printer!!!!!!

UnhappyCustomer99
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Printer I have ever owned
9/23/2015

Customer review by BurbankMagnoliaParkguy

5.0 stars 9/23/2015 by BurbankMagnoliaParkguy
by BurbankMagnoliaParkguy

I picked this printer for good reviews and for the cost of ink, which is significantly less than other printer brands. What I didn't expect was the high quality photographic prints it can do. I needed to print about 15 high quality prints. I got some glossy card stock photo paper and the results were amazing. Very high quality prints. The printer also is Wifi. I have never owned a Wifi printer before, but this one performs flawlessly. Printer goes into sleep mode to save energy, then wakes up to print in an instant. Having said that, the best feature of this printer is the separate ink cartridges and the price of the ink. If one of the colors runs out, you can replace just that color and not have to replace the entire color cartridge. It is also the most cost effective printer I could find for $$ per page. High quality and low cost. Great printer.

BurbankMagnoliaParkguy
Burbank, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 708 total reviews
1-20 of 708 reviews