Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 626 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

626 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

626 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
329
4 stars
149
3 stars
63
2 stars
41
1 stars
44
1-20 of 626 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 626 total reviews
1-20 of 626 reviews
You get what you pay for Great Printer
12/23/2015

Customer review by netman

5.0 stars 12/23/2015 by netman
by netman

Both my wife and I own a Brother mfc-j870dw printer. Mine was mostly for general printing She use to own a craft shop so there were many things she printed for embellishing craft projects and making personal cards for holidays and other special days. Will say for years we both had hp printers but last hers broke down and when we went to replace it this printer was on sale and we bought it. Brought it home and hook up was a snap just followed the directions and in no time it was ready to print. Did take a little time to figure how to load the paper and find out different set ups for different types of printing for her crafts but nothing that a couple of old computer dummies could not figure out. This printer does every thing we need it for. Prints crystal clear photo's and text for any craft for transfer etc. You will pay more for it than a average cheap printer but believe me it is worth every cent. Like I said in the title "You get what you pay for" Could not be happier with this choice.

netman
Chidester Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I Love This Printer
1/10/2016

Customer review by LuckyLady

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by LuckyLady
by LuckyLady

I researched dozens of printers before deciding on the Brother MFC-J870DW, and I'm convinced that I chose the best printer. It was easy to set up, and within minutes I had it connected wirelessly to my Macbook Pro. I can sit in my recliner with my laptop on my lap and easily send anything to the printer. I love the double-sided feature, which I use all the time. The speed and quality of this printer are excellent. Printing photos, envelopes, and anything different is easy. This printer also allows you to make copies from the document feed or by placing the original directly on the glass, which is great for copying from a book or magazine. Some reviewers complained that it doesn't hold enough paper and has to be refilled often. It would be nice if it held more, but refilling takes two seconds, and it's not a problem. I don't use the fax feature because I don't have a landline. Some other printers that I considered were huge. This one isn't small, but it's much smaller than most others, so it takes up less room on my desk. I'm really glad I chose this printer.

LuckyLady
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Printer
1/12/2016

Customer review by Sprite

4.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Sprite
by Sprite

I bought my new Brother Printer in October of '15. I am quite pleased with it. It prints quickly and quietly. I like the touch pad and control buttons on the front. They show up clearly and work well. The ink cartridges are easy to install. My only disappointment is, the ink colors aren't as vibrant as I'd like to see. I'm using the same paper I always have, the colors just seems paler. It is the ink that came with the printer, perhaps the color ink is a bit old and when I put in new cartridges the colors will be brighter. Printing in black only, is nice and dark and clear. This is the only reason I gave it a 4 star rather than a 5. Over all, I really like this printer.

Sprite
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very user friendly
1/22/2016

Customer review by DaveP

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by DaveP
by DaveP

Very easy set up. Only took a few minutes. I chose not to use the fax feature, at this time, but like having the option just in case. Really appreciate the convenience of access to ink cartridges from the front, as opposed to lifting the entire top. Does an excellent job of printing and is quite fast. I like the auto head cleaning feature that will clean even if the machine is off, if not used for a time. This is a full featured device that is well worth the money I paid.

DaveP
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Review of Use
1/13/2016

Customer review by Skyrider

3.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Skyrider
by Skyrider

Have only used for basic printing since purchase. It has been reliable so far with no problems at all (about 2 months). Setup was moderately challenging, accomplished on two computers in about two hours. Most frustrating items found so far are that the reverse order print takes a long time on even short documents and that I haven't been able to figure out how to set reverse order print as a default. Print clarity, color, and sharpness seem to depend a lot on paper quality, more so than previous Dell printer. Also, I keep receiving a pop-up concerning an update to PaperPort software but attempting the download always results in failure.

Skyrider
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great All In One Printer
1/9/2016

Customer review by redrose5200

5.0 stars 1/9/2016 by redrose5200
by redrose5200

I have this printer for about 2 months now and no complaints. Everything is pretty straightforward, had a little difficulty trying to figure out how to let the fax pick up instead of the answering machine and visa versa but solved that problem quickly. The Wi-Fi printing works great, scanning is simple, so is faxing, printing and copying. Think this is a great buy for the money. I owned a Brother before this one, unfortunately it wasn't compatible with the upgraded operating software on my computer, so I had to buy a new printer. I would highly recommend this All In One for anyone in need of all these features, plus the Wi-Fi function. I have a MAC and this printer does the job.

redrose5200
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good For Small Office
1/25/2016

Customer review by Decco109

4.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Decco109
by Decco109

I really like my new Brother Printer. I originally ordered a larger, other brand, printer, but hated it. I decided to find something smaller and better, so this lead me to the Brother MFC-J870DW. It fits perfectly on my file drawer cabinet and works great. I do wish that it had more space for paper, but it works.

Decco109
Tempe, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Limited Ink and photo paper availability
1/17/2016

Customer review by Cloee

3.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Cloee
by Cloee

It seems to use a lot of ink especially in printing photos. The XL ink cartridges are not readily available at Office Depot or Best Buy. Also I have yet to find any Brother Photo paper anywhere I normally shop. A manger at Office Depot finally helped me determine according to specifications on his computer which HP photo paper I could substitute for Innobella. I also had a printing problem during the first 4 to 5 months and called support who gave me assistance in performing a roller cleaning. I wonder how often that will happen.

Cloee
Houston Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Substandard Envelope Printing
1/20/2016

Customer review by something

3.0 stars 1/20/2016 by something
by something

This printer has problems printing return and delivery addresses on envelopes. The user manual states that envelopes with cut or clear plastic windows should not be used. This statement is very true. If this limitation was available during my pre-purchase research, I would have selected another printer. Other than this issue, the printer was a cost effective acquisition.

something
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Web Print
1/20/2016

Customer review by TommyP

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by TommyP
by TommyP

Excellent printer. Does everything I expected. One minor problem When printing anything online, even a .pdf, the printer shrinks EVERYTHING and does not fill an 8.5x11 sheet. I have tried making adjustments to no avail. If you save the .pdf then print, no problem.

TommyP
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great deal
1/20/2016

Customer review by Mimi1334

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Mimi1334
by Mimi1334

I bought this printer after a more expensive HP model gave me fits. I spent 6 months fixing problems then finally gave up. This printer is great, no problems so far and it prints as expected!

Mimi1334
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST RECOMMENDATION EVER
1/19/2016

Customer review by azartist

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by azartist
by azartist

This in every category is a fine machine .No qualms at all about it .Works flawlessly .So easy to install .

azartist
Tucson ,AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Multi-function Inkjet
12/11/2015

Customer review by JBCIII

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by JBCIII
by JBCIII

I researched printers when my previous printer reached it's bogus "End of Life" warning due to full ink absorbing pads-do a Google search & you'll soon see which printer & brand I am talking about. I bought the Brother for its reputation, ease of use, economical ink usage, quick printing, duplex ability, & connectivity. Having owned it for 2 months I can say that all of these are top notch and real features. Simple logical operation, very economical with ink, easy networking with the bonus of very good color rendition and detail. The only negative (If I could it would rate it 4 1/2 Stars) is the limited capacity of the paper tray. I was aware of this when I bought it, but it is a minor annoyance. Overall top notch purchase, & performance, do not hesitate to purchase this MFC.

JBCIII
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Satisfied Customer
1/15/2016

Customer review by Oldie

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by Oldie
by Oldie

My first All-In-One Brother printer. Purchased it to replace my Canon All-In-One which kept giving me some print head problems. Took some getting used to the differences in the two printers, but am very satisfied with the Brother so far.

Oldie
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
6/28/2015

Customer review by Vetteman18361

4.0 stars 6/28/2015 by Vetteman18361
by Vetteman18361

We bought this unit to upgrade our old Brother MFC unit because of the wifi. Our old one still works perfectly, but did not have wifi. With this model, we are able to send photos or anything else, from our cell phones or tablets from another room, thanks to their app. You could also send a photo to the unit by placing your phone or tablet, in front of the unit, push a button on your phone or tablet, and it sends it to the printer. That sometimes works, sometimes don't. That's why I gave the unit a 4 instead of a 5. The printer indicates it receives your photo, but nothing prints out in some cases. But we rarely ever use that function anyway because of the wifi app that allows you to send whatever it is, from the other room. Of course, all of our copies print out very well and like the last Brother printer I had, photos look like photos. Great quality. You can't ask for a better printer for the price. The fax works well and the printer is fast when printing.

Vetteman18361
Visalia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good printer
1/15/2016

Customer review by Chad175

4.0 stars 1/15/2016 by Chad175
by Chad175

This all in one has met all my expectations. I am very satisfied with the product.

Chad175
Broome Co, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/12/2016

Customer review by Juud

1.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Juud
by Juud

After several months of having it, still can't get it to communicate with my IPad. It will print for about five minutes and then I get a message "no AirPrint printers found". Any suggestions?

Juud
Would recommend to a friend? No
Complete satisfaction!
1/7/2016

Customer review by johnnybgood

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by johnnybgood
by johnnybgood

I originally purchased this printer for its fax capability but I soon found that compared to my Canon MP240, the printing is so much faster and the print quality is excellent. I love the touch screen. I had one issue come up when the printer lost contact with my computer. On the touch screen, I simply brought up reset network, and the printer fixed the issue. Very happy with this printer.

johnnybgood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Multifunction
1/14/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Easy to install, good scanner software, ink lasts a long while, compact.

An anonymous customer
Winfield, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
does it all printer
5/6/2015

Customer review by shasha31631

5.0 stars 5/6/2015 by shasha31631
by shasha31631

I love this printer. I have owned many over the years , and This is by far the best printer I have ever owned. It prints very fast, both sides a big plus. The quality is very professional looking. I highly recommend this printer, for personal or business use. It is fairly all enclosed so no problems with dust and dirt getting into the main workings. Fluff the paper before you put it into the tray, and no hang ups on the paper. And the ink cartridges fit in, and no circuit boards are subject to sitting there and leaking ink to mess up and cause failures. Ink replacements are economical to replace, and if any of the color ones run out, you can still print black and white. For the money , this printer has been a blessing on my fixed income. I have printed quite a few pages , and the ink that came with it are still going strong. I love this printer. If you don't print for a while the ink doesn't dry up. Another big plus. No wasted money there. Printing on both sides of paper there is no seepage through the paper.

shasha31631
Stover, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 626 total reviews
1-20 of 626 reviews