Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 46 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 46 reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews
Great
9/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have been using this now for a little over 2 years with absolutely no problem
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for easy ipad iphone printing!
9/8/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I mainly got this to print quick items from my ipad and iphone so that I wouldn't have to turn my PC on. If I need real important documents printed I would just use my laser brother printer hooked to my PC (not ipad compatible!)...but this inkjet serves the purpose more for dealing with everyday stuff for the kids worksheets, boarding passes, etc. It literally synced to the ipad without needing to be hooked up via USB or anything--just asked for my router password under wireless connection setting and presto! One thing I did have to do was turn my router off for a few seconds and then turn it back on as it initially said incorrect error or something...but I didnt read the directions properly as it advises you to turn your router off and then on before putting in the password.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great inkjet printer for home office
6/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I haven't had much luck with inkjet printers but I can't afford a lazer printer. The Brother MFC-J870DW came highly recommended by a friend so I decided to give it a try. Wow was I surprised on how easy it was to set up and connect with my WiFi. Brother provides easy to understand instructions (with pictures). The best thing is the quality of print. What a fantastic job for an inkjet. You can also connect it with other devices...for me I can now print from my wireless iphone and ipad. Brother has thought of everything and I am extremely pleased with this purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great value, quality & performance
8/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love two sided print capability, easy setup, and quality of printer and printing. Am curious to see how long ink cartridges will last. Paper magazine/holder is cumbersome for frequent changes in paper type/quality and envelopes, but I knew that when I decided to buy this printer. Every thing else I have used (features) have exceeded expectations.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy to set up and WiFi a snap to connect!
11/9/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great product!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great machine for price
7/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very happy with this purchase. Old printer died after 7 years and I purchased this all in one. Set up was simple and had no problems. Print quality is excellent for photos and very good for everything else.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I should have done more research before buying!
11/20/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Most people gave this machine rave reviews but I had a major problem with it going "Offline" and not wanting to come back inline to print. I tried numerous times to no avail and after talking to Brother Support for 45 minutes, we could not get it to work properly. So, I boxed it back up and took it back for a refund. I will not buy Brother again because, if you Google "problems with Brother Printers" you will see that this happens to a lot of people. Maybe I was just unlucky? Maybe you will be luckier than me. Good luck!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
MFC-J870DW
6/1/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased one of these printers to replace a $30 Canon printer. I thought spending more money would give me a better printer. Not the case for me. The Brother color prints were a waste of ink, came out blurry. While the $30 Canon printers color copies came out pretty clear or a lot better than this more expensive Brother. Making single copies from the printer was slow as molasses on a cold day. Seriously, if you do a lot of copies from the top scanner, better look elsewhere. It would literally take several minutes to do one copy? This printer won't print black copies if the color cartridges are low or out of ink. Even if you change the ink settings to grey scale. So if you need to print copies of any important downloads sent in a e-mail and your color inks are low it still won't print the black ink copies. Even tho your black ink cartridge is full? 90% of my printouts are in black ink, but my color cartridges always run out way before the black ink does....? The thing is that this printer goes on a auto-cleaning process every night using color ink. That's the major reason I can see is the cause of the color ink running out way before the black ink runs out. Then at that point your SOL printing anything because you have no more color ink left, while still having plenty of black ink left in your cartridge? Makes no sense other than making you buy more ink, not right or fair in my book. I am sitting here right now with empty color ink cartridges, but my black cartridge is full, yet my printer won't allow me to print in black ink? So my fancy to me $230.00 printer in essence is totally useless at the moment? Totally don't recommend this printer. Should be able to choose the color ink you want to use. And not be forced to go out and purchase color ink you don't need to print black ink copies? But its good revenue for the printer companies that do this...building printers that forces you to go out and buy their color ink cartridges! Total waste of time and ink sucking the money out of your pocket, don't bother! Buy a different printer!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wireless Home Office Printer
12/22/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this printer because my other wireless printer broke. I wanted a printer that was wireless and would scan, fax and copy with affordable replacement cartridges. This printer fits all my needs. My only problem was setting up the printer with one of my older laptops but finally got it to work.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Brother MFC-J870DW-
11/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Easy wireless connect, intuitive control, works well in all features. Windows 8 Pro and XP OS used and works fine wireless with both (home network thru router). When using "Ink Saver mode", pictures and graphics do not appear usable but text is still OK. That feature will save ink for your normal quick print needs. I used two of the MFC-480CN for 5 years now and it appears that Brother does have some of the most inexpensive ink replacement cartridges available on the market. I have been able to use replacement (non-Brother) cartridges in the MFC-480CNs for the last 4 years now and purchasing them at less than $4 and sometimes $3 a color. Hoping to be able to do the same with this printer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy steps for non techy
6/3/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Love how easy and trouble free this unit is over my old HP All-in-One Photo Smart printer. I gave up on that one after returning that lemon twice (and still broke down again) . Even my NON TECH husband (doesn't know or want to use a computer) has used the the easy touch pad controls. Patient help was available on the phone to send Mac Air package to set up printer and iPad3. Great for light home/home office use. Ink is less too!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Printer at a great price!
12/23/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I replaced my older Brother printer with this one. This is a great printer. It prints pretty fast, the wireless was a breeze to setup (actually automatically connected) and I can print from my tablet or phone. It's not huge either. It can fax, copy and print. What else do you need? The one downfall from my other printer is the ink is more money and what I have found, you can't buy ink in a 4-pack (black and color all together). I have had numerous different printer brands and found that Brother ink lasts the longest and is the least expensive. I would highly recommend this printer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Enjoying my brother's printer!
2/12/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Best of all it was easy to install! The print quality is so good and bonus it's quiet! Haven't yet tried to print a photo, but what I've seen of this printers ability I think it will be just as good for a home printer. It's an ink saver and energy saver!!!! What's not to love!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works just like we needed.
7/30/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My only complaint is the phone line/cable is way too short and has to be plugged in to an area inside the machine and routed out of the machine that takes up part of the length of the phone cable. Going to have to buy a longer line.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great printer for the price!
2/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Easy to install, no paper jams, clear, bold printing. Love it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy to operate
10/15/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Easy set up Easy to operate Very good telephone support
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
More Complicated than I thought
1/5/2015
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I tried to set this up and felt for my purpose it was more difficult than I thought. It comes with "Shortcuts" which I could not understand. I kept looking at their manual and was confused at many points. When I called their customer service I was told the wait times were 5 minutes. After 4 minutes, the voice came back on and told me my wait time was now 10 minutes! Enough I said to myself, packaged it back up and took it back to Walmart which of course, took the item back and refunded me with no problems. I ended up buying the HP ENVY 7640 which for 40 more dollars is a much better product and easy as pie to set up. Customer service at HP almost instantly answered my two phone calls I placed to them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect printer for our needs.
8/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Only had it for a week so need more time to see how it works out. It works nicely, good print quality and ease of use. Set up was a bit tricky but I eventually got it up and working for us. Had to use their set up disk and instructions were difficult for me to follow. Still it was exactly as read and ordered from you web site. Love the features and ease of use. This is important as my Wife and I are both 60+. I am curious now to see how ink supply lasts and how much it will cost to maintain.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
No Laptop WiFI
2/24/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The WiFi Direct on this machine is for I pad, I pod, and Tablet only. It will not connect to a laptop. Brother support told me the WiFI is Android only!! My Wireless router is WPA2-Personal and TKIP Encryption which are supposed to be recognized. It will NOT connect. This is a 1 computer USB wired machine. The 2 sided print and copy features are AWSOME. Print clarity and crispness are second to none.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Print
2/23/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just bought this printer a few weeks ago and so far it's been great. It was easy to set up with good instructions but it was just a little time consuming. I haven't had a chance to print any pictures but the sample picture that it printed was awesome. Printing documents seem pretty fast and the fax as well. I would definitely recommend this product based on the time that I have had it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642873, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-