Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 387 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

387 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

387 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
218
4 stars
86
3 stars
32
2 stars
27
1 stars
24
1-20 of 387 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 387 total reviews
1-20 of 387 reviews
Great value, quality & performance
8/28/2014

Customer review by Raytriarch

5.0 stars 8/28/2014 by Raytriarch
by Raytriarch

I love two sided print capability, easy setup, and quality of printer and printing. Am curious to see how long ink cartridges will last. Paper magazine/holder is cumbersome for frequent changes in paper type/quality and envelopes, but I knew that when I decided to buy this printer. Every thing else I have used (features) have exceeded expectations.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Raytriarch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great inkjet printer for home office
6/28/2014

Customer review by ReefCaptain

5.0 stars 6/28/2014 by ReefCaptain
by ReefCaptain

I haven't had much luck with inkjet printers but I can't afford a lazer printer. The Brother MFC-J870DW came highly recommended by a friend so I decided to give it a try. Wow was I surprised on how easy it was to set up and connect with my WiFi. Brother provides easy to understand instructions (with pictures). The best thing is the quality of print. What a fantastic job for an inkjet. You can also connect it with other devices...for me I can now print from my wireless iphone and ipad. Brother has thought of everything and I am extremely pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReefCaptain
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for easy ipad iphone printing!
9/8/2014

Customer review by eyesee

5.0 stars 9/8/2014 by eyesee
by eyesee

I mainly got this to print quick items from my ipad and iphone so that I wouldn't have to turn my PC on. If I need real important documents printed I would just use my laser brother printer hooked to my PC (not ipad compatible!)...but this inkjet serves the purpose more for dealing with everyday stuff for the kids worksheets, boarding passes, etc. It literally synced to the ipad without needing to be hooked up via USB or anything--just asked for my router password under wireless connection setting and presto! One thing I did have to do was turn my router off for a few seconds and then turn it back on as it initially said incorrect error or something...but I didnt read the directions properly as it advises you to turn your router off and then on before putting in the password.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eyesee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great machine for price
7/14/2014

Customer review by Mare2014

5.0 stars 7/14/2014 by Mare2014
by Mare2014

Very happy with this purchase. Old printer died after 7 years and I purchased this all in one. Set up was simple and had no problems. Print quality is excellent for photos and very good for everything else.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mare2014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I should have done more research before buying!
11/20/2014

Customer review by DroidFan

1.0 stars 11/20/2014 by DroidFan
by DroidFan

Most people gave this machine rave reviews but I had a major problem with it going "Offline" and not wanting to come back inline to print. I tried numerous times to no avail and after talking to Brother Support for 45 minutes, we could not get it to work properly. So, I boxed it back up and took it back for a refund. I will not buy Brother again because, if you Google "problems with Brother Printers" you will see that this happens to a lot of people. Maybe I was just unlucky? Maybe you will be luckier than me. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DroidFan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great printer for the price!
2/2/2014

Customer review by Sis443

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by Sis443
by Sis443

Easy to install, no paper jams, clear, bold printing. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sis443
Laurens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy steps for non techy
6/3/2014

Customer review by Carphil

5.0 stars 6/3/2014 by Carphil
by Carphil

Love how easy and trouble free this unit is over my old HP All-in-One Photo Smart printer. I gave up on that one after returning that lemon twice (and still broke down again) . Even my NON TECH husband (doesn't know or want to use a computer) has used the the easy touch pad controls. Patient help was available on the phone to send Mac Air package to set up printer and iPad3. Great for light home/home office use. Ink is less too!

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carphil
Alpine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to set up and WiFi a snap to connect!
11/9/2014

Customer review by DenGal

5.0 stars 11/9/2014 by DenGal
by DenGal

Great product!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DenGal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Brother MFC-J870DW-
11/10/2013

Customer review by woly

5.0 stars 11/10/2013 by woly
by woly

Easy wireless connect, intuitive control, works well in all features. Windows 8 Pro and XP OS used and works fine wireless with both (home network thru router). When using "Ink Saver mode", pictures and graphics do not appear usable but text is still OK. That feature will save ink for your normal quick print needs. I used two of the MFC-480CN for 5 years now and it appears that Brother does have some of the most inexpensive ink replacement cartridges available on the market. I have been able to use replacement (non-Brother) cartridges in the MFC-480CNs for the last 4 years now and purchasing them at less than $4 and sometimes $3 a color. Hoping to be able to do the same with this printer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
woly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wireless Home Office Printer
12/22/2014

Customer review by sunnyoregon

5.0 stars 12/22/2014 by sunnyoregon
by sunnyoregon

I bought this printer because my other wireless printer broke. I wanted a printer that was wireless and would scan, fax and copy with affordable replacement cartridges. This printer fits all my needs. My only problem was setting up the printer with one of my older laptops but finally got it to work.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunnyoregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works just like we needed.
7/30/2014

Customer review by FBCSyl

4.0 stars 7/30/2014 by FBCSyl
by FBCSyl

My only complaint is the phone line/cable is way too short and has to be plugged in to an area inside the machine and routed out of the machine that takes up part of the length of the phone cable. Going to have to buy a longer line.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FBCSyl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to operate
10/15/2014

Customer review by Vader123

4.0 stars 10/15/2014 by Vader123
by Vader123

Easy set up Easy to operate Very good telephone support

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vader123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't Waste Your Money!
9/9/2014

Customer review by grandpawrichard

1.0 stars 9/9/2014 by grandpawrichard
by grandpawrichard

I have been using printers for well over 20 years now and I'm Not impressed with this printer in the least! My older Kodak printer died on me, so I did the research and found this printer with so many glowing reviews; so I bought it. Well, the reviews were Hogwash! The printer is Super Slow doing it's job, the setup disk did not do it's job (I had to download from Brother's website to get the printer to setup. The Photo print quality is almost as bad as an old Dot Matrix printer and just about as fast. To change paper size you have to pull the paper drawer out Completely to shove the 4X6 inch size paper tray in or out. Instead of the machine doing it automatically. It is difficult to put paper in this printer too. I have not tried the Scanner feature out yet, nor have I tried the Fax machine. I did notice that the scanner needs to use Paperport software. That software is a bit out of date, slow and clunky. I quit using Paperport software well over 10 years ago because of this fact. I do like the idea of being able to use a Thumb drive with the printer. And the printer does accept an SD card, but lacks the slots for the CF cards that both of my Canon Cameras use. This is a bit of a bummer, but I have a card reader on my computer, so it is not a deal breaker. I downloaded the Ap for my IPhone from the Brother website and it works Great! So I am happy with that feature! It seamlessly transfers photos to my IPhone and from my phone. The printer works good with all of our computers. We have Windows Vista, Windows 7 and Windows 8. So that is a plus. The menu on the printer is easy to use and seems to work just fine. It is easy to navigate through the Menu for the different jobs the printer does, so if you are looking for a feature like that, this is the printer for you. (If you have a Lot of Time to WAIT for the printer to slowly spit out the pages!) All in all, I Would Not Recommend this printer to any of my friends or family! I Am Not Impressed at all with it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandpawrichard
Burlington, WA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
you get what you pay for.....
1/28/2014

Customer review by floridasun7239

3.0 stars 1/28/2014 by floridasun7239
by floridasun7239

I had made the mistake of buying this product over a weekend and when I tried to call customer service- the only way I could reach out to them was over chat. Not very helpful as the wait time to reach a customer service chat person was very long. I gave up. This is a basic machine and print quality is not as sharp as I would like.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
floridasun7239
Tampa FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use
1/24/2015

Customer review by trentri

1.0 stars 1/24/2015 by trentri
by trentri

This printer was a breeze to set up and use immediately. The display icons are straightforward and I don't have to enter my network key each time I want to print unlike my previous printer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trentri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great printer
9/26/2013

Customer review by rcimi

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by rcimi
by rcimi

Printer was easy to setup, works fine, prints well. Wireless part makes it an excellent buy.

rcimi
bear Creek ,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BROTHERS MFC-J870DW
9/27/2013

Customer review by JADEQUEST99

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by JADEQUEST99
by JADEQUEST99

QUITE THE DELIVERER IN BASIC PRINTER PRODUCTIVITY AND QUICK RESPONSES MAKES IT A DELIGHT TO OPERATE. IT'S SIMPLY THE MOST POWERFUL SMALL AND INEXPENSIVE PRINTER I HAVE EVER OWNED, THANK YOU BROTHER FOR YOUR INVENTIVENESS AND OPTIONS.

JADEQUEST99
Eugene,OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good,But!
10/1/2013

Customer review by RevOne

5.0 stars 10/1/2013 by RevOne
by RevOne

Like this printer, but it is not to easy to print a CD or DVD. sometime it keeps asking to close door when door is close. You could sent more setup instructions, like you have to install Label print. With better instructions on how to print a CD or DVD. Had to find this out after trying 2 or 3 times

RevOne
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
seems great
10/2/2013

Customer review by sewlady003

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by sewlady003
by sewlady003

I just received it yesterday, so not much experience with it yet. It seems great and I like that I can choose to print both side without getting up to reload the paper.

sewlady003
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
More than I expected!
10/3/2013

Customer review by RuththeEngineer

5.0 stars 10/3/2013 by RuththeEngineer
by RuththeEngineer

I don't often respond to specials from manufacturers. I am SO happy with this one! This printer is compact, sturdy and amazingly user friendly. I have never had the "print on a CD" option before. It works seamlessly. The individual cartridges are great and I love the user interface! Best ink jet printer I have EVER owned!

RuththeEngineer
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 387 total reviews
1-20 of 387 reviews