Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 547 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

547 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

547 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
268
4 stars
154
3 stars
32
2 stars
15
1 stars
78
1-20 of 546 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 546 total reviews
1-20 of 546 reviews
Amazing upgrade!
11/17/2014

Customer review by KallizAngel

5.0 stars 11/17/2014 by KallizAngel
by KallizAngel

This is my second try at the Gold's Gym treadmill. Loved the first one...burned it out using an hour or more a day with knowing about using proper lubrication. Won't have that happen with this one. Easy assembly....worst part of the whole experience was getting it out of the box they entombed it in and unpacking it!!!! I'm a female and I managed entirely on my own. Assembly took less than a half an hour. The holes for the screws to put the latch on we're not drilled properly. Only issue with it. Instructions were easy. The shock absorption is amazing. This version is much more functional and sleeker than the last. The handles are perfect length, stride is also perfect. The incline rules and so do the easy speed controls. My only complaint is that there isn't much of a place for a cup. You could maybe lay a plastic bottle down...but it would be precarious at best. Love the product....hopefully with the proper lubrication it will last longer than the last one did. Overall happy customer!

Was this review helpful? (35) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KallizAngel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Working great after a year
1/5/2014

Customer review by aRetiree

4.0 stars 1/5/2014 by aRetiree
by aRetiree

I've had this treadmill for about a year now and it still works fine. I use it about 6 days a week except when away from home or company visiting (excudes about 2 months per year). I don't use the preprogram routines but vary incline to adjust my walking. It works great. My only complaint is small black particles that apparently come from the tread and end up on the floor. I've tried adjusting the tension to better align the tread but I still have black residue from tread wear. No real problem but annoying.

Was this review helpful? (325) (67)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aRetiree
Avon, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Didn't even work correctly for 10 minutes
1/24/2014

Customer review by fjasfjsl

1.0 stars 1/24/2014 by fjasfjsl
by fjasfjsl

I received this a few days ago and put it together. Went to go for a run on it and it started making a funny sound five minutes into my run. I looked down and the belt was rubbing on the left side of the belt cover and was off center. I yanked the safety key as soon as I realized it but the belt had already folded over. Spent 40 minutes fixing the belt and getting centered again. Was too annoyed to jump back on it that day. Jumped on tonight after a few days and the same thing happened again. This thing is a piece of garbage! I've had other treadmills before and none of them ever did this. They worked perfectly fine as soon as I received them. Now I have to disassemble this garbage and pack it back up so it can get picked up.

Was this review helpful? (103) (55)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fjasfjsl
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Difficult to assemble but good value for the price
12/28/2015

Customer review by Rajen

4.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Rajen
by Rajen

The assembly was a definite struggle. It took a tremendous effort to screw the screws in the preset holes. The user instructions specifically advised against the use of power drivers. Manual driving required a lot of effort. The Allen wrench provided with the package was badly designed. In many situations, where a great torque was required to drive the screw in the hole, the leverage available was very small. Invariably a cheater bar was required. The assembly was so difficult that it took more than 5 hours. The features of the product are good and sufficient for most household use. The belt is making a squeaking noise as I walk on it. the noise exists at all speeds and incline. I have not figured the reason for it yet. May be I have to call the customer support. Because of the difficulty in assembling the parts, the noise may be due to some less than tight connection or some lubrication is required. I have been using it only for the past 3 days.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rajen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Did not last a week
3/2/2014

Customer review by SeabeeCM2

1.0 stars 3/2/2014 by SeabeeCM2
by SeabeeCM2

I got this for my wife who is only 110 pounds, because she sits in an office all day and she just wanted something to stay active with. Bought online and picked it up on 2/21/14 from store that same day. I took it out the box and assembled it two days later. It was used that day on the 23rd of February and stopped working on the 26th of February. She was walking/running at 5.0 speed when the machine got stuck at that speed. She could not slow it down or stop it using the buttons on the console, none of the buttons worked. My wife then pulled the key and then it stopped. She then tried to reset it and called customer service for trouble shooting. The treadmill does not work at all and now I have to get some help in order to return it. It's not like returning a coffee maker or something, this thing is listed at 200 pounds. It is very hard to maneuver and I have to find someone to help load this thing up. Ordinarily it would not be a problem, but I am a disabled Veteran. I am very disappointed in this product.

Was this review helpful? (214) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeabeeCM2
Cahokia, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This machine. is. no good. for me !
1/2/2016

Customer review by Mike

2.0 stars 1/2/2016 by Mike
by Mike

This machin is a no no , dont. waste. your . money., spend. little. more any. buy. a. real treadmill . It's. much. smaller. than the way. it. looks. in. picture. . It's a. light duty. machine. and I don't. think it. can. dandle. more. than. 160. pound load, On. first. day , when. I pulled. the. emergency stop. button , the bed stopped. running. but. the machinr. kept. working for. a minute. before. stopped. Overall. looks. ok. but. more. like. a toy . Delivery. was another drama , my. daughter called. me said. two guys dropped. a. huge. box. right. . behind. the entrance. door of the. house. and. refused to. move. it to. the. workout room , I. called the shipping. company. and they. said they. must. get $40. cash. to move it to the room. My dughter had. to look for cash and. evetually gave them the money. and. they. moved. the box. to. clear the entrance door . I will try. to return. it to Wallmart

Was this review helpful? (5) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? No
After 9 days of purchase it broke
11/26/2014

Customer review by julop

2.0 stars 11/26/2014 by julop
by julop

Purchased this treadmill on November 9, 2014 and picked it up on the 17th. It was not hard to assemble, but it does require two persons to do this. Within an hour and a half it was assembled. Ran pretty well. Had a little trouble with the speaker system, as a possible loose wire inside the panel. Used it approximately 15 times in the next 9 days after assembly. This morning after my run, the factory installed bolt under the platform 's base that assists in the incline feature, popped out and broke some of the plastic below the platform. No one took it above level 7 on the incline nor over 8 on the speed. It is pretty frustrating that it only lasted 9 days before it broke. At this time I cannot recommend it, since I am still trying to get someone to assist from the warranty to exchange it or get it repaired. I would hate to return it and try to get another, but that may just be the fastest response. The persons that used it were not over 190 pounds, either. This is classified to not exceed 300 pounds.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
julop
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worked for 5 minutes only!
1/5/2015

Customer review by Cellis524

1.0 stars 1/5/2015 by Cellis524
by Cellis524

I paid over $400 for this machine. I am a single mom so I had them load it for me at Wal-mart. I unloaded it myself and took the box apart in the garage. I had a friend help me bring it in (all 200 lbs.) of it and set it up. It took about 30 minutes to set up. I put it where I wanted it and turned it on and walked on it for about a minute to show my kids how to use it. I am 150 lbs. I then let them walk on it for 1 min each. Both are under 50 lbs. We ate dinner came back to walk on it again and the motor made a funny noise and the belt wouldn't move at all? I unplugged, reset etc. and still will not come on?!! Very Frustrating!! Now I have to find someone to load it in their truck because I'm not taking it all apart and bring it back to Wal-mart. It's not like its a coffee maker! It's over 200 lbs! I don't like the things I have read on here about Gold's Gym not standing by their treadmills motors etc. so I am returning this for a refund and buying a different company model.

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cellis524
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gold's Gym Trainer 420 Treadmill
3/28/2014

Customer review by DetroitLionsNumberOneFan

4.0 stars 3/28/2014 by DetroitLionsNumberOneFan
by DetroitLionsNumberOneFan

Almost didn't buy this one since the 410 seemed to have more features. The 2.5 motor over the 2.0 sold me. It actually has more features including it increases belt speed manually by .1 increments instead of .5 as in the 410. Assembly was pretty easy, it reads that two are required but I had no problem doing it by myself. Had to adjust the belt alignment but that was about it. The delivery service Seko just dropped it off in the garage at eight degrees but I pushed it into the house and gave it 48 hours to stabilize temperature with the before assembling it. Use a surge protector a good one not those cheap ones they kit out. Since they guarantee your electronics from damage. If you get a surge that damages the equipment they will pay to have it replaced. I use a Tripp Lite ISOBAR4ULTRA Isobar Surge Suppressor since it is a motor and I want to reduce any electronic noise but the Belkin BSE600-06BLK-WM is great and only $14.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DetroitLionsNumberOneFan
Emmett, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to put together, well done instructions
1/11/2014

Customer review by JMP5329

4.0 stars 1/11/2014 by JMP5329
by JMP5329
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We were looking for a small, durable treadmill for me to start getting my diabetes and health under control. I quit smoking a year ago, now is the time to get the weight off. When I picked it up from the store, 2 young men had to help get in the truck. It takes 2 people. When I got it home, we took all the items out of the box first then moved the base with a hand truck. The manufacturer did not take the nuts and screws and shove into little bags and mark them - hoping you could figure out which step they went to. No - they took all the small parts and shrink wrapped them to a piece of cardboard, over the top of markings for each step in the process. The markings matched the instructions and were easy to follow. It will take 2 people (in the instructions) and about 2 hours to put together. It works like a treadmill should and we are very pleased. It has the emergency shut off device and an on/off switch in the front. I would recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (112) (72)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JMP5329
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Register your product - and you will get GREAT ser
11/25/2014

Customer review by lookn4abargin

4.0 stars 11/25/2014 by lookn4abargin
by lookn4abargin

I bought this in July and it was easy to put together. I did a little help and my 16 year old son was able to provide it. I have been using this machine daily. I normally walk about 40 mins everyday at about 2.5 to 3 miles per hour. Not too fast or hard but enough that it's used. I had no problems and love this unit as it is easy to use and reliable then - Nov. 24th - I noticed a smell like something smoldering, I got off and there was a little smoke coming from the front. I called into customer service. My representative was very friendly and helpful. He had me remove the casing and look at the motor area. Once he was able to determine that the motor was going out he began sitting up to have a new sent to me. My motor was still under warranty so it cost me nothing - that motor runs about $300 so registering your product is an absolute MUST! I'm very happy with this machine and the service I have received . . . I would recommend this product since the unit has been good and the service even better!

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lookn4abargin
Longmont, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Golds Gym 420 Treadmill
4/6/2014

Customer review by Leigh0077

1.0 stars 4/6/2014 by Leigh0077
by Leigh0077

Purchased this treadmill on 2/3/14. Treadmill was only walked; no jogging or running. Within 2 weeks belt was shifting towards the left and slipping. Readjusting the belt per the manual was not effective so I contacted Golds customer service who stated that the drive roller needed replaced (please note it was only 2 weeks after purchase). Replacement part was sent to me free of charge and I received it approximately 14 days later. Golds sends you instructions and to fix the treadmill is a DIY project. After replacing drive roller, belt continues to slip despite following directions to the TEE on how to adjust belt. I have own treadmills before and I know the belt does stretch out when new but this is obviously not the case since it won't adjust period. At this point I will be returning the treadmill to Walmart and purchasing a more reliable brand of treadmill, as this slipping of the belt is a safety issue in my opinion; it's bad enough my workouts have come to a halt over this and I'd prefer not to break my neck from this belt issue.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leigh0077
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Nice Treadmill
1/17/2014

Customer review by 1HotRodHoney483

5.0 stars 1/17/2014 by 1HotRodHoney483
by 1HotRodHoney483
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I could not rate the durability since we just got it right after Christmas a few weeks ago. But once it is up and running it is a nice unit. It is very heavy. It took all day to put together, but we are old and slow!! Just take your time, and it all goes together fine. Just follow the directions exactly. I was pleased with the way it was packaged and how they told you step by step what to do. It looks like it was a lot more expensive. This is my first treadmill. Also, it was super easy to fold up the platform part to vacuum the floor under it. Just make sure you can lift 45 pounds with no problem. The display is nice and big and easy to use. I have not tried the MP3 player yet. My son was running on it, and it is cool how it has this cushioning kind of action on the platform. Probably a bit easier on the knees like running on grass instead on concrete. So far I am very glad we got this. I just need to remember that I actually have to use it and not just look at it to lose weight and get in shape!!! Oh, and just for fun and to break it in I threw a few clothes on it too!! Multi-purpose.

Was this review helpful? (111) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1HotRodHoney483
Show Low AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good initially
10/6/2014

Customer review by Qualitymeanseverything

1.0 stars 10/6/2014 by Qualitymeanseverything
by Qualitymeanseverything

My wife looked at a fair amount of treadmills before deciding on this one. Initially it was great! Easy to set up and use, however within less than 9 months, the treadmill tread would not rotate. Everything else worked fine (i.e. the display, incline etc.). When I contacted Golds Gym customer service they helped me look at the issue however they came to the conclusion that it was the upper console that MAY need to be replaced. The price for the part was $225 plus S&H. Wait a min, I bought the ENTIRE treadmill for less than $400 and now I have to spend over 1/2 of that for a new plastic console! Needless to say I am now stuck with a non working treadmill that will now sit and I am forced to buy another one. Great costumer service but horrible product reliability. Make a quality product and stand by it!!!! Buyer beware!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Qualitymeanseverything
Would recommend to a friend? No
I understand why people just go to the gym.
7/1/2015

Customer review by Meli

3.0 stars 7/1/2015 by Meli
by Meli

Assembling this was really difficult at certain points. 2 out of 4 screws on the handrail were extremely hard to remove, I almost sent it back. After my grandfather got them out with a wrench and a lot of force, I found out you have to put 4 more of the same screw back in. Of course they didn't fit. I tried to screw them in, my dad tried, and my grandfather tried and they just would not go in properly. I went to the hardware store to buy different screws but same problem. I eventually said good enough and didn't want to send it back because it was already mostly put together and I wanted to start working out. Honestly the treadmill works fine. I don't run on it but light jogging has been good. Oh another thing, when you put the console on you have to stretch the left and right rails. Took us a few moments to figure that out. I can't get the screws for the latch to go in so right now this treadmill does not fold up. The price was good, but if I had to do this again I'd buy a different treadmill.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meli
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Treadmill at a low price
10/24/2013

Customer review by lilbeezmom

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by lilbeezmom
by lilbeezmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This treadmill was pretty easy to put together, but it helps to have two people. We also bought the mat to set it on because of other reviews we had read that said over time black dust would fall from the belt and onto the floor. Very easy to use, although I have only had a couple of weeks and have not yet used the pre- programmed workouts (working up to that). So far no complaints whatsoever! One suggestion I would make is to find a store that already has this in stock, and go pick it up yourself. We had initially ordered one via site- to- store, and when the treadmill got to our local Walmart, it had been ridiculously damaged somewhere along the line. They said by the shipping company that transported it from Pennsylvania. Anyway, we had to start all over again, and found the same item in stock at another store not too far away, so we paid for it online and went to pick it up. No dents, dings, or scratches at all.

Was this review helpful? (136) (85)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilbeezmom
Northwest, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect
8/14/2014

Customer review by deim0s

5.0 stars 8/14/2014 by deim0s
by deim0s
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Took about an hour to put together. Had this for a couple weeks so far. We tried the previous model of this but returned it. This newer model has a few improvements, for one the manufacturer has added threadlocker to almost every bolt that comes with the treadmill. I thought that was a nice touch, as the old model didn't have threadlocker and I had to apply it myself. The running area is not a bad size, just enough for me (6', long stride) to run comfortably. One note - this doesn't fold up perfectly. Due to the way the control panel is at an angle, the belt portion of the treadmill cannot go straight up when folded, and instead is at about a 75-80 degree angle. Not a big deal, but it does take up a bit more space than expected. I thought the speakers would be a gimmick and not loud enough to be usable. WRONG! The speakers are just right! It's so nice to run without headphones.

Was this review helpful? (40) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deim0s
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love this machine.
3/24/2014

Customer review by AlwasyLookingForValue

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by AlwasyLookingForValue
by AlwasyLookingForValue
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Since, I retired, I usually go for a walk every day. During this past winter, it has been so cold that I have not been going out and I have put on weight. A friend told me he bought a treadmill a short time ago and he loves and so I finally broke down. I went online to Walmart and this seemed like a very good deal and it came with a free gym mat to protect the floor under it. I looked online at Amazon and they had the exact same model for $200.00 more! And theirs did not come with a mat. Sight unseen, I ordered this online because having read several reviews that were very positive. This machine arrived last Thursday. It is heavy - it weighs 200 pounds and it took me 2 hours to put it together by myself. This is a heavy duty machine - not some 'lightweight' home version. I did a one hour walk in two half hour sessions. The book said not to over do, and it suggest working out only 3 times a week for the first two months, then 5 times a week. Well, I had a hard time not using it the next day, and I actually been doing one hour every day and I am absolutely loving it! I should have bought this years ago.

Was this review helpful? (77) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlwasyLookingForValue
Hampton, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a Difference
12/17/2013

Customer review by Newk21

5.0 stars 12/17/2013 by Newk21
by Newk21
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

What a difference between my old welso with a 13" belt and this with a much wider belt. I can actually run a 10 - 12 minute mile without feeling strained, I glide when running on this machine, love the different inclines and workouts and can't wait to use, needed something to get through the cold winter months and this is perfect, the mp3 functions works great, too, great value for the price. I ran my first 10k this past fall (trained outdoors) and this machine may get me to run my first half marathon, now I can train during the winter. Love it, now I want to work out and is much quieter than my old machine that Ive had for 8 years. Wish me luck to lose my last 10 pounds to make it a total of 40 pounds lost (lost first 30 by mainly walking, hoping running will take the rest off!!! With 3 kids 5 and under hard to leave home to workout so this is perfect!

Was this review helpful? (403) (162)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Newk21
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Received heavily damaged
2/9/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 2/9/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

Item looked damaged at the pickup, clerk nor I were not sure how extensive the damage was if any, following day the package was opened and I have discovered extensive damage to the frame and to heavy plastic pat on top front of the machine. Will not reorder due to the fear that I will receive similar damages from your store

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 546 total reviews
1-20 of 546 reviews