Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 469 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

469 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

469 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
231
4 stars
135
3 stars
29
2 stars
12
1 stars
62
1-20 of 468 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 468 total reviews
1-20 of 468 reviews
Working great after a year
1/5/2014

Customer review by aRetiree

4.0 stars 1/5/2014 by aRetiree
by aRetiree

I've had this treadmill for about a year now and it still works fine. I use it about 6 days a week except when away from home or company visiting (excudes about 2 months per year). I don't use the preprogram routines but vary incline to adjust my walking. It works great. My only complaint is small black particles that apparently come from the tread and end up on the floor. I've tried adjusting the tension to better align the tread but I still have black residue from tread wear. No real problem but annoying.

Was this review helpful? (211) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aRetiree
Avon, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No problems
12/28/2013

Customer review by johnnydoemoe

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by johnnydoemoe
by johnnydoemoe

I weigh 300# and it works great.

Was this review helpful? (304) (83)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnnydoemoe
warsaw, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did not last a week
3/2/2014

Customer review by SeabeeCM2

1.0 stars 3/2/2014 by SeabeeCM2
by SeabeeCM2

I got this for my wife who is only 110 pounds, because she sits in an office all day and she just wanted something to stay active with. Bought online and picked it up on 2/21/14 from store that same day. I took it out the box and assembled it two days later. It was used that day on the 23rd of February and stopped working on the 26th of February. She was walking/running at 5.0 speed when the machine got stuck at that speed. She could not slow it down or stop it using the buttons on the console, none of the buttons worked. My wife then pulled the key and then it stopped. She then tried to reset it and called customer service for trouble shooting. The treadmill does not work at all and now I have to get some help in order to return it. It's not like returning a coffee maker or something, this thing is listed at 200 pounds. It is very hard to maneuver and I have to find someone to help load this thing up. Ordinarily it would not be a problem, but I am a disabled Veteran. I am very disappointed in this product.

Was this review helpful? (116) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeabeeCM2
Cahokia, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GOLD'S GYM DOESN'T HONOR THE WARRANTY
2/5/2014

Customer review by bineli

1.0 stars 2/5/2014 by bineli
by bineli

Buyer's beware, gold's gym doesn't honor the warranty. I purchased a gg trainer 480 about 3 years ago from walmart and it was supposed to have a 5 year warranty on the motor. When the motor went out on my machine, I called them and they stated that they will not replace the motor unless I purchase a controller first for over $150. Only after then would they replace the motor. I also received horrible customer service even from a so called floor supervisor named Sarah H. who told me that I couldn't possible know what was wrong with the machine since I wasn't a technician.

Was this review helpful? (99) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bineli
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
What a Difference
12/17/2013

Customer review by Newk21

5.0 stars 12/17/2013 by Newk21
by Newk21

What a difference between my old welso with a 13" belt and this with a much wider belt. I can actually run a 10 - 12 minute mile without feeling strained, I glide when running on this machine, love the different inclines and workouts and can't wait to use, needed something to get through the cold winter months and this is perfect, the mp3 functions works great, too, great value for the price. I ran my first 10k this past fall (trained outdoors) and this machine may get me to run my first half marathon, now I can train during the winter. Love it, now I want to work out and is much quieter than my old machine that Ive had for 8 years. Wish me luck to lose my last 10 pounds to make it a total of 40 pounds lost (lost first 30 by mainly walking, hoping running will take the rest off!!! With 3 kids 5 and under hard to leave home to workout so this is perfect!

Was this review helpful? (362) (139)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Newk21
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The BEST Treadmill Under $500
5/13/2014

Customer review by Qre8iv

5.0 stars 5/13/2014 by Qre8iv
by Qre8iv

I was looking for a treadmill that could perform, take the abuse that I know my husband and I would put it through, and fit in our budget. The Gold's Gym 420 has more than met my expectations. I was a little hesitant because the price was so low and it came with the bonus floor mat. However, even before opening the box, I had a good feeling. The picture is deceiving! This is not some dainty piece of equipment. It was so heavy that we had to have help getting it out of the truck and into the house. The assembly was a no brainer and was together in less than 20 minutes. The motor is super quiet, as is the belt. The speakers are surprisingly loud! The pre-programmed workouts are varied and cover a wide range of fitness levels. The speed and incline options are exactly what I was looking for. I don't have a single complaint about the performance of this treadmill, and construction is heavy duty and durable. Overall, it's has been a perfect treadmill! I'm more than satisfied! Also, our iPad fits perfectly in the console right under the screen, as there is a groove made just for that purpose. For a home treadmill under $500, you just can't find a better one. I know, I tried! I did all the research on Youtube and Googled every treadmill on the market. This is, without question, the best.

Was this review helpful? (153) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Qre8iv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Treadmill
1/17/2014

Customer review by 1HotRodHoney483

5.0 stars 1/17/2014 by 1HotRodHoney483
by 1HotRodHoney483

I could not rate the durability since we just got it right after Christmas a few weeks ago. But once it is up and running it is a nice unit. It is very heavy. It took all day to put together, but we are old and slow!! Just take your time, and it all goes together fine. Just follow the directions exactly. I was pleased with the way it was packaged and how they told you step by step what to do. It looks like it was a lot more expensive. This is my first treadmill. Also, it was super easy to fold up the platform part to vacuum the floor under it. Just make sure you can lift 45 pounds with no problem. The display is nice and big and easy to use. I have not tried the MP3 player yet. My son was running on it, and it is cool how it has this cushioning kind of action on the platform. Probably a bit easier on the knees like running on grass instead on concrete. So far I am very glad we got this. I just need to remember that I actually have to use it and not just look at it to lose weight and get in shape!!! Oh, and just for fun and to break it in I threw a few clothes on it too!! Multi-purpose.

Was this review helpful? (88) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1HotRodHoney483
Show Low AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
can not go wrong withthis treadmill. good price!!
12/21/2013

Customer review by webuss

5.0 stars 12/21/2013 by webuss
by webuss

great engineering,for assembly. went together as instructed all parts were in the box, I put it together alone. Best part the machine works really well, like it better than the pro form I had before.

Was this review helpful? (61) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
webuss
mexicali
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really happy with this purchase
11/22/2013

Customer review by Hairballz

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Hairballz
by Hairballz

I've owned an earlier model from Gold's gym and was always very pleased with it - gave it away when I switched to biking for a while, but when it came time to buy another treadmill I went straight to a Gold's Gym brand again, the previous one having been absolutely worry-free. I had looked hard at the 410 but then realized it was being phased out in favor of the updated 420, so I snagged one of the first my local WM got in stock. I use the treadmill at least 4 times a week for a walk/run workout. ASSEMBLY: I have assembled a LOT of equipment, including a lot of exercise equipment, and hands down this was the easiest assembly ever. It did take some time - I was working alone and it took a bit over an hour - but the actual "assembly" part was really straightforward - attach the long uprights, attach the crossbar the panel rests on, attach the panel. A few other minor details but that's pretty much it. Super simple. Very clear instructions, I never found myself puzzling over them for even a moment, which is saying something. PRODUCT: Right off the bat I noticed this is much more compact/well planned out than my older Gold's Gym. Not small by any measure - it still takes up about the same footprint of my older one, but leaner and cleaner design. I'm not a tiny person, but this still gives me more than enough room to walk or run with ease, with no concern about side to side or front to back room at all. The controls are also very straightforward. I haven't noticed any dragging, any hesitation when changing speeds. I haven't yet explored any of the pre-programmed workouts, I tend to design my own, but I will play with them at some point. This is a foldup model with wheels if you need to move it, which is great for me because I'm in the middle of a reno project and it will have to be moved around several times. One nice touch, it has two different places that could hold a book - the very obvious open rack area above the main panel and a less noticeable groove/inset just above the speed controls. It's too narrow to hold an iPad in that groove but would hold some books or magazines. Only real advantage is it would bring the reading material down a bit, closer to the person on the treadmill. Overall, very pleased with this purchase. For the money, it's the best deal out there in my opinion. Granted, I've only been using it a few weeks, but if my previous experience with Gold's is an indicator of how this one will go, I won't have any complaints. BTW I gave this an "average" on durability just because I'm not sure you can judge durability on something after 2 weeks! That's a long term rating category, to me at least, though again my previous experience with Gold's leads me to believe long term durability will be fine.

Was this review helpful? (155) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hairballz
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Already Losing Weight!
1/22/2014

Customer review by fat2fab

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by fat2fab
by fat2fab

This treadmill is amazing! It is the perfect size, not too big and not too small. I have a smaller home, so the fact that it folds up is a big plus! I bought this treadmill on 12/30/2013. I walk/run 2.0 miles a day. Today is 1/21/2014 and I have lost 13lbs! I am happy with this purchase and would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (86) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fat2fab
Lehi, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great unit.
12/6/2013

Customer review by peliflight

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by peliflight
by peliflight

We just purchased the treadmill and put it together yesterday. It was a bit finicky to assemble probably because of my age. The unit works well and fills our needs to keep exercise going during the cold winter months here in Colorado. There is very little info concerning all the details of the preprogrammed workouts. I guess they just expect you to try them. I would highly recommend this unit. We cannot use all the preprogrammed workouts as they are too vigorous for our advanced age.

Was this review helpful? (47) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peliflight
Longmont Co.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect
8/14/2014

Customer review by deim0s

5.0 stars 8/14/2014 by deim0s
by deim0s

Took about an hour to put together. Had this for a couple weeks so far. We tried the previous model of this but returned it. This newer model has a few improvements, for one the manufacturer has added threadlocker to almost every bolt that comes with the treadmill. I thought that was a nice touch, as the old model didn't have threadlocker and I had to apply it myself. The running area is not a bad size, just enough for me (6', long stride) to run comfortably. One note - this doesn't fold up perfectly. Due to the way the control panel is at an angle, the belt portion of the treadmill cannot go straight up when folded, and instead is at about a 75-80 degree angle. Not a big deal, but it does take up a bit more space than expected. I thought the speakers would be a gimmick and not loud enough to be usable. WRONG! The speakers are just right! It's so nice to run without headphones.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deim0s
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent treadmill and very reasonable price
11/12/2013

Customer review by Kimmie80

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by Kimmie80
by Kimmie80

This treadmill is excellent and has a very reasonable price. I use it everyday and have had it for 2 weeks and have no complaints. I still haven't used the preprogrammed workouts yet but do just fine without them. This treadmill has got me all pumped up to workout everyday and is getting me to love walking/running again.

Was this review helpful? (35) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kimmie80
Saint Peters, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love this machine.
3/24/2014

Customer review by AlwasyLookingForValue

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by AlwasyLookingForValue
by AlwasyLookingForValue

Since, I retired, I usually go for a walk every day. During this past winter, it has been so cold that I have not been going out and I have put on weight. A friend told me he bought a treadmill a short time ago and he loves and so I finally broke down. I went online to Walmart and this seemed like a very good deal and it came with a free gym mat to protect the floor under it. I looked online at Amazon and they had the exact same model for $200.00 more! And theirs did not come with a mat. Sight unseen, I ordered this online because having read several reviews that were very positive. This machine arrived last Thursday. It is heavy - it weighs 200 pounds and it took me 2 hours to put it together by myself. This is a heavy duty machine - not some 'lightweight' home version. I did a one hour walk in two half hour sessions. The book said not to over do, and it suggest working out only 3 times a week for the first two months, then 5 times a week. Well, I had a hard time not using it the next day, and I actually been doing one hour every day and I am absolutely loving it! I should have bought this years ago.

Was this review helpful? (71) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlwasyLookingForValue
Hampton, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gold's Gym 430 newest model, pretty amazing
12/3/2014

Customer review by KeepinItDeal

5.0 stars 12/3/2014 by KeepinItDeal
by KeepinItDeal

I have had the new 430 model for a few weeks. The treadmill has everything I was looking for. I will hit a few key points and add some cautionary notes with an asterisk*. 1) Automatic Incline: the treadmill goes from 0-10 and every increment in between with a hydraulic incline. It is amazing. You can hit the number you want or hit the +/- to go in increments between whole numbers. I did not want a manual incline like the Weslo has because it seemed very un-fun. The automatic incline is very impressive. *When you are done with your workout put the incline back on 0. According to the manual you will damage the machine if you try to store it vertically with the incline still on. 2) Vertical storage: It's easy to lift the belt up and put the manual pin in it to store the treadmill. I do not store it vertically but I need to clean under it since I have a dog in the same room. *Note: After you assemble the treadmill life up the belt and make sure you took off the adhesive plastic covering the vents on the bottom. We didn't see the plastic until after I used it the first time which made the treadmill make a noise and could have caused a problem but didn't with just one use. 3) 10 speed settings with every .1 increment in between 4) Heart monitor 5) Safety key thingy: On this treadmill the safety stop is a little magnetic knob instead of a key which I like. 6) 16 pre-programmed workouts, 8 for "weight loss" and 8 for "performance" 7) Display: It's very easy to set the display. You can see the speed, distance, time, and calories in numerical format and the left side of the screen shows a little oval track that gets filled in section by section for each mile you do. 8) Easy assembly: The Walmart staff helped my boyfriend put the treadmill into our minivan. We were able to move it when he got home even though I am very petite and he's of medium build. We slid it on our hardwood floors and removed our dog gate to get it into the room. Most of the treadmill is already assembled. You don't have to deal with too many small parts just a lot of packaging. 9) There is an input for an ipod/mp3 player but I haven't used that yet. 10) Note: The manual says to turn off the power switch and unplug the treadmill after each use. This treadmill has very nice features for the price. The belt is 5' long and 16" wide so you have plenty of room. If you are considering it, I'd recommend it especially for winter. I have wanted one for years and am glad we waited to get a bargain one that also had auto-incline and all the other features.

Was this review helpful? (35) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KeepinItDeal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful treadmill for the price
10/23/2013

Customer review by FitnessEnthusiastOne

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by FitnessEnthusiastOne
by FitnessEnthusiastOne

I've only had the Gold's Gym 420 Trainer for a week, but I am very happy with the treadmill. For $377, it's definitely worth it. Granted it's not top of the line, this model has a lot to offer. I love the fact that I can listen to my IPod without using earplugs. The built-in speaker is a huge plus. When I accelerate from 0 to 5 mph, it doesn't take long at all. The treadmill I use at the gym takes much longer to get up to 5 mph, even though it is commercial grade. The deck space is reasonable--18" wide is enough room for me to comfortable run on. I also like the race track feature. The shock absorbers under the deck is fantastic. I can feel the difference in my joints--less impact on them. Last but not least, my hubby assembled the treadmill in less than an hour all by himself. I greatly recommend this product to everyone. I totally love this treadmill!!!

Was this review helpful? (299) (169)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FitnessEnthusiastOne
Clay, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good machine, good price
12/24/2013

Customer review by Jeffnjesica

5.0 stars 12/24/2013 by Jeffnjesica
by Jeffnjesica

If you want a state of the art treadmill then go buy yourself a $2,000 treadmill, but if you want affordable that can do the job as those high priced ones then you've found it. Gold's gym did an ok job on this and it's easy to assemble. If you buy this don't expect high quality that you find in your GYM, just lower your expectation and you'll definitely be satisfied with this product.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeffnjesica
Maple Shade, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gold's Gym Trainer 420 Treadmill
3/28/2014

Customer review by DetroitLionsNumberOneFan

4.0 stars 3/28/2014 by DetroitLionsNumberOneFan
by DetroitLionsNumberOneFan

Almost didn't buy this one since the 410 seemed to have more features. The 2.5 motor over the 2.0 sold me. It actually has more features including it increases belt speed manually by .1 increments instead of .5 as in the 410. Assembly was pretty easy, it reads that two are required but I had no problem doing it by myself. Had to adjust the belt alignment but that was about it. The delivery service Seko just dropped it off in the garage at eight degrees but I pushed it into the house and gave it 48 hours to stabilize temperature with the before assembling it. Use a surge protector a good one not those cheap ones they kit out. Since they guarantee your electronics from damage. If you get a surge that damages the equipment they will pay to have it replaced. I use a Tripp Lite ISOBAR4ULTRA Isobar Surge Suppressor since it is a motor and I want to reduce any electronic noise but the Belkin BSE600-06BLK-WM is great and only $14.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DetroitLionsNumberOneFan
Emmett, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worst purchase in a long time.
9/11/2014

Customer review by nugget20014

1.0 stars 9/11/2014 by nugget20014
by nugget20014

This machine only worked for 4 months... Yes, I paid $400 for a treadmill that lasted only 4 months. Their tech decided the controller burned out so Golds Gym would not budge from their 90 a policy. They offered to send me a replacement board to see if it fixed my issue; for $180 and I pay shipping. If it didn not work, I could pay to ship back the part (their tech said she THINKS I need) and they would refund me all but a 10% restocking fee if the conroller did nt fix the issue. This is garbage and one of the worst purchases I've made in a very long. The quality of this machine is not like the old products Gold's Gym used to produce. ** Buyer Be Ware!!! **

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nugget20014
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Treadmill at a low price
10/24/2013

Customer review by lilbeezmom

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by lilbeezmom
by lilbeezmom

This treadmill was pretty easy to put together, but it helps to have two people. We also bought the mat to set it on because of other reviews we had read that said over time black dust would fall from the belt and onto the floor. Very easy to use, although I have only had a couple of weeks and have not yet used the pre- programmed workouts (working up to that). So far no complaints whatsoever! One suggestion I would make is to find a store that already has this in stock, and go pick it up yourself. We had initially ordered one via site- to- store, and when the treadmill got to our local Walmart, it had been ridiculously damaged somewhere along the line. They said by the shipping company that transported it from Pennsylvania. Anyway, we had to start all over again, and found the same item in stock at another store not too far away, so we paid for it online and went to pick it up. No dents, dings, or scratches at all.

Was this review helpful? (134) (83)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilbeezmom
Northwest, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 468 total reviews
1-20 of 468 reviews