Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 619 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

619 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

619 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
368
4 stars
135
3 stars
52
2 stars
31
1 stars
33
1-20 of 540 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 540 total reviews
1-20 of 540 reviews
Competes well with similar products on the market
1/20/2011

Customer review by Peanuts4me

4.0 stars 1/20/2011 by Peanuts4me
by Peanuts4me

The puppy is great. There are a lot of different songs and phrases, so it holds my son's interest well. Very well made/durable, which is great since he has recently learned to throw things. The only real issues that need to be worked out by the manufacturers is the fact that the buttons are really sensitive in the hands and feet (this is good, since some babies don't "push/squeeze" well initially). Any little thing will set the darn thing going. My dog leaned up against the side of the toy box and it started playing music. 1) it needs a hard on/off switch (not the one in the foot). 2) there needs to be an override so that when one of the buttons/songs is playing you can't activate another one. It's weird/annoying to be trying to sing "head, shoulders, knees and toes" with him and all the sudden he spouts out "blue ear!"

Peanuts4me
Kiefer, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Turns off and on too easily
4/28/2012

Customer review by lkyw

2.0 stars 4/28/2012 by lkyw
by lkyw

I want to love this puppy, but I have a couple of issues with it. For one, the puppy turns on and off too easily. Right now, my son is mostly on his tummy or back and the on and off switch is on the right foot of the puppy so he always hits it. So, the puppy is usually turned off and I have to go and turn it back on. That same button also switches it from music to ABC mode. The button does not line up to the word correctly so I am always pushing multiple times to get it in the right mode. The songs are cute and my son likes the light up heart, but I wish the button was out of my son's reach and that it stayed on and my son couldn't accidentally switch modes so much. I wanted him to be able to play with it by himself, but he can't because it always turns off. I have to sit and hold it and constantly turn it back on.

lkyw
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Kids love it
10/7/2008

Customer review by rfd11

4.0 stars 10/7/2008 by rfd11
by rfd11

I got this when my first son was 1 (he's now 3 1/2) and he actually still plays with this. It is usually to show his younger brother and sister, but I do catch him having fun with it too. My 2 year old loves the songs and sings a long with it. He likes to push the hand, nose, etc and then touch his own hand, nose, etc. The product is a little loud and it does change songs at the slightest touch, but my kids don't seem to mind. They just sing the next song. This is also a great toy for playing together with your child. There are lots of songs and learning all within this one toy. I think it is a great toy to bring on a trip, when you don't have a lot of room to bring a bunch of stuff. This toy has lasted 2 1/2 years so far and I have a 4mo old that will be using in the near future as well. Good toy.

rfd11
Elmhurst, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great except for singing range
4/4/2015

Customer review by Nanaskh

3.0 stars 4/4/2015 by Nanaskh
by Nanaskh

Thus is a fun developmental toy for kids. However, the singing range is too low for young children's voices. I've worked with young children's voices for many years, and know that pitching a song appropriately is key to their vocal development. This is exactly why children do not learn to sing in their "head tone", which is where they stay until puberty. Trying to sing too low only causes them to not be able to match putch. Fisher Price, please consider revoicing your toys in the correct range for the age for which the toy is intended!! If you don't know where that "range" is, please find a musical and vocal specialist who works with young children. Your teaching toys are causing problems with children's singing. Everything else about this toy is great!

Nanaskh
Pasadena, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Have sold a few!
12/3/2009

Customer review by MaryBeth

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by MaryBeth
by MaryBeth

I have two grand-daughters. They each have one and they both LOVE this little guy. The first one purchased did have a button that didn't work. I took it back to the store and it was immediately replaced no questions asked... Ever since, it has been one of the favorites. The kids love that it plays music, and that it also has a learning mode for 123 and ABC... Teaches colors, body parts, and tells them things kids love to hear.... I love you... You're my friend... That tickles my toes... If you feel that you've heard him enough... He's one of those toys you can simply turn him off! Friends have purchased them for their kids/grandkids because they have seen these at my house... and fell in love with this little guy... He is just adorable... and loved!

MaryBeth
Melbourne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Take one for your child
10/7/2008

Customer review by KayMay

4.0 stars 10/7/2008 by KayMay
by KayMay

My son loves it so I love it even though it drives me CRAZY! It cracks him up everytime the (annoying) puppy voice starts singing or talking. That said, the controls are way too sensitive. The puppy will start a song and switch to the next one if moved even slightly. NEVER forget to shut it off because the puppy will start talking when you least expect it - like at 3:00 AM when a slight breeze comes through the window. Trust me, the "low" volume setting is anything but! Also, our "ear" button stopped working soon after we got it, before my son really ever played with it much. Overall, I've tried to put it away now that my son is 20 months, but it always ends up back out with the other go-to toys. It should come with earplugs, though, for the parents.

KayMay
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Defective
1/20/2014

Customer review by Tigger80

1.0 stars 1/20/2014 by Tigger80
by Tigger80

Usually check reviews on most items, but friends and family members already enjoy this. Well we bought one of the defective ones recently for Christmas. Having already removed the demo tab, thought maybe the demo batteries needed replacing. Newly charged batteries and it still malfunctions. I suspected the Mode foot was the culprit. I was close. The entire leg is so sensitive, if you lightly brush you finger anywhere near the orange spot, it switches mode. So just like the other low ratings online, it switches from "Learning Time" to "Play Games" to "Goodbye" over and over just sitting on your lap. It has never sang even halfway through the alphabet. Of course we did not save the box or receipt. Oh well a reminder to check all reviews.

Tigger80
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great toy!
1/1/2012

Customer review by MNmom

4.0 stars 1/1/2012 by MNmom
by MNmom

This is a great toy! I bought this for a 6 month old daughter and she really didn't do much with it as she couldn't quite sit up on her own and it was too heavy for her to hold laying down. When she is in the pack n play she does kick the dog with her feet which then turns it on. She does react to herself kicking it and does enjoy the interaction it makes. I wish that ear, hand and feet had the same interaction. i.e. only one ear actually says blue ear, etc. A child is going to grab for the closest side, it would be nice if both sides could say the same thing to help them continue to learn. I think this product should be geared for a 9 month old who can interact more. But at least I can keep it around for her to use later!!

MNmom
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fun, but could use a little work
9/15/2011

Customer review by MommaSquish

3.0 stars 9/15/2011 by MommaSquish
by MommaSquish

We recently purchased this toy for our 2 year olds birthday. He loved it before it was even turned on! The music is fun, and the audio is perfect, but the only downside is the mechanic noises it makes when it moves any part. Even with the volume at full, it can be a little hard to hear what the puppy is saying due to the mechanical parts whirring. It could use a little more padding all around, when you hold it, you can feel all the parts on the inside, and it's not a very good bedmate. Overall it's a great toy, it keeps my sons interest, we both love the songs, and how the puppy claps, I just wish it was less noisy when it moves. The only reason I choose "Would not recommend to a friend" is due to the noise.

MommaSquish
Cedar Rapids, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Needs Improvment
10/29/2009

Customer review by waynice

2.0 stars 10/29/2009 by waynice
by waynice

I read some of the other reviews and like one of the other reviewers said, it does not play the whole song and it is very frustrating. I don't know why Fisher Price created the toy and then did not include the whole song or chant for each of the paws. As a music teacher who taught these same songs and chants to preschool children, this really bothers me. It's a good thing that I know the songs and chants because at least I can complete the song, but still my daughter loves to hear the music and hear me sing along, but when it cuts off in the middle, I think even she is bothered by it! Please change this for the future. If Fisher Price would use the whole song, it would be a great toy.

waynice
Canton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love the Puppy, Not the Durability
1/21/2012

Customer review by SaturnGirl

3.0 stars 1/21/2012 by SaturnGirl
by SaturnGirl

My son received this puppy as a gift and he fell in love with it! It is a very cute puppy and he enjoys sleeping with the puppy. The ear stopped working about 3 months after getting the puppy, but I wasn't too worried about that since he didn't really play with the ears anyway and I never got a gift receipt to return the puppy. After replacing the batteries for my son, the puppy now does not have the use of his hand or foot with the controls. I have to turn him off on the back by the battery. My son just loves this friend, but I wouldn't recommend this toy to anyone just based on my experiences. It is very disappointing. Maybe ours was just defective. He's had this about 1 year now.

SaturnGirl
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Toy!
3/12/2009

Customer review by kelev

4.0 stars 3/12/2009 by kelev
by kelev

We gave this to our son when he was 16 months old. Immediately -- unlike most stuffed animals -- he hugged it. He is still enjoying it 3 months later, although he mainly likes pressing the heart and laying on top of it on the floor. He likes that he doesn't have to push hard to activate the sounds. Any toy he plays with that he needs to press down to start is usually dismissed quickly -- this one keeps his attention. He is always cuddling with it. It's very cute to watch his interaction with it! The only thing that we don't like is that we always activate it when we are cleaning up (since it is so easy to start). But we can always easily turn it off if it bothers us too much.

kelev
Exton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cute & Fun
10/7/2008

Customer review by 2SweetGirlsMom

4.0 stars 10/7/2008 by 2SweetGirlsMom
by 2SweetGirlsMom

We have had this puppy now for over 3 years. My first daughter (now 4) LOVED this puppy. Carried it with her everywhere. It has been passed on to the second daughter and although she likes it, she is not quite as enamoured as the first one was. The overall durability has been good. It is still very clean and looks great. One of the hands has stopped working though. I do agree with some of the other reveiwers that it would be nice if the song didn't change mid-way through if you touched the puppy but I am not so sure the children minded as much as I did. I have purchased this puppy for other children because it has been fun to watch my girls enjoy this.

2SweetGirlsMom
Hilton Head, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
strange change
3/5/2009

Customer review by bethilyssa

4.0 stars 3/5/2009 by bethilyssa
by bethilyssa

We have had this toy for a year, and until today it only played half of a song (ie "This little puppy went to market, this little puppy stayed home, this little puppy had a bisquit" then nothing) and then stopped on its own. (when my daughter didn't press anything else - it would just play half a song then stop on its own) All of a sudden today my daughter pressed its hand and I heard the whole song for the first time - now all the songs go for the full length! It is WAY better playing the whole song (it was very frustrating to hear half a song then silence!) Even with the half a song, my daughter and I love this doll and play with it all the time.

bethilyssa
Cherry Hill, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Didn't Like
10/7/2008

Customer review by luckymama

1.0 stars 10/7/2008 by luckymama
by luckymama

My daughter received this for her 1st birthday.....too heavy and bulky but she took an interest to it few months later. At first, I was glad that she enjoyed the songs and the chatter, but that was short lived. In the middle of the night, it just goes off without anybody touching or going near it...very irritating. Not easy to clean and the back velcro keeps popping open. I ended up donating it, as my daughter played with it for less than a month. Don't go buy it! I wouldn't let her even sleep with it, for fear that she'll get the battery compartment open and it's not light-weight like a stuffed animal, but a bit heaver and bulky.

luckymama
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Learning is differnet these days
1/5/2010

Customer review by Burbanlady

1.0 stars 1/5/2010 by Burbanlady
by Burbanlady

I received this 3 years ago (without the heart) for my granddaughter and she still plays with it. I bought another one for my new granddaughter and this one has the heart in the chest. The new one does not play the music all the way through like the other puppy does. I checked in other stores to see if they played the music all the way through and did not find any. Only 1/2 the songs played. These babies are learning and need to have the whole alphabet, numbers and songs completed. Get rid of the heart (who cares if the heart sings a half a song) and bring the old Learning Puppy back. It's more informative. Thanks - Burbanlady

Burbanlady
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Idea Too Erratic
10/7/2008

Customer review by Virgo2478

3.0 stars 10/7/2008 by Virgo2478
by Virgo2478

I bought this toy for my 7 month old daughter. While she is too young to use this toy to it's full potential she still finds it fun. All the different colours constantly attract her attention, and her constant drooling has not seemed to affect the electronic aspect of it. The only issue I have with it is that it has very sensitive buttons and doesn't finish songs if she is playing with it. It would be nice if it finishes a song before it switches to the the next, no matter how many times she pushes buttons. In this day when ADHD is rampant in children, it would be nice if the dog doesn't encourage it!

Virgo2478
Halifax, NS Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just Needs a True "Off" Button
10/7/2008

Customer review by MonkeeSee

4.0 stars 10/7/2008 by MonkeeSee
by MonkeeSee

This toy is entertaining and my boys loved it when they were 1-2 years old. The music is catchy and fun. It *is* quite sensitive and switches gears everytime you touch it, so from that perspective, I agree with some of the other reviewers that it can be annoying. It has an OFF "button" on the foot, but it doesn't really work because if you touch the puppy anywhere, it turns back on, so it was never really off to start with. If there were a true OFF button, I think people would like it much more. The worst thing is when you accidentally step on it or press on it when your child has just fallen asleep.

MonkeeSee
Calabasas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I wish she didn't love 'this' toy!
4/19/2009

Customer review by momof8

1.0 stars 4/19/2009 by momof8
by momof8

My "medically fragile" child LOVES this toy. Since November, 2008, I have HAD to purchase 4 ADDITIONAL puppies. With continuous play, THIS TOY STOPS WORKING IN LESS THAN 4 WEEKS. With a sick child (who enjoys so few pleasures in life) there is NO WAY (even having lost a job) we could 'not replace' the "singing hand" that puts such a big smile on her sweet little face. It's VERY FRUSTRATING to spend so much on a toy that (we now KNOW) will have to be replaced again so soon. I would not recommend purchasing this toy unless you are prepared to disappoint a child or SPEND GREAT amounts on replacements.

momof8
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Previously Reviewed
1/20/2014

Customer review by GrannyK

5.0 stars 1/20/2014 by GrannyK
by GrannyK

I originally gave this toy a lower rating because the light up musical heart stopped working. Fisher Price sent a replacement several months ago and it is still working. Now that my grandson is 19 months old, he does not play with it as often as he used to, but it still gets pulled out of the bottom of the toy box on occasion. In my original review, I said that I would have rated the toy 5 stars if the toy had not broken. Now I wish that I could give more than 5 stars - Fisher Price replaced the broken toy quickly and the replacement has been working perfectly even though it gets rough treatment.

GrannyK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 540 total reviews
1-20 of 540 reviews