Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 58 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
Problem with Netflix and Set Top Box
3/13/2014

Customer review by Sweetbeans

3.0 stars 3/13/2014 by Sweetbeans
by Sweetbeans

I wanted to give this TV a great review, but I cannot. Whenever you go to Netflix and get back out, you will lose the signal source and must go through the set-up steps to get the signal back. Samsung has admitted this is a known problem and are working on a solution. Another issue is with the universal remote and how it controls the TV versus the set-top-box. Whenever you turn the power off for the TV, the STB will power off as well. There is a seperate button for STB power on the remote, so you would assume that only that button would control the STB power. That is not the case. Samsung states that this is normal functionality of the remote, but I don't want to kill the STB when I power off the TV. This stops my DVR from recording. The picture is great, but I expect that from Samsung since I have several Samsung TV's already. This is my first Smart TV and I have had this model for less than 24 hours, however, and I am less than pleased with it so far.

Sweetbeans
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Do not purchase to use with PC
10/5/2013

Customer review by soh1

1.0 stars 10/5/2013 by soh1
by soh1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Samsung shows on the spec website that it allows pc audio connection to play via TV speakers when connecting video via dvi\hmdi and audio via the audio out (i know it says out, but their website says it takes audio in as well "contrary to the name") or through the dvi audio in port (this port does not exist although it is on their website). Samsung support does nothing to correct the issue nor do they fix the website.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
soh1
Palisades Park, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My second Samsung, love them both!
10/22/2013

Customer review by FortLauderdale

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by FortLauderdale
by FortLauderdale
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I stick with Samsung TV's because I don't get any surprises with them. They are consistently high quality well made TVs. This is my second 40" and I have thoroughly enjoyed the first one I bought. This one is the same TV but cost about $50.00 less. The only drawback to both sets is when video is of a night or darkened scene the TV doesn't seem to be able to bring out the images, they are all too dark. I adjusted the brightness up and this helped quite a bit. besides that they are both great TV's.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FortLauderdale
Ft. Lauderdale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Samsung makes a great affordable product.
10/29/2013

Customer review by LakeHouseShopper

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by LakeHouseShopper
by LakeHouseShopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have shopped around and Walmart offered this product at the most competive price for this 40 inch wifi ready TV. Better than the other brick and motar electronics stores

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LakeHouseShopper
Plano Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
plenty of icons on the box but not the tv
6/18/2015

Customer review by jeff6900

3.0 stars 6/18/2015 by jeff6900
by jeff6900

The box shows 30 icons of different programs but the tv only comes with about 10

jeff6900
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
picture is great, wireless not so much
6/14/2014

Customer review by NCsweetTea

3.0 stars 6/14/2014 by NCsweetTea
by NCsweetTea

I was very excited to purchase this smart TV. However, the wireless reception is terrible. I have yet to watch a full program without the wireless disconnecting. Trouble shooting I've done from Samsung says to check with my provider, but this is my only device that has trouble. I will be in the middle of watching a movie and have to switch to my PC which is so annoying! The remote is not user friendly for internet search. I love the picture quality but I bought it for streaming features. This TV does not meet my expectations. I am ready to buy a large screen for my living room and thought Samsung would be my choice but now am re-thinking this decision.

NCsweetTea
North Carolina, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Review of Smart TV feature only - TV picture great
12/29/2013

Customer review by WaWawashereya

1.0 stars 12/29/2013 by WaWawashereya
by WaWawashereya

Ok, this is a great TV as far as the picture is concerned. But the extra features of the Smart TV are kind of lame. The apps: I've had nexflix and other apps on my Wii and Xbox forever, so nothing new there. The TV has a limited memory, and there are several apps that come pre-installed and you can't uninstall them. These apps take up valuable space! There are very few good apps available besides Amazon Video, HBO To Go, YouTube, ect. The "browser" - Kind of useless without a keyboard and mouse. You can get a really really long USB extension cord and plug in a USB keyboard and mouse. I wish Samsung offered a wireless mouse and keyboard!

WaWawashereya
Concord, CA
Easy to set up and very light weight!
12/28/2013

Customer review by Coconut1976

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Coconut1976
by Coconut1976
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this TV to replace a Sharp Aquous in my bedroom. The picture is great and the set up was quick and easy. One remote control to use for my TV, DVR and blue ray player. (Blue Ray is also Samsung). The only bad thing I can say is that the remote control does not fit in my hand the way my U-verse controller fits. It is constantly slipping out of my hand. But that is the ONLY drawback that I have. Great product for the price! Quick site to store even before Christmas.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coconut1976
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smarter SmartTV
7/30/2013

Customer review by DiamondLil

5.0 stars 7/30/2013 by DiamondLil
by DiamondLil

This TV is absolutely fantastic for the price. My neighbor owns the UN46C7000 and it runs circles around his on the internet. He has my TV connected wireless to his LAN so I now have access to a web browser and all the internet media content that I was missing out on. The picture quality isn't quite as good as the C7000, but the dual-core processor and internet capabilities more than make up for the slightly poorer display. This TV comes highly recommended for anyone who needs quick, easy access to internet media at a very affordable price. Samsung (and my neighbor) has done it again.

DiamondLil
SE California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
Fantastic Features and Entertainment Experience
5/16/2013

Customer review by FlashGordon60

4.0 stars 5/16/2013 by FlashGordon60
by FlashGordon60

It has been a few weeks and I still enjoy going through and finding new apps or ways to enjoy my entertainment experience even more. The ability to find movies or TV shows quickly and easily with s recommendation instead of surfing has refreshed the TV viewing experience making it more enjoyable. The ability to quickly access the internet from the same room as watching TV has been fun, and sharing pictures and music, on the TV in the living room, from my computer in another room, has been wonderful! The TV size is perfect for my small living room too. Way to go Samsung!

FlashGordon60
Salem, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
If it only came with the camera lens!!...
1/22/2014

Customer review by Geomakio

4.0 stars 1/22/2014 by Geomakio
by Geomakio
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product with plenty of options and light weight, (less than 12 lbs), the four star rating is because of the camera lens not included with the tv, the ideal would be to have the lens built-in in all these newer tv's. I think it should either be included or offered as an option, also the remote control with the lit buttons (has a switch to turn them on) should have longer lasting and be a couple notches brighter. By the time you find the button you're looking for in the dark the buttons already went off. All and all, I'm very satisfied with my purchase, everything else about the samsung quality reputation is already known.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Geomakio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome TV
5/20/2014

Customer review by ScootersMeMe

5.0 stars 5/20/2014 by ScootersMeMe
by ScootersMeMe

I bought this TV for my bedroom, which is fairly large. The brilliance and clarity of the picture are superb and the sound is of good quality too. The unit works very well with my tv provider and it came with an app I needed, already installed. Initially, I was going to buy another brand, but since I already have Samsung 55" LED Smart TV, which I love, I changed my mind. I'm so happy with my first one and I feared the other brand may not live up to my expectations. I'm very happy I changed my mind.

ScootersMeMe
Pensacola, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great TV for the price
5/22/2013

Customer review by Jim4752

5.0 stars 5/22/2013 by Jim4752
by Jim4752

I purchased this TV because I was amazed by the quality of the picture. It stands out from the crowd in sharpness and overall quality and brightness. I had seen one at another's home and was impressed. The fact that it is also a smart TV is a plus, it connects to my wireless and loads Netflix and U tube movies and video faster than my Samsung blue ray player. The sound is more than adequate. So far I love this TV. The only complaint I have does not relate to the TV directly, it is that the keyboard for it is too expensive.

Jim4752
Utica, NY
Expertise:Intermediate
Samsung 5500 Smart TV
2/22/2014

Customer review by mm1510

4.0 stars 2/22/2014 by mm1510
by mm1510

I think this TV is outsmarting me, but I'll someday learn more about it's many features... Though, there is problem with streaming Netflix. I have been using a different device to stream Netflix, as there is a problem streaming through the TV. I've found others who have had the same problem and have had to have a circuit board replaced... I will contact Samsung for the replacement as soon as the 30-day store warranty has expired. Other than that, it's a GREAT TV and a huge improvement over my prior television!

mm1510
What a nice tv, great upgrade for us
12/20/2014

Customer review by leena1234

5.0 stars 12/20/2014 by leena1234
by leena1234

The picture is just beautiful on this tv, way more clear than I expected. It replaced a smaller older high quality brand tube tv that seemed like it still had a nice picture. This Samsung blows it away. The smart tv takes some getting used to but it's pretty intuitive and easy if you've used any other electronics.

leena1234
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Love My Smart TV
2/13/2015

Customer review by Giavannie

5.0 stars 2/13/2015 by Giavannie
by Giavannie

I only purchase Samsung Products, and so far, this has been the best purchase I have ever made. I absolutely love my TV.

Giavannie
Orlando, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
This product needs audio improvements
5/19/2014

Customer review by alko

4.0 stars 5/19/2014 by alko
by alko

The 4 audio setting are insufficient for those who are older (like me) and have hearing loss at the higher frequencies. In my case and others with hearing loss it would help to be able to adjust he upper frequencies like a treble adjust or better yet be able to increase the upper frequencies. I have anoher tv that has the ability to play with the frequencies which gives me better sound but the Samsung is so much better in every other aspect.

alko
kingman, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
TV lasted only 24hrs
1/17/2014

Customer review by TVDied

1.0 stars 1/17/2014 by TVDied
by TVDied

We brought the tv home and used it 1 day before several vertical stripes appeared on the right side of the screen. I tried changing inputs, turning off and back on, resetting the software and the lines persisted. Returned to the store and they were out of anything of a similar value. The 'new' price on the Samsung was now $180 more. We exchanged the tv for another brand and got bigger screen, more hdmi inputs for less than the increased price of the Samsung.

TVDied
DFW
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
What a great picture!
10/6/2014

Customer review by Billjr13

5.0 stars 10/6/2014 by Billjr13
by Billjr13

The LED screen on this TV is awesome. This is the first smart TV we have owned set up was easy and intuitive. Streaming Netflix and VUDU movies is great and the picture quality is great. I upgraded from a HD picture tube tv and it weighed a tone and had a good picture too but the LED screen is super sharp and bright. Love it and I can definitely recoment it.

Billjr13
Colorado, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Terrific TV!
1/19/2014

Customer review by Newton120

5.0 stars 1/19/2014 by Newton120
by Newton120
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Here's my thoughts after owning this TV for 36 hours. A beautiful picture with lots of apps. I wanted the Smart Hub apps so I could access Hulu, Netflix, Amazon Prime and HBO Go via the internet. The built-in WiFi was essential, and works like a charm. I have a Samsung smart phone and tablet, and this TV was able to "mirror" their screens easily, so I could view their pictures or videos immediately up on the big TV screen. The more complex "Samsung Link" feature, where different Samsung devices can be linked and access each other's content, worked reasonably well, but set up was very difficult, especially with gaining access to content that's on my HP laptop, but in the end I could get it to work. It's very light, giving me the option of wall mounting it. The speakers point straight down, which means the volume has to be set at around 80% for it to be heard. That doesn't leave a lot of space for an increase if the room it's placed in is a bit noisy. The printed operating manual is quite small and basic, and it mainly refers to a manual that's viewed on the TV itself. I couldn't find the answers I wanted there, so I called the toll-free number that's included. After a short phone tree a Samsung rep was there to help me. They spoke very clear, native North American English, and might have even been located in the USA. Nice touch, Samsung! They were really great to work with. I highly recommend this TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Newton120
Calvert County, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews