Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 14 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

14 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

14 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-14 of 14 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

A Bargain
6/14/2008

Customer review by Psychlop

5.0 stars 6/14/2008 by Psychlop
by Psychlop

This rifle is a Walmart Exclusive. The standard SS (stainless steel) produced by Sturm, Ruger, & Co has an 18.5" barrel, (carbine.) This one has a 22" barrel (rifle.) The wood (stock) is upgraded from the standard wood that Ruger uses for their 10/22 carbines. However, although the upper aluminum parts are painted to look like they are also made of stainless steel, the trigger group has a gunmetal blue finish, (unlike the photo.) I think it still looks great, and am happy with it. Some ammo has worked better than others for me, (this is likely gun-spoecific. My brother's standard 10/22 carbine hasn't been as troubled as mine with jams.) I've had a lot of trouble with Federal casings getting jammed on exit (about 1 in 20 will jam,) from both the bulk pack and the 50 round "Champion" boxes. Winchester bulk pack "Xpert 22 Hollow Point" rounds had some chambering jams and exit jams, (also about 1 in 20.) Remington bulk pack "Golden Bullet", 22 Target, and Thunderbolts have all worked well. Keep a screwdriver handy to clear stubborn jams. The chamber lock that comes with it, (to disable the rifle like a trigger lock,) tries to mar the wood in the area. I would recommend buying a trigger lock instead, (less than $10.) Also consider purchasing another (or a larger) magazine if you plan to shoot with other people--this gun is a pleasure to empty quickly, and you may find yourselves spending more time filling the magazine than shooting. (Butler Creek makes a great 25-round banana clip that has less troubles (none) than those made by other manufacturers. And steel lips are better than plastic for longgevity.) Standard accessories to consider: a cheap scope, a hard case, trigger lock, extra magazines, earplugs (if you will be around other shooters--this rifle is not very loud,) safety glasses, targets, a boresnake or cleaning kit (you won't need to oil the barrel since it is SS, but it does get dirty.) From there it is up to you; there are a large number of after-market items available to customize the 10/22; that is one of the beauties of this rifle. If I had it to do again, I would still spend the extra $50 or so to buy this rifle instead of the standard carbine, or the SS carbine (which costs about the same as this one.) I really like the looks of this one and how well it has functioned. It is called "All Weather" by Walmart because the SS barrel will handle a poor environment (hunting in a swamp or around salt water) better than gunmetal. If you expect to give it more use and abuse, SS makes more sense. Otherwise perhaps it isn't enough of an advantage to pay the extra for SS, unless you like it better, or have a particular reason for it. This is a good bargain when the extra long barrel and premium wood stock are considered. However, whether you buy this 10/22, or a standard 10/22, you'll be happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Psychlop
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Undiscovered, Underpriced Bargain
5/13/2008

Customer review by Hombre

5.0 stars 5/13/2008 by Hombre
by Hombre

The title says it all.......a limited edition Ruger 10/22 that you can't buy anywhere else. Stainless receiver and 22" barrel, handsome checkered hardwood stock, standard sling swivels. All the unique features, plus the 10/22 build quality/reliability. I think they're way under charging for this rifle........better check it out before they find out!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hombre
central PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent!!
4/17/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/17/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Can't go wrong with this one. Ruger makes the best 10/22's out there. The ten round rotary clip works flawlessly. However, I recommend purchasing a quick release lever for the clip because it is a little awkward getting the clip out without one. They cost less than $10 and are easy to install. This gun will fire as fast as you can pull the trigger without jamming. Gotta love the stainless steel.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Missouri Ozarks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
best buy
6/8/2008

Customer review by H1FE

5.0 stars 6/8/2008 by H1FE
by H1FE

I have owned this gun for 21 years and it has never let me down. I would recommend additional magazines but only the factory. The aftermarket plastic ones will fail quickly. I still have the factory 10 round magazine that came with the gun and it has never jammed with it. This is definately the 22 LR you want to buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
H1FE
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Excellent Long Gun
12/6/2008

Customer review by DeadeyeCharlie

5.0 stars 12/6/2008 by DeadeyeCharlie
by DeadeyeCharlie

As expected high Ruger quality. Comfortable fit, easy to carry. Shoots a very tight 5 shot pattern. Excellent checking on the stock just wish it was a better grade wood but for the money it is an excellent value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeadeyeCharlie
Four Oaks, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Gun
12/11/2008

Customer review by JBatWallyMart

5.0 stars 12/11/2008 by JBatWallyMart
by JBatWallyMart

This Ruger 10/22 stands up to its fine name. It is very well made & accurate. It is a bargan at Walmart. You need to buy a 25 shot clip magazine from Butler Creek, that is the only brand that is trouble free ! A set of Fire Sights is also a good accessary item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBatWallyMart
Church Road,Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Surprise!
8/17/2008

Customer review by RiverScout

5.0 stars 8/17/2008 by RiverScout
by RiverScout

I have owned 2 of the 10/22 models and shot dozens before. With thousands of rounds my family has just about wore out my 2nd 10/22. I was holding out to buy the forged bull barrel model, but stumbled onto this one at WalMart. This is an extremely long lasting finish and hardwood stock at a great price. I say get one while you can!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RiverScout
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
The last Gun left
10/28/2008

Customer review by TandTMom

5.0 stars 10/28/2008 by TandTMom
by TandTMom

Just bought this rifle.I had to buy the display modle.For those who miss out on this gun I dont think you can get it anymore.This is a real collectors gun.Only made so many.The manager try to ordered me one but could not find one,so I bought the displayed.I took the gun to Cabelas to get scope and put a silver one on and looks real sharp.The boys working at gun dept. really like the rifle.If you can find one you better buy it!!!!!!GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TandTMom
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
12/15/2008

Customer review by Jotoli

5.0 stars 12/15/2008 by Jotoli
by Jotoli

My second rifle and first self loading was a 10/22 almost 30 years ago. The 10/22, this version included, is a trial and error until you find the ammo it likes to eat, I am on my third and all have had different faverate ammo. The Stainless we are looking at here I got about 5 years ago when the rumor was it was a limited run for WalMart and while it is a WalMart only configuation, I have seen them steady for the last 6+ years. Mine would eat almost all ammo I fed to it but again like all guns every gun, even of the same model, it likes what it likes and you just have to try until you find what yours likes. It was a fine rifle until I had to upgrade with a new heavy barrel, trigger and race stock. Now it is a tack driver and my wife decided she wants it more than me. I have already baught a new on to start over again, this time a standard. No sense in spending more for a gun I'm going to replace most of the parts on. This brings up my last point. The 10/22 is possibly the most versitile rifle on Earth. There are more after market products for it in any style you like, from tactical with rails to long range target and even bull pup conversions, than any other rifle on the planet. Buy one and shoot it. If you keep an open mind and don't get mad when it does not like the first thing you shove into it without a new gun cleaning (full and thorough) you will love it. Just stick to it until you find your right ammo.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jotoli
Killeen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME RIFLE!! BEST PURCHASE SO FAR AT WALMART!!!
9/7/2008

Customer review by OliveiraUSN

5.0 stars 9/7/2008 by OliveiraUSN
by OliveiraUSN

I bought this rifle a week ago, well I'm a gun crazy type of guy and was looking for a inexpensive and something fun to shoot and give a rest to both my shoulders and my wallet from violent recoils from my other guns AND their expensive ammo. So... looking between a .17 and .22 i found two options the Ruger 10/22 carbine and the Savage .17 bolt. so i found the fun, but the wallet still questioning. The .22 is so far THE most popular caliber existent without a question and probably the most affordable one. Well when I saw this gun i feel in love. The finishing, the stainless steel barrel, the wood stock and of course, it's a Ruger in my opinion translation for .22, they know how to do it... There is a catch, you can look around as much as you want but I think this is a Wal-mart exclusive product because i searched everywhere and i couldn't find!! Nowhere, so, act quick before they realize they're underselling and awesome product or just sell out, because I know it will...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OliveiraUSN
Norfolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Super little rifle
7/10/2008

Customer review by Partyufone

5.0 stars 7/10/2008 by Partyufone
by Partyufone

Have had this for about 2 months now and I really love it. At first, the gun seemed to jam A LOT (like every few rounds), but that seems to be improving as I shoot more rounds through it. I added a basic scope to this (also from Wal-Mart) and the package is very sharp looking and fun to shoot. I am not sure that the design is quite as great as everyone says; disassembly for cleaning is harder with the Ruger than other similar guns, but overall this is a fine rifle for a great price. Also -- try to get the longer barrell if you can; it looks much better than the carbine (unless you are buying this for a child).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Partyufone
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Suprise Find!
7/21/2008

Customer review by Bigoldjeff

5.0 stars 7/21/2008 by Bigoldjeff
by Bigoldjeff

I moved back to Oklahoma from California 3 years ago. I was shopping in Wal Mart and I found this version of the 10/22. I purchased it immediately. I have owned about four Ruger 10/22's over the years. They are reliable, and reasonablely priced. My first one cost $79 brand new. I use them, sell them, and remember I can't live without one, and get another one. This version is the last 10/ 22 I will own, it's a keeper. I love the reliable 10 round rotary magazine. I love the stainless Steel. I love the 22" barrel. Everyone should have a decent and afordable .22 Rifle, and in my opinion this is the one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigoldjeff
Miami, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
not what I'd expect from ruger
11/14/2008

Customer review by Olchevyman

4.0 stars 11/14/2008 by Olchevyman
by Olchevyman

I got this rifle 4-5 years ago. My first .22 boy was I excited.....went to shoot it and every other shot would jam...took it apart and noticed tons of metal burs in the reciever, restricting smooth bolt movement. It was like they skipped a whole machining step, so i sent it back...Couple of weeks later got it back only to still have the same problem took it apart still all those metal burs...So i went into my shop and did my on grinding and polishing....It works fine now but only with CCI mini mags the whole reason for a .22 is to have something fun and cheap too shoot. Out of all the bulk ammo I have found only the Remington "gold" will work right, it will still jamb sometimes but not near as much as the other brands....(ie federal, winchester,etc) OH i saw a lot of "reviews" wear people said their lower receiver(ie trigger assembly) was black... Mine was just as pictured all silver. Still great gun, and would recommend it, although our local walmart replaced it with a bead blast finished one now.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Olchevyman
Griffin,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Beware of special production runs..
7/16/2008

Customer review by ConsumerNY

4.0 stars 7/16/2008 by ConsumerNY
by ConsumerNY

I had researched this product online before taking the long drive to the closest Walmart which carries firearms (not all do in NY). The rifles in stock are not true stainless K10/22's but are in fact a special production run for Walmart which include a stainless 22"barrel and stainless upper receiver but all lower componests are black (trigger, trigger guard, magazine well). Walmarts webpage incorrectly describes and shows a photo of a fully stainless gun. Just a word of caution to potential buyers....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ConsumerNY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes