Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 741 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

741 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

741 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
390
4 stars
173
3 stars
53
2 stars
47
1 stars
78
1-20 of 659 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 659 total reviews
1-20 of 659 reviews
DANGEROUS AND CLUMBSY
12/26/2016

Customer review by Sharley

3.0 stars 12/26/2016 by Sharley
by Sharley

I received this as a much wanted gift for christmas. I am disappointed. It is clumbsy, the outside (entire silver surface) gets too hot. You can only handle it by the very small handles to open the griddle plates, and when you do, you get hit with a burst of steam to burn your face off! Also, theres no included tray or grease trap to catch the runoff from the waffle mix,egg, bacon, etc so it runs out the channels that are conveniently placed in the corner, onto your counter or floor. Im very saddened about this. All of my othet black and decker products are wery wrll planned and function well. The one thing great about this, is the convenience of the plate switch to convert from waffle to griddle. Though you have to wait a ling time for them to cool off to turn over.

Sharley
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1/4/2017

Customer review by Cece

5.0 stars 1/4/2017 by Cece
by Cece
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ordered on line and expected it to come possibly even after Christmas. Came in a few days before and my daughter in law was greatly surprised and happy on Christmas day. She and I had been looking for this item in many stores and couldn't find. I have had my Black and Decker waffle maker+ for over 30 years

Cece
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOOKS ARE DECEIVING !
1/4/2017

Customer review by BIGDOG

1.0 stars 1/4/2017 by BIGDOG
by BIGDOG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

CHEAP, CHEAP, CHEAP !!!

BIGDOG
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheap
12/21/2016

Customer review by Jerry

1.0 stars 12/21/2016 by Jerry
by Jerry
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It functions as is supposed to, but it took a half hour of fixingf to make the griddles stay in place when lifting the lid. Very cheaply made

Jerry
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
After 12 Years, Still A Great Multi-tasker
7/13/2012

Customer review by romagitana

5.0 stars 7/13/2012 by romagitana
by romagitana

I bought this 3-in-1 Grill, Griddle, & Waffle Iron in 2000. I use it constantly for a wide array of kitchen needs. Besides using as grill, griddle, and waffle iron, I fry bacon in the waffle plate/heat setting, which prevents splatter and mess. The metal plates' drain spouts make cleanup simple, too. When unit's not plugged in, I take out the grill plates to use in flattening homemade tortilla dough to make perfect rounds before finishing with a rolling pin and cooking on my comal. It would be great if more plates were available in other shapes to make other items with this unit, such as Belgian waffles, waffle cones, and pizzelle. I have also have the "famous name" grill which is okay for some things, but I like Black & Decker's smaller size, small enough to keep on my counter, so tend to use it more. I live in a studio, so counter space is at a premium and I love multi-tasking appliances like this!!

romagitana
Southern CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Finally crispy waffles!
8/24/2012

Customer review by Nez

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by Nez
by Nez

Small grid waffles like the ones from my childhood. This appliance makes crispy on the outside - soft inside waffles. The way breakfast waffles are supposed to be made. Everyone jumped on the trendy Belgian style - and these original style makers are hard to find. Waffles come in three basic types; Ice Cream cone - all crispy. Original style (like this great little machine) - crispy outer, soft middle. Belgian - big grid fluffy, soft, thick. Sure Belgian are nice for deserts - covered in fruit and stuff. But for breakfast - it's the fresh, crispy waffle that's been absent for years. B&D - need to market this machine - it's awesome! The outside gets very hot - so be warned, but that's what makes a good crispy waffle. And the grids flip to make sandwiches. Good job B&D. Get this out in the stores. Grandma would be proud.

Nez
Oregon, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Poorly made.
1/9/2011

Customer review by Rippedoff

1.0 stars 1/9/2011 by Rippedoff
by Rippedoff

The first grill/griddle/wafflemaker I got did not heat properly and left waffles and pancakes raw inside after 15 minutes of cooking. Cooking plates did not seat properly in grid clips and notches, causing one of them to pop out. The non-stick coating was scratched. I got a replacement. The replacement has the same problem with the cooking plates, in addition to which the back hinge is loose, causing the top to slide all over the bottom and causing the top to overhang the bottom by 3/8 to 1/4". The top also does not sit level on the bottom, so one corner is raised higher than the rest. This second unit also fails to cook waffles properly; they come out half burnt and half raw after 15 minuites' cooking time. But the instruction manual says "cooking time is 3 to 5 minutes"!

Rippedoff
Oak Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
we have enjoyed this waffle maker
4/18/2014

Customer review by JAne

3.0 stars 4/18/2014 by JAne
by JAne

we really like that this makes crisp waffels on the outside and moist on the inside. We have used it for our gluten free bread substitute so we use it a lot. We have had it for three years and the pans aren't holding its finish very well so our waffles are sticking to the pans. I want to buy new pans but havn't been able to purchase just the pans. Every site I have gone to says I have to buy the whole thing. I am frusterated because part of the reason we bought this in the first place was so that if one part broke we could buy replacements but it wasn't so.

JAne
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Was so disappointed
11/3/2015

Customer review by Nancy123

1.0 stars 11/3/2015 by Nancy123
by Nancy123

I purchased this online and was so excited to have a wafflemaker and griddle in one appliance. I loved the look and versatility of the product. The next morning I made my first batch of waffles and opened it after heating it and the top plate fell down. So I made sure I had it locked in again, put my batter on , let it cook , opened the lid and the plate falls down again! 5 out of 7 rounds it fell down and I had to give up my dream appliance because of poor design so I returned it. Think its a really neat idea, the company just needs to tweak the design a little to keep the plates locked in better.

Nancy123
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Keep Looking
2/14/2012

Customer review by ingrid98684

1.0 stars 2/14/2012 by ingrid98684
by ingrid98684

Product does not work for us...would return if possible. Waffles stick and will not come out, despite "seasoning" per the guidelines. Have to use a knife to pry it open, which results in waffles ripping.....see photo. Griddle side gets so hot, the oil we use to "season" it burns on and will not come off, leaving the surface tacky to the touch and gross. Multiple trips through the dishwasher cannot remove this residue. Would not recommend this product and ours is headed for the Goodwill. Keep looking.

ingrid98684
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Impressive results for the money
3/7/2011

Customer review by Bob

5.0 stars 3/7/2011 by Bob
by Bob

The appearance, construction and overall performance of this product is quite impressive for its most reasonable price tag. My original intent was to shop for a replacement waffle maker and I spotted this combo in a restaurant supply store. Its compactness, convenient control panel location, removable/reversible cooking surfaces and the 2-year warranty were features that immediately prompted me to give it a try. After 1 month of Sunday waffles, I'm quite pleased with this product's consistent results. The timer light is quite accurate for basic waffle recipes, but cooking times are slightly a bit longer if egg whites are used in the recipe. After trying both recipe versions, results were a nice even baked crispy outside and a tender inside, with no messy batter overflow. Also, this is the first waffle iron I've ever used that has "true" non-stick grids. I was equally impressed with the results in making grilled cheese and Reuben sandwiches. The pressure from the lid allows an even melting of the cheeses and a nice golden toasting on the bread. Best of all, cleanup was a cinch with the removable cooking surfaces. The only "cons" I have about the 3-in-1 is that there is no cord wrap or any place to attach it for storage. Also, there is no grease cup furnished for use at the end of the reservoir. You just have to be careful that the container you use is not plastic, that will melt from the hot grease -- Universally, I still give this B & D product a 5 star for all of its other nice features!

Bob
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love it - but...
9/19/2011

Customer review by Gypsy Jane

4.0 stars 9/19/2011 by Gypsy Jane
by Gypsy Jane

I love the griddle. It's not the first one I've had. This one I've had for 10 years. However - after 10 years the non-stick coating started flaking on one of the plates. I tried to find a replacement plate and online parts doesn't have it. I called and they did, but it would cost 2/3 the cost of a new griddle. I will use the flaky plate, but I am disappointed. The product itself, though - that's wonderful, versatile, compact, and one of my favorite appliances.

Gypsy Jane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
gotta have it helper for breakfast lunch or dinner
3/12/2012

Customer review by hercooksalot

5.0 stars 3/12/2012 by hercooksalot
by hercooksalot

I was so excited to find this product online and immediately placed the order! My family has enjoyed a long term appreciation for this specific waffle griddle grill product having had 2 others over the past 15 years or longer. Its versatility of use in one product plus easy clean-up and storage makes it an ultimate must have for any cook and even the smallest of kitchen including a dorm room or RV. Great gift for anyone, especially yourself!!

hercooksalot
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Nice n Easy
8/28/2014

Customer review by Richie

5.0 stars 8/28/2014 by Richie
by Richie

Took this to a resort to save some money on food. Boy, did we ever. This machine made perfect waffles on the very first time (using instant pancake mix, even!). Then we used it to make pizza pockets (some bread, squirt pizza sauce, bag of pepperoni, and cheese). Finally, we flipped the cooking plates to make some pressed panini-style sandwiches and grilled cheeses. The removable plates make clean-up a cinch.

Richie
Cleveland, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This is easy to use , easy to clean & compact.
12/4/2011

Customer review by mommyout

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by mommyout
by mommyout

We use this every week. My husband make waffles and it is so easy to wipe clean.The griddle makes grill cheese well also. It was a yardsale find but worth this price. Other cheaper brands are a waste. You try them and they makes a mess. The light on this one lets you know when it is ready to cook and the waffle is done.

mommyout
nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great waffle iron
6/16/2014

Customer review by Hack

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by Hack
by Hack

This is at least our third B & D waffle iron like this one - because I love it and use the heck out of it. It makes great square waffles that aren't thick - like many of the Belgian waffle irons. I make waffles every Saturday morning and my family loves them too. I've tried others but they don't measure up.

Hack
Merced, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Family Tradition
8/6/2012

Customer review by FarmGirl

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by FarmGirl
by FarmGirl

My family has always had one of these convertible grills. Our old one finally broke down and this is the only option I could find. It arrived today and it looks amazing. It works as advertised, it is very easy to use, and if our old one is anything to go by, it will last a lifetime. Thank you, Black & Decker!

FarmGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
poorly made
1/29/2015

Customer review by rhubarb2bake

1.0 stars 1/29/2015 by rhubarb2bake
by rhubarb2bake

Love my Mom's old Broil King that was this style so I ordered one. Before I ever used it I noticed that the plates fall out every couple times I opened it, the plates fall out. They don't seem to fit very well either. Returned without ever using. Too bad, in theory it's a great idea.

rhubarb2bake
West Branch, MI 48661, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
What a great kitchen device !
5/25/2015

Customer review by Dana

5.0 stars 5/25/2015 by Dana
by Dana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had one of these for almost 40 years. We use it extensively and could not live without one. Our last one quit on me suddenly, so I was relieved to still be able to buy this one. I should have bought a couple to ensure I would have one for life !

Dana
Keller, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheaply made. Doesn't close correctly. Has dents.
12/19/2014

Customer review by hopedforbetter

2.0 stars 12/19/2014 by hopedforbetter
by hopedforbetter

Waffles do bake but don't stay hot. Folding back the top to flat position can catch the spring cord between the plates. Plates don't clip in securely and evenly. They are nonstick coated so food removes easily. Not like my old one.

hopedforbetter
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 659 total reviews
1-20 of 659 reviews