Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 685 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

685 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

685 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
366
4 stars
159
3 stars
49
2 stars
41
1 stars
70
1-20 of 603 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 603 total reviews
1-20 of 603 reviews
Disapointed!
11/22/2013

Customer review by Notsatisfiedillegaltosell

1.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Notsatisfiedillegaltosell
by Notsatisfiedillegaltosell
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Upon receipt I opened the Waffle Maker to verify that all components had been received, and it appeared that all parts were included. I sat the griddle aside and threw out the box and packing; however, last night when I removed the plates for cleaning I found that the chrome frame was bent, there was rust on the inside, and that there is what appears to be dried and burnt batter on one of the griddles, and lastly the protective plastic covering the controls was partially loosened. This has to be a returned item.

Was this review helpful? (56) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Notsatisfiedillegaltosell
AV, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Only one we found
11/4/2010

Customer review by Mommy202

4.0 stars 11/4/2010 by Mommy202
by Mommy202

Previously we had looked for a waffle iron that had removable plates and was also a grill -- for pancakes and grilled sandwiches, but couldn't find one. When our OLD waffle iron finally 'hit the dust' I looked again, and found this one right away! It is very pretty and shiny. The plates are about 1-1/2" smaller (both ways) than our old one, but that just takes getting used to. My only gripe is that the bottom plate doesn't always stay in place unless you slide it forward. The box that has the thermostat seems to come in contact with the waffle iron plate (when using the grill) and so it will sometimes pop out. Other than that we are enjoying using it!

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mommy202
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Exellent waffle maker.
10/1/2013

Customer review by GrandpaWafflemaker

5.0 stars 10/1/2013 by GrandpaWafflemaker
by GrandpaWafflemaker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We love it because it makes four at a time and it is NOT a belgian waffle maker. This is the eighth waffle maker we have purchased over 47 years. The one that has lasted has been the Black and Decker. We make waffles every weekend and often have unexpected company to help us eat them. We buy syrup by the gallon. We wore out one Black and Decker and have another we are using. When our daughter asked for one for Christmas, we tried everywhere to buy her one but could not find one in any store or online. Very pleased when we received email from WALMART saying you had them back in stock. Ordered 2 right away and tried to buy at two different Walmart stores but they did not have any. Was excited when our order came in and we are using our new waffle iron and have a back up plus ordered one for my sister. Order came very quickly. Would and have recommended you to family and friends. Pleased that you emailed us even after we had forgotten we asked you to. Our family gives you 5 stars. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (78) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandpaWafflemaker
Arcanum, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Makes good waffles if you use it correctly :)
8/30/2013

Customer review by rongroup

4.0 stars 8/30/2013 by rongroup
by rongroup
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

To get good waffles with this product you need to LIGHTLY spray both surfaces with a vegetable oil before you turn the unit on. When you turn it on you have to set the temperature to the very highest setting and leave it there. I suggest while you are waiting for it warm up (till the light goes off) mix up your batter. When you open the lid it will smoke from the hot oil - this is normal (open it over your exhaust fan). Pour in the batter and help it get to the four corners to get nice square waffles. Try adding pecans there great in waffles but avoid blueberries - they make it stick badly. Wait till the steam coming out the sides subsides (but not to stop completely) till you remove the waffle. With some practice you will get to recognize when to do this. For the remaining waffles repeat the above procedure including the light oil spray each time. If you follow these steps you can bake the best waffles in town. Don't forget to heat up the maple syrup and soften the butter so it spreads easily. Enjoy

Was this review helpful? (47) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rongroup
Frederick County, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No more frozen store waffles for us!
8/10/2011

Customer review by HotDoggieMommy

5.0 stars 8/10/2011 by HotDoggieMommy
by HotDoggieMommy

I wanted a waffle maker, & boy I sure got one!! This makes wonderful (big!) waffles, they cook a little unevenly, but it works great because I like mine very done and my husband likes his a little "lighter," so we make one and share because the waffles are so big we can't eat a whole one by ourselves! I have had this product almost a year and have yet to use the griddle side, so I cannot say anything about it. Follow the instructions and DO NOT use cooking spray. It takes no time at all to rub a little cooking oil on with a brush and it is easy to clean the inserts. I love that they pop out because it really makes cleaning easy! The device does get very hot when on, but I have never to burned myself, and the handles stay cool. Also, the chrome outer shell can get harder to clean after about a year, it looks fine, just not as shiny/clean looking as when I first bought it. Also, I make a whole "batch" of waffles and freeze them to put in the toaster later and they taste great!

Was this review helpful? (33) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HotDoggieMommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great waffle maker
6/2/2009

Customer review by PhloyBoy

4.0 stars 6/2/2009 by PhloyBoy
by PhloyBoy

I grew up eating waffles and this is the type of waffle maker my mom used. My wife and I received a single waffle maker as a wedding gift 18 years ago. This single worked great. However, we purchased a larger waffle maker to save time in the mornings. Unfortunately this larger model, similar to this Black & Decker model always stuck...even though it was a non-stick surface. The results was the waffles ripped in half every time. We promptly returned it. We were thus hesitant to buy a larger waffle maker like this Black & Decker model when our single waffle maker finally died last month after 18 years of almost daily use...it was a workhorse. We have been very pleased with this Black & Decker model. While the heating element is circular the square waffles turn out perfectly cooked...and awesomely crunchy. As with anything used for cooking if you don't watch it you can over-cook and even burn your waffles. However, my wife is an expert and they turn out fantastic every time. Well done Black & Decker!

Was this review helpful? (73) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhloyBoy
Seattle, Wa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/26/2012

Customer review by Trizia

5.0 stars 4/26/2012 by Trizia
by Trizia

I just bought this waffle iron, after searching for months for one with small holes, NOT a Belgian waffle iron. No local store had this in stock, but I found it online at WalMart and ordered it sent to my local store. I love it! I had read the reviews and noticed that several remarked there is no setting except "waffle" for waffles, but a closer look showed me that there is a colored line below that word which allows for darker or lighter settings. Another reviewer said there is no way to tell when the waffle is done, but the booklet says when the light goes off, the waffle is done. This is true. Also, when the steam stops, the waffle is done. The book does not say how much batter to add but I think common sense says, don't run it to the edge and then squish the top closed. I will be careful with the clips, which I understand are the only part not liked for durability. I plan to use this appliance mostly for waffles, and even tried for the first time to make some from scratch. Love 'em, especially with pecans.

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trizia
southwest Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice Grill
12/26/2015

Customer review by Dave

5.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Dave
by Dave

This is my second B&D grill. My first one stopped working after years of service. I was very happy to see that they still made this model. I use it mostly to make melted sandwiches. It has a sliding hinge for thick sandwiches, not fancy but works easily. A plus when everything heats up. I used this new one to make waffles. I have a case of buckwheat pancake mix so I made about six batches for the freezer. Worked great. There are two non stick plates, smooth on one side and waffled on the other. The instructions say to season the surfaces. Put some canola type oil in a bowl, you won't need much, and use a basting brush. Heat the grill closed and then open it. Lightly brush a little oil over both surfaces. It won't look like it is doing anything, you don't need much. Turn off the grill and let it cool. Remove the plates and wash them. Repeat the process for the other sides. It will smell funny and it might smoke a bit when you season it, that will go away.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smaller than given in specs
7/23/2014

Customer review by RCM5000

3.0 stars 7/23/2014 by RCM5000
by RCM5000

I just received the waffle iron. Before purchasing, I carefully researched for a rectangular or square waffle iron that would be large enough to provide two medium size waffles. The product specs on this shows the product to be about 13" x 13" by 6" high. Considering a margin around the edge, I imagined that these waffles were about 6" x 6", times 4 squares. It turns out that the product specs are the OUTSIDE DIMENSIONS FOR THE BOX. The product specifications do not provide the actual size of the waffle iron, or of the finished waffle. (By the way, the finished waffle size is 4 squares of 4" x 4".) I will be returning this modest-sized waffle iron. For the size that it actually is, I will just go with round, which fits a serving plate, better anyway. So, product value is excellent. I assume it works beautifully, but I didn't try it. After much careful research on my part, the waffle iron completely did not meet my expectations as to actual size. I split the difference and gave it 3 stars.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RCM5000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A little disappointed
11/20/2010

Customer review by RosiesNPosies

4.0 stars 11/20/2010 by RosiesNPosies
by RosiesNPosies

I purchased this product because it was recommended by America's Test Kitchen. I only wanted it for making waffles, not for the griddle portion. I had a mickey mouse waffle maker that I've used for 17 years that I passed on to my daughter...it made perfect waffles. What I liked about the black and decker waffle maker is that it makes 4 square waffles, about the size of a small piece of bread. This is perfect for the toaster if I want to freeze them for later. What I was disappointed in was that the back portion (near the hinge in the machine) gets considerably less toasted than the rest. The heating element is round, so it doesn't extend near the corners anyway, and I am told that heating elements generally aren't as hot near where they come out from the hinge. How hard would it be to make the heating element laid out in a way that would cover more of the unit (maybe in a couple of coils, like a burner on a stove, but more squared)???

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RosiesNPosies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My new kitchen essential!
7/27/2010

Customer review by fwbear

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by fwbear
by fwbear

I purchased this product to replace my old waffle maker. I was looking for something with removeable plates for easier cleaning. The waffles come out perfectly on this. I read in one of the reviews that it made flat waffles, but I have not experienced this. I've actually watched the lid rise as the waffles are baking. I did not really think I would use the grill plates, but they actually get used even more than the waffle plates (and my kids eat some waffles). My youngest son loves the pressed grilled cheese sandwiches I make with it. I have also placed frozen hamburger patties on it. They cook up perfectly. For the last minute, I lay the grill open flat so I can melt cheese over the top of the burger and lightly toast the buns on the other side. I have also made pancakes on it. This product is used almost every day in my house, and I have no idea how I survived so long without it.

Was this review helpful? (40) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fwbear
Luling, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrible product!
3/18/2016

Customer review by MParadise

1.0 stars 3/18/2016 by MParadise
by MParadise

Bought this 3 in 1 appliance because I love waffles and my husband loves being able to cook stuff like chicken, burgers and steaks evenly and faster. We have limited counter space in our kitchen so I thought this appliance would be perfect for our needs. Unfortunately, the thing started falling apart within a week. There are two little rivet-like metal pieces that hold the hinge together. After two or three uses, one of those little rivets fell out. Also, the plates don't stay in very well. The little brackets that hold the plates in place had to be bent (which wasn't easy) to keep the top plate from falling out every time we lifted the top to use it. My husband temporarily fixed the hinge by putting a screw in place to hold the hinge together. The wells along the edges where the grease is supposed to collect and drain out are not deep and most the time the grease just overflowed and drip onto the counter underneath. The last straw is that after maybe two months of sporadic use the bottom element stopped working altogether. This thing is hard to clean, falls apart, and became useless very quickly. I would not recommend this appliance to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MParadise
Would recommend to a friend? No
Flimsy
4/18/2016

Customer review by Bummed

1.0 stars 4/18/2016 by Bummed
by Bummed

I purchased this product because it makes old fashioned waffles (not Belgian). I was concerned when I unpacked it, because the upper plate didn't fit snugly in the frame. I washed the plates, oiled them according to the directions, and made waffles. When the first batch was done, I lifted the lid, and the upper plate stuck to the waffles and detached from the frame. I had to pry the upper plate off. I reattached the upper plate, added some oil, and made a second batch. Same thing. The restraining latch is just too flimsy to hold the plate in place. Having to handle a very hot plate to get it back in the frame is a pain, not to mention dangerous. Very poor product . On the positive side, the waffles were very good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bummed
Would recommend to a friend? No
I have been searching for this for a long time.
6/27/2016

Customer review by Dave

5.0 stars 6/27/2016 by Dave
by Dave
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This waffle maker/grill/griddle is wonderful. It makes perfect waffles. The best part is that the plates are removable for cleaning. I would recommend this to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Waffle maker with removable plates yey!
6/29/2009

Customer review by iknowshopping

5.0 stars 6/29/2009 by iknowshopping
by iknowshopping

I have searched the internet, including all hardware, department stores and ebay. There isn't a waffle maker that has removable plates out there. This ones fits my bill. Also a plus the plates turn over for indoor grilling. Dishwasher safe. This waffle maker makes 4 waffles at one time!! I wished I had this one when I was raising my children. The price is superb. I would say it can't be beat cause there isn't any other to compare it with. Black and Decker, come on girls this is great. I've done the shopping for you. Nope not getting paid to say this. LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (279) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iknowshopping
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Really great product if you use it properly
11/13/2009

Customer review by snickersnicker

5.0 stars 11/13/2009 by snickersnicker
by snickersnicker

I love this waffle maker from the moment I purchased it, until they started sticking HORRIBLY. Since I had followed all the procedures as per the manual, I called Black & Decker. The told me that they now recommend that non-stick spray not be used on the plates, only oil applied with a brush or non-aerosol type spray. They did send me brand new plates free of charge, much to their credit. Now that I only use oil, it's working perfectly. I highly recommend this product, minus the manual. By the way, the waffles freeze very well so you don't have to be constantly making a batch. Just a tip!

Was this review helpful? (108) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snickersnicker
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Black&Decker2in1
11/22/2009

Customer review by IsabellaNina

5.0 stars 11/22/2009 by IsabellaNina
by IsabellaNina

The Black & Decker 2 in 1 is working well. We made grill chesse sandwich and pancakes. Enjoying breakfast and lunch.

Was this review helpful? (90) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IsabellaNina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Slightly disappointing
7/17/2016

Customer review by Reyangi

3.0 stars 7/17/2016 by Reyangi
by Reyangi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Walmart's service was great. Ordering was easy and shipping was fast and convenient. The product however didn't live up to expectations. One of the plates is loose and when trying to make toasted sandwiches on the flat side, the griddle presses them as flat as a sheet of paper causing any cheese or filling to squish completely out and the bread doesn't really get toasted. I end up with a flat, soggy mess.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reyangi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Enjoying New addition
7/20/2016

Customer review by HappyVegan

4.0 stars 7/20/2016 by HappyVegan
by HappyVegan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

No complaints with the waffle. Still have to try out the grill side.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyVegan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Wafflemaker
8/17/2007

Customer review by ShoppingAtWalmart

5.0 stars 8/17/2007 by ShoppingAtWalmart
by ShoppingAtWalmart

The very first waffle I cooked in this waffle maker turned out to be perfect. Every one after that has been the same. Enough said. I'm very satisfied. This also looks very classy and durable.

Was this review helpful? (177) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShoppingAtWalmart
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 603 total reviews
1-20 of 603 reviews