Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 333 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

333 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

333 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
255
4 stars
55
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
14
1-20 of 333 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 333 total reviews
1-20 of 333 reviews
Wonderful!
10/1/2013

Customer review by Kat345

5.0 stars 10/1/2013 by Kat345
by Kat345

I purchased the Brother JX2517 in-store today. I took it home and it already had the bottom bobbin wound and in place, and a standard size needle 14 in place. It was very easy to operate and sewed a very good stitch. I like the fact that it is a lightweight machine, yet it can handle heavy fabrics. It has a double lift on the needle presser foot bar for thick materials. I was surprised that it had "preset stitches". So, there is no fiddling with length or width dials. It has 3 very nice satin stitches and something called Double Action Stitches 16, 17 for joining two pieces of fabric like in patchwork quilting. It has a left needle position stitch and also comes with a button hole making foot and button foot, and zipper foot. This will be the machine I will take to quilting class. The sewing area seems extra large, yet it also has a free arm for hemming. I like The Brother Sewing machines and this one is one of the prettiest and easiest machines I've seen.

Was this review helpful? (638) (89)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kat345
Tombstone, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is wonderful!
12/30/2013

Customer review by LAMom318

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by LAMom318
by LAMom318

I have always wanted to learn how to sew, and when I was a child I dreamed of starting my own fashion line! So, I started sewing about 6-8 months ago (mostly just to start a new hobby) and was using my mother-in-law's machine. It was an old Singer. Within a week I knew I wanted my own machine because I was LOVING making clothes, and I knew eventually she was going to need her machine back. My husband bought me this one for Christmas and it is wonderful! It is so much quieter than the older machine I used, has more of a stitch selection, and it doesn't mess up on me like the other one did. (At least not yet!) It took some getting used to at first, but I really love it. I have already made 3 dresses and a shrug for our daughters! The stitches are holding up wonderfully (even with my rough and tough toddlers!), and the dresses are so cute. It definitely does the job, and I have already recommended it to a friend!

Was this review helpful? (426) (65)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LAMom318
West Monroe, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
First Sewing Machine, meets expectations.
11/12/2013

Customer review by shanners64

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by shanners64
by shanners64

I'm so glad I decided to order this machine. This is my first sewing machine and so far I haven't run into any problems at all. I've been using it almost everyday since it arrived. The included instructional DVD is really helpful.

Was this review helpful? (113) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shanners64
Fort Hood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/2/2013

Customer review by Gabsygrl

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by Gabsygrl
by Gabsygrl

I am very happy with my purchase. I was apprehensive at first because I thought that at the price it would be a one time use type of product. However, I have been pleasently suprised. The manual is very easy to read.

Was this review helpful? (124) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gabsygrl
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Beginner Sewer
5/20/2014

Customer review by orocatto

5.0 stars 5/20/2014 by orocatto
by orocatto

I am 68 years old and have not sewed since High School. Being retired I wanted to do some crafts that require sewing. Deciding I didn't want to spend a lot of money went online and found this Brother's machine. Well, let me tell you.....it is so wonderful. Very easy to use and I feel that it will handle what I want for a sewing machine. Good machine to learn on and I even think that it would be good for an intermediate sewer. Looking forward to a lot of fun things with this machine

Was this review helpful? (141) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
orocatto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to operate, great for beginners!
11/18/2013

Customer review by TwoGulls

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by TwoGulls
by TwoGulls

I bought this as a gift for my 9 year old daughter who has expressed an interest in sewing. She has used her grandmother's Brother Sewing Machine (which is truly built like a tank!) and we felt comfortable buying the same brand name. The bobbin came pre-loaded and after reading the directions, we were up and running in 30 minutes. I LOVED the fact that this machine has a drop-in bobbin rather than the old style where you had to load the casing and clip it back into place. Plus, the clear see-through window lets you know when the bobbin is running low....rather than finding out the hard way. I did have someone nearby to help in case of trouble, but the machine was so easy to use that we didn't need it! The pictorials on top of the machine help as well. My daughter was up and sewing for her sister's costume in no time! I think I may have found my new hobby. Would highly reccommend to anyone who needed a good, basic machine to start a wonderful new hobby.

Was this review helpful? (249) (85)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TwoGulls
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent machine for the price
11/18/2013

Customer review by adn81

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by adn81
by adn81

I have not use a sewing machine since I was a small child with my grandmother and this one seems to be very easy to use once I got the tension correct I was hemming up pants in no time it comes with many attachments for more advance stuff great machine I love it

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
adn81
clermont, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR MY 9 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER
1/2/2014

Customer review by mzpinkgreen

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by mzpinkgreen
by mzpinkgreen

Let me begin by saying that I never review products but this time I had to! My daughter came home a few months ago with a hand sewn stuffed animal and expressesd her interest in her newfound love for sewing. I bought her a few of the American Girl kits and she breezed through them with ease. I knew I wanted to get her a sewing machine for Christmas; however I was a little down and out about it because I have never sewn before (outside of Home Ec. class 16 years ago). She opened this gift as a Christmas present and wanted to play with it over all of her more expensive items. We popped the DVD in and within 10 minutes she was sewing! She has made pajama pants for her American Girl dolls and I have made pants for her to match. She has made skirts, shirts, sock, shoes, pillows, blankets and sheets for her dolls and it has only been one week that she has had the product. Her clothes look awesome and the $2.00 that we pay for fabric makes the normal $30.00 American Girl doll outfits look ridiculous! If you are new to sewing I would recommend this machine to you. It is extremely easy to use. My daughter uses it by herself!

Was this review helpful? (202) (65)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mzpinkgreen
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Super little Machine
2/22/2014

Customer review by Ormsby123

5.0 stars 2/22/2014 by Ormsby123
by Ormsby123

We have a winter home and I needed a inexpensive machine to sew straight lines for quick mends and for small projects. I saw this machine and thought what could a wee 75 dollar machine offer - well I have to tell you, it's wonderful. It has a drop in bobbin, stitch lengths, decorative stitches, foot pedal, light, all the things that you need for quick mends, or to sew a project. I would recommend this machine to anyone, beginner to a experienced sewer. This little guy packs a powerful punch and is a little work horse. No regrets with this purchase, it's easy to use, love the drop in bobbin, easy thread, go for it, you won't be disappointed :)

Was this review helpful? (140) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ormsby123
Las Vegas Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good product. Meet my expectations
12/1/2013

Customer review by QueenEllis2

4.0 stars 12/1/2013 by QueenEllis2
by QueenEllis2

I am happy with the purchase overall. I used it to extend sleeves of my shirt on the second day. It worked well. Multiple stitches allow you to choose for differen purposes. A couple of issues (actually not issues but need to be careful and spend more time) I would like to mention: 1) The instruction is not obvious or as easy as I thought. It took me a little longer to understand. They should do a better job on instruction manual or quick reference guide 2) You'd better try on scrap for a particular stitch type. Otherwise, it will be very difficult for you to undo it. You can not rely on the picture of stitch on machine for the effect on your clothes.

Was this review helpful? (56) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QueenEllis2
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome
11/8/2013

Customer review by Trishrenee88

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by Trishrenee88
by Trishrenee88

Bought mine last evening so that I can begin working on my idea [that may eventually turn into my own business...we'll see :)]...i like that this machine comes with a dvd tutorial and comes with a threaded bobbin...the only thing I would suggest is that they add a spool of thread...that wouldve been nice as I was looking around for thread at my home. Even still, this is a great buy!

Was this review helpful? (63) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trishrenee88
Humble, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A pretty understanding machine.
5/14/2014

Customer review by RenamonDancer

5.0 stars 5/14/2014 by RenamonDancer
by RenamonDancer

I am starting to work with plushes, sewing stuffed animals and costumes via commission work. After my first machine broke, I had taken the time to do hand sewing for these products, and it just didn't cut it. I needed another machine. Though maybe it was dumb of me to go for a cheaper machine, this sewing machine has really helped me out with my products so far! The only thing that happens is that the thread ends up getting loose and tangled, BUT that's definitely because sometimes I accidentally thread over the tension dial instead of properly threading under it. (I can be forgetful, oops.) To me, if you take your time with this machine when working with it, it gets you places in your projects well. It really does what the provided instructions and tutorials say it does. This is a good machine for everyone with their hobbies and if you need something for awhile reasonably priced for what you do with it, try it out!!

Was this review helpful? (49) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RenamonDancer
Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrific machine for the price
12/3/2013

Customer review by dupui

5.0 stars 12/3/2013 by dupui
by dupui

I purchased this for my granddaughter for Christmas. As an experienced sewer I opened it to familiarize myself with the machine and to see if it would serve the purpose for a seven year old novice. I couldn't be more pleased. It sews well, makes a utile; uncomplicated buttonhole and has all the stitches she'll need for a long time. It's simple to operate and I feel certain the Brother name will ensure reliability. Great value for the price

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dupui
Marshall, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Definitely recommend
11/10/2013

Customer review by EJET

5.0 stars 11/10/2013 by EJET
by EJET

Bought this last night after finding some cool ideas on making toys for infants out of fleece. Got it home and ended up finishing up 3 of the fleece toys. Very easy to set it up and love that it came with the needle in place as well as a full bobbin. Definitely a great purchase and love using this sewing machine.

Was this review helpful? (46) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EJET
Milwaukee, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for beginner.
1/23/2014

Customer review by Eliaima

4.0 stars 1/23/2014 by Eliaima
by Eliaima

Great for the price.

Was this review helpful? (64) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eliaima
Anderson, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Upgrade if you can afford it
12/19/2013

Customer review by TulumChica

3.0 stars 12/19/2013 by TulumChica
by TulumChica

I have been sewing for many years - apparel and home decor. I purchased the Brother CS6000i a few years ago to have a lightweight, not too expensive machine at my home in Mexico. I have been very pleased with the features and performance of the CS6000i. After a sudden, unplanned return to the US for my husband's medical care, I purchased the Brother JX2517 to use while I am here, thinking it would be of the same overall quality as the CS6000i, but with fewer features. So far it has performed satisfactorily in the small projects I have done, but the overall feel of the machine is cheap, almost toy-like. You can't adjust the stitch length and width. The most used stitch lengths with alternate needle positions are part of the "17 stitches." I really miss the automatic needle threader. Even if you are a beginning sewer, do yourself a favor and upgrade to the CS600i if you can.

Was this review helpful? (62) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TulumChica
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to Use, Worked Fine
8/29/2013

Customer review by kmd615

5.0 stars 8/29/2013 by kmd615
by kmd615

I was a little worried about buying this without any reviews available, but I went ahead and got it. I've never sewn on a sewing machine before in my life, but I took it home, set it up, watched a youtube video and made a pillowcase. Threaded the bobbin, popped it in and threaded the upper part, and started sewing within maybe 10-15 mins. It comes with a "quick start" threading guide, so I didn't even open the manual it came with. This was last night, so hopefully it doesn't break or anything on me now, but overall I'm pretty impressed at how easy it was. (I don't really have anything to compare it to though, and I've always been a quick learner.)

Was this review helpful? (128) (57)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kmd615
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Worth the price
3/28/2014

Customer review by Aubcon01

4.0 stars 3/28/2014 by Aubcon01
by Aubcon01

Does what it says. Works well for the price. Great for beginner sewers like me.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aubcon01
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
12/9/2013

Customer review by cowlumbus

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by cowlumbus
by cowlumbus

I want to buy a comforter for my son's toddler bed. However, I only found twin/full size ones. I decided to cut the comforter into two. I bought this sewing machine to do the work smoothly, no jam. It works great. Now my son has two comforters. I only watched my uncle working on his sewing machine more than 20 years ago. This is the first time I use a sewing machine. However, I have no problem with the machine. It has already been assembled. Just got the threads. The directions are clear, concise, and useful. Strongly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cowlumbus
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Cute machine!
11/29/2013

Customer review by amajohn

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by amajohn
by amajohn

I really like this machine. I had a singer for years and always had trouble with the tension. This sews so smooth compared to my old one. Easy to operate right out of the box. I have been sewing since I was 12. I think even a beginner would be able to use this easily.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amajohn
Cambridge City, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 333 total reviews
1-20 of 333 reviews