Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 389 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

389 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

389 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
299
4 stars
63
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
17
1-20 of 389 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 389 total reviews
1-20 of 389 reviews
This is wonderful!
12/30/2013

Customer review by LAMom318

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by LAMom318
by LAMom318
Top 1000 contributor

I have always wanted to learn how to sew, and when I was a child I dreamed of starting my own fashion line! So, I started sewing about 6-8 months ago (mostly just to start a new hobby) and was using my mother-in-law's machine. It was an old Singer. Within a week I knew I wanted my own machine because I was LOVING making clothes, and I knew eventually she was going to need her machine back. My husband bought me this one for Christmas and it is wonderful! It is so much quieter than the older machine I used, has more of a stitch selection, and it doesn't mess up on me like the other one did. (At least not yet!) It took some getting used to at first, but I really love it. I have already made 3 dresses and a shrug for our daughters! The stitches are holding up wonderfully (even with my rough and tough toddlers!), and the dresses are so cute. It definitely does the job, and I have already recommended it to a friend!

Was this review helpful? (610) (87)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LAMom318
West Monroe, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Good for beginner.
1/23/2014

Customer review by Eliaima

4.0 stars 1/23/2014 by Eliaima
by Eliaima
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great for the price.

Was this review helpful? (78) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eliaima
Anderson, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful!
10/1/2013

Customer review by Kat345

5.0 stars 10/1/2013 by Kat345
by Kat345
Top 500 contributor

I purchased the Brother JX2517 in-store today. I took it home and it already had the bottom bobbin wound and in place, and a standard size needle 14 in place. It was very easy to operate and sewed a very good stitch. I like the fact that it is a lightweight machine, yet it can handle heavy fabrics. It has a double lift on the needle presser foot bar for thick materials. I was surprised that it had "preset stitches". So, there is no fiddling with length or width dials. It has 3 very nice satin stitches and something called Double Action Stitches 16, 17 for joining two pieces of fabric like in patchwork quilting. It has a left needle position stitch and also comes with a button hole making foot and button foot, and zipper foot. This will be the machine I will take to quilting class. The sewing area seems extra large, yet it also has a free arm for hemming. I like The Brother Sewing machines and this one is one of the prettiest and easiest machines I've seen.

Was this review helpful? (906) (139)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kat345
Tombstone, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Great sewing machine for beginners
12/28/2015

Customer review by Klein

5.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Klein
by Klein

I got this Brother sewing machine for my 9 year old daughter for a xmas gift. She loves it, it is not to big and works smoothly. The enclosed dvd shows her exactly how to set it up and start sewing. She can handle it very well. She even made her dolls two outfits on xmas. I got to also make us some new curtains. And she keeps saying mommy you did such an excellent job. The curtains are beautiful. The price was a great steal too. Thks walmart ROLLBACK!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Klein
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Design flaw
1/18/2016

Customer review by WhatDoesThisTake

2.0 stars 1/18/2016 by WhatDoesThisTake
by WhatDoesThisTake

I returned this machine because the machine's light caused the left side of the presser foot to cast a shadow directly across the area to the right making it difficult to top stitch close to the edge of the fabric. I'm 71 years old and have been sewing since I was a teenager. I have never seen anything like this. This was purchased as a second inexpensive machine for our cottage. Either the light needs to be placed more to the front of the needle, or the lamp needs to emit a more defused light that is less intense so it does not cause a shadow.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhatDoesThisTake
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy to operate, great for beginners!
11/18/2013

Customer review by TwoGulls

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by TwoGulls
by TwoGulls

I bought this as a gift for my 9 year old daughter who has expressed an interest in sewing. She has used her grandmother's Brother Sewing Machine (which is truly built like a tank!) and we felt comfortable buying the same brand name. The bobbin came pre-loaded and after reading the directions, we were up and running in 30 minutes. I LOVED the fact that this machine has a drop-in bobbin rather than the old style where you had to load the casing and clip it back into place. Plus, the clear see-through window lets you know when the bobbin is running low....rather than finding out the hard way. I did have someone nearby to help in case of trouble, but the machine was so easy to use that we didn't need it! The pictorials on top of the machine help as well. My daughter was up and sewing for her sister's costume in no time! I think I may have found my new hobby. Would highly reccommend to anyone who needed a good, basic machine to start a wonderful new hobby.

Was this review helpful? (310) (126)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TwoGulls
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Small but mighty - Lightest Version
1/2/2016

Customer review by LagunaVista

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by LagunaVista
by LagunaVista

Don't let the current Walmart sale price fool you, this is a great machine!. It weighs in at a tad under 12 lbs and has a built-in handle. My 30+ year old Singer had just become too hard to lug around. Everything works great. Although it is the lightest full size model, it seems very sturdy. It is so much fun that it makes you want to sew! I LOVE it!! I made a video tutorial and review that covers all the sewing, bobbin and buttonhole basics. https://youtu.be/-yvcu2zXj54

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LagunaVista
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A pretty understanding machine.
5/14/2014

Customer review by RenamonDancer

5.0 stars 5/14/2014 by RenamonDancer
by RenamonDancer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am starting to work with plushes, sewing stuffed animals and costumes via commission work. After my first machine broke, I had taken the time to do hand sewing for these products, and it just didn't cut it. I needed another machine. Though maybe it was dumb of me to go for a cheaper machine, this sewing machine has really helped me out with my products so far! The only thing that happens is that the thread ends up getting loose and tangled, BUT that's definitely because sometimes I accidentally thread over the tension dial instead of properly threading under it. (I can be forgetful, oops.) To me, if you take your time with this machine when working with it, it gets you places in your projects well. It really does what the provided instructions and tutorials say it does. This is a good machine for everyone with their hobbies and if you need something for awhile reasonably priced for what you do with it, try it out!!

Was this review helpful? (59) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RenamonDancer
Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
loved it
12/8/2015

Customer review by omgwhocares

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by omgwhocares
by omgwhocares

I have a singer sewing machine that never really worked and no where to repair. this one was easy to use and I did everything I needed to with no problems or hang ups. I even did fabric that did not feed well (fluffy) and didn't jam.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
omgwhocares
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Upgrade if you can afford it
12/19/2013

Customer review by TulumChica

3.0 stars 12/19/2013 by TulumChica
by TulumChica
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been sewing for many years - apparel and home decor. I purchased the Brother CS6000i a few years ago to have a lightweight, not too expensive machine at my home in Mexico. I have been very pleased with the features and performance of the CS6000i. After a sudden, unplanned return to the US for my husband's medical care, I purchased the Brother JX2517 to use while I am here, thinking it would be of the same overall quality as the CS6000i, but with fewer features. So far it has performed satisfactorily in the small projects I have done, but the overall feel of the machine is cheap, almost toy-like. You can't adjust the stitch length and width. The most used stitch lengths with alternate needle positions are part of the "17 stitches." I really miss the automatic needle threader. Even if you are a beginning sewer, do yourself a favor and upgrade to the CS600i if you can.

Was this review helpful? (90) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TulumChica
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR MY 9 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER
1/2/2014

Customer review by mzpinkgreen

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by mzpinkgreen
by mzpinkgreen

Let me begin by saying that I never review products but this time I had to! My daughter came home a few months ago with a hand sewn stuffed animal and expressesd her interest in her newfound love for sewing. I bought her a few of the American Girl kits and she breezed through them with ease. I knew I wanted to get her a sewing machine for Christmas; however I was a little down and out about it because I have never sewn before (outside of Home Ec. class 16 years ago). She opened this gift as a Christmas present and wanted to play with it over all of her more expensive items. We popped the DVD in and within 10 minutes she was sewing! She has made pajama pants for her American Girl dolls and I have made pants for her to match. She has made skirts, shirts, sock, shoes, pillows, blankets and sheets for her dolls and it has only been one week that she has had the product. Her clothes look awesome and the $2.00 that we pay for fabric makes the normal $30.00 American Girl doll outfits look ridiculous! If you are new to sewing I would recommend this machine to you. It is extremely easy to use. My daughter uses it by herself!

Was this review helpful? (298) (111)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mzpinkgreen
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love This!
10/19/2015

Customer review by LDitty

5.0 stars 10/19/2015 by LDitty
by LDitty

My old sewing machine broke mid-crafting of Halloween & Pocahontas Birthday sewing! I purchased this machine thinking I would hobble through craft completion and give it to my daughter after my machine returns from repair... I'm not sending my old machine out for repair, this is fab! Sews GREAT, so easy to thread, the bobbin thread and load is so fast, I LOVE IT! I don't dread switching thread colors anymore! I have not tried all the different stitches yet, but it is AWESOME so far. The only thing I miss from my old machine is the light was brighter, but I think I could thread this one in the dark. You will NOT be disappointed with this machine, this price point is unbelievable for what you get.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LDitty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's worth the money!
1/10/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It comes with good instructions and a DVD too

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice, basic sewing machine
2/4/2016

Customer review by GrandmaRN

5.0 stars 2/4/2016 by GrandmaRN
by GrandmaRN

I've actually purchased several of these machines. First one was for me, and when family members 'wish I could sew', I bought them this economical, easy to use machine. It holds up very well and is very easy to use. I bought a couple of fancier, much more expensive machines but go back to my Brother most projects.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandmaRN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice
2/6/2016

Customer review by Chris

5.0 stars 2/6/2016 by Chris
by Chris

Ihot this sewing machine for my granddaughters birthday .she hasnt gotten it just yet I got this one so she can use it as she gets older and she wont out grow it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not even a good machine for a beginner.
3/11/2014

Customer review by Sorrymachine

1.0 stars 3/11/2014 by Sorrymachine
by Sorrymachine

The first time I used this machine, I thought it worked beautifully. I noticed it would pull several threads from my bobbin, but nothing too terribly bad. The second and third time I used it, it was terrible. The needle kept unthreading and when pulling my material away, it was hard to pull because it was pulling 6-7 threads from my bobbin. In addition, the needle would jump to the side several times, and this would be on a regular stitch setting, and sometimes the needle would just jam altogether. I wasn't using thick material or anything. It was really bad. I am a beginner and my teacher couldn't even understand why it was doing what it was doing. She was worried my bad experience would discourage my desire to sew. It hasn't, but I decided to take this one back and try a different model (a Singer). I had to pay a little more, but I would rather do that than deal with the issues this Brother machine had, over and over again.

Was this review helpful? (31) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sorrymachine
Maryville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great product
12/9/2013

Customer review by cowlumbus

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by cowlumbus
by cowlumbus

I want to buy a comforter for my son's toddler bed. However, I only found twin/full size ones. I decided to cut the comforter into two. I bought this sewing machine to do the work smoothly, no jam. It works great. Now my son has two comforters. I only watched my uncle working on his sewing machine more than 20 years ago. This is the first time I use a sewing machine. However, I have no problem with the machine. It has already been assembled. Just got the threads. The directions are clear, concise, and useful. Strongly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cowlumbus
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good item
1/3/2016

Customer review by Reviewer

5.0 stars 1/3/2016 by Reviewer
by Reviewer

So far pretty good machine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reviewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Incredibly convenient
1/30/2016

Customer review by JayT

4.0 stars 1/30/2016 by JayT
by JayT

I purchased a Brother a few months back for myself. It was BB 370 model and I was impressed with the features and the cost of it. So when my mom's old Singer finally packed it up, I recommended a Brother to her. And this is the one she wanted. Very simple, light weight and reasonably priced. Now she tells me she's very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JayT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for a beginner
4/8/2014

Customer review by StillTryingtoWin

4.0 stars 4/8/2014 by StillTryingtoWin
by StillTryingtoWin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this sewing machine for my daughter. She doesn't enjoy sewing but just wanted to have a machine for those times when she has to repair something. I consider myself to be a pretty good seamstress and own a very nice Pfaff. So, with all of this in mind I would rate the Brother JX2517 as "good". It runs quietly and makes nice utility stitches. But if you're looking for anything more than this, like decorative stitching, you'll need to upgrade. For the price, it is perfect for a beginner. Easy to thread, easy bobbin winding and insertion, with a nice l.e.d. light. It is light weight for traveling which would be nice for someone who quilts and goes to gatherings to do their sewing because it will do a nice straight stitch for you. It also has a nice stretch stitch for sewing on t-shirt fabric.

Was this review helpful? (37) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StillTryingtoWin
Palmdale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 389 total reviews
1-20 of 389 reviews