Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
37
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
7
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
Huge storage capacity for a small price and size!!
10/14/2014

Customer review by MultipleBusinessOwner

5.0 stars by MultipleBusinessOwner

I've been contemplating on whether to replace my external backup drive or start a cloud account. With all the cloud security breaches lately, an external drive is much more safe. After days of research I kept coming back to this Elements 1TB drive because of the awesome value. I wasn't worried about the physical size of the unit but to my surprise, it's smaller than my cell phone, wow, even better....and it stores up to 1TB! More space than I will ever use! And get this...no power supply needed! My other backup drive was big, heavy, and was hot to the touch. This one is a simple USB connection and that's it. I definitely recommend this product to everyone!

Was this review helpful? (50) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MultipleBusinessOwner
Gilbert, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little hard drive.
11/24/2013

Customer review by garyinprescott

5.0 stars by garyinprescott

Really small. Usb 3 is really fast. Using it for backup on my mac and it works great.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
garyinprescott
Prescott Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent for the money--small - fast--nice--done
7/14/2014

Customer review by reddvirgo

5.0 stars by reddvirgo

got it--hooked her up--clicked on folders--send to wd elements--done--small fast nice--thankyou--

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
reddvirgo
newport, maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great plug and save storage device
10/6/2014

Customer review by Takeakidhunting

5.0 stars by Takeakidhunting

Works great and simple to use. Just plug into a USB port and the unit installs the required drivers and you are ready to transfer your data or pictures.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Takeakidhunting
Slidell, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent backup drive
8/25/2014

Customer review by coastalmike

5.0 stars by coastalmike

Works fast, has a USB 3.0 option for the future. Room for several disk images and other backup files. Comes formatted for NTFS.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
coastalmike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
best external HDD value
7/29/2014

Customer review by chadcopper

5.0 stars by chadcopper

The majority of external HDD's I had over the years have been Western Digital. This one isn't made for rugged conditions, but for an extra/backup HDD it's perfect. Not the snazziest looking, but works perfectly, and you won't find a better value (quality + price) anywhere -- I've looked, lol!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
chadcopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like this external hard drive.
7/22/2014

Customer review by LdynGln

4.0 stars by LdynGln

this is the second external hard drive I've owned and I still have the old one which is about 3 times the size of this Elements. I stayed with the WD because the first one has always been great so why change? I'm glad I stated with Western Digital because this little one is even easier to use then the first one. I like that it is small enough to pop into a carry case and take with me anywhere anytime I need to, couldn't do that with the other one, it is huge compared. The Elements is a plug in and use, as simple as that. I've had the old one over 5 years so the Elements will be the last one I'll need.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LdynGln
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No power adapter..Not as advertised
11/12/2013

Customer review by DieselPusher

3.0 stars by DieselPusher

Unable to use as it does not have a separate power supply as advertised. This is needed for my application...using it with Dish Network to have a DVR service. I am sure this unit is fine for other applications, but it needed a power adapter to use it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DieselPusher
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great value
1/17/2014

Customer review by ron72046

5.0 stars by ron72046

Good deal and easy to use.Plenty of room for pictures.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ron72046
Staten Island, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My electronic world in my hand
1/31/2015

Customer review by nonickname2227752008

5.0 stars by nonickname2227752008

This 3 x 4 inch, 1 terabyte portable drive holds ALL the data back up information from three computers with 90% of unused space still available! Quarterly I up date these backups and keep the drive in my safety deposit box. To do this on a "cloud" I would have to pay for additional space due to the large number of picture and music files I maintain. I do store all MyDocuments on the cloud but this only uses a fraction of the FREE storage offered by my the cloud. I love free, perhaps I 'm cheap,but I prefer FRUGAL!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nonickname2227752008
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
perfect for picture
12/31/2014

Customer review by shellbell89mrsfrog

5.0 stars by shellbell89mrsfrog

I wish that I would have thought this a lot sooner. This is an excellent way to organize your pictures. If your computer crashes, you will always have your pictures with you and they are easily accessible. This are also easy to transport and you can take and share pictures easily with others the hard drive can easily be taken with u and save other pictures that people have taken.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
shellbell89mrsfrog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding 1000 gig usb drive
8/9/2014

Customer review by CaptainT

5.0 stars by CaptainT

This external 1000 gig usb 3.0 drive is extremely small and lightweight, and therefore very portable. I use it on a regular basis to backup my laptop. It is faster and more secure than cloud based, network dependent backups, and my valuable files never leave my possession. I also don't have to worry about a company going out of business suddenly and keeping me from accessing my backups. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CaptainT
Connecticut shoreline
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product.
11/2/2013

Customer review by tigerlilies40

5.0 stars by tigerlilies40

Product is great. I would recommend this product, very good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tigerlilies40
Salem, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WD Elements 1TB Portable External Hard Drive
11/21/2014

Customer review by mike280

5.0 stars by mike280

Simply plug in and play external hard drive. Its too easy to set up. I transferred various files off my internal hard drive to the WD 1TB and use it as my backup. If I want to take the files with me; simply unplug and plug-in to another computer wherever I am going.....and bingo. I would strongly recommend this external hard drive to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mike280
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Back it up early, back it up often
2/14/2015

Customer review by EastTexan1972

5.0 stars by EastTexan1972

The WD Elements external hard drive works great for me. It is plug and play so no downloaded drivers needed and the normal drag and drop methods works great. Plenty of space for the money and with this no one ever needs to lose their information again because this one will hold it all. Remember back it up early, back it up often.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
EastTexan1972
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Plug & Play? Up to a point.
1/12/2015

Customer review by Imjhen

4.0 stars by Imjhen

I bought this device to use for backing up my system, and on a scale of 10, with 10 being a full blown techie geek, I am a 5+ at best. The main positive for me was the ease of getting started, as all I had to do was plug it into a spare USB port on my computer. The negative was lack of documentation. I didn't know for instance what the the led indicator light was indicating in its 2 states, steady on & flashing. Also, I had to find a backup program on my own. For this, I enlisted the services of my brother. as he is 8+ on the aforementioned techie geek scale. After several days of trial and error, I am now fully backed up. By the way, I'm using "AOMEI Backupper", which is a really good program which could benefit greatly if it had a technical writer whose native language is English. I will now cancel my paid backup service when it's time to renew my subscription next month..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Imjhen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Waste of money
1/31/2015

Customer review by myunderarm

1.0 stars by myunderarm

Application is only good for 30 days. After 30 days, you have to re-purchase the application for another $19.00.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
myunderarm
Would recommend to a friend? No
Description is misleading
7/2/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars by An anonymous customer

The product description specifically says it has a power cord however the drive I got did not. I read and re-read the description to make sure I didn't make a mistake. It's wrong and therefore I had to return the entire purchase. This is probably not a WD issue. The box doesn't mention a power cord only Walmart's description.

Was this review helpful? (10) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Drive Failed first week
1/20/2015

Customer review by FrequentBuyer9999

1.0 stars by FrequentBuyer9999

After one use during the first week, the drive became inaccessible and was no longer usable. I took it to a "genius" tech and he was also unable to resurrect the drive. But, I did get multiple e-mails from WalMart asking me to buy a protection plan that would have covered failure of the drive during year 2. Which would have been good if we could have made it thtrough year 1. In all fairnesss, I have another 500GB external Drive from Western Digital that has operated perfectly for 6 years.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FrequentBuyer9999
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product at reasonable price
4/18/2014

Customer review by DR0319

5.0 stars by DR0319

The product has met and exceded my expectations

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DR0319
Palm Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 54 total reviews