Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 271 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

271 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

271 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
204
4 stars
47
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
11
1-20 of 248 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 248 total reviews
1-20 of 248 reviews
Great Update-able Tablet
12/11/2013

Customer review by SkyHarbor

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by SkyHarbor
by SkyHarbor

There are many cheap tablets available out there. Those other tablets are not able to update android and they lack a lot of necessary hardware. This is the second Nexus 7 I have purchased and they keep getting better. One thing to keep in mind is that they do not have a memory expansion slot. Though this has not been an issue for me even with my 16GB. If you have a lot of music, movies, or games you want to load get the 32GB. I have loaded 4 full length HD movies on my 16GB and still had plenty of space. These Nexus 7's feel great to hold unlike some of the other bulky or too big tablets out there. The battery life is much better then other more expensive tablets. You can't beat the price and quality.

Was this review helpful? (96) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SkyHarbor
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simply Simple
8/30/2013

Customer review by jrodman02

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by jrodman02
by jrodman02

I do not know where to start. I very seldom leave reviews, yet I felt compelled to leave a review on this item. After 3+ mos. of reading hundreds of reviews on tablets in general and doing comparison reviews through numerous websites, I settled on this tablet. I am not going to write a super lengthy review. I just want to say after owning this tablet for a month now I can simply say that it is in a class by itself. It is super easy to use and goes above and beyond all of my exceptions. I also want to say that some of the reviews knock it for its GPS function and I do not think that it is fair. First of all it is not supposed to be used as a standard GPS unit like a Garmin etc., and it does require wi-fi for it to function ( if you want to use it as standard GPS you could access Wi-Fi using a tether on your cellphone. Second I notice some people complain about no flash player, well I am able to get flash player by loading it through flas player website under archive, also they just put a flash player app on google play store just this past week. I highly recommend this tablet and I have had the opportunity to use the Kindle fire HD and the iPad (both the mini and a second generation).

Was this review helpful? (101) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jrodman02
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nexus 7, Money Well Spent
9/27/2013

Customer review by Rendezvouser

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by Rendezvouser
by Rendezvouser

After reading and watching numerous reviews for tablets I decided on the Nexus 7, which would be my first tablet. When it arrived I took it out of the box and turned it on. It quickly walked me through a couple of setup screens and I it was ready to go. Although I had never touched a tablet before, it was easy to learn how to operate. It doesn't come with a user's manual, which is fine, as I'm all for saving the trees, so I downloaded one. Piece of cake. I did manage to manage to lock it up once, which was my fault. From that I offer two pieces of advise. 1, when you first fire it up and go through the initial start, check for updates. 2, And this is probably more important, when you download any apps be sure to check for updates. They're not all geared for an android and updating them will make them work a lot better. With that said, the Nexus 7 has been a pure delight to use. Fast, smooth, and easy to carry and hold. If there is a better tablet out there it wouldn't interest me. I'm a happy Camper.

Was this review helpful? (106) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rendezvouser
North Central Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wireless charging problem on 32GB 2013 Nexus 7
8/31/2013

Customer review by BubbaKing

5.0 stars 8/31/2013 by BubbaKing
by BubbaKing

First off, I loved this tablet while I had it. I bought it at a local Walmart in Phoenix, AZ on Aug. 17. The tablet is awesome, and I had no problems at all until I bought an LG wireless charger (WCP-300) on Aug. 28. No matter what I did, my unit would not do wireless charging. I jumped on the internet and from what I've found, this seems to be more of an issue with the 32GB version, and it is a hardware problem. I took mine back on Aug. 29, and I took my LG wireless charger with me. The very nice woman in the electronics department got a new nexus tablet out for me and I tried my wireless charging pad on it. Like the unit I was returning, the new one didn't work. So I did a complete return and didn't exchange it, because I wanted a unit that had wireless charging that worked. I then went to the local BB and the clerk let me try out my wireless charger on a new unit there. It worked right away, so I bought it. I've since charged it wirelessly twice and had no problems. If you bought a 32GB version of the new 2013 Nexus 7 tablet, check to see if the wireless charging works. If not, return it before your 15 day return limit is up. I caught mine just a few days before the 15 day limit and I am sure glad I did. Even though I had this problem, I still love this tablet. As far as recommending it, I would but with the caveat that you should make sure you get a unit that has functioning wireless charging. And once you try wireless charging, you won't want to go back to plugging it in!

Was this review helpful? (61) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BubbaKing
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic Tablet
11/21/2013

Customer review by livid4fish

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by livid4fish
by livid4fish

No need for an IPad the Nexus rocks.

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
livid4fish
98857
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
High quality tablet (Nexus 7" 2013 32 g)
10/20/2013

Customer review by ocda

5.0 stars 10/20/2013 by ocda
by ocda

Lightening fast, responsive. I use if to read books (with highlighting and annotations, etc), access online email and calendars, watch videos, listen to music (good speakers), make phone calls (magic jack and google voice). I also use RDP (remote desktop) to access my company server. When you connect blu-tooth keyboard and mouse, it works like a desktop computer. Doesn't get any better.

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ocda
Mission Viejo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice tablet, considering the price
8/13/2013

Customer review by Luvabargain2

4.0 stars 8/13/2013 by Luvabargain2
by Luvabargain2

I guess I'm one of the lucky ones; no dead pixels, no problems with the keyboard/touch sensitivity and no other problems after using it extensively for a week from checking email, web surfing, gaming, etc. Snappy fast. Screen resolution is superb. I had no real plans of using the tablet as a GPS, that is why I have a Garmin GPS; may seem a little inconvenient to carry both but not a big deal. Tablet is sleek and overall I'm pleased with its performance.

Was this review helpful? (44) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luvabargain2
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GPS and Touch Screen Issues
8/18/2013

Customer review by NexusOwner

3.0 stars 8/18/2013 by NexusOwner
by NexusOwner

Bought my new nexus 7.2 two weeks ago and on the first day I noticed the gps was dropping out after 3 to 5 minutes. Yes I want the GPS! Played with setting and apps and nothing seemed to work. Started checking the forms and noticed allot of other nexus users are having the same problem. Tried unlocking and rooting the device then doing a factory reset but did not flash the previous version and noticed no change to the GPS issue. I have not had too many issues with the touch screen although there have been reports of some random things happening, just not enough to be a serious problem for me. I guess I've been too focused on the GPS thing. I believe it has to do with the last 4.3 update. I have another 1st gen nexus and after the 4.3 update it started having the GPS issues. That alone would make me believe this is software not hardware. I don't really blame Google for releasing the device when they did. After all, if the hardware is solid and the software is working after testing, what would stop the release? Don't really believe there is a hardware issue but it still might be part of the problem, only time will tell. I can tell you that I am impressed with the overall device. The screen is impressive and games play really smooth. Samsung Galaxy charger works as an additional charger. It really doesn't surprise me that Google isn't going "all out" to talk about this on the android forms which worry some people. I think the forums speak for themselves and of course buyers will also speak with their pocket books. That's the great thing about the android community; you can't suppress the user population. Because I think these are software and not hardware problems Google is hoping they can figure this out quickly and put this issue behind them. I hope so because I was forced to return mine before the end of the 15 day return policy and I will not purchase another until I get some good reports on the forums. If Google thinks it might be the 4.3 update they should not make it available for download and should take it off the market until they have proved or disproved the update. When you get a new device the update is auto installed during the initial setup. Don't know if there is a way to opt out of the update during the first setup sequence. Most people will allow the device to update anyway unless they are informed prior to their purchase. Also most people will not be reading the android forums before they buy. They only visit those sites once they start having issues, like I did. I assumed all these issues would have been fixed with the first Nexus 7 and this 7.2 version would be bug free. But these issues are starting to show up on the main stream retail sites like Wal-Mart and others. I know there are allot of people that do not use the GPS feature but that's part of the paid package so let's getter done Google!!!!! Great gadget....can't wait to get another one in my hand.

Was this review helpful? (37) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NexusOwner
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hits the spot
8/30/2013

Customer review by joiseyroxy2

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by joiseyroxy2
by joiseyroxy2

First tablet. Did a lot of research beforehand. Wanted an excellent quality tablet, w/a strong assortment of features, that's also quick, mobile, and not complicated. Got it! It's easy, well made, and has great performance so far. Once in a while I'm waiting for something to download but I figure that may have to do w/my internet speed, available bandwidth, or site traffic as much as the device. Can't beat this unit for the $. Would buy again!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joiseyroxy2
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Google Nexus 7 2nd Gen2013 Review
12/13/2013

Customer review by DoerTooer

5.0 stars 12/13/2013 by DoerTooer
by DoerTooer

I have been using computers for about 29 years, built tower computers as a hobby for about 8 years and have owned two laptops (Dell and IBM) within the past 10 years. This is my first tablet experience, following purchase of a Nook tablet for my wife two years ago. I have very little experience with the Google thus far, however I am favorably impressed with Android 4.3 Jelly Bean on the Nexus 7 2013 and find that coupled with some fairly low cost office style productivity tools as well as a stylus and mini keyboard and case purchased on Amazon, that it is quite enjoyable to use. While the Nook Tablet is great for reading, and AFN is a great solution to improve the usefulness of the device, I would have to give the Nexus an edge over the Nook for greater storage capacity, faster response, dual cameras (front and rear) and comparable quality reading experience to the Nook tablet. Hopefully I will be able to provide a more detailed , experienced based rating in about 3 months.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoerTooer
Sylvania, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value for the money & not filled with junk.
12/21/2013

Customer review by Badpete

5.0 stars 12/21/2013 by Badpete
by Badpete

Price beats the over-inflated iPad pricing. Way less bloatware than the other tablets. Somewhat locked into the world of Google, but we already are. Stock keyboard ok, but trying swiftkey and I think that it is better. Don't always find that the touch screen is responsive. 7" may not be for those of us with older eyes. I'm still ok, but my time is limited on the little screen. Much better than a smart phone screen! Battery life has been good. Got at least 6+hours of movies out of it on a flight. On/off and volume buttons are not well placed. I bought a case and stuck a magnet on it so I don't have to fumble for the on/off button. We bought it because it had very little extra stuff on it (unlike a Samsung galaxy) and since it is android, we have more control over it than say an iPad. Graphics look good. I find that the volume on speakers is a bit quiet for watching movies if the room is not really quiet.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Badpete
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice tablet
2/25/2014

Customer review by nekozuki

4.0 stars 2/25/2014 by nekozuki
by nekozuki

This is my first tablet and android device. So far I really like it. I like how the screen has anti finger print and anti scratch on it. I did have to wipe it a bit but overall it hasn't gotten all nasty like my cell phone screen which i have to clean all the time because of finger prints. I like the number of apps and that they are free in the Google play store. Everything and more I can think of is available for it. I also like the notifications and the ease of use of the device. Yes turning it on can be a bit difficult since you have to hold the button in for a long time before it turns on. At first I thought it was not working but turned out it just takes time. Usually it is really responsive to touch but from time to time it seems not to register. Over all I am in love with it. I found a nice wall paper and got myself lots of fun productivity, study and game apps as well as some free books. I'm looking forward to using this when i take the android development class at my school in the spring.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nekozuki
wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Doesn't Disappoint
12/11/2013

Customer review by Franny1

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by Franny1
by Franny1

This is the first tablet I've owned and I love it. Being a first-time tablet user I was a little frustrated at first because it is so different from my laptop. I chose the Nexus 7 over the Kindle HX primarily from the reviews I had seen on Youtube. I bought it from Walmart because it was the best price I had come across. I chose the free shipping option and it arrived in a few days. The set up was fast and easy. The only problem I had was a user problem. I thought that when the screen went black the tablet was not using any battery power. I found out from Google tech support that you have to "power off" the tablet if you don't want the battery to drain. Being "old school" I would have liked some documentation to come along with the product but there plenty of online sources of information, including Google online and telephone support.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Franny1
LongIsland NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love It!!
12/8/2013

Customer review by camshopper2

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by camshopper2
by camshopper2

After becoming increasing frustrated with my iPhone, I decided to ditch it. Getting a new phone is crazy expensive and I have another year on my contract. So, I decided to go back to my old android phone and get the Nexus so I have a nice big tablet to work with. Most phones are way too small anyway. I figure that with the Nexus, so long as I have a wireless connection - I am good to go and don't need cell service anyway. I have my old Droid as a back up too - just smaller screen. Speed, battery, display, capacity - all wonderful after a full 2 weeks of use. I am loving my Nexus so much. Found a nice screen protector and case to keep safe. Much better for reading books and surfing the web than phone because of the screen size being larger. Got a great deal on Walmart dot com. And, I won't have to keep paying high prices for cell service for the data plan once my contract runs out. Sweet set up!!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
camshopper2
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best mini tablet
8/19/2013

Customer review by reeto

5.0 stars 8/19/2013 by reeto
by reeto

This is the best mobile device i have ever used. And it costs a lot less than most other devices. The display is incredible. The size and feel are great. I feel its the perfect size for a mobile tablet. Its fast and great to type on. I have used the ipad mini and the display on that is not great, especially reading text. This tablet blows that away.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reeto
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Had it for a few weeks, performs flawlessly
11/13/2013

Customer review by SometimesBuyer7498

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by SometimesBuyer7498
by SometimesBuyer7498

My first tablet and the whole family has enjoyed it so far. Great value and suberb features. Just used it to record a school performance (video) and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the result.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SometimesBuyer7498
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best value tablet on the market currently.
12/25/2013

Customer review by Kykayak

5.0 stars 12/25/2013 by Kykayak
by Kykayak

The 2013 Nexus 7 is one awesome tablet. I'm a big fan of apple products and own an iPhone. I love IOS mainly because it's always steps ahead of most the garbage android products on the market. The Google nexus 7 2013 is a game changer. Its better than the ipad mini in practically every way! Not to mention it's $100 cheaper! Dollar for dollar you can not currently get a better tablet for the price. Nice design, great battery life, fits nice in my hands. I could go on and on. Way to go Asus and Google. You've made this apple fanboy a believer and if you buy this product, you will likely share my enthusiasm. Cannot recommend this product enough.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kykayak
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'm addicted, great tablet and worthwhile tool
3/19/2014

Customer review by CtownJoe

5.0 stars 3/19/2014 by CtownJoe
by CtownJoe

This is my first tablet and believe me when I say this is worth the money and time to get accustomed to tablet computing. I pondered the ipad vs. android question. I looked, asked questions, read reviews on line. Seems you really cant go wrong with an ipad. But I like customizing and tweaking the android interface. Can't really do that with ipad. And I don't feel like paying the Apple "tax" for their products. So far as selection of android apps they are many and varied. I have not found there is anything lacking for apps for android. The Nexus display is wonderful. Sound is as loud as you could want it, quality of sound is fine with built in speakers - fantastic with headphones. Camera for still and video is fine- certainly not as good as a good point and shoot but sufficient and fun to use. Video chat works as it should. But do purchase a protective case of some kind, Nexus is slippery! I would buy it again no question about it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CtownJoe
Central Coast, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sharp Clear Bright Screen, but where is the "QC"
9/29/2013

Customer review by DonnyInCA

2.0 stars 9/29/2013 by DonnyInCA
by DonnyInCA

Got two of these Nexus 32GB 2013 tabs. One worked well, but had "DEAD PIXEL". The "Whites" were bright with the correct temperature. The other had issues with its screen, touch-screen was not responsive, and the "white" had a yellowish tint to it. Comparing the two side by side made this tab un-acceptable. This one also crashed several times and got stuck on the Google "X" page. For a $270 tablet (+tax & recycle fees), ASUS and GOOGLE should do a better job with their quality control, I saw that other people had similar issues when looking it up on forums on the internet. Maybe the 3rd one will be a charm??

Was this review helpful? (18) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DonnyInCA
Calif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing Performance at Amazingly Low Price
8/30/2013

Customer review by jiminsp

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by jiminsp
by jiminsp

I'm pretty experienced with all things computer and have owned other tablets. I prefer the 7-8" screens because they're lighter than bigger screens and fit into a pocket. I've been using this second generation Nexus 7 for three weeks and am delighted. This is unquestionably the best tablet bargain, better in every respect than the much more expensive iPad Mini . Superb screen. Snappy performance. The perfect size and weight for long periods of use like reading. I bought the 32gb version but 16gb would be fine if you don't want to store large media files like uncompressed movies.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jiminsp
St. Petersburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 248 total reviews
1-20 of 248 reviews