Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 276 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

276 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

5 stars
191
4 stars
53
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 stars
18
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 266 total reviews
The best 7" tablet!
8/1/2013

Customer review by Notch22

5.0 stars by Notch22

Let me preface this by saying that I am by no means a casual tablet user; I'm a tech geek. I got the original Nexus 7 on the release date and I have been lucky to get the new Nexus 7 before its official release. I will be reviewing this tablet as it suits me, and my needs from a tablet are most likely going to be different from those of the typical user. However, I'll do my best to shed some light on this tablet even if I've only had it for a couple of days. I'm going to be dividing my review into several sections. Design: The new Nexus 7 definitely is lighter than its predecessor; that's apparent right away. While it isn't quite as thin as the iPad Mini, I am not one to get into the hype on thinness. It is thin enough, and that is all that I care about. One of the things highlighted by Google was the thinner bezels on the side. This may just be me, but I don't really like the new bezel. I like resting my thumbs on the side of the device and it seems like I won't be able to do that anymore. Also, the top and bottom bezels look a lot longer. (I don't know whether they actually are or that is just how they look in relation to the thinner side bezels.) I use my tablet almost exclusively in portrait mode, so this new bezel layout doesn't suit me too well. However, if you like using your tablet in landscape, I can definitely see how the new bezel layout would be an improvement. Maybe I'll get used to the new bezel after a couple weeks of use. Screen: I was more than happy with the 720p screen of the original Nexus 7. It looks even better with the new 1080p screen. However, the thing which was even more apparent to me than the higher resolution was the increased color saturation. Everything on my original Nexus 7 seemed washed out and dull, but that is not the case with the new Nexus. And there is no flickering or any of the other issues the original nexus's had. Also, a thing that is worth mentioning: with my original nexus, I noticed that sometimes when I tried to flip between home screens with a very light stroke it would not register. It would flick back to the screen I had started at. This seems to have been fixed with the new Nexus 7. Speed: The 2GB of ram on this device are absolutely crucial. That was (in my opinion) the main thing holding the original nexus 7 back. While the new processor isn't the snapdragon 600 we were all hoping for, it is far better than the Tegra 3 processor in the original nexus 7. Note for people considering upgrading: the architecture of the Tegra 3 doesn't allow for Open GL 3.0, so original Nexus 7 users will not be getting it. Overall, the speed of the tablet doesn't appear to be much faster; the original nexus 7 is by no means slow. But I feel that with time the speed difference will become much more apparent. OS: Android 4.3 is nothing new: far from the long awaited Key Lime Pie. It is a great operating system that functions well, but if you are looking for a new interface, look elsewhere. Speakers: They are a definite improvement over the original nexus 7. I wish they would have been front facing, but you can't get everything you want. Cameras: The cameras are nothing special. Your phone most likely has a better rear and front facing camera. But for video chatting, they work well enough. I personally have no need for the additional rear camera (and I refuse to look like a fool taking pictures and videos with my tablet), but I do know others will appreciate the rear camera. Overall, this device improves on the original Nexus 7 in nearly every way. I haven't gotten too much time to test everything on the device (cut me some slack; I've only had it for two days) but from what I have seen, it looks to be a good tablet for a great price. At the moment, it is the best 7" tablet on the market - no doubt. If you don't have a 7" tablet and are interested, you should definitely buy this. If you are considering upgrading from the original Nexus 7, then it matters what your individual preferences are. If you are frustrated with the old Nexus 7's dull screen, lack of a rear camera, or like living on the cutting edge of technology, then you should definitely jump on the new Nexus 7. For $229 and $269, the Nexus 7 is a no-brainer. One gripe I have with the new Nexus 7 is the lack of a new name. It makes writing a review much harder because I always have to refer to it as the "old" Nexus 7 or the "new" Nexus 7. But that has nothing to do with the device. :)

Was this review helpful? (191) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Notch22
Newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
really fast 7 inch tablet
10/24/2013

Customer review by ithasacarb

5.0 stars by ithasacarb

Make sure to do your research on the new nexus 7 2013. If you happen to get one that has touch screen issuesissues, the GPS keeps losing connection or the tablet freezes up numerous times, exchange it immediately. Some are shipping with issues but most are completely perfect. Don't wait around for a software update that many believe are really hardware issues. Think about it for a second..... All nexus 7s are the exact same hardware. So if it was a software issue wouldn't most if not all be experiencing the exact same problem? Clearly some units are defective.

Was this review helpful? (67) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ithasacarb
Saint Louis, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good tablet with defective GPS sensor and no fix
8/19/2013

Customer review by TerranNova

1.0 stars by TerranNova

The new Nexus 7 has a major defect out of the box: the GPS sensor which allows the tablet to be used for satellite navigation does NOT work. Almost everyone who has purchased the Nexus 7 and tried to use GPS for navigating has found the tablet cannot lock onto a signal. Google acknowledged this problem after release, but has yet to provide an update whether they think it can be patched (software) or not (hardware). Many early adopters including myself have been mistakenly fed the same line by Google AND Asus tech support that"GPS does not work without wifi". This is in stark contrast to the first generation Nexus 7, all Samsung Galaxy Tabs, and most recent smart phones which can access GPS for navigation WITHOUT any kind of wi-fi or cellular data connection. If you are looking to buy this tablet, please be aware that the GPS will NOT work out of the box. More importantly, there is a strong possibility Google/Asus will deny the problem and not do anything about it.

Was this review helpful? (142) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TerranNova
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
By all means, BUY THE EXTENDED WARRANTY
9/29/2013

Customer review by SandBoater

5.0 stars by SandBoater

Worth the money? YES Well made? YES Buy the extended warranty? YES, YES, YES! This has been an excellent tablet, for the money it has been a GREAT tablet. The one thing I did wrong when buying this tablet is I didn't buy the extended warranty. The glass on the tablet is VERY sensitive to changes in temperature. I came home a month or so ago and the temperature in my car was about 120 - 130 degrees. I went in my house and the air conditioner was blowing cold air (about 60 - 70 degrees) and the top half cooled too fast. SNAP, the screen cracked across the top. I put a piece of shipping tape across the crack and the unit still works great except for the inch or so above the crack. This is a tough as nails unit (not counting the glass) dang thing is still working great below the crack in the glass! I will be buying another one when this one finally conks out. I didn't buy the extended warranty and so I am looking at repairing this one or buying a new one. Either way, it will cost me a lot more than the $28 for the extended warranty! This is a very well made product and works very well, but cracked screen isn't covered by Asus. I think they charge $170 to fix it, or that might be a place in town, I don't remember.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SandBoater
Sunset, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great transport, but surprised by the obvious bug
8/12/2013

Customer review by Willstan

4.0 stars by Willstan

It's a fabulous piece... Or will be when these two flaws are fixed... Namely, GPS that only connects sporadically, and a keyboard that is sometimes very very jumpy and unusable. Once those are fixed, it'll be the greatest! I am surprised that google let something like this out with these two blatant flaws, however.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Willstan
Rhinebeck ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very good but not perfect
8/14/2013

Customer review by chooyu

4.0 stars by chooyu

It's everything that I expected, and I'm happy with it except for one thing - it does not have accomodation for external memory card. I chose this over the Samsung because of the higher resolution screen, more internal memory etc.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
chooyu
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tablet for the price
11/30/2013

Customer review by Potato123

5.0 stars by Potato123

I got the Nexus 7 to do school work while on the go, and to play games/watch Youtube, Facebook, Twitter. You name it. I have no problems with it, the battery life could be better but it will definitely get you through 2 days if you just slightly lower the screen brightness. The tablet comes with about a 3 foot long charging cable I can hold it in one hand easily Very crisp screen, not the best colors but still very good. I compared the screen to my Galaxy S4 The back of the tablet feels very nice and you won't get finger prints all over it The speakers in it are okay, they get a little washed out at higher volumes, but it's a lot better than most phones.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Potato123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
For a 7" tablet, you can't do better
12/16/2013

Customer review by T1mb0

5.0 stars by T1mb0

Walmart has these for $199.99 now. If you are in the market for a 7"-er (as I see it there's regular, 10" tablets, and ~7" tablets AKA minis), this is the tablet you want. Talk about value! Light, comfortable to hold, does anything the Ipad mini can, goes hand in hand with an Android phone and a Google account, and did I mention its half the price of its top competition? With a 3 pixels-per-inch difference between it and the Ipad mini with retina display, I imagine no one could tell the difference. However its .9" smaller, which is to me, more ideal for the "mini-class". Having never owned a Mac, Iphone, or Ipad, I think its safe to say that the more products in that group you own, the more well integrated an Ipad mini would be in your hardware. But if you have an Android phone, if you use Gmail or any of Google's other wonderful free services, the Nexus 7 (2013) is the tablet you want because its made for these services.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
T1mb0
Satellite Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Video Playback and performence
8/4/2013

Customer review by Irushionu

5.0 stars by Irushionu

Just bought the tablet days ago and its worth the price, like any other reviews have said(on other sites), its obviously better than the previous Nexus 7, has more pixel density(display), more speed, etc. Its for now, the best android tablet around! But for those who watch high quality videos(aka Anime for example) especially 10bit video with some apps to play it(i play it on Mxplayer), plays fine in 720p mkv perfectly, while in 1080p with high bitrates does have some lag, but that depends of de videoplayer, if they still update them, some time in the future it will play with cero lag, remember, im talking about 10bit video, in 8 bit(what most people watch) video it plays fine in 1080p. The sound is good too, while playing some games with high graphics last like around 5 hours of battery life(with moderated brightness and sound), in video playback it does last 9 hours(still having some energy). well, thats it, hopes this review helps some people, im happy to have this tablet, its my 1st tablet, i waited long time to see a good tablet with good specs and price(research every site about tablets, computers, features, asked questions in some forums, etc.) and this is it ^-^.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Irushionu
TJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very nice tablet...
8/4/2013

Customer review by ghp1956

5.0 stars by ghp1956

I bought this tablet for my mobile gaming needs, and I was pretty surprised how crisp and clear the display is. Handles MC4 and RR3 like a champ on highest graphics settings. Im waiting for MC5 and Asphalt 8 to see how it performs. If i had the choice I would buy the 32 but literally no one has it now? Sold out I guess. Anyway the style of the tablet is very nice, love the rubbery matt finish on the back. Cameras could be better but after all it is a tablet. Does not come preloaded with 4.3, you'll have to update it(around 52mb). This concluded my review...for now.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ghp1956
Santa Ana, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT deal on a GREAT 7" tablet
12/7/2013

Customer review by Technutt

5.0 stars by Technutt

Excellent battery life, gorgeous screen, ultra fast with the latest updates to Android (KitKat 4.4) This tablet is very light and easy to hold for long periods of time. I tried a couple of 10" tablets but they were so heavy that wrists and hands tire from holding them extended periods of time... not true with the Nexus 7! I can hold it for hours surfing, checking emails, playing games, reading reviews of the movies we are watching... and also is great when paired with Google's Chromecast to stream movies to my TV! I can share what videos I am watching on my tablet with my family on my TV! (Chromecast is only $35 extra and you can get it at Walmart too!) Excellent tablet! The BEST 7" one you can buy, bar none!

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Technutt
Pensaola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice tablet at great price
12/9/2013

Customer review by danmars

5.0 stars by danmars

This is a much better deal than the overpriced iPad mini

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
danmars
San Jose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it, but one problem
9/26/2013

Customer review by JB31

4.0 stars by JB31

I'm very happy with my Nexus 7. It is easy to use, easy to understand, and a great value. It can do everything my husband's more expensive tablet can do. My ONLY complaint about the Nexus is that there is an issue with the charger. It will only charge 20-30% being plugged in a full 8-10 hours (overnight), which is totally unacceptable. I just figured "that's how it was," but when I started using my husband's charger (same type, for a different device), it would charge to 100% in just an hour or two. Needless to say, I pitched the Asus charger it came with! I've read this is a COMMON problem with Nexus' chargers, so just be aware.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JB31
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Thus Far....A Solid Product
12/26/2013

Customer review by JoeHomeOwner

5.0 stars by JoeHomeOwner

This was a gift for my 6 year old daughter. She loves it. You can customize it with user accounts where you can restrict the secondary users. This was a selling point for myself. Like I stated she is 6 and I do not want her on the internet or downloading apps. This is the only thing she has gotten that she has not been bored with. Music, movies & games all in the palm of her hand. When she is bored with one she moves on to another. Obviously this is not the mainstay and I am sure the initial allure will change over time but the beauty is the content can always be changed through the app store for free. 1 charge lasts her the day and she has used the heck out of it. The only problem I have had and this is more related to her being 6. We got her some headphones to go along with it. She puts the tablet down and walks away with the headphones on often pulling the tablet off of whatever it is on. Thus far no damage but we also got a nice foam rubber case to protect it from the bumps & bruises.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JoeHomeOwner
Haverhill, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Google Nexus 7
12/7/2013

Customer review by MrTank

5.0 stars by MrTank

This is not my first tablet, This Google Nexus 7 is totally customizable, smooth operation and an excellent tablet. I have had iPad, Samsung Tablet 1 and now I got Google Nexus 10 and I bought this Google Nexus 7 for my kids for Xmas. As you can see I have had a huge range of tablets and I will now only buy Nexus tablets from now on. If you like to customize and have control of your tablet this is the way to go. Also so many free down loads compared to Apple. And if you have the Nexus tablets you also get first dibs on new apps before others or trial of new apps as well.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MrTank
Niagara Region, Ontario, Cabada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My first tablet
8/12/2013

Customer review by gilbert555

5.0 stars by gilbert555

I had several options I had researched but ultimately went with the new Google Nexus 7. LOVE IT. It's fast. Skype works great. Totally worth the price. No complaints.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gilbert555
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pound for pound tablet champ
12/10/2013

Customer review by sstephen17

5.0 stars by sstephen17

Let me first say that I've owned several tablets over the last two years. This includes an iPad and Galaxy tablet. When you factor in cost, performance, and quality, the Nexus 7 is hands down the best tablet. Having owned both 7" and full size tablets, my personal preference is for the smaller tablet size. It is easier to read ebooks and magazines and is far more convenient to carry around. Even with a slim case, I can fit my Nexus 7 in my jacket pocket. I typically take it on the train or when waiting in line for something like the movies It's a heck of a lot easier than having to lug around a bigger tablet. The best part of the Nexus 7 is the display. Absolutely gorgeous; on par with a retina iPad and noticeably better than the non-retina displays. I've used it for playing games, reading books/magazines, and viewing photos, watching videos, and they all look gorgeous on this display. Performance is top notch, with a quad-core processor and 2gb of RAM. Apps load quickly, even when multiple apps are running in the background. Where the Nexus 7 takes the crown however is pricing. An iPad mini with retina display (which is what you would have to get to match the ppi on a Nexus 7 2nd gen) starts at a ridiculous $399! At Walmart, the Nexus 7 2nd gen can be had for a mere $199. I could understand the price difference if the iPad was noticeably better (it's not from my experience), but at that price point it is definitely not worth it. You can argue all you want on ecosystems, but the bottom line is you are overpaying for an iPad mini. Basically, you are paying for a name and to me that isn't worth such a huge markup. If you want a quality tablet at a great price, the Nexus 7 2nd generation is easily the tablet to beat. And since it is a Nexus device, you can expect timely updates to the latest version of Android. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sstephen17
Covina, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!
2/24/2014

Customer review by racevedo1

5.0 stars by racevedo1

My mother bought this Google Nexus tablet and she loves it a lot. She tells me that she didn't find anything wrong with it at all. She says she loves the HD video quality, the front and back camera quality, And she loves the light weight of it. It's 16GB which is a good amount of storage for her, but for someone who might want to put more storage, they won't be able to because there is no MicroSD card slot. Also the tablet doesn't have a flash on the camera which is a feature my mom would of liked but besides that, she's satisfied with it. She says it hasn't frozen up yet and it's pretty fast when browsing the web and watching videos. I believe this tablet is a 2GB memory storage which is pretty awesome which makes the tablet have a better performance better than the 1GB memory storage. She also loves the fact that the battery life is very long lasting, which is a big plus. She recommends this product to anybody who is looking for an affordable tablet that has great performance and features. :-)

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
racevedo1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The most for your hard earned dollars
12/25/2013

Customer review by bpfitzsi

5.0 stars by bpfitzsi

I purchased this for my daughter who had an iPod Touch for a few years. Its a huge step up. Of course the iTouch is not intended to be a mini-tablet, but the Nexus 7's size hits a sweet spot for anyone that wants portability and features. The screen resolution is amazing and the sound quality is really good for its size. I can't really complain about anything for the price of just under two hundred. If you use a lot of memory from video downloads, then get a 32gig model, but otherwise the 16 is prob fine for most people who stream content and keep only a few movies on their device. There's plenty of memory space for audio and apps. This item is brand new, but I've not heard anything negative about quality since it came out. After seeing this, I thing I want one! It takes a back seat to a Galaxy Tab 10 that's only 2 years old. For the price, and unless you purchased lots of content through Amazon, I can't imagine why anyone would want any other Android tablet. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bpfitzsi
Towson, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Money wise, an excellent Buy.
8/12/2014

Customer review by COLOSSUS79

4.0 stars by COLOSSUS79

Nothing, but only good things I can say about this tablet. This is my first tablet, but I have already tied the IPAD mini, and I can tell you that I like this one a little more, the only thing if there is something bad I can say, that would be the size in comparison to the IPAD mini, otherwise the NEXUS 7 would come on top, or at least that's how I feel. Visually: Impressive. awesome display, looks great with hd movies and videogames brightness level: Perfect either you are using it in the dark or outside in the sun. weight: Lite and easy to take along. and the fact that you can hold it from the sides without touching the screen by accident, I think it's a bright idea. I should add that it is fast enough to have you pleased every time you need to surf the web. Overall, I can say it's worth every penny you spend on it. Buy it, you would not regret doing so. I gave this tablet a 4 star rating, just because of the size, they should have made it an 8 inch tablet based on the size of the IPAD mini.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
COLOSSUS79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 266 total reviews