Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 120 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

120 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

120 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
37
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 stars
21
1-20 of 96 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews
Dont waste your money
3/11/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/11/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this product as a gift. I had thought I was saving money over other grinders that had a higher price. It didn't take long to realize I should have spent the money. Upon 1st use of this product problems arose. All of the liquid waste (meat juice,water, etc) runs out the bottom of the grinder instead of coming out of the front with the meat,vegetable you are grinding. I returned the product to the manufaturer, at my expense. They sent me back a grinder, claiming it was new. The cylinder had scratches on it which indicated to me that this was not a new grinder. In addition, it was not sent in an original packaging as a brand new product would have been. Upon trying to use the machine again, the same problem occurred. Focus Electric, the manufacturer of Back to Basic products has advised me that there isn't anything they can do. No refund, no replacement, Nothing. So I am stuck with this piece of junk and now have to purchase a real grinder at a higher price. I hope this review helps to save someone else the aggravation and cost that I have spent. Don't waste your money on this product. It wont work.

Was this review helpful? (121) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Well worth the money.
12/6/2009

Customer review by slappy63rd

4.0 stars 12/6/2009 by slappy63rd
by slappy63rd

I was really surprised by the ease this thing went through my elk meat. The chili and hamburger blades are the only ones I used. The chili blade ground up the meat with no problems while the hamburger blade took a little more time, but it never jammed. Ground up all my elk meat in about 2 hours including packaging. Also surprised that this product was not any louder than most of my other kitchen electronics. Mess was minimal (don’t over load the neck or liquids will come out around the top)and it was easy to clean. GREAT product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (47) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slappy63rd
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Perfect
11/6/2007

Customer review by GeordieBC

5.0 stars 11/6/2007 by GeordieBC
by GeordieBC

From grinding bologna to caribou this one does it all. Don't know about the durability as I just got it but it looks like the old electric one my parents used for years and years...you don't need the fancy stuff and super high power to do basic meat grinding. Like I said, this does caribou just fine too.

Was this review helpful? (52) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeordieBC
Barrow, Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
This product met all my needs
7/2/2007

Customer review by tweety4120

4.0 stars 7/2/2007 by tweety4120
by tweety4120

I wanted a product that I could make sausage and also grind meat for personal use. I am an amateur chef and love to cook. I now can take this product and produce my own sausage and hamburger meat and include any ingrediant mixture with it. Having some friends over for burgers and sausage is now easier then ever and I get raves on my food.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tweety4120
Centennial, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A very impressive product
12/25/2007

Customer review by bumperjack

5.0 stars 12/25/2007 by bumperjack
by bumperjack

I was very Pleased with this Grinder, it exceeded my expectation to say the least. I have ground various types of meat Pork , Beef , Venision Etc for many years and this is the best grinder i have come across for the money period.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bumperjack
Attalla, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
3/30/2009

Customer review by maui911

5.0 stars 3/30/2009 by maui911
by maui911

Product works great. Very user friendly and easy clean up. Highly recommend for household use.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maui911
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible grinder
1/5/2009

Customer review by dak15

1.0 stars 1/5/2009 by dak15
by dak15

We used this grinder for 10 minutes and the motor quit working!

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dak15
Would recommend to a friend? No
DO NOT BUY
10/31/2010

Customer review by crymfytr

1.0 stars 10/31/2010 by crymfytr
by crymfytr

We bought this simply to grind cheese for a frequently made recipe. In theory, a very simple operation and a very simple product. I can only grade my purchase based on the unit I received. In the middle of sending cheese through this thing I went to turn it off for a minute to tend to some other ingredients. I pushed the on/off selector switch and it broke off immediately and fell inside the case. I stood there stunned, machine still grinding before I unplugged it. I actually had to open the case with a screwdriver just to fish the button out and pull it outside the case so I could finish the recipe. The switch was mounted on a plastic plate secured by two screws holding it flush with the case surface. The plate had broken at both screw points before 1 use. Does it grind? yes. Does it stop grinding? maybe. should you buy it? Absolutely not. I am quite frugal but I regret saving money and buying this thing as it cost me two trips to the store plus another for its eventual replacement. BEWARE!!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crymfytr
Would recommend to a friend? No
good value
1/14/2011

Customer review by rfisher

5.0 stars 1/14/2011 by rfisher
by rfisher

good value.a friend had one he paid over$100 and it wasnt any better than this one

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rfisher
cambridge,oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Would Not Grind
1/27/2009

Customer review by countryboy57

1.0 stars 1/27/2009 by countryboy57
by countryboy57

I bought this grinder as a short-term appliance with the intent of buying a heavier duty grinder in 2 or 3 years. I did not expect this grinder to perform like an expensive professional grinder. With that said, I could not get this grinder work at all; all it would do is produce a small amount of meet mush before clogging completely. I followed the instruction and tried grinding several types of meet with not success. This grinder is also very loud and required me to ware hearing protection while running it. I returned it for a refund. I would not recommend this grinder. -Countyboy57

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
countryboy57
Harrisburg PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
so far its been good
12/7/2009

Customer review by pany

4.0 stars 12/7/2009 by pany
by pany

i purchased this product about a month ago and so far its been good. i grind boiled crack corn for tortilla masa and meat and it did a great job. one thing a notice is when you grind meat it leaves the connected tissues in the machine but it lest out the meat you will have to occationally turn it off take it apart and clean the meat tissue inside the machine to continue grinding smoothly.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pany
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Meat grinder falls short of my expectations.
1/5/2014

Customer review by Deenie58

3.0 stars 1/5/2014 by Deenie58
by Deenie58

I was disappointed that it seemed sluggish and I had to stop atleast 6 times in order to unclog the grinder. It took me approximately 2 hours to grind 2.20 lbs. of chuck roast. Also, it seems to overheat quite a bit. That was one of the reasons that I stopped to allow time for cooling. Additionally, there is a black substance that is released in the meat while it is grinding. I don't know if this is from the stainless steel residue or not. I couldn't figure out the exact cause for this, except that. Overall, I am considering sending it back for a refund. I would recommend a more expensive meat grinder for better durability and performance. Also, it is extremely noisy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deenie58
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Back To Basics?
1/14/2008

Customer review by DeerMark

1.0 stars 1/14/2008 by DeerMark
by DeerMark

This meat grinder needs to go "back to the drawing board" for a total redesign. The motor is so loud you need ear protection to operate it. While it does grind the deer meat we bought it for, it constantly sounded as if it was going to burn out the electric motor. I would NOT recommend this product at all. Use your money to buy a better grinder, not this plastic version. I returned the product for refund.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeerMark
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for B.A.R.F (raw pet food)
10/31/2007

Customer review by FaylinaMeir

5.0 stars 10/31/2007 by FaylinaMeir
by FaylinaMeir

I bought this product solely to B.A.R.F for those of your who don't know what that is, its making raw pet food. Part of this process is grinding up meat and BONES. While the instant you put a bone in this thing voids the warrenty. It works great like expensive bone grinders. I would suggest this for those starting on B.A.R.F or even the sessioned vet. I find I can grind an entire 5 pound chicken in approx 20-30 minutes. I have had this product for about 2 months now and it still runs as good as the day i bought it, and thankfully unlike most grinders the parts are not rusting. A Must have for any B.A.R.F er If there was however one thing I was not satisfied with its the fact depending on how fast/how much you are grinding meat may/can/will leak on the back making it tricky to clean the connector. However a small wire brush works nicely for this, never owning another grinder, I cannot compare. I also recommend this as a Walmart employee, as well as a momma to two beauty cats.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FaylinaMeir
Des Moines, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Grinder
10/27/2009

Customer review by flyfishermanjd

5.0 stars 10/27/2009 by flyfishermanjd
by flyfishermanjd

Met all my expectations. I would recommend this grinder to anyone thinking of purchasing a grinder. Also, the site to store feature offered by Walmart made it possible to purchase it even though my local store didn't carry it, Thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flyfishermanjd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/25/2011

Customer review by whonu

4.0 stars 9/25/2011 by whonu
by whonu

I have used this product 3 times since purchasing. So far I am satisfied with the results. as yet I have used the sausage stuffing tubes, but anticipate no major problem. The machine is a bit noisy during operation and the grinding auger was slightly difficult to remove for cleaning after usage but it's it not a big deal.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whonu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
worked well
10/30/2013

Customer review by boondocker99

4.0 stars 10/30/2013 by boondocker99
by boondocker99

the real test is durability to me,,,, ony used it once,,,,,so I really do not know yet,,,but it was for an extended time,,,,grinding 15 lbs of meat...worked well,,,,,if it holds up I would rate it as excellent value

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boondocker99
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/18/2011

Customer review by Moritza

4.0 stars 7/18/2011 by Moritza
by Moritza

the unit works ok - however - it is VERY noisy (loud) - if someone is sensitive to noise that person might not like the unit.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moritza
Lake County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Meat Grinder review
4/29/2010

Customer review by Simplehonestreview

2.0 stars 4/29/2010 by Simplehonestreview
by Simplehonestreview

Hello all, Okay guys and gals I bought this meat grinder because I want to grind my chicken which I purchase in bulk. I eat a lot chicken around 40 lbs every 2 months, so you can see I was ready to put this grinder to a test. I purchased through the online option and got it on time. I opened it up and it looked like a solid piece, it is easy to put it together, solid steel nose, three nets, one blade and a cheap old plastic piece to force the meat in the grinder, you would need that because you have to force the chicken in order to grind and once you get done you have to get the last few big chunkes by hand because it would spit it out no matter what you did, now obviously you have to shut the machine off and take it apart do that, so that is really not cool either, more time in things you dont' won't to be bothered about. You have to push the meat in hard to get all the meat out grinded, it is really not a fun part either as I said. It is very noisy no doubt about it! Now it does come with a reverse button, I didn't get impress with that because that was of no use when your meat gets stuck in there, no matter what I did the grinder was not strong enough to grind the chicken all the way actually a bit slow even though I kept pushing the chicking in the grinder. Over all I would not purchase this grinder ever againl. It was loud, parts won't fit in though as I said in the start it is easy to put it together, it was like as if the nose would not get attached perfectly in the motor. Please save your money and time and buy something better than this machine. Here you guys I gave you guys and gals clear cut simple review so now you can make a better decision on your own and that is not to buy this machine :)) Oh by the way I didn't just grinded all 40lbs of chicken in 1 go, I actually tried 4 lbs at a time! Thanks every1 and have a blessed day!

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Simplehonestreview
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Slow & loud
1/24/2009

Customer review by Sam4homes

2.0 stars 1/24/2009 by Sam4homes
by Sam4homes

I was happy to find that it had a reverse button and if you are grinding a few pounds of meat it is OK & worth the price. On the other hand, after reading the other reviews, I expected it to be loud, I expected to cut the meat into 1 inch cubes, But I was unhappy to find out that it was so slow. It takes about 5 minutes to grind a 3 pound roast into burger and you have to reverse the thing when nothing comes out because it is clogged. I would recommend this if you like saving money and you grind only a few pounds of meat. If you had to grind a deer or caribou as some of the other reviews state it would take all weekend to get it done. I remember grinding meat faster with a hand grinder when I was a kid. It is slooww.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sam4homes
Sacramento
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews