Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 200 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

200 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

200 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
141
4 stars
38
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
11
1-20 of 199 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 199 total reviews
1-20 of 199 reviews
Great machine
11/24/2013

Customer review by muenfleur

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by muenfleur
by muenfleur

I killed my old machine, so I went and got a Singer Classic. It is great. I love the needle threader and all the stretch stitches!! I know I'm going to enjoy it for years to come.

Was this review helpful? (134) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
muenfleur
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great machine!
3/4/2014

Customer review by wannasew

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by wannasew
by wannasew

I'm a seamstress with 35 yrs. experience. I own 4 sewing machines. I wanted a machine that would sew light weight material for Halloween costumes as well as one that would do heavier stuff like several layers of denim, this machine does both very well. The 1000 stitches per min. helps a lot with long seams like curtains too. I looked for awhile for a replacement for my old Dressmaker & I'm very happy with this one. I don't use the decorative stitch function much, but I love that I can see how much thread is on the bobbin & the auto thread is of enormous help. If your looking for a good basic machine, this is it. Wal-mart shipped it right to my house & very quickly. I'm very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (367) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wannasew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
In the beginning it was a challenge
9/24/2013

Customer review by shetlandspinner

3.0 stars 9/24/2013 by shetlandspinner
by shetlandspinner

I like the way the machine is laid out. It's easy to change the stitch patterns and adjust their length and width. Threading is easy. The needle threader works great! I really love that this machine has the ability to adjust the pressure on the foot and drop the feed dogs. I'm really glad that feature is back again! The light is good and right where it is the most helpful - another plus! This machine is simple to operate, but even then, I had a real problem with it. The problem was significant enough that I came very close to bringing my machine back and exchanging it, but decided to give it one more try. I was just sewing on cotton fabric, nothing fancy, but the needle thread kept getting caught around the bobbin carrier and I'd have a tangled mess of thread underneath. I know that the first thing to check is the upper threading, so I did that; I changed the needle, I changed the thread, I checked the timing - all of those things - and the thread still kept getting caught. I finally just used the hand wheel with the bobbin cover off and manually sewed a few stitches to see what was happening where. Aha! Attached on the underside of the throat plate is a small metal bar that sits just over the bobbin carrier. That's where the thread was getting caught - there wasn't enough clearance between that little bar and the bobbin case and the thread was dragging there and being caught on the next stitch as well (and making a real mess of things!). It was a simple fix: I removed the needle plate and adjusted that little bar by just slightly pushing it up towards the needle plate. I reattached the needle plate, and tried it again, and that has solved the problem perfectly. Now this machine is sewing just like I expected it to. It was a simple fix, but I shouldn't have had to make that correction. This machine has some power to it, and sews through multiple layers of fabric with ease. The selection of stitches will accommodate just about any sewing project you will have. It feeds fabric evenly and the stitch quality is very good. To get the most out of the stitches in this machine consider adding the following presser feet: straight stitch/1/4 inch foot, blind hem foot, satin stitch/applique foot, and rolled hem. The bare minimum of feet have been provided with this machine. This machine is noisy (motor). It has more motor noise when you sew slowly than when you are sewing faster. Now that the thread path problem has been fixed, I think this machine and I will be friends for a long time. I would have rated it higher if it wasn't for the problem I had in the beginning. If the machine I got had been received by a beginner it would have been returned.

Was this review helpful? (235) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shetlandspinner
Fremont, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent, if you have a little knowledge already
4/28/2014

Customer review by blackbirdd

4.0 stars 4/28/2014 by blackbirdd
by blackbirdd

I sew for a living and I wanted something that would last a long time and was able to do a variety of things so I can expand without worrying about what my machine can handle. This is HEAVY DUTY, mannn. The instructions were excellent, there was even instructions on the machine how to thread it (though I already had some knowledge of that). The only reason this is 4 stars is because somehow, the housing for the bobbin was not resting as it should in its own housing, which caused a lot of problems and it was unusable for a couple days, and I couldn't work on anything. But after I called my friend who knows some about sewing machines, they helped me by taking a look at it, and found that it was the bobbin housing (the thing the bobbin goes in) wasn't resting properly. Once it was back in the proper position and not wobbling around, everything was fine and I can zoom ahead and do all my sewing with no worries. It makes me feel like I'm using power tools, but it's so easy and I love it.

Was this review helpful? (65) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blackbirdd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic Sewing Machine
3/9/2014

Customer review by signsofvinyl

5.0 stars 3/9/2014 by signsofvinyl
by signsofvinyl

I have not sewn since 8th grade and 36 yrs later I could easily recall what I learned on this sewing machine. I followed the directions and I was quickly sewing my pillows with ease. The machine is a quality and durable machine and sews on duck fabric and burlap with ease! I use this machine to sew pillows for my business.

Was this review helpful? (102) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
signsofvinyl
Sioux City, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for this beginner!
10/3/2013

Customer review by SingerStudent1

5.0 stars 10/3/2013 by SingerStudent1
by SingerStudent1

I am just beginning to learn to sew! Though my mother was an excellent seamstress I did not shadow her. So lately, I got the urge to learn to sew. I bought a pattern and with some help and guidance am working through it. I decided to buy a machine. I wanted something that was easy enough for a beginner but would last me a very long time as I advanced. I didn't want anything too "cheap" and didn't need anything to "expensive". I am very pleased with this machine, and proud that its a Singer! It will handle all the tasks I have in mind!

Was this review helpful? (142) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SingerStudent1
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful, great-sewing machine!
1/14/2014

Customer review by Wyaloosin

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by Wyaloosin
by Wyaloosin

My 19 year old Singer machine bit the dust right in the middle of a difficult quilt. Bought this one hoping it would be strong enough to tackle the numerous layers -as many of the new machines my friends have purchased cannot. This is the best machine I have ever owned! Sews numerous (as many as 6) layers as easily as one. Feeds perfectly with no skipped stitches. Even sews fleece as if it were cotton. Easy to thread, and the stitch options are very user friendly. The machine can sew much faster than I can, it is very powerful, but the desired speed is very manageable with the foot pedal. Hoping this machine lasts as long as my previous Singer. It does not have as many bells and whistles as other machines in the price range, but its durability more than makes up for it. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (129) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wyaloosin
Tracy City, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Built Ford tough
4/28/2014

Customer review by daddyph

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by daddyph
by daddyph

I bought this machine because I wanted something I could use to repair my jeans, socks, and whatever else I could find that it could be used for. I am a truck driver, not a taylor, and I never payed much attention in home-ec class. I had no idea what I was doing, but after reading the directions carefully and messing a few things up I had the machine up and running. After a little practice I took it to a pair of jeans that had a few holes in it. It works very well, I ran it right through several layers of denim by the pockets and it barely flinched. It seems to be a good quality machine, and at a good price. It is well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daddyph
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product!
12/8/2013

Customer review by Jesjerome

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by Jesjerome
by Jesjerome

Easy to use, sews really good. Hemmed my jeans with no problem.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jesjerome
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this machine
6/11/2014

Customer review by CLSAILOR

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by CLSAILOR
by CLSAILOR

I have been sewing for over 40 years and I wanted a sewing machine to use at our vacation home to make curtains and home décor items. This machine sews every bit as good as the very expensive computerized sewing machine I have at home which cost 10X what this one did. This machine is truly a Heavy Duty model. I sewed through 4 layers of Chenille with no problem and the curtains I made turned out great. No skipped stitches and tension was perfect right out of the box. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (42) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CLSAILOR
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great buy!
12/19/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/19/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am so glad I purchased this sewing machine and wouldn't take anything for it. I love all of the features and how it is so easy to use. The stitching is great and the machine seems really durable. It is super easy to thread and wind and insert a bobbin. The automatic needle threader is also great. It sews very fast and I have no trouble slowing it down with the foot pedal if I need to. I have put this machine through its paces since I bought it a couple of weeks ago and it has performed flawlessly throughout many sewing projects. I had tried several Singer computerized models that I ended up returning but this mechanical model is a keeper. I even highly recommended this machine to my friends on my Facebook page. If I could change one thing, it would be to have a few more decorative stitches, but all in all, I am thrilled with this model.

Was this review helpful? (111) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Rushville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/20/2013

Customer review by y6train

4.0 stars 9/20/2013 by y6train
by y6train

glad I opted to purchase this machine; I am working on a quilt for a family member that has been absent for quite a long time and will reappear soon; the machine is perfect for what crafting needs I have and the wonderful bobbin and threating future is time saving.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
y6train
daytona,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A heart of Iron
9/7/2014

Customer review by Bellybinder

4.0 stars 9/7/2014 by Bellybinder
by Bellybinder

I'm sure it's going to sound trite, but here goes anyway: As I unpacked this machine (my second) I swear I heard a somewhat mechanical voice saying, "I think I can, I think I can...". Could it have been my imagination? This is indeed my second machine, used in a Light Industrial setting. The Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical feeds the argument: 'You don't need a pile-driver to push a thumb-tack.' it also shows how the refinement of cam-and-gear mechanics, over a period of time, can produce flawless speed and simplicity in a sewing machine. It is not surprising that this machine's variety of 'fun' stitches is limited (fewer than electronics which have oh, so many) but here's the point: before Singer started up with all those zig-zag, fancy stitches, Nobody needed 'em. The Classic Mechanical is Twice as Fast as Electronic machines outputting the same work. I know, I have both. That sold me right there, perfect stitching in half the time... our production soared. I stand behind my review and assure you, kind reader, that the Classic Mechanical is a Can Do sewing machine.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bellybinder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Seems sturdy and easy to use.
10/30/2013

Customer review by MiddleburgLady

4.0 stars 10/30/2013 by MiddleburgLady
by MiddleburgLady

I have only used it to do basic sewing but so far all is good. I love the needle threader. I was having a difficult time seeing well enough to hand thread my last machine.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MiddleburgLady
Middleburg, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love this machine!
11/12/2013

Customer review by AshBash28

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by AshBash28
by AshBash28

Our sewing machine broke down.. I bought this 2 weeks ago and so far no problems. Its easy to thread and is a very nice machine!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AshBash28
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sews Several Layers
2/2/2014

Customer review by beenbag

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by beenbag
by beenbag

I am very happy with my Singer machine. It is easy to use and change settings. Like the visible bobbin area. It sews through several layers at a time with no problem. Very pleased with the value and performance so far. I have used it for a couple weeks now and couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beenbag
Mason, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic workhorse machine
12/11/2013

Customer review by fiftydresses

4.0 stars 12/11/2013 by fiftydresses
by fiftydresses

I use this machine every day and am very happy with it. It's solid and sews beautifully, and is FAST! Haven't used the free arm feature yet, but it is smaller than my previous machine so I should be able to hem skinny pants and sleeves with no trouble. I have had a long and pleasant relationship with Singer machines and this one doesn't disappoint.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fiftydresses
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Basic Machine---Too Early to Judge Durability
7/19/2014

Customer review by NocteAquilae

5.0 stars 7/19/2014 by NocteAquilae
by NocteAquilae

I bought this to replace an older model Singer I had inherited from my mother, when I discovered that it cost less than the price of repairs. My needs are simple, no fancy stitching, just basic repairs and hemming jeans, trousers, and the like. I wanted a heavy duty machine for this and this is what is advertised. So far, it works well. I had a bit of trouble adjusting the thread tension for the heavy jean thread I was using, (needed to go outside the range suggested in the instruction folder) and I have not gotten the automatic needle threader to work very well. Again, perhaps this was because of the heavy thread. One negative thing that I did find was that the instruction folder---I won't dignify it by calling it a book--leaves a lot to be desired. I still have the 1975 book that came with my mom's machine, and it is much better. Larger in size with considerably more information, and far more clear in its exposition, it is heads and shoulders above the current effort. I can understand that Singer makes cuts to reach their manufacturing cost goals, but perhaps they could have their technical writers use their old manuals as a framework, updated the areas when appropriate, and publish them online, with a link prominently noted in the instruction folder. This is not an original idea. Many software publishers do the same.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NocteAquilae
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broke after 15 minutes
2/26/2014

Customer review by sisleyee

2.0 stars 2/26/2014 by sisleyee
by sisleyee

I was really happy with this machine when I opened it. It was easy to thread and the bobbin was super easy to drop in. When I was halfway through my first project, the needle would not go down anymore. There was a metal piece that broke by the bobbin case. I called and emailed Singer customer service (because I am no means a professional seamstress) to see if they knew how to fix the problem. I figured that it surely had to be an operators error. I emailed them twice and waited for a week for them to respond, and when they didn't, I returned the machine.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sisleyee
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Machine but Skips Stitches
5/6/2014

Customer review by Mzberryje

2.0 stars 5/6/2014 by Mzberryje
by Mzberryje

I was quite excited about this purchase as I have only used Brother sewing machines and sergers in the past. The initial set up was easy and the machine was easy to use. I most definitely think that this machine is great for a beginner. My issues were the thread bunching under the presser foot, constant "clicking" from the bobbin, and skipped zigzag stitches. It also didn't handle multiple layers of fabric well.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mzberryje
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 199 total reviews
1-20 of 199 reviews