Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 307 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

307 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

307 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
220
4 stars
58
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 stars
15
1-20 of 306 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 306 total reviews
1-20 of 306 reviews
Fantastic Sewing Machine
3/9/2014

Customer review by signsofvinyl

5.0 stars 3/9/2014 by signsofvinyl
by signsofvinyl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not sewn since 8th grade and 36 yrs later I could easily recall what I learned on this sewing machine. I followed the directions and I was quickly sewing my pillows with ease. The machine is a quality and durable machine and sews on duck fabric and burlap with ease! I use this machine to sew pillows for my business.

Was this review helpful? (184) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
signsofvinyl
Sioux City, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really good machine
10/19/2014

Customer review by hyperlink225

5.0 stars 10/19/2014 by hyperlink225
by hyperlink225
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had this machine for a month and a half and it is awesome! I bought it to make my son a costume and it has worked out really good. I bought some heavy duty needles to sew up some jeans but I haven't tried it out yet, I'm sure it'll work. I don't really have any complaints but if I were to have to complain about something it would be the stitching. I wish there was something that showed what all the stitching looked like but I just grabbed some scraps and stitched all the patterns for a layout.

Was this review helpful? (35) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hyperlink225
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent, if you have a little knowledge already
4/28/2014

Customer review by blackbirdd

4.0 stars 4/28/2014 by blackbirdd
by blackbirdd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I sew for a living and I wanted something that would last a long time and was able to do a variety of things so I can expand without worrying about what my machine can handle. This is HEAVY DUTY, mannn. The instructions were excellent, there was even instructions on the machine how to thread it (though I already had some knowledge of that). The only reason this is 4 stars is because somehow, the housing for the bobbin was not resting as it should in its own housing, which caused a lot of problems and it was unusable for a couple days, and I couldn't work on anything. But after I called my friend who knows some about sewing machines, they helped me by taking a look at it, and found that it was the bobbin housing (the thing the bobbin goes in) wasn't resting properly. Once it was back in the proper position and not wobbling around, everything was fine and I can zoom ahead and do all my sewing with no worries. It makes me feel like I'm using power tools, but it's so easy and I love it.

Was this review helpful? (188) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blackbirdd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
2/27/2016

Customer review by Bucky4646

5.0 stars 2/27/2016 by Bucky4646
by Bucky4646

Great price at Walmart.com and with case the price was much better than in the store. Works really well and sounds solid and needs practically no maintenance. Can hardly believe the improvements from the one we got in the 1960's :) I scratched the front of the pattern selection dial with a pin and was devastated thinking I had to look at that every day and about to order a new dial... after looking at it more closely a few days later it turned out it was only a soft plastic cover on it so I pealed it off and cut a new one for a camera screen and was back in business,,, smiling again. Found the WEB has some helpful instructions but many of those give incorrect information and YouTube videos are wrong... which surprised me,,, so go by the instruction manual in those cases where your question is covered. I needed more bobbins and had some trouble finding that it takes #15 All in all I love the machine! It looks and sounds great but the main thing is it does a professional job and that is what it is for after all..

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bucky4646
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
44S Singer Sewing Machine
11/8/2014

Customer review by Keetoowah

5.0 stars 11/8/2014 by Keetoowah
by Keetoowah

I bought this machine last week for my wife,so went to walmart and bought the jean needles,they didn't have the duel Needles there so will have to search the internet for them,it has a Nice handle so you can carry it with ease but i bought the Universal case to,keep dust dirt ETC off of it,My wife said this machine is all any one needs to sew any thing,the foot switch is like your gas peddle you can go slow or fast the case on the foot peddle it is Plastic so don't stomp on it,The Machine has a swing arm and duel needle capable,I see these machines sell for a lot higher in other stores about 11 dollars cheaper online here than at walmart,it It was deliverd here in 4 days no dents or nothing packaged well,,Go to youtube and search for the 44s singer they have a lot of good information there,I didn't get the extended warranty since it was to high..if it goes bad before 90 days i will update the review..Oh yes the machine is plastic not metal but seems heavy duty tho,Good Luck.

Was this review helpful? (28) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keetoowah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A heart of Iron
9/7/2014

Customer review by Bellybinder

4.0 stars 9/7/2014 by Bellybinder
by Bellybinder
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm sure it's going to sound trite, but here goes anyway: As I unpacked this machine (my second) I swear I heard a somewhat mechanical voice saying, "I think I can, I think I can...". Could it have been my imagination? This is indeed my second machine, used in a Light Industrial setting. The Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical feeds the argument: 'You don't need a pile-driver to push a thumb-tack.' it also shows how the refinement of cam-and-gear mechanics, over a period of time, can produce flawless speed and simplicity in a sewing machine. It is not surprising that this machine's variety of 'fun' stitches is limited (fewer than electronics which have oh, so many) but here's the point: before Singer started up with all those zig-zag, fancy stitches, Nobody needed 'em. The Classic Mechanical is Twice as Fast as Electronic machines outputting the same work. I know, I have both. That sold me right there, perfect stitching in half the time... our production soared. I stand behind my review and assure you, kind reader, that the Classic Mechanical is a Can Do sewing machine.

Was this review helpful? (75) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bellybinder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for Me!
2/2/2016

Customer review by Vettebuf

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Vettebuf
by Vettebuf

Here's my background. I taught myself how to sew on my mother's straight-stich portable Singer machine after I got out of college and got married. I made almost all of my children's and my own clothes. I loved to sew. I bought a Babylock serger and a Singer that did zigzag stiches. I even made elaborate Halloween costumes, faux fur coats, a tuxedo, and a wedding gown. The wedding gown was the last item I made and that was in 1994. I was a systems analyst/programmer and became obsessed with coding, the internet, and later, web design. My daughter borrowed my sewing machines and, somehow, they got broken or disappeared. I bought another machine in 1999 but I didn't like it. That also 'disappeared'. I haven't sewed for over 15 years but I had several simple projects that I wanted to tackle so I bought this machine. It has the weight of my portable. It's easy to thread and it runs smooth with correct settings right out of the box. So far, I've only used it to make two silk pillow covers but I intend to start making clothes for my grandsons - just for fun!

Was this review helpful? (14) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vettebuf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best sewing machine I have owned
7/13/2016

Customer review by WaffleMaker

5.0 stars 7/13/2016 by WaffleMaker
by WaffleMaker

I bought this 18 months ago. It has gotten quite a bit of use. It is simple- no 100 types of stitches. No computerized interface. Nothing fancy about it. It's just a hard working, simple, reliable sewing machine that does all the things I need (classic, common stitches, button holes, etc). While owning three other machines(one more basic, two more fancy) , THIS is the machine I dreamed of. I have used it with layered really heavy fabrics and really thin delicate fabrics, and everything in between. It handles them as good as or better than the other machines i have owned. I would buy this one again, and again. And Again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WaffleMaker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good machine for the money
10/16/2015

Customer review by CindyS

5.0 stars 10/16/2015 by CindyS
by CindyS

I have been sewing for over 35 years, and I bought this machine to replace an older machine that finally bit the dust. My mom has a Singer that she got when she was first married and it has always run great. Because of that and the experiences I have had with Singers that I have used in the past, I looked primarily at this brand when I was shopping around. I do a lot of sewing and have a tight budget, so I needed something that is reliable, sensibly priced, easy to use and can handle a lot of use. I have sewn with it for several hours, and I found it to be very easy to use. I used it for a Halloween costume,and it handles the different types of fabric and various thicknesses with little difficulty. Since I have trouble threading a needle by hand sometimes, I was looking forward to having a machine with an automatic needle threader. It took a few tries to get the hang of it, and the quick start guide was not very helpful. I had better luck figuring it out when I looked in the manual, which gave a more detailed description of how to use it. Overall, I would recommend this to anyone who wants a basic mechanical machine at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CindyS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I LOVE this sewing machine!!
6/8/2016

Customer review by LilTsMom

5.0 stars 6/8/2016 by LilTsMom
by LilTsMom

I haven't sewed since Home Ec in 8th grade and recently needed a sewing machine to make flannel cage liners for our guinea pig cage (they are too expensive to buy). I had doubts about my ability to sew these but finished my first set with no problems (other than operator errors lol). The sewing machine is a real workhorse, I am sewing through 2 layers of fleece and 2 layers of Uhaul furniture padding at the same time and it handles it just fine!! Would highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LilTsMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Singer Classic Heavy Duty Sewing Machine
4/1/2016

Customer review by HappyGene

5.0 stars 4/1/2016 by HappyGene
by HappyGene

Sews well, has plenty of power and is actually quieter than one of my computerized machines. Everything is adjustable and that comes in handy almost immediately. No caveats except when sewing on knit/stretch: you MUST use a real ball point or stretch needle, not a universal; as it will skip about every 20th stitch if you don't. Needle threader works great, but only with size 12 needles and up (a standard kind of thing, really.) Responds well to tapping the foot speed control to get single stitching and up/down. With a 16 sharp and a Toyota articulated foot, it's darn near unstoppable!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyGene
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine
2/28/2016

Customer review by Cathy

5.0 stars 2/28/2016 by Cathy
by Cathy

This is quickly becoming my favorite machine since my mom's old fashioned Singer. Very simple to use, sews great. I have been sewing for years and I also have a Brother computerized machine, but I prefer this over all that fancy. I would recommend this to learner's as well as seasoned sewers. Great price too.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cathy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Singer Heavy Duty - Great Value
6/3/2016

Customer review by tlbokc

5.0 stars 6/3/2016 by tlbokc
by tlbokc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Hard to believe you can get such a quality machine for under $150.00! Just used it last night to sew on monogram patches. They had iron-on poly backing and I was sewing thru a thick hem. This machine didn't even strain! It's so easy to change thread colors, I don't even use the automatic needle threader that it's equipped with. Takes only seconds to change colors!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tlbokc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy machine. So far so good.
3/8/2016

Customer review by floridamomgma

4.0 stars 3/8/2016 by floridamomgma
by floridamomgma

I sew daily and was down to 1 working machine. I purchased 2 that I returned. I do believe that this one is a keeper. I have only used it for 2 weeks, but so far it has been able to do what I need it to do. The machine does have a few small details that I would change. First, the hand wheel should have a grip design like the smaller front selectors do. Next, I do not like how it reverses. If you get very close to the edge, it bunches in reverse. This had not happened with any other machine that I have used over my 50 years of sewing. Also, I think the thread cutter is way too much over to the left. It is on the left side and is awkward to use. Then, with the way the design of threading is, it is difficult to find an open place to grab the thread to manually pull some off of the spool. I like to do this before I cut the thread. Lastly, the regular foot that cones with it has a squiggly design in the center, not straight. This results in some thinner fabrics trying to go up into the squiggle part and bunch. I took this foot off and will get rid of it. I just used one from my old machine that is interchangeable. They need to do some more user testing before they design. However, all these user details can be worked around. This does not take away that it sews well and has a strong motor.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
floridamomgma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the job.
12/29/2014

Customer review by SoFarSatisfied

5.0 stars 12/29/2014 by SoFarSatisfied
by SoFarSatisfied

I bought this machine in a rush because my expensive computerized machine broke in the middle of a project on Christmas Eve. I didn't have time to wait for a repair, and it would have cost more to repair it than it cost to buy this machine. I am very happy with the Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine. It sewed through several thicknesses of quilting without difficulty and it can be pushed to a very fast speed without stress. The light is well placed and much brighter than that on my now useless computerized expensive machine. Overall, an excellent basic machine. I am looking forward to trying some of the optional presser feet, particularly the one for darning and free-style sewing. Apparently, it is possible to "thread paint" or free hand embroider and monogram with that presser foot. It it works as claimed, this will be a very versatile machine at a very reasonable price point.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoFarSatisfied
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine!
3/4/2014

Customer review by wannasew

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by wannasew
by wannasew
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm a seamstress with 35 yrs. experience. I own 4 sewing machines. I wanted a machine that would sew light weight material for Halloween costumes as well as one that would do heavier stuff like several layers of denim, this machine does both very well. The 1000 stitches per min. helps a lot with long seams like curtains too. I looked for awhile for a replacement for my old Dressmaker & I'm very happy with this one. I don't use the decorative stitch function much, but I love that I can see how much thread is on the bobbin & the auto thread is of enormous help. If your looking for a good basic machine, this is it. Wal-mart shipped it right to my house & very quickly. I'm very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (526) (82)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wannasew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Basic Machine---Too Early to Judge Durability
7/19/2014

Customer review by NocteAquilae

5.0 stars 7/19/2014 by NocteAquilae
by NocteAquilae
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this to replace an older model Singer I had inherited from my mother, when I discovered that it cost less than the price of repairs. My needs are simple, no fancy stitching, just basic repairs and hemming jeans, trousers, and the like. I wanted a heavy duty machine for this and this is what is advertised. So far, it works well. I had a bit of trouble adjusting the thread tension for the heavy jean thread I was using, (needed to go outside the range suggested in the instruction folder) and I have not gotten the automatic needle threader to work very well. Again, perhaps this was because of the heavy thread. One negative thing that I did find was that the instruction folder---I won't dignify it by calling it a book--leaves a lot to be desired. I still have the 1975 book that came with my mom's machine, and it is much better. Larger in size with considerably more information, and far more clear in its exposition, it is heads and shoulders above the current effort. I can understand that Singer makes cuts to reach their manufacturing cost goals, but perhaps they could have their technical writers use their old manuals as a framework, updated the areas when appropriate, and publish them online, with a link prominently noted in the instruction folder. This is not an original idea. Many software publishers do the same.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NocteAquilae
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Singer Classic Heavy Duty Sewing Machine
1/5/2016

Customer review by skollman

5.0 stars 1/5/2016 by skollman
by skollman

We have a handicap cockapoo, who needs to wear a belly band. They are pretty expensive, so I decided to make some. I have a great serger, but my sewing machine was almost 40 years old and just worn out. After doing a lot of research on ratings for this machine, along with who had the best prices, I chose this machine and Walmart. I LOVE this machine. It's really lightweight, yet sews through several layers of denim with ease. I have been using it quite a bit and have yet to have any problems. It's super easy to thread your bobbin, and threading the machine itself is a breeze. It even has an attachment to help you thread the needle, if that's a problem for you. I would highly recommend this sewing machine any day of the week!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skollman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great buy!
12/19/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/19/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am so glad I purchased this sewing machine and wouldn't take anything for it. I love all of the features and how it is so easy to use. The stitching is great and the machine seems really durable. It is super easy to thread and wind and insert a bobbin. The automatic needle threader is also great. It sews very fast and I have no trouble slowing it down with the foot pedal if I need to. I have put this machine through its paces since I bought it a couple of weeks ago and it has performed flawlessly throughout many sewing projects. I had tried several Singer computerized models that I ended up returning but this mechanical model is a keeper. I even highly recommended this machine to my friends on my Facebook page. If I could change one thing, it would be to have a few more decorative stitches, but all in all, I am thrilled with this model.

Was this review helpful? (127) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Rushville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Machine Good Shipping Bad
7/10/2016

Customer review by Debb

3.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Debb
by Debb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Machine works well. It is a nice pale gray with red logo and then a chintzy black cord and cheap black plastic foot peddle?! Plus from my elevated work bench the cord doesn't even reach to the floor, too bad. Am I the only one who cuts and sews on a workbench? Machine came with free shipping. That is nice. But with free shipping it would arrive Tuesday and for $5 it would arrive Friday, a whole 4 days earlier. So I paid the $5. It never arrived Friday, or Saturday, or Sunday, or Monday. But on Tuesday it showed up. Free shipping for only $5. That is not good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 306 total reviews
1-20 of 306 reviews