Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 260 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

260 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

260 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
186
4 stars
50
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
13
1-20 of 259 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 259 total reviews
1-20 of 259 reviews
Fantastic Sewing Machine
3/9/2014

Customer review by signsofvinyl

5.0 stars 3/9/2014 by signsofvinyl
by signsofvinyl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not sewn since 8th grade and 36 yrs later I could easily recall what I learned on this sewing machine. I followed the directions and I was quickly sewing my pillows with ease. The machine is a quality and durable machine and sews on duck fabric and burlap with ease! I use this machine to sew pillows for my business.

Was this review helpful? (137) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
signsofvinyl
Sioux City, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really good machine
10/19/2014

Customer review by hyperlink225

5.0 stars 10/19/2014 by hyperlink225
by hyperlink225
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've had this machine for a month and a half and it is awesome! I bought it to make my son a costume and it has worked out really good. I bought some heavy duty needles to sew up some jeans but I haven't tried it out yet, I'm sure it'll work. I don't really have any complaints but if I were to have to complain about something it would be the stitching. I wish there was something that showed what all the stitching looked like but I just grabbed some scraps and stitched all the patterns for a layout.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hyperlink225
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent, if you have a little knowledge already
4/28/2014

Customer review by blackbirdd

4.0 stars 4/28/2014 by blackbirdd
by blackbirdd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I sew for a living and I wanted something that would last a long time and was able to do a variety of things so I can expand without worrying about what my machine can handle. This is HEAVY DUTY, mannn. The instructions were excellent, there was even instructions on the machine how to thread it (though I already had some knowledge of that). The only reason this is 4 stars is because somehow, the housing for the bobbin was not resting as it should in its own housing, which caused a lot of problems and it was unusable for a couple days, and I couldn't work on anything. But after I called my friend who knows some about sewing machines, they helped me by taking a look at it, and found that it was the bobbin housing (the thing the bobbin goes in) wasn't resting properly. Once it was back in the proper position and not wobbling around, everything was fine and I can zoom ahead and do all my sewing with no worries. It makes me feel like I'm using power tools, but it's so easy and I love it.

Was this review helpful? (147) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blackbirdd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
44S Singer Sewing Machine
11/8/2014

Customer review by Keetoowah

5.0 stars 11/8/2014 by Keetoowah
by Keetoowah

I bought this machine last week for my wife,so went to walmart and bought the jean needles,they didn't have the duel Needles there so will have to search the internet for them,it has a Nice handle so you can carry it with ease but i bought the Universal case to,keep dust dirt ETC off of it,My wife said this machine is all any one needs to sew any thing,the foot switch is like your gas peddle you can go slow or fast the case on the foot peddle it is Plastic so don't stomp on it,The Machine has a swing arm and duel needle capable,I see these machines sell for a lot higher in other stores about 11 dollars cheaper online here than at walmart,it It was deliverd here in 4 days no dents or nothing packaged well,,Go to youtube and search for the 44s singer they have a lot of good information there,I didn't get the extended warranty since it was to high..if it goes bad before 90 days i will update the review..Oh yes the machine is plastic not metal but seems heavy duty tho,Good Luck.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keetoowah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for Me!
2/2/2016

Customer review by Vettebuf

5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Vettebuf
by Vettebuf

Here's my background. I taught myself how to sew on my mother's straight-stich portable Singer machine after I got out of college and got married. I made almost all of my children's and my own clothes. I loved to sew. I bought a Babylock serger and a Singer that did zigzag stiches. I even made elaborate Halloween costumes, faux fur coats, a tuxedo, and a wedding gown. The wedding gown was the last item I made and that was in 1994. I was a systems analyst/programmer and became obsessed with coding, the internet, and later, web design. My daughter borrowed my sewing machines and, somehow, they got broken or disappeared. I bought another machine in 1999 but I didn't like it. That also 'disappeared'. I haven't sewed for over 15 years but I had several simple projects that I wanted to tackle so I bought this machine. It has the weight of my portable. It's easy to thread and it runs smooth with correct settings right out of the box. So far, I've only used it to make two silk pillow covers but I intend to start making clothes for my grandsons - just for fun!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vettebuf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Singer Classic Heavy Duty Sewing Machine
1/5/2016

Customer review by skollman

5.0 stars 1/5/2016 by skollman
by skollman

We have a handicap cockapoo, who needs to wear a belly band. They are pretty expensive, so I decided to make some. I have a great serger, but my sewing machine was almost 40 years old and just worn out. After doing a lot of research on ratings for this machine, along with who had the best prices, I chose this machine and Walmart. I LOVE this machine. It's really lightweight, yet sews through several layers of denim with ease. I have been using it quite a bit and have yet to have any problems. It's super easy to thread your bobbin, and threading the machine itself is a breeze. It even has an attachment to help you thread the needle, if that's a problem for you. I would highly recommend this sewing machine any day of the week!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skollman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine
1/31/2016

Customer review by Charley

5.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Charley
by Charley

I needed a machine that was capable of sewing through at least 5 layers of flannel, corduroy and batting. It did that and held its stitch length. My computerized machine struggles to go through heavy layered materials and does not hold its stitch length which was important while doing top stitching.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A heart of Iron
9/7/2014

Customer review by Bellybinder

4.0 stars 9/7/2014 by Bellybinder
by Bellybinder
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm sure it's going to sound trite, but here goes anyway: As I unpacked this machine (my second) I swear I heard a somewhat mechanical voice saying, "I think I can, I think I can...". Could it have been my imagination? This is indeed my second machine, used in a Light Industrial setting. The Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical feeds the argument: 'You don't need a pile-driver to push a thumb-tack.' it also shows how the refinement of cam-and-gear mechanics, over a period of time, can produce flawless speed and simplicity in a sewing machine. It is not surprising that this machine's variety of 'fun' stitches is limited (fewer than electronics which have oh, so many) but here's the point: before Singer started up with all those zig-zag, fancy stitches, Nobody needed 'em. The Classic Mechanical is Twice as Fast as Electronic machines outputting the same work. I know, I have both. That sold me right there, perfect stitching in half the time... our production soared. I stand behind my review and assure you, kind reader, that the Classic Mechanical is a Can Do sewing machine.

Was this review helpful? (62) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bellybinder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simply the best
1/13/2016

Customer review by Terri

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Terri
by Terri

I had purchased another brand. First one didn't work, exchanged and same thing with 2nd, so I went to this model. So so glad I did. This machine is incredible. You can feel the better class of machine this is. Smooth, even stitches, and I couldn't be happier. It feels like going from a compact car to a luxury model. Also Kudos to Walmart for the ease of return for the junk machines and helping me to choose this one!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Basic Machine---Too Early to Judge Durability
7/19/2014

Customer review by NocteAquilae

5.0 stars 7/19/2014 by NocteAquilae
by NocteAquilae
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this to replace an older model Singer I had inherited from my mother, when I discovered that it cost less than the price of repairs. My needs are simple, no fancy stitching, just basic repairs and hemming jeans, trousers, and the like. I wanted a heavy duty machine for this and this is what is advertised. So far, it works well. I had a bit of trouble adjusting the thread tension for the heavy jean thread I was using, (needed to go outside the range suggested in the instruction folder) and I have not gotten the automatic needle threader to work very well. Again, perhaps this was because of the heavy thread. One negative thing that I did find was that the instruction folder---I won't dignify it by calling it a book--leaves a lot to be desired. I still have the 1975 book that came with my mom's machine, and it is much better. Larger in size with considerably more information, and far more clear in its exposition, it is heads and shoulders above the current effort. I can understand that Singer makes cuts to reach their manufacturing cost goals, but perhaps they could have their technical writers use their old manuals as a framework, updated the areas when appropriate, and publish them online, with a link prominently noted in the instruction folder. This is not an original idea. Many software publishers do the same.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NocteAquilae
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
44S is gray not white
1/20/2016

Customer review by NoH12

4.0 stars 1/20/2016 by NoH12
by NoH12

I bought this machine yesterday and opened the box to find that it is gray not white as the internet pictured. The machines are supposed to be the same but I really wanted the white one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoH12
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great machine!
3/4/2014

Customer review by wannasew

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by wannasew
by wannasew
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm a seamstress with 35 yrs. experience. I own 4 sewing machines. I wanted a machine that would sew light weight material for Halloween costumes as well as one that would do heavier stuff like several layers of denim, this machine does both very well. The 1000 stitches per min. helps a lot with long seams like curtains too. I looked for awhile for a replacement for my old Dressmaker & I'm very happy with this one. I don't use the decorative stitch function much, but I love that I can see how much thread is on the bobbin & the auto thread is of enormous help. If your looking for a good basic machine, this is it. Wal-mart shipped it right to my house & very quickly. I'm very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (517) (81)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wannasew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Singer sewing machine
12/27/2015

Customer review by Doug

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by Doug
by Doug

The machine arrived on time when it was expected. It was very easy to go through the instruction manual and set the machine up for operation. It worked perfect the first time and my wife was extremely happy and it had features that she was very pleased with. A great purchase we are very satisfied with the service we received from Walmart and are extremely happy with their Singer sewing machine

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Doug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Singer Classic Heavy-Duty Sewing Machine
1/27/2016

Customer review by GardeninGranny

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by GardeninGranny
by GardeninGranny

Excellent sewing machine. I now have 5 different sewing machines and this Singer Classic Heavy-Duty Sewing Machine is the only one that will sew through the thick 3 layers of denim when I'm hemming a pair of cut-offs or making a denim quilt-block tote. Highly recommend this machine. NOTE: It automatically threads the needle and that is an extra plus for these old 70-yr-old eyes!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GardeninGranny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great buy!
12/19/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/19/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am so glad I purchased this sewing machine and wouldn't take anything for it. I love all of the features and how it is so easy to use. The stitching is great and the machine seems really durable. It is super easy to thread and wind and insert a bobbin. The automatic needle threader is also great. It sews very fast and I have no trouble slowing it down with the foot pedal if I need to. I have put this machine through its paces since I bought it a couple of weeks ago and it has performed flawlessly throughout many sewing projects. I had tried several Singer computerized models that I ended up returning but this mechanical model is a keeper. I even highly recommended this machine to my friends on my Facebook page. If I could change one thing, it would be to have a few more decorative stitches, but all in all, I am thrilled with this model.

Was this review helpful? (122) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Rushville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Machine
1/21/2016

Customer review by alaskaheartman

5.0 stars 1/21/2016 by alaskaheartman
by alaskaheartman

I was a little hesitant to buy this with some of the reviews saying about bird-nesting problems. After using this machine half a dozen times, I did run into some of the bird-nesting under the feeder cover and found it was mostly due to my error. I had to adjust the tension for the material and a few times I failed to help feed the material forward under the presser foot to start off with. Which was when most of the bird-nesting was happening. I've since learned to assist more at the start to move the material under the foot at get go. The foot peddle is very light weigh, so on carpet surfaces it will easily push away from you. I may look at making a heavier attachment of some kind to help keep it in place. I’ve also had a bit of frustration with the instructions on the “easy buttonhole” function. After a bit of trial and error, I realized I had to release the buttonhole lever when the left side stich went long enough and needed to transition to the back side cross stich and then return to beginning on the right side. I also found the plastic buttonhole foot a bit useless. It seemed to be designed to hold the button you’re making the hole for as a stop or guide to stop at the correct length, but the gap was still way too much for the button. I wound of having to mark the actual material wide enough to see outside the foot to know where to stop as I learned on my test material. On heavy duty, I have to say it bogged down noticeably on thicker or more layered material which I was a little bit disappointed with. I think I may have to look at adjusting the presser foot pressure, but didn’t think I should have to as the only time that was a concern for me was at the beginning and end of the material where there were more folds but I feel likely would have led to too little pressure in the double layer main stitch field. All in all, for the money, I’m quite happy with it thus far and would still recommend it for general household use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alaskaheartman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful, great-sewing machine!
1/14/2014

Customer review by Wyaloosin

5.0 stars 1/14/2014 by Wyaloosin
by Wyaloosin

My 19 year old Singer machine bit the dust right in the middle of a difficult quilt. Bought this one hoping it would be strong enough to tackle the numerous layers -as many of the new machines my friends have purchased cannot. This is the best machine I have ever owned! Sews numerous (as many as 6) layers as easily as one. Feeds perfectly with no skipped stitches. Even sews fleece as if it were cotton. Easy to thread, and the stitch options are very user friendly. The machine can sew much faster than I can, it is very powerful, but the desired speed is very manageable with the foot pedal. Hoping this machine lasts as long as my previous Singer. It does not have as many bells and whistles as other machines in the price range, but its durability more than makes up for it. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (174) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wyaloosin
Tracy City, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good machine for the money
10/16/2015

Customer review by CindyS

5.0 stars 10/16/2015 by CindyS
by CindyS

I have been sewing for over 35 years, and I bought this machine to replace an older machine that finally bit the dust. My mom has a Singer that she got when she was first married and it has always run great. Because of that and the experiences I have had with Singers that I have used in the past, I looked primarily at this brand when I was shopping around. I do a lot of sewing and have a tight budget, so I needed something that is reliable, sensibly priced, easy to use and can handle a lot of use. I have sewn with it for several hours, and I found it to be very easy to use. I used it for a Halloween costume,and it handles the different types of fabric and various thicknesses with little difficulty. Since I have trouble threading a needle by hand sometimes, I was looking forward to having a machine with an automatic needle threader. It took a few tries to get the hang of it, and the quick start guide was not very helpful. I had better luck figuring it out when I looked in the manual, which gave a more detailed description of how to use it. Overall, I would recommend this to anyone who wants a basic mechanical machine at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CindyS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine!
7/30/2014

Customer review by Ifinallydidit

5.0 stars 7/30/2014 by Ifinallydidit
by Ifinallydidit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am 40 years old and this is the first sewing machine I have ever used or purchased and, as a novice, I had no trouble sewing a quilt. I watched a youtube video that was produced by KevinSews that taught me how to thread the needle and explained the various knobs and selections. Without the video I think I would have had trouble since the directions provided by Singer were not easy for a novice to understand. I've been very happy with the machine thus far and would recommend it to everyone, regardless of their expertise. The Wal-Mart price was the cheapest I found on the internet.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ifinallydidit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
44S Classic Singer
1/23/2016

Customer review by QueenKabuka

5.0 stars 1/23/2016 by QueenKabuka
by QueenKabuka

Still learning to use some of the features, but so far enjoying the extra power I have needed. I am a 2 Singer Sewing machine HAPPY user!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QueenKabuka
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 259 total reviews
1-20 of 259 reviews