Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
1-20 of 24 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
Lots of features. Read the book!
12/14/2013

Customer review by GaryaT

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by GaryaT
by GaryaT

Fairly simple to set up. Tension adjustment has a wider range that expected. Be sure to experiment with the tension on the fabric your working with.... don't take it for granted and leave it on "4".

Was this review helpful? (64) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GaryaT
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice stitch. Has a couple design flaws.
4/19/2014

Customer review by PreschoolMarg

4.0 stars 4/19/2014 by PreschoolMarg
by PreschoolMarg

This sewing machine is a good value for the money. It has a nice stitch and has so many stitch features that I may never get to all of them. I have owned three other machines and this has the best stitch by far. I would love to have given it five stars but it has two small issues which prevent that rating. First, when sewing at a high speed the thread often becomes caught on the machine handle and causes the handle to move up and down. I'm not sure that it really affects the outcome, but it is a design flaw that should have been corrected in the testing phase. The second issue is that the light shining down on the throat plate is shadowed so that the seam measurement guide is not lighted. As an experienced seamstress I do not need to be as alert to the measurement. However if a less experienced or new seamstress were to purchase this machine it would be a significant problem.

Was this review helpful? (54) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PreschoolMarg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very easy to operate.
8/14/2013

Customer review by Goldlylox

5.0 stars 8/14/2013 by Goldlylox
by Goldlylox

I was looking for a long time for a machine to do everything with a touch of a button. It's not a machine for a beginner. Its more like a Beginner / intermittent machine.

Was this review helpful? (51) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Goldlylox
Centereach ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I AM IN LOVE!!!
3/13/2014

Customer review by MamaOuderkirk

5.0 stars 3/13/2014 by MamaOuderkirk
by MamaOuderkirk

I am in love with this sewing machine!! It has made it so much fun to sew (something I found frustrating and quite challenging with my old machine). I am by no means a seamstress, but I can do so much with my new Singer! I read a review that said it was not for beginners, but I really disagree. If I can do it, I am sure you can too. Some things I love: -the pull out cards with all the different stitches -the start/stop button that has made it easier when I am doing embroidery stitches to keep a consistent pace -the speed switch- it has helped control speed while I am learning. -SOOO many stitch choices! -the needle threader- makes it real easy!! -all of the feet included -the ruler printed on the outside of the machine Things I would change (purely based on my lack-of-sewing abilities): -give the manual a "basic vocab" so I don't have to look it up...dumb it down maybe? (I really am that bad) -print the ruler also on the inside piece, so it is there when I take the front attachment off. I am really happy with my new toy! Overall, I would give it 6 stars if possible!

Was this review helpful? (55) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamaOuderkirk
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth buying
9/6/2013

Customer review by PauleyZ

4.0 stars 9/6/2013 by PauleyZ
by PauleyZ

I do indeed like this machine and I am a very advanced seamstress and do custom sewing as a side job. My only complaint, if you can call it that, is that this machine doesn't like to sew thick seams on denim. But that's not a hardship for me since I also have a heavy duty machine that I keep for that purpose. I purchased this machine from Walmart since I can return it easily if there's a problem. I live 75 miles from the nearest dealer although there is a fellow in my town that repairs the high school machines if needed. I was happy not to pay the shipping at purchase and I'll be even happier not to have to pay for it again if I have to return it, like you would with an Amazon or Ebay dealer. I currently have 4 Singer machines. I was surprised that this Singer had more to teach me! I like all of the attachments and have tried them all out already. The automatic needle threader is temperamental so I only bothered using it twice. My eyesight is still good enough not to need it. This machine is quiet, smooth running, has very even stitching, and nice to thread. Still wish the new Singers had the automatic bobbin winding in the bobbin case itself. I despise having to take the bobbin out of the case, put it up on top of the machine to wind the bobbin, then put it back in the bobbin case again. I think those are only available in the older, nicer, better built machines prior to the 90's. I'd buy this machine again. And experienced seamstresses too: READ THE MANUAL. lol I had to.

Was this review helpful? (55) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PauleyZ
West Central Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Some problems
11/25/2013

Customer review by chopsaki

3.0 stars 11/25/2013 by chopsaki
by chopsaki

Daughter and I bought the same machine on the same day. She loves hers and has had no problems with it. I have three other machines, all old classics which are excellent. This machine is no better than they are, but I wanted it for the alphabet embroidery, 7mm stitch width and automatic buttonhole feature. Difficulties were these: (a) buttonhole consistently made the buttonholes smaller than the button inserted in the foot as a guide; sewing buttonholes 'by hand' was a difficult option as the needle position lever is the same as the stitch width lever; (b) feed dogs are dropped for sewing on buttons and other work, by pulling off the table/utility box and moving a lever on the back of the bottom of the machine. This is mildly inconvenient, but the feed dogs repeatedly refused to return to normal position after raising them and rotating the flywheel one rotation (or more) towards me. Had to prise them up with a screwdriver as leverage. Not good. The alphabets were okay but not quite as impressive as I had hoped. Pricing was good and extended warranty also a good buy; I might just have gotten an oddball machine. Daughter is thrilled with hers. I will probably read reviews for older decorative stitch machines (not computerized embroidery jobs) and look for a used one for just that application. All that aside, it was a pleasure to use and lightweight, with plastic housing and steel guts. Easy to learn to operate. Sewed a good balanced stitch and handled heavy materials well. It is simply that at my time of life, with a Viking, and Elna and a Bernina already living with me, a machine has to do something far above and beyond usual service to warrant house room. After a fair ten days' trial, I returned the machine. Customer service inquired about my reasons, I gave them, and there was no hassle. Now I have to find out how to cancel the warranty, which is an email download.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chopsaki
Richmond, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super comprehensive machine
9/7/2013

Customer review by leg6

5.0 stars 9/7/2013 by leg6
by leg6

I cannot believe how many things this sewing machine can do and it is pretty easy to get started with. Excellent value.

Was this review helpful? (41) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leg6
cincinnati, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This Singer Machine is great
4/1/2014

Customer review by Brandimags

5.0 stars 4/1/2014 by Brandimags
by Brandimags

I have had this Singer Machine for about a week, and have been sewing on it everyday. It is very sturdy, runs very smoothly and makes great stitches. I am working on a quilt top of Chevrons and so far so good. It has been fun sewing on this machine...the only small complaint would be the small light that I think could have been better, but that is no big deal...I also liked that it came with the video that explains some things I did not know about. I have several machine's some are Singer feather weights(antiques) that also run great, and 2 Janome's...I can honestly say that this Singer runs like one of the lesser price Janome's...I am very satisfied with it and enjoy sewing with this Singer Professional machine.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brandimags
Newark, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best purchase ever!
11/28/2013

Customer review by CiaWie

5.0 stars 11/28/2013 by CiaWie
by CiaWie

This machine does everything I ask of it. It has sewn through multiple layers of fabric, has beautiful stitches, and is easy to use. Finally, I am making clothes and collars for my little dogs! I'm exceedingly happy with this machine!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CiaWie
Boise
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stopped working in a few days
4/16/2014

Customer review by Wanttosew

1.0 stars 4/16/2014 by Wanttosew
by Wanttosew

I bought what seemed to be the best one available at Walmart based on reviews on amazon.com on identical products. I eagerly started a simple project. Sadly after a few days it could not do zig zags or even a straight line without problems. After consulting with the owners manual (which I did dutifully read before even turning it on) and online, I decided to exchange it. Then when I was at Walmart the employee recommended against Singer brand. So I am back at the beginning to find the right sewing machine for me.

Was this review helpful? (27) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wanttosew
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can Not Sew
9/20/2014

Customer review by BahmGirl

5.0 stars 9/20/2014 by BahmGirl
by BahmGirl

I am a lady that can NOT sew. My Mom was great at it, but I and sewing machine would have big battles. My Mom experinced thIs conflict between sew machine and I one day, left my house confused. Mom went home to Heaven 2 years ago, she left beautiful material behind. I thought about this for the last couple of years. Then decided to look at them. I chose this one because it stated " good for beginners". Thiis machine has shown me, that someone that has never been able to sew on a machine, fail sewing in Highscool, can actually sew. I have made simple curtains for our music room after 41+ years of marraige. Thank you Singer for introducing me to a sweet machine.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BahmGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
10/31/2013

Customer review by rgar48

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by rgar48
by rgar48

I love this sewing machine have everything I need in it. Very easy to use and I recommended to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rgar48
Carolina, puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Machine, Poor customer service
1/7/2014

Customer review by Cubbiefan70

4.0 stars 1/7/2014 by Cubbiefan70
by Cubbiefan70

Machine has met my expectations so far; however, haven't tried many of the features. Had a question - submitted it by e-mail to singer customer service when it appeared that I would have to wait on the phone for more than an hour. Never got a response to my e-mail.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cubbiefan70
Sierra Vista, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
feed dogs broke after 1 month
7/14/2014

Customer review by Texasbelle797

1.0 stars 7/14/2014 by Texasbelle797
by Texasbelle797

Loved the machine and many features. Was super easy to use. However the feed dogs would not work after about a month of use. Couldn't raise or lower them with lever. Wouldn't pull material through. Thank goodness WalMart is great about returns. I brought the Singer back and am now trying a Brother. Hope I have better luck with it. I hesitated after hearing Singer was sold to different company. Guess I should have listened to my little voice. Not the old Singer quality.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Texasbelle797
Would recommend to a friend? No
Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine
1/14/2015

Customer review by TriciaFayeInTexas

5.0 stars 1/14/2015 by TriciaFayeInTexas
by TriciaFayeInTexas

This machine is heaven for me. My old machine was 20 yrs old and very basic. This machine was very easy to learn (watch the DVD and read the instruction booklet) and I was "out of the gate" the first time I used it! My eyes are not what they use to be, so the needle threading feature has been most helpful. Also, the most often used stitches are easily displayed and accessed readily. I can certainly recommend this machine.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TriciaFayeInTexas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So happy with this machine
2/23/2015

Customer review by fordgal88

5.0 stars 2/23/2015 by fordgal88
by fordgal88

Of course Singer has always been a preferred brand. This is my second Singer machine. I decided to go with an electronic machine because I had a hard time keeping everything balanced in my older model. This one you can hear set correctly as soon as you turn it on. The dvd that comes with it shows a lot of ways to hem and use the features on this machine. The machine is lighter than my old one. It also has a nice bright light to help you see. I also love that it is so quiet! I cannot wait to use this to quilt.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fordgal88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine for the price.
5/16/2014

Customer review by TrueDat2

4.0 stars 5/16/2014 by TrueDat2
by TrueDat2

I bought a more expensive machine and ended up having to return it because I saw this machine. The extra feet was what got me to switch and I could not be happier. Comparing to the other machine, this one is much quieter and lighter. The extra stitches were fun and easy to use. I would recommend this to those that do not want to spend a ton of money but yet want a good machine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TrueDat2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great sewing machine for beginners and experienced
10/6/2014

Customer review by tigapa

4.0 stars 10/6/2014 by tigapa
by tigapa

This is a great sewing machine. It has a lot of nice features and over 100 stitches. The only thing that I have been disappointed with is the fact that you can't change the size of the of the letter stitches, which I was not aware of before I bought this sewing machine. I still like the machine and intend to get a lot of use from it. If you purchase this machine from the Wal-Mart.com website, you may be able to save some money compared to purchasing it from the Wal-Mart store or some other store. I saved $75 by purchasing it on the website instead of purchasing it at the store.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tigapa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Unfortunately
7/29/2014

Customer review by Persisting

1.0 stars 7/29/2014 by Persisting
by Persisting

This machine didn't work upon opening the perfectly packed box. I don't think this was opened and closed up prior to my ordering it. Plugging in the electrical cord didn't work. I tried several outlets, but nothing. So, I don't know how it sews. I'm attempting to order another one…wel'll hope for the best.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Persisting
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very Good Product
12/4/2013

Customer review by lestatnaz

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by lestatnaz
by lestatnaz

Meets and exceeds my every expectation.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lestatnaz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews