Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 79 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

79 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

79 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 79 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews
Received the Singer Heritage for Christmas
12/27/2013

Customer review by cissy0827

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by cissy0827
by cissy0827

I have not sewn since high school home economics and have always wanted to but never started because I thought threading the needle and bobbin seemed like they could be intimidating at my age now. With this sewing machine, winding and loading the bobbin was so easy and even though I haven't mastered the automatic needle threader, threading the needle manually is easy as well. The quick start quick start guide and the instructions manual are very helpful. Very quickly able to trouble shoot what I'm doing wrong and fix the error. If you are a beginner such as myself, I recommend going to a thrift store and purchasing some clothing to re-purpose and practice on. Try different combinations of fabrics and switch to the appropriate needles. Just play around with it until you get the feel of how much pressure to apply for speed you are comfortable with. I hope to create many Simplicity outfits over the next few months and then move up to Burda patterns. Happy Sewing!

Was this review helpful? (72) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cissy0827
Randallstown, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dream Machine
12/10/2013

Customer review by LeeCeeS

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by LeeCeeS
by LeeCeeS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I absolutely love this machine. There is nothing bad about it. Worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (18) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeeCeeS
Peculiar, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Save your money!
3/8/2014

Customer review by cmes

1.0 stars 3/8/2014 by cmes
by cmes

Singer is no longer the same dependable company it was many years ago. This machine is a piece of junk! The "SwiftSmart Threading System with automatic needle threader" is VERY hard to use; the manual's instructions look clear, until you try to follow them! The diagrams are actually incorrect! I worked for a whole day with the machine, trying to make it work right; setting the tension according to directions did not work properly either. Nor did the "OneTouch Stitch Selection" work properly. I guess you get what you pay for; don't expect a good machine at this price. Certainly don't depend on an electronic machine at a low price; you might have better luck with a mechanical-type machine. I am an experienced sewer [over 50 years], having used my mother's 1929 Singer, which STILL works fine! And my Viking Huskystar 224 works well also. So I "owned this product less than a week" and "never" use it, because it went right back to Walmart, which fortunately has a reasonable return policy.

Was this review helpful? (22) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmes
Skokie, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Vintage Look Sewing Machine w/ High Tech Features
1/9/2014

Customer review by uncggirl

4.0 stars 1/9/2014 by uncggirl
by uncggirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I learned to sew on my grandmothers Singer sewing machine but was given a Sears Brand Sewing Machine that I have used all of my adult life. I wanted more stitch options and like the computerized stitch features on this model and loved the wide base and large sewing platform. I wasn't sure that I liked this machine when I got it, it was louder than my old machine and the light was not as bright. Since I sew a lot at night time when my kids are sleeping this worried me but I have gotten used to the noise and mostly used to the dimmer light. The machine does over stitch sometimes after I have released the pedal, it is just a little slower to react that my old machine. The self threading feature is nice I guess for those that are unable to thread the needle by hand, but it takes too many steps for me. It's quicker just to thread it myself and the bobbin feature doesn't really make a difference for me either. But if you want a wider base and different stitching patterns this is a great machine if you get a deal on the price!

Was this review helpful? (30) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
uncggirl
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not the Singer it "used" to be?
4/27/2014

Customer review by defowler

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by defowler
by defowler

No, it is far superior! I have heard that said about Singer for years. I decided to give one a try as a Bernina, Necchi and Janome were out of my price range. Singer "wowed" me with this sewing machine. As a seasoned seamstress and master quilter, having years of sewing experience, I wasn't expecting much. I am just so pleasantly surprised! This machine is not noisy, well, mine is not. It is heavy enough to not move while sewing (a problem I had with Janome). Yet, it is not so heavy that I am able to transport it with ease. The instructions far surpassed any I have encountered, in that all stitches come with pictures and examples of application. No guess work in what to use each one for. The needle threader is so well constructed that it is fool proof, although I do advise keeping your instructions close by when you first use it. No, it does not come with a hundred stitches, but it has all you need! It is a handsome, smooth, well running machine at an incredibly affordable price. I highly advise for all levels of sewing skills. If you can afford $$$$ for a Bernina and the name is more important to you, go for it. I can't say enough good about this machine. Happy sewing!!!

Was this review helpful? (85) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
defowler
West Warwick, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Works like a Dream!
6/26/2014

Customer review by AlaskaArtist

5.0 stars 6/26/2014 by AlaskaArtist
by AlaskaArtist
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was cautious about ordering this machine because of mixed reviews I had read on various seller websites. However, the machine arrived on time and in perfect condition. It sews beautifully! The design and functionality are splendid - especially the retro detailing that reminds me of my Mother's old Singer that I learned on so many years ago. The innovative features like the needle threader, the electronic stitch options that work at the push of a button, make sewing on stretch fabrics, mesh and even heavy fabrics like leather, a breeze! I have only had it a couple of weeks and will update if I encounter problems. I bought the three year Wal-Mart warranty - just in case. It includes free shipping on returns or repairs.

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlaskaArtist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't beat a Singer!
12/27/2013

Customer review by reddoxiemom

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by reddoxiemom
by reddoxiemom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received this as an early Christmas present and I love it! I've already made several projects with it. I have been sewing many years and consider myself an intermediate seamstress. I was looking to replace an older machine that was giving my some trouble. The price on this machine was a great value. This machine is made to look old but has all the modern workings and then some. I really like the wide sewing table that allows for more surface work when doing machine quilting. Both the bobbin and top thread are easy to thread. Just be sure to read the owners manual for instructions. The machine has the basic stitches plus a few decorative stitches. I've own other machines with lots of "bells and whistles" that I never used and I was looking for a basic machine with a nice variety of functions. This one fit the bill. The only thing that I wish it had was a button to raise and lower the needle instead of having to use the hand wheel. Other than that, it is fine. The fact that it looks like an old Singer just makes it even more special. If you are a beginner or and advanced sewer, I think you will be happy with this machine.

Was this review helpful? (42) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reddoxiemom
NW Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Incredibly simple, foolproof workhorse.
8/14/2014

Customer review by BellyWrapper

5.0 stars 8/14/2014 by BellyWrapper
by BellyWrapper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like using an hourglass to keep time, the Singer Heritage employs simplicity of operation and purposeful functionality in fulfilling its task. This 'look-alike' throwback to 'Mom's Machine' has enough high-tech to satisfy any modern sewing thrill seeker and rises to the challenges of sophisticated stitchers. There are tiny glyphs etched onto the machine body at strategic points that offer just the right number of reassuring directions so that whether you're an absent minded long time user, or a self doubting newbie, your sewing success is assured. One of the greatest features is the needle threading device: from fat fingers to unsteady hands or imperfect eyesight, the solution is flawless. Now you're probably wondering how much Singer or Walmart has paid me to write all these nice things about The Singer Heritage... well the answer is NOTHING. This purchase is the second Heritage we've put into service in less than 60 days. We use these machines in a 'light industrial' setting and could not be happier. Their 'rock steady' performance is what we sought and what we got. There is no competitor for reliability and cost anywhere that runs a close second, or third... This little baby is So Good... I'd recommend it to my mother in law... and do so without risk!

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BellyWrapper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT Sewing Machine.
1/9/2014

Customer review by FancieCat

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by FancieCat
by FancieCat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have one Singer Sewing Machine that is about 20yrs old It tore up in 2013 and I had it repaired but it has not worked properly since. I bought two other Singer machines since September, 2013 but I was never happy with them. I saw this machine in the Walnut Ave store and I started to buy it that day but I thought WHATS THE USE it will be like the other two new machines and when I went back to the store they had sold out and that's when I went on-line and found it and purchased it immediately. All I can say is "SINGER FINALLY MADE ANOTHER GREAT MACHINE". Sews great, very easy to operate and makes great stiches. I have always used Singer products and I really was about to give up on Singer until I purchased this machine.

Was this review helpful? (35) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FancieCat
Dalton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Great Buy
12/26/2013

Customer review by JayMar11

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by JayMar11
by JayMar11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a genuine Singer sewing machine. I bought it online during the pre-Christmas sale at a fantastic price! It's actually a remake of their anniversary model which was white w/gold accents. This one is black/silver as pictured online at a GREAT price from Walmart. I currently use an electronic model from Singer that is over 15 years old that is having some problems. I need to have a backup/replacement on hand in case my current machine quits working and/or is too expensive to repair. I sew and quilt, as well as create craft items to sell so I can't be caught without a working machine. This one will do what I need it to do and it was affordable. How often can you buy a brand name electronic sewing machine at nearly 70% off!

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JayMar11
Caldwell, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great sewing machine for the price
12/27/2013

Customer review by Tim3923

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Tim3923
by Tim3923
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this sewing machine as one of several presents for Christmas. I had been looking around for a while and when Walmart put this one on sale it convinced me to make the purchase. Walmart even had Amazon.com price beat by $140. On Christmas morning we opened up the box and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the machine. It is a good sewing machine to step up to from and advanced basic machine and the features in this unit will keep one satisfied for quite some time. My wife loves the features and the large work surface. The LED lighting is good and my wife says the peddle feel is nice. We are now looking for a better sewing table. We like the machine and would recommend to others. For the price offered at Walmart it is better then average deal...

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tim3923
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful sewing machine!
12/30/2013

Customer review by BeaumontMom

4.0 stars 12/30/2013 by BeaumontMom
by BeaumontMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the looks of this sewing machine! I'm a beginner to sewing and I found the machine simple to use.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeaumontMom
Beaumont, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great machine
3/27/2014

Customer review by greatlenghts

5.0 stars 3/27/2014 by greatlenghts
by greatlenghts
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this sewing machine a couple of weeks ago. I sew often. I watched the video dvd provided and read the instruction manual before I gave the machine a test run. There are specifics that you have to know, to operate this machine correctly. I am very satisfied with this buy. The machine is beautiful and is not noisy. .

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greatlenghts
Texas city, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Sewing Machine
8/25/2014

Customer review by CesHay

5.0 stars 8/25/2014 by CesHay
by CesHay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love my Singer Heritage. I haven't used a sewing machine in a very long time. This one was so easy to use i couldn't had picked a better sewing machine. I love it, its a part of my family. its my new toy!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CesHay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great machine for the money
1/10/2014

Customer review by Cinny129

5.0 stars 1/10/2014 by Cinny129
by Cinny129

Got this machine yesterday and so far I'm really pleased with it. I've seen some reviews complaining about the noise, I feel it sounds like the average sewing machine. It's easy to use (please note that I've had lots of experience at sewing, not sure how it would be for a beginner) and threading the machine is very easy compared to some I've used. It has a nice variety of stitches and reminds me of the Singer Touch and Sew that I had many years ago and loved. This machine will not replace my embroidery machine or my serger but its great for everyday sewing and mending.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cinny129
Blue Mt. PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great sewing machine
3/3/2014

Customer review by Computer5

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Computer5
by Computer5

I fell in love with this machine when I saw it. I have 2 other machines. Have had good luck with all of them. It is a dream when sewing with it. This machine will look fantastic on the sewing cabinet that I received as a Birthday present and on the walls at chair height is a boarder that has an old fashion Singer machine on it. Can hardly wait to return to NY from being in Fl. or the winter. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to buy a good looking sewing machine.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Computer5
Arcadia, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Really nice machine
1/10/2014

Customer review by Heidivw

4.0 stars 1/10/2014 by Heidivw
by Heidivw
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm a novice sewer, and have only ever used older machines. I bought this because of the nice design and the ease of the machine. You don't have to adjust anything. The tension is perfect. The threading is so easy and the built in stitches are beautiful. The only drawback is it gets finger prints all over. I can live with that. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Heidivw
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Performance, No Repairs
10/10/2014

Customer review by Mystrq

1.0 stars 10/10/2014 by Mystrq
by Mystrq

Purchased at Xmas, opened box 2/1/14. Began using daily for several hours, in July increased use 7 days a week mainly quilting (piecing and finishing quilts) and small quilted projects. By August 2014, error messages were so constant I had to limit sewing to an inch at a time, turn machine off and hope the error message disappeared. It's been with Singer's authorized repairman for nearly 2 months, and while he knows the problem is the mother board, Singer won't supply the part or authorize return of the machine to its shop for repair. I replaced it with a 1960 model Slant-O-Matic 500 and it runs much better.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mystrq
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great beginner machine!
12/15/2013

Customer review by Sosewssew

5.0 stars 12/15/2013 by Sosewssew
by Sosewssew
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a top-of-the-line machine with all the bells and whistles, but just wanted one with the basics for all my general sewing. This machine was a perfect match. It sews well, even through several thicknesses. Easy to thread. Thread cutter is a good feature. I like the large curved bed area, which is great for larger projects. It is a little loud and large compared to other machines, but neither one of these things are a problem for me. It does not have a needle up and down, but I don't mind using the wheel to put the needle down. Overall, I am happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sosewssew
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this machine!
12/10/2013

Customer review by NewertoSewing

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by NewertoSewing
by NewertoSewing
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was able to use this product right out of the box. I have only been sewing for about 1 year. Easy to use and understand. Very good value! I really like the needle threader and the bobbin. The only downside is the bobbin holder is not as easy to clean as my other machine. I would highly recommend this machine.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewertoSewing
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews