Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 694 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

694 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

694 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
560
4 stars
103
3 stars
16
2 stars
5
1 stars
10
1-20 of 541 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 541 total reviews
1-20 of 541 reviews
I had one before
4/20/2013

Customer review by SpiralMagician

5.0 stars 4/20/2013 by SpiralMagician
by SpiralMagician
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had one before but I let a friend borrow it and he left it on the burner for way too long at max and the bottom bulged out. He kept it and said that it is still usable but doesn't look the same so here is my second one :) Great price/quality ratio.

Was this review helpful? (35) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpiralMagician
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great canner for beginners, GREAT value
9/10/2012

Customer review by Woegee

5.0 stars 9/10/2012 by Woegee
by Woegee

Recommended by SB Canning. GREAT canner for both water baths and pressure canning. Very easy to use...pressure canned for the first time green beans. Very, very happy with this product!

Was this review helpful? (48) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Woegee
Acton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A Quality Product as always
9/19/2009

Customer review by DPCServices

5.0 stars 9/19/2009 by DPCServices
by DPCServices

Purchased this product for the wife, she loves it, now she does not have to go out and borrow her friends canner, which was a hassle when both were canning at the same time, looking forward to many years of use from this fine product....

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DPCServices
Monticello, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
5/12/2013

Customer review by 2tomatoes

5.0 stars 5/12/2013 by 2tomatoes
by 2tomatoes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i canned some chilli here and it has turned out great you heard all the jars popping in the lids so you know they are sealed

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2tomatoes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Pressure Canner
11/22/2010

Customer review by ASaltWeapon

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by ASaltWeapon
by ASaltWeapon

This pressure canner worked great for us, and we just canned 142 one pint jars of yellow fin tuna and yellow tail. The 20 jar capacity allowed us to get it done quickly and efficiently.

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ASaltWeapon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Classic Excellence
1/7/2010

Customer review by DavidTheGuru

5.0 stars 1/7/2010 by DavidTheGuru
by DavidTheGuru

There was a time in America when products were designed to "last". This is one of those products. I spent a lot of time shopping for a Pressure/Canner both new and used. There are a lot of options in many different price ranges. The Presto 23 Qt. has been around since "Grandma's" time and I read some reviews where people returned more expensive devices in favor of this one because it heats up faster and cools down faster than any others. Reading about people inheriting this product made me think. Walmart had the best price and I had it delivered to my local store. It was effortless. I've used the unit now a few times - works perfectly, its simple, well crafted and I suspect will be in my family for generations. I can use this for pressure cooking, canning, sterilizing (autoclaving), or those times when you want to make a BIG batch of something for an event - largest soup pot I own (laugh). I love it. Best regards to all. I am very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (204) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DavidTheGuru
Gresham, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
The BEST canner/pressure cooker- GREAT PRICE!!
12/4/2009

Customer review by LoveMyPressureCanner

5.0 stars 12/4/2009 by LoveMyPressureCanner
by LoveMyPressureCanner

I bought this pressure cooker/canner as a 33rd birthday gift for my sister and she loved it so much I bought myself one the very next week. We use it EVERY night... ribs, soups, pot roast, chile verde tonight!! I looked at so many different pressure cooker/canners and this was BY FAR the best priced and it can hold so much food- last night we made 5 lbs. of ribs and it barely covered the bottom! My sister said it was the best gift she has ever gotten, and my family loves it so much (my husband loves using it- even after a long day at work he is excited to cook in it!!)- the best part is it cooks SO FAST- ribs in 10 minutes, huge roasts in 45 minutes- I would HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone who wants a good home-cooked meal fast, and not to mention the canning you can do!! The reason I am writing all of this is because I was so confused when I wanted to purchase one- I didnt know there was a difference between pressure cookers and pressure canners but there is, and this one does it all (I read it is not safe to can things in a normal pressure cooker-you need the pressure cooker/canner like this) It is super easy to use and by far the cheapest yet best quality of all (I looked at 20 different ones and almost paid $399 for the SAME thing!!) Have fun!!

Was this review helpful? (222) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveMyPressureCanner
Redlands, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
CANNER + JARS = GREAT VALUE
10/2/2013

Customer review by surfin4bargains

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by surfin4bargains
by surfin4bargains
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was the best value I could find on the internet. Better than Amazon.com even. Item shipped free to my front door....how great is that? I learned something the hard way and will share it with you, in hopes that you won't suffer the same loss. I was canning tuna and set-up the base to my turkey fryer out in back yard in order to process the fish outdoors, rather than stink up my house. Problem is, the bottom of the canner gets too hot on this type of burner and then bulges out on the bottom. It was not a pretty sight....canner tipped sideways due to the bulging bottom! We immediately shut down the flame. Had to make emergency trip to try to find another canner at a time of year when everybody and their uncle has bought them all....empty shelves! Finally found a smaller one and had to pay two prices for it. Next day I found this on Walmart.com and bought it. The dozen pint canning jars were a bonus and arrived in A+ shape....not a single broken jar. And what did I find in the bottom of the canner? A warning flyer stating not to use canner on turkey fryer base because it will cause the bottom to warp and possibly explode. This is a great canner. Can stack two-pints-high.

Was this review helpful? (44) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
surfin4bargains
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My New Canner/Pressure Cooker
8/20/2010

Customer review by CanningGal

5.0 stars 8/20/2010 by CanningGal
by CanningGal

What strikes me most about my new Presto canner is the directions are fool proof. It works exactly as they say it will. I really appreciate that. I have canned about 100 jars since receiving it. All are sealed properly. I have done pressure canning and hot water bath too. It's just wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (41) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CanningGal
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Broken out of box.
8/22/2014

Customer review by lastlap30

2.0 stars 8/22/2014 by lastlap30
by lastlap30

I received this canner as a gift and am new to canning. I have only used my mother in law's Mirror Pressure Cooker. I was nervous about using a pressure gauge(her's only has a weighted jiggler). I read the instructions and the manufacturer recommended doing a test run on the canner; it also mentioned that the weight would only jiggle when 15 pounds or more pressure was acquired. It was a good thing I remembered this detail because my gauge never did go over 4 lbs. of pressure and my jiggler was just a dancing. I turned the heat off and let the pot cool for just over an hour before carefully removing the lid. The gauge never dropped back to zero until it was tapped with my finger. I do not feel comfortable relying on a gauge that may or may not be working properly. Also the instructions say you can not get the gauge wet when washing. Double negative for me. I'm going to purchase the weighted jiggler, just seems easier to use.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lastlap30
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
It went real smooth for a first time user!
10/28/2011

Customer review by Nanayaya

5.0 stars 10/28/2011 by Nanayaya
by Nanayaya

I was really worried to use this at first but I went over and over the book of instructions and then took the book with me into the kitchen. I read it again and then took the canner out of the box. I cleaned it, got my jars of potatoes ready, put the hot water in the canner, put the lid on and read the book again. I got everything in place as instructed and got to canning. Everything worked just like the book said and I was very, very happy and proud of myself. I have done potatoes, carrots, jams, syrup, relish, apples and plums. Thanks Presto for a great canner and Walmart for having it available for me to purchase.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nanayaya
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I shopped around and this was really a GREAT VALUE
10/29/2013

Customer review by 2SteamyGlasses

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by 2SteamyGlasses
by 2SteamyGlasses
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I own a farm with a large garden. I can, preserve and bottle nearly every weekend. So many recipes call for the item to be pressure cooked, (especially anything with meat). I priced just about every pressure cooker on the market. There are smaller capacity cookers on the market for more than twice the money as this one. They all do basically the the same thing. The pressure cooker I bought on line was delivered free to my door very quickly. I can buy replacement gaskets or parts from the manufacturer so I feel like I have made a lifetime purchase at a bargain price. I can not be more content. Presto is a great brand and makes many great products. I have a well worn kitchen and Presto and Walmart are again my choice. Why would you choose otherwise? If you are reading reviews then my opinion must matter to you, so I am saying,"Buy it, you will not be sorry".

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2SteamyGlasses
Loganville, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product
1/18/2016

Customer review by ICABNDT

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by ICABNDT
by ICABNDT

Works great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ICABNDT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best value
1/16/2014

Customer review by KP1027

4.0 stars 1/16/2014 by KP1027
by KP1027
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got the bundle which included the canner and 12 pint jars so the canner ended up being some $74 with tax. In the store just the 16 quart canner was $66, so this is a much better deal. I've used it quite a few times already and have no complaints. When used correctly it preforms as expected and has tons of room. It is a very large canner though so if you have a middle burner I suggest using that one. I used a back corner burner and it charred the wood edging on my counter tops. It was entirely user error, but maybe I can save someone the same heartache by mentioning that the pot itself gets extremely hot and does not fit well on a corner burner if your stove is very close to your counter. Happy canning!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KP1027
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I LOVE my pressure canner!!!
1/13/2014

Customer review by shoshee10

5.0 stars 1/13/2014 by shoshee10
by shoshee10
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I like this canner very much. I used it the day after I received it to can some corn chowder that I made. It was very easy to use as long as you follow the directions. Please be aware that you must not only follow the directions on how to use the canner, but also the directions for how to can whatever you are making. For the money this canner processes a lot of food. It's sturdy, good looking, and handy as an extra pot. The chowder I canned came out well and I was quite pleased with how easy it was to process. My only issue, and this is not and issue with the canner, is that it can be hard to use on an electric stovetop as temperatures do not regulate quite as quickly as with gas. That is not a problem with the canner though, just a recommendation that it will be easier to use with gas. Bottom line I love it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoshee10
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Large Pressure Canner / Cooker
8/11/2014

Customer review by JPAriz

5.0 stars 8/11/2014 by JPAriz
by JPAriz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My primary purpose for this is for pressure canning. This was my first try at canning and found it quite easy, reliable and safe. Just follow the instructions to the letter while stressing sanitation and you will be pleased with the result. The pressure canner is extremely well constructed and even looks nice. At first I assumed that aluminum would be difficult to keep free of stains etc.. However since I'm only using water it will be nearly impossible to stain. As this was my first try I sat there and monitored the entire process to ensure that temperature and pressure was precisely maintained. It was perfect the entire time so I'm comfortable w/ spot checks in the future. One important issue I'd like to point out... Included is one "rack" that prevents jars from touching the bottom. While it is possible to stack jars in a second layer a 2nd rack would be much easier. Consider ordering one when you order your new pressure canner. I found the capacity to be slightly more than what is advertised. 18 pint jars fit perfectly. Overall this is a quality product and should last for generations if properly cared for.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JPAriz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/4/2011

Customer review by tacomax4

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by tacomax4
by tacomax4

bought for my wife she loves it. works on glass top too.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tacomax4
riverview,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Presto Canner
10/16/2007

Customer review by Dozyhair

5.0 stars 10/16/2007 by Dozyhair
by Dozyhair

Very functional - easy to use canner - I have used this particular product for years. My Mom and Grandmother both had the same canner - would not use anything else. I bought this one for my daughter-in-law - so the tradition continues...

Was this review helpful? (173) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dozyhair
Morristown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fast delivery and worth the money
1/2/2014

Customer review by daddiof5

4.0 stars 1/2/2014 by daddiof5
by daddiof5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had to order on line because the stores did not carry this product. I shopped around and many of other stores carried this product. Target, Fred Meyers, kmart and shopko all had the same exact size and product but Wal- mart had them all beat with their pricing. Not only that but none of them carried the product in store so I would have to order it on line. I was concerned that the purchase would have been noticed in my account because it was a present and I found out Wal mart has an order on line and pay cash in store option. That help sell it to me as well. Not only that but I ordered it on a Tuesday and it was in store by Friday! Loving the price, the ease of getting it, being able to pay cash and the product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
daddiof5
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Repairs at my cost.
6/23/2011

Customer review by Rinahugo

4.0 stars 6/23/2011 by Rinahugo
by Rinahugo

My caner would not seal properly. I called call the company and they told me to check the serial number and the last two numbers was the year of production. Mine was 07 which was 2007. She said the seal was bad from being in storage to long and I should purchase a new rubber seal at my expense. I did and the caner worked fine. She would not provide a new rubber seal. Seems poor customer service when you have to pay to repair right out of the box with new products. Welcome to the down sized market.

Was this review helpful? (46) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rinahugo
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 541 total reviews
1-20 of 541 reviews