Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 670 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

670 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

670 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
539
4 stars
102
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 stars
9
1-20 of 517 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 517 total reviews
1-20 of 517 reviews
The BEST canner/pressure cooker- GREAT PRICE!!
12/4/2009

Customer review by LoveMyPressureCanner

5.0 stars 12/4/2009 by LoveMyPressureCanner
by LoveMyPressureCanner

I bought this pressure cooker/canner as a 33rd birthday gift for my sister and she loved it so much I bought myself one the very next week. We use it EVERY night... ribs, soups, pot roast, chile verde tonight!! I looked at so many different pressure cooker/canners and this was BY FAR the best priced and it can hold so much food- last night we made 5 lbs. of ribs and it barely covered the bottom! My sister said it was the best gift she has ever gotten, and my family loves it so much (my husband loves using it- even after a long day at work he is excited to cook in it!!)- the best part is it cooks SO FAST- ribs in 10 minutes, huge roasts in 45 minutes- I would HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone who wants a good home-cooked meal fast, and not to mention the canning you can do!! The reason I am writing all of this is because I was so confused when I wanted to purchase one- I didnt know there was a difference between pressure cookers and pressure canners but there is, and this one does it all (I read it is not safe to can things in a normal pressure cooker-you need the pressure cooker/canner like this) It is super easy to use and by far the cheapest yet best quality of all (I looked at 20 different ones and almost paid $399 for the SAME thing!!) Have fun!!

Was this review helpful? (182) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveMyPressureCanner
Redlands, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Classic Excellence
1/7/2010

Customer review by DavidTheGuru

5.0 stars 1/7/2010 by DavidTheGuru
by DavidTheGuru

There was a time in America when products were designed to "last". This is one of those products. I spent a lot of time shopping for a Pressure/Canner both new and used. There are a lot of options in many different price ranges. The Presto 23 Qt. has been around since "Grandma's" time and I read some reviews where people returned more expensive devices in favor of this one because it heats up faster and cools down faster than any others. Reading about people inheriting this product made me think. Walmart had the best price and I had it delivered to my local store. It was effortless. I've used the unit now a few times - works perfectly, its simple, well crafted and I suspect will be in my family for generations. I can use this for pressure cooking, canning, sterilizing (autoclaving), or those times when you want to make a BIG batch of something for an event - largest soup pot I own (laugh). I love it. Best regards to all. I am very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (183) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DavidTheGuru
Gresham, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Presto Canner
10/16/2007

Customer review by Dozyhair

5.0 stars 10/16/2007 by Dozyhair
by Dozyhair

Very functional - easy to use canner - I have used this particular product for years. My Mom and Grandmother both had the same canner - would not use anything else. I bought this one for my daughter-in-law - so the tradition continues...

Was this review helpful? (157) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dozyhair
Morristown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great canner for beginners, GREAT value
9/10/2012

Customer review by Woegee

5.0 stars 9/10/2012 by Woegee
by Woegee

Recommended by SB Canning. GREAT canner for both water baths and pressure canning. Very easy to use...pressure canned for the first time green beans. Very, very happy with this product!

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Woegee
Acton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
CANNER + JARS = GREAT VALUE
10/2/2013

Customer review by surfin4bargains

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by surfin4bargains
by surfin4bargains

This was the best value I could find on the internet. Better than Amazon.com even. Item shipped free to my front door....how great is that? I learned something the hard way and will share it with you, in hopes that you won't suffer the same loss. I was canning tuna and set-up the base to my turkey fryer out in back yard in order to process the fish outdoors, rather than stink up my house. Problem is, the bottom of the canner gets too hot on this type of burner and then bulges out on the bottom. It was not a pretty sight....canner tipped sideways due to the bulging bottom! We immediately shut down the flame. Had to make emergency trip to try to find another canner at a time of year when everybody and their uncle has bought them all....empty shelves! Finally found a smaller one and had to pay two prices for it. Next day I found this on Walmart.com and bought it. The dozen pint canning jars were a bonus and arrived in A+ shape....not a single broken jar. And what did I find in the bottom of the canner? A warning flyer stating not to use canner on turkey fryer base because it will cause the bottom to warp and possibly explode. This is a great canner. Can stack two-pints-high.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
surfin4bargains
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Repairs at my cost.
6/23/2011

Customer review by Rinahugo

4.0 stars 6/23/2011 by Rinahugo
by Rinahugo

My caner would not seal properly. I called call the company and they told me to check the serial number and the last two numbers was the year of production. Mine was 07 which was 2007. She said the seal was bad from being in storage to long and I should purchase a new rubber seal at my expense. I did and the caner worked fine. She would not provide a new rubber seal. Seems poor customer service when you have to pay to repair right out of the box with new products. Welcome to the down sized market.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rinahugo
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
My New Canner/Pressure Cooker
8/20/2010

Customer review by CanningGal

5.0 stars 8/20/2010 by CanningGal
by CanningGal

What strikes me most about my new Presto canner is the directions are fool proof. It works exactly as they say it will. I really appreciate that. I have canned about 100 jars since receiving it. All are sealed properly. I have done pressure canning and hot water bath too. It's just wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CanningGal
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
professional grade
10/8/2007

Customer review by Ruse

4.0 stars 10/8/2007 by Ruse
by Ruse

This canner is well built and very smooth to use. The directions were easy to read. The canner itself will last a long time.

Was this review helpful? (30) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ruse
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
wonderful product
8/19/2008

Customer review by lumberjill

3.0 stars 8/19/2008 by lumberjill
by lumberjill

This pressure canner cuts the canning process time in half. I wish it were all stainless steel (the inside is aluminum). I don`t like that the handles are riveted on instead of screwed on. One of the handles is loose already & I`ve only used it a few times. I am happy with the way the product works, it operates great. I just think for the price is should be a little better made.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lumberjill
Lewisburg, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I had one before
4/20/2013

Customer review by SpiralMagician

5.0 stars 4/20/2013 by SpiralMagician
by SpiralMagician

I had one before but I let a friend borrow it and he left it on the burner for way too long at max and the bottom bulged out. He kept it and said that it is still usable but doesn't look the same so here is my second one :) Great price/quality ratio.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpiralMagician
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lacking
4/30/2010

Customer review by Poppo1

4.0 stars 4/30/2010 by Poppo1
by Poppo1

This pressure Canner lacks a basket to load and remove the jars. Also The pressure guage is screwed on by customer and if removed to clean it will brake the seal.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Poppo1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
I like it now
9/19/2010

Customer review by charlindabob

4.0 stars 9/19/2010 by charlindabob
by charlindabob

Took a few days to get from the warehouse to the store, but not too many. The 23 qt. PC comes with gauge and pre-set 15 lb. jiggler which I did not like. I put a Presto 3-piece jiggler on instead of the pre-set one which was for safety only and now it is perfect. I set the weight for 10 lbs and when the gauge reads 10 lbs. the jiggler jiggles. The best of both, gauge AND adjustable jiggler and I like it very much.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
charlindabob
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
A Quality Product as always
9/19/2009

Customer review by DPCServices

5.0 stars 9/19/2009 by DPCServices
by DPCServices

Purchased this product for the wife, she loves it, now she does not have to go out and borrow her friends canner, which was a hassle when both were canning at the same time, looking forward to many years of use from this fine product....

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DPCServices
Monticello, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
5/12/2013

Customer review by 2tomatoes

5.0 stars 5/12/2013 by 2tomatoes
by 2tomatoes

i canned some chilli here and it has turned out great you heard all the jars popping in the lids so you know they are sealed

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2tomatoes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
limited usage
3/9/2010

Customer review by 1peasantfarmer

3.0 stars 3/9/2010 by 1peasantfarmer
by 1peasantfarmer

This pressure cooker does not accommodate the advertised 20 pints. The cooker only has capacity for 8 kerr pints per tier. Other brands of canning jars may be smaller and taller to get 10 jars per tier but I doubt it. Given the small amount of metal it would have taken to have enlarged the diameter of the vessel to accommodate any canning jar make, it appears the vessel size was poorly planned.

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1peasantfarmer
Would recommend to a friend? No
23 qt canner
8/5/2009

Customer review by CannerMan

5.0 stars 8/5/2009 by CannerMan
by CannerMan

I've used other pressure canners/cookers. This one is my favorite because you can stack pint jars 2 high so it holds 20 pints. Since it's bigger it takes a little longer to reach the desired pressure but it's worth it when you're getting two batches done at once.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CannerMan
NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Pressure Canner
11/22/2010

Customer review by ASaltWeapon

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by ASaltWeapon
by ASaltWeapon

This pressure canner worked great for us, and we just canned 142 one pint jars of yellow fin tuna and yellow tail. The 20 jar capacity allowed us to get it done quickly and efficiently.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ASaltWeapon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
useful and easy!
5/31/2011

Customer review by Julsofthenile

5.0 stars 5/31/2011 by Julsofthenile
by Julsofthenile

I was hesitant to use a pressure cooker, due to being afraid that it would blow up, but this is great. Only thing is, it is BIG! That is great for canning, but when you are using it to just cook food, it can be a little cumbersome to pour from, since its so big and heavy for my wrists....but that's not really a bad thing....I will probably purchase a smaller one for my cooking and use this 23 Qt for canning only, unless i happen to cook for an army. Its performed great and once it comes up to temperature, it takes no time at all to cook beans and wheat berries...I have to lower my stove to 3 (out of 10) so it saves alot of money. I have only used it so far to cook beans, rice and wheat berries, but it hasn't disappointed me...and with strawberry season coming soon, i am sure I will love canning jams with ease...and i can "can" so much in this pot at one time, that it will take me no time....also now I don't have to worry about the quality either vs. a traditional bath canner. I am looking forward to canning this year. When I made my beans, i had a wonderful gravy from them that i used to make spanish beans/gravy to serve over rice. it was delish! So quick for cooking beans and more healthy grains. it took me 3 mins to cook beans once it got up to temp/pressure. Its extremely durable and will last a very long time. I believe it was worth every penny I paid. i doubt I will ever need to replace it in my lifetime. I can't wait to try canning in it. it doesn't heat up your house or steam it up either...saves time & money...I can't think of a reason not to own one. I feel extremely comfortable with the safety of this product. Althoug it doesn't have many "bells and whistles" so to speak, it doesn't need them. Put the stuff in it with the right amount of the cover by turning it until it locks, place on stove and wait til pressure gauge reaches 15 or whatever your recipe calls for, then turn down to maintain pressure...wait the time for the recipe and then shut it off and remove from stove. Once the pressure indicator falls, you can open it. That's it, folks. most recipes call for you not to fill it more than 1/2 way ( some items call for no more than 1/3) so keep that in mind when you are determining the size you want to use for cooking.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Julsofthenile
Agwam, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It went real smooth for a first time user!
10/28/2011

Customer review by Nanayaya

5.0 stars 10/28/2011 by Nanayaya
by Nanayaya

I was really worried to use this at first but I went over and over the book of instructions and then took the book with me into the kitchen. I read it again and then took the canner out of the box. I cleaned it, got my jars of potatoes ready, put the hot water in the canner, put the lid on and read the book again. I got everything in place as instructed and got to canning. Everything worked just like the book said and I was very, very happy and proud of myself. I have done potatoes, carrots, jams, syrup, relish, apples and plums. Thanks Presto for a great canner and Walmart for having it available for me to purchase.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nanayaya
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
8/4/2011

Customer review by tacomax4

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by tacomax4
by tacomax4

bought for my wife she loves it. works on glass top too.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tacomax4
riverview,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 517 total reviews
1-20 of 517 reviews