Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 227 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

227 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

227 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
155
4 stars
42
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 stars
16
1-20 of 200 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 200 total reviews
1-20 of 200 reviews
11/26/2016

Customer review by Gene43

4.0 stars 11/26/2016 by Gene43
by Gene43

Very pleased with this machine. However, if it gets plugged, can be a challenge getting it unplugged. It took sometime to find out just where it was plugged, then unplugging it.

Gene43
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Waited 1 year before writing review.
5/4/2016

Customer review by svarela83

5.0 stars 5/4/2016 by svarela83
by svarela83

I love this vacuum. I have 4 kids and 2 dogs. This vacuum picks up everything. Yes, I do mean everything. I have carpet in the bedrooms and tile throughout. I vacuum everywhere. I have not had any problems with this vacuum. Best purchase...

svarela83
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Amazing vacuum!!!
7/18/2015

Customer review by Horecny

5.0 stars 7/18/2015 by Horecny
by Horecny

At first, I thought the Dyson ads trendy and something that was over selling itself. I mean, who would pay that for a vacuum?! And how different could it really be? But, necessity is the champion of innovation and needing a vacuum that wouldn't break down every couple of years, I gave in... And it is the best vacuum I have ever owned! I don't write reviews but this one had to be written! It's lightweight and had shockingly powerful for something that feels so small! It may be my favorite electronic object in the house- over my espresso machine!

Horecny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Best Vacuum Ever
10/30/2015

Customer review by LovethisVac

5.0 stars 10/30/2015 by LovethisVac
by LovethisVac

I love my DC40 Animal. It works better and longer then any other vacuum I (or any of my family members) have ever had. It is so easy to use and clean, and because of the ball it doesn't feel like you are using a regular heavy vacuum; it is so light and easy to maneuver. Two of my family members already own one and my mom wants one now too after trying mine. I would recommend this to anyone.

LovethisVac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DC40 animal
7/12/2015

Customer review by daisylady

5.0 stars 7/12/2015 by daisylady
by daisylady

I love this machine. It is light weight. Easy to mve around. Suction is wonderful I have a cat and a dog and it picks up the animal hair great. attachments are easy to use. It a light enough to lift easily It gets hard t reach places and does great on furniture too. would never buy another brand.

daisylady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Good vacuum minus the plastic C-clip connector.
5/11/2015

Customer review by MNusers35

4.0 stars 5/11/2015 by MNusers35
by MNusers35

Great vacuum but only complaint is the plastic cleanerhead c-clip connector. The c-clip connector broke on my vacuum within 3 months of purchasing it. You'd think with the price you pay for a dyson there be better quality pieces.

MNusers35
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
BEST. VACUUM. EVER. !!!!!!
8/7/2014

Customer review by Jenrnbmh

5.0 stars 8/7/2014 by Jenrnbmh
by Jenrnbmh

I had been holding out on getting a Dyson for years, I always thought, "way too expensive"! Well, my second vacuum in 5 years was on death's doorstep (my second 'several hundred dollar' vacuum made for pet hair). So I finally took the leap and bought the DC 40 Animal. At first I was skeptical, it was very easy to put together but the pieces were so light, they felt cheaply made. Then I vacuumed my carpet, this vacuum moved so well and it was so light, it really did feel cheaply made. I was regretting my purchase actually! But then, I discovered that your vacuum doesn't need to weigh 15-20 pounds and be hard to move/push to be fantastic!! This vacuum is the best ever! The ball technology takes a little getting used to. And it's so light and easy to move, that you crash into things the first few times. I use it several times a week and LOVE it. Yes, the cord is on the short side, you have hand-wind the cord up, and the tools are in the Dyson bag in the closet, instead of on-board..... All of these things were important to me (I thought). But this vacuum works so great, all of my "requirements" for a vacuum are a distant memory. My 2 year old carpet looks brand new again, this vacuum actually fluffs it up. I cannot believe I waited this long to get one, I now brag to everyone how great it is. My sister, who rarely vacuums, came over- I had her test it out. She loved it AND vacuumed my whole house. That was a double win for me:) Some reviews mentioned the small canister- after the first time you vacuum and get the old stuff out of your carpet (and empty it multiple times), it doesn't seem to be a problem, I can now vacuum the whole house and empty it at the end. So, really, go for it.....I really can't say enough good things about this Dyson DC 40!!

Jenrnbmh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Vacuum appears to be a good deal.
11/11/2013

Customer review by CAC1943

4.0 stars 11/11/2013 by CAC1943
by CAC1943
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been interested in the ball technology of the Dyson vacuum cleaner for several years now, but was reluctant to pay the higher price for one of them. A few weeks ago I was surfing the Web for Dyson and I came across a clearance sale for the DC40 at Walmart.com that was a really great deal. I've had the vacuum a little over a week now. So far, it appears to work as advertised. The ball makes vacuuming around furniture, etc. a breeze. I like that I don't have to manually adjust it when going from our tile floors to our carpet, as it automatically adjusts itself. I'm delighted that I no longer have to search for bags to fit my 15-year old Hoover cleaner since the Dyson doesn't have bags to change out. At my age, I'm happy that it is much lighter when I need to pick it up. And, hopefully, the washable filter will last a lifetime as advertised. At this point, I do believe the product will work quite well even though I haven't had it long enough to offer a more experienced review of it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CAC1943
El Dorado, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Replacement for my 8 year old DC17 Absolute Animal
8/19/2013

Customer review by ShanTampa

5.0 stars 8/19/2013 by ShanTampa
by ShanTampa

I bought this to replace my 8 year old Dyson DC17 Animal. We vacuumed at least twice a day for 5 years with 2 cats, 1 dog, 2 females with long hair and 3 kids. After that, we had only the people and the dog so we vacuumed a minimum of every other day. It held up really well versus going through 3 Eureka and Hoovers in 3 years. That was with the older kids using it too. We did change belts a few times and had to replace the bottom filter last year. The design has definitely improved with the ball, filters, cord, & the new one is much quieter than our old one. It picks up an incredible amount of stuff & is very easy to use. The assembly directions were a little sparse like Transformers instructions but not hard if you don't think too hard. This is an excellent product. My only real complaint is that it falls over easily in the lock position if the ball is not locked just right. Again not difficult, just something different to get used to.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShanTampa
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very pleased
11/16/2013

Customer review by SMOvad

5.0 stars 11/16/2013 by SMOvad
by SMOvad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Some of the bad reviews for the DC40 Animal had me worried but I love it. I have the DC7 Animal and although it still works great after 9 yrs the handle is starting to break. I was needing an old vacuum for my screened in porch so I decided to by the DC40 and use the DC7 for the grunt work. Some reviews stated that the suction was terrible but I have found that it is great. It is so easy to maneuver around things and is so much lighter than my old Dyson. The only things I don't like, which has nothing to so with the suction, is the short power cord and the small dirt bin. I could plug my old Dyson in the hall outlet and vacuum my whole house. With the DC40 I have to switch outlets 2-3 times. The dirt bin is so much smaller than the old one and needs emptying after 2 uses. (I have 4 dogs). I can understand the smaller dirt bin because it is a compact vacuum but why shorten the power cord. Just because you buy a smaller vacuum does not mean you have a smaller house. In the end I am quite happy with its performance. I love Dyson!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SMOvad
Gallipolis, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not as powerfull as other Dyson model
9/24/2013

Customer review by DogHairandDust

4.0 stars 9/24/2013 by DogHairandDust
by DogHairandDust
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My first time using a Dyson was my sister's DC17 right after our vacuum broke. I thought we had a good vacuum cleaner until we used my sister's. Our carpet looked new after vacuming and I thought, what a great vacuum. We looked for one on sale and found this one, DC40 at Wallyworld on sale as a closeout. (It would appear new models come out frequently so finding a new DC17 on sale was not possible) It was received in a reasonable amount of time via FedEx. Upon the first use , I came to the realization it was not as powerfull as the DC17. While the Dc40 has good suction, it is not as good as the DC17 so this disappointed me somewhat. I almost returned it but thought to give it a week. The manuverability is fantastic and the edge suction is great. I have used the extension once and it seems to function pretty good. Bottom line: it is a good vacuum and I think people like. Hoever, if one uses a "bigger" Dyson before hand, you will be dissapointed with this one.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DogHairandDust
Folsom, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2nd worst Dyson ever
11/17/2013

Customer review by MomHuntingABargain

1.0 stars 11/17/2013 by MomHuntingABargain
by MomHuntingABargain

This vacuum cleaner is not the worst Dyson makes, the DC50 is slightly worse than this one. I have had a DC33 for about 10 years and it is the only Dyson worth the money. This is why: -the cord is entirely too short on the DC40, DC41 and DC50, can't even do a whole room without switching outlets; -the "auto adjust" to carpet and bare floors sounds great until you have area rugs and worse yet area rugs on carpet, you have to pick up all the area rugs or you will miss tons -there is no brush on the sides so forget about being able to vacuum up to the baseboards, you have to use the wand to clean the baseboards or area rugs -the bin is very small on top so things such as cheerio's will get stuck and you have to open the canister from both ends to force it out, yes a cheerio! -worse yet if you pick up say 6 Cheerio's with the wand, the vacuum will not suck them up in the canister, they will be stuck in the bottom and you will have to remove the canister, flip the tab and tip the vacuum upside down in the trash to clear the clog -the ball tips over, A LOT so be prepared to catch it Stick with the DC33, well worth the money, will last for 10 plus years and these versions are just overpriced under performing knock off's.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomHuntingABargain
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/12/2013

Customer review by conantfarm

5.0 stars 8/12/2013 by conantfarm
by conantfarm
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i ordered on line and received it within 3 days...it was easy to put together and i loved the way it was packaged.....no styrofoam..only cardboard which can be recycled.....although this vacuum is new to me and i'm still trying to get used to it....i love it....has great suction.....and turns on a dime..doesn't weigh much so it's easy to carry upstairs....even though i got it on sale..i've never paid this much for a vacuum... it was well worth it.....

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
conantfarm
athol, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this vacuum, worth every dollar!
8/3/2013

Customer review by Cirilorocks

5.0 stars 8/3/2013 by Cirilorocks
by Cirilorocks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great vacuum. I have 3 boxers that shed a lot, and this dyson cleans up the carpet with no problem. I am surprised how much dirt, hair and dust it sucks up every time we use it. I did my research on vacuums and the dyson is by far the best. And the 5 year warranty is awesome. Works great on hard floors. The detachable hose really is handy, it Doesn't extend as far as i wanted it to but its long enough to get the job done. I recommend this vacuum 100%

Was this review helpful? (50) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cirilorocks
Sierra Vista, arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very lightweight vacuum
8/14/2013

Customer review by the1elf

4.0 stars 8/14/2013 by the1elf
by the1elf

My first impression was that I could not believe how small and lightweight this vacuum is, it feels almost like a toy, and is so easy to push around. I bought this to replace a 10 year old eureka boss vacuum. We live in a small house with carpet in 3 bedrooms and the living room, there is tile in both bathrooms and kitchen. My family has two long haired humans, two short haired ones and one ragdoll/long haired cat and one short haired siamese. It does clean quite well but since it is so close to the ground it has trouble picking up some solid items. I love that you can turn the brush roller off quickly so it is great to go from tile to carpet. The cord is an okay length it is a good vacuum for our small house. The two problems I have is that during the first use that it sucked up one of my son's legos and bent some of the bristles on the brush bar. The other is that if my ragdoll loses some of his cotton ball fluff that the vacuum has a hard time removing it from the carpet in the living room. One thing that I had a real problem with my old vacuum is human hair it would break the belt all the time and I had to replace the brush bar once, with this vacuum you can see the brush bar and it has an easily removable area so you can cut the hair off the bar, so nice that I don't have to get out my tools to remove a bunch of screws to get to that part. The vacuum does pickup a lot and fills the small dirt canister fast, I usually have to empty it twice during a cleaning, but since it is so easy to do it isn't much of a hassle. This vacuum is a beautiful purple and isn't an eyesore if left out. My 8 yr old calls it the tornado vacuum. I just hope it lasts me a long time. Both my mom and sister have different models of dysons and they love them, never had any problems with them.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
the1elf
phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Pretty Good!! I like!!!
9/5/2013

Customer review by AlmostHumanBeing

4.0 stars 9/5/2013 by AlmostHumanBeing
by AlmostHumanBeing
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is one of the best Vacuum I have used so far and also the most expensive one as well. Suction power is amazing and cleans carpets like they are brand new (a little exaggeration). It has been less than a month since I started using it so I have not cleaned out the filters yet, I hope that is not cumbersome. The only problem I have with this is using it on the stairs. I wish it had better attachment to do that. It's very small range so only a few stairs at a time before I move the vaccum closer otherwise I would give it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlmostHumanBeing
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I really like this vacuum.
8/24/2013

Customer review by MissLMV

5.0 stars 8/24/2013 by MissLMV
by MissLMV
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really like this vacuum. The only vacuum I have owned before this one was a Kirby. I think Kirby has a very good product, but time and situation change things. I did a lot of research and a lot of consideration before choosing this one. It's lighter weight, It has equal if not better suction. My favorite benefit is it being bagless. It's easy to dump, and no more musty odors when its in the closet.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissLMV
Blue Springs, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
If you have owned Dysons prior, don't buy this one
11/7/2013

Customer review by CEOofthehouse

1.0 stars 11/7/2013 by CEOofthehouse
by CEOofthehouse

I purchased this Dyson to replace the one I have owned for 8 years. This Dyson Animal is an embarrassment to Dyson. If your a first time Dyson owner this may be an improvement for you but if your use to the high quality of a Dyson, this will be a disappointment! My complaints may be small but if your going to spend $400 on a vacuum you want to be satisfied! Instantly I noticed how small and light the item was. I thought that would be a positive however its gives the impression that its dinky and not indestructible like my old one. I have beat my old one up and this one will not last the 8 years my prior one did. Not that I plan on running it over with a semi but I have 2 teens that help with the household and they will have to treat this item like a delicate appliance. The cord is about half the length causing me to unplug and re-plug 4 times to vacuum my 1500 sqft house. Thats absurd seeing how my prior one would only require me to unplug once. The canister is tiny! Its half the size of the old one. I have 2 large golden retrievers and thats why I buy the animal. I can usually go at least 3 days of vacuuming before I have to empty the canister. Today I had to empty my canister 4 times just doing my house once over. This could be because my old vacuum had lost its suction power but Dyson has built their name by the fact they dont loose suction. I also had to grab a stick to help the hair out of the canister. The prior vacuum's canister was rather large and when you hit that button it all came out. This one is so tight and compact I dont see how it was designed for households with animals. Its loud! Not what I'm use to with Dyson. When you use on bare floors its even louder! I had just finished vacuuming and let the dog in from outside. She tracked in some mud clumps so I grabbed the vac and nope, nothing! It didnt pick any of it up or make a bit of difference! The positives: Its purple and I love purple The swivel ball helps maneuver easily under the couch and tables Thats it! Good luck, if your wanting the high quality Dyson promises us you may want to spend the extra cash and purchase the $700 one! This one is a joke!

Was this review helpful? (36) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CEOofthehouse
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/13/2013

Customer review by armyof8

3.0 stars 9/13/2013 by armyof8
by armyof8

We got the vacuum and had warranty with it, it broke within 2 weeks of having it. Now a year later its completely broken and we need to buy a new one. It started spitting metal shavings into the filter.. We have a husky and she is in the middle of blowing her coat and it started to loose suction fast (even when we empty the bin 4 time in one room when she sheds)

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
armyof8
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/22/2013

Customer review by pjglenn

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by pjglenn
by pjglenn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the best vacuum I have ever owned. The suction and the power is amazing. If I had the money everyone in my family would get one for Christmas. I have two dogs, and two cats, so the power and suction worked great at removing the pet hair and even adjust to my kitchen floor, which was fabulous. I have always wanted a dyson, but I was never able to get one before, but I'm so happy since I got the Dyson DC 40 Animal Bag less. I will never buy another brand again.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pjglenn
Malakoff, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 200 total reviews
1-20 of 200 reviews