Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 325 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

325 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

325 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
240
4 stars
70
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 stars
2
1-20 of 303 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 303 total reviews
1-20 of 303 reviews
Perfect!
4/5/2011

Customer review by momof3TOTALLYdifferentkids

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by momof3TOTALLYdifferentkids
by momof3TOTALLYdifferentkids
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect! Thick & comfortable - My husband & I can lay with our 6 month old on the mats & not be in pain when we're trying to get up (like we are when we get off the floor). Easy to clean - can clean (milk, spit up, dog slobber, whatever) easily with a wet cloth. Safe - our 6 month old still falls over sometimes when sitting up & he doesn't cry when he bumps his head, he just tries to get back up. Unheard of if he hit his head while sitting on a carpet or blanket on the floor. Our older 2, ages 4 & 6 LOVE playing on this. They think it's a wrestling mat or something! I LOVE the bigger pieces - I didn't want to get those small ones that were about 1x1' with the letters that come out. Those are cute, BUT not what I was looking for. Too many pieces to pull out & loose & it would be a pain to put togther everytime & keep them together, not to mention I'd need like 10 sets of those to cover the square footage these cover. AND it would be more expensive. I just LOVE these. We're buying another set for the older two soon!

momof3TOTALLYdifferentkids
APO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super Purchase!
12/27/2016

Customer review by Lori

5.0 stars 12/27/2016 by Lori
by Lori
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect surface for under the grandkids play yard! Comfy, and NO bad smell!

Lori
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for newly mobile little tikes
5/4/2009

Customer review by Patrick's momma

4.0 stars 5/4/2009 by Patrick's momma
by Patrick's momma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a GREAT product. We have ceramic tile throughout our home and I was dreading the day my little guy became mobile. We considered many options, including rugs and carpet tiles (all very expensive!). Solution - we turned our breakfast nook into a playroom and put down the playmats to cushion the inevitable falls and bumps. So far, so good. It's even been great for the adults too, making the hard floor much more comfortable to be down on when playing with the baby. I also like that they are a solid blue color - all the other interlocking mats like this I've seen were all very busy with push out shapes and numbers. Only reason I didn't give the playmats five stars was because they do not have pieces to fit around the boarder of the mats, so we get lots of dirt stuck in the little crevices where the mats meet the walls. It would also be nice if they had half pieces or diagonal half pieces available for odd shaped spaces. That being said, we will definitely be purchasing more of these in the future to put outside on our lanai.

Patrick's momma
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I would by this product again
11/20/2016

Customer review by B.K.

5.0 stars 11/20/2016 by B.K.
by B.K.
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought 20 pieces in March this year and another 16 pieces in Oct for my kids' play area inside the house. Main reason for buying Step 2 is the thickness i.e 3/4" which provides better interlocking between pieces. We bought other playmates, after 1 - 2 years the pieces became loose as the kids bounced and ran around a lot on the mats.

B.K.
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what I wanted!
8/14/2009

Customer review by Alison

5.0 stars 8/14/2009 by Alison
by Alison
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product is wonderful! It is durable and easy to clean. It's much easier cleaning the baby's spit-up off these mats than the carpeted floor during playtime! Also, it's easy to just wipe them down with Clorox wipes so you know you always have a clean surface for the kids to play on. We put these down and it's wonderful for our almost 9-month old son to crawl around on without worrying about whether or not the floor is spotless & sanitary. (not that we have a dirty floor, but with a dog, etc....) He also loves to sit on his mats with toys all around. It is also wonderful for our 4-year old daughter. It is easy for her to assemble puzzles on these as opposed to the carpeted floor. She also says it's more comfortable to sit on. She prefers to do everything on these mats. I also like that I can take them apart and stack them around the side of the television so they aren't always out or in sight. Easy to store and easy to use. My 4 year old loves laying them out for herself and her brother for playtime and then is able to pick them up and put them away when they are finished.

Alison
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good quality protection and easy to clean
10/18/2016

Customer review by Rachel

4.0 stars 10/18/2016 by Rachel
by Rachel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased these for my grandson when he started rolling over since his activity gym was going to be used on a ceramic tile floor. I think they provide good protection so far, though he's still not crawling or getting into very risky situations. I like the extra large size tiles (24") because I think they stay in place better than smaller ones. My only complaint is that they are sold only in packs of 4 tiles. You can't expand from 2x2 up to 3x3 tiles without buying 2 more sets.

Rachel
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
These are great, so many uses
7/6/2007

Customer review by Kelly Mother of 2

5.0 stars 7/6/2007 by Kelly Mother of 2
by Kelly Mother of 2

Let me just say, I was never interested in these playmats until I saw them at a local grocery store. I bought 2 sets thinking okay I have one set for outside, and one set inside. My daughter(2 and a half yrs old) LOVED the mats so much I ended up buying all that were available at the store and I put them covering her playroom. She has a little brother(5 months old) that will get alot of use out of the mats, he actually has so far. I use them inside and outside. When it's a nice day outside I bring 4 of them outside, cover the mats with an old blanket give her paper and she uses her washable paints and markers. Far away from the house, but not too far that I can't supervise her, it's her own creativity/disaster area. When we are all done outside I wash off the mats(and her), the paint does come off easily and I bring them into the house. SHE LOVES THE MATS. Daddy can rough house w/her on the mats. I feel they are fairly priced for what you can do with them. Unlimited uses, just use some creativity w/them. When it's not hot out I plan on doing a picnic w/them outdoors. It is so much more comfortable then being on the grass.

Kelly Mother of 2
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So Durable & Versatile
9/6/2016

Customer review by Samantha

5.0 stars 9/6/2016 by Samantha
by Samantha
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second go around with these mats. They are durable, do not smell chemically like a lot of the other cheaper mats and so easy to clean. They travel well and are also great to sit on at sporting events, fireworks, community concerts and movie nights - so much more comfy than blankets! I also have a set that I use as blocking boards for my knitting projects.

Samantha
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thanks Step 2 for a wonderful product!
7/20/2016

Customer review by Elizabeth

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by Elizabeth
by Elizabeth
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These are the best playmats - - I teach early childhood music and movement classes and use them in my studio. I recommend them to all my parents to give their babies the best start with their movement development. They are non-toxic, thick enough to provide the right support for tumbling, clean up easily and make great sounds when you tap rhythm sticks or rattles on them. Babies need floor time and these mats allow parents to easily move the "floor' to wherever they are - -kitchen, living room, etc...I can't say enough good about them and wish all new parents had them. Thanks Step 2 for a wonderful product!

Elizabeth
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Protect kids and floors!
9/1/2016

Customer review by Dorian

5.0 stars 9/1/2016 by Dorian
by Dorian
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We used lots of them when the kids were toddlers to protect the wood floors in the playroom. They worked wonderfully! Now we use them in the workout room and they are still in great shape!

Dorian
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A parent's comfort
6/3/2010

Customer review by Mimi

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by Mimi
by Mimi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My grandchild has an outdoor structure on cement which we have covered with your play mats. We recently created a second play yard at my son's house covering his wooden deck with the play mats as well. He is now protected from hard surfaces and splinters. The mats wash off extremely well and endure the rain with no problems. The soft blue adds a special touch of playfulness and color to the natural outdoor setting. We never have to worry about him falling onto a hard surface, as the mats are thick and do not breakdown over time. We knew that they were recommended for indoor use, but bought them anyway. We are extremely pleased with their ability to remain outdoor in all kinds of weather. Thank you for designing such a wonderful product at such a responsible price. Blessings to you all.

Mimi
Sebastopol, CA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great protection!
7/21/2016

Customer review by Pamela

5.0 stars 7/21/2016 by Pamela
by Pamela
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These work great. Highly recommend

Pamela
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thick, Durable and NON-TOXIC!
9/25/2008

Customer review by River's Mom

5.0 stars 9/25/2008 by River's Mom
by River's Mom

We wanted mats for our infant daughter to crawl & walk on. She had bumped her head on the hardwood floors, and we thought, "OK, time for some mats." I did a ton of research, and these mats are the best in every way. They are thicker than almost every other type of mat out there. They don't have silly letters & numbers in them that get lost. More than anything, they are safe. I emailed Step 2 and they told me that they are made entirely out of EVA. EVA is non-toxic and is approved for use in teethers. So my daughter won't be poisoned by them. We bought a full pack and are buying another pack of 20 mats. Everyone that comes to my house says, "Wow, these are the best mats, where did you get them?"

River's Mom
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Life Saver!
6/12/2007

Customer review by Dominican Mom

5.0 stars 6/12/2007 by Dominican Mom
by Dominican Mom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love these mats. I should've purchased them earlier when my son was about 4 months (I bought them when he was 8 months, he's now 9mos). They come in handy for tummy time. We live in an apartment and we have hard wood floors, I hardly let him spend time on the floor because I was afraid of him falling and bumping his head. He's fallen plenty of times (even on his face) on these mats and he didn't let one peep out! He learned how to crawl on these mats and I'm glad I bought them. He learned quickly as you can see. They've very easy to assemble (sometimes you have to flip the mats over so they can fit the proper way) and very easy to clean (just wipe them with a damp cloth and voila!).

Dominican Mom
Brooklyn, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So happy with these - changed our lives!
12/15/2008

Customer review by Mom of Twins

5.0 stars 12/15/2008 by Mom of Twins
by Mom of Twins
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We lined the floor of a room with these. A bit expensive but totally worth it. Our 1-year-old twins are just learning to walk/run and they are falling all over the place. Plus, they almost always go in opposite directions making it impossible to prevent or even temper all of their falls. These mats have completely taken the tension out of my shoulders and neck, because I don't care of they fall on these (versus hardwood or tile floor). The babies LOVE it! And I can allow them to run free with these. My older nieces love them because they can tumble and practice gymnastics on them, and my older nephews love to wrestle on them. And as a bonus, they are quite easy to clean.

Mom of Twins
Hillsborough, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic Mats - Better Than Expected
6/21/2008

Customer review by Maria

5.0 stars 6/21/2008 by Maria
by Maria
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have hard wood flooring, and we needed some quality play mats for my daughter, who is only 7 months old. These are fantastic! They are very thick and soft. She has fallen on them many times without any crying! They are also comfortable for my husband & I to lay on while we play with her. They fit together very easily and don't come apart unless you want them to. They do not collect dirt or dog hair, thank goodness! And, I did some research - they are made of EVA, which is a non-toxic material that is approved for use in teethers. So it's about as safe as a choice as you can make.

Maria
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great play mats!
2/10/2009

Customer review by C&C's mom

5.0 stars 2/10/2009 by C&C's mom
by C&C's mom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really love these mats. They are big and very thick. My little girl enjoys playing on them. They are very comfortable to play on since we have wood floors which are very cold and hard. I feel better now that she has a safer spot to play on. The only bad thing is that the mats have some sort of coating that makes the wood floors more slippery. Its not bad when walking on the mats, its only slippery on the floor underneath the mats. If you don't ever move them then its okay. We just put some other rugs around so its not a big deal. Other than that, they truly are a great buy.

C&C's mom
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
safe and sturdy
11/25/2009

Customer review by Jane

4.0 stars 11/25/2009 by Jane
by Jane
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We covered our entire playroom, which has ceramic tile, in these mats. It's much cheaper, safer, and more hygienic than carpet. Our 14 month old is much more confident trying to walk now that he knows that it won't hurt if he falls. The mats are reasonably attractive and easy to clean. I do find you need to hand-scrub the mats to really get them clean, a standard mop won't do it because of all the little pores and crevices. It's also getting scratched up by our cats and dog, but that is mostly an aesthetic problem and doesn't affect the overall durability.

Jane
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
these are great!
4/20/2007

Customer review by a happy customer

5.0 stars 4/20/2007 by a happy customer
by a happy customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the perfect product for my baby who is sitting up but not yet crawling. We have hard tile floors and even though he sits up well, he does occasionally fall back and bump his head! These mats are big enough and thick enough that he does not hurt himself when he falls backward. Now he sits on his mat and plays with his toys while I am cooking in the kitchen, while the rest of the family has dinner, etc. - much better than than being in a bouncy seat all the time! We also love that the mat can be taken apart for storage, and wiped down easily.

a happy customer
Silver Spring, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I would buy this product again and again
1/13/2010

Customer review by Kim Shaver

5.0 stars 1/13/2010 by Kim Shaver
by Kim Shaver
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am soooo impressed with this product. I bought 4. I have concrete floors and needed a cushioned surface for my daughter to play and crawl on. She knows the difference between the blue playmat and concrete and crawls all over the mat!! She has taken tumbles and has been great through them. Very easy to clean and maintain. I have my living room and hallway covered with the mat, as well as her room. It made more sense than buying a rug. I love them so much I gave one to my brother who is expecting his first soon.

Kim Shaver
Mesa Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 303 total reviews
1-20 of 303 reviews