Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 190 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

190 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

190 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
97
4 stars
37
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 stars
32
1-20 of 159 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews
Just What I Was Looking For
3/24/2009

Customer review by driversed

4.0 stars 3/24/2009 by driversed
by driversed

I'm not some sort of java expert, just an average coffee drinker. I was looking for a basic grinder to make short work of some whole bean coffee I had laying around. I bought this product because it was inexpensive and looked decent. So far, it has worked flawlessly. I read some other revies complaining about what a mess the chambermaid feature makes. I did not find this to be an issue. I simply dump the ground coffee into the coffee maker and rinse out the chambermaid part of the grinder underneath the kitchen sink faucet. Simple as that. This is a very good buy for the money, and I would recommend it to other customers.

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
driversed
Coalgate, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Outstanding!
12/19/2007

Customer review by Mystore6325

5.0 stars 12/19/2007 by Mystore6325
by Mystore6325

This is the single best grinder I have ever used. The price was an influence in my decision, however, since I have used it, I'm sure I would purchase it again if I needed to, even if it cost more. The grinder did exactly what it says it will do, and I like that the most. The design is clean, and doesn't take up too much room. I like the way it stays on the countertop without moving like some grinders do when you use them, and feels strong enough, that I know it's going to last longer than the others I have purchased. It doesn't take over the kitchen, and yet, it's a real plus to the countertop. It looks good enough, that I will keep this one out, and not store it away like the others I have owned. Last, I used it tonight and did almost 3 pounds of coffee in no time at all. That is the real plus to this machine, it works well. It's Outstanding!

Was this review helpful? (84) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mystore6325
La Plata, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Glad I bought this
10/24/2008

Customer review by mrscoffee

5.0 stars 10/24/2008 by mrscoffee
by mrscoffee

Excellent coffee grinder. Stays on the counter and looks good sitting next to the coffee maker. Grinds well and is durable. Easy to use and clean. Just throw the bowl and lid into the dishwasher and that's it. The only reason I gave it 4 stars on features is because it isn't hands-free. Highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrscoffee
Salina, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Mr. Coffee Grinder
2/20/2010

Customer review by Birdleaf

4.0 stars 2/20/2010 by Birdleaf
by Birdleaf

This is the cutest little grinder. Looks nice on the counter and doesn't take up a lot of space. I use it only for grinding flax seeds and sesame seeds to put in protein shakes, and it does an outstanding job of grinding the seeds to powder, evenly, without leaving a bunch of unground seeds like my previous coffee grinder did. Also, I have not had any ground powder residue come out onto the counter when grinding; it has all stayed inside the jar and there was nothing to wipe up. I have to work with the unit to get all the powder out, though. Seeds are a little sticky, so I remove the jar, open the flap, and pour most of it out the pour spout. What is left inside and sticking to the sides, I have to remove the lid, use the manual "cleaning system" to move the remainder off the sides, pour out again, and repeat this about 2 more times to get most of the powder out. Cleanup is really easy if I immediately rinse out the jar and lid, then swipe a dishrag through the inside in soapy water. The dishrag has to move the "cleaning system" around in a circle while swiping the sides, or else you can't get underneath the "cleaning system" blades to get residue out. You really can't ever get "underneath" the blades, though. I am concerned about the long-term durability of the jar and lid. The grinder part with the motor will probably be fine, but the plastic jar and lid are extremely cheap and shoddily-made and look like the thin plastic on either would break extremely easily. Also, when putting the lid on the jar, or the jar onto the grinder, there are hang-ups where you have to kind of move the piece back and forth a little to "work" it into place. This also contributes to my concern of the longevity of these pieces. Overall, I think the price was really high for the cheapness of the quality, but there isn't a lot to choose from out there right now on quality-made grinders! This is probably one of the better ones right now, without paying a huge sum of money.

Was this review helpful? (35) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Birdleaf
Richmond, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good, while it lasts.
11/25/2011

Customer review by BrittLV

3.0 stars 11/25/2011 by BrittLV
by BrittLV

I had this coffee grinder for two years. I did not use it everyday, more like two days a week (on my weekends when I don't have to rush off). One month ago, the plastic guards inside of the chamber started to crack. One plastic piece fell off last week and then this morning, one of the guards completely broke off and got shredded up with the coffee. I tried to remove the little plastic-guard apparatus but you can't. It is only there to lock the lid on (still works without the plastic guards, just have to hold the lid down), so it is really useless as it just cracks and gets shredded in with the coffee. I tossed it. It served it's purpose for two years but seeing that I do not use it everyday, I would have expected a longer lifetime. It did grind the coffee up nicely. The only thing I am dissatisfied with is the life-span and the horribly-cheap housing. I think I will pay a bit more for a grinder with a steel housing, one that isn't plastic.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrittLV
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very nice and durable
5/6/2010

Customer review by Sushilove

5.0 stars 5/6/2010 by Sushilove
by Sushilove

I live in a family of 6 and we grind coffee 2 to 3 times a day with this grinder and it has lasted us 2 maybe even 3 years now.We bought a Cuisinart grinder that lasted only a year and broke;this one gets the job done and has withstood a lot.It's really great,I really recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sushilove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
After Owning 3, This Is It.
1/22/2010

Customer review by BuckeyeSpringsRanch

5.0 stars 1/22/2010 by BuckeyeSpringsRanch
by BuckeyeSpringsRanch

Am extremely satisfied with the grinder. I owned 2 previously (not this brand) and they were a mess to use. It seems like static electricity would build up in the previous ones and when you opened them some of the grinds would adhere to every surface they came close to. Began grinding at the store when I purchased more beans. Grinding at the store seemed to defeat the whole purpose, so I purchased the Mr Coff because it was cheap, and I could just throw it away if it did not work any better than the others. To my surprise, it works perfect. Not a mess like the others. As for what one other person said about having to scrape the coffee out from under the cutting blades, foreget it, tap it out and what stays, stays (very little anyway) I am so impresed with the grinder, I am buying one for my son in law. He loves my daughter and is great son in law and father, so I want to do right by him. If I didn't like him, I would buy him one like I have thrown away. I am not cheap, it just so happens that the good grinder is "inexpensive".

Was this review helpful? (17) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuckeyeSpringsRanch
Livermore, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Still running 7 months later
12/12/2009

Customer review by SCLM1

4.0 stars 12/12/2009 by SCLM1
by SCLM1

We use this practically everyday. It works great and has held up to constant use. Consumer Reports recommends it as an affordable grinder. If the chamber is still damp after washing the ground coffee will stick at the bottom but the sweeper gets it. I have used the measurement guide for two different coffee makers and it has been spot on. This is the first grinder that I have owned and I will always buy whole bean coffee now!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SCLM1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't Buy This Grinder!!!
2/15/2008

Customer review by inxain

1.0 stars 2/15/2008 by inxain
by inxain

Where do I start? The "Chambermaid" consists of three plastic bands that run up the inside of the chamber, and trap more coffee grinds than they clear. You can set the grinder for different amounts of coffee and coarseness, but you have to hold the button down until it is done. My old GE one was "set and forget". There are more places in this grinder to trap coffee grinds than anything I have ever seen before. Put it back on the shelf and keep looking. You'll thank me later.

Was this review helpful? (16) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
inxain
Plaistow, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Grinder for the Average Joe for his Joe
7/28/2009

Customer review by r100gs91

5.0 stars 7/28/2009 by r100gs91
by r100gs91

Received this as a gift 2 years ago. I figured it was a $50-60 grinder. but was blown away when I found out it was only $20. It works as advertised and easy to clean and the settings are easy to understand.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
r100gs91
Kansas City area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
JUNK
12/26/2008

Customer review by shopper1962j

1.0 stars 12/26/2008 by shopper1962j
by shopper1962j

I am very unhappy with this grinder, I plan to write to MR Coffee. It does not fully grind all the beans and comes apart in so many places if it is not lined up just so it wont work. I have been grinding my own beans for many years and this is the biggest waste of time and money I have ever seen in a coffee grinder

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopper1962j
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good grinder, did not last very long.
4/29/2014

Customer review by KernelMustard

4.0 stars 4/29/2014 by KernelMustard
by KernelMustard

This is the most precise blade grinder that I have ever used. It allows you to select the amount of coffee and how coarse to grind it and the grind time is adjusted accordingly. You press on the lid and the grinder automatically shuts off when it is done. It is surprisingly accurate and I use it for fine espresso and for a coarse grind for a coffee press. The numbers wore off pretty quickly, so I had to remember what each light meant when I changed the settings. The "chamber maid" system is a few plastic pieces that scrape the walls of the grinding chamber when you twist the lid, this is designed to keep coffee from sticking to the inside. It works very well, but, as with many of the other reviews, these scrapers all recently broke and now it makes a terrible noise when I grind coffee and little pieces of plastic break off into the grounds. I have owned this grinder for a little over a year and use it almost every day. I was impressed by the performance, but I am disappointed that it did not last longer.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KernelMustard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Choose another Grinder
1/10/2011

Customer review by NicYD

2.0 stars 1/10/2011 by NicYD
by NicYD

This grinder looks good on the outside, although it is broken on the inside. On my second time using it, the three plastic pieces that are inside the grinder snaped and plastic pieces where inside, so i had to throw it all away. Maybe it was just this grinder, but I would not recommend a grinder like this that has things inside that can be broken, buy one that has nothing inside, just a blade. Why would they make it this way...?

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NicYD
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Creative Grinder
10/26/2013

Customer review by Zapmaster

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by Zapmaster
by Zapmaster

I use this to grind fresh coffee beans every day. I love the twist off - easy pour spout. It works great and allows you to select a different variety of grinds settings. It's awesome! May buy another one for spices!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zapmaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice, but doesn't last
1/22/2009

Customer review by NDakman

1.0 stars 1/22/2009 by NDakman
by NDakman

This item was purchased just over 1 month ago and that's all it lasted. Value was about right, nice looking and ground well. One day we tried the machine again and nothing would light up. Customer Service for Mr. Coffee is a nightmare and service centers are few and far between

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NDakman
NE, ND
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not a Burr grinder!
4/1/2011

Customer review by NCresident

3.0 stars 4/1/2011 by NCresident
by NCresident

Unlike what the online descriptions say...this is a blade grinder...not a burr grinder!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NCresident
Elkhart, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
Still working...
4/29/2014

Customer review by Kayleighsgranny

5.0 stars 4/29/2014 by Kayleighsgranny
by Kayleighsgranny

I've had this grinder for about 8 years. I used it for a few years, then stopped grinding my coffee for a few years. Forgot I even had it. Still works perfectly. I usually hold the lid down a few times, I like a very fine grind. I was looking on here, to see if there was something "new and improved" that I might want. I did not see anything that impressed me enough. I would buy this again. If mine ever dies...Forgot how good fresh ground coffee is.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kayleighsgranny
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Would not recommend for spice seed grinding.
1/27/2014

Customer review by Ross4731

1.0 stars 1/27/2014 by Ross4731
by Ross4731

The manufacturer suggest not using the coffee grinder for spice seed (used to make humus). I used a similar coffee bean grinder for spice seed every two or three weeks. It lasted for about 20 years without any problem. I tried the Mr. Coffee grinder with spice seeds in spite of the manufacturers warning. Mr. coffee lasted for about 5 spice seed grindings, and ceased to work. You had to press the lid down to actuate the motor, but the motor did not turn on. I also agree with some other reviewers that the assembly of the several adjustable components was awkward (and time consuming) compared to other similarly priced units. Grinding seeds such as Flax Seeds and Sesame seeds releases oils which make the results gummy. I disassembled the unit to see if I could find the problem. The 170 watt motor seemed fine, but I think a component on the circuit board overheated as the motor slowed down when trying grind the viscous goop from the ground seeds. I'll try another manufacture's model and report on it's success.

Was this review helpful? (12) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ross4731
37354
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
It lasted all of 3 months.
12/4/2013

Customer review by FlamencoGuy

1.0 stars 12/4/2013 by FlamencoGuy
by FlamencoGuy

It's a piece of junk. This morning, after using it only once each day for about 3 months, the "Chamber Maid" cleaning system broke while grinding. I heard a horrible snap, and then multiple snaps after that (I did not realize what had happened). I shut it off, and what had happened was the "Chamber Maid" cleaning system was ground up with my beans. Nothing left of it but the ring at the top of the bowl. Forget this brand.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlamencoGuy
Northeast Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/23/2011

Customer review by sorcerero69

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by sorcerero69
by sorcerero69

I use the fine setting for my espresso machine, I have a pressurized portafilter and it works great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sorcerero69
Oneonta, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews