Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 67 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

67 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

67 reviews | 3 out of 5

46%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
15
1 stars
17
1-20 of 62 total reviews
46%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
no small bowl!!!! grrrr......
5/22/2009

Customer review by noopad

3.0 stars 5/22/2009 by noopad
by noopad

After owning a kitchen aid stand mixer for over 15 years- the motor went on it, so instead of spending $300 on a new one, I came across the sunbeam stand mixer in Wal-mart. I have to say, so far, I do not like it...it looks nice, but it should have come with the smaller bowl. I had to spend $30 extra to order it online-the larger bowl that is comes with- is not useful at all. the ingredients end up being too shallow, and the beaters can't reach them. It makes no sense at all. Had I known this, I would have just gone ahead and replaced my kitchen aid with another. The bowl spins, instead of locking into place, and it doesnt feel as heavy-duty as the kitchen-aid. you have to stand there and actually stir the ingredients, because the mechanism does not mix in the ingredients- so crazy!!! I tried to whip cream-there wasnt enough cream to reach the beaters. making pizza dough, the dough hooks could barely reach the dough....did anyoneelse have this experience? Does having the small bowl resolve this?

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
noopad
Would recommend to a friend? No
great buy
12/3/2007

Customer review by buf4rn

5.0 stars 12/3/2007 by buf4rn
by buf4rn

My mother owned a sunbeam mixer and when I saw this one I purchased it instead of the more expensive one I had planned to purchase. I bake cakes for friends as gifts and for my family. The design is streamlined, it's heavy duty and, if you are like me and love good quality at a good price then you will love it too. I have only had mine for a couple of weeks but in that time frame I have made a couple of cakes and used it to mix several other things. I am thrilled with this mixer and I would recommend it. The only con I found with this mixer is that the button used to lift it sticks sometimes, but other than that its perfect.

Was this review helpful? (36) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buf4rn
Moss Point, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
A Mixer that Doesn't Mix
3/1/2008

Customer review by MoMoShop

1.0 stars 3/1/2008 by MoMoShop
by MoMoShop

I have owned this mixer for over 2 years. It was a waste of money. A lot of people have commented that the tilt release and eject buttons are hard to press - I don't find that to be true with my mixer, but my problem is that when I begin to mix the ingredients, the batter spreads out to the walls of the bowl where the beaters can't reach it. A mixer is supposed to mix for you, but I end up having to stand there the whole time, manually feeding the batter into the beaters with a spatula while slowly controlling the speed of the spinning bowl. It would be much easier to use a $20 hand mixer than to try to use this $100 mixer-wannabe. I wish I would've known how disappointing this mixer would be before I spent my hard-earned money on it. Sunbeam should discontinue this faulty appliance.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MoMoShop
Kansas City, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
How did I ever live without it?
11/3/2008

Customer review by DeltaDawn77

4.0 stars 11/3/2008 by DeltaDawn77
by DeltaDawn77

I bought this mixer about 2 months ago when I had to make a cake for my friend's little girl. I wanted one for some time but knew that I couldn't afford the Kitchen Aid and wasn't ready to commit to spending over $200.00 for one. I found this one at Wal-Mart on sale and jumped at the chance to get it. Last year on my children's birthdays I made buttercream icing with my hand mixer. NEVER. WILL. I. DO. THAT. AGAIN!!!!! That was the most horrible baking experience I have ever had. After I got this and made the cake and buttercream, I don't know how I have managed to function without one for the last 10 years or so. I look at this one as a "stepping stone" to bigger and better stand mixers! If it tears up in the next year or so, then I've gotten my money's worth! Yes, I do wish it had more attachments, etc but hey, like I said, this one is my stepping stone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeltaDawn77
MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
It has it's "issues"
12/24/2007

Customer review by ProductReviews

3.0 stars 12/24/2007 by ProductReviews
by ProductReviews

My mom was in town for Christmas, and we discovered my old Sunbeam was broken when we went to make cookies. Ran to Walmart and found this one-thought it seemed like a reasonable deal. It worked OK--got the job done, but the release button broke before we used it once. You have to press a button to lift the head/spinners out of the bowl, and when I went to press it, the top didn't budge--after messing with it, the entire button popped off..and we were searching the floor for the button and spring. Ended up finding it easier to use the release without the button there at all! We returned it to the store--for $100, you shouldn't have a defective product before you even use it! All else seemed to function well, and would make this mixer an OK deal..I just don't like to keep broken items, however minor the break.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProductReviews
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Extremely Disapointed
12/3/2008

Customer review by dode

1.0 stars 12/3/2008 by dode
by dode

While I do love the appearance of this mixer I was very unhappy with both the quality and the preformance. I have used this mixer 10 times and after about use 3 I had difficulty getting the release button that controls the top tilt of the mixer to work. By use 6 the beaters were not staying latched correctly while in use even when installed correctly following the company instructions. By use 8 a chunk of the joint where the mixer pivots on top fell into my batter. Today after use 10 the mixer is completly unuseable. The locking mechanism for the top tilt will not release and there is no way to remove the beaters. Even in the first few uses it was just not a great mixer. I have had much better results from a $20 hand mixer. I grew up using a sunbeam mixer similar to this and was so very surprised by the poor preformance of this mixer. As an avid baker I was extremely careful to follow the manufacturer's instructions when using this mixer and treated it very gently. I will not buy another sunbeam if this is the quality they are producing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dode
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
an old standby
7/2/2007

Customer review by OjaiGirl

5.0 stars 7/2/2007 by OjaiGirl
by OjaiGirl

I've always owned a Sunbeam mixmaster since I started cooking back in the 1950's. I'm so grateful this product is still available, it's just great! (and I think it is much better than its main rival).

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OjaiGirl
Ojai, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not as expected...
2/7/2009

Customer review by CookandBaker55

2.0 stars 2/7/2009 by CookandBaker55
by CookandBaker55

After having passed down my 25-yr old heavy-duty KitchenAid mixer to my daughter, I, too, purchased this Sunbeam mixer because I use to have one just like it when growing up. Unfortunately, this new one turned out to be nothing like the original. The first time I used it, the whole machine sounded and felt like it was going to fall apart; plus, I also had the problem of the beaters not mixing the batter as they should have (and yes, I DID have the bowl(s) in the correct positioning for their sizes). I tried using the mixer on different surfaces, counters, etc., but still always had the same problem, even after tightening any screws or anything else that I thought would help. Finally, I just gave up and it's been sitting on a shelf in my laundry room for the past year because I had somehow managed to lose the receipt. I'd be too embarrassed to even give it away, its that bad! When a smaller version of my previous KitchenAid work-horse came on-sale, I bought one and have been happy with it ever since. Just wish I had gone that route in the first place.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CookandBaker55
Glens Falls, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Big disappointment...
12/28/2007

Customer review by Irene

1.0 stars 12/28/2007 by Irene
by Irene

I received this stand up mixer by my son as a Christmas gift. He knows how much I love to bake and how so addicted to the Food Network I am that he thought this would come in handy. Well, when I opened the gift I was ecstatic. I loved it.... until I used it. The tilt release button is too hard to push and the eject button as well is too hard to push. I used it to make cinnamon rolls and buttermilk bisquits and I eventually just had to finish the kneading process by hand. While kneading, it doesnt get all the way to the sides of the bowl, so I had to do it manually. Overall, I just wasted my money. I think the price is too expensive for something that does a poor job. I'm going to take it back and exchange it for a Kitchen Aid. For anyone who loves to bake/ cook as much as I do, I wouldnt recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Irene
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Mixer
11/24/2007

Customer review by GeorgiaPch

5.0 stars 11/24/2007 by GeorgiaPch
by GeorgiaPch

I've had this mixer for about 6 months now and it is fabulous. I like it better than my mom's Kitchenaide. One review says that it does not have a beater release, but in fact it does have one. My husband & I use this mixer A LOT. I would highly recommend it. It's a great price for a good stand mixer.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeorgiaPch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Sunbeam is not the same anymore!
12/19/2010

Customer review by sukibabe

2.0 stars 12/19/2010 by sukibabe
by sukibabe

I bought this mixer 5 years ago from my local Wal-Mart(that's when they still carried them in store), I didn't like it from day 1, but the husband didn't like the Kitchen-Aid's price tag! I had a Sunbeam before, bought back in 1972, they must have been still good then! It finally gave up, so I was in the market! I took it out to make chocolate chip cookies and the bowl was rocking so bad that I had to hold it! I had tried the dough hooks when I first got it, then laughed and put them back in the drawer! The other reviewers are right, do yourself a favor and buy a Kitchen-Aid, with at least 575 watts of power, I just got mine from Amazon and I am in Mixer Heaven! However, if all you want to do is make box cake mixes, this is okay, just have your spatula ready! The only redeeming qualities this mixer has, is that you can't mix up what slot to put the beaters in, as they are color coded! !

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sukibabe
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Decent, but could be better
6/25/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 6/25/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Not exactly what I expected it to be. When mixing you pretty much have to be there to help it along. Once you turn it on it spreads out most of the mixture to the sides of the bowl. The tilt button on mine is also very hard to push, but the beater release button isn't too bad. It is much better than a hand mixer, but if you use a mixer a lot or want a mixer than can truly be a stand mixer, I'd take a look at the KitchenAid Stand Mixer.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
You get what you pay for
12/10/2007

Customer review by neonhapy98

2.0 stars 12/10/2007 by neonhapy98
by neonhapy98
Walmart associate

I was incredibly disappointed in this product. Everyone seems to love it but apparently none of them have ever used a high quality mixer before. The beater release sticks, the tilt button is very difficult to press, and if you want to mix anything thick like cookie dough, forget about it. It always kicks all of it to the edge of the bowl where the beaters cant even reach it and when it doesnt do that, it doesnt have enough power to spin the bowl. So what you get is a big, giant mess that is half mixed, meaning youll still have to properly mix it by hand. I will never buy a sunbeam again, kitchenaids for me only, high quality and worth the extra money. Always check reviews, and dont waste your time with this mixer.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
neonhapy98
Temple, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Dont expect too much
12/15/2010

Customer review by NotMyKitchenAid

2.0 stars 12/15/2010 by NotMyKitchenAid
by NotMyKitchenAid

Okay so heres the thing...I asked for a kitchen aid mixer...I got this one instead. So I thought hey its a stand mixer maybe not the one I had really wanted but I am just happy to have a stand mixer!! Well was I WRONG!! I would rather not have a mixer at all then use this one! It should not come with anything other than the beaters and they should include some type of spoon so your stuff gets mixed at all!! This is not a very good mixer at all! I ended up buying the Kitchen Aid myself and let me tell you thats a mixer!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NotMyKitchenAid
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Absolute Garbage
11/5/2010

Customer review by formerfoodie

1.0 stars 11/5/2010 by formerfoodie
by formerfoodie

OK, I really wanted the kitchen aid mixer, but when I saw this on sale, I thought I'd give it a try since I assumed a mixer was a mixer. I could not have been more wrong. First, when I got it home, I noticed it had been opened and there were no instructions. Probably because the original owner returned it like I did. It comes with dough hooks and a knead setting, but I can't figure out why. It doesn't have the power or ability to knead dough. In fact, I couldn't even get it to the stage where I could handle the dough, and the bowl was vibrating violently even though it was very soft, and nowhere near the kneading stage. It's fine if you want a 2 inch area of liquid mixed, but if you want to mix anything in it, you have to scrape it constantly, and try to "push" the ingredients toward the terrible beaters. Why bother? In fact, this thing creates more work than it saves, and is the single worst appliance I have ever purchased. I took it back and forked out the money for the Kitchen Aid. Wow! What a difference. Now, there's a mixer! Don't be cheap like me, get the Kitchen Aid, and you'll never regret it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
formerfoodie
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Mixer wanna be
2/11/2009

Customer review by pooderdooder

1.0 stars 2/11/2009 by pooderdooder
by pooderdooder

I thought this would mix anything and be easy, wrong. I have to stand there and scrape everything back through the beaters. It does do a good job kneading dough, but I don't know if it's any less work because of the scraping. Buy the kitchaid with the rotating beaters these are stationairy and a hand mixer is better than this thing.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pooderdooder
Lehr, ND
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Sunbeam Heritage Series Stand Mixer
12/7/2007

Customer review by ilovetshop

5.0 stars 12/7/2007 by ilovetshop
by ilovetshop

I love this mixer. I have never owned a Subeam Stand Mixer, considered buying a Kitchenaid Stand Mixer, but chose this one instead, because of price. Glad I did, very pleased. I also bake alot, especially around the holidays. Good mixer, good price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ilovetshop
MT. Airy, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sunbeam Heritabe Series Stand Mixer
7/30/2007

Customer review by Sunflowermist

5.0 stars 7/30/2007 by Sunflowermist
by Sunflowermist

A very helpful,durable product. Sunbeam has always been a name you can trust. The only drawback with this mixer is that it does not have a beater release which makes removing the baters a little messy. For the price this mixer is a great value!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sunflowermist
Terrell,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
JUNK!
12/12/2010

Customer review by wendy17063

1.0 stars 12/12/2010 by wendy17063
by wendy17063

I had this mixer for about 8 months. I USED it about a dozen times. The gears that run the beaters, are plastic. They stripped and the mixer became useless. I wouldn't suggest this mixer to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wendy17063
Milroy, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
A great easy helpful product very quiet
1/20/2011

Customer review by PYTME

4.0 stars 1/20/2011 by PYTME
by PYTME

I was looking several months for a stand mixer with a great price, easy to use and clean, and something that would get the job done without a hassle nor with a lot of button and attachments. The product is also easy to store. Sunbean was the right product for my family and me with it's great price! So, Pow pow pow to Sunbean #1

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PYTME
Country Club Hills, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews