Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 50 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
I want better than "OK"
9/5/2013

Customer review by huntingfordeals

2.0 stars 9/5/2013 by huntingfordeals
by huntingfordeals

My family received this toy to try for free as a part of a campaign to get user opinions on new products. My daughter was the first to test it out and will be 4 in November. The controls were easy enough to figure out after a bit of play time and some help from my husband and I. The toy is definitely childproof and sturdily constructed. My daughter loves the projection feature and the fact that you can customize pictures with sound effects and funny faces but the biggest challenge, which those good things cannot completely outweigh, is the extremely low resolution of the camera. You have to snap photos up close and be in VERY bright lighting in order to see what you’ve taken a picture of. This camera does not work well in low lighting and in some outside lighting. Perhaps because my child is younger than 7 (the toy is made for 3-7 year olds) she doesn't mind that she takes pictures of people and things that don't always show up clearly on screen or in projection mode. She seems just happy enough to have a camera of her own. Additionally, the camera includes an upload function but no USB cable is included with the product. In general, I don’t feel there’s anything extra special about the camera that would make me want to buy one or personally recommend it to a friend with young children.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
huntingfordeals
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for Kids!!!
8/28/2013

Customer review by MamaWilley

5.0 stars 8/28/2013 by MamaWilley
by MamaWilley

We just received one of these Showcam Cameras and my kids won't put it down! They are running around taking pictures of EVERYTHING and ANYTHING. Love that it is kid friendly, very simple to use and great for small hands. My kids love taking photos and I am always nervous to give them the camera for fear of dropping it. This camera is great for them to run around and take photos and I don't have to worry about them dropping it and breaking it. One downfall, the pictures aren't 100% crystal clear, but then again, it's not a $1,000 DSLR Camera.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamaWilley
Anaheim, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The kids love this camera!
9/12/2013

Customer review by lancechad2000

4.0 stars 9/12/2013 by lancechad2000
by lancechad2000

Ever since I received and opened the package, my kids have absolutely loved this camera. They love everything about it. It is a bit big for their little hands, but the large buttons make it wonderful for them. They love adding effects to pictures of everything from the dog, to their baby brother to mom and dad and even each other. Their favorite part is turning off all the lights and flipping the switch to projector mode and showing mom and dad all the pictures they have taken recently. The ONLY con with this camera is it did not come with the USB cable to upload the pictures to the computer. I didn't know there was a product out there that didn't come with a USB cable. Very poor decision on Playskool's part to not include the cable.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lancechad2000
Akron, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/29/2013

Customer review by LW2122

5.0 stars 8/29/2013 by LW2122
by LW2122

My 4 year old son loves this camera. It is so easy to use and to learn how to use. He loves taking all different pictures with the animation and projecting them on the walls. He gets so excited to show us all the pictures he has taken. Awesome camera for children. Fun and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LW2122
New york, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Overall, a great product.
9/14/2013

Customer review by LJ12342224

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by LJ12342224
by LJ12342224

I received one Playskool Showcam for my kids to try and to see how they felt about the product. My kids have always tried to use my digital camera but because of how young they are they just aren't able to get the hang of it. Our first impression: After we got the package and take it out of the box, all three of my children are thrilled and bickering amongst each other on who gets to try it first, my 4 year old immediately goes to get 4 AA batteries so we can see how it works. The Pros: It is very kid friendly for children of all ages. I have a 5, 4, and 2 year old and they are all able to edit the pictures with silly effects and project and take pictures. The button are big and they are very obviously marked to show what they do on the camera. It stores up to 1000 pictures! This is amazing for a children's toy! On day one my children had taken over 300 pictures of random things in our home so I am very glad it holds quite a few pictures. There are more than 50 special effects. And they are all silly and perfect for young children that love taking pictures of things to make silly. There are hates, animal ears, pirate stuff, ect. You can save, print, and email pictures to send to all the people you know! The projector is another one of my favorite features, every morning and evening my children have a slideshow and show me all the pictures they have taken together. The Cons: It didn't come with the usb cable, but I have to say I will be purchasing it to send pictures to friends and family. The quality isn't as good as a standard digital camera. But I have to say it is a toy so it is kind of expected. Overall this is an amazing product and keeps all three of my children entertained for hours, it is amazing for days where the weather is bad and the children cannot go outside. Me and my husband just adore seeing them get so excited to show us all the pictures they have taken. Thanks so much and we will use it for years to come I am sure.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LJ12342224
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fun 2 in 1 camera and projector
8/28/2013

Customer review by jcward81

5.0 stars 8/28/2013 by jcward81
by jcward81

Bring out your child's inner photographer with PlaySkool's ShowCam! The durable, easy to use camera is perfect for children 3-7. The camera features large colored buttons perfect for little hands. The product allows your child to snap a picture and customize it with over 50 fun efffects and sounds! Your child will love this camera!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jcward81
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Kids love it
8/27/2013

Customer review by Nistewart07

4.0 stars 8/27/2013 by Nistewart07
by Nistewart07

Kids were all over this when I got it. At first they were fighting over it but then they took their turns. I have a 5 year old and 3 year old twins who all love to take pictures. There is a funny face feature that they look and some of them make noises. It was really easy to use for them to learn. Projection is a little fuzzy and the screen could be a little bigger but overall it is awesome.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nistewart07
Townville, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great job PlaySkool!!
9/3/2013

Customer review by JessiLenny

4.0 stars 9/3/2013 by JessiLenny
by JessiLenny

This was a great toy for both my 4 year old and my 9 year old - although my 9 year old was too advanced for it. My 4 year old took it with him to my oldests football game and took pictures of everything from the players on the field to the fans in the stands. He couldn't wait for to hop in bed with us on Sunday morning to show off all of the pictures he took - on the ceiling! What a cool product for him to be able to play with. It has sounds and funny hats or outfits to add your face to. It's very durable. The only downside I found (from an adult point of view) was that the picture quality wasn't all that great and it had to be very light in a room for the picture to turn out. Neither of the kids cared about that! Great camera and I would recommend it to the parents looking for a durable, fun gift for their kiddo!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JessiLenny
CR, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great and easy to learn and use my grandson loves
9/4/2013

Customer review by Seminolwin

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by Seminolwin
by Seminolwin

This not only got here a day early but since not one WalMart in my area knew what I was talking about glad there is walmart.com. You made my grandsons birthday a great one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Seminolwin
Red Bluff California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for a toddler
1/1/2014

Customer review by chrystal284

4.0 stars 1/1/2014 by chrystal284
by chrystal284

We knew going into the purchase this was not going to have high quality photos; it was for our 2.5 year old son so for pure entertainment. He loves it and it's durable! To see the photos through the projector, be sure its dark and pointed closely at a light colored wall. Its definitely worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chrystal284
Maple Valley, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Easy-to-Use Toy!
9/2/2013

Customer review by Katasia

4.0 stars 9/2/2013 by Katasia
by Katasia

My daughter really loves this camera. She has been able to get the hang of it very quickly and we LOVE the projector feature. Nothing like turning off the lights and seeing the great photos she's been able to capture being displayed on the wall or on the ceiling. While we have not downloaded any of her photos onto the computer yet, we are a bit disappointed at just how incredibly blurry the photos are all around when viewing them and even the way it looks when shooting the picture. Other than the blurriness issue, her little 5 year old self really enjoys it! Perfect for her age!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katasia
Providence, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good but could be great!
9/23/2013

Customer review by Mommie2twotoddlers

3.0 stars 9/23/2013 by Mommie2twotoddlers
by Mommie2twotoddlers

The camera is actually really easy to learn how to operate. I do wish there were words to reinforce the buttons since I'm teaching son to read. The sound effects are great and he really loved those. However, the screen is really grainy and the camera doesn't have a flash so you need a lot of light to take a decent picture. I'd think most folks would pay a bit more to get a higher quality screen so you can actually see decent images without uploading them. All in all, easy to use, kept the kiddos entertained but could be a really great toy with a few tweaks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mommie2twotoddlers
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Blurred screen.
7/21/2014

Customer review by Jan9999

1.0 stars 7/21/2014 by Jan9999
by Jan9999

bad product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jan9999
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
playskool showcam
12/18/2013

Customer review by reviewerone

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by reviewerone
by reviewerone

this item is for my autistic grandson. after opening it he immediately tried to figure it out and after we showed him how to take pictures he didn't want to put it down. he was reviewing the pictures and projecting them on the wall. great item for anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewerone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Preparing Photogs at an early age.
10/7/2013

Customer review by hkm424

4.0 stars 10/7/2013 by hkm424
by hkm424

Upon receiving the Playskool Showcam my original impression was amazement that this toddler camera had so much potential to be the new "it" toy with its vast array of functions. I was a tad bit worried that it would be too tech savvy for my 4yr old that only had point and shoot camera experience. He however picked it up and learned all the functions within about 30 min of playing with it. The camera was easy to hold in his little hands and the screen was brightly lit, he went crazy with taking pictures of anything and everything in his path. His favorite part of the camera though is the projector function where he could show off his work to everyone! A few days in he dropped it, only about 2ft drop ontop the kitchen floor. From that point on the screen, to see what you are taking pictures of, turned into a dark shaded grid looking pattern and makes it very hard to see through unless its in a brightly lit room. All other functions still work perfectly fine and it still captures the pictures with as much quality as before. In the end i wish it came with a neck strap to help keep it from the easy "oops" slip that this age group is known for. I would still recommend this toy to everyone with a photo crazed kid, after all if it saves your cell phone and/or your camera from being damaged its well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hkm424
Alvin, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Definitely makes the kids giggle!
9/19/2013

Customer review by SammysGirl08

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by SammysGirl08
by SammysGirl08

We received this camera for free through BzzAgent to test and review! My kids haven't put it down! They LOVE it! I can guarantee hours of fun! They can add silly things to the pictures (Yes, yes. Mom has a mustache and Dad is a cat) and project it on the wall. What's NOT to love about it for a toddler and a kindergartener? Pros: Durable. Entertaining. Cons: Not the best quality picture. Expensive! To be clear, I would not pay $50+ (some retailers sell for $70! Yikes!) for this toy only because of the quality of the picture. Would I pay $35? Absolutely! $40? Ehhh..... I may actually find this on a Black Friday deal for birthday gifts throughout the year! We have only had this camera for several weeks, but I think it's safe to say it's pretty durable. Even the most delicate kids still drop their toys. This seems to have no damage from normal use. Plus, like I said, this toy is cool! Lots of fun! Buy this one! :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SammysGirl08
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hours of Fun!!
9/5/2013

Customer review by chloejinx

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by chloejinx
by chloejinx

Our 5 and 3 year old daughters and our 7 year old son are all enjoying this really awesome toy! They absolutely loved all the funny sounds and the animated images. As with all children's cameras, it does require very good light to produce a good quality picture, but this seems to be much better than the fisher price camera we have. One of the best feature is the simplest: the carrying strap!! After taking the photographs, the greatest thing so far (besides the wigs and other funny add ons) is the fact that we can project the pictures on the wall! Now, as we all know, 5 year-olds are not know for their patience, so this was great as compared to downloading it to the computer and having to wait! Plus, they are able to project the pictures anywhere they like: their bedrooms, kitchen and yes even outside! We received this toy from BzzAgent.com about two weeks, but it seems to be sturdy, as I would expect with a Playskool toy. So far it is holding up well, as the 3 year old has dropped it several times!! The photo quality is not bad, about cell phone quality from 2010ish. I do not know how long the batteries will last, nor how many pictures it will hold: we have not had to change batteries or empty the camera yet and has been used every day! This is the perfect camera for children: durable and entertaining! WE LOVE IT!!! #GotItFree

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chloejinx
Westerville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to use, easy to create!
9/10/2013

Customer review by ahogan

5.0 stars 9/10/2013 by ahogan
by ahogan

My toddler loves this camera. She fed one free from Bzz Agent to try out. I would recommend this to anyone with a toddler. She learned how to use it other matter of an hour. The projection feature is adorable to be able to showcase their work. This is also the cheapest that I've seen it. A definite gift idea!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ahogan
Parish, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
We Love it!!
10/8/2013

Customer review by CardioWarrior

5.0 stars 10/8/2013 by CardioWarrior
by CardioWarrior

My little princess thought this was the coolest gift ever! It holds her attention and makes her so happy!! She shows off her handy work as much as possible and I must say some of the things she creates are very impressive. What's more impressive is how long it holds her attention. I honestly didn't think there was any such thing. I am excited she has this and all of her friends love it too. If you are looking for a great Christmas Gift look no further.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CardioWarrior
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Great for toddlers!
9/10/2014

Customer review by luvmyhotrods

5.0 stars 9/10/2014 by luvmyhotrods
by luvmyhotrods

This product is everything it says it is! Easy to use, tough construction that can handle little ones drops, and thru love the projector! Only bad side is the pics are pretty blurry. The manual says this is only when reviewing or projecting pics and when uploaded are a lot more clear. My kids are happy with the image tho.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvmyhotrods
North Vernon, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews