Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 67 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

67 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

67 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
12
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 stars
15
1-20 of 66 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
1/13/2013

Customer review by Yarnladydp

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by Yarnladydp
by Yarnladydp
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased it for my hardwood floors dining room and kitchen, works great and light enough not get out of breath!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yarnladydp
Shawnee,ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/9/2013

Customer review by 500cantfindaname

3.0 stars 3/9/2013 by 500cantfindaname
by 500cantfindaname
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Suction is great. Very light. I use it for my kitchen & bathrooms, so I don't have to drag out & set up my Kirby. The motor is pretty quiet, however, it gets very hot even when running it for a short time. I would not recommend this product if you plan on using it to vacuum your whole house. It is good for small areas.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
500cantfindaname
NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So Impressed!
6/25/2013

Customer review by woodfloor

5.0 stars 6/25/2013 by woodfloor
by woodfloor
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received the vaccum by mail order. It was easy to put together only a couple of connections and it was ready to go. Couldn't believe the job this vaccum was doing compared to our previous one and this was half the price. It has two settings wood floor and power brush. We have a lot of wood flooring. My wife and I were saying to each other, "you won't believe this, watch this". It would suck up along the floor trim 2" away. You don't have to bang it into the trim to get all the dust away from the trim. Then to have the power brush make it simple to go from wood floors to carpet areas. We are so impressed we tell everyone that comes to visit. We have a lot of people coming through our door so I guess that's why we needed a good vaccum. I'm shocked that it performs so well at such an affordale price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
woodfloor
Ferndale, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Great on Hardwood
5/17/2016

Customer review by B G V

4.0 stars 5/17/2016 by B G V
by B G V

I bought my first Flair with the installation of hardwood floors 10 years ago. It was the perfect machine to clean floor, under furniture, and small area rugs. It lasted almost 7 years. Unfortunately, the nozzle connection cracked. I was able to find another on line Same problem with the nozzle occurred 3 years later as I was putting it away. I wish I could replace the broken piece. Great machine for the price. I wish I could fix it.

B G V
Illinois, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Light,easy to maneuver.
5/10/2016

Customer review by caril

4.0 stars 5/10/2016 by caril
by caril

I bought this particular stick vacuum because Consumer Report gave it a good rating. It worked very well until my two grandchildren used it, dropped it, etc. I have been searching for the store where I could purchase another and all do not carry this product anymore ($49.99). I am 73 years old and can't maneuver a heavy and cumbersome cleaner anymore, so I will be making another purchase through Hoovers website, next ss check.

caril
Massachusetts, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't live without one!!!
5/13/2016

Customer review by Sparkie

5.0 stars 5/13/2016 by Sparkie
by Sparkie

I bought me one and loved it soo much I got one for my Daughter and Daughter-in-law. It is so light, goes under everything. I don't have much carpet but if you have hard wood floors or not much carpet you will love it. Don't get me wrong, it works great on carpet but much better for hard floors.

Sparkie
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/23/2013

Customer review by NaGiNa

5.0 stars 2/23/2013 by NaGiNa
by NaGiNa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great vacuum with a lot of power for rugged areas as well as bare floors.....love it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NaGiNa
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Loved it then Hated it
10/20/2014

Customer review by chapchap

1.0 stars 10/20/2014 by chapchap
by chapchap

This vacuum was a dream come true the first few months. I have 3 short haired dogs, mostly hardwood floors with "thinish" area oriental rugs scattered about. It picked up perfectly on both floors and rugs - quiet, the power nozzle was just powerful enough to pick up the hair but not too powerful to suck up the rug itself. Plus it was so easy to pull out of the closet and go! I rarely used my expensive $600 Sebo cannister anymore. Then, I lost a rubber wheel. Then the other rubber wheel went. Then the power brush started dying sporadically, making an odd whistling noise. Before long the power brush died altogether. This all happened within the second 6 months. VERY disappointed. I"m too busy to take it anywhere to get fixed, and frankly it was relatively inexpensive to begin with. I would much rather pay MORE up front for a quality product and have it last.

Comment from Giselle - 10/22/2014

Hi chapchap, this is not good to hear. You should not have any problems within 6 months of ownership. We want to help make this right. You will receive a private email shortly for better assistance.

chapchap
Biddeford Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
I so loved my Flair!
8/26/2014

Customer review by Beleanorstar

4.0 stars 8/26/2014 by Beleanorstar
by Beleanorstar

I bought this vacuum two years ago and this week I dropped the vacuum and the clasp around the powered nozzle broke off. I AM DEVASTED. I tried in vain to replace the powered nozzle. I love HOOVER so I called the customer line at least 5 times and some of reps helped me out. I have a small apartment but need a vacuum that is powerful but small. I need a vacuum as I have a toddler and there is constant clean up needed for my floors and area rug. I miss my FLAIR. After going back and forth, I decided to buy the Hoover Air Steerable Bagless Upright. This my first review and usually I am never so passionate about anything but being without a vacuum is rough! I am not ready to throw away my Flair. I am hoping the local Vacuum replacement store as the piece but in the meantime I will wait for the "Hoover Air Steerable Bagless Upright"

Beleanorstar
New York, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Plastic head fell off
3/10/2016

Customer review by janie29

2.0 stars 3/10/2016 by janie29
by janie29

Liked it at first because it's lightweight and doesn't take up much space. After a year and half, the head fell off probably because of the plastic quality. Tried everything I can to stick the head back(duct tape, youtube videos) but it's not working. Now it's useless.

Comment from Karissa - 3/11/2016

Hi janie29! Oh no, that doesn't look too good. This looks like something one of our service centers may need to take a look at. To locate a service center in your area please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We're here for you!

janie29
Boston, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Liked it initially but....
10/13/2014

Customer review by nancyk

2.0 stars 10/13/2014 by nancyk
by nancyk

I bought this vacuum for my daughter to use in her college dorm room on the short pile area rug. It did a good job initially, was light and compact and stored well in a small space (though had to be careful or it would tip over easily when propped against wall). It even did well on the tile floor at the edge of the room and under the bed. The motor and suction are working but the plastic neck that attaches to the power nozzle snapped off. We have tried to secure it with duct tape but it won't hold. Not a good design. I had hoped she would get a few years of use out of this with the minimal vacuuming that she does but it has been sitting in our basement. I did not see any replacement parts on the Hoover website and honestly don't know how you could fix this poor design.

Comment from John - 10/14/2014

Hi NancyK, That's not the Hoover quality we pride ourselves in. We are sending you an email to try and make this right. Thanks!

nancyk
groton, ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Good little vacuum
2/13/2016

Customer review by Puffy

5.0 stars 2/13/2016 by Puffy
by Puffy

I love my little Hoover Flair! Great for quick, small jobs when you don't feel like getting the "big guns" out. It also goes under furniture to get "dust bunnies" more easily than larger vacuums because it swivels and will get almost completely flat.

Puffy
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
over heating
2/18/2016

Customer review by yosh46

1.0 stars 2/18/2016 by yosh46
by yosh46

initially worked just fine and I was happy with the purchase. now it overheats frequently and the suction is not as strong as previous

Comment from Kenya - 2/22/2016

Hi yosh46! With regular maintenance your Flair shouldn’t overheat. Overheating is caused by a blockage in the air path. We have some tips to get your Hoover back running like new. Try this: 1. Disconnect the floor nozzle from the body. Using a grabber tool or something similar, remove any obstructions found there. 2. Remove the filter from the dirt cup. Brush the surface of the filter to clean of clinging litter. Rinse the filter under warm running water to clean and allow 24 hours to air dry. 3. Inspect the final filter located on the side of the cleaner body. If the filter is dirty it will need to be replaced. For best performance we recommend replacing the filters about once a year. The primary filter is available here: http://bit.ly/20QDt5d and the secondary filter here: http://bit.ly/1WE0Pdp. That should do it!

yosh46
Levittown, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
read the manual
12/21/2014

Customer review by Katia

3.0 stars 12/21/2014 by Katia
by Katia

After seven years and the vacuum falling apart in stages, I can't fix it anymore. Three years ago one wheel fell off. Two years ago it started overheating and the vacuum would stop but the power nozzle still run. Last year the head broke off but I taped it. Now the tape won't hold and I need a new one. I read the manual yesterday and I think the overheating comes from not emptying the two "final" filters on the vacuum body. Today I cleaned those filters and it ran fine until the head fell off and I couldn't get the tape to hold. BUT I had no trouble the first five years and love that it has a long cord and a low head. Yes, I want another one.

Katia
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
2nd one that has broken
12/25/2015

Customer review by bcoble

2.0 stars 12/25/2015 by bcoble
by bcoble

I remember when a Hoover vac would last for years. This is the 2nd Flair I've bought that has broken at the swivel joint! It just snapped, and now the head is dangling from a wire~useless.

Comment from Joscelyn - 12/26/2015

Hi bcoble! Your Hoover Flair should stand up to the test of time! The good news is, replacement parts are always available here: http://bit.ly/1J9KXO3. But in your case, you may want to bring the unit into a service center for repair. We have plenty of authorized Hoover Service locations here: http://hoover.com/locator/. If you have further questions, we're always available on Facebook, twitter @HooverUSA, or can be reached at 1-800-944-9200. Thank you!

bcoble
Ocala, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
6/5/2013

Customer review by ndd4

1.0 stars 6/5/2013 by ndd4
by ndd4

I had two of these that with each, just after the one-year warranty expired, I began to have problems. In both cases, the head broke off. Each had also been overheating and you had to turn it off and wait 10 minutes or so before it would start again. It's a shame became it has higher amps than most stick vacuums and worked well for awhile. Hoover products used to be very reliable but something has gone wrong in quality control. This item is just not made to last beyond the one year warranty. I figured the first one was just an anomaly...but when it happened with the one I bought as a replacement, I knew it was a generic problem.

Comment from Ian - 6/5/2013

Hi ND44, we know that has to be upsetting but it sounds like an easy fix. We're reaching out to you via e-mail to see if we can't make this right. Thanks so much!

ndd4
Faber, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Don't buy this product
6/9/2014

Customer review by cookie

1.0 stars 6/9/2014 by cookie
by cookie

I purchased this product about 10 months ago and I loved it, at first. After using it sparingly for about a month hair got jammed around the roller and I had to have it repaired. I was told to try not to use it to pick up long hair cause it would happen again. But that's what a vacuum is supposed to do. After not using it for about 4 months (it's at the shore house) I used it a couple of time and while vacuuming, it started to make a whirling sound and stopped when using it on bare floors. I let it rest a bit and started it again. It would turn on, with the whirling sound, but not when pressed for carpet - nothing!

cookie
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Disappointed
12/6/2015

Customer review by Michele newton

3.0 stars 12/6/2015 by Michele newton
by Michele newton

We had this 2 years and the cnnector nozzle broke and cannot get another one Very cheaply made and we can,t get a part

Comment from Kenya - 12/8/2015

Hi Michele newton! We understand it’s frustrating that the nozzle is no longer in production. The Flair has actually been discontinued for quite some time. We want to do something to help you out so we’re sending you a private email to further assist. Thanks!

Michele newton
Canonsburg pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not good
9/27/2013

Customer review by DaisyLu1

2.0 stars 9/27/2013 by DaisyLu1
by DaisyLu1

I bought two of these, because I loved the power nozzle on a lightweight vacuum. It really did an excellent job picking up fine hair and dirt on carpets and floors; however, after using it a while, the power nozzle started to scream then finally stopped working altogether. The filter is dirty to handle as everything sticks to the fabric, I think making a bag for it would be more sanitary. It is an excellent idea, and I'm really sad they broke down, because I love the machine, but it needs a lot of improvements. I would buy another one if Hoover improved this machine and made it to last.

Comment from Ian - 9/27/2013

Hi Tootie, if the power nozzle no longer works, that would suggest that it may have been jammed with hair and other debris (which can seize the brush up). Be sure to unjam the brushroll if that is the case. It's also good to clean the filter between uses for the best performance. Let us know if you need any more help. We're here for you.

DaisyLu1
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Flair- Broken Power Head Connector
10/16/2015

Customer review by Surfing 1950

4.0 stars 10/16/2015 by Surfing 1950
by Surfing 1950

Hi Hoover. Don't remember when I bought it, but I think I've had my Flair for about 4-6 years now. I use it for mostly hard floors and runners. Works pretty darn good. Unfortunately the connection at the power head broke. A common problem apparently, with the part not available. Is there a solution to this issue?

Comment from Joscelyn - 10/16/2015

Hi Surfing 1950! We're so very sorry to hear this has happened, but unfortunately the part is not available and the Hoover Flair has been out of production for sometime. The good news is that the vacuum may be able to be repaired at one of our local Hoover Service centers, find a location here: http://bit.ly/1utN4DL or you can check out the collection of our versatile stick vacs via this link: http://bit.ly/1KBWZQG. We have faith you'll indeed find something! Let us know if you have more questions, thanks!

Surfing 1950
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews