Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 369 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

369 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

369 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
202
4 stars
98
3 stars
17
2 stars
14
1 stars
38
1-20 of 367 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 367 total reviews
1-20 of 367 reviews
Disappointing - Loses Shape Very Quickly
1/13/2014

Customer review by dlaw365

1.0 stars 1/13/2014 by dlaw365
by dlaw365

I purchased this chair approximately four months ago for a family member. The idea is great, but ultimately the chair's flaw lies within the chair itself as it begins to "deflate" the moment you sit in it. I use the word deflate because that's what it feels and looks like after use. Shortly after buying this chair, rather than throw it out, I purchased an additional bag of beans to maintain the chair's shape. Sadly, like the chair, it was a waste of money. The beans just don't work. It's as if body heat dissolves the beans. For those of you who have already purchased this item, I have come up with a cost effective solution that will save you money in refills as well as free up a little closet space. Empty the remaining beads from the chair and fill it with old clothes and/bedding you no longer wear/use. It works very well and you don't have to keep refilling.

Was this review helpful? (91) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dlaw365
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good for kids and me
11/30/2013

Customer review by marie13100

4.0 stars 11/30/2013 by marie13100
by marie13100

I made a media room for my family i needed to try different kind from 3 different stores, i have bought 4 of this model, one of other and other brand from other store ! This one are so far the BEST and chosen by all ! Because of its back support ! So comfy that i fell asleep on it while watching a movie. I will go back to walmart to get 4 more, but they did have only 2 colors, navy or black .I took all the black they had, i need some more. My neighbors came try them, they liked them so did my friends and my college son ! Overrall, good ! I have them since 4 days, so far so good.

Was this review helpful? (86) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marie13100
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Chair loses it's shape quickly
12/20/2013

Customer review by nbr1spaz

1.0 stars 12/20/2013 by nbr1spaz
by nbr1spaz

I have to agree with sunshinelf. I purchased this chair as a birthday present for my daughter. She turned 7 on September 8th and weighs about 40 lbs. I was going to buy her a little recliner but saw this and bought it instead. At first she absolutely loved the chair now she is upset because it's so flat. At first she could sit up in it now she sinks to the floor. How often do you use this product? She doesn't even sit in it everyday. She only sits in it a few days a week.

Was this review helpful? (106) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nbr1spaz
yuma, az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great chair until it loses it's shape.
12/18/2013

Customer review by sunshinelf

1.0 stars 12/18/2013 by sunshinelf
by sunshinelf

Most of the 4-5 star ratings on here are from people who have owned the chair from 1-5 weeks (which it was a great chair during that timeframe). My mom and I bought my boys these chairs when she came to visit in August. In November she came back out for Thanksgiving and wondered why I had already bought them new chairs. I then showed her the Big Joes that we bought…completely flat, no support…now used as dog's beds. Btw, my boys are 8 & 10.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunshinelf
Murrieta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little chair for children and adults
12/12/2013

Customer review by grandmama1951

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by grandmama1951
by grandmama1951

Purchased one chair for our youngest grandchild. Everybody sat in it, so for Christmas we felt it would be a great if we purchased two more chairs for our other two grand-kids. The Big Joe's are very comfortable and a great price to 'boot'.

Was this review helpful? (35) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandmama1951
Washington state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Page great idea but....
7/12/2014

Customer review by Treeposter

3.0 stars 7/12/2014 by Treeposter
by Treeposter

I bought 2 for my classroom. I was a little envious so I bought 2 more for gaming at my house. The gaming 2 went flat super fast. Initially I thought okay they're being used by adults... But my student's went flat too. And I mean fast like others say it was about 2 months. You start out stuffing a pillow behind you, then graduate to the pillow and stuffing all the beans in the back while you sit on a flat floor... One keeps getting holes in it and I can't sew it as fast as I find them. It's not being abused I think that one is straight up defective. The seams are just poorly made. I really like the bags so I shelled out the $32 to fill the beans back up. You can do 2 bags with 1 bag of beans. So far so good but as for the one that's keeps getting holes.... I've had it. I'm going to see how the beans hold up before buying more bean chairs for class. I bought kids camping chairs instead. In shorts you will have a bean chair that will turn into a very flat blob. Over all investment so far has been $175 for the 4 bags.... Not impressed. At least the kids camping chairs are $6.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Treeposter
Would recommend to a friend? No
8/15/2013

Customer review by 29bridge

5.0 stars 8/15/2013 by 29bridge
by 29bridge

We bought these chairs for our kids playroom. They are dragged from room to room by all 5 kids....holding up great!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
29bridge
Winchester, ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Big Joe Lumin Bean Bag Chairs
5/8/2014

Customer review by ashoegal

5.0 stars 5/8/2014 by ashoegal
by ashoegal

We bought 4 red Big Joe Lumin Chairs for our Star Wars game room. We liked them so much we put 2 in my son's room. We plan on buying two more in gray when they come in stock. They are super comfy. Perfect for my 8 and 5 year old. I can sit in them also fine and comfy. I am 5ft 8 135lbs. They are perfect cause they sit low (for video games) and have a back to give you support. They cradle you when you sit down. They easily fluff back up. The material is great and they look high dollar. But you cant' beat the value. They are very light and easy to move around. We have had them for a month so far. They are also nice to snuggle up in with in a book. Here is a pictures of my son's room. It's not very big but the chair are a good size and fit well without being overwhelming. I read the manufacturer's (comfort research) website. It says after a few years you might have to add some more little smart max beans, which are cheap. No biggie.

Was this review helpful? (34) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ashoegal
Scurry, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Super comfy bean bag chair
12/8/2013

Customer review by Ezshopper48

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by Ezshopper48
by Ezshopper48

Purchased this chair for my daughter's dorm room at college. Good quality bean bag chair for the price and super comfy. Very lightweight and easy to move and they come in a lot of colors to pick from on-line.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ezshopper48
Mifflintown, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what we wanted!
12/10/2013

Customer review by jsws

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by jsws
by jsws

We bought this chair to create a reading nook in my daughter's room. She has an alcove which has a slanted ceiling and this chair fits right in the corner and is perfect for my 10-year old. It is comfortable and just the right size for her. The color is rather bright, but it does not clash with her room so that is fine. We haven't had it long enough to decide whether it will stand the test of time, but so far, we are very pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jsws
Elizabeth, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My kids love them
2/25/2014

Customer review by MrsJugy

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by MrsJugy
by MrsJugy

Bought two at the same time. One came with one of the seams ripped and I'm currently in process with Walmart.com in replacing it. Customer Care has been great to work with to date. Regarding the chairs, one for a 6 year old boy, and one for a 2 year old girl, who are both very rough and tumble. I bought the adult size chairs and the one we're using is holding up to every day use. Chairs were bigger than I thought, extremely lightweight so even my 2 year old can move it around on her own. Both kids love it as lounge chair for watching tv, yet sturdy enough to be used as a reading chair without completely destroying their posture. Material is great for easy clean ups too. I would not recommend it as an adult chair simply because the beads will compress much faster with the heavier weight, although it was very comfortable. I would suggest buying a back-up 3.5 cubic feet bag of polystyrene fill as well, because when the beads compress the chair loses it shape and for the price the extra beads are well worth it to have on hand. Definitely recommend this product for kids.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsJugy
Manchester, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Product
4/25/2014

Customer review by DoeFlo

1.0 stars 4/25/2014 by DoeFlo
by DoeFlo

Bought this in Feb 2014 within two months it lost it's shape not comfortable at all I am so disappointed in this product I dp not recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoeFlo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very comfortable and colorful chairs
7/30/2014

Customer review by Clachiquim

3.0 stars 7/30/2014 by Clachiquim
by Clachiquim

This is the third big joe lumin chair I have bought (zebra).I noticed this one came with more refill. The first two chairs were bought almost two months ago and I had to buy more refill already (green). Especially the back of the green chair is completely empty. Not sure what happened. It would had been better to buy them from the store and not online.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Clachiquim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
loses shape to fast, not durable
1/27/2014

Customer review by themaddad

1.0 stars 1/27/2014 by themaddad
by themaddad

i bought 4 of these bean bag chairs for my kids had to exchange two of them because of the seams ripping. now i had to have my mother so all the seams to reinforce them. that was the first problem. the most disappointing thing about these chairs is that the go flat and lose their shape way to fast. within a couple weeks the chairs have completely lost their shape and are more like a doggie pillow then a bean bag chair. the kids loved them when i first bought them mainly because they were very sturdy and comfortable, now they don't even bother with them. i expected them to lose a little of their shape but not that much. i wouldn't recommend these because they are a disappointment especially for kids. they are not that durable, and you might want to buy some more of the bean bag fill so when thy go flat you can refill them. so the $35 for the chair and about $18 for the fill ups the coast of the bean bag to around $57 good luck

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
themaddad
vermont
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Extremely comfortable and supportive.
12/12/2013

Customer review by asp8tis

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by asp8tis
by asp8tis

This chair is amazingly comfortable for both kids and adults. It only came in black at our local Walmart, but we were able to choose from several different colors online to find one that matched our decor. This was a b-day gift for my daughter, but everyone likes to sit in it to watch t.v., including her dad! Unlike a regular beanbag chair, it gives great support to your back.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asp8tis
Schaumburg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/8/2013

Customer review by sammy40c

4.0 stars 7/8/2013 by sammy40c
by sammy40c

9 year old daughter loves it

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sammy40c
cleveland,ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty good
9/2/2013

Customer review by ArianaBanana

4.0 stars 9/2/2013 by ArianaBanana
by ArianaBanana

Seat is comfortable, but the back could use more beads because it's not very supportive for your back.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArianaBanana
San Marcos, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excitement crumbled
1/2/2014

Customer review by BerlinWalmart

1.0 stars 1/2/2014 by BerlinWalmart
by BerlinWalmart

We bought these for our kids for Christmas. They have been asking for them and were overly excited when they saw them under the tree. Like any new Christmas present, they have been using it ever day. It is now New Years Day and the chairs are basically FLAT. The seat that used to sit about 2 feet high is only about 8 inches high. They are so upset that their new chairs didnt even make it a week! If the company could design the chair to last much longer than a week without such a dramatic change in its structure, they'd have a winner. As I said, they loved them and were comfortable - but for less than a week!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BerlinWalmart
South Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Need a fortune to keeeeep refilling
12/1/2013

Customer review by Bama678

1.0 stars 12/1/2013 by Bama678
by Bama678

I had to refill this in just couple months and again and again. It seems there is no end to refilling it. I would have ordered a less expensive love seat.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bama678
Would recommend to a friend? No
BIG WASTE OF MONEY!!! Went Flat after two months.
6/5/2014

Customer review by HighlandersLassie

1.0 stars 6/5/2014 by HighlandersLassie
by HighlandersLassie

Two of my kids got these Big Joe Lumin Chairs for Christmas. One black and one blue. THey sat on them while they watched TV. They were great at first. Within 2 months, they were flat as pancakes. So I thought OK I will buy the pellets and restuff them. I bought one large bag of Polystyrene bean bag chair filler from walmart.com I put 2/3 of it in the blue chair because it was the flattest. The rest went into the black chair. The blue one was back to it's original store bought shape. But the black was still a little low. I got another bag of pellets. I didn't put them in immediately as it's a bit of a pain. By the time I did, the blue chair needed a little more AGAIN!!! We have now had the bean bag chairs for exactly 7 MONTHS. The blue one had gotten 3 holes. where the seams split. I did not allow the kids to jump on the bags either. I had a feeling they might split there. And they did. So we threw away the blue one after 3 seam repairs still wouldn't fix the problem. We still have the black one, it's flat for the THIRD TIME. These were a massive failure.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HighlandersLassie
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 367 total reviews
1-20 of 367 reviews