Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 282 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

282 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

282 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
146
4 stars
60
3 stars
9
2 stars
21
1 stars
46
1-20 of 281 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews
Great power but wand design isn't too good
1/2/2014

Customer review by frugaltj

4.0 stars 1/2/2014 by frugaltj
by frugaltj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very powerful and easy maintenance. This units power is better than my Dyson. The only disappointing thing is they could've done a better job on the extension wand design. You must use your free hand to control the tension caused from extending the wand tube to keep the whole unit from tipping over. Here's a couple helpful tips... After washing the filters, put them in your washer and use the spin cycle to wring them out. Wrap the cord around the handle, the top cord clip isn't strong enough to keep it from falling out.

Was this review helpful? (93) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frugaltj
Saint Augustine, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing product!!!!
5/19/2014

Customer review by SAS7151

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by SAS7151
by SAS7151
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am SEVER OCD. I sweep my house at least five times a day, everyday. When I bought this sweeper, I read the reviews and searched for days. When I brought this home I was amazed! One push forward and one strip later the container was FULL of dirt and puppy hair. I was disgusted! I sweep so many times and I thought my house was SO clean until I started using this vacuum. Not only did it do a great job but it made my house smell amazingly clean also!! When emptying the canister, it was very easy! I was able to wash everything out ( that I was able too ) that way the vacuum would stay nice for a very long time. I bought this sweeper for about 95$ after tax and honestly, I would have paid over 400! AMAZING vacuum. The only disadvantage I can think of is that the hose extension is VERY short and it has a thick crust cleaner so you can not get into the cracks good enough. The hose is also kind of short. I HIGHLY, HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommend this! It does such a fantastic job!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SAS7151
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great suction. It requires constant fiddling with the height adjustment knob from surface to surface!
4/6/2016

Customer review by Bubs

3.0 stars 4/6/2016 by Bubs
by Bubs

This vacuum has amazing suction, but I find that going from area rug, to carpet runner, to floor, requires constant changing of the height adjustment knob (something I never had to do on my last upright vacuum.) I will be vacuuming a 20' carpet runner on number 2 and all of a sudden (1/2 way down), the carpet will be sucked right up too tight, making the motor work too hard. If I put it on 3, it doesn't seem to pick up the hair. It's difficult to change the height unless you stop and put the vacuum in an upright position. I also find that I can never just empty the canister from the bottom because the hair gets caught up in the very highest point in the canister, which requires me to either stick my hand right up inside it, or take that apart to empty it as well. The little knob that you have to engage to make the vacuum stand upright again, is very difficult to engage. It takes me almost twice the time to do the same job (with all the stops and starts.) Overall, I am not impressed with this vacuum.

Comment from Kenya - 4/12/2016

Hi Bubs! We don’t want you to be frustrated with your Elite Max capacity. We have some tips that should help. On different pile carpet it may be necessary to adjust the height setting. If you find that you have to reach your fingers in to grab the dirt, this is an indication that the dirt cup is getting too full. The dirt cup has a fill line. Once the dirt reaches this line, you’ll want to empty it to prevent it from gathering at the top. We hope this helps!

Bubs
Victoria, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Vacuum for a small home.
2/18/2014

Customer review by Housemaid555

5.0 stars 2/18/2014 by Housemaid555
by Housemaid555

My carpet is cleaner than it has been in a long time. I have vacuumed my house 4 times it works better for me each time. I replaced my 15 year old self propelled wind tunnel with this smaller, easer to operate, lighter vacuum. This makes it easer to get into close places. I like the long hose but it has no extention pipes so I use the ones from my old Windtunnel. The 25' power cord is shorter than the 30' on my old vacuum but I use a 20', 14 gauge, extention to cover my entire home from one outlet. It would be nice if they had put a light on it but I don't run it in the dark anyway. I like the clear dust container so I can look to see if I have picked up a small valuable object before I dump it. It is very lite and easy to push. The top clip for the cord does not hold very well so I run the cord through the hand hold at the top of the handle. I also like the low price.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Housemaid555
Pearland, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Better Than Bissel!
6/10/2014

Customer review by LuvsMyAirman

5.0 stars 6/10/2014 by LuvsMyAirman
by LuvsMyAirman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have only owned Bissel vacuums and we've always run into the same exact problems with each one. We decided to go with this brand based on the good reviews and we were not let down! I vacuum at least twice a week and I love that this Hoover is able to hold all the dirt/pet hair/etc. I also love the attachments it comes with. I love using the turbo tool on our couches, it picks up every single one of our pets hair and our couches look brand new because of it, you'd never guess we own two dogs because of how clean it got our couches. I also love using the brush attachment because that is excellent at cleaning our air vents throughout our house, I used to hate cleaning through every single slat with soapy water because it was very time consuming but with the brush attachment on this vacuum, it only takes seconds to thoroughly rid the vents of dust! I love this vacuum and Hoover has gained happy customers because of it and I definitely recommend this vacuum, especially to those that are obsessed with clean, soft carpets like we are!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuvsMyAirman
Mountain Home AFB, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best vacuum i've ever had!
1/4/2014

Customer review by Amlemen

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by Amlemen
by Amlemen

After reading reviews on MANY vacuums, most high dollar, I came across nothing but good reviews about this one so we decided for $88 we would try it out (much cheaper then the dyson etc...and much higher reviews!) WE LOVE IT! It has such great suction, it literally picks up EVERYTHING! Before we had to go around picking up little pieces of fuzz etc. that our old vacuum wouldn't pick up, but not with this one!! I dont know if the canister is small or if it just picked up so much dust/dirt that our old vacuum didnt, but we had to empty it after vacuuming every room of our house (which we were just glad to see it working so well). It has a very long cord so you dont have to switch outlets often and it comes with a furniture/pet attachment (so no need to purchase the hoover elite for pets for $30 more because they basically come with the same stuff!). We have only owned this for about a week, but so far no complaints!

Was this review helpful? (86) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amlemen
Missouri, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Broken.....
7/27/2016

Customer review by Bhupism

1.0 stars 7/27/2016 by Bhupism
by Bhupism

I bought this in beginning of 2015 and it does not work at all now. I tried to clean the filter and everything I could but it just does not turn on.......I gave up. I though this would be a product that lasts....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bhupism
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great vacuum
2/18/2014

Customer review by Crownie

5.0 stars 2/18/2014 by Crownie
by Crownie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Honestly, I never thought I'd be excited about a vacuum cleaner, but this thing is GREAT! First room of the house had to empty the canister...not because it was too small, but because the vacuum picked us soooo much "stuff" the other vacuum left behind. At first I thought it was carpet fiber residue, but not so; it was pet hair and dirt and grime, and this on carpet only 1 year old. Simply amazing (and kind of disturbing) how much dirt this vacuum picked up. I've used the attachments, and they work great too. The only slight negatives (and not enough to lower the rating) is it's a little heavy, the handle angle is going to take a while to get used to, and the hose for attachments is a little short. But the positives way outweight the slight negatives. Cleans great (#1 need in a vacuum), large canister that's easy to dump, easy transition to wood floor (and has a screen to assist pickup on wood), easy to use, nice attachment, rolls easy (nice wheels with rubber outside, not cheap plastic ones), and a great price. Not sure what the long term holds on this vacuum, but if you're in the market and don't want to spend hgndreds of $, I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (41) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crownie
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broken
7/4/2016

Customer review by Mike out west

1.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Mike out west
by Mike out west

The foot peddle broke. I'm referring to the peddle that keeps the unit in the upright position. I've attempted to glue it, but it evidently presses into the unit, and the little nub snaps off every time. Evidently, Hoover does NOT sell this part.

Comment from Michael - 7/5/2016

Hi there! Oh no, that doesn't sound too good. We want to help. Your Hoover Elite comes with a two year limited warranty that protects against manufacturer defects at no cost to you. We recommend bringing it in for service. To find a repair center, you can here: http://hoover.com/locator/. If further assistance is needed, please call us at 1-800-944-9200 between 8am-6pm EST M-F. We’re here for you!

Mike out west
Yucca Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Randomly stops working
7/2/2016

Customer review by jules0009

1.0 stars 7/2/2016 by jules0009
by jules0009

Bought this in January 2015, and about a year later it started randomly shutting off completely while vaccuming. Normally I'd have to put the vaccum away and then pull it out a day or two later and sometimes it would work, sometimes it wouldn't. No clue what's going on -- but looks like i'll have to buy a new vaccum.

Comment from Michael - 7/5/2016

Hi jules0009! Oh no, that doesn't sound right. We want to help. It sounds like the thermal protector activated on your Elite Max Capacity. It will activate if the unit begins to overheat and takes 30 minutes to an hour to reset, and overheating happens if there is a clog present or the filter is dirty. Please try this: Remove the filter from the lid of the dirt cup, rinse with water and allow to dry for 24 hours. Remove the HEPA filter from below the dirt cup and remove any debris. The long hose is designed to be removed completely. You can run a broomstick through the hose to check for clogs. The lower hose could also be checked for clogs. You can use a grabber tool or something similar and remove anything found here. This should get your vacuum running at optimum efficiency. If further assistance is needed, please call us at 1-800-944-9200 between 8am-6pm EST M-F. We’re here for you!

jules0009
Washington, DC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
An EXCELLENT VACUUM!
10/29/2013

Customer review by Wesgranny

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Wesgranny
by Wesgranny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this vacuum for my son and his wife as a gift. They are DELIGHTED with everything about it! The suction amazed them and they couldn't believe how many times they had to empty the dust cup; not because it was too small....but because it pulled up THAT MUCH DIRT from the carpet. AN EXCELLENT PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wesgranny
Glendale, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful vacuum
12/9/2013

Customer review by Aqzoern

5.0 stars 12/9/2013 by Aqzoern
by Aqzoern
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This has by far been the best vacuum I have ever owned. It was the highlight of my weekend to use it! It has so much power and picks up literally everything! The attachments are wonderful for cleaning drapes and tight corners. And you can't beat the price!

Was this review helpful? (77) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aqzoern
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Perfect Vacuum
9/16/2013

Customer review by xtinerobertson

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by xtinerobertson
by xtinerobertson
Walmart associate

This is one heavy duty vacuum cleaner! I love that it's bagless so it doesn't make a mess and cleanup is a breeze. The suction power on this thing is amazing and I vacumming is actually fun. The cord isn't too short, the vacuum isn't too heavy and it looks really nice. I love that it really deep cleans and does amazing on my wooden floors. This vacuum is a great value and I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (138) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xtinerobertson
Oakland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Great product! Outcompeted my Oreck
10/15/2013

Customer review by lasim04

5.0 stars 10/15/2013 by lasim04
by lasim04
Walmart associate

This vacuum was very helpful when I was doing a deep clean of my carpet. I had to put down cleaning powder and my ENTIRE house is carpet. My Oreck couln't handle the powder and the filter was clogged immediately. The hoover was able to handle a lot more powder (and get deeper into the carpet). Also, the handheld attachment includes a spinning brush that was great for my stairs and other hard to reach places. Eventually, the dust did block the Hoover's filter, but this wasn't a problem because it is easily removed. You just wash it and let it dry and the vacuum is up and running again. I, honestly, would not have been able to get the dust out of my carpet if it hadn't been for this vacuum. I'm so impressed! Great product for the price!

Was this review helpful? (47) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lasim04
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Great Product at Good Price
1/15/2014

Customer review by PPanic

4.0 stars 1/15/2014 by PPanic
by PPanic
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I tried fancier, more expensive vacuums, but some of them were heavy and didn't live up to the hype. When I relocated, I had to get another vacuum and didn't want to spend a lot of money or sacrifice quality. I tried this vacuum three years ago and was very happy. I became worried when it began losing power, but I realized that the hose was clogged with shipping material I tried to clean up. Almost four years later it is still working well, so I purchased another for my mom this Christmas--thus this review! She called me a few weeks later and said that she was very happy with the product as well. Need I say more...

Was this review helpful? (33) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PPanic
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it! Best vacuum I have used for Hardwod!
2/18/2014

Customer review by smkcfe

5.0 stars 2/18/2014 by smkcfe
by smkcfe

Never have I been so happy with a vacuum. I love this. I have all hardwood floors and to find a vacuum that worked well without having the dirt be kicked back at me and having to clean the same area multiple times wasn't going well until I got this. Picks up everything without any issue. Gets deep down in the cracks in the floors without needing to use the hose either. My young kids love to use it and not really loud so they don't get upset and run and hid when it is used. ***Extremely easy to put together (three screws), not a really loud vacuums, light weight, doesn't kick any dirt back at you, bagless, and reusable filter. Everything I needed in a vacuum. I have absolutely no complaints for this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (31) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smkcfe
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not for homes with pets
1/25/2014

Customer review by Wudratherbcamping2

1.0 stars 1/25/2014 by Wudratherbcamping2
by Wudratherbcamping2

Last vacuum died and needed one right away while I shopped around. We have a pet that sheds blond, short, prickly (sticks to everything) hair in unbelievable amounts - part shepherd, part lab. Did a little research first, but did not have time to really dig in and figured I'd get something to hold us over and then when another purchased, keep this for back up. It is really ineffective for our needs. I stress this due to others that may have no pets at all and only vacuum rarely an area rug, this may be fine (remember the roller brush does not turn off, so floor vacuuming not good for this reason alone). So: Pros: Lightweight, easy to put together, washable filter Cons: hair swirls to a fixed point in canister and stays - then catches rest that is picked up, so emptying the canister repeatedly is necessary. Power cord way too short. Hose too short and too tight, thus tips onto you when utilized, thereby rendering it useless. "Pet brush" attachment air driven, not belt driven, so this renders it useless for upholstery vacuuming. Prongs (that hold power cord in place), flimsy plastic and one broke very first use - immediately. It simply wasn't worth the effort even for short term use.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wudratherbcamping2
Bradenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Happy.
10/5/2013

Customer review by facn8me

5.0 stars 10/5/2013 by facn8me
by facn8me

Hmmm... Not much of a vacuum guy. Needed one as it had been.... well I won't go into how long it has been since I vacuumed. Bought this as it was a "multi-surface" vacuum. I was surprised and disgusted at how much dirt it picked up. Have no complaints. Light. I like the cord storage but don't like that the cord is dragging down low. Of course have always held the cord with the other hand on other vacuum's Guess the bending over to grab it was what I noticed most. Easy to clean.

Was this review helpful? (48) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
facn8me
Broken Arrow, ok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome vacuum
11/18/2013

Customer review by SueTSue

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by SueTSue
by SueTSue
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my daughter because she has a cat and I liked the attachment she could use. She just moved into a new apartment and it was "cleaned" before she moved in. She ran the vacuum on the "clean" carpet and was amazed at what she picked up. This vacuum works very well and she is extremely happy with it!

Was this review helpful? (41) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SueTSue
Deland, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lasted 2 months
2/21/2014

Customer review by SoccerRichie

1.0 stars 2/21/2014 by SoccerRichie
by SoccerRichie

I bought my Hoover Elite Max at a Walmart store and I thought I was getting a good product but it did not last 2 months. Something was wrong with the power, I could not turn it on. I guess you get what you pay for. On the good side of it, they did not give me any problems returning it so I upgraded to a Hoover Whole house wind tunnel. Did not want to spend the extra money, but I hope it will last more than 2 months without a problem. Stay tuned.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoccerRichie
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 281 total reviews
1-20 of 281 reviews