Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 418 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

418 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

418 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

61%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
159
4 stars
72
3 stars
37
2 stars
41
1 stars
109
1-20 of 418 total reviews
61%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 418 total reviews
1-20 of 418 reviews
worked well, until it broke during first use
12/5/2013

Customer review by me2003

1.0 stars 12/5/2013 by me2003
by me2003

This carpet washer cleaned my carpets very well up until the belt broke during the first use. I removed the belt cover and, not only was it broken, but the wheel that it sits on is melted and sideways. This type of issue shows the poor quality of the machine. I see by the reviews on the Hoover website that I am not the only one with this problem. I just wish I would have read them before I made this purchase. This machine should be taken off the market until this issue is fixed.

Was this review helpful? (298) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
me2003
Ruth, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Excellent Value!
11/17/2013

Customer review by gabytango

4.0 stars 11/17/2013 by gabytango
by gabytango

My Hoover was shipped quickly. Hubby put it together fast and away I went. Easy to fill the cleaning tank (it doesn't last too long, though) and easy to drain/clean the dirty tank. I have two 8x10 area rugs used by my toddler granddaughter and small poodle: one oriental and one short shag. As recommended, I vacuumed thoroughly first. The shorter Oriental Rug was faster to clean than the short shag. The head is small and it does take some patience to clean everything well. Suction was better than expected, filling 50% of the dirty water tank. Happy to note that the water did not seep through to the floor on either rug. The rugs look great and smell fresh! Only CON is that when taking the cleaner off of the carpet, there is quite a bit of dirty water residue that drips out from the rollers and plastic head that dirties the floor (hope it wasn't also going on the carpet I just cleaned!). Doesn't appear to be good for large areas as it would take forever. But for my needs, it is perfect!

Was this review helpful? (93) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gabytango
miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Comes apart at the seam!
12/5/2015

Customer review by Coming undone in Colorado

1.0 stars 12/5/2015 by Coming undone in Colorado
by Coming undone in Colorado

We have white berber carpet and manufacturer does not suggest a beater roll for cleaning purposes. But... The CARPET IS WHITE, we live in the mountains... At first I really liked this cleaner. Easy to use, doesn't weigh a ton like most. But now... My opinion is waning.... Would prefer a larger dirty water reservoir. I have to empty this before I'm even out of my clean water. This cleaner is starting to look like a throw away after a year cleaner! My last Hoover lasted me 6 years! I neglected to send in my information and no longer have a receipt So I can't return it or use my warranty. ° It seems to be getting louder and louder too. ° Clean water reservoir is coming apart. ° Reservoir is separating at the seam. ° It leaks everywhere. ° Could stand more suction. ° Dirty water reservoir is getting more difficult to remove. ° Replacement part price is OUTRAGEOUS! $63.93! I need my cleaner but $63.93 for this part and other symptoms make me wonder if it's even worth it!

Comment from Kenya - 12/6/2015

Hi there! Your Dual Power should be holding up better than that. We want to help. To prevent leaking and for product longevity we recommend using only the Hoover carpet cleaning solution in your cleaner. We are sending you a private email to better assist. Thanks!

Coming undone in Colorado
Manitou Springs, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect for small spaces
10/23/2013

Customer review by MDBROCK

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by MDBROCK
by MDBROCK
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

This carpet washer is actually smaller and lighter than my regular vacuum which was a huge selling point. Perfect for apartment dwellers but great for larger spaces as well. It was really easy to put together and came with the first bottle of cleaner. I don't know that this would be the best item for spot cleaning stains but it does a great job of generally sanitizing and cleaning carpet and area rugs. I have multiple pets and have a large 8x10 shag area rug that I had yet to clean. I wasn't sure how something so small would do on a shag carpet, but it was super easy to use and definitely left me with a dirty tank of water. It felt like a lot more water left the tank than returned dirty, but the carpet wasn't that saturated when I was done and it was fully dry by the next morning. The day after I cleaned my carpet our dog had an accident on our couch and we used it to clean the cushion (with skepticism from me) and much to my suprise it worked great and left the cushion spot and smell free. Definitely recommend this item.

Was this review helpful? (211) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MDBROCK
Pacifica, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Another hoover little unit with big power
8/8/2014

Customer review by Darlaann

5.0 stars 8/8/2014 by Darlaann
by Darlaann

I moved into an apartment after my son and three boys moved out, what a mess and the carpets were worse then the walls. I rented a carpet cleaner from my local grocer store and a friend of mine cleaned the carpets with it, didn't improve much. Later that same month the apartments had one of their maintenance men clean the carpets about the same results. I have only used my Hoover Dual power for about 2 hours cleaned my room and just the front door entrance, WOW it almost looks new. Power drive what a blessing and great suction. Didn't even have to saturate the carpet to get the dirt to come out. Easy to clean I put it in the tub and used my hand held shower head to flush the hose that goes from the suction area (front of machine) to the dirty water container. And flush it did! I then ran the hose around the brushes and clean them as easy. If you are worried about the belt breaking get a replacement ahead of time, you'll need it one day. But this is a must own for folks who live in an apartment.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Darlaann
League City TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
2 dog 5 puppy owner
1/29/2016

Customer review by DogOwner

5.0 stars 1/29/2016 by DogOwner
by DogOwner

This product is a life saver. Really helps keep my carpets clean. With having to adult dogs one 90 lbs other 115 lbs. And 5 puppies you need a very well built carpet washer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DogOwner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cleans good, not really amazing
3/30/2014

Customer review by trace29

3.0 stars 3/30/2014 by trace29
by trace29
Walmart associate

It does clean well, picks up alot more than my vacuum cleaner. I mainly used it on my area rug that had a few stains and removed some of them. My rug does look alot better now. It removed a stain from my carpet and made other stains less noticeable. I think it could have been a little bit better of a product. After filling the solution tank up, I have a hard time getting it back in, it's a tight space. Also I wouldn't recommend filling the solution tank up all the way with water, about 3/4 full. It will leak. It leaked quite a bit the second time I used it. Leaked water through the holes in the back, and I had to fill it up again. It nearly leaked all the way out while I was trying to get the solution tank in. So I had to pull it out so I can fill it back up. I've been pulling the empty dirty water tank out first and then trying to put the solution tank in. Then putting the dirty water tank back in. I'm glad to having a cleaner rug and it looking better. Still working on removing a couple of the stains though.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trace29
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
light weight, easy to use
1/9/2014

Customer review by soldierswifefortstewart

4.0 stars 1/9/2014 by soldierswifefortstewart
by soldierswifefortstewart

I love my new carpet cleaner! It is light weight, easy to use, and was easy to put together. I vacuumed my carpets with my Dyson vacuum before I cleaned my carpets. I was shocked at how much pet hair, the Hoover carpet cleaner picked up from my carpet. The down side was it left the hair in clumps, and I had to pick it up with a paper towel when I was done cleaning my carpets. I did notice that dirty water dripped out from the rollers when I stopped the machine, and left it in one place. Not a lot, I just need to remember to stop the machine on the tile floors, when I am finished with the carpets, so the dirty water does not dirty the carpets I just cleaned. If you are looking for something that is easy to use, and light weight, I think you will like the Hover. It didn’t take me long to clean my living room rug. With this machine, I could very easily clean my carpets once a week without my back hurting.

Was this review helpful? (37) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
soldierswifefortstewart
Huntsville al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Broke after 2nd use
2/6/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/6/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have a small home so this was the perfect sized cleaner. The first thing I noticed when taking it out of the box was how "plastic" it was. After the first use, a small piecer of plase that holds lower tank clips broke off. The clip still locked on so I could still use. The clip falls off the tank when I empty it so I have to make sure not to lose it. When went to use it a second time, I hit the foot peddle to turn it on and it made a buzz sound and wouln't turn on. I emailed Hoover and have requested a refund. Don't waste your money! They are so poorly made these days and it is my last hoover product! I'll update the review when I get a response from Hoover.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
good for the price
3/2/2014

Customer review by danielp1

3.0 stars 3/2/2014 by danielp1
by danielp1

keep in mind you get what you pay for. if you are expecting to buy this machine for less than 100 dollars and take it home and use it on filthy carpet that hasnt been cleaned in a long time or never, this is not the machine for you. also keep in mind the commercial, that carpet is already clean just vacuumed and when you go over it in a different direction you will get the affect that it is being cleaned. pros: cheap, light (good for someone like me who has back problems) easy to put together, easy to use, (fill, and empty) great for inbetween deep cleanings. cons: smaller so it takes abit longer to do larger areas, the cord is not very long , it leaks when not in use( set it on a towel or rag) but my older one leaked aslo (hoovr power scrub) done great on a few pet stains i had, and used it in my kitchen on an area rug that i was ready to throw out, and actually cleand it very well. the key to any carpet cleaner is to make sure you vacuum well befor using it. and using a good deep cleaning vacuum, sorry hoover but i do prefer the shark for vacuuming. also keep in mind just because it is light and makes you want to go fast, keep it slow and steady.

Was this review helpful? (89) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
danielp1
huntington wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Broke after only 3 uses!
1/17/2016

Customer review by Brittany

1.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Brittany
by Brittany

Went to use today, for only the 4th time in about 4 months time of having it, and it's leaking water everywhere. It's coming out of the clean water tank,when u attach it it pours out of the bottom instead of waiting for the release trigger. Waste of $$! My Bissell steam vac lasted 10 years! I should have stuck with them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brittany
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does a great job
11/8/2013

Customer review by iheartmy4kids

4.0 stars 11/8/2013 by iheartmy4kids
by iheartmy4kids

Easy to put together. Its a light weight simple cleaner. Which is what I wanted. Its looks awesome in person. I love it. It did a great job at cleaning my carpet. I was really impressed! The suction on this machine is awesome. I do however have two complaints. First, the same day I received the cleaner I had cleaned 3 rooms but once I got to the 4th room I noticed the spinners weren't spinning. The belt broke! :( Can't find replacement belt at Walmart store or online. You will have to go to the hoover website to order it. Second, the cleaning of the suction area is not to fun. Sometimes you suck up a lot of loose carpet or hair etc. and it gets stuck, most machines you can pop the top plastic cover to clean. Which is easier because it happens a lot and suction doesn't work as great if you have a lot of guck stuck under it. On this machine however you have to completely take apart underneath to clean under the plastic top. Which is only seven screws but it usually happens during cleaning and I had to stop to clean it and start back again. Anyways I know I am rambling but it was a pain!lol. All in all it did a awesome job at cleaning my carpet and I don't regret buying it.

Was this review helpful? (62) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iheartmy4kids
oklahoma,ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Love it! Need help with an issue though.
1/31/2016

Customer review by Sami3

3.0 stars 1/31/2016 by Sami3
by Sami3

HELP! I love this product, very much, but i think my motor has burned up! I've had it less than a year, and i have my receipt. Can someone correct this issue please! Samanda Hornick thank you

Comment from Kenya - 1/31/2016

Hi Sami3! That doesn't sound good. We want to help. For product longevity and to prevent any internal damage it's recommended to use only the Hoover cleaning solution designed for this model. Your Dual Power carries a 1 year warranty against manufacturing defects. Please take it in for repair at an authorized Hoover center. To locate one nearest you visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. Hope this helps!

Sami3
Evansville, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaked and broken!!!
12/28/2015

Customer review by TrishC

1.0 stars 12/28/2015 by TrishC
by TrishC

Damaged product that was refused and still no refund!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TrishC
Would recommend to a friend? No
dual power carpet washer 50900
2/7/2016

Customer review by bjlawrence

2.0 stars 2/7/2016 by bjlawrence
by bjlawrence

i have the dual power carpet washer the problem im having is the belt broke been at walmart web site for this item and at walmart my guestion is where do i get the belt replaced can't find a belt for it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bjlawrence
Would recommend to a friend? No
Used twice, won't turn on
1/13/2016

Customer review by Lindsayyminaj

1.0 stars 1/13/2016 by Lindsayyminaj
by Lindsayyminaj

I've had the cleaner for maybe 3 months at most. I used it twice, worked great! Better than any other carpet cleaner I have purchased. I stored it according the reommendations. I went to use it today, and it made a weird noise and went off. It will no longer turn on. I have a friend who just so happens to have purchased the same carpet cleaner, and the same thing happened to her! I watched the YouTube videos to troubleshoot the cleaner, but they were no help to my problem. It worked great....while it still turned on...

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/16/2016

Hi Lindsayyminaj! Oh my, we completely understand your disappointment and we want to help give a few suggestions on how to clear this matter up. If the unit will no longer turn on, we highly recommend checking different outlets to see if it will power on and checking for a tripped breaker. If that doesn't do the trick, please take it in for inspection to the nearest Hoover Service location. We have plenty of locations available and our technicians will take good care of you. Check here: http://hoover.com/locator/, to find a location in your area. If you still need us, please don't hesitate to call 1-800-944-9200 (Monday-Friday 8;00-6:00 p.m. EST), leave us a comment on Facebook, or tweet us @HooverUSA. Thanks!

Lindsayyminaj
Shelbyville, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
BEST one yet
1/30/2016

Customer review by Paplm

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by Paplm
by Paplm

This was my 3rd Hoover carpet cleaner. And it was the best one I have ever bought. It's light to maneuver, smaller & easier , and the cleaning job it did with the newly designed cleaning brushes - WOW! I've already been bragging about it to all my friends. Best $100 I've ever spent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paplm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Definitely not the best
1/17/2016

Customer review by Quadb

3.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Quadb
by Quadb

Bought it like 3 months ago although it does remove carpet stains, basically it's flaws outweigh the benefits. So cleaning one spot you leave this nasty hairball, and the fact it leaks when you put it up it will leak adding new stains to your floor

Comment from Kenya - 1/17/2016

Hi Quadb! When used properly your Dual Power shouldn’t leak. To prevent leaking we recommend emptying the tanks before storage. Also, be sure you are only using the Hoover cleaning solution designed for your cleaner. To cut down on the amount of hair your unit picks up, always vacuum before each use. We hope this is helpful!

Quadb
Fort Bragg, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worked ok at first then stopped spraying
1/19/2016

Customer review by Barb22

2.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Barb22
by Barb22

Worked ok at first but after a few uses it stopped spraying. First one leaked dirty water so we returned if for a replacement.

Comment from Kenya - 1/20/2016

Hi Barb22! Sounds like you’re having a tough time and we want to help. We think we have a good idea why your Dual Power will no longer dispense solution. Be sure you are only using the Hoover cleaning solution recommended for your unit. We have some tips we’d like you to try. Complete the steps in this quick video http://bit.ly/1RTfQth to your cleaner back performing at its optimal abilities. Let us know if you still need us!

Barb22
Gulf Shores, AL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Broken, melted belt wheel.
1/20/2016

Customer review by Smash

1.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Smash
by Smash

I've had this carpet cleaner about nine months. I've used it 3 times and it quit working. I thought it was the belt because the brushes were not turning. When I removed the cover, I found that the wheel that turns the belt was melted. It won't turn at all. It was cheap compared to some of the other cleaners, but I would have expected it to last longer than this! I should have saved my money longer and invested in a better one. This one is useless now because I can't find the part online or in the store. Very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smash
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 418 total reviews
1-20 of 418 reviews