Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 359 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

359 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

359 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
141
4 stars
66
3 stars
32
2 stars
32
1 stars
88
1-20 of 359 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 359 total reviews
1-20 of 359 reviews
worked well, until it broke during first use
12/5/2013

Customer review by me2003

1.0 stars 12/5/2013 by me2003
by me2003

This carpet washer cleaned my carpets very well up until the belt broke during the first use. I removed the belt cover and, not only was it broken, but the wheel that it sits on is melted and sideways. This type of issue shows the poor quality of the machine. I see by the reviews on the Hoover website that I am not the only one with this problem. I just wish I would have read them before I made this purchase. This machine should be taken off the market until this issue is fixed.

Was this review helpful? (191) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
me2003
Ruth, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Perfect for small spaces
10/23/2013

Customer review by MDBROCK

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by MDBROCK
by MDBROCK

This carpet washer is actually smaller and lighter than my regular vacuum which was a huge selling point. Perfect for apartment dwellers but great for larger spaces as well. It was really easy to put together and came with the first bottle of cleaner. I don't know that this would be the best item for spot cleaning stains but it does a great job of generally sanitizing and cleaning carpet and area rugs. I have multiple pets and have a large 8x10 shag area rug that I had yet to clean. I wasn't sure how something so small would do on a shag carpet, but it was super easy to use and definitely left me with a dirty tank of water. It felt like a lot more water left the tank than returned dirty, but the carpet wasn't that saturated when I was done and it was fully dry by the next morning. The day after I cleaned my carpet our dog had an accident on our couch and we used it to clean the cushion (with skepticism from me) and much to my suprise it worked great and left the cushion spot and smell free. Definitely recommend this item.

Was this review helpful? (176) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MDBROCK
Pacifica, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Please read for an honest review
10/20/2013

Customer review by Lizz29

5.0 stars 10/20/2013 by Lizz29
by Lizz29

I have used many carpet cleaners. I have even used a Rug Doctor. So, simply put.... Pro 1 $ 2 Comes with hoover carpet cleaner 3 Easy fill tank 4 Has a built in measuring cap 5 Easy to use/light weight 6 Semi-easy dispose tank Con 1 Using 1 clean fill tank, it picks up 1/4th of soiled water. 2 Left a bit of debris For a more in depth review: However, taking the pro's with the con's from reviews just like mine, I purchased this product anyway. I used this carpet cleaner on my "pet's room" because I have cats that for some reason decided to urinate in the same spot over and over again, instead of using their litter box. Even after giving it a good scrub with urine stain remover from Petco (which is supposed to ease the mark) they continued to do this. Using this product: I did half of my room (with the urine). I vacuumed thoroughly, with my hoover wind tunnel air. Then sprayed my carpet with the Urine Stain Remover and started with my carpet cleaner, it picked up 1/4th of the water I used in the fill tank. Even though I vacuumed, after cleaning half of the carpet; it would leave behind clumps of debris. In order to keep the machine clean (because it is not a vacuum), I had to stop and pick the clumps up before continuing. It might have to do with the carpet itself. It's old and warn. I enjoyed using this product. I did the rest of the room. I didn't have to make too many trips to the sink to fill the container or dump the dirty water. Maybe filled it twice and dumped the debris once for the entire room. Afterwards: It took maybe 5 hours to dry (which normally takes about 1-2 days). I left the ceiling fan on and the door open. After cleaning the carpet I didn't know how well it would work, but after walking around on the carpet barefoot, it feels like it is NEW. I've very happy with this product. For the price I'd give it a 98% rating. I just didn't enjoy having to pick up the debris. And the urine stain and scent is COMPLETELY GONE! YAY. IN REGARDS TO OTHER REVIEWS: I don't know how much water you use but it doesn't take much to clean the carpet so you should not need a lot of other fans or what not. It also matters what time of day and outside temp when you clean carpet. Keep this in mind. It should not be rainy or too humid.

Was this review helpful? (214) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lizz29
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
good for the price
3/2/2014

Customer review by danielp1

3.0 stars 3/2/2014 by danielp1
by danielp1

keep in mind you get what you pay for. if you are expecting to buy this machine for less than 100 dollars and take it home and use it on filthy carpet that hasnt been cleaned in a long time or never, this is not the machine for you. also keep in mind the commercial, that carpet is already clean just vacuumed and when you go over it in a different direction you will get the affect that it is being cleaned. pros: cheap, light (good for someone like me who has back problems) easy to put together, easy to use, (fill, and empty) great for inbetween deep cleanings. cons: smaller so it takes abit longer to do larger areas, the cord is not very long , it leaks when not in use( set it on a towel or rag) but my older one leaked aslo (hoovr power scrub) done great on a few pet stains i had, and used it in my kitchen on an area rug that i was ready to throw out, and actually cleand it very well. the key to any carpet cleaner is to make sure you vacuum well befor using it. and using a good deep cleaning vacuum, sorry hoover but i do prefer the shark for vacuuming. also keep in mind just because it is light and makes you want to go fast, keep it slow and steady.

Was this review helpful? (55) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
danielp1
huntington wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Excellent Value!
11/17/2013

Customer review by gabytango

4.0 stars 11/17/2013 by gabytango
by gabytango

My Hoover was shipped quickly. Hubby put it together fast and away I went. Easy to fill the cleaning tank (it doesn't last too long, though) and easy to drain/clean the dirty tank. I have two 8x10 area rugs used by my toddler granddaughter and small poodle: one oriental and one short shag. As recommended, I vacuumed thoroughly first. The shorter Oriental Rug was faster to clean than the short shag. The head is small and it does take some patience to clean everything well. Suction was better than expected, filling 50% of the dirty water tank. Happy to note that the water did not seep through to the floor on either rug. The rugs look great and smell fresh! Only CON is that when taking the cleaner off of the carpet, there is quite a bit of dirty water residue that drips out from the rollers and plastic head that dirties the floor (hope it wasn't also going on the carpet I just cleaned!). Doesn't appear to be good for large areas as it would take forever. But for my needs, it is perfect!

Was this review helpful? (67) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gabytango
miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Does a great job
11/8/2013

Customer review by iheartmy4kids

4.0 stars 11/8/2013 by iheartmy4kids
by iheartmy4kids

Easy to put together. Its a light weight simple cleaner. Which is what I wanted. Its looks awesome in person. I love it. It did a great job at cleaning my carpet. I was really impressed! The suction on this machine is awesome. I do however have two complaints. First, the same day I received the cleaner I had cleaned 3 rooms but once I got to the 4th room I noticed the spinners weren't spinning. The belt broke! :( Can't find replacement belt at Walmart store or online. You will have to go to the hoover website to order it. Second, the cleaning of the suction area is not to fun. Sometimes you suck up a lot of loose carpet or hair etc. and it gets stuck, most machines you can pop the top plastic cover to clean. Which is easier because it happens a lot and suction doesn't work as great if you have a lot of guck stuck under it. On this machine however you have to completely take apart underneath to clean under the plastic top. Which is only seven screws but it usually happens during cleaning and I had to stop to clean it and start back again. Anyways I know I am rambling but it was a pain!lol. All in all it did a awesome job at cleaning my carpet and I don't regret buying it.

Was this review helpful? (53) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iheartmy4kids
oklahoma,ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Dissatisfied... Very Dissatisfied
2/13/2014

Customer review by fadardard

1.0 stars 2/13/2014 by fadardard
by fadardard

I bought this item on a whim from the store. They didn't have a model of it set up, so I really wasn't sure what to expect. I couldn't believe that it is smaller than my vacuum. Firstly the machine is built cheap. All of the plastics are cheap feeling. I figure this it to keep the product light weight. But that in turn is a problem in itself. The machine is so light weight that it doesn't pick up the water it lays down. Which is another problem. It doesn't lay the water down equally. Half of the path was nearly dry the other half is soaking wet. It takes twice as long to shampoo the carpets because only half of the path is wet so I ended up having to go over the path 2 times. By the time I was done the carpets were still soaked. and I had to go back over them again to try to pick up the extra water (and it didn't help at all). This is not the first shampooer I have used, so this is not a new process to me. By the end of it I was so frustrated with the half of a room I did that I dumped the dirty water, left the clean water in the tank to come back to finish later. When I came back the clean water tank was empty and there was a huge puddle on my kitchen floor from the clean tank leaking. I checked the tank and it is cracked. Needless to say this item is being returned to the store today. I getting my money back and buying something that has a model and better reviews. I wouldn't recommend this machine to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fadardard
Marietta, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great for the price
10/3/2013

Customer review by Sugarcfan

5.0 stars 10/3/2013 by Sugarcfan
by Sugarcfan

Does the job, light weight, easy to clean, cheap, and efficient. I have a toddler and two dogs I needed something to freshen up the floors. This works well for what I need it for. It got rid of the stains and and lifted away a lot of nasty things from my carpet. The clean water tank is a little small, cleans a 10x10 bedroom, the suction is not super powerful but it does suck up about 50% of the water so it's not bad. The prep instructions say vacuum throughly and I can not stress this enough. My dirty water canister leaks a tad but nothing serious. I dump it immediately after every use so this is not exactly a problem for me. For the price it is great. Absolutely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (89) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sugarcfan
Rutledge, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
light weight, easy to use
1/9/2014

Customer review by soldierswifefortstewart

4.0 stars 1/9/2014 by soldierswifefortstewart
by soldierswifefortstewart

I love my new carpet cleaner! It is light weight, easy to use, and was easy to put together. I vacuumed my carpets with my Dyson vacuum before I cleaned my carpets. I was shocked at how much pet hair, the Hoover carpet cleaner picked up from my carpet. The down side was it left the hair in clumps, and I had to pick it up with a paper towel when I was done cleaning my carpets. I did notice that dirty water dripped out from the rollers when I stopped the machine, and left it in one place. Not a lot, I just need to remember to stop the machine on the tile floors, when I am finished with the carpets, so the dirty water does not dirty the carpets I just cleaned. If you are looking for something that is easy to use, and light weight, I think you will like the Hover. It didn’t take me long to clean my living room rug. With this machine, I could very easily clean my carpets once a week without my back hurting.

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soldierswifefortstewart
Huntsville al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent carpet cleaner
1/2/2014

Customer review by CleanerFreak

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by CleanerFreak
by CleanerFreak

Excellent carpet cleaner--light weight (a real plus), easy to use, does a really good job. Can't be beat for the price and experience. I saw some other reviews where people had issues with the belts breaking--I think that might happen because it picks up carpet fiber and pet hair (we have 5 cats) and during the cleaning process I had to stop it occasionally and pull the fiber and hair out of the rollers (I could see it through the top, between the rollers and the clear top). If that built up it I imagine it would break the belt. But I don't count that as a minus because it brushed up the carpets really well and got out a lot of dirt that my older, heavier Hoover didn't (because it had the circular, flat brushes that never worked well and finally broke on it!). Very good product.

Was this review helpful? (81) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CleanerFreak
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a power house of a machine!
11/8/2013

Customer review by HappyMotherCleanCarpets

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by HappyMotherCleanCarpets
by HappyMotherCleanCarpets

I spent months reviewing carpet cleaners, looking for something that would be light weight, easy to use, a good financial deal, while still doing an amazing job. So happy to have seen the commercial for this machine on tv. It meets everything I wanted, removed 3 year old stains from my teenager daughter room so easily. It removed a fairly large amount of dirty water from the carpet making them dry quickly. Hooray! I love it.

Was this review helpful? (78) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyMotherCleanCarpets
Round Rock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Buy this over the Bissell lightweight
4/14/2014

Customer review by LRO2783

5.0 stars 4/14/2014 by LRO2783
by LRO2783

I bought the Bissell one and this Hoover lightweight carpet cleaner. This outperformed the Bissell hands down. It's not as messy to empty the dirty water tank and the suction sounds gives you a clear indication when you need to empty it. It's less than $100 so I can't expect the tanks to be too big. I spent nearly 4 hours doing my entire apartment (1000 sq. feet) and the results are FABOLOUS. My carpet looks brand new and is baby soft again. I took my time and emptied/refilled over 10 times but it definitely paid off. This is a project and not something you'll want to do all the time. I have kids and they left so many juice stains on my carpet all of which are gone except for a really old koolaid stain. This took dirt out that the Bissell did not. A GOOD BUY, I RECOMMEND.

Was this review helpful? (31) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LRO2783
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
DON"T WASTE YOUR MONEY!
10/22/2013

Customer review by savingLOTSofmoney

1.0 stars 10/22/2013 by savingLOTSofmoney
by savingLOTSofmoney

Bought this carpet cleaner. Done 3 spots on the floor and the brushes quit! I was unable to return for 2 days. I checked carpet after 24 hours and it was still wet. Would not recommend unless you have another machine to suck up the dirty water. Opted for a more expensive and better working machine.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
savingLOTSofmoney
Lake City, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
terrible product
11/14/2013

Customer review by tribe7

1.0 stars 11/14/2013 by tribe7
by tribe7

Water leaks out, the dirty water sprays everywhere and does not go in the tank! Going back to a Bissell. Worst carpet cleaner I have ever used! ! Not worth the plastic its made out of.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tribe7
Hillsboro, or
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Another hoover little unit with big power
8/8/2014

Customer review by Darlaann

5.0 stars 8/8/2014 by Darlaann
by Darlaann

I moved into an apartment after my son and three boys moved out, what a mess and the carpets were worse then the walls. I rented a carpet cleaner from my local grocer store and a friend of mine cleaned the carpets with it, didn't improve much. Later that same month the apartments had one of their maintenance men clean the carpets about the same results. I have only used my Hoover Dual power for about 2 hours cleaned my room and just the front door entrance, WOW it almost looks new. Power drive what a blessing and great suction. Didn't even have to saturate the carpet to get the dirt to come out. Easy to clean I put it in the tub and used my hand held shower head to flush the hose that goes from the suction area (front of machine) to the dirty water container. And flush it did! I then ran the hose around the brushes and clean them as easy. If you are worried about the belt breaking get a replacement ahead of time, you'll need it one day. But this is a must own for folks who live in an apartment.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Darlaann
League City TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
cleans good, not really amazing
3/30/2014

Customer review by trace29

3.0 stars 3/30/2014 by trace29
by trace29

It does clean well, picks up alot more than my vacuum cleaner. I mainly used it on my area rug that had a few stains and removed some of them. My rug does look alot better now. It removed a stain from my carpet and made other stains less noticeable. I think it could have been a little bit better of a product. After filling the solution tank up, I have a hard time getting it back in, it's a tight space. Also I wouldn't recommend filling the solution tank up all the way with water, about 3/4 full. It will leak. It leaked quite a bit the second time I used it. Leaked water through the holes in the back, and I had to fill it up again. It nearly leaked all the way out while I was trying to get the solution tank in. So I had to pull it out so I can fill it back up. I've been pulling the empty dirty water tank out first and then trying to put the solution tank in. Then putting the dirty water tank back in. I'm glad to having a cleaner rug and it looking better. Still working on removing a couple of the stains though.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trace29
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
best rug cleaner I ever had
11/10/2013

Customer review by SVFX

5.0 stars 11/10/2013 by SVFX
by SVFX

I've had rug cleaners that were big and bulky and hard to get around with. My new duel power carpet washer is light weight, and so easy to use. I though I would need spot remover for some stains, but the hoover cleaner took them right out.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SVFX
MA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Carpet Washer I've Ever Had, Money Well Spent
4/29/2014

Customer review by sweetsauce84

5.0 stars 4/29/2014 by sweetsauce84
by sweetsauce84

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this carpet washer! It was under $100 off the shelf in store, easy and quick to put together, very lightweight - lighter than my vacuum cleaner, and works wonderfully! And it is so quiet! I read the other reviews, and I don't have any of those problems out of mine. I had to throw away my old carpet washer, which cost me $250, because it leaked and the upholstery attachment stopped spraying water. I didn't realize how much gunk it was leaving behind on my carpet until I tried this Hoover. I have two dogs, two cats, three kids, and a messy husband in my home, so I had some pretty bad stains on my carpet. This carpet washer got up every last stain with only two passes, and it only took about 20 minutes to clean all the carpet downstairs. It left it smelling fresh and looking brand new, and my carpet is white! The tanks are easy to fill and empty, even into a small sink. It only took one and a half tanks to clean all the carpet, and it uses very little cleaning solution. Not only is the appliance itself a great value, but it helps to stretch your money even further by getting the most out of the cleaning solution. I used the Hoover pet cleaning solution. This was one of the best purchases I have ever made. It was money very well spent. If this carpet washer ever breaks, I'll go buy the same one to replace it! The only downside to this one is that it has no upholstery attachment. However, this being my third carpet washer, I have realized it is better to have one simple lightweight one for the carpets and a separate hand-held portable one just for upholstery and vehicles. You'll only spend about $200 total for both - that's cheaper than either of my first two carpet washers - and you won't have the headache of trying to lug a big heavy appliance up and down stairs and outside for vehicles or, with some, take the appliance apart and put it back together every time you want to attach the hose for upholstery cleaning. I am very happy with this purchase. I wish I had made it sooner!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sweetsauce84
Greenwood, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Easy to use, but lacks suction power
11/7/2013

Customer review by shinyhalo

2.0 stars 11/7/2013 by shinyhalo
by shinyhalo

I agree with another reviewer that also made a note of how much water was sucked back up...unfortunately it's only about 25%...with lots of dry-passes. That's too much water staying in the carpet. The design is very easy to understand though...two buckets...super simple.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shinyhalo
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Perfect
11/13/2013

Customer review by CleanFreakCat

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by CleanFreakCat
by CleanFreakCat

So easy to use and so not heavy at all I have medical plates in my neck, I can not do hard cleaning so with this shampooer I can keep my carpets clean and not hurt my neck

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CleanFreakCat
McDonough GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 359 total reviews
1-20 of 359 reviews