Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 527 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

527 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

527 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
224
4 stars
97
3 stars
42
2 stars
38
1 stars
126
1-20 of 527 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 527 total reviews
1-20 of 527 reviews
Great product for the price.
7/3/2016

Customer review by Gizzmo28429

4.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Gizzmo28429
by Gizzmo28429

I was in desperate need of clean carpets but I'm always short on cash and time. I was going to rent a Rug Doctor like I have in the past because I know they work. But I knew I could not do everything I needed to in 24 hours. So I decided to spend a little extra and buy this Hoover for 89 dollars. It took longer because of the smaller width but it did a comparable job. My two teenagers and toddler had done a job on my carpets and I was amazed that just about EVERYTHING came out.

Gizzmo28429
Havelock, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST $100 I SPENT IN AWHILE!!!!
3/25/2017

Customer review by Raidernation1381

5.0 stars 3/25/2017 by Raidernation1381
by Raidernation1381

It works amazingly perfect.. I know nothing is perfect.. but this item here.. well just look at the pics.. that says it all.. thank you Hoover for making such an on point product and thank you Wal-Mart for selling this one of a kind carpet dirt machine!! A++++

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raidernation1381
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
worked well, until it broke during first use
12/5/2013

Customer review by me2003

1.0 stars 12/5/2013 by me2003
by me2003

This carpet washer cleaned my carpets very well up until the belt broke during the first use. I removed the belt cover and, not only was it broken, but the wheel that it sits on is melted and sideways. This type of issue shows the poor quality of the machine. I see by the reviews on the Hoover website that I am not the only one with this problem. I just wish I would have read them before I made this purchase. This machine should be taken off the market until this issue is fixed.

Was this review helpful? (444) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
me2003
Ruth, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Not for heavy duty cleaning
10/24/2016

Customer review by Phillywalmartlover

4.0 stars 10/24/2016 by Phillywalmartlover
by Phillywalmartlover

But I knew that when I purchased this carpet cleaner. Its very light weight, I would mostly recommend for cleaning small areas and area rugs. It did a pretty good job of cleaning my ivory colored area rug. I read all the reviews and only purchased this for the price and because I don’t have wall to wall carpets.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phillywalmartlover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this machine!
10/12/2016

Customer review by Oregoncoast4u

5.0 stars 10/12/2016 by Oregoncoast4u
by Oregoncoast4u

Best feature for me is dual tsnks, clean & dirty. Wish they were a bit bigger but this keeps the weight down so its easy to carry from room ti room. I miss the feature of keepung clean water tank hot. I would recommend the hoover cleaning solution for PETS! The sample it came wirh hardly workef at all. Keep an eye on the bottom Brussels& use a screwdriver to get out acumulated hair. This machine made my nasty disgusting carpets beautiful again, thanks Hoover!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oregoncoast4u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Experience..... "Do NOT BUY!!!"
10/20/2016

Customer review by Shawtydoowop

1.0 stars 10/20/2016 by Shawtydoowop
by Shawtydoowop

So I bought it because it was price friendly and compact I live in an apartment with a pet so didn't want anything to big ...... well it doesn't work well at all I used it on 2 different occasions it doesn't work .... it's cute.... but it leaves at lot of excess water behind twice, I went over it with the older carpet cleaner I had already and it picked at least a cup full of water I also posted photos on the hoover site on FB so you can see......oh put the photos of the excess water it left behind

Was this review helpful? (11) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shawtydoowop
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Value!
11/17/2013

Customer review by gabytango

4.0 stars 11/17/2013 by gabytango
by gabytango

My Hoover was shipped quickly. Hubby put it together fast and away I went. Easy to fill the cleaning tank (it doesn't last too long, though) and easy to drain/clean the dirty tank. I have two 8x10 area rugs used by my toddler granddaughter and small poodle: one oriental and one short shag. As recommended, I vacuumed thoroughly first. The shorter Oriental Rug was faster to clean than the short shag. The head is small and it does take some patience to clean everything well. Suction was better than expected, filling 50% of the dirty water tank. Happy to note that the water did not seep through to the floor on either rug. The rugs look great and smell fresh! Only CON is that when taking the cleaner off of the carpet, there is quite a bit of dirty water residue that drips out from the rollers and plastic head that dirties the floor (hope it wasn't also going on the carpet I just cleaned!). Doesn't appear to be good for large areas as it would take forever. But for my needs, it is perfect!

Was this review helpful? (143) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gabytango
miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Another hoover little unit with big power
8/8/2014

Customer review by Darlaann

5.0 stars 8/8/2014 by Darlaann
by Darlaann

I moved into an apartment after my son and three boys moved out, what a mess and the carpets were worse then the walls. I rented a carpet cleaner from my local grocer store and a friend of mine cleaned the carpets with it, didn't improve much. Later that same month the apartments had one of their maintenance men clean the carpets about the same results. I have only used my Hoover Dual power for about 2 hours cleaned my room and just the front door entrance, WOW it almost looks new. Power drive what a blessing and great suction. Didn't even have to saturate the carpet to get the dirt to come out. Easy to clean I put it in the tub and used my hand held shower head to flush the hose that goes from the suction area (front of machine) to the dirty water container. And flush it did! I then ran the hose around the brushes and clean them as easy. If you are worried about the belt breaking get a replacement ahead of time, you'll need it one day. But this is a must own for folks who live in an apartment.

Was this review helpful? (66) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Darlaann
League City TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
not worth the money
7/10/2016

Customer review by CK1958

1.0 stars 7/10/2016 by CK1958
by CK1958

Correct me if I am wrong, dont remember seeing product is not for pet hair. 3rd time using, after a good vacumming, pet hair is clogged all in the inside of where the rollers are. After removing all screws, bottom refuses to come off because of all the crud stuck inside. Thought the worst part would be emptying the dirty water. Trying to get the dirt, pet hair, etc out thats caked on is just nasty. This cleaner has deposited grimmy, dirty water all over my carpet. Uver frustrated! ☆wants to know if this is for pet hair☆ [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Comment from Michael - 7/12/2016

Hi CK1958! Oh no, that doesn't sound too good. We want to help. The Dual Power can be used with pets, but you would want to do a thorough vacuuming first before using the unit, as the Dual Power should not be used as a vacuum. We also recommend cleaning the brushes out regularly to avoid any build up. Hope this helps!

CK1958
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect for small spaces
10/23/2013

Customer review by MDBROCK

5.0 stars 10/23/2013 by MDBROCK
by MDBROCK
Walmart associate

This carpet washer is actually smaller and lighter than my regular vacuum which was a huge selling point. Perfect for apartment dwellers but great for larger spaces as well. It was really easy to put together and came with the first bottle of cleaner. I don't know that this would be the best item for spot cleaning stains but it does a great job of generally sanitizing and cleaning carpet and area rugs. I have multiple pets and have a large 8x10 shag area rug that I had yet to clean. I wasn't sure how something so small would do on a shag carpet, but it was super easy to use and definitely left me with a dirty tank of water. It felt like a lot more water left the tank than returned dirty, but the carpet wasn't that saturated when I was done and it was fully dry by the next morning. The day after I cleaned my carpet our dog had an accident on our couch and we used it to clean the cushion (with skepticism from me) and much to my suprise it worked great and left the cushion spot and smell free. Definitely recommend this item.

Was this review helpful? (259) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MDBROCK
Pacifica, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Walmart associate
Worked (past tense) Well
9/4/2015

Customer review by YvetteMarie

4.0 stars 9/4/2015 by YvetteMarie
by YvetteMarie

Worked well on carpet I even used it in my classroom before Back-to-School Nite. But this morning it just fell apart!! The bottom of the clean water container just fell off!

YvetteMarie
Inglewood, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cleans good, not really amazing
3/30/2014

Customer review by trace29

3.0 stars 3/30/2014 by trace29
by trace29
Walmart associate

It does clean well, picks up alot more than my vacuum cleaner. I mainly used it on my area rug that had a few stains and removed some of them. My rug does look alot better now. It removed a stain from my carpet and made other stains less noticeable. I think it could have been a little bit better of a product. After filling the solution tank up, I have a hard time getting it back in, it's a tight space. Also I wouldn't recommend filling the solution tank up all the way with water, about 3/4 full. It will leak. It leaked quite a bit the second time I used it. Leaked water through the holes in the back, and I had to fill it up again. It nearly leaked all the way out while I was trying to get the solution tank in. So I had to pull it out so I can fill it back up. I've been pulling the empty dirty water tank out first and then trying to put the solution tank in. Then putting the dirty water tank back in. I'm glad to having a cleaner rug and it looking better. Still working on removing a couple of the stains though.

Was this review helpful? (24) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trace29
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Walmart associate
light weight, easy to use
1/9/2014

Customer review by soldierswifefortstewart

4.0 stars 1/9/2014 by soldierswifefortstewart
by soldierswifefortstewart

I love my new carpet cleaner! It is light weight, easy to use, and was easy to put together. I vacuumed my carpets with my Dyson vacuum before I cleaned my carpets. I was shocked at how much pet hair, the Hoover carpet cleaner picked up from my carpet. The down side was it left the hair in clumps, and I had to pick it up with a paper towel when I was done cleaning my carpets. I did notice that dirty water dripped out from the rollers when I stopped the machine, and left it in one place. Not a lot, I just need to remember to stop the machine on the tile floors, when I am finished with the carpets, so the dirty water does not dirty the carpets I just cleaned. If you are looking for something that is easy to use, and light weight, I think you will like the Hover. It didn’t take me long to clean my living room rug. With this machine, I could very easily clean my carpets once a week without my back hurting.

Was this review helpful? (56) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
soldierswifefortstewart
Huntsville al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
It's cute, small, and will fail after 2nd use
4/8/2017

Customer review by wizbang4fl

1.0 stars 4/8/2017 by wizbang4fl
by wizbang4fl

We bought this one for our condo. It looks nice, so it seemed like it would do the job. Unfortunately, the design leaves the floors, not damp but WET. and it quickly started to just move dirty water around and any dirt in the carpet turned to MUD. On the 3rd use when I could see what was happening it went out in the trash. I ended up having to rent a professional extractor and soaked the carpet and scrubbed by hand to break up the mud and then extract the mess. That was 2 day that I won't ever get back. So if you look at this and think oh it will do the job, save your money and carpet from real damage. If you want a carpet cleaner get one that really pulls the water out of the carpet otherwise it's not pulling out the water or the dirt.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/17/2017

Hi wizbang4fl, If in any event you feel as though you're out of options when it comes to the repair or warranty of your product, please don't hesitate to reach out. We can always seek other avenues to further assist and ensure your product is working as intended. -Doug Hoover Customer Care

wizbang4fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Faulty Machine
11/17/2016

Customer review by MBTampa

1.0 stars 11/17/2016 by MBTampa
by MBTampa

Do not buy this machine. I purchased this item to clean the carpets in my home in late June. After 2 months of moderate use, the machine became inoperable. I called Hoover as I did not purchase the product replacement plan and they sent me to a local vacuum store for repair. I took the item to the store, and they inspected and determined that the switch mechanism burned out based on faulty equipment by the manufacturing. Hoover sent a new machine to the store for me, which was appreciated. The machine seemed to work and I was happy with the cleaning. However, once again, after 2 months of use the machine had the same issue with the switch mechanism. If you think you are saving money by purchasing this machine, don't. Pay the extra $50 to get a more reliable Bissell machine. Do not waste your money or time on this subpar Hoover machine.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MBTampa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does a great job
11/8/2013

Customer review by iheartmy4kids

4.0 stars 11/8/2013 by iheartmy4kids
by iheartmy4kids

Easy to put together. Its a light weight simple cleaner. Which is what I wanted. Its looks awesome in person. I love it. It did a great job at cleaning my carpet. I was really impressed! The suction on this machine is awesome. I do however have two complaints. First, the same day I received the cleaner I had cleaned 3 rooms but once I got to the 4th room I noticed the spinners weren't spinning. The belt broke! :( Can't find replacement belt at Walmart store or online. You will have to go to the hoover website to order it. Second, the cleaning of the suction area is not to fun. Sometimes you suck up a lot of loose carpet or hair etc. and it gets stuck, most machines you can pop the top plastic cover to clean. Which is easier because it happens a lot and suction doesn't work as great if you have a lot of guck stuck under it. On this machine however you have to completely take apart underneath to clean under the plastic top. Which is only seven screws but it usually happens during cleaning and I had to stop to clean it and start back again. Anyways I know I am rambling but it was a pain!lol. All in all it did a awesome job at cleaning my carpet and I don't regret buying it.

Was this review helpful? (70) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iheartmy4kids
oklahoma,ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
good for the price
3/2/2014

Customer review by danielp1

3.0 stars 3/2/2014 by danielp1
by danielp1

keep in mind you get what you pay for. if you are expecting to buy this machine for less than 100 dollars and take it home and use it on filthy carpet that hasnt been cleaned in a long time or never, this is not the machine for you. also keep in mind the commercial, that carpet is already clean just vacuumed and when you go over it in a different direction you will get the affect that it is being cleaned. pros: cheap, light (good for someone like me who has back problems) easy to put together, easy to use, (fill, and empty) great for inbetween deep cleanings. cons: smaller so it takes abit longer to do larger areas, the cord is not very long , it leaks when not in use( set it on a towel or rag) but my older one leaked aslo (hoovr power scrub) done great on a few pet stains i had, and used it in my kitchen on an area rug that i was ready to throw out, and actually cleand it very well. the key to any carpet cleaner is to make sure you vacuum well befor using it. and using a good deep cleaning vacuum, sorry hoover but i do prefer the shark for vacuuming. also keep in mind just because it is light and makes you want to go fast, keep it slow and steady.

Was this review helpful? (105) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
danielp1
huntington wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Age:45 - 54
Good value for the money
4/25/2016

Customer review by nshoppe

5.0 stars 4/25/2016 by nshoppe
by nshoppe

Excellent little machine. I needed a cleaner with rotating heads to try and clean a white carpet that was covered in black soot. I wasn't even sure I could salvage the carpet but I wanted to try. Not that it got the carpet perfectly back to white, but for what I was asking the machine to do, I was impressed at the out come. I then took it an cleaned another carpet that had been shampooed using another cleaner only days before and again I was impressed by the amount of dirt this cleaner pulled from what seemed to be a clean carpet. It is easy to use and easy to clean. I am glad I purchased it.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nshoppe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
#FH50900
5/14/2017

Customer review by mac70

1.0 stars 5/14/2017 by mac70
by mac70

Used this machine maybe 3 times on one room carpet.Had no need to use it again for like 5 or 6 months,then when I went to use it again it would not start.The cleaner looks just like it came from the store,but for some reason will not start.Hoover cs told me my warranty had expired and they would give me 30% off a new one.Why should I have to buy one after using this one for such a short period? Thought this may be due a fuse in the machine,but cannot find one.Poor use of my money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/20/2017

Hi mac70! Sorry to see you're having trouble. For product longevity, be sure you're using only the Hoover cleaning solution designed for use with your Dual Power. At this time, we recommend bringing the unit in to a Hoover authorized repair center for service. For locations near you please visit: https://hoover.com/locator/. Hope this helps! ~Kenya, Hoover Customer Care

mac70
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Buy
4/3/2017

Customer review by escoses

5.0 stars 4/3/2017 by escoses
by escoses

So, I have never actually taken the time to write a review on a product but I have to say it is worth it in this case. It's half a mile of gravel and red clay to my house, where I regularly dog-sit for 6 lovely little chihuahuas. Needless to say, I needed something to clean the carpets that hadn't been cleaned in years prior to my moving in. My original thought on this was it would be cheaper to buy this then have to rent a carpet cleaner three times, as I am not able to walk without assistance and moving furniture to get the whole house done in a day would be nearly impossible for me. This unit is light and easy to use, it has done far better than I would have expected at this price range. The dual brushes really help in getting some of the heavier soiled spots up quickly. I have sort of developed a bit of a man crush on my cleaner...I have been able to get years worth of dirt, stains and fankly smells up out of carpet that I was about to have replaced. The tanks are not the biggest and do require change out frequently but it is a quick and easy process. It might not have all of the features of some units even in the hoover line that sell for quite a bit more, but it has been doing a great job for me. I couldn't be happier as it has exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
escoses
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 527 total reviews
1-20 of 527 reviews