Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 506 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

506 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

506 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
217
4 stars
95
3 stars
41
2 stars
36
1 stars
117
1-20 of 506 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 506 total reviews
1-20 of 506 reviews
very disappointed
2/7/2017

Customer review by cbcalles

1.0 stars 2/7/2017 by cbcalles
by cbcalles

we have had this maybe a year if that. It has been used a handful of times and i went to use it today and it will not power on. It sounded like it was going to run and it died and won't come backon. very disappointed

Comment from Kenya - 2/8/2017

Hi cbcalles! You shouldn’t be having any issues with your Power Path Pro XL. The good news is this model carries a 1 yr warranty against manufacturing defects. This sounds like something we’ll need to get our hands on. Please bring the vacuum in for service. To locate a Hoover Authorized Repair Center visit: https://hoover.com/locator/. Let us know if you still need us!

cbcalles
Lexington, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great features works well
1/27/2017

Customer review by Astory78

5.0 stars 1/27/2017 by Astory78
by Astory78

We just bought this and used it for the first time this morning. I was unsure how well it would work because of the cheap price but was very impressed with it I have two cats, and a dog, two children, myself and my husband living at the home. A lot of traffic on our carpet and it hadn't been cleaned in awhile. It was pretty filthy. We didn't even using the cleaning bottle that came with it and used or own cleaner and it came up great! I was very impressed with this product. It was light weight and easy for me to handle. Great Product!

Astory78
Kansas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful
2/2/2017

Customer review by Mustangfastback29

5.0 stars 2/2/2017 by Mustangfastback29
by Mustangfastback29

I brought in November and I'm very Happy with it other than it doesn't have the attachments for cleaning furniture. Other than that I very happy

Mustangfastback29
Hattieville, AR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Comes apart at the seam!
12/5/2015

Customer review by Coming undone in Colorado

1.0 stars 12/5/2015 by Coming undone in Colorado
by Coming undone in Colorado

We have white berber carpet and manufacturer does not suggest a beater roll for cleaning purposes. But... The CARPET IS WHITE, we live in the mountains... At first I really liked this cleaner. Easy to use, doesn't weigh a ton like most. But now... My opinion is waning.... Would prefer a larger dirty water reservoir. I have to empty this before I'm even out of my clean water. This cleaner is starting to look like a throw away after a year cleaner! My last Hoover lasted me 6 years! I neglected to send in my information and no longer have a receipt So I can't return it or use my warranty. ° It seems to be getting louder and louder too. ° Clean water reservoir is coming apart. ° Reservoir is separating at the seam. ° It leaks everywhere. ° Could stand more suction. ° Dirty water reservoir is getting more difficult to remove. ° Replacement part price is OUTRAGEOUS! $63.93! I need my cleaner but $63.93 for this part and other symptoms make me wonder if it's even worth it!

Comment from Kenya - 12/6/2015

Hi there! Your Dual Power should be holding up better than that. We want to help. To prevent leaking and for product longevity we recommend using only the Hoover carpet cleaning solution in your cleaner. We are sending you a private email to better assist. Thanks!

Coming undone in Colorado
Manitou Springs, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fiddly but does what it says on the box
11/13/2016

Customer review by KKMainz

4.0 stars 11/13/2016 by KKMainz
by KKMainz

Bought the unit a week ago. Used it on a 6 x 4 carpeted lounge that sees two medium sized dogs rule the roost. There were some quite dirty areas which came up pretty well. It's relatively straight forward to use, but the domestic sized tanks and cleaning between uses makes it a bit fiddly. I fear that we should have gone the next size up so the unit doesn't have to work so hard so hopefully the unit survives. I've not had any roller or drive belt issues that have been reported in other review. It is absolutely necessary to clean the roller area and nozzle between uses - I use a trigger hose out on the lawn, taking care not to get water in the motor. If I don't do this level of cleaning, this unit is toast. Keep a towel by the carpet area and put the unit on it when it is time to refill water or empty the dirty water tank - otherwise you will have additional dirty patches on your carpet to clean. I have a powerful vacuum cleaner with a power brush head and I have vacuumed the carpet to within an inch of its life, but it is amazing just how much more fur and gunk this carpet cleaner gets out of the carpet.

KKMainz
Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not so great
1/22/2017

Customer review by Bubbles14

3.0 stars 1/22/2017 by Bubbles14
by Bubbles14

I love hoover products but the fact that it broke two days after I had put it together kind of irritates me...it works well but doesn't suck up water that we'll. It's good if you don't have pets

Comment from Karissa - 1/24/2017

Hi Bubbles14! Your Dual Power should extract the water that has been dispensed. We want to help. If you’re noticing a loss in pickup this can indicate a blockage in the nozzle or dirty water tank. Please follow the steps shown in this quick video here: http://bit.ly/2koXZ3c. This should help get your unit back to working order. If further assistance is needed feel free to reach out to us via Facebook or Tweet us @HooverUSA. We’re here for you!

Bubbles14
Traverse City, MI, United States
just stopped working
1/23/2017

Customer review by SandiBay

2.0 stars 1/23/2017 by SandiBay
by SandiBay

Works great when it worked. Just went to clean a puppy mess and it doesn't turn on. Very upset.

Comment from Kenya - 1/25/2017

Hi SandiBay! We don’t want you to be upset. We want to help. If your Dual Power won’t turn on after 24 hours, we recommend taking it in for service. This model carries a 1 year warranty against manufacturing defects. For a list of authorized repair centers near you please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. Let us know if you still need us!

SandiBay
Thunder Bay, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible Shampooer
1/16/2017

Customer review by Vivian

1.0 stars 1/16/2017 by Vivian
by Vivian

I bought this carpet shampooer thinking it would be perfect for my area rug and instead it was the complete opposite it has left my area rug soaked and probably ruined... horrible DO NOT BUY!

Comment from Kenya - 1/16/2017

Hi Vivian! That doesn’t sound good. We want to help. Your Dual Power should always deliver maximum extraction. For tips on improving suction, see here: http://bit.ly/1ovkmBY. We hope this helps!

Vivian
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Doesn't work
1/16/2017

Customer review by Grant9477

1.0 stars 1/16/2017 by Grant9477
by Grant9477

I bought this thinking it would be perfect for my area rug but it does not suck up the water and left my area rug soaking wet and possibly ruined.

Comment from Kenya - 1/16/2017

Hi Grant9477! That doesn’t sound good. We want to help. Your Dual Power should always deliver maximum extraction. For tips on improving suction, see here: http://bit.ly/1ovkmBY. We hope this helps!

Grant9477
Callahan Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great while it lasted
1/11/2017

Customer review by Andrea Nc

2.0 stars 1/11/2017 by Andrea Nc
by Andrea Nc

I bought it close to four months ago and have only used it twice and it cut off and will not cut back on. I'm very very disappointed. It cleaned very well the two times I was able to use it.

Comment from Karissa - 1/14/2017

Hi Andrea Nc! We don’t want you to feel disappointed in your Dual Power Carpet Washer. We want to help. This sounds like something one of our service technicians may need to take a look at. Your model carries a one year warranty from the purchase date on the receipt. To locate a service center in your area please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. If further assistance is needed feel free to reach out to us via Facebook or Tweet us @HooverUSA. We’re here for you!

Andrea Nc
Taylorsville, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it
1/7/2017

Customer review by Mgreen

5.0 stars 1/7/2017 by Mgreen
by Mgreen

Just got it and I had some stains and dirty spots..used on my carpets last night..they are spotless. I'm so happy to now look a clean carpets..

Mgreen
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
REPLACEMENT MACHINE - Giving it a second try
12/30/2016

Customer review by DocDon

3.0 stars 12/30/2016 by DocDon
by DocDon

Bought my first one in March, 2016. Used it about three times, and it suddenly stopped and would not restart. Advised to take it to the authorized agent. Did that in November, 2016. Agent submitted a warranty replacement request, which was fulfilled in December, 2016. I am withholding any positive comments until I see if this replacement machine works longer that six months!

Comment from Kenya - 1/4/2017

Hi DocDon! Oh no, that doesn’t sound like Hoover quality. We’re glad everything worked out for you. We’re confident you shouldn’t have any issues with your new Dual Power. Thanks for your time!

DocDon
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy to use
12/6/2016

Customer review by Hmiller87

2.0 stars 12/6/2016 by Hmiller87
by Hmiller87

Easy to use however bought this November 6th already broke not even 3 weeks later. Called and they told me to take it to a service center an hour away. Was told 2-3 days to fix here it's 4 days haven't heard anything.

Comment from Karissa - 12/8/2016

Hi Hmiller87! Your Dual Power should last longer than this. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

Hmiller87
Indianola, IA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great features,light weight,
11/17/2016

Customer review by Mary 104

5.0 stars 11/17/2016 by Mary 104
by Mary 104

Have used it twice and love it! It is easy to use and to clean.

Mary 104
Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Alright for a little while, but...
10/18/2016

Customer review by One User

2.0 stars 10/18/2016 by One User
by One User

Worked good for a while. Metal parts in agitator brushes have rusted so they won't spin which burns the belt. Screws are rusted also. Have to replace brushes and screws so now is the time to buy a different brand.

Comment from Kenya - 10/19/2016

Hi One User! Your Dual Power should be holding up better than that. We want to help. We’re sending you a private email to better assist!

One User
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Carpet Cleaner
4/6/2015

Customer review by NancyG

4.0 stars 4/6/2015 by NancyG
by NancyG

I love this carpet cleaner. Beings as I have dogs and cats, it comes in VERY handy. It has cleaned up every stain I have used it on. I only have 2 complaints. I do vacuum before I clean the carpets, however the Dual Power has lots better suction than my vacuum (Bissell... sorry LOL). It picks up quite a bit of dog and cat fur and then gets plugged up where it sucks up water and it's difficult to clean. The other problem is that for some reason the belts break quite often. I have had the cleaner 3 months... maybe a bit less and have broken 3 bets. And of course no one carries them so I have to order new belts (which is why I am here) and can't use my carpet cleaner while I wait for belts to get here. Walmart sells the machines, it would be nice if they carried the belts for them too. Better yet, it would be nice if the belts didn't break so easily. Sigh... off to order belts. :(

Comment from Giselle - 4/7/2015

Hi Nancy! Sorry to hear this. The belts to your Dual Power shouldn't break this often. We want to help. You will receive a private email shortly.

NancyG
Taylorville, IL, United States
Gender:Female
Lightweight and Easy to use
10/31/2013

Customer review by SteveTJr

4.0 stars 10/31/2013 by SteveTJr
by SteveTJr

Good unit, have had the bigger hoover units and this works almost as well minus the hose attachment and in some areas seems to do better since it is so light weight and maneuverable.  However with light weight there are a few issues, first the hinge between the upper and lower half when locked upright is a little flimsy, second is broke a belt about 3/4 of the way through my area I was trying to clean.  When I pulled the cover off the belt had snapped and looks like it melted the wheel where it attaches to one of the roller brushes, not sure if it got stuck or what just heard it like the tank was full then back to normal until I noticed the brushes were not spinning any more.  Like the unit to that point due to the light weight just not sure about durability due to the light weight.  Thankfully the belt is fairly easy to replace but the roller unfortunately is pretty pricey.

Comment from Ian - 11/1/2013

Hi SteveTJr, we're happy to hear that you liked the machine up to that point and we're sending you an email to assist you directly with the concerns that you mentioned. We're happy that you like your Dual Power but we want you to LOVE your Dual Power!

SteveTJr
Dallas, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Deep cleaning
10/9/2016

Customer review by Bcleggett

4.0 stars 10/9/2016 by Bcleggett
by Bcleggett

Had this for one day & really impressed with how deep it cleans the carpets

Bcleggett
Wisconsin, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Carpet Cleaner!
9/21/2016

Customer review by ElsaNas

5.0 stars 9/21/2016 by ElsaNas
by ElsaNas

This carpet cleaner is very easy to use and great for my small apartment. It cleaned the carpet very well and the fact that there are two easy to use water compartments is also a bonus. The only nitpick I have is that the dirty water and clean water containers do fill up and empty rather quickly respectively. Besides that though, this machine is awesome!

ElsaNas
Midland, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Its lightweight and very easy to use.my carpet looked so great after i finished cleaning it.my visitor gave me comlpiments on how nice my carpet looked.
9/19/2016

Customer review by Dee1

5.0 stars 9/19/2016 by Dee1
by Dee1

I really like my new carpet cleaner.its lightweight and easy to use.it did a great job on carpet.i now own a Hoover vacuum and Hoover carpet cleaner.

Dee1
Buena Park, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 506 total reviews
1-20 of 506 reviews