Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.5out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 | 543 reviews
5 stars
232
4 stars
97
3 stars
43
2 stars
39
1 stars
132
Sort by: 
1-20 of 543 reviews
1-20 of 543 reviews
Greatest Cleaner EVER!
8/11/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have never written a review about a product, but I had to write a review about this one! I have three kids, a cat, and a messy husband. My carpets were disgustings. Besides Vacumming every day the last three years since moving into my new home, i never cleaned my carpet more. And they are disgusting. Correction, were disgusting. We were contemplating riping up the carpet, but this cleaner saved us alot! And our carpet! I can tell how well it works because after cleaning one room, the dirty water was disgusting. So i went over a second time, still gross but not as bad. Then for a third time, huge difference in water color! I love it. Feels cleaner, looks amazing! And i have no concern for my infant crawl around on dirty carpets anymore because they are soooo cleaning. On top of all this, easy assembly, great price, and Ive used it well over 3X per room 2X a year. Buy this product!! Photos dont do justice when showing how nasty the before was.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product for the price.
7/3/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was in desperate need of clean carpets but I'm always short on cash and time. I was going to rent a Rug Doctor like I have in the past because I know they work. But I knew I could not do everything I needed to in 24 hours. So I decided to spend a little extra and buy this Hoover for 89 dollars. It took longer because of the smaller width but it did a comparable job. My two teenagers and toddler had done a job on my carpets and I was amazed that just about EVERYTHING came out.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BEST $100 I SPENT IN AWHILE!!!!
3/25/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It works amazingly perfect.. I know nothing is perfect.. but this item here.. well just look at the pics.. that says it all.. thank you Hoover for making such an on point product and thank you Wal-Mart for selling this one of a kind carpet dirt machine!! A++++
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
worked well, until it broke during first use
12/5/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This carpet washer cleaned my carpets very well up until the belt broke during the first use. I removed the belt cover and, not only was it broken, but the wheel that it sits on is melted and sideways. This type of issue shows the poor quality of the machine. I see by the reviews on the Hoover website that I am not the only one with this problem. I just wish I would have read them before I made this purchase. This machine should be taken off the market until this issue is fixed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (470)No (32)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not for heavy duty cleaning
10/24/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
But I knew that when I purchased this carpet cleaner. Its very light weight, I would mostly recommend for cleaning small areas and area rugs. It did a pretty good job of cleaning my ivory colored area rug. I read all the reviews and only purchased this for the price and because I don’t have wall to wall carpets.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I love this machine!
10/12/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Best feature for me is dual tsnks, clean & dirty. Wish they were a bit bigger but this keeps the weight down so its easy to carry from room ti room. I miss the feature of keepung clean water tank hot. I would recommend the hoover cleaning solution for PETS! The sample it came wirh hardly workef at all. Keep an eye on the bottom Brussels& use a screwdriver to get out acumulated hair. This machine made my nasty disgusting carpets beautiful again, thanks Hoover!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My Experience..... "Do NOT BUY!!!"
10/20/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
So I bought it because it was price friendly and compact I live in an apartment with a pet so didn't want anything to big ...... well it doesn't work well at all I used it on 2 different occasions it doesn't work .... it's cute.... but it leaves at lot of excess water behind twice, I went over it with the older carpet cleaner I had already and it picked at least a cup full of water I also posted photos on the hoover site on FB so you can see......oh put the photos of the excess water it left behind
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
not worth the money
7/10/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Correct me if I am wrong, dont remember seeing product is not for pet hair. 3rd time using, after a good vacumming, pet hair is clogged all in the inside of where the rollers are. After removing all screws, bottom refuses to come off because of all the crud stuck inside. Thought the worst part would be emptying the dirty water. Trying to get the dirt, pet hair, etc out thats caked on is just nasty. This cleaner has deposited grimmy, dirty water all over my carpet. Uver frustrated! ☆wants to know if this is for pet hair☆ [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Value!
11/17/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My Hoover was shipped quickly. Hubby put it together fast and away I went. Easy to fill the cleaning tank (it doesn't last too long, though) and easy to drain/clean the dirty tank. I have two 8x10 area rugs used by my toddler granddaughter and small poodle: one oriental and one short shag. As recommended, I vacuumed thoroughly first. The shorter Oriental Rug was faster to clean than the short shag. The head is small and it does take some patience to clean everything well. Suction was better than expected, filling 50% of the dirty water tank. Happy to note that the water did not seep through to the floor on either rug. The rugs look great and smell fresh! Only CON is that when taking the cleaner off of the carpet, there is quite a bit of dirty water residue that drips out from the rollers and plastic head that dirties the floor (hope it wasn't also going on the carpet I just cleaned!). Doesn't appear to be good for large areas as it would take forever. But for my needs, it is perfect!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (146)No (33)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worked (past tense) Well
9/4/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Worked well on carpet I even used it in my classroom before Back-to-School Nite. But this morning it just fell apart!! The bottom of the clean water container just fell off!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful Cleaner
8/1/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was going to rent a rug doctor, but with pets and kids in the house I decided that I would buy a shampooer instead! This thing is awesome. I have years of stains on my carpets from the kids.. this made my 20+ year old carpet look almost brand new even in my high traffic area in front of the entry door! It's easy to use, fill it up and vacuum the floor.. the sample size bottle is enough to do several rooms. I cleaned 3 rooms and still have enough left to do more! The container is easy to clean. I vacuumed my floor really well first, as directed, and this machine pulled out so much stuff you couldn't see.. even extra pet hair, and it didn't get plugged at all! would definitely buy this product again. I think it works better than the rug doctor and is way easier to use! I wish I took before/after pictures you wouldn't believe it's the same carpet! It's almost addicting to use once you see how well it cleans!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Another hoover little unit with big power
8/8/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I moved into an apartment after my son and three boys moved out, what a mess and the carpets were worse then the walls. I rented a carpet cleaner from my local grocer store and a friend of mine cleaned the carpets with it, didn't improve much. Later that same month the apartments had one of their maintenance men clean the carpets about the same results. I have only used my Hoover Dual power for about 2 hours cleaned my room and just the front door entrance, WOW it almost looks new. Power drive what a blessing and great suction. Didn't even have to saturate the carpet to get the dirt to come out. Easy to clean I put it in the tub and used my hand held shower head to flush the hose that goes from the suction area (front of machine) to the dirty water container. And flush it did! I then ran the hose around the brushes and clean them as easy. If you are worried about the belt breaking get a replacement ahead of time, you'll need it one day. But this is a must own for folks who live in an apartment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (72)No (23)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for small spaces
10/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
This carpet washer is actually smaller and lighter than my regular vacuum which was a huge selling point. Perfect for apartment dwellers but great for larger spaces as well. It was really easy to put together and came with the first bottle of cleaner. I don't know that this would be the best item for spot cleaning stains but it does a great job of generally sanitizing and cleaning carpet and area rugs. I have multiple pets and have a large 8x10 shag area rug that I had yet to clean. I wasn't sure how something so small would do on a shag carpet, but it was super easy to use and definitely left me with a dirty tank of water. It felt like a lot more water left the tank than returned dirty, but the carpet wasn't that saturated when I was done and it was fully dry by the next morning. The day after I cleaned my carpet our dog had an accident on our couch and we used it to clean the cushion (with skepticism from me) and much to my suprise it worked great and left the cushion spot and smell free. Definitely recommend this item.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (263)No (49)
Report
Was this review helpful?
cleans good, not really amazing
3/30/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
It does clean well, picks up alot more than my vacuum cleaner. I mainly used it on my area rug that had a few stains and removed some of them. My rug does look alot better now. It removed a stain from my carpet and made other stains less noticeable. I think it could have been a little bit better of a product. After filling the solution tank up, I have a hard time getting it back in, it's a tight space. Also I wouldn't recommend filling the solution tank up all the way with water, about 3/4 full. It will leak. It leaked quite a bit the second time I used it. Leaked water through the holes in the back, and I had to fill it up again. It nearly leaked all the way out while I was trying to get the solution tank in. So I had to pull it out so I can fill it back up. I've been pulling the empty dirty water tank out first and then trying to put the solution tank in. Then putting the dirty water tank back in. I'm glad to having a cleaner rug and it looking better. Still working on removing a couple of the stains though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Small Cleaning Machine
8/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am very pleased with my purchase of the Dual Power Carpet Cleaner. Before assembling, I read the owner's manual; and it was very easy to assemble. In my opinion, it is important to follow the instructions in the book. I just became a senior citizen and it is so easy to maneuver and operate the carpet cleaner. My carpets are really clean now and I also think the the "Expert Clean" detergent included with my purchase did a great job of getting the dirt out with the strong brushes in the machine. I think that If carpets are extremely soiled and dirty, a second round of cleaning on another day should complete the job. I really like having a home carpet cleaner because I can clean my carpets anytime I want. There is no need to set an appointment without an outside service and hire a stranger to come into my home to do the work. Hoover really made carpet cleaning easy with your dual tank system. Thank you. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
light weight, easy to use
1/9/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love my new carpet cleaner! It is light weight, easy to use, and was easy to put together. I vacuumed my carpets with my Dyson vacuum before I cleaned my carpets. I was shocked at how much pet hair, the Hoover carpet cleaner picked up from my carpet. The down side was it left the hair in clumps, and I had to pick it up with a paper towel when I was done cleaning my carpets. I did notice that dirty water dripped out from the rollers when I stopped the machine, and left it in one place. Not a lot, I just need to remember to stop the machine on the tile floors, when I am finished with the carpets, so the dirty water does not dirty the carpets I just cleaned. If you are looking for something that is easy to use, and light weight, I think you will like the Hover. It didn’t take me long to clean my living room rug. With this machine, I could very easily clean my carpets once a week without my back hurting.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (59)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good for the price
3/2/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
keep in mind you get what you pay for. if you are expecting to buy this machine for less than 100 dollars and take it home and use it on filthy carpet that hasnt been cleaned in a long time or never, this is not the machine for you. also keep in mind the commercial, that carpet is already clean just vacuumed and when you go over it in a different direction you will get the affect that it is being cleaned. pros: cheap, light (good for someone like me who has back problems) easy to put together, easy to use, (fill, and empty) great for inbetween deep cleanings. cons: smaller so it takes abit longer to do larger areas, the cord is not very long , it leaks when not in use( set it on a towel or rag) but my older one leaked aslo (hoovr power scrub) done great on a few pet stains i had, and used it in my kitchen on an area rug that i was ready to throw out, and actually cleand it very well. the key to any carpet cleaner is to make sure you vacuum well befor using it. and using a good deep cleaning vacuum, sorry hoover but i do prefer the shark for vacuuming. also keep in mind just because it is light and makes you want to go fast, keep it slow and steady.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (112)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
doesn't seem to be sucking the water back up?
8/18/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just bought the shampooer and I shampooed and went over it many times and there's only a little water in the dirty canister and the carpet seems so wet. Any feedback?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does a great job
11/8/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Easy to put together. Its a light weight simple cleaner. Which is what I wanted. Its looks awesome in person. I love it. It did a great job at cleaning my carpet. I was really impressed! The suction on this machine is awesome. I do however have two complaints. First, the same day I received the cleaner I had cleaned 3 rooms but once I got to the 4th room I noticed the spinners weren't spinning. The belt broke! :( Can't find replacement belt at Walmart store or online. You will have to go to the hoover website to order it. Second, the cleaning of the suction area is not to fun. Sometimes you suck up a lot of loose carpet or hair etc. and it gets stuck, most machines you can pop the top plastic cover to clean. Which is easier because it happens a lot and suction doesn't work as great if you have a lot of guck stuck under it. On this machine however you have to completely take apart underneath to clean under the plastic top. Which is only seven screws but it usually happens during cleaning and I had to stop to clean it and start back again. Anyways I know I am rambling but it was a pain!lol. All in all it did a awesome job at cleaning my carpet and I don't regret buying it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (72)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value for the money
4/25/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Excellent little machine. I needed a cleaner with rotating heads to try and clean a white carpet that was covered in black soot. I wasn't even sure I could salvage the carpet but I wanted to try. Not that it got the carpet perfectly back to white, but for what I was asking the machine to do, I was impressed at the out come. I then took it an cleaned another carpet that had been shampooed using another cleaner only days before and again I was impressed by the amount of dirt this cleaner pulled from what seemed to be a clean carpet. It is easy to use and easy to clean. I am glad I purchased it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641774, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-