Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 119 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

119 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

119 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
48
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 stars
37
1-20 of 111 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 111 total reviews
1-20 of 111 reviews
very pleased
1/30/2016

Customer review by bob s

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by bob s
by bob s

Even more powerful than expected.Beats our dyson easily

bob s
horntown VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well for a while
12/19/2011

Customer review by amintx

2.0 stars 12/19/2011 by amintx
by amintx

I bought this because it had the highest voltage on the market. It worked great for about 6 months and then would need constant recharging. It had very good suction initially, but later the battery would die within a minute, so it was only good for really quick clean ups. This lasted for about 6 months and one day just died completely. Would not charge at all, even the little red charging light wouldn't turn on when plugged in. I loved it when it worked well and was great for crumb pick-ups when my little one was small, but for the price I paid at the time, I would've liked something that lasted longer.

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amintx
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great features overwhelmed by less-than-stellar performance & design flaws
1/9/2016

Customer review by Hafcanadian

1.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Hafcanadian
by Hafcanadian

You know, this machine has a lot of potential. It has a better extendable brush design than its red predecessor(s), a nifty fold-down nozzle, and an easier-to-clean filter/dirt bowl design. But it often ran out of power quickly. My pet peave with manufacturers of cordless hand vacs is that they continue to use Ni-Cd and now I guess Ni-mH battery packs. Lithium, though more expensive, would be a much more efficient and effective power source. Mine had Ni-Cd, and they run out of power quicker and have a much shorter lifespan than any other. At Christmas I went to use the vacuum and noticed the red charging lamp won't even come on - 4 years old (out of warranty) and deader than a doornail. I don't know whether it's the battery pack or the charger unit, but either way it will cost as much to replace either than to buy a whole new unit. I will have to see what Batterys + wants for a new pack, but in the past they were about $17 for a 3-pack assembly; this vacuum uses 13, not 3, in its pack. It's likely to be cost-prohibitive. And a couple of years ago it refused to stay on its wall mount, so I used epoxy to reinforce the miniscule plastic bumps on the mount to which the vacuum was supposed to catch and hang onto. That was one of the most wimpy, useless designs I've ever encountered. The vacuum body easily fell off the wall mount/charging unit, crashing onto our bathroom countertop; the charger/mount had to be flat on the counter top for the vacuum to properly engage the little, springy plastic retainer tabs at the top of the mount; hanging it on the wall as intended just wasn't safe. Miniscule bumps on the end of each of two tabs was all that hangs onto the entire hefty vacuum - ridiculous. And proper fixation between vacuum and mount is required for good contact with the proximal springy metal charging contacts. One tab had broken off, so in the process of reattaching it with epoxy, I beefed them up and micro-formatted their edges so they would neither snap off nor let go of the vacuum quite so readily. It's almost sad. Some engineer designed the basic machine pretty well, but the charging/storage side of it sucks (no pun intended).

Comment from Kenya - 1/10/2016

Hi hafcanadian! We appreciate your suggestions and we want to help. If the red charger light comes on when you plug it into your Extreme Power, this usually means the charger is working just fine. Unfortunately the battery is not replaceable. The great news is that a simple battery reset typically restores the run time. Try this: 1. Unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. 2. Run the vacuum down until it completely shuts off. 3. Re-charge for a full 24 hours. On your next use you should expect a run time between 8-10 minutes. Hope this helps!

Hafcanadian
Oregon, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best hand vac I've ever owned
7/2/2012

Customer review by PapiandTutu

5.0 stars 7/2/2012 by PapiandTutu
by PapiandTutu

We tried several other brands and found this one to be the best. We bought this model several years ago and it still works great - NEVER had the first problem with it. About 2 years ago we needed a second hand vac for downstairs and bought a Dustbuster, just because it was the first thing I saw - big mistake. Very disappointed with it - my husband won't even use it, he dislikes it so much. So now I'm buying another Dirt Devil Extreme Power for hubby's work shop so he can have his own. We both love this product and recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PapiandTutu
Blairsville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great, powerful little cleaner
10/27/2012

Customer review by deals4You

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by deals4You
by deals4You
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have owned a few cordless hand vacs over the yrs, but I must say this one is the best. Lots of power and picks up good.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deals4You
Verona, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A handy and reliable cordless vacuum
1/24/2014

Customer review by ValueLife

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by ValueLife
by ValueLife
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second Dirt Devil Extreme Cordless Power Hand Vacuum I have owned. The first one lasted for many years before it could no longer hold a charge for an extended period of time. The new vac has strong suction and holds a charge very well. This is the perfect vacuum for those small clean up jobs such as picking up loose hair on the bathroom floor and picking up those coffee grinds you spilled while making coffee.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ValueLife
Olney, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/13/2012

Customer review by TexasQuilter

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by TexasQuilter
by TexasQuilter

This is a GREAT little hand vac! The best I've ever had. Has great power for small pick up jobs.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexasQuilter
Flower Mound, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Incredible machine!! Batteries don't last long enough and, no way to replace them.
11/26/2015

Customer review by oke1

5.0 stars 11/26/2015 by oke1
by oke1

Without question, the best machine made. Rechargeable batteries don't last long enough and no way to replace them. Interchangeable battery pack would make it an unsurpassed product.

oke1
Minnesota, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dirt Devil Extreme Power model 914
12/15/2015

Customer review by upset

1.0 stars 12/15/2015 by upset
by upset

Worked for less than a month in our rental unit, with no one in the rental unit. When the eventual lessee tried using it, it did not work. Charging light does not come on, used maybe half a dozen times when we were readying the condo for a lessee, literally the vac was in brand new condition

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
upset
Would recommend to a friend? No
Agree with others .... it really sucks .... but in a good way.
11/22/2015

Customer review by jimhiv

5.0 stars 11/22/2015 by jimhiv
by jimhiv

I purchased this product a month ago and like it so much I'm ordering another one for a different location.

jimhiv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great when it works
11/19/2015

Customer review by Frankie D

2.0 stars 11/19/2015 by Frankie D
by Frankie D

Had it for about 6 months, worked great with limited use. Then it died. Company was very nice as they sent me a new one quickly. Fingers crossed now!

Frankie D
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Battery/charger -- complete bust
11/15/2015

Customer review by PTmm

1.0 stars 11/15/2015 by PTmm
by PTmm

Mine is just a few years old. My comment on the lousy charging are like all the others. Not a reliable product period.

Comment from Kenya - 11/15/2015

Hi PTmm! Your Extreme Power should stand the test of time and it also carries a 3 year warranty. We want to help. We are sending you an email to better assist you. Thanks!

PTmm
Madison, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
loved it when it worked
11/1/2015

Customer review by Terri H Defrang

1.0 stars 11/1/2015 by Terri H Defrang
by Terri H Defrang

Bought less than a year ago and now it will not charge at all. I let the battery drain completely and tried charging it and nothing. Just looked at the box at the store and it says it has a 3 year warranty. I do not have my receipt, didn't think I would need it for a product like this. How do I get a replacement or get it fixed????

Comment from Joscelyn - 11/3/2015

Hi Terri H Defrang! This is unacceptable and we want to help resolve this matter so you can get your Extreme Power working like new! You'll be receiving a private email for further assistance. Thanks!

Terri H Defrang
Covington, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Walmart sent me used vac and repackage
1/28/2014

Customer review by Journey65

1.0 stars 1/28/2014 by Journey65
by Journey65
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Horrible, sent used and scratched up and repackaged.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Journey65
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Model 0914 Extreme Power has none
2/16/2014

Customer review by Poppie

1.0 stars 2/16/2014 by Poppie
by Poppie

I bought this unit several months ago for very light work, such as picking up crumbs. The first time I used it I thought it seemed a little weak. I seldom use the unit, but I thought it would be nice to have. I have owned other Dirt Devil products that always met or exceeded my expectations, so I was somewhat surprised by its performance. I always keep it on the charger will a cleal filter so it will be ready when needed. It has been more than a month since I last used it, ; so, when I removed it from the charger yesterday, I was surprised that it had almost no power. Also, you could hear the unit slowing down until it picked up nothing. Today I tried to use it again with the same disappointing result. This unit surely must have slipped though the manufacturing and inspection process. I recognize that those thing do happen. My Dirt Devil products have always been great in the past, so I wonder what happened here.

Poppie
Huntley, Illinois
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Great power when it works!
10/12/2015

Customer review by Pachongui

1.0 stars 10/12/2015 by Pachongui
by Pachongui

Bought this machine about a year ago and it worked great for about 3 months at which time it started dying after just 5 minutes of use. Two months latter it completely ceased to work. I had followed the manufacturer charging instruction to a t right from the start but unfortunately the battery is garbage. I should have read the reviews before I purchased it.

Comment from Joscelyn - 10/13/2015

Hi Pachongui! Your Extreme Power should be holding up much than this and we want to help. You will be receiving a private email shortly for further questions. Thank you!

Pachongui
Orlando, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does a great job so far
2/3/2013

Customer review by bschift

5.0 stars 2/3/2013 by bschift
by bschift
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So far this little vacuum has been doing a great job for us. We use it mostly for picking up wood chips and ashes around the fireplace after loading it or cleaning it out and it does great. The fine ash seems to clog up the filter pretty quickly but it's easy enough to clean. One reservation I have, and it may be user error is that a couple of times the vacuum has fallen off the wall bracket. We're going to try to be more careful to be sure we hang it up securely but if falls again I'm going to have to figure out how to modify the storage.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bschift
whitney, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not by a M0914 - Purchase a BD1000-45 unit
7/20/2015

Customer review by Illinois

3.0 stars 7/20/2015 by Illinois
by Illinois

This is my third M0914 Extreme Power Cordless Bagless Handheld Vacuum. The first lost battery power just after the warranty had expired, since I was impressed with the vacuums pickup power, I purchased a second unit. Luckily it expired just within the three year warranty and since I had purchased it from Amazon I was able to prove my purchase date and got a third unit from Dirt Devil! I now keep the old charging base (unpowered) to store the fully charged unit until use. When use, I charge the unit for a day and then switched it to the old base until needed. I would not purchase another M0914 but would try a BD100045 Accucharge 15.6V Cordless Bagless Handheld Vacuum. The specification looks like they may have solved the battery charging problem!

Illinois
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
8 Months and will not charge
10/3/2015

Customer review by onlye

1.0 stars 10/3/2015 by onlye
by onlye

Thought this would be a great handheld cordless vacuum. Used it a few times and it will not charge. Was a waste of money.

Comment from Joscelyn - 10/3/2015

Hi onlye! We're terribly sorry that you're not happy with your purchase and have a quick and easy resolution to help restore run time to your Extreme Power. Occasionally, it is beneficial to reset the battery and charger to increase the unit's run time. Please see the steps below: 1. Unplug the charger from the outlet for at least 1-2 minutes. 2. Turn on the Extreme Power and let it run until it completely shuts off. 3. Return the hand vac to the charger so it can charge for a full 24 hours. The average run time is usually around 8-10 minutes on a full charge. After completing these steps, your unit should run at its best ability. Please reach out to us at 1-800-321-1134 if you have further concerns, thanks!

onlye
MS, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Powerful little vacuum
4/4/2013

Customer review by Joanallison

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by Joanallison
by Joanallison
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is exactly what I needed, the power without a lot of tools. The one tool it does have is stowed right on the handheld which is so convenient. The price is middle of the road- based on my search- and it is proving to be a good value!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joanallison
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 111 total reviews
1-20 of 111 reviews