Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 130 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

130 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

130 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
64
4 stars
20
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 stars
30
1-20 of 124 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 124 total reviews
1-20 of 124 reviews
Good value, good tire
2/2/2014

Customer review by Compuvenger

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by Compuvenger
by Compuvenger

Got this tire when my previous choice was discontinued. Has served me well in all forms of weather, including snow. They have admirable durability (only 2 sets in 130k miles) despite my lackluster rotation schedule. Though not the absolute quietest tire, they're very reasonable, and have good cornering and braking capabilities too. The high maximum pressure (44 lbs) allow for good loading, which I put my Escort through consistently.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Compuvenger
Alamosa, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This tires when wet are slippery as soap.
1/14/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 1/14/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Last year I bought 2 sets of tires Good Year Viva 2 P 175/65R14 81S for my two cars. -Good Price. -Good service. When rains don't take out your cars if they have this tires.

Was this review helpful? (22) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Miami FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exceeds every expectation
12/20/2014

Customer review by werterther

5.0 stars 12/20/2014 by werterther
by werterther

I bought 4 new Goodyear Viva 2 tires for my 1997 Pontiac Grand Prix in June of 2013. This was the first time I had ever purchased Viva 2s but will not be the last! I was initially drawn to the great price for what appeared to be a much higher quality tire than other tires at similar and even higher prices. These tires give you a very smooth ride. They perform exceptionally well in snow and ice, not to mention rain. I drove 300 miles through a snow storm in Minnesota this past February in conditions where travel was not advised and I-35 was closed heading the other direction. There were literally hundreds of cars in the ditch but I didn't even have a close call or spin/slide once. I have put 45,000 miles on the tire since then and truth be told, these tires look like they could go another 45,000 miles. It's shocking how little tread has wore off. Overall, these are all purpose, durable tires that handle great in any conditions and even if the price was double I would still pay it.

Was this review helpful? (59) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
werterther
Ames, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Unexpected Performance
5/24/2013

Customer review by NoRregrets4

5.0 stars 5/24/2013 by NoRregrets4
by NoRregrets4

I have purchased these tired previously for a different vehicle when I was in college and I could remember getting up a steep hill in 1' snow or more and had no slipping or problems gaining traction. Now, 7 years later, I purchase the same tires and same performance. I don't think all the tires Wal Mart sell are great tires such as the Douglas X-Trac#other tires are the same as other dealers but at a better price and people think they are different, and maybe by a small percentage.# But this tire is a great tire for the price, wear and tear, noise, handling and wet and snow conditions. There are some negative reviews on here and you will have that with everything. For example, a Crown Vic is a huge oversized ogar of a car and you may need to review the ratings for each tire. But if you take good care of your car, it will go forever and tires are important. The Viva 2 is a good tire for price and performance. I would say don't think twice but I know we all have our opinions. Great tire and at times, great service.

Was this review helpful? (183) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoRregrets4
West Des Moines IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GoodYear Touring Tires HIGH PERFORMANCE
9/5/2014

Customer review by genie54

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by genie54
by genie54

I purchased my tire at Walmart in 2007 put 4 tires around new , they have lasted a long time an or smooth to driving on the highway an regular streets, my backtire rear driver side blew out as I was on my way home about 3 blocks from my house, I never seen a tired blow out like this ,luckily I was only driving 35 miles per hour or other wise I could have damage my self an car , but these tires have taken me through a lot on my car an have done their duty for the length they have lasted me , no other tires can be seen on my car but these , no one can talk me into buying other tires, AN OH JUST FOR THE LONG RUN NEVER HAD A FLAT ON ANY OF MY TIRES SINCE THEY WERE PUT ON CAR IN 2007 ,an always had them rotated when I did my oil change, going to change tires an buy 4 more for my CONCORDELXI 1999 an my car still look new with them on there . GOOD BUY FOR HIGH TOURING PASSENGER TIRES LONGER PERFORMANCES DRIVING ,HIGH PERFORMANCE TIRES FOR HIGH PASSENGER CARS

Was this review helpful? (98) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
genie54
SAN JACINTO CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BEWARE..POOR GOODYEAR TIRE
11/13/2013

Customer review by midtowntrey

1.0 stars 11/13/2013 by midtowntrey
by midtowntrey

First and foremost, you get what you pay for. I thought that Goodyear tires were good tires. Great brand name, good reputation. Apparently my first sentence is more accurate than my second. As it turns out these tires are made only for Walmart, who would have known. As a former mechanic I understand a little about tire wear. What causes what... low tire pressure, alignment issues and a few other things can mess with your tires. That being said, none of these issues pertain to my car, a small reliable Saturn, completely stock and far too slow to race. At first I was happy, they did well reasonably well in the snow and rain. Then about mile 8000 on these tires they seemed to wearing rather fast for a 60K mile limited wear tire. By mile 15K and month number 10 the edges were completely worn out and the wire cording was showing, both the inside and outside of the tires. Tomorrow I take them in to have them looked at.... lets see what they do.

Was this review helpful? (179) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
midtowntrey
High Rockies, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
So far, so good...
10/23/2014

Customer review by jeremy102

5.0 stars 10/23/2014 by jeremy102
by jeremy102

I just purchased these tires, the Viva 2's, for my 2011 Chevy Cruze. I have put on about 6 hundred miles thus far. I was reading other reviews where people said these tires rode rough. This, actually, isn't the case at all so far, for me. I find so far that these tires ride about the same way as my previous(GM Factory Installed) Firestones, which these are just as smooth and provide a great ride!! I looked at the specs of my old tires, and these match up to a T. So far, so good! The ride is very smooth. I can not tell you how the tread is wearing because these are brand new. But as for the ride, they're smooth and great. I drove to a local Wal-Mart at 7am and they installed these tires, 4 of them, in about 40 minutes. I am very pleased with the initial value as these tires do not break the bank at all. Hope the wear is good, we will see. For a grand total of 400 bucks, with lifetime rotation/balance, I am extremely pleased!

Was this review helpful? (68) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeremy102
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
So Far So Good!
1/6/2013

Customer review by Nickdj

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by Nickdj
by Nickdj

I haven't had these tires long enough for a long term evaluation seeing as I've only put about 100 miles on them so far. With that said, I love the way they handle and ride. They are quiet and hold the road nicely. As with any tire change you get a different feel of the road and these are no different. Going from almost worn out tires to new tires is quite a change in the handling of the vehicle. Nothing radical, just a change. They climb my snow packed driveway hill well where my old tires I had to get sort of a run to make it up. These tires make it up with no problems without having to take a run at it. The first time home with them I stopped 1/2 way up just for a "traction test" and didn't have any trouble making it the other 1/2 way up without any slipping or spinning. I don't put that many miles on per year anymore seeing as I'm retired so the tires will probably dry rot before they wear out.

Was this review helpful? (126) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nickdj
Princeton, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bad Tires
5/28/2015

Customer review by maturtle

1.0 stars 5/28/2015 by maturtle
by maturtle

I bought 4 of these tires for my van. After the first 3000 miles I went in for a rotation and they told me my alignment was off and causing un-even wear on the front tires. I left the tire center and my car was super wobbly. I went to have my alignment fixed and was told it was fine and the wear was from in-proper balancing. I went back to wal mart to have the balance checked and was told it was indeed wrong. They re-balanced the tires but after leaving there was still a slight wobble. I went in again to have my tires balanced and the wobble got worse. They also told me I could not rotate the tires anymore because of the initial bad wear on the front tires. As I drive now, my steering wheel can almost shake out of my hands. This is my family vehicle. I have my 4 kids in it daily. I am now scared to drive it because of these poor quality tires. Save yourself some money in the long run and buy better tires. I should note that there is only 21000 miles on 2 and 14000 miles on the other 2. I have been told to get new tires already.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maturtle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Unexpectedly good
6/25/2014

Customer review by Rasberry2u

5.0 stars 6/25/2014 by Rasberry2u
by Rasberry2u

I have owned these tires for a little over 2 years now. When I purchased them, I was desperately looking to replace some out of balance, noisey tires. Anything would have been better than what I had. I was on vacation 400 miles from home, and couldn't fathom driving another 400 miles on what I had. I picked up a set of these at Walmart and had them mounted/balanced. What a great relief. The car was now smooth, quiet and comfortable. New tires always give you that feeling. But I wondered how they would hold up, and would the feeling continue. I have put on about 25000 miles on these tires, and they continue to make me smile. They actually seem to have a little better traction now than when new. I am still amazed at how quiet these tires are, how evenly they are wearing, and how much tread they still have. I think I will get the 60,000 miles they claim from them. I looked at other tire websites to find some of these for my wifes car, but these are only carried at Walmart. If our local Walmart sold tires, I would purchase them there. I definately recommend these for a mid-size car (I have a Taurus).

Was this review helpful? (117) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rasberry2u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What I expected. A good enough for me tire.
1/2/2012

Customer review by handyman11

4.0 stars 1/2/2012 by handyman11
by handyman11

My 10 year old sears guardsman tires still had 50% tread but they made lots of road noise. ( hard due to age? ). So for my Honda civic I had to go one size over as the correct size was not offered. Honda speedometers are actually more accurate with over sized tires, so it is a win win. The tires are quiet. That was what I wanted. I waited until we had snow to do the review and these goodyear viva 2 tires are good enough. My Kumho Solix Expert are a little better in the snow and ice but not alarmingly better. I know this because I replaced 2 of the old sears tires last year. I did not go with the Kumho tires for the 2nd pair because they are one size UNDER stock. I would prefer to go one over. So, I recommend these Viva's as they were the least expensive tires for my car with a name I trusted. I have run more Goodyears than any other tire. I have 5,000 on them. maybe I will add to this review when I have 30,000 miles.

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
handyman11
Western Michigan Snow Country.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good but cheap
12/22/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 12/22/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This tire is along the lines of other discount store inexpensive tires - it is round, it is black, it holds air. I put a set on my 2001 Ford Focus. The tires ride well, and quietly so far. I have no complaints. But I will caution anyone buying these that inexpensive tires NEVER do well on a) non-factory rims, b) heavy vehicles like trucks and vans, c) vehicles driven under stress, like high speed cornering, etc. d) Vehicles run at lower tire pressures like luxury cars. I bought my Focus for commuting, it is a fuel-sipper economy car, and because it's a lightweight car it can take inexpensive tires like these with no problem. if you have a similar car then these are great, I would recommend them. Just make absolutely sure to run these at 2-4 PSI under the max inflation pressure marked on the sidewalls because inexpensive tires like these cannot be depended on to add "cushioning" in the suspension.

Was this review helpful? (82) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Portland OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Never expected to be this happy with these tires!
5/30/2013

Customer review by TwoToesShort

5.0 stars 5/30/2013 by TwoToesShort
by TwoToesShort

I can't say that I've been a huge fan of Goodyear in the past as I usually prefer BF Goodrich, Uniroyal and Yokohamas depending upon the vehicle. However, I installed these on a 97 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme after the belts began separating on a set of Coopers with 40% of tread left. After more than 2 years and about 25,000 miles I couldn't be happier. Treadwear is even with a bit more than 50% life left. Tires are reasonbly quiet, handle well, have good traction during Florida's rainy season and stop confidently. Only real surprise I've had with these tires was how happy I've been with them. -(Sidewall recommends 44psi and I run them at about 40-42. I rotate them every 5k.) Now my Olds Intrigue is about ready for tires and you can believe it will get a set of these.

Was this review helpful? (70) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TwoToesShort
Sebring, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheap tires
2/7/2014

Customer review by SomeoneTookMyNameAlready

2.0 stars 2/7/2014 by SomeoneTookMyNameAlready
by SomeoneTookMyNameAlready

This review is based on my experience with Goodyear Viva 2 size 225/60R16. Compared to the set of tires that were previously installed on the car, the Viva 2 offered considerably less stability. Response to steering input was delayed, but at least they cushioned some of the small bumps in the road. To use a technical term to describe the tires, I would say they are squishy. ;-) When first installed, the tires caused the car to pull very hard to the right. Repositioning the tires from side to side corrected that problem, but it was necessary to remind the technicians not to rotate the tires when returning to the store every two or three thousand miles due to vibration issues. The vibration was not correctable by balancing, so on the 6th visit it was discovered that the tread was separating. The tires lasted about 14 months and less than 20,000 miles before they needed to be replaced under warranty due to the tread separation. The newly installed set is much quieter and the vibration is much less than that of the first set. I would recommend the tires for use only when low initial price is the primary consideration.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SomeoneTookMyNameAlready
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
I deliver pizza everyday. Trust me on this.
2/11/2013

Customer review by pizzzaguy

5.0 stars 2/11/2013 by pizzzaguy
by pizzzaguy

I decided to write this review during the snowstorm feb 2013. Because these tires earned it! because i wanted everybody know how great these tires are! I deliver pizza everyday no matter if it is snowing, raining or if there is hurricanes or blizzards! Everyday, i drive my car minimum 150 miles. Last year i put 50K miles on my car. I purchased 4 set of these tires in august 2012. I have been using these tires more than over 20K miles. There is not really a serious wear on them. it says 60K tread life, but i believe they will go to 80K. What i want to say is these tires are good in summer for sure. they are also good in fall. The thing is they are almost like snow-tires in winter. There is 2 feet snow out there but these tires working more than "just fine"! Technically there is no such thing as "4 seasons tires". I know it is a marketing strategy. Only explanation i have why these tires very good on snow is they must have been made as snow-tires. Price is surprising. It make you feel like "they can not be good" but they are. I remember thinking "what is wrong with this tire?" but nothing is wrong. I see lot of people buying unknown brands for over $80 and i don't understand why! Don't hesitate even a second. Buy it. as long as i drive that's what i will do.

Was this review helpful? (134) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pizzzaguy
hartford, ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Has passed expectations greatly...
1/18/2014

Customer review by VincentBR

5.0 stars 1/18/2014 by VincentBR
by VincentBR

Put a pair on the front of my 2004 Crown Vic. Have a couple thousand miles on them. Figured they were probably junk because of the price, but needed something on the front till the back ones wear out. They are very quiet, of course depending on the road surface and condition. The tread is deep and aggressive. The car handles fine on the freeway or twisty back roads. Of course a Crown Vic is not a race car, but the tires hold there own on wet or dry roads. They are holding there balance and are still running true with absolutely no steering wheel wiggle or shake or pulling. I run 35 psi pressure in them cold. I had an alignment done right after having them installed. They are wearing very flat with no side edge wear apparent. So far there is no visible wear but at only a couple thousand miles we'll see how long that lasts. And frankly they look pretty good on the Vic.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VincentBR
Kissimmee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Makes Car Feel New Again
10/18/2014

Customer review by BankruptINpa

3.0 stars 10/18/2014 by BankruptINpa
by BankruptINpa

Size P185/65R14 for my 2002 Saturn SL1. These tires made my car feel new again. Happy with the price thinking I got them for a bargain. They are mud and snow rated but they ride, handle and feel like an all season tire. They have a strong sidewall what I like in a tire where I strongly believe a stronger sidewall improves performance and handling such as holding a curve at high speed. Not much tire selection in this size but I tend to think I got the best they got. A little unhappy about the mfg. date on the tires of the 34th week of 2011, they have been sitting on the shelf for 3 years and tires do deteriorate and dry rot with age even when new. There's a date stamped on every tire where the DOT marking is, mine is DOT 3411 meaning they were made in the 34th week of 2011. To be fair I figure not many newer cars use my size so my size doesn't sell that fast.

Was this review helpful? (35) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BankruptINpa
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
delaminated after a year (~15,000 miles)
6/20/2014

Customer review by kcducttaper

2.0 stars 6/20/2014 by kcducttaper
by kcducttaper

I got these tires new slightly over a year ago and they were decent until this morning. As I was driving to work on the interstate (80mph), I heard a weird sound like I was driving next to a truck with no muffler. Then, I heard and felt a pop and my van's driver's wheel sounded goofy and floppy. I pulled off and checked to see what was up and the tire had delaminated in one spot (large enough to stick a finger in) and there was a large air bubble in another spot on the same tire that was about the size of a know from being smacked in the forehead with a baseball. Needless to way, I'm not very happy with these tires as they haven't even lasted a third of their advertised mileage and I shall be taking it back and swapping it out under warranty. I just hope I get a significant discount to change all 4 tires.

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kcducttaper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bought these USED at a junkyard, love em.
10/30/2014

Customer review by billa48

5.0 stars 10/30/2014 by billa48
by billa48

So I have a couple of cars with bad camber and toe, unfixable problems, unless you want to spend more on the car than its worth. Either way, I went to a junkyard and they had a whole set of these Goodyear Viva 2 layin about, taken off a car with engine problems, they looked pretty new, very low miles on them. I had these put on my rims, and I tell you what, I have gone through friggin hundreds of new or used tires in the past years, and the car drives on these as if floating like an old cadillac. Excellent grip in rain and snow, and I paid like 15 bux a tire. I have had almost all the brands available on my cars, I prefer Kumho or Pirelli, but this here Goodyear viva, i'm gonna be looking for these now.

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billa48
sterling heights, mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Good tire for the money. 61k & still have tread.
1/10/2012

Customer review by 96GrandAm

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by 96GrandAm
by 96GrandAm

I've had these tires on my car for 5 years. I have just passed 61,000 miles and I'd say the tires still have between 3/32"-4/32" and are very evenly worn. These tires do not have any weather rot. These tires worked very well on my 96 Grand Am. Really good in the winter and great in the rain. I'm starting to get a little hydroplaning, but that's expect after 60k miles. I recently picked up another set that I can't wait to put on. For the money, they last a long time, are very quite and have great traction for a passenger/luxury car. I hope they work as good on our 2007 Cobalt because we plan to put them on this week.

Was this review helpful? (39) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
96GrandAm
Tomah, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 124 total reviews
1-20 of 124 reviews