Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

36 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

36 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 32 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Summer Lightweight
11/25/2008

Customer review by Nocard

4.0 stars 11/25/2008 by Nocard
by Nocard

After some experimenting with this bag in controlled climate conditions I'd say it's a 50 degree bag. The loft is a total of barely 1 inch, about 1/2 inch on both the top and bottom layer. A 50 degree rating lines up with the US Army values posted at sites on-line which rate a bag with 1 1/2 inches of loft at 40 degrees, 2 inches at 30 degrees, 2 1/2 inches at 20 degrees, etc. For every 1/2 inch of loft a bag gains or loses 10 degrees. The technical features on this inexpensive bag are impressive. As a consequence of its thin insulation it packs down very small; about the size of a loaf of bread. This makes it a good bag for lightweight backpackers who camp in the summer and don't mind wearing long underwear to bed if the temperature falls below 50. At 40 degrees I could feel the cold pressing in, and if I'd been tired from hiking it would have been taxing to stay warm I'm 6 foot 3 inches and weigh 190 pounds. This bag will fit a person a couple inches taller than me and is roomy enough for comfort. Viewed as a layering piece in a sleeping setup this is a good choice for lightweight backpacking.

Was this review helpful? (36) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nocard
upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
decent bag for the price
3/31/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/31/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought this bag because I was taking my wife on her first backpacking trip and did not want to make a huge investment in case this was her last backpacking trip as well as her first.... I had her use my North Face 15* bag in case this bag did not meet its temp rating as the forecast was for overnight lows of 35 during our trip. I stayed warm with temps inside the tent dipping to 38* wearing only a tshirt and shorts inside the bag. Although not as roomy as other mummy bags I have used I was able to turn over easily in this bag as I am a side/stomach sleeper. My only complaint with this bag is the fact that it is tough to zip, the zipper continuously gets caught in the fabric of the bag.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Wow... great value!
2/18/2010

Customer review by MrMommy

5.0 stars 2/18/2010 by MrMommy
by MrMommy

Was looking for a good bag to take on motorcycle trips. Reasonably warm (I don't plan on riding to the Arctic Circle anytime soon), very compact, and long enough for me (I'm 6'4"). I was skeptical, but bought it anyway. After receiving it and testing it out... it's AWESOME! Long enough, seems like it will be plenty warm enough for my needs, very well made, and not hard to get back into it's little compression bag. Great value - even looks good.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrMommy
Brentwood, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
good purchase
9/7/2009

Customer review by Cathy111

4.0 stars 9/7/2009 by Cathy111
by Cathy111

i am a picky shopper, and i am happy with this purchase. it's a good sleeping bag given the price. i agree with some the reviews said it's a bit on the light side so makes it a good warm weather camping bag. it's very light weight good for carrying around.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cathy111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/22/2009

Customer review by Mahony

5.0 stars 9/22/2009 by Mahony
by Mahony

This is an impressive bag for the price. I hike and camp quite a bit and I've used this bag 4 times in the 3 weeks since I got it. The weight and size are fantastic. The bag compresses down to a tiny package in its own stuff sack, but gets 2/3 to 1/2 size in a "real" compression sack (big plus when I have to carry 3 sleeping bags for my kids). The bag has been warm camping near treeline in NH and MA where temperatures have dropped into the 40's at night (although this was with a bivy sack for 3 of 4 times used). I did not expect such a light bag to be so useful....and for the price, you can't really go wrong. PS On one trip the foot area of the bag got wet during rain and I was still comfortable all night. IOW the bag still insulated well when wet.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mahony
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/13/2009

Customer review by theFrequentCamper

4.0 stars 8/13/2009 by theFrequentCamper
by theFrequentCamper

This seems to be a great value for the price. Size and weight are great. Perfect for our backpack trip in New Mexico. Stayed plenty warm although the temp did not get to 30, took a small liner just in case and never used it. At 5'10" and 160lb I had no problems, but it is a "form fitting" bag plenty of length for someone taller, I imagine a "stout" person would find this alright, but if you are too heavy, this may get to snug for you.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theFrequentCamper
Tulsa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Could be better
7/14/2010

Customer review by TotallyVintage

2.0 stars 7/14/2010 by TotallyVintage
by TotallyVintage

We bought this sleeping bag for it's weight & compressed size, after using it 3 nights in a row - the stuff sack ripped down the side seam. Now it is sort of useless to us without the stuff sack as we are motorcycle travelers and every square inch matters when packing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TotallyVintage
Appleton, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great for boy scouts
4/22/2010

Customer review by gr8shpn

5.0 stars 4/22/2010 by gr8shpn
by gr8shpn

Bought for my son to take back packing with the boy scouts. It was light weight, warm at night and easy to repackage. Very much worth the cost!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gr8shpn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great lightweight bag
8/2/2011

Customer review by MotoX33

4.0 stars 8/2/2011 by MotoX33
by MotoX33

I took this bag camping on a hot, humid Iowa night thinking that I would just sleep on top of it. I ended up sleeping in it and I think it actually kept me cooler. The insulation is fairly thin so I wouldn't suggest using it when it's below 40. I was very careful with the zippers because I've had cheap bags before and they are usually prone to zipper problems but I didn't have any with this one (yet). I found that it rolls nicely right up into the hood and you can use the draw string to keep it from unrolling. The zipper, plus a velcro strap, plus the draw string allow the opening to be pulled snug around your face when you're inside it. I'm 5'7" so I had no problem with the length, although I didn't pay attention to how much extra I had.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MotoX33
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good Value ... for cool (but not cold) use.
11/12/2008

Customer review by Midtowner

4.0 stars 11/12/2008 by Midtowner
by Midtowner

I bought this for a recent backpacking trip in the Smokies. Overall, I was very pleased with it. It's fairly light and compact, and was plenty warm for any camping out I plan to do (probably nothing below 40 degrees). However, a friend used it one night for temps in the 30's and said it was pretty cold. While it has held up okay so far, the quality seems a bit lacking. For as little as I'll use it, it will probably be fine. However, if you plan to use a bag often, you may want to spend a little more to get a better bag.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Midtowner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works for me...
6/8/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/8/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I do much of my camping and backpacking in Southern California, so cold weather is rarely an issue. Not sure how well this bag would have worked in 30 degree weather, but it worked just fine for me. I don't think I'm willing to test it out in 30 degree weather, rather use another, thicker bag. I am, however, over 6-feet tall, so size was definitely an issue. I have had bags in the past that were too small, and this one was plenty big for me. All-in-all, it's a great product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Orange County/L.A. area, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
This bag is tight both in fit and finish.
4/7/2008

Customer review by schweray

3.0 stars 4/7/2008 by schweray
by schweray

Quality of construction on this TIGHT fitting bag is top shelf. It packs really well and materials are very comfortable. However It is rated rather optimistically at 30 degrees. The tight fit leaves room for me, 6'3" slim build, and nothing else. It makes using an extra layer of clothing, liner or even a hot watter bottle a real pain. The construction also gives great static electricity shows as you try to shuffle around in it. A good bag that I will probably use during the early summer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
schweray
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great value
4/29/2010

Customer review by CoopScoop

5.0 stars 4/29/2010 by CoopScoop
by CoopScoop

Great bag for the money. I've used it twice where the temp dropped into the high 40's. It kept me plenty warm. I agree with others that it is probably not a true 30 degree bag. I'm 6'3" and it fits me fine. It is also compresses very small and is lightweight (2.9lbs). It worked great for backpacking. Excellent warmer weather bag for the money! It was about $10 cheaper than Amazon and it shipped fast.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoopScoop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome for the price...
6/2/2010

Customer review by Yosemitehiker

4.0 stars 6/2/2010 by Yosemitehiker
by Yosemitehiker

This is a great bag for the price. Can't beat the deal. You can tell it's a little bit lower in quality than some other bags, but what do you expect for the price? Just did a three day hike and temps got down to 32-35. A little cool on my feet, but then two pairs of socks did the trick. Packed down super small and light! Easy to re-pack each morning. A great bag I will be recommending to friends.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yosemitehiker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
4/9/2008

Customer review by Campingguy

5.0 stars 4/9/2008 by Campingguy
by Campingguy

This is a great compact 3 season bag. I have used it down to around 25 degrees - not recommended as it is only rated at 30 degrees. We have 3 of these as my two sons and I are involved in Boy Scouts and use them every month. So far the bags are holding up well. They also pack up pretty small and don't weigh too much, which is good for backpacking.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Campingguy
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Compact but not too warm
5/6/2008

Customer review by runningiri

4.0 stars 5/6/2008 by runningiri
by runningiri

This is a very compact little sleeping bag that is lightweight and great for backpacking in warm weather. However, I would not recommend it for chilly nights. The sleeping bag is longer than ones i've had in the past, and I feel like that makes for a slight waste in space/weight, however other than that, I really have no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
runningiri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent for a tall person backpacking
7/13/2010

Customer review by jcpermanentnickname

5.0 stars 7/13/2010 by jcpermanentnickname
by jcpermanentnickname

I am taking my 2nd week long backpacking trip in Canada, and the 1st time around I had a packable sleeping bag that was too short for me. I am 6 foot 1 and this bag would easily fit someone up to 6 foot 4 or even taller. Very compact, nice stuff sack and I am looking forward to using it on this trip.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jcpermanentnickname
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very convenient
1/11/2010

Customer review by ddavisso4

4.0 stars 1/11/2010 by ddavisso4
by ddavisso4

Have used it a couple times now. When it was 40 degrees outside I was a little cold. The bag is ridiculously compact. It's not very spacious inside but I suppose that's not the goal. Overall, highly recommended (and excellent value).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ddavisso4
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
9/3/2010

Customer review by ShopWhatINeed

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by ShopWhatINeed
by ShopWhatINeed

My daughter needed a compact sleeping bag when traveling to Australia. This sleeping bag was able to fit in her luggage with no problem and was easy to carry around. It got a little cold under 40 degree weather, but it was fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopWhatINeed
Dana Point,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great for the money
4/13/2010

Customer review by Ccattebe

5.0 stars 4/13/2010 by Ccattebe
by Ccattebe

I was really impressed by this bag; I thought it was going to be really thin and cheap, but it's actually good quality and warm. It's relatively easy to put back into the compression sack too. Overall, great buy for the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ccattebe
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews