Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

2.0 stars

12 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

2.0 stars

12 reviews | 1.9 out of 5

17%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
8
1-12 of 12 total reviews
17%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Company is out of business and product discontinue
7/29/2013

Customer review by Walrusmt

1.0 stars 7/29/2013 by Walrusmt
by Walrusmt

I'm in Tulsa OK and work on wells out in the fields. I bought this radio to help out in case I loose communication and need to know what's coming. This radio seems great, but does not pick up any FM, AM or WEATHER BAND signals, and does not pick up the test signals either. When you visit the web page cited in the manual it has been closed. The instructional youtube video is helpful enough - uploaded on March 31 2013. But the link given for the MaXX Digital is no longer there. So I'm guessing Walmart is just clearing it's inventory. The company who made this probably went out of business since walmart insist it's purchase price is below cost.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walrusmt
Tulsa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Price
9/16/2013

Customer review by LakeCo35

4.0 stars 9/16/2013 by LakeCo35
by LakeCo35

Contrary to the other reviews, my unit appears to be functioning properly. I was able to set it up with little difficulty, reception is better than the Midland unit I had previously and I have been alerted on several occasions to severe weather in my area. I do find it disturbing that the company is no longer in business as I would like to find an online user guide that could be downloaded to my computer. Unfortunately there is not one available. If you buy one of these be sure to save your user guide.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LakeCo35
Tavares FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
weather radio would not sound in emergency
12/14/2013

Customer review by Chrispa28

1.0 stars 12/14/2013 by Chrispa28
by Chrispa28

weather radio would not sound in a weather emergency. I have read other reviews about this radio on other websites and they have told the say thing it will not sound in a emergency. will be returning back to store.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chrispa28
blossvale NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent weather band radio for the money (poor FM)
8/19/2014

Customer review by MyWalmartNickname

3.0 stars 8/19/2014 by MyWalmartNickname
by MyWalmartNickname

After getting two defective brand name radios in a row, I decided to try something new. This radio has outlived my brand name radios and has performed very well as a weather radio. Pros: Alerts have been reliable for me, reception is decent (comparable to the name brand). Cons: Tone is poor for FM radio listening, can hear the weather band in the background while listening to the FM band, menus are not user friendly (hold on to your manual), siren volume is not easily adjustable, siren duration choices are limited. I see the reviews stating that the alarm did not sound. Are the radios positioned where they get good weather band reception? Are they tuned to the weather frequency servicing the local area? Almost always plugged into AC, but still on original 3 AA batteries I think.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyWalmartNickname
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Alerts never came in
6/18/2014

Customer review by mommabaer

1.0 stars 6/18/2014 by mommabaer
by mommabaer

I went and set the county codes just like it said to and never got the weather alerts. We were in a tornado watch and thunderstorm watch and flash flood warning for 2 days and not once did it go off, even when one of the counties that I selected was in a tornado warning. I double checked the county codes online and they matched what I put in for the county codes. By the way you have to go online to look up the county codes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommabaer
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Shocked by other reviews
7/8/2014

Customer review by JZinn

5.0 stars 7/8/2014 by JZinn
by JZinn

I walked around WalMart looking for a weather radio (they carry different ones in different sections at the WalMart where I shop) and this one was the lowest priced so I decided to give it a try. I've been using it for almost a year now and it has never let me down. I have been so pleased with it that I decided to write a review for it. Turns out, it seems others haven't had the same success stories. The main reason I went with this radio was the price. I should also mention that I've had two Midland weather radios before. On one, the LCD screen stopped working and the other had trouble receiving alerts, so I took the functioning parts from both and spliced them together to make a working unit again. It worked for about six more months before it too stopped receiving alerts too, which is why I was in the market for a new radio. When it comes to reception, I have had no issues. I actually pick up a handful of different weather radio signals from nearby cities as well. The radio, like most weather radios, has the programmable S.A.M.E technology so it can be set to alert you when there are any severe weather alerts for your county or the counties around you. Other nice features include a pretty standard alarm clock and support for both AC power and battery power (handy during a power outage). It also includes an AM/FM tuner, something that many other low-end weather radios don't include. I rarely use the AM/FM radio, so it doesn't really matter all that much to me, but some may find it nice. All in all, I'm pleased with this device. Maybe it's one of those hit or miss items.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JZinn
Richmond, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It is a good radio for your local weather.
12/18/2013

Customer review by babyblue13

3.0 stars 12/18/2013 by babyblue13
by babyblue13

For the price it was very good. I think I was expecting a little bit more but it does give the everyday weather for your area and the surrounding areas.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babyblue13
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Unreliable
7/17/2013

Customer review by Flarpswitch

1.0 stars 7/17/2013 by Flarpswitch
by Flarpswitch

I have had this radio for long enough to determine that the most important function cannot be relied on. It has not responded to ANY test signals from transmitters at three separate locations and at least one known alert. It is unfortunate as the radio is well constructed and pulls in weather, AM and FM stations as good as any radio I have used. The sound is very good as well. I had planned on using this radio in my motor home that has been in extreme weather situations including Tornado Alley. I have read other reviews of this radio and the same issue was reported. I took a chance that it was user error. Walmart should seriously consider pulling this product from the shelf if this problem is not isolated.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flarpswitch
Salem, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Waste of my money.
1/18/2014

Customer review by RBLA

1.0 stars 1/18/2014 by RBLA
by RBLA

Hard to just tell the time, you have to be right in front in your face or its blurred and this is in the daytime, at night lights off forget it you can't see anything. Than the blue light for night (very bright) because the whole panel is blue not just the digits, Lights up the whole room and again if your not right in front of it you can't read it. Have not even got to the weather part. I hated it and gave it away.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RBLA
Albuquerque
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Junk
6/21/2014

Customer review by Syrkel2

1.0 stars 6/21/2014 by Syrkel2
by Syrkel2

Worked for two weeks great then all of a sudden now none of the buttons work. Still alerts but the tone won't stop until you unplug the piece of junk. Do not buy this. Get a midland.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Syrkel2
Rockford, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Garbage
2/4/2014

Customer review by RAYART

1.0 stars 2/4/2014 by RAYART
by RAYART

This radio WILL NOT sound a weather alert- Very hard to read or program- RETURNING IT TO THE STORE

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RAYART
PALM COAST
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No support
11/13/2014

Customer review by permanentnicknamepermane

1.0 stars 11/13/2014 by permanentnicknamepermane
by permanentnicknamepermane

dropped their website support. useless

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
permanentnicknamepermane
Would recommend to a friend? No