Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

24 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

24 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
6
1 stars
3
1-20 of 24 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
Very Disappointing Calendar
1/3/2016

Customer review by DenverMom

2.0 stars 1/3/2016 by DenverMom
by DenverMom

My two young sons and I LOVE Lego and we were so excited for this years Advent calendar. My kids chose to go with Friends this time because the box looked like it was going to have a fun selection of builds. However, this calendar was a big disappointment. While there are a couple cute pieces, there are only two minifigures compared to the 4 that come in the City and Star Wars sets and no santa figure at all. There were also many days when there wasn't even a build (hello hair salon "bits and baubles" day) or the build was ridiculously simple and had little point. Honestly, this calendar was borderline insulting in comparison to what was offered in the City and Star Wars sets. Even though I do not personally care for the Friends minifigures in general, the Friends sets often have some great accessories. However, I do not advise this purchase until Lego gets their act together - go with City or Star Wars. The only redeeming things about it were the cute penguin and the skis and poles.

DenverMom
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth it this year
12/22/2015

Customer review by Krista

1.0 stars 12/22/2015 by Krista
by Krista

This is my second year buying the lego friends advent calendar and after the fantastic set last year as well as the great sets that Lego has put out for girls in this past year I was looking forward to some great pieces and boy was I let down. Nothing seems to go together and each day the stuff to build is just lame. Last year everything tied into a house theme for christmas this year I'm assuming that everything is tying into the outdoors but I was really disapointed some days I have to guess what the item i'm building is or what it's for. And so far at day 22 there is only one small animal included. Last year I got 2 animals and 2 figures. Perhaps the second animal is coming. I was very close to just opening all the doors half way though because i was bored of the items coming in the doors. I have hopes next year is better especially for the money I paid for this one! I should have bought a regular set instead.

Krista
Langley
Would recommend to a friend? No
Advent Calendar great pre-Christmas gift
11/18/2013

Customer review by NervousShopper

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by NervousShopper
by NervousShopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My granddaughter loves this Advent Calendar to count down to Christmas. She can't wait to see what is behind the little door each day. I am so happy Lego Friends came out with an Advent Calendar for girls. It is great for parents to use as an incentive for children to be good. All the toys can be added to my granddaughter's existing Legos for her to enjoy every day.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NervousShopper
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mixed feelings
12/6/2013

Customer review by BastaGranny

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by BastaGranny
by BastaGranny

This advent calendar was a great idea, but the little perfume bottles, or whatever they are don't seem to make sense. Plus, snapping five or six pieces together is way too easy. It's like a throw-away toy. The little set of combs, hairdryer, and brushes don't make sense, either - are the dolls grooming themselves at the ice rink? Brushing the squirrel? I know I like the "girl Legos" because they leave behind some of the ridiculous fluff of Barbie and makeup dolls - but I'd still like to see the set make sense, and be more cohesive. The price of $30 is about right, for the number of pieces, and the little pull-down winter scene play mat pulls things together. My suggestion would be to put a list inside the box of what some of these things are, for Mom and Dad. :) If we'd had to pay more, I would have been disappointed - so this is a good price-range, for Lego.

BastaGranny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
11/13/2015

Customer review by Christina04

1.0 stars 11/13/2015 by Christina04
by Christina04

Why do both the City Advent Calendar and the Star Wars Advent Calendar give you at least five minifigures, not including the extra little droids, snowmen, and animals, while the Friends Advent Calendar only gives you two? And both the other calendars give you some form of Santa, but the Friends calendar doesn't. The only thing going for the Friends Advent Calendar is the outfit with cold weather clothes and ice skates, which only one girl gets. They couldn't even give both girls winter clothes! It's certainly not enough to spend the amount they are asking for and certainly not enough to justify a month's worth of disappointment. I know Lego can do better.

Christina04
Would recommend to a friend? No
Buy the regular set instead
12/16/2015

Customer review by boztruck

2.0 stars 12/16/2015 by boztruck
by boztruck

Compared to the Lego City Advent Calendar the Lego Friends one is not a good value. The builds are smaller and you don't get the same number of minifigures, and what you do get are several stands related to having coffee - you can only "play coffee" for so long - way less play time and way less imaginative play with this set. I will be getting the Lego City ones for both children next year.

boztruck
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Accessories and a Penguin!
11/16/2015

Customer review by DMB4Life82

5.0 stars 11/16/2015 by DMB4Life82
by DMB4Life82

This year's Friends calendar will not disappoint. There are a ton of fun accessories in each day that can be used to create the scene of a little, winter fair as we count down to Xmas; complete with ice hockey and a bottle toss. Nice to see the Friends characters doing sporty things like skiing and sled-riding. Even after all the doors have been opened and the scene done being played with, the accessories can be used as add-ons to other Friends' sets. Plus it comes with a penguin and a bunny, so enjoyment all around .

DMB4Life82
Harrisburg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Friends Advent Calendar
1/5/2016

Customer review by Oma11

5.0 stars 1/5/2016 by Oma11
by Oma11

The girls loved this year's calendar. Will definitely get it next year again.

Oma11
Regina, SK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Advent Calendar!!
1/21/2013

Customer review by MamaG

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by MamaG
by MamaG

This is a terrific advent calendar. We bought this for our little girl this past Christmas, and she absolutely loved it! She had a wonderful time doing the small Lego that came in each day's door. And at only 3 years old, it was the perfect medium to teach her patience, and to delay gratification. She was so excited that she could do it each day, that she was willing to wait. Lego site says it's a retired product, but I certainly hope not permanently! I would be so disappointed in Lego if they discontinue the only advent calendar that's so perfect for girls. As it was Lego chose not to sell in the US, therefore it made it much harder to get. However, as to the overall experience of the calendar, we couldn't have been happier!!

MamaG
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what you think
11/2/2015

Customer review by dextersteacher

2.0 stars 11/2/2015 by dextersteacher
by dextersteacher

The picture on the box shows several fun christmas market booths with products, but that is NOT what you get inside. Instead, the parts are for very random things like a saxophone and a camera and some racks that I have no idea what their purpose is. The cover art is very misleading and my granddaughter and I were very disappointed. We wish we had bought a different one.

dextersteacher
Tucson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love the Advent Calendars
11/14/2015

Customer review by MamaKat

5.0 stars 11/14/2015 by MamaKat
by MamaKat

My daughter loves the Lego Advent Calendars. This will be her 4th year opening one and she can't wait. She loves getting a small surprise every day in December leading up to Christmas. The only negative is that I wish they came with paper instructions instead of just the picture inside the door.

MamaKat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Grandson loves this every year
11/19/2013

Customer review by nandaddy

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by nandaddy
by nandaddy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great gift for kids into Legos. They can watch their winter scene grow each day as a new piece is added.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nandaddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed Daughter
12/12/2013

Customer review by FBKS

2.0 stars 12/12/2013 by FBKS
by FBKS

We bought the boy advent calendar along with the girl one. Almost every single day so far (it's the 11th) she has been bummed when the open them. Her brother has something to build just about daily. She has gotten a few that were just plain dumb. Today was a little purse with something that went in it, one of the days it was combs and little things they hold, the first day was perfume bottles. I tried talking her into a boy one in November, next year she said she isn't getting the girl one. The sets (boy and girl ones) should reflect each other a little more, at least that's what I think.

FBKS
Fairbanks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Too cheesy
12/15/2013

Customer review by absr

2.0 stars 12/15/2013 by absr
by absr

This year's calendar(s) had much fewer bricks than previous years and really wasn't that much fun for my daughter. She asked why I didn't get the City one, but that one also had much fewer bricks. I do realize that things get more expensive, but please keep the calendar fun and set the price accordingly. I went and bought a couple of small sets to compensate, so price wise it would have been the same, but the kid wouldn't have been disappointed and I wouldn't have to go shopping twice.

absr
Princeton
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Gift
9/18/2013

Customer review by Mommy21of2

5.0 stars 9/18/2013 by Mommy21of2
by Mommy21of2

I was very impressed when the advent calendar arrived. The box can be opened from the side without ruining the calendar so the parents are able to open it up and move the gifts from cubby to cubby if they choose. The only drawback is that it only come with two friends, but at least they are ones my daughter does not already have (yet). This is my first year buying the advent calendars (also bought the Lego City one for our son) and I believe I will be buying them in the years to come!

Mommy21of2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not so fun
8/4/2014

Customer review by scmom

1.0 stars 8/4/2014 by scmom
by scmom

Overall we were very disappointed with this product and with LEGO Friends in general. The quality of the people is poor and the fun factor was definitely not included in this product. My son opened a LEGO City advent which he loved, but my poor daughter was disappointed everyday by this product. I hope LEGO chooses to make more gender neutral sets that contain both boy and girl figures and appeal to both genders because the Friends line is really disappointing.

scmom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not what I thought it would be.
11/16/2013

Customer review by KALan

2.0 stars 11/16/2013 by KALan
by KALan

I just finished putting this set together. It seems that some of the things I put together, have no purpose at all!! i except more that what I paid for and there was no information about how to put things together, or how they could go with each other. Like how the "sets" should be placed for best play value

KALan
Plymouth
Would recommend to a friend? No
great set
9/29/2013

Customer review by mumsie45

5.0 stars 9/29/2013 by mumsie45
by mumsie45

two great minifigures, real nice snowman. cute squirrel, nice tree. stands and christmas decore. my grandaughter and i really like this set. she is a teen. oh and dont forget the ice skates. every little girl should have this set. and us big ones. this is a must have.

mumsie45
rolla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rare Elements
8/11/2013

Customer review by thepicfreak101

5.0 stars 8/11/2013 by thepicfreak101
by thepicfreak101

this lego set has lots of rare elements and reccomend it to all lego fans

thepicfreak101
Myrtle Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Granddaughter loves it
12/5/2013

Customer review by Fujiowner

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by Fujiowner
by Fujiowner
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this as a birthday present for my 7-year old granddaughter. Her birthday is the end of November so the timing was great. Her Mom told me the gift is great, and they are really enjoying it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fujiowner
DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews