Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 697 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

697 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

697 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
339
4 stars
232
3 stars
57
2 stars
30
1 stars
39
1-20 of 663 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 663 total reviews
1-20 of 663 reviews
This Dell laptop is the bomb!
10/22/2013

Customer review by azman44

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by azman44
by azman44

okay, I had to buy me another laptop because I stepped on my Dell Studio 17 and the hinge broke. I was looking for the best deal so I shopped all the major laptop dealers... I came across this dell 15 at my local walmart. I have had now two weeks. it by far is the best bang for the buck. it comes with i3 intel chip and 6 Ram with 500 HD. the accessories are incredible... SD card reader, camera, windows 8, plenty of USB ports. Watching videos in HD is awesome. It took me a while to get used to windows 8, but not I got down pat. I highly recommend this laptop to anyone who is looking for a good laptop for a fantastic price... thanks for reading my review...

Was this review helpful? (402) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
azman44
Buckeye, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An honest and intelligent customer. At least I try
8/5/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/5/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have been in the market for a new laptop for months. I have shopped every site imaginable for the most ideal laptop for ME. Unless you have one custom built for yourself forget looking for 100% of what YOU desire. I chose this machine for a number of reasons. Price, reliability, needs, how close to me to go get NOW???.. I read the 2 reviews and laughed at them. Who would ever compare the shell and casing of a laptop with the interior of an auto? It's a laptop NOT a high tech piece of machinery. This laptop has everything you need for daily needs. The complaints about costs, get REAL. price the operating system first, an Windows 8 upgrade ALONE is $120.00. That's just an upgrade, not whole new system. You get to view and kick the tires in the store to see if its you or not. This has speed, power, memory, storage enough for me. Packed and do I mean packed with great surprises for YOU. A week ago I plugged my Kindle to charge it. Later I looked and screen cracked. Never dropped it or neglected it ( it's 2 years old). Always covered. Decided not to replace it ($199.95 new.). To my surprise 2 nights ago, this system contains Kindle. I thought no way will have the hundreds and hundreds of dollars worth of books bought. Guess what, every single book is now here. Music choices, endless. Sound is better than a Bose system. I have been buying laptops yearly until 3 years ago so this is my first update in awhile and I am glad I bought now. These laptops are less and less expensive yet faster and faster in speed, more versatile for your every day life. Lightweight and durable, even though NOT same as interior of car. Can download a whole list of you-tube videos in less than 5 minutes and all with a click or 2 (Firefox browser along with download extension, both free). Transfer all to an external hard drive and I pod for enjoyment. If you are serious about a new laptop this is for you, originally I limited my cap at $350 yet decided to spend the extra 50 bucks and glad I did. Have owned all different brands and all work the same. You are only buying a brand name. Look inside and no 2 parts will say laptop brand name on them, no laptop ever will. Trust your instinct. Every brand has negative and positive reviews. Think neutral and think for yourself as no 2 opinions are the same. Enjoy... I do... Thank you Walmart for providing me with high quality products at super fair prices. The wait in line is well worth it. Oh almost forgot, a little good luck. I bought this the past Saturday ( back to school rush) , I don't have kids. I bought and took home along with my $50 worth of other merchandise. Today I dig up all paperwork and put in a big heavy duty zip top bag to protect it and keep where it's easy to find. I look at receipt and had to look again, only less than $3.00 tax for all. Hit me with a brick, tax free week here in Florida to assist students and family. Had no clue, but wow what a break... Did I say intelligent shopper?? Okay ignore that part... Have fun all and enjoy life and each other...

Was this review helpful? (172) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
St Petersburg Florida and Udon Thani Thailand.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
*important: use a microsoft email on start-up
9/11/2013

Customer review by burninvernon

4.0 stars 9/11/2013 by burninvernon
by burninvernon

loving this new laptop so far, but please avoid the conundrum i stumbled into from entering my gmail address as my primary user account email. with Windows 8, many apps WILL NOT WORK (including the MicroSoft Store) when you enter anything other than a MicroSoft email (outlook/hotmail). trying to go back and change it IS NOT EASY if you're not proficient with Win8. other than that little snag... i love this laptop! great specs for a great price! waiting for my copy of "WINDOWS 8 FOR DUMMIES" to arrive from amazon so i can get a better feel for what this machine is capable of. it looks amazing! very thin (under 1" when closed). the textured outer-shell feels sturdy and not cheap. the touchpad buttons don't seem to be too loud (contrary to what i've read in other reviews here.) having multiple 3.0 usb ports is a BIG bonus as i plan to run multiple webcams simultaneously for a podcast. the intel core i3-3227u processor should be able to handle that without any issues. if any problems arise, i will come back and edit this review... but so far I AM DIGGING THIS LAPTOP!

Was this review helpful? (145) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
burninvernon
st. joe, mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great budget laptop
7/14/2013

Customer review by ryannel2003

4.0 stars 7/14/2013 by ryannel2003
by ryannel2003

After owning several MacBook's I decided I wanted something different and more affordable. I had previously checked this computer out at my local Wal Mart and was impressed with its design and quality. It felt and looked more expensive and similarly priced HP's and it had better specifications. I've had this computer for a day now and it has been flawless. The screen is bright and crisp, the processor is perfect for browsing the web and viewing videos on YouTube, lots of storage, it's lightweight for it's size and it doesn't feel like a cheap laptop even though it is. This is my first Dell laptop and I'm extremely impressed. I've always owned Dell desktops and they have always been workhorses and this laptop is no exception. I would recommend this product to anybody who is looking for a good computer who wants the most features for the least amount of money.

Was this review helpful? (219) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ryannel2003
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great buy!
10/11/2013

Customer review by Lovelyness76369

4.0 stars 10/11/2013 by Lovelyness76369
by Lovelyness76369

I was looking into getting a mac book pro but after thought i really couldn't afford it! I was in Walmart and happened to walk by it and the sleek textured design caught my eye, it is so thin and nice it is definitely not going out of style any time soon! It is super affordable and Walmart has the best deal yet! For 6gb you cant get better than that. The screen is a perfect size for movies and much more. The program is Windows 8, a lot of people have been complaining on reviews but dell provides a walk through and shows every little detail on how to work it! I was a pro with Windows 8 on my second day of the laptop!! Also there is no light underneath the keyboard but the laptop screen shines right on it so no worries. This is definitely a great alternative for a mac book and maybe even better for me! Only reason why i gave this laptop 4 out of 5 stars is because the clicker is so loud, it sounds cheap, but other than that it is great quality.

Was this review helpful? (123) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovelyness76369
West Chester, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great computer from a sceptic of these reviews.
3/7/2014

Customer review by bhaven001

5.0 stars 3/7/2014 by bhaven001
by bhaven001

I was very sceptical about buying this computer after reading the reviews. I have always believed that the reviews were always written by employees or competitors. I am just your normal end user with a little knowledge of computers. I have always purchased HP's in the past and this computer smokes them in performance and quality. This computer is a great buy for the price. High RAM, good processor, hard drive etc...Let me address what people keep posting on these reviews. Windows 8 complaints. I come from using windows 7 and this was the first time I saw windows 8 and I love it. Not sure why people are complaining. It reminds me of a phone where you download your own apps and you still have your normal desktop too. Flimsy design complaints. Its a slim design computer compared to some but its fine. You should never lift a computer by its screen. lol Hope this helps someone who has doubts.

Was this review helpful? (73) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bhaven001
Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very happy!
10/7/2013

Customer review by Katy3148

4.0 stars 10/7/2013 by Katy3148
by Katy3148

For the money, this is a fabulous laptop! It can be a little frustrating while trying to get adjusted to Windows 8, but once you learn it you will like it! It would be better with a touchscreen, but still okay otherwise. If you purchase this laptop, it DOES have a scroll on the mouse pad, you must go into your settings and turn it on. I've read so many reviews where people have said there is not a scroll bar, yes, there is, and it works great, turn it on! Also, instead of clicking the left mouse button, all you do is tap the mouse pad, you don't have to actually click the left mouse button any longer. Hope this helps, I wanted to share a few little things I learned about it. Oh, one more thing that may help you, Windows Defender is already installed on your laptop, unistall McAfee and then you will be able to turn on Windows Defender.

Was this review helpful? (79) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katy3148
Acworth, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Resolution 1366x768 not 1920x1080 + Windows 8 tips
9/19/2013

Customer review by lwkp

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by lwkp
by lwkp

I'm happy with the product, but the resolution is listed incorrectly under the Specifications section of the walmart.com web page (at least as of 9/19/13). Yes, Windows 8 is pretty confusing to get started with (I'm coming from XP). Here are 2 hints that would have helped me enormously: - When on main Windows 8 home page, just start typing the name of the application you want to bring up -- it brings up a list of applications that match what you type (even things like Control Panel) Oh, and to get a more familiar desktop, just type "desktop"! - To close an application, click on the top of it and drag it to the very bottom of the screen. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (74) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lwkp
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good laptop for the price
8/8/2013

Customer review by len0117

5.0 stars 8/8/2013 by len0117
by len0117

This is a great basic laptop. In fact with 6GB Ram, it's better than average for students or anyone needing a research laptop. It's a bare bones design, but doesn't feel cheap at all. If you can read, Windows 8 is easy to navigate, no biggie.

Was this review helpful? (49) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
len0117
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Great Computer, Great Price!
8/10/2013

Customer review by Jaykstah

5.0 stars 8/10/2013 by Jaykstah
by Jaykstah

I got this laptop on a budged of $400 bucks so I wasn't sure how well it would perform. Surprisingly windows 8 runs extremely well. I haven't had any lag at all. Also you can watch full HD 1080p videos without lag. Sound system is better than most laptops ive ever heard. The RAM and HDD space is more than enough. Also, even with the low specs (intel core i3, intel HD 3000) I was able to run Team Fortress 2, Tribes Ascend, Uberstrike, Minecraft, Blacklight Retribution, and many more of my favorite games. This is a great buy and you cant miss the price. The specs aren't the best but Dell configured it in a nice way that allows great multitasking, graphics, and amazing performance in games, programs, apps and everything I have used.

Was this review helpful? (62) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaykstah
Huntington Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Basic Laptop
8/22/2013

Customer review by JinxMi

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by JinxMi
by JinxMi

Purchased this laptop for my daughter to use for college. I work on and use laptops all of the time, and will say you get a lot of "bang for the buck" with this Dell, including a somewhat new processor, plenty of system memory and hard drive storage, a webcam, DVD drive, newer wireless technology and two USB 3.0 ports. The screen size is more than adequate, with a nice high definition display. The laptop is fairly thin when closed, and quite light for its size. The only thing that concerns me is the smaller 4-cell battery, but so far there have been no issues with charging and running off the battery; just hope the battery lasts a decent amount of time! Still for this kind of money ($400 out the door), you can't really go wrong; my daughter loves this laptop and uses it all of the time.

Was this review helpful? (48) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JinxMi
Lansing, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect for our use.
12/29/2013

Customer review by Dayrel

5.0 stars 12/29/2013 by Dayrel
by Dayrel

Purchased another Dell with 4GB Memory and 500GB Hard Drive from another site. Ran across this with basically the same features but with 6GB Memory for the same price. Returned the other one. Soon after setup I downloaded Windows 8.1 upgrade (free). It took awhile to learn the navigation features of 8.1 but everyday, it gets much simpler. I might add that the download took over 24 hrs. to complete. I read many reviews about the Windows 8.1 download and the reviews indicated it could take anywhere from a couple of hours to several hours. So I decided to be patient. I can't imagine that this is the norm but it could of been a result of my setup, router, modem and etc. It fits our needs perfectly, some movies, web surfing, e-mails and etc. I just retired and every morning I enjoy a cup of Joe and my new computer. RECOMMEND.

Was this review helpful? (41) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dayrel
Barnesville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good computer if it would work!
11/16/2013

Customer review by AnotherScienceNerd

3.0 stars 11/16/2013 by AnotherScienceNerd
by AnotherScienceNerd

This computer would be great except for one problem: if I move it or pick it up, it sometimes just shuts down suddenly. I've never had such a problem and I'm trying to figure out what course of action to take since it's still under warranty.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnotherScienceNerd
Plymouth, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's great and it's a bargian.
2/16/2014

Customer review by jayjay562011

5.0 stars 2/16/2014 by jayjay562011
by jayjay562011

For the money, this is a fabulous laptop! It can be a little frustrating while trying to get adjusted to Windows 8, but once you learn it you will like it! It would be better with a touchscreen, but still okay otherwise. If you purchase this laptop, it DOES have a scroll on the mouse pad, you must go into your settings and turn it on. I've read so many reviews where people have said there is not a scroll bar, yes, there is, and it works great, turn it on! Also, instead of clicking the left mouse button, all you do is tap the mouse pad, you don't have to actually click the left mouse button any longer. Hope this helps, I wanted to share a few little things I learned about it. Oh, one more thing that may help you, Windows Defender is already installed on your laptop, unistall McAfee and then you will be able to turn on Windows Defender. I make my homework on searching for laptops with my expectations, search all company's that sales computers and laptops pc, and they all were over price. But I receive an email from Walmart.com with a special sale on Laptops, and there it was; I went to walmart and bought it. A new Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System for $398.00 well that's my price for a new Laptop. I'm LOVING IT.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jayjay562011
Fort Fairfield, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wow! Stunning...
3/1/2014

Customer review by AntonioB

5.0 stars 3/1/2014 by AntonioB
by AntonioB

So I am of a younger category. I previously owned a Toshiba Satellite C655D-S5518, it was a okay computer got the job done. I primarily use my laptop for Windows Office, being a high school student can get rough, and also for my Pre-Med/Pre-College courses. This laptop has flawless speed. The value is excellent. I have nothing to complain about. To people skeptical of Windows 8 don't be, it is not that hard to set up DELL WALKS YOU ALL THROUGH IT. In my house, we love electronics, and I have been dealing with computers 10 years of my life. This is by far the most flawless computer I ever seen. It beats out my neighbor's HP Envy 17.3 W/ AMD A6 Chip. If you can find this product you should go for it, the price point is amazing. And you should go with Walmart's 28 dollar warranty for 2 years covers everything except theft and losing it! Love my choice going with Dell and Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AntonioB
Rensselaer, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
it's a Dell!!
8/17/2013

Customer review by GrandmaGA

5.0 stars 8/17/2013 by GrandmaGA
by GrandmaGA

I enjoy a Dell laptop, best of all brands I have owned...To me it feels fast, smooth it does everything they say it can do ... once you learn Windows 8. It took me days to get it, I am very unhappy with Windows 8. Love the computer!!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandmaGA
Hiram, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
all around good buy
8/18/2013

Customer review by suel1966

5.0 stars 8/18/2013 by suel1966
by suel1966

This dell comes with great memory and features, excellent price and value. bought this for my son going to college. meets all of his school requirements, except for the additional purchase of Office Suite software.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suel1966
omro,wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Issues with it hibernating all the time!
2/9/2014

Customer review by Review48

3.0 stars 2/9/2014 by Review48
by Review48

I was pleasantly surprised at how I managed to get this up and running. Windows 8 still frustrates me though, but it's supposed to be faster and more secure so I'm going with it. After trying to change the settings so the computer didn't go into hibernation mode after a few minutes and having my tech savy kids help me, I finally gave in and called Dell. After over an hour and having a tech remote in to my machine he said the problem was fixed and he also did some upgrades that were supposed to make my computer faster. Well after logging onto Pandora and thinking I'd be able to listen to music without my computer going into hibernation, it did it again. It is so annoying to have to type in my password every few minutes as I have a recipe up or am reading an article. Dell said they would be calling in a few days to see how things are going and I will be giving them an earful. This is a ridiculous feature with Windows 8! Other than that the laptop itself has been working fine and is much faster than my old Toshiba was.

Was this review helpful? (35) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Review48
Minneapolis,MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Tough to go from XP to Windows 8
12/6/2013

Customer review by kbb306

3.0 stars 12/6/2013 by kbb306
by kbb306

It's so much faster than XP, but right now, I'm a bit frustrated with it. There are virtually no directions on how to "get" anywhere. I have downloaded Windows 8 for Dummies which comes free, but am still trying to find the time to read it. It's been weeks of trial and error, learning how to "favorite" an item and then learning where it is! I don't like not having the time in the lower right hand corner. I don't like that I can't copy or print a selection except in Word. I don't like that I can't print 2 pages of a book on one page. I don't like that when the system falls asleep I lose my music that I want to leave ON for background! All these were offered on XP. Where'd they go? This is an improvement? I don't like that all you have to do is "hover" the curser over some site, and soon you're there without ever having "clicked" on it. It will take a lot of getting used to and right now I am not really happy. "Microsoft Word" used to be programmed on computers, now you have to go out and buy it!

Was this review helpful? (58) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kbb306
Nashua
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great PC for the price!
8/31/2013

Customer review by WXman

4.0 stars 8/31/2013 by WXman
by WXman

I was specifically looking for a replacement for my 6 year old Acer laptop that finally started going down on me. I wanted to stay under $400. I looked at the HP that was for sale around $298 and it looked like a decent machine for the money. There was a Gateway for $348 that felt very cheap and not built well. Then I looked at this Dell and it won me over. I am not a Dell fan...seen a ton of problems with Dells in my time. But for the money, this is the nicest laptop Walmart had. The keyboard looks very polished and feels good, not cheap. There is a number pad which is nice when crunching numbers. The texture to the case looks and feels really cool and well built for the price. I decided that for less than $400 this would be the best bet. Only complaint I have is the touchpad. The buttons are noisy and cheap, which is ironic because the main keyboard is just the opposite. Also, the touchpad has no way to scroll up/down that I can find. So I have to use the direction keys or move the cursor to the scroll bars on the screen....just a little annoying. Otherwise, great machine. It's very fast, easy as pie to set up and get going, and does everything I need. Windows 8 is a HUGE learning curve. I'm still not sure I like it. Hopefully I'll get used to it eventually. There are lots of little annoyances I have with it. But the first thing I did was download Google Chrome, so at least my web experience is normal. For the money, I feel this is the best laptop Walmart currently has in the stores.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WXman
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 663 total reviews
1-20 of 663 reviews