Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 213 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

213 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

213 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
139
4 stars
66
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 182 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 182 total reviews
1-20 of 182 reviews
Total Gym
8/15/2007

Customer review by spensoft

4.0 stars 8/15/2007 by spensoft
by spensoft

I like this product. I was in a car accident and injured my back. My physical Therapist suggested using this product for basic exercise. It is working well. This is low impact which is what I needed so I would not re-injure my back. I have a L1 compression fracture which has healed as much as it can as this is a permanent injury. Not even surgery can repair the damage. So I'm using this product to reduce my weight and stay fit. My only complaint of this product is it is a little heavy which makes it tough to move up and down and I feel you will not want to store this product away as it is very heavy to move. You should buy this only if you are planning to leave it setup. And you need quite a bit of room to keep it setup. About 8 feet in length and about 4 feet wide minimum. Other than that, it is a pretty solid product.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spensoft
West Haven, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
WOW! what a machine!
8/4/2007

Customer review by geparso

5.0 stars 8/4/2007 by geparso
by geparso

This Total Gym 1700 is absolutely what I've been looking. Don't need a gym or all of that other stuffout there, and, yes, I have tried both. This unit does everything the infomercial says it can. Easy setup, and the results soeak for themselves. Truly a great product. You should purchase on here because Wal-Mart offers it cheaper than anyone else, and you can beat the Site to Store program Wal-Mart offers. Got my Total Gym 1700 in less than a week. Thanks Total Gym and Wal-Mart!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
geparso
Milford, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Total Gym 1700 Club is great!!!
9/3/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/3/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I read a lot of reviews online about this product before making the decision to order. Basically, noone had any substantive negative feedback, and after ordering and using it - I can honestly say that I completely agree. It is an absolutely amazing workout tool, enabling you to work out your arms, abs, and legs. The DVD and included publications are also good, and you can adapt your workout according to your own fitness goals. Being female and about 120 lbs, I personally am not looking for bodybuilder arms, so I tend to focus on abs and legs. Very versatile and sturdy piece of equipment!! I agree with other reviewers who said that unhooking and hooking the arm pulley carbiner is somewhat difficult, but don't worry it gets easier the more you use the equipment.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
excellent machine
8/4/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/4/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This gym is very good for basic strength and flexibility work. If you're a power lifter, it probably will disappoint you. If you just want to keep up your strength and tone up, it's perfect. The only problem with mine is that the height adjustment is tight. It is getting looser with time, but when I say tight, I mean 2 feet on the base and 2 hands on the rails and pulling with all my might. (I'm pretty robust, most people would not be able to move it.) The value is great. Though, if you plan on putting this under your bed, you had better have at least 11 inches of clearance. Oh, and at 6'5" and 260#, it feels sturdy though I'm a little too tall for some exercises and have to scrunch up a bit to keep from hitting the top or the bottom of the unit. I am very happy overall though.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It Works!!!
12/26/2007

Customer review by plester102

5.0 stars 12/26/2007 by plester102
by plester102

This is an easy to setup product. Called the support line to request the missing DVD. Received the DVD within three days. The demo on the DVD is easy to follow. The Gym's footprint is larger than I expected. It really requires about 8 ft by 6 ft for easy operation. It will provide toning and some flexibility. The Gym is made in China, as expected. Overall, the "Total Gym" series of exercise machines have been around for many years and have a reasonable track record. And, like the heading says --It Works."

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
plester102
Eugene, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A little dissapointed
7/24/2007

Customer review by Reviews

3.0 stars 7/24/2007 by Reviews
by Reviews

A few missing parts and unfortunately padding and foamed grips started tearing after a months use by three people. Great concept and fun to use. Space saving all in one gym. For the price, materials could have been made to last longer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reviews
Would recommend to a friend? No
Broken Parts
3/7/2009

Customer review by AshleyRiverRoad

1.0 stars 3/7/2009 by AshleyRiverRoad
by AshleyRiverRoad

I just received my Total Gym through WalMart yesterday (ordered site to store), and have it out of the box and set up. It looks like it COULD be a good piece of equipment, but... Either the cardboard box it was shipped in is insufficient to protect the machine, or mine fell off the WalMart truck somewhere in transit. I have several broken plastic parts, including a control knob and worse, a glideboard wheel. The broken glideboard wheel makes my machine drag, so I can't really use the Total Gym. I don't know if this is common, but mine didn't come with a parts list or contact number for missing parts. I've just paid 350 bucks (and sales tax) for a deficient product, and I don't have any contact information to get it fixed. What do I do? Take it back to the WalMart store? I can't recommend a product that is unusable on delivery, sorry.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AshleyRiverRoad
Would recommend to a friend? No
Better than Expected
2/6/2008

Customer review by AvidBoater

5.0 stars 2/6/2008 by AvidBoater
by AvidBoater

Total Gym 1700 Club is probably the best Total Gym for the price as it includes all the accessories. The included DVD is very helpful in learning the proper form for completing the exercises. The quality of the equipment is better then I had hoped for and it's easy to use with the various attachments.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AvidBoater
Mahopac, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Impressed
10/15/2007

Customer review by KB27

5.0 stars 10/15/2007 by KB27
by KB27

I love the Total Gym 1700 Club!! I looked at the reviews for all the Total Gym products prior to purchasing this model and found that this model is definitely the best for the price and quality. I also received my Gym within a week of ordering, delivered to my door for a $10.00 shipping charge. The DVD that comes with this Gym has a Pilates workout, two strength training workouts and a fitness circuit workout. The workouts seem really short so I usually do two or more together plus add on some more leg work with the leg attachment pulley. I do not have a problem moving the height adjustment bar as some of the other reviewers have had and I am 5'2". Some machines may be stiffer than others though. I did however have my hair caught in the cable pulley. I now wear my hair on the side in a braid. I bought the Gym because I lack in strength training. I do cardio but hardly any strenth. This is a perfect machine for what I need. My arms are starting to feel more toned already.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KB27
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fits the Need
12/30/2007

Customer review by hopetochange

5.0 stars 12/30/2007 by hopetochange
by hopetochange

I've found this to be exactly what I was looking for. Something to help me build up my upper and lower body strength and give me a workout that I am capable of handling. This machine offers many exercises that anyone can do, just start out slow and work your way up. It's fabulous! Just what I was looking for!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hopetochange
Caldwell, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Total gym 1700
7/8/2009

Customer review by Carlosfandango

5.0 stars 7/8/2009 by Carlosfandango
by Carlosfandango

This product is first class. Gives a great workout without the initial strain. Only problem is, you'll never get an unbroken one due to shipping abuse. The plastic bits break when they get kicked out of one Jumbo Jet to another and dragged along the airstrip for 300 yards. Total Gym need to pack it better bareing in mind that the people shipping couldn't care less how it gets to the consumer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carlosfandango
Birmingham AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Product
8/20/2007

Customer review by Bulldog

5.0 stars 8/20/2007 by Bulldog
by Bulldog

I have owned a knock off brand of this home gym but I am very impressed with with the Total Gym. You can feel it working the very first time you use it and results are seen in a short time period. I recommend this product for anyone!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bulldog
Covington, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great workout
11/22/2007

Customer review by Outofshapeshopper

5.0 stars 11/22/2007 by Outofshapeshopper
by Outofshapeshopper

The Total Gym 1700 Club gives a great workout. The change from exercise to exercise takes only a few seconds. The board slides easily giving you a smooth workout. The easy to use exercise guide helps you to begin as soon as you unpack the box. I would recommend this item to anyone wanting to start an exercise program. The only thing I have found that I did not like is that it is a little difficult to hook and unhook the arm pulley cable. After a few times, it has become much easier.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Outofshapeshopper
Salisbury, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Full Satisfaction
1/19/2008

Customer review by SqueezeEveryPenny

5.0 stars 1/19/2008 by SqueezeEveryPenny
by SqueezeEveryPenny

Finally a product that delivers what it advertises. The only downside was it took a little longer to set up even though it is "fully assembled". The whole family has gotten into using it, all types of exercises work with a little patience to learn positioning and body motions. We have had the Total Gym for just over 2wks and are making it a good habit for all five of us.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SqueezeEveryPenny
St.Petersburg, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/3/2008

Customer review by nonickname9

4.0 stars 2/3/2008 by nonickname9
by nonickname9

Very flexible machine. When I worked out on it the first time I overdid it. It didn't seem like I was working very hard... until the next day. If you follow the enclosed instructions you can get a very good workout even on muscle groups you don't think your using (I did a 'butterfly' which worked my arms, however as soon as I stopped the exercise and got off the machine, my abs cramped up! I didn't know I was working my abs so hard also!) If you are already in very good shape, spend some extra money for extra weight. My sons will need the extra weight soon.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nonickname9
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best exercise machine for the money
10/16/2007

Customer review by Bruno815

4.0 stars 10/16/2007 by Bruno815
by Bruno815

I had one of the original Total Gym's 20+ years ago and used it for over a decade. I've been a big fan of the concept from the first, so when I had space to hold a new model, I ordered it. The new design, while sturdy enough, lacks the solid feel of the original. The extra attachments wobble a bit, and putting them on and taking them off during a workout is a minor pain. Even with those complaints I still think this is the best machine for the money. The Total Gym provides a full body workout and complete range of motion with a minimum of space and weight. I leave mine set up all the time, but it is possible, and fairly easy, to fold it up for storage. The exercise guides and video are easy to follow and allow you to vary your workouts and target specific muscle groups. I have recommended this product to several people and will continue to do so. For the price, you can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bruno815
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent product, questionable ads
8/18/2009

Customer review by progressisgood

4.0 stars 8/18/2009 by progressisgood
by progressisgood

The Total gym 1700 is a great piece of "total exercise" equipment and is built to last. You have to do your homework though (google) or you'll end up with something inferior (so many models of "total gym") or something you can't afford. Don't buy from the TV phone ad - they'll try to get over $2000. Bottom line is it's a great product with shady sales tactics and misleading info like "take it out of the box and start excercising" - I got a lot of exercise putting it together. Such a product would sell a lot more if they were just totally honest and up-front. One thing I would highly recommend is buying an extra quick connect clip (or two) because you have to move the pulley system when doing certain exercises and it's extremely difficult to reach in a tight space. Extra clip(s) solve the problem.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
progressisgood
Oceanside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worth the money
8/20/2009

Customer review by Beachbully

4.0 stars 8/20/2009 by Beachbully
by Beachbully

The total gym is everything it is advertised to be. It was worth my time to check around for the best price for the Total Gym, prices vary big time and I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw Wal-marts price. This is the premium Gym for the standard price. Everything works great and is so much fun to work out and go from one exercise to the other with very little fuss.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beachbully
Colville, WA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
total gym
11/2/2007

Customer review by swimmom

4.0 stars 11/2/2007 by swimmom
by swimmom

I looked online and in the stores and for used and I agree, this is the best price around. It came in quickly,set up easily and has alot to offer. I used it two time ( i'm new to exercising so I did not over use it ) and notice a rip in the glide board. Was told I could return it and reorder it, but since I purchased it the price went up by $50.00. I also call the manufacture and was told I would have to pay shipping to send in the glide board and would get a new one in 4-6 weeks Instead we decided to re-enforce the corners with black duct tape- was disappointed with this - other than that fact I think it is a great machine and has a lot to offer - would like to get more DVD workout routines

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swimmom
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Buy
5/19/2008

Customer review by Lovelylass

4.0 stars 5/19/2008 by Lovelylass
by Lovelylass

I have joined gyms before and never really gone, cause of the distance or because of the amount of persons there when I go. I bought this product to get into shape on my time! You will need a person to help you upon delivery, but I was able to get it out of the box on my own and set it up. You should keep it up in a particular portion of your home, as it is very heavy to be taking down and putting it away. Overall, I am on 2nd week of using it and I love it. Good investment at a reasonable cost.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovelylass
Huntington Park, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 182 total reviews
1-20 of 182 reviews