Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 96 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

96 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

96 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
1-20 of 89 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews
Best For College Students
9/5/2013

Customer review by StarWarans

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by StarWarans
by StarWarans

This is more portable than a laptop, without paying for games you will not be as tempted to play games rather than work. Youtube works fine and with the keyboard Pearson (an online set of college programs) works great. Its nice opening more tabs than an Ipad and the USB port is amazing for a tablet. I only recommend tablet for people who need a highly portable work/college tablet rather than a laptop.

Was this review helpful? (109) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StarWarans
26101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Tablet
8/30/2013

Customer review by videomunch

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by videomunch
by videomunch

I thought about an Ipad but when i saw this tablet, I changed my mind. The quality of this tablet is outstanding. Windows RT takes a bit getting used to it. Not too many tablets have a USB and a micro sd slot as this this has. Some people didn't like the power fit onto the connector. To me it's just fine. I recommend the warranty. One little accident and your tablet could be doomed.

Was this review helpful? (119) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
videomunch
Massapequa Park, N. Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tablet/computer for my pocket
11/13/2013

Customer review by Honortheday

4.0 stars 11/13/2013 by Honortheday
by Honortheday

I'm a senior citizen who waits for the new model before I buy the older one - because that's when the deals start coming out on the market. This version of the Microsoft Surface is perfect for my needs. It's faster than my three year old laptop. I love the size, the clarity of the screen, the brightness of the colors, the lightness of the weight. The touch keyboard is a kick. I'm still learning about all it's aspects so I've given it 4 stars. In all likelyhood I'll be giving it 5 stars once I've had a bit more time to spend with it. Oh yes, the shipping was speedy and Microsoft has the 68 page manual online as a PDF.

Was this review helpful? (144) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Honortheday
western South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great mixture of tablet and PC
11/15/2013

Customer review by Sarah740

5.0 stars 11/15/2013 by Sarah740
by Sarah740

I love that I can write reports in Microsoft office on the couch without balancing a laptop on my lap. I can also read my kindle books and watch movies on my surface. I have not touched my laptop or kindle fire since I bought the surface. It is like having both at my fingers. I was surprised by the battery life. Last so much long then my laptop. Overall I'm impressed with the surface.

Was this review helpful? (96) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sarah740
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than expected.
9/22/2013

Customer review by SurfaceManiac

5.0 stars 9/22/2013 by SurfaceManiac
by SurfaceManiac

I was pleasantly surprised, I love the fact that you turn it on and it is ready to go. Glad it had the MS Office installed, and that you can purchase additional software if needed.

Was this review helpful? (68) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SurfaceManiac
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Versatile and rugged
9/15/2013

Customer review by boyejoboy

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by boyejoboy
by boyejoboy

Microsoft Surface rt eliminate the need for me to carry my laptop around. It all I needed a tablet for. I can easily connect to my laptop via in-built remote desktop or third party apps like teamviewer to use legacy apps like matlab and solidworks. Its got excellent battery life and last for a day on moderate use. it connects to my Epson printer wirelessly without me setting it up since I'm connected to the same wifi and also via usb. with windows 8.1 update , I got scan native scan support for the printer, and all this works with any printer.

Was this review helpful? (48) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boyejoboy
Edinburg, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for school
9/18/2013

Customer review by Insertrandomnicknamehere

5.0 stars 9/18/2013 by Insertrandomnicknamehere
by Insertrandomnicknamehere

My wife uses this tablet for school and so far it does most of what she needs and it only weighs around 1 pound. The only so far is that it is the RT version of windows and she needs to use the firefox browser for some of her school stuff (which isn't supported).

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Insertrandomnicknamehere
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The greatest thing ever!
8/25/2013

Customer review by itgirlisme

5.0 stars 8/25/2013 by itgirlisme
by itgirlisme

Works exactly as I expected. I love everything about it, size, weight ease of use.

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
itgirlisme
Bentonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So Far, Somewhat Disappointed
1/29/2014

Customer review by slowxmoxpanda

3.0 stars 1/29/2014 by slowxmoxpanda
by slowxmoxpanda

I got this Surface RT during the Black Friday sales, for $250 at BestBuy (without a touch cover). I have since bought a blue skulls design limited edition touch cover, as well as a very good deal on a black TYPE Cover on eBay. So far, the Touch Cover has been much nicer than I expected. I thought the flat surface would be too hard to get used to, but amazingly, I have not made ANY typing mistakes, and I don't have to move slowly or make sure that I press each key. It seems to go very smoothly when I type just as fast as I do on my regular laptop. Not to mention the blue color and skulls artistic design is quite sharp! I bought this tablet because of the obvious perks of having the detachable keyboard, and the smooth, heavy-duty metal casing on the tablet. I like the larger size, instead of the usual 7" tablets. I do like Windows 7, but it is taking a while to try and get used to the very different Windows 8 RT interface. I wish I could make the Surface accept a Win7 OS. The WORST part about having the RT operating system, is that it will NOT accept any of the usual programs or allow you to install anything unless it comes from the very limited Microsoft App Store. I have had a very difficult time with finding good 'apps' to replace the programs I am used to using, especially a decent video player that will play more than just the .mp4 format. I also wanted to have PC games on my tablet that I already have on my PC, but I cannot install any of them. This program restriction is the Surface Tablet's biggest downfall. So far, I haven't used my Surface for more than 12 hours since I bought it, and all the disappointments have turned me off of the excitement I had in first opening the box and trying it. I would give the operation and use of the tablet a 4 out of 10. The sharp style, outer design, and nice keyboard options, as well as the VERY nice multi-use USB port, the availability of the expandable storage with the included micro-SD slot, and the handy 'kick-stand' on the back, I would give a 8/10.

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slowxmoxpanda
Hastings, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Outstanding tablet
11/23/2013

Customer review by raindance1

4.0 stars 11/23/2013 by raindance1
by raindance1

This is a great tablet. Because my cell phone is Windows based the tablet has been pretty easy to setup and use. Although finding info on issues related to operations is difficult to find and understand. Battery life is ok, not amazing but ok. Still trying to figure out how to transfer contacts from 2007 Outlook to the new e mail addresses. Fine tuning seems difficult. But, I am enjoying using the machine. It would be nice if Surface was compatible with other tablet formats.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
raindance1
Lake Stevens, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Productivity Tool, A Bit Confusing Updating
1/18/2014

Customer review by CharlitoChan

4.0 stars 1/18/2014 by CharlitoChan
by CharlitoChan

I will begin stating that it is a bit confusing updating to Win 8.1 on this tablet (I had a Windows whiz help me out). What you have to do is check the Windows store for necessary updates for your computer. If you have about 15 or so updates (which is what is most likely when you get this product), then it is best to restart your tablet so that the updates can happen. After that, go back to the Windows store, and the first thing you will see is an update to Win 8.1. Select the update for Win 8.1, wait a few minutes, and your tablet will restart again. After updating to Windows 8.1, you will have an improved Windows Store (with searching capabilities) and an overall better OS. After going through this update process, I have gotten a lot from my Surface. Having Office on my tablet is really nice, and Internet Explorer is not bad on here (of course, avoid any potentially malicious sites). I really like having the little rubber type-pad, and it makes sense to have this if you'll be using Word. This product is very light, which makes it easier on my back when taking it to class. I also enjoy the ability to have two pages open at the same time (for example, having an internet site and a PDF open at the same time on split-screen). This makes things easier for me as a student, because I don't have to track back as often when doing homework with internet references. Overall, a good productivity tablet, but get the Win 8.1 update first to get the most out of it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CharlitoChan
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I was looking for!
11/25/2013

Customer review by warone

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by warone
by warone

The things I like are it's light weight, comes on quickly, and it has a USB port, that I can plug in my wireless mouse. !4 years with Microsoft Windows programs. I can continue with things I understand!

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
warone
Seminole,Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great!
11/5/2013

Customer review by superdeliciousjack

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by superdeliciousjack
by superdeliciousjack

Camera quality could improve, but overall its a great product. Especially for college students, Im in college and its perfect to have with you. Its nice and small and light weight. Just perfect, I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
superdeliciousjack
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Smaller & lighter than a laptop
3/6/2014

Customer review by Counciler

4.0 stars 3/6/2014 by Counciler
by Counciler

Watching colleagues using tablets at meeting piqued my interest in a tablet. Not on the Apple bandwagon, and used to a Windows environment, I researched the Surface. I did want to invest a lot of money in something that was not in my comfort zone. I bought a Surface RT. I am still fumbling with tiles, I am a long time mouse and keyboard user. This will allow me to have information and data at my fingertips, instead of carrying a lot of paper. I use a USB flash memory stick. This works well whether you have wireless access or not.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Counciler
Bradford, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
RT Redefines the Tablet.
9/7/2013

Customer review by ANON1988

5.0 stars 9/7/2013 by ANON1988
by ANON1988

This thing has more than met my expectations. I am really impressed with it's responsiveness and battery life too. It is true you cannot install traditional applications on RT products but it is great with the growing app store and Internet Explorer. I use My desktop for Gaming and am a hardware junkie but I could use this thing all day, every day....don't forget about the free music streaming from xbox live!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ANON1988
saint augustine, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Huge disappointment
10/5/2013

Customer review by Dougort25

1.0 stars 10/5/2013 by Dougort25
by Dougort25

Sadly, I must share this message... I have always been a strong supporter of Microsoft and everything this brand has brought to my life.. The Office suite remains to be the number one supporter of all my present professional needs, and the basis of any further future development. I happen to be such a Microsoft supporter that I longed for, and waited for Microsoft to develop a tablet with iPad qualities and with the benefits of the Office suite. Surface was launched and I was very eager to get one once the usual hiccups with a new product were covered. I gathered it would be about a year. I recently purchased a Surface and was very excited about it. It's been two weeks since I got my Surface and I am definitely not satisfied at all. I am actually returning it and writing this review. Reasons: Lose connectivity very often, running system very slow, it freezes, no response, things you don'y expect to happen with iPad standards in mind. Very limited in apps and the few available are not versatile. Inability to sync simple but very important features like yahoo calendar, mail; very slow connectivity speed; simply not easy or user friendly to get around. Sadly, I must say I am ready to exchange my "Surfy" for an iPad.

Was this review helpful? (56) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dougort25
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/26/2013

Customer review by Huckley

4.0 stars 9/26/2013 by Huckley
by Huckley

I did not have a smart phone before I brought this, so I believe I had a little more figuring out to do. So far so good. I'm not saying that I have everything figured out, but it is going OK. The size is its great advantage, I like to take it to the football games and download my video of the first half and watch it doing half time. I'm 62 so I did not grow up with computer.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Huckley
Clifton, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did not meet expectatiins
11/12/2013

Customer review by Onthegotoomuch

2.0 stars 11/12/2013 by Onthegotoomuch
by Onthegotoomuch

Purchased because it had keyboard and USB. Spent 4+ hours with phone tech to set up email. (Won't work with pop servers). Exchange set up without help in minutes. You can not download iTunes to sync your phone like you can with a Dell or other laptop. I was told there was enough space and operating power, but only apps from their store can be downloaded. Rep said you could sync an android phone. When I asked for help clearing the tablet to return it, I was put on hold. 30 minutes later I had figured it out so I hung up. Took it over 2 hours to wipe clean. Remember if you buy electronics online from walmart there is fine print allowing only 15 days to return. I got there day 15 and the store service was very good. In short, surface doesn't do whT it says it can do.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Onthegotoomuch
Reidsville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NOT VIDEO FRIENDLY! CAN'T WATCH ANYTHING
9/15/2013

Customer review by tellitlikeitis1953

2.0 stars 9/15/2013 by tellitlikeitis1953
by tellitlikeitis1953

This is a LIMITED computer! Doesn't support online on demand viewing of anything Error message: this device cannot be used to view our content. Examples include, but not limited to the following: Dish anywhere Gogo movies TV Web Sites for viewing their programs The list goes on and on and on and on . . . VERY DISAPPOINTING

Was this review helpful? (17) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tellitlikeitis1953
cathedral city, ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/28/2013

Customer review by Blue1121

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by Blue1121
by Blue1121

I recommend people to buy the Microsoft surface RT, It's better than using a laptop. It comes with the Microsoft word programs. Over all I loved it and I'm clad I got it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blue1121
Fresno
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews