Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 72 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

72 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

72 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 70 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
Everything you need when away from your desktop
9/14/2013

Customer review by SilentSnake

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by SilentSnake
by SilentSnake

This Tablet/laptop is the best investment you can make when your looking for something very portable feature packed with full windows 8 control but do not want a larger full size laptop. Pretty much anything you can do with your desktop that does not require burning a cd or other attachment can be done with this device. The device makes it really easy and simple for my business. although this device is very impressive and great quality there are just a few drawbacks. Cons: -battery life wont last you past 4 hours without requiring a charge -corners on touchscreen hard to get accurate touch -no spot to attach stylus while the device is charging otherwise it attaches to same spot as charger -the storage capacity on the 64gb model only leaves the user with around 24gb of storage which is pretty low when adding a bunch of apps. Although there is expandable microsd slot for music and other files. Overall i am very satisfied with the device, definitely meets all of my personal and business needs.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SilentSnake
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
One Month Review
7/24/2013

Customer review by Liri8

5.0 stars 7/24/2013 by Liri8
by Liri8

I bought the Surface Pro 128GB a month ago and thus far, I am in love with it! I have yet to use it to it's full capability, which is unfortunate because it is very powerful. Windows 8 on a tablet is a much more enjoyable experience. After watching many reviews on YouTube before getting this device they complained about the sound quality, I personally think it's great sound quality, I mean you're not going to turn this thing into a music box to clean your room to but for watching Netflix and YouTube it's perfect and if you wanted to jam out it has Bluetooth capabilities. Another thing people complained about on the reviews was the pen... I like the idea of it being stuck to the device, I just wish it would stay better! The same for the charger. My complaints are petty though, they're easily worked around. I will really enjoy this device when more apps become available in the Microsoft store, I use the browser view more because some apps do not offer the full experience like the webpage.

Liri8
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
My Surface Pro
9/27/2013

Customer review by ZooPillow

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by ZooPillow
by ZooPillow
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm not planning on buying another computer for a long while. I wanted the convenience of a tablet with all the software of a laptop or PC. I'm a high school teacher, so I do a lot of writing and preparation. I found all that I was looking for in my Surface Pro. It's got Windows 8 and Office 365, so I can do all my PowerPoint stuff and writing on my tablet, without having to lug around a laptop. I LOVE the detachable keyboard.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZooPillow
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AN EXCELLENT TABLET
8/21/2013

Customer review by taylor

5.0 stars 8/21/2013 by taylor
by taylor

Purchased the Pro as soon as it was available. Use it as my desktop PC hooked up to a 27inch monitor. When it's time for meetings in or outside of the office, my surface jumps into mobile mode--without a hitch. One Note rocks. Time to go home, my surface pro jumps into entertainment mode. I sit on the sofa, surf the internet, read my emails, control my tv and other media devices. Chromecast, my surface has both miracast and "play to" built right in. I want to send a youtube video to my tv, no problem I swipe the charms touch device and chose which device I want to send the video to. Microsoft is on the right track with both win8 and surface. I sure hope they play the long game. Microsoft, need I remind you that you didn't have the best spreadsheet--that was lotus 123, you didn't have the best word processor--that was wordperfect or the best networking software, that was novell. Today you are the leader in these products because you played the long game. Please don't give up on win8, surface or windows phone, you got the best product just stay with it--please.

taylor
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Absolutely love it
2/26/2014

Customer review by captainqtp

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by captainqtp
by captainqtp

If you are looking for a specific use case and are wondering if the Surface Pro is the best at it, you're probably looking at the wrong device. If you want something that is very good at a lot of things though, you really can't go wrong with this. It is my note taking device in meetings, my daily driver as a desktop device (hooked up to monitor keyboard mouse), my reference tool when I'm walking around doing support in our offices, my airplane ride movie and gaming device, my occasional kindle device, my laptop when needed, etc. Is it the best as a note taking device? Probably not, but it is close. The best as a desktop replacement? No, but again, very competitive. The best tablet for carrying around as a reference tool, no, but when you have all of your documents at your finger tips and you don't have to worry about syncing etc, it is sooo convenient. You get the idea. It does a lot of things well. I love it.

captainqtp
North Tustin, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fantastic Hybrid Tablet-Laptop
2/10/2014

Customer review by LuigiItalian

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by LuigiItalian
by LuigiItalian

I recently purchased an original Surface Pro with 128G (updated to Windows 8.1) and a keyboard cover directly from the Microsoft website. Overall, this one heck of a good computer. It has the best display compared to any of either my previous tablets and laptops (including a MacAir and iPad4). It is fast, booting up and shutting down in a few seconds and running MS Office programs faster than any of my previous laptops. I had no difficulty installing MS Office 2007 using a USB Drive. I also micro SD card, but it was little tricky at first since you have to push the small memory card a fair amount in the slot before it locks.  The nicely engineered natural type keyboard/cover is backlight and fits well for both of its functions. Lastly, the digital eon works well with OneNote for making quick notes/drawings. On Once you understand the new quirks associated with Windows 8, it actually a functional and useful OS. 

LuigiItalian
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
The best decision I made
12/23/2016

Customer review by RadioactiveArtist

5.0 stars 12/23/2016 by RadioactiveArtist
by RadioactiveArtist

I have had nothing but an amazing experience with my Surface Pro. It truly did replace work desktop and laptop. I still have a workstation for editing and graphics but when on the road the surface still had enough power to open and render my after effects projects for minor client changes. I was also surprised on what it was capable of when working on small projects while away from my workstation. I have been so impressed that after 3 years with no issues I have just ordered a Surface Pro 4 i7. I cannot wait until it arrives. I will keep my old one as a kick around PC for camping and other activities where I just want something to move video and pictures off my SD cards.

RadioactiveArtist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Highest Quality Most Functional Tablet Ever!
2/10/2014

Customer review by MaxMax

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by MaxMax
by MaxMax

I owned an IPad Air & became very frustrated at the limited functions such as not being able to access web sites that play flash, not being able to play PC games, no HD when viewing a video, and the inferior android apps. IPAD states that it is a tablet that does not replace a PC. Microsoft Surface Pro 2 is a PC so no problem there. The HD graphics are mind-blowing. The speakers sound fantastic. The wacom digitizer pen is extremely comfortable and accurate.  Plus I have full use of the adobe creative suite and Microsoft word. Flash web sites operate the same way they do on a desk top PC. The screen feels very comfortable to hold and doesn't get hot when I use it for a long period of time. So glad to be able to play my PC games and enjoy a fully functioning windows experience. The IPad is a user friendly childs toy. You buy Ipads for people who mainly want to play Candy Crush, launch short fun interactive educational apps for kids,  go on FB, send tweets, check email and surf the web. Microsoft in comparison is an extremely high quality, high functioning device that is  very much appreciated by professional, computer literate types. 

MaxMax
Earth, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best PC/tablet combo!
9/14/2013

Customer review by Docsh1997

4.0 stars 9/14/2013 by Docsh1997
by Docsh1997

I have had my surface pro 128gb with type cover for three months.  Overall, I like it and feel that it is by far the best PC I've owned.  However as a tablet, there is room for improvement.  I am a physician and use an electronic medical record.  The surface is much easier to use than a laptop when seeing patients and my typing speed on the type cover is similar to my rate on a laptop.  It's battery life has run for me about 4.5 to 5 hours. Not bad by most laptop standards but not impressive by tablet standards, as most give from 8 to 11 hours. The surface tends to run hot and it's a bit on the thick size and heavy for a tablet.  Also the app store is rather limited at this time, but it should grow.  For a second generation surface pro, I'd like to see an improvement in battery life and up the memory to 256gb.

Docsh1997
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great All Around Device
4/29/2014

Customer review by Chief_Chapman

5.0 stars 4/29/2014 by Chief_Chapman
by Chief_Chapman

I have had the Surface Pro forover 5 months now and have nothing but good things to say about this unit. It is nice to have one device that I can use in the office for work and then use for school later on. While I am extremely happy wit the unit I will not say it is perfect as there are a couple of items which would be nice if MS would upgrade/change. First is the battery life which seems to be a little short. If they at least had an external batter which could be plugged in to give you extra power that would help. One other thing is to upgrade the spekers so you can hear them. right now you really need headphones to hear. All in all I am definately happy with this device even with its small flaws, and lets be honest, we will find flaws in every device if we are honest with ourselves.

Chief_Chapman
Gender:Male
Jump from XP to Windows 8.1
4/1/2014

Customer review by bcnulater

5.0 stars 4/1/2014 by bcnulater
by bcnulater

Die Hard XP user, have resisted upgrading for years. Been using my Surface Pro with Type Cover for about a month, 75% work (Real Estate ) and 25% personal - Love It! Still have desktop in home office, use Surface when not at desk. Easy to take to Corp office for meetings or when out on appointments. Corp uses Office 365, Outlook, Word, Excel, and SkyDrive to store files. Seamless operation with Windows Phone and easy to tether Surface and phone when WiFi is not available. Desktop, Surface or Windows Phone easy to use. Will be purchasing new MB, CPU and SSD to upgrade desktop to 8.1. Probably need to change out desktop monitor to touch capability, getting spoiled. Bought wife Surface (RT) to replace her laptop, don't think she will ever fire up the old laptop.

bcnulater
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
My Best Device I have Everywhere with me
4/5/2014

Customer review by Edtrek

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by Edtrek
by Edtrek

I got this device to make me learn Windows 8 at the time. (I am in iT Support) Now I just can’t work without it. It goes back & forth with me to work. I come home & plug it into the docking station & keep going. I work with it. I play with it. I entertain with it. The overall performance of my Surface Pro vs an iPad is just not fair to compare. The Surface blows the iPad out of the water. This is going to get bigger & bigger as long as the app store & the product as a whole gets the support it needs. NOTE; I am all in here: Surface Pro 128 / wedge mouse / stylus / docking station / several micro SD cards / (2) type covers. I understand the Metro Ui very well due to my Surface Pro. I understand now Microsoft, keep going.

Edtrek
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
A Tablet that really functions
8/1/2013

Customer review by AKRandy

5.0 stars 8/1/2013 by AKRandy
by AKRandy

As a network admin I am constantly frustrated by users that do not understand why I can't make their iPad or other device work on the Windows Domain. I have over the past few months been able to work with a couple of Surface RTs and 3 Pros, what a JOY to work with a device that comes out of the box ready to work! They do play games just like the other tablets but these devices are made for the workplace, they can be joined to the domain, access files shares and other network resources plus they run real Office Applications! I have not purchased a pro for myself as yet but I recently purchased an RT for my wife and she loves it and I am hopeful that I can get a pro model soon. These devices are simply awesome!

AKRandy
Anchorage, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very nearly all I could want
4/19/2014

Customer review by Dradzk

4.0 stars 4/19/2014 by Dradzk
by Dradzk

I got one of these in a private sale about 5 months back. Since then it has quickly become my primary computer and I have been wondering what took me so long to finally pick one up. Actually, it was the sticker shock that kept me back, but now I am sold on the product. The tablet form factor along with the full windows has been really convenient, especially with the travel that I do for work. I have the 128 GB version, and combined with a 64 GB micro sd card for my media files I have enough storage for anything that I will be using it for. I do have a few gripes with it, but most of those seem to have been covered in the Pro 2.

Dradzk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very concise for my size
10/22/2013

Customer review by Noel

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by Noel
by Noel

Good thing a friend of mine have mentioned this Windows Surface unit. Even though I know about it I never get the courage to buy it until she enumerated me the features that she found in it. She was an iPAD user and a critic of Windows before actually, but since she had this chance to get into the Windows shop she was able to see how good the features of this unit are. And so, that is what she shared with me. I would recommend this not only to students but also to those who are professionals who are using Windows. The MS Office that comes with the unit give a lot of features that you can use in your day to day lives.

Noel
Anaheim, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
a compelling device
5/2/2014

Customer review by ikhetred

4.0 stars 5/2/2014 by ikhetred
by ikhetred

i've had the first generation surface pro now for almost a year and i'm by and large most pleased with it. as an artist i was initially drawn to the pressure sensitive pen input and the ability to run photoshop, painter and the like. this does work, but i find that the screen size is just a little small to easily access menus meant for desktop environment, and it's not quite as responsive compared to a wacom tablet. ultimately, i also discovered i don't like drawing on glass. however, there are other software options (sketchbook pro seems have better touch sensitivity) which seem to be more suited for this size device. other observations: -type cover is comfortable to type on; -OS runs well and is well suited for this size/type of device (not yet convinced this is true for a desktop system); -build quality is solid; i like the stand, though i wish it had that second setting that is available in the new version; -screen is nice (though it has developed some kind of yellowish ting in a small 1 cm patch in the lower corner...not very noticeable); -definitely runs hot, which is unfortunate; -battery life is not great, particularly when compared to other tablets (ie ipad); -heavy and a bit thick for a tablet, but reasonable when compared to a laptop; depending on the usage model, this is a compelling and interesting device; i look forward to subsequent iterations.

ikhetred
Gender:Male
Awesome computer!
7/25/2013

Customer review by kzoorob

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by kzoorob
by kzoorob

I love this thing! I use the Surface Pro as my main computer and it performs flawlessly! I'm a full time doctoral student and the Pro has totally changed the way I study and do my work. Using OneNote with the ability to record lectures while typing or drawing over embedded powerpoint slides is amazing. I have written multiple 20+ pages papers for school and prefer the type cover to any standard keyboard because its easy, accurate and puts my hands in a more ergonomical position. The sound could be louder from the speakers but overall, the Pro is the best computer I've used from top to bottom, hands down!!

kzoorob
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I LOVE THIS TABLET:)
8/22/2013

Customer review by JL93129

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by JL93129
by JL93129

I got my Surface tab the first week it was out. I have used it for anything and everything that I can. It hasn't slowed it down. There is still plenty of room on my 128GB. I removed the partition as soon as I took it out the box, and that added some space back. I hope that they add more apps and I would love a new kind of keyboard that has an extra battery in it. Just when I am traveling I don't want to worry about making sure I keep it charged. I am normally near a plug so it doesn't bother me that much it would just be an extra perk:) All said and done it is a great addition to my windows experience!

JL93129
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Sooo good so far
2/2/2014

Customer review by Juanita

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by Juanita
by Juanita

I like how sleek it is. I went for the touch pad, because it seemed very different and I figured it would be much easier to flip in the back without having to unclick and click to use it as a backing when using the tablet. I play the Sims 3 and it runs beautiful. I applied all the graphics except the texture for the far away houses (because I don't need it) and it worked wow. Since this is SSD it loads even faster. The fan turns on but it's not too noisy. Overall, I expected less and I'm truly impressed. Blew my mind away, I'm a PC all the way my boyfriend can stay with his I-thing...

Juanita
Orlando, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
An on the Run Students Dream!
2/20/2014

Customer review by Jester0815

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by Jester0815
by Jester0815

I bought the Surface Pro at launch. I have to say I love this device. The cost is a bit pricey but it is well worth it. I have the i5 version of the Surface Pro and I love the speed and multitask ability of the device. I am a full time student and I do everything on the Surface. I use it for Power Point Presentations, Skype, E-mail, and even One Note. This device does it all. You won't regret the purchase. If I had to say there was a downfall, I would probably say the battery life. Just make sure your system is always charged and look out for the power type cover coming out soon.

Jester0815
Springfield, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews