Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 58 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

58 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

58 reviews | 4 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
34
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
8
1-20 of 56 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews
Not what I expected
12/27/2013

Customer review by jambro

3.0 stars 12/27/2013 by jambro
by jambro
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

From the advertising I had thought the Nuwave induction cooktop would allow precise temperature control just by entering the desired temperature and pressing the start button. It does heat very quickly and it is a very handy size. The wattage is about the maximum that a 15 amp circuit can handle so I doubt that any other brands would offer faster heating. If you need portability and you don't need tight temperature control, it would be fine. I filled the skillet with water and tested the temperature with a lab grade thermometer. I could never get any reasonable correlation of the set temperature and the water temperature, not even close. This unit seems designed to provide 5 temperature/power ranges offering little more precision than 5 ranges can offer. My other complaint is that if you lift the pan off the cooktop, to toss and mix the food as it cooks, the unit will not resume heating the pan until you hit the "Start" button again. This was my first attempt with induction cooking. It may be my last.

Was this review helpful? (117) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jambro
Lumberton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tired of the Kitchen, PIC your way out
11/10/2014

Customer review by StanGee

5.0 stars 11/10/2014 by StanGee
by StanGee

I have been using the PIC since they first came out, I recently upgraded to the PIC-2, it's as good as the original. If you are tired of hanging in a hot kitchen, this is the cook top for you, it's portable and works anywhere there is a power outlet. I don't even use the stove anymore. If you are looking to free yourself, I recommend you get yourself one of these NuWave Precision Induction Cooktops, you can't go wrong, they make great gifts, and they are even great fi you have kids away at school. I really have nothing bad to say about this product. I do wish they had made a double PIC, I guess that's why I own two. Do yourself a favor, buy it, try it for more than a day, I guarantee you'll be raving about it as well. Anything you can cook on your stove, you can cook on this, forever, you do need to use Induction ready cookware. One sure way to tell, is to stick a magnet on the bottom of the cookware, if it sticks, it should work on the PIC. Good Luck, and enjoy your new PIC.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StanGee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this Nuwave induction cooker!
12/15/2013

Customer review by Gary26

4.0 stars 12/15/2013 by Gary26
by Gary26
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If what you want is temperature controlled induction cooking with excellent temperature control this is a great product. It's easy to use, clean, and with the enclosed pan assures you have at least one piece of cookware compatible with it. The red circle on the surface indicates the size of the coil, so the pan's bottom outside the coil's diameter won't transfer heat unless you are cooking with oil. Heating of the pan is fast, but I wouldn't expect to boil water in 90 seconds like the demo says. If the pan is lifted from the surface it shuts off until you hit the start button. It's a safety feature I learned about when an oil spatter startled me and I lifted the pan from the induction plate. My range is a gas range, so I loved setting the temp and not having to worry about overheating the food. The Nuwave induction cooker will be my first choice for cooking since it is so easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (81) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gary26
Bethany, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Even better than I expected.
4/6/2014

Customer review by 1socrfan

5.0 stars 4/6/2014 by 1socrfan
by 1socrfan

I purchased one and was so happy with it's performance that I went out and bought another. I think some of the negative comments seen here stem from a lack of knowledge of the item. For example complaining that the cooktop shuts down when you lift the pan. All you need to do is press the pause button, lift the pan, put it back and press the pause again and everything starts right up where you left off. Easy. I like the speed and the features. No complaints since, so far, it's done what they claim it will do. I also bought the 7 pc pots, pans and covers set. Very solid and well made. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (188) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1socrfan
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Great product
7/26/2013

Customer review by ChuckBaker

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by ChuckBaker
by ChuckBaker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was skeptical about the claims made by they ads for this product but I wanted to try it. First a was pleasantly surprised when I found it came with a pan that I wasn't expecting. And second It does heat things super fast and the base only get's hot where the pan touches. There is just one thing you need to be aware of. This cook top only works the items that a magnet will stick to. So if you have other cookware that a magnet won't stick to the bottom of then it won't work with this cook top.

Was this review helpful? (217) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChuckBaker
Hardy, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Only slightly disappointed...
2/15/2015

Customer review by JavaJoan

4.0 stars 2/15/2015 by JavaJoan
by JavaJoan

I specifically bought this unit because it "boils water in 90 seconds". Not so true. After testing I found that you have to start with hot water and a small amount. I cook a lot of pasta and thought it would be perfect for this. Well, that being said, it does do everything else it promises. Although you have to be a scientist to program it, you can set it wherever you want it without worry of scorching a counter top or anything getting burned or melted. I needed that "extra burner" for my cooking habits and this has met that expectation and then some.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JavaJoan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic Cooktop
11/11/2013

Customer review by Jadzea

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by Jadzea
by Jadzea
Top 1000 contributor

We bought 2 of these when they came out on TV and got a small set of pans to go with them. We love them, No, not all of your cookware will work on them. They have lowered our power bill too. Most things cook much faster, it just takes time to figure out what temps you want for what. This is where the book comes in handy. You can also do step cooking with them. We have had ours about 9 months so have had plenty of time to get lots of use out of them. If you purchase cookware just make sure it's also for induction cooking. Wearever has a lot of cookware that will work on it.

Was this review helpful? (121) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jadzea
OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Spill overs will destroy unit
12/28/2014

Customer review by KiminAZ

1.0 stars 12/28/2014 by KiminAZ
by KiminAZ

We bought 2 of these about November, 2012 from infomercial. One quit working within a year, and the other is only partially working. If you don't watch the unit while you cook and you have spill overs (even plain water), the spill gets into the unit and cause permanent damage. The control panel cover is glued on, and it starts to peel off, then the push button function stops working, eventually it won't work at all. On the plus side, the timer functions are really convenient. You can even program it to start at a certain time and temperature, and change temperatures mid-cycle if you want. Because of the spill over problem, I would advise always cooking at lower than usual temperatures.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KiminAZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works Great!
8/20/2013

Customer review by dilynsev

5.0 stars 8/20/2013 by dilynsev
by dilynsev
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This item is perfect- but remember - if a magnet doesnt stick to the bottom of your pan it wont work with this item.. The new wave does come with a skillet but it is a medium/small skillet. Overall very good item

Was this review helpful? (88) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dilynsev
Peoria, AZ.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pecision Temp?
1/4/2015

Customer review by bproinmotown

2.0 stars 1/4/2015 by bproinmotown
by bproinmotown

Although this product cooks fast, the temp is not precise. 150 deg does not necessarily mean 150 deg. Using a high tech temp guage, I found the overall temp to be off up to 30 deg or more on a consistant basis at all settings. Also the range within the cookware surface is very different from the edges to the center (40 deg variances). will it scramble eggs.... no problem..

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bproinmotown
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best product Ever
8/12/2013

Customer review by Dave2020

5.0 stars 8/12/2013 by Dave2020
by Dave2020

This is without a doubt the best purchase I've ever made! I used to own the original nuwave but this nuwave 2 is truly better and is worth every penny. And the worst part is I would have paid more! The way I give my rating for 5 stars is that I ask myself if someone took it away from me, would I miss it? Yes, without a doubt! So, I give the Nuwave 2 a five stars!

Was this review helpful? (47) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dave2020
Danville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
8/28/2013

Customer review by sgsred

5.0 stars 8/28/2013 by sgsred
by sgsred
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second precision induction cooktop. The first one I purchased off of the tv. When the first one went out I was delighted to find that wal-mart carried this. Although it is basically the same price as on tv, you still get by cheaper, especially on the shipping. On tv charged 69.00 to just ship the product to me and they also try to talk you into a lot more products that you don't need. With all the above said The induction cooktop is one great product and I just love it. I gave my sister one for christmas last year and her whole family loves it.

Was this review helpful? (109) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sgsred
Philadelphia, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Saves time and energy for the busy family.
4/12/2014

Customer review by Grangay

5.0 stars 4/12/2014 by Grangay
by Grangay

I am so impressed - it actually works for me. If I get a call I can lower the temp (immediately) so nothing boils. My granddaughters can be turned loose to make grilled cheese without the burns. I could sell NU Waves like hotcakes. It's true the OIL doesn't burn - I am amazed. I would offer one piece of advice though that the stainless steel pots with aluminum core will give an error reading. TIP: take a magnet to shop for additional pans..

Was this review helpful? (54) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grangay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for low or medium power cooking
9/20/2013

Customer review by AtNashua

4.0 stars 9/20/2013 by AtNashua
by AtNashua
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The product is fine. Its 1300 W power at the highest temperature is only equivalent to the medium high of a convention electric cook top temperature. It's better for slow cooking, but not good for fry cooking.

Was this review helpful? (56) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AtNashua
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nu Wave Induction Cooktop.
5/18/2015

Customer review by Cleo41

5.0 stars 5/18/2015 by Cleo41
by Cleo41

It does everything it says it can do. I use it every day. It fries, steams, boils water extremely fast, keeps foods warm. I can even use my microwave oven at the same time as long as I set the temp a little lower on the Nu Wave. No more blown circuits in my travel trailer. I haven't used the stove in my trailer since the day I got my Nu Wave, which saves on propane. I especially love the pan that came with it and wish I had the larger size. If I had the space, I would have bought two Nu Wave Induction cooktops. It's the best kitchen appliance I have ever bought.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cleo41
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Heats up fast
10/2/2013

Customer review by hills519

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by hills519
by hills519
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this NuWave. I have a piece of junk stove my landlord got from the dump and I don't use it. I love heating up the food fast. The skillet it came with is nonstick and I am happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hills519
East Falmouth, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LUV this item
8/22/2014

Customer review by Grans10

5.0 stars 8/22/2014 by Grans10
by Grans10
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my grandson headed for college, I gave it a trial run and loved it. Cooks like a dream, love the pan that came with it, kept me from trying to find cookware for the cooktop which saved me money. This is a bargain.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grans10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
doesn't seem to be working right ??
5/21/2014

Customer review by ReidC

3.0 stars 5/21/2014 by ReidC
by ReidC

This thing worked great when first brought home. lately it doesn't seem to be cooking right Tonight it seemed to be taking forever to cook a burger. The read-out said 375 degrees but a restaurant grade thermometer would never get above 150-160 degrees. It appeared to be rather unreliable. in the manual this type of occurrence is never addressed.

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReidC
sedan, ks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Exactly what I wanted for my RV.
10/19/2013

Customer review by jakeranch

4.0 stars 10/19/2013 by jakeranch
by jakeranch
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My only problem is I have to unplug it to turn it off completely. Would love to keep it plugged in and have a master electrical disconnect. Otherwise it is a great product. I would buy it again in the future as it is a much better way to cook and save energy too.

Was this review helpful? (28) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jakeranch
mariposa,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great product great idea
8/22/2014

Customer review by grinnel7

5.0 stars 8/22/2014 by grinnel7
by grinnel7
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted an extra burner for the patio and got more than I expected, the only thing is that you must use a pan that is metal not aluminum which is not a problem. And the pan can't be too big the surface area where the heat is is smaller than a big burner. However it is a great item and I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grinnel7
mc crory arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews